TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Poll: Do you agree with supporters of the Quinn family?

About 4,000 supporters turned up to a rally to show solidarity to the beleaguered family. Do you agree with them?

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

UP TO 4,000 people gathered in the Cavan village of Ballyconnell last night to show their support for the local Quinn family.

Coming together under the name Concerned Irish Citizens, the group wanted to express its solidarity after Seán Quinn Junior was sentenced to three months in Mountjoy prison.

Speakers at the event included Tyrone football manager Mickey Harte and former GAA player Colm O’Rourke who said that “nobody should take any solace in the public humiliation of the Quinn family”.

Seán Quinn Senior spoke about justice prevailing for his business in its fight against the now-defunct Anglo Irish Bank, which says it is owed €2.3 billion. Quinn and his supporters dispute this amount.

Although the Quinns have admitted to making mistakes, their supporters feel the State should investigate the banking crisis more fairly. The State is currently working with a number of foreign administrations to recoup a number of Quinn Group assets which could be sold off to recoup money for the taxpayer.

A message on the CIC Facebook page reads:

It is absolutely crucial that all the people from the border counties stand in solidarity with the Quinn family in the face of a relentless campaign of bullying, intimidation and the greatest rip-off in the history of our country.

It is not just an assault on the Quinn family but an attempt to undermine every man, woman and child in a disadvantaged part of the country.

We have had enough and demand an end to this scandalous campaign until the legitimacy of the 2.3 billion debt is ruled on in a court of law.

Do you agree with the supporters of the Quinn family?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (143 Comments)

• This is exactly what is wrong with this country and why we are where we are. Yes, the other actors in this financial fiasco should equally be brought to justice, but the failure to so do before now cannot in any way be used to justify the Quinns’ outrageous behaviour. The Quinns have been afforded due process and have been found seriously wanting by the Courts of Justice. How can any rational person support the Quinns in light of their contempt of court?

• because they created employment in a region abandoned by goverment, could do with people like sean quinn in my own home place.

• Correct, Barry. I have zero sympathy for them. Zero. They knew what they were doing & as a result, we are all paying the price.

• Due process of law in a country where the Judiciary are appointed through political cronyism http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/1114/1224307527505.html is rather questionable, particularly in a case where members of the legislature in addition are implicated in the mess.
      Sean Quinn took a reckless gamble that put the welfare of his employees, companies and policy holders at risk by involving himself in the dodgy dealings of a rogue bank which had become toxic through the negligence, incompetence and corruption of state authorities in matters of regulation and oversight.
      Sean Quinn conspired to hide his assets from a rogue state; thousands of private citizens conspire to hide their assets from the same rogue state by refusing to register for the household charge for example. Sean Quinn can say he was a victim of the same rogue, unregulated runaway banking fraud that was perpetrated on the thousands of mortgage and business borrowers that were similarly cajoled into borrowing beyond their means while the regulators looks the other way.

Yes Quinn has a case to answer but regarding the cast of ”actors in this financial fiasco” he had a rather minor walk on part.

• Once again those in the “big house” think that they are above the law.

• barry you talk about due process most of these judges have been apointed by FF

• I am seriously starting to think that the IQ level in this part of the country isn’t that high. You gamble you lose, you owe

• Anyone who thinks Sean Quinn allowed himself be conned by the crooks at Anglo are the ones being conned!!

• Maybe we should introduce a new word to the language – “quinnspin”
      Definitions please?

• This is a relatively complex matter and contrary to some views the substantive case against Quinn is not as clear cut as the IBRC are suggesting, Anglo was a completely rogue bank and retrospective guarantees on loans for share purchases may be considerably more difficult to enforce than is suggested by the IBRC, Clearly there has been a completely disproportionate level of accountability imposed on Quinn than on any other person involved in the collapse of Anglo as well and it says a lot about the real politic in Ireland, however the Quinn’s do not dispute half a billion owed and the Courts made it very clear that they were not to do certain things with assets, the Quinn’s blatantly and intentionally disobeyed the Court’s orders and behaved like a criminal enterprise in their concealed attempts to evade creditors and disobey the orders of the Court, regardless of the resolution of the disputed substantive issues, the Quinn’s behavior was an affront to common decency