TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Poll: Should child benefit be cut?

A new report says that if the basic rate of child benefit was cut to €100, it would save €200 million annually.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

A NEW REPORT from an advisory group to the Social Protection Minister is said to recommend cutting child benefit payments to save up to €200 million annually.

The report, which was seen by RTÉ’s The Week in Politics programme, is said to recommend that a “two tier” system should be introduced, with the basic rate being cut to €100 a month, while low-income families could apply for “top up” payments.

The cuts could reportedly save up to €200 million per year.

The Programme for Government stated that the government “will maintain social welfare rates”. Meanwhile, the government has to cut spending by €2.25bn to meet the conditions of its bailout deal.

Should child benefit be cut?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (170 Comments)

• The simple fact is that my entire full time wage goes on covering the cost of child care for my two children. Either a. Give me tax relief on my child care costs or b. give me child benefit. I have worked all my life, never claimed social welfare and would be considered middle income. I wonder how much Tax revenue has been lost to the government by working mums forced to quit their jobs as it’s not worth working when child are costs are a factor. I know quite a few.

• After the TDs have a 50% cut to give them an above average wage. Also means test it.

• What really pain, is when taking into account low income families they do not take into consideration that middle earners are struggling to pay mortgages, pay child care etc. I have found from personnel experience through talking to people, must people in social housing and on social welfare payments have more disposable income than middle earners … I believe child benefit as been hit enough and a lot of families in but middle and low income households would not be able to survive if this proposed cut was implemented. If my child is sick I have to pay €45 to visit the doctor, I have to pay for school uniforms, books etc without and financial aid, my husband has to pay € 150 per week to travel to and from work because he can’t get transferred closer to home, none of this expenses are considered when assessing incomes.

• Red-herring deckchair-shuffling on our Titanic tax-system. Those trapped in steerage will still be fighting over these crumbs as the bondholders recycle our asset-stripped hull for scrap.

Another billion trickles under the door and offshore as I write. I’m building a raft and setting course for Iceland. There is more than a little we could learn from the Nordic countries.

• I’d like to see a survey on TDs salaries. ?100K plus expenses. Why?

• I think you would be very surprise at how high those expenses are!

I for one would love to see who the non secure bond holders are. I think if we did we would be even more disgusted with our “government”.

We should have told the EU to feck off and burnt the non secure bond holders. What would they have done? Refused to loan us money? We crash, the euro crashes!

• ?746,000 in allowances paid to the Dail and Seanad in August when they weren’t even in session!
    And Dennis O’Brien tells us we’re being “very adult” about our situation.
    We’re having a referendum on children’s rights soon.
    But they want to cut the children’s allowance.
    Anyone else see any irony in this?

• How much of a pay cut would ministers need to take,( or their wives) to save 200 million a year?

• @Micheal. I agree with a lot of your sentiment but just to clarify, its precisely because of the amount of tax I pay that child benefit is so important. I have never claimed social welfare either, but there are many many people who have no choice but to do so and they shoukd not be penalised by having their children’s benefits cur as well.

• It should be means tested

• Is means testing an option? Doesn’t it cost too much to facilitate? Just when they’re looking at trying to save money.

• Very simple suggestion: any family with income in top tax band not to be eligible.

Cost free.

But is it fair?

• Or how about cut payments to thoes over 16 or 17, this would create more savings, is easy to implement and most 16 to 18 year olds work part time or could work part time.

• why not tax it? it could be raised slightly to compensate lower earners and its cheaper than means testing

• My concern here is the Ireland becomes an even more ‘welfare state’ where one cohort of people pay into the tax system and get minimal return while another huge cohort contribute very little and benefit the most. I would be more inclined to issue vouchers etc. as I have seen first hand where a lot of child benefit ends up and no question the lower down the social ladder you go the more this is the case. Can’t see too many middle class mothers using child benefit to buy fags or booze……
      Lets give the money to the children via food or education or clothing.

• They can means test for medical cards, fuel allowance, fis, dole, back to school allowance. I am sure it wouldn’t take much effort to record that info together so that a simple programme with the info could determine if a family were eligible or not for CA. Another case of lack of joined up thinking IMO

• @Jay funk I have two kids 18 and 20 and they can’t find jobs – either full or part time. the best they’ve gotten was a part time summer job for a few months. They’ve been looking for two years now.

400,000 plus unemployed and you’re suggesting that we cut child allowance at 16 because they might have a part time job, unreal!

While a child is still in secondary school they should be given child allowance. The cost of our “free educations” dictates this this.

@KarlMarcks: I take it so that you are on the low tax rate or claiming benefits? Would I be right in that? I’m guessing that I am, so it’s easy for you to say that. We’ve lost two kids from the child allowance in the past 3 years and another one will be gone in a year eventhough he will still be in school doing his leaving cert. With the lost of this extra income and the increase in all other taxes we are bearly keeping our heads above the water line. Next year is going to be even harder!

The government should look at cutting their own allowance first, €764 paid in allowances to Oireachtas members in August and they weren’t evening sitting. How much would we save if we removed Oireachtas completely?

• Jim Buckley Barrett,

I agree with you. But I previously read your comments and you are anti-SF. Yet, you will still vote for a government that cuts child benefit, hypocritical.

• @ Jim: “How much would we save if we removed Oireachtas completely?”

€120m.

http://www.politics.ie/news/annual-report-reveals-oireachtas-cost-119-9-million-run-last-year-351.html

• @Declan. That is the most class discriminatory comment i have ever seen and it stinks to be honest. Middleclass mothers prefer wine. See where I am going.

• Ken Coz 01/10/12 #

Tell the working there is something they can put on the end of it

• Ken Coz 01/10/12 #

Tell the working class there is something they can put on the end of it

• Voucher system ? I’m sick of hearing that old chestnut ! I try to pay most things with my laser card I can’t even use my card in some shops because once its under €10 they don’t accept card payment, would your local coal man accept vouchers ? Nope ! stupid conservative people thinking every one buys fags & drink! I clothe and feed my kids with it

• People are complaining that us single parents need to pay bills with our children’s allowance? What on earth is wrong with that. Its a mean for us? I dont just provide for my son o the first tuesday of the month. That money is a lump sum i can pay a bill with. Otherwise esb/ gas etc would be cut off. (which has been done already)Ive gone days living o rice while my son eats lovely healthy food. My car has run out of petrol in the rain while ive had to walk to a garage with my baby in my arms to borrow a few euros of petrol till my money comes in. Ive had to put stuff back in lidl when a shop went over €5. So for those of u who have never been on the breadline please dont judge those of us that need to spend our child benefit pn nills because having them cut off (ie electric) would not be beneficial to our kids. I dont drink or smoke. Life costs money. Id happily work if there was childcare available for single mums of kids under 3. Ive worked all my life and paid taxes. Hope the weather stays fine for you lot but u honestly never know whats around the corner so dont judge what you dont know.

• When each child has access to truly free education (free school books, no term fees, reasonably prices uniforms [not overpriced jumpers with logos on them], free transport to school) , i think they can then begin to phase out CA -by reducing it significantly over 3/5 years. In most countries where CA is significantly lower education is heavily subsidised. Never mind the cost of medical services for children. I was advised that i would be waiting for a physio apt for my 10 month old. after that time he could need alot more help so I had to suck it up and fork out 50 for a private apt. not a fortune by any means but it’s 50 less i will have at the end of the month. if they take away the CA let them use the money to provide dedicated child services. I feel that alot must be provided before they can take something away. Children will inevitably suffer if not. I would miss my payment each month but if other child services were provided it would defo soften the blow

• Think you should pick on the real criminals and leave the defenceless alone, like children, the elderly and disabled

• That would require backbone! Something the Irish political parties don’t have. Here is a suggestion on the bondholders pay it, but tax it at 99% then they are not getting burnt.
      Reduce TDs pay to ?50K, tax TD expenses and if they fail to attend Dail sittings reduce their pay by same percentage of the sittings missed.

• Why not give the goverment a pay cut and take away some of the pensions and bonuses they have as well as their state cars and 1st class flight that would save a lot of money we are already paying out of our own pockets for too much since the recession started

• Stop taking the money from us and giving it to those freaking buatard bloody bond holders for a start.

• if they provided a proper free education system and every child got free health care at least we would be seeing somthing for all the taxes we pay seems to me that workers are paying all the time and the only thing that they get back is cb …. those who dont work get cb plus help with school costs and healt care …so lets make it universil no payment but all education and health care for kids covered fed up listening to all sides moaning about cutbacks thats what this government want us all fighting and it leaves them free to do what they like while seeing who can moan the loudest , they know the unions are crap and people cant leave work to protest so the loudest and those with free time win and its the workers who loose out again

• Michael 02/10/12 #

Do you see that state run education is a nightmare? It’s free and this is the best they can do.

The taxes you pay is actually just you paying for (second-rate) education. Wouldn’t you be better off having a choice of schools to send your child and having significantly lower taxes?

• government are hoping to save 100 million by doing this.

a tenth of a billion.

what they’re giving away today.

• Child benefit was original devised as a hardship payment,not to finance extra holidays and computer equipment. Give it to those who genuinely need it and reduce it on a sliding scale for higher earners. Common sense.

• I dont think it should be cut…I need every penny of that money…What about the people who are not living in this country and still claiming there child benefit and also the people who are saving it every month for a rainy day…I think its a disgrace if it goes ahead…..they should look at the outrageous pensions they give themselves while working and also at when the Ash Cloud disrupted travel the government saved over 300 millon in unpaid child benefits and social…does that not tell the goverment anything…..people are taking this country for a ride and unfortunalty its the people who really need it that get hit everytime.

• Your facts are incorrect. the ash cloud had a negligible effect on welfare claims.

• Mjhint 01/10/12 #

Ridiculous comment. I had several foreign employees that were based in Ireland but travelled abroad for their work & claimed child benefit in Ireland. They were only in the country once or twice a month & still got their benefit. What the hell has the ashcloud got to do with child benefit. Urban myths,this country is full of them. Where do ye get them from?

• Why not give a tax credit to people working with kids, and for those not working give it on top of the dole.

• So the people who are the top wont notice,the people who have everything handed will remain getting “topped up” and yet the people in the middle struggling as it is will feel the pinch! If you are getting a state benifit and have children knowing you can not afford them you should not be given child benifit also! This should be given to the families of the people who are out working and struggle to pay bills including child care costs,at least they are contributing to the revenue!

• As a person in receipt of this payment I think it should definitely be means tested just the same as any other social welfare payments given….that would make it fair.

• Cut it for skangers and junkies that spend it on booze but keep it for people for actually spend it on their kids

• Perhaps the correct question is should we be paying €1billion to unsecured bondholders today and having the need for this question at all?

• Why is means testing never mentioned ?

The sharing of data between government departments should be setup in a database built around the PPS number. This is assuming that is it actually computerized and not boxes and boxes of paper. How hard could means testing be with something like that?

Can anybody enlighten me if anything remotely like this exists?

• Means testing was mentioned a few weeks back.

As to your idea of using computers and PPSN to create an integrated system between government departments. It seems obvious and simple, so of course it cannot happen.

• As I understand it, the problem with means testing is that it creates wealth traps.
      If for example the cut off point for eligibility was €500 a week then nobody with a young family would take a job offering €490 and quite right too. They would be mad.

I would support the idea of cutting it, if I felt that the money save was put directly into children’s services but I fear that a cut will be just that, a cut.

• Means test but not cut. I need every penny of it,. Reduce TDs salaries and their expense allowances and benefits for being a TD. Bring student loans to pay back as you earn like UK. They would find plenty of money from all that . Thought loan parents had been cut enough and others on low incomes. These are always the people hit the most!

• I am a recent graduate who is out of work and so is most of the 100 people in my class. A graduate tax will only work when people are able to get jobs.
      But I do believe that if the people who decide to go to college should pay a graduate tax, then the people who decide to have children should not recive money for those children.

• as a single mother working full time every penny is needed and having the child benefit cut would have devastated consequences on my household. So no, cutting it I can’t support it. The politicians should cut their own pensions and unbelievable expenses and huge salaries.

• Here’s a crazy idea, how about instead of hitting single mothers again and again with social welfare cuts, they chase after the runaway fathers to support their children? Seems a ridiculous thing to be getting away with in this day and age…

• G 01/10/12 #

Well said Gemma

• Chase the runaway fathers and put even more money in to the pockets of the family law system operators.

• Don’t forget the runaway mothers too Gemma.

They need to be chased just as bad.

• I agree 100% Damien, I guess I just don’t personally know of any cases of the woman getting pregnant multiple times and leaving the men holding the baba’s while they go on with their lives footloose and fancy free so I automatically said “fathers”. But either way people need to be held accountable

• this comment is a bit random Gemma children’s allowance is paid to all parents not just single ones

• I wasn’t saying they don’t Paul, I’m just making the point that this is another cut to single parents incomes when we’re already so far stretched…nearly every cut has affected us directly, one parent family payment has been reduced twice since recession hit, child benefit has been reduced three times, forth cut imminent, fuel allowance cut, back to school cut, last budget saw the end of us being able to work and sign on…I’d like to point out that I’ve always worked and never claimed any of these, I’ve never needed to but as I stated in a comment above having recently being cut from full time to one day a week I’m wondering why the hell have I being paying taxes all along when I can’t even sign on now that I need to? I’m fully in favour of doing away with child benefit to people whose combined income is ?60,000 and above.

• Michael 02/10/12 #

Biggest problem here is that the state is involved in marriage. This creates inequality between married couples and single mothers, which is not only discriminatory — but ridiculously unfair.

Just a thought.

• Instead of cutting the people that need it why not cut every member of the government to €188 a week and then means test them that surely will save a fortune for the country

• Can you not put up a poll and ask if ministers expenses should be terminated?

They earn enough as it is!

• Gosh please dont cut it :-( hard enough not working and being a single mama. It would hit me hard if it was cut. I dont have the ‘luxury’ of saving it for my son. Bills get paid.. Thats it.

• Why not revolt !

• From the people who earn over 80k per year and dont need it. From taxes. But wherever it comes from people should not insist it goes solely into education and books. Bills need to be paid. I hate the humiliation of being an unemployed single mother, to be handed vouchers instead would just throw us way outvthere to social discrimination people knowing your situation as soon ad you take your ‘family card’ or vouchers out.
    My son is 1 i would love if thy took my cb away and paid for him to go to full time childcare so i could go out and work full time. THAT would make perfect sense. Help people help themselves is better than humiliating us. With vouchers.

• From taxes. Exactly. But many of the same people here who are opposed to a CB are also opposed to increased taxation in other areas. The logic of “increase taxes for everyone except us” doesn’t work if everyone says it, but everyone does say it.

• I seem to remember reading somewhere that a cut of €1 in the dole would result in a €50million saving on the bill. With the drop in the cost of living over the last few tough years surely a cut of €4 a week (saving €200million) is manageable even for people on the dole?

• What drop in the cost of living Paul?

• After being cut from full time to just one day a week recently ?4 would be the difference between me being able to get a bag of coal a week or not, as getting some oil in is totally off the cards now…

• Paul the drop you mention is in living standards and not in as you say cost of living.
      the middle income families are now included in the “coping class” which i take to mean “existing class” as most if not all luxuries are well and truely gone.
      we as a people deserve better than this but what can you expect when we argue amongst ourselfs as to who should be taxed,punished or cut in services more just to satisfy faceless bondholders,bankers, this advisory group that advisory group when the REAL culprits are still walking the streets.
      it time to stick together as a people and say enough to this eu lacky gov.
      B.T.W did anyone notice that Iceland are getting millions in grant aid from the eu to promote tourism not bad for a country that told the bondholders to get stuffed and guess who most of them bondholders were, G.B and Germany as i said not bad

• @Paul, where did you come up with reduced cost living? Gas due to go up again, electric already has, fuel is astronomical, public transport fares increased….

• I agree James. I just read a hateful comment above lauding those who work over those who don’t. The unemployed have no choice but to get welfare. But some people have the attitude that they are somehow breaking the law or immoral in some way. Cop on is what I say. Many of us worked for years and paid into the system and are now unemployed so I don’t buy into this we are carrying ye on the dole attitude. You carry nobody but yourself but there is a very sick insidious attitude out there and strangely I have only heard this from people who live in rural Ireland and are well paid public servants, that people not working should be left with nothing. One teacher I worked with actually told me 5 minutes after starting as a new teaching job that people on the dole should get cut off. This is a sick twisted attitude and it smacks of arrogance and selfishness as if they are carrying the unemployed. The unemployed worked too you know and paid into the system. Don’t forget that.

• Can I live on what ever planet you’re living on ?

• leave it where it is and means test it.

• the idea that poor families have to apply for a top up means that the bureaucrats get to offload more work on already overstreched and poor people. This will also mean that quite a few people won’t be doing it. The state needs to do the work here and not offload it.

• Are they still giving child benefit to parents who’s kids are in college??

• I have 3 kids I am getting a payment for i work part-time my husband works full-time ,pay cuts on the way in his job i had to borrow to send them back to school, dont get anything from anyone never go nowhere havent been out for a family day for the last 2 yrs can even bring them for a treat at mcdonalds ,but if i wasnt working and we lived off the state i would have free medical,my mortgage would be paid the svp would fill my oil for me would get fuel allowance i could go on there are plenty of jobs out there but why work when u can get everything for free i am paying for it and now they want to take a massive chunk of the children`s allowance as well a joke thats what it is a joke.

• It should be paid in vouchers, so you can only buy certain foods or clothes etc., for children. Then the money, would be going back into the economy and you know children are benefitting from it!

• I have seen the family card used in other countries, accepted in all supermarkets but not for alcohol and cigarettes.

• I would be quiet happy to accept a payment card, vouchers etc payable to ESB, Eircom, Our local fuel merchant, Our local group water scheme, Our local school book/stuff suppliers, Our local shoe shop, Tesco, Dunnes where clothes can also be bought, Our local Topaz for the endless petrol we spend on school runs etc and gladly produce receipts for everything at the end of the month because this is how we spend our money. Neither my husband or I drink or smoke thankfully, out of choice I’ll add but wouldn’t be able to afford it anyhow! I do however know of families who would get as much and in some cases more than we do but their children have nothing to show for it, shameful. Its these kids missing out and someone else STILL somewhere has to provide a second time for them.

• the only problem with that is some families use there’s to pay bills and oil.

• That’s True Lorna, but all you have to do is prohibit what can’t be purchased i.e. Drink, Ciggarettes, Holidays abroad and new cars. But scrapping it and directing it into education, may have its dis-advantages to some?

• How many Yes voters actually have children?

• The exact same percentage of no voters that do have children

• Pardon me, but since when were children free of cost? If you have children you do so in the knowledge that you will have to pay for preschool, school books, uniforms, eventually college, you know from the day of conception that these costs will be coming down the line.
      Fine, let the state supplement those who are stretched, IE, those working, but if you are on state benefit, have never paid an ounce of tax in your life, why should I, who has no children, be working to pay tax to keep them and their children to the style they’re accustomed to?
      I have no problem with child benefit being paid if you contribute to society – but if you’re a career welfarer – get out. There are hard working people out there paying a lot of tax, and quite frankly, I’d rather see it go towards those actually contributing to my society.

• @Michael
      While I do agree with you, I think that the children have no choice in the matter. If we could change children allowance so that books, schooling, education etc was paid for and improved vastly, then the money would be going directly to the children and not the parents to spend in any which way. Using the money for improved children’s education would have a benefit for society on a whole.

• Micheal 01/10/12 #

Absolutely – it should be attached to UB or JB – the longer you are on social welfare, the rate of CA should go down, with the unpaid amount being paid into a fund for the local school to provide books or materials or uniforms – I don’t know, but it should not be given to those who have never worked a day in their lives.

• @micheal. Those children you are supporting now will someday support you when you are old in pension payment or illness support.

• Micheal 01/10/12 #

David, I didn’t say take it from the children – I said take it from the adults. Instead of giving it to parents who have no interest in their child’s welfare, put it into our schools – provide children with books, uniforms, materials, school tours, lunches, whatever.
      If you are doing better on social welfare than you are on a full time job, there is something drastically wrong with the system. I’m not saying remove welfare, I’m saying that when you sign on, you should get UB, maybe household support for bills, along with child benefit, but instead of each of those things being a constant no matter how long you remain in receipt of SW, it should be on a reducing scale. Yes the state needs to make it as easy as possible to get jobs, but there are jobs available, and have been the whole way through this crisis. Yes they may not pay the top dollar – they are jobs though. We should not be making it easier to stay at home than to go out and work. All welfare schemes need to be looked at – including the Child Allowance.

• @micheal. This is what you said that I was responding to.
      Quote “why should I, who has no children, be working to pay tax to keep them and their children to the style they’re accustomed to?”

• Yes. Go ahead and cut more and more child benefit. Save millions on children’s expenses. Who cares if children go hungry and are not warm enough this winter? Obviously not this government.

• Yes. Go ahead and cut more and more child benefit. Save millions AT children’s expenses. Who cares if children go hungry and are not warm enough this winter? Obviously not this government.

• what i would like to know is how many of you are going to do something about it if this does happen. i know the government put these things out there to see peoples reaction.
    i know i would be there fighting for this for my 2 children as i would find it very hard to survive without it.

• OMG no!! Its barely enough as it is!!

• Well then if they wish to cut it, they best be prepared for a lot more families begging on the street, maybe invest in family friendly homeless shelters. I can see it being a requirement sooner rather than later. Some people are only A couple of weeks away from that. But as long as the big shots stay very comfortable that all that matters.

• Child benefit should not be cut or taxed for families who are not working or working. It is not a welfare payment, it is the only thing that is keeping a lot of low income and unemployed families afloat and working families being able to cover the high costs of childcare. I work part time and receive welfare but I would give anything to be able to get a full time job.and it would be child benefit that would enable me to take a full time job on basic pay. Don’t put everyone in the same category.

• It will save €200 million.

Ya but how many children will it end up starving.

I’m sorry but they have no right whatsoever to come after the money that is for our children. Parents are scrimping and saving as it is. There has already been approx €170 taken from each child in this country.

Now work that out because its after saving a lot more although not reli because that money that belongs to our children is being poured into failing banks and things such as our governments “expenses”‘.

They are claiming over €50,000 a year when their already on a salary of over €100,000 for what????

Yet every time they get the chance their cutting our money down bit by bit but its alrite so long as they swan around without a care in the world.

A joke of a government!

I mean enda Kenny spent 25000 e in a pub on “expenses” in one night. Give the citizens of Ireland €25000 nd I guarantee it wouldn’t be wasted down the pub.

And if we don’t get these people out now and change the way the system works, once their there over 2 years they can also claim pensions of over 100,000 even though the pension age is 65.

The hole system needs reform nd first thing is for these shower of hypocrites to be told to F**k off as they done nothing but gave us empty promises, then done nothing but introduced a load of taxes charges etc etc.

A working Irish citizen lives off approx €35,000 a year and ye have the cheek to tell us that this budget will be the toughest ever, we,re hearing the same line since 2008 but we don’t see ye taking any payouts.

The wages and expenses of the dail are absolutely fukin ridiculous, I wouldn’t mind if they were actuali working for the people but their NOT, why don’t they pay the debts of the banks themselves their making 3 times more than what we do.

Yet we are just leaving them come at us with everything and bearing the brunt of it.

They will have us back in the times of the famine while they swan around with their ridiculous wages even though it is not the people of Ireland,s debt.

They make me sick.

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• Catherine some fair points there, but ranting on here isn’t going to change things. If your that determined to make a change the only way top do it is to interact with the current system i.e get elected to local/national government and make changes that way

• Lou 01/10/12 #

I RELY on child benefit to pay for childcare, clothes etc for my child. Simply cannot afford to take a cut. I’m a public sector worker who has taken enough cuts in last few years and also bought a house at top of market. It’s the same people getting hit.

• @ nikolas yes, higher taxes is the only way. Anyone who comes out with over 100k after tax, surely could do with an additional 2 or 3 % taken. Ok they may have to reduce their holidays to 2 or 3 a year but they wont starve or be homeless or cold thats for sure. Im not saying hit the middle men who are constantly having to fund us on benefit (ad i did for years paying tax) but the big shots who earn too much money if u ask me. They should help the poor out. I know if i won the lotto or had money i would hate to see people in the breadline and would help however i could. .

• @ Leah – I’m not disagreeing, but I’m questioning how this will happen. You say that the people who can afford to pay more tax should. Seems reasonable. But who actually decides who is in a position to pay more. If I told you that I’ve decided you should pay more, I’m quite sure you would disagree, and you would be right to. Who am I top decide that about your situation? But, by extension, if you decide that certain people should pay more, and decided that they can pay more, they have just as much right as you do to say “No”. Move away from the ideals, look at the pragmatics, and what practical way can you see there to be that will enable the state to maintain CB while either lowering the state spending deficit and/or increasing tax revenue that is possible to implement and that people will abide by? The “someone else has gotta pay” argument is getting this country nowhere, because there is no”someone else”, there’s only us. And forcing extra charges onto the public hasn’t gone down well at all so far, just look at the Houseshold Charge ( fixed ) and the proposed Property Tax ( variable ) . So why would a charge to maintain CB be taken in any more of a positive way than these????

• Any attempt at cutting child benefit on the basis that it should be means tested because the wealthy receive the same as the poor is just a foot in the door to cut the payment for everyone and should be opposed. It is a universal payment for all children and should be protected. on the other hand, here’s a mad idea – a graduated wealth tax and public ownership of our natural resources. For example, it is estimated that the richest 1% of households have net assets of 131.5 Billion (this is probably a serious underestimate). A 5% assets tax on these households (which include the richest 300) would yield approximately 6.5 billion.
    http://www.unitedleftalliance.org/super-rich-get-richer-but-pay-no-tax-on-increased-assets/
    Oil and gas under the areas of Ireland’s seabed already licensed to private companies is worth more than €1,600 billion (€1.6 trillion), according to the companies’ own estimates. Why do we stand by, fighting amongst each other for the crumbs off the table (working vs unemployed, old vs young, public sector vs private sector etc etc) when we should have access to the whole cake??
    http://www.shelltosea.com/booklet

• this is not about who works or who doesn’t have kids seeing it as an unfair payment its about children going into poverty over this as a human race should we not stick up for the children born into right or wrong circumstances we keep letting our government rip us off while they get 5k a month for travel while kids go hungry this country is turning my gut think of our future our kids will suffer for there mistakes

• Hey guys and you are welcome to visit every to town and city in the country who have a wonderful girls night with drinks promotions and this occurs….every childrens allowance day. No point in denying it. I work in the trade and I see it going on. Means testing it is not a problem. If you are on welfare they know how much you get and if you work they know how much you earn. Wheres the problem there.

• Yes, cut it out altogether……………..my kids have grown up. :))

• Damocles 01/10/12 #

Yes, but … what would be the cost of setting up the top up payments?

• Stop punishing those without a voice, mum of three and I’m lucky because I don’t have s huge mortgage, but I struggle every day to get by, my child benefit is never seen, paying bills is all it does, occasionally I may have a few euros left to invest in clothes for my kids, and with winter just around the corner have to try and get winter clothes for my children, means test it but lay off the easy targets,

• The Child Benefit should not be cut, however maybe it should be means-tested so that those who need it will still get it.

• NO WAY it’s already been cut enough

• Taxed yes. Cut no.

• you can claim tax back, it should be means tested so only those that need it get it

• If its only going to save 200 million why not keep this 1 billion of many billions that have been given to un secured bankers that are lending it back to us with interest even though we have no obligation to give them any money. That will help stop the worst off in society from getting worse off while the bankers take their share of pain

• @ Martin Gregory,

1) 1Billion Payback to bondholders although not right is unrelated to excesses in current expenditure
      2) Child benefit is paid to everyone regardless of financial status. There are other mechanisms to protect the most vulnerable

• @ Johnthebaptist. so you agree with paying the wealthy a welfare payment.? Insane.

• If the government own the banks does that not mean that it is the government that are paying the bankers ?! That in sense makes it expenditure ?! Thats 17 billion so far this year & another 18 billion being paid back next year….

• Yes if you want kids you have for them I have a nice jeep I have to pay for it

• Christopher Gardiner, I agree with you on that BUT the fact is alot of wealthy to middle class people are watching the number of children they can have and afford whereas working-class areas keep having so many regardless of thinking how many they can afford and expect the state to pay for them. The truth is they need to limit the number of children’s benefits to 2 children, no more. After that, if people want more, pay for it yourself and stop expecting the tax payers to raise your children. I see tons of middle class people who don’t have the money to have more and they stop.

• So we are going to save 200 million , big deal . That’s not even a quarter of the money they will be paying as part of the Spanish bail out. The Irish government will possibly be paying 852 million as their share for the bailout for the Spanish banks as agreed in the treaty.

The only people that will suffer are the children at the end of the day and the people who are lower class or middle class are using the money as part of their monthly budget. In some cases its going to the mortgage, esb bill , heating or clothes and food and any cut will put more pressure on the people.

The Irish Government have lost touch with reality and are looking at Ireland as a country and not mass of people who are suffering. The likes of Enda Kenny, Eamon Gilmore, Michael Noonan and every other Muppet in that building are disconnected from reality and society . They have no understanding of what its like to rummage through their wallet looking for 10 euro for petrol for the car. No ideal what its like to hold off getting the food for a few days because they are waiting to get paid . They have no financial worries so they have no understanding how the people actually feel in this kip of a country.

With this lack of understanding comes the inability to perform the primary task and that is to protect the citizens of the country. The are busy protecting the country as a whole at all costs and its standing withing the failed Eurozone and forgetting about the people as a whole.

People need to realise when they are giving out about theses fools that its human nature and they are in for their own futures , pensions and financial gain.

• Whatever you may argue about adults’ life choices reflecting on their income, children have no control over what families (or ‘class’, to translate into the language used here) they are born into.

Children have rights. The state has an obligation to ensure these rights are upheld. (And incidentally, society at large has a ‘moral’ obligation to ensure same). Part of this is to ensure that every child has access to the means required to fulfill the rights, and part of that is the financial means, whether it is sourced from their parents, the state, or some other party.

The current government has already seen the error it made in imposing a ‘flat-rate’ tax in the form of the household charge, and deciding on a flat-rate for child benefit is basically making the same mistake again.

It is clear that Ireland’s books need to be balanced, so our current welfare payments do need to be looked at in general. And while it may prove an expensive in the short term, means testing will provide a way to ween the nation off an unsustainable welfare structure, without impacting on those who actually require the assistance.

• @christopher Gardiner
      No never said that but what I am saying is that the incorrect repayment of bondholders should not be used as an excuse not to reduce our current spending defecit of 12 Billion a year. Child benefit is paid to every one in the state that has eligible children not matter where in the EU the children reside and regardless of the household income. Does’nt make a lot of sense to maintain it just because we paid bondholders

• lets start with get rid of Senate. cut the number of Co Councils . cut the number of T.Ds. THERE EXPENSES

• Are Irish people that stupid to continue accepting all these cuts. Whats wrong with you people?

• I don’t understand why they can’t just means test it….It’s so unfair to take it off people that are barely keeping their heads above water as it is….The Government are a joke..they haven’t a clue what their doing…..

• CB should be cut and the money spent on services for the benefit of children: more money to children’s hospitals, free creches, free preschools, free uniforms and books.

• YES it should be cut to anyone earning above 50 grand a year. They do not depend or need it.

• If you’re paying 1,200 on Creche fees you most certainly do depend on it.

• Since cost of living in this country is so high, €50,000 is not that big a wage for a family with children. That may sound crazy, but factor in childcare, mortgage/rent, car(s) and bills and you wont be living too lavishly on a €50K family income. To decide on a cut off point you would need to factor in family size, location etc.

• Why isn’t child benefit given in a voucher system? Get the government to use its clout to make a deal with producers of books, clothes, certain foods etc for a good deal for parents.

Use the vouchers to pay for children. It still doesnt stop the irresponsible spending on themselves, but it garauntees a basic level of clothing, food and education for the child, surely that’s the point? Cannot see an argument against this other than ‘it will take effort to set up’. Minimal, surely?

If you paying bills with child benefit, you need to change your lifestyle. If you have internet, tv, a car, a mobile phone, then you are paying bills every month for luxuries. Work towards these things rather than betting child benefit won’t change and lettnig the minor suffer..

• Michael 02/10/12 #

“Get the government to use its clout to make a deal with producers of books, clothes, certain foods etc for a good deal for parents.”

You actually think this is possible. Do you no think these educational companies aren’t just going to lobby the minister for education to have their produce selected?

• Yea cut it all, time to stop the gravy train!

• Something needs to change – personally I feel that it should be means tested and then vouched in some way. Complex and probably costly, but handing out cash to everyone is not the answer.

There are two sides to every story and ads like this -

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/10/01/childrens-allowance-bingo/

and the recent one from Centra advertising cheap beer on children’s allowance day remind me that the money is not always being spent as it should, which in turn makes me roll my eyes when I see the “won’t somebody think of the children” arguments.

Also, this in only one in a very very long list of things that need to change.

• Smiley 01/10/12 #

Lots of digression in this thread. The bottom line is, don’t have the children if you can’t afford them. If I choose not to have children I get no payment. Why should child-free people subsidise those with children?

• So lets not cut it. But that means other benefits must be cuts or other costs lowered. CB wouldn’t be cut for the sake of it. The main issue is not moral, it’s financial. The state is overspending. There’s no solution where everyone gets continues to gain the current benefits from the state but continues to pay the same tax or less tax. If CB is not to be cuts, then where will the money come to pay for it?

• Derek 01/10/12 #

I still feel the issue is more to do that it’s financially hard to stay in business these days, upward only rent and high rates and insurance, I’ve lost track of the numbers of businesses closing every day adding to the unemployment line, it was always my understanding that it’s more important to have people working and keeping the flow of money in circulation, people living without state aid unless still in need of it while also contributing with tax.

I hear every day “the sorry fact is we are spending more than we take in and need to cut benefits” This won’t change when people are still depending on it due to unemployment and this current shower of plebs only continue to cut at it bit by bit making it harder for folk to get up from and find jobs which they would be better off taking than remain on welfare.
      It just doesn’t make sense. They are focusing on taking more from us instead of putting more in. Incentives for jobs, upward only rent abolished and work with a few contract lawyers in breaking current long term rental agreements to stop it, cut rates and councils budgetary calculation system so shops/business can remain open and employing.
      This form of austerity only works in certain situations, and ours isn’t one of them. The interest debt we are creating is madness and seriously poisoning this country’s future.

• the likes of foreign nationals getting child benefit for children that are not even in our country is a fcuking joke,even claiming for children they dont even have,all the irish people i know are paying their mortgages and trying to feed their children with children allowance,and there is a lot of them living on the edge with that,thats all fine for all these people who dont have children and can drive around in their big jeeps,it was those people who were driving big jeeps that put us in the mess we are in,

• I have recently written a blog entry based on the children’s rights referendum in which upcoming budget cuts such as this are mentioned. Please read and share with others you feel might relate to the content. I hope you at The Journal.ie might be interested in publishing it as a main opinion piece.

http://sarahmargaretreilly.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/childrens-rights-referendum-will-not-deal-with-the-underlying-issues-affecting-our-kids/

• No! Means tested, absolutely yes, but the people that need it, need all of it, and the people who don’t, shouldn’t get it.

Add New Comment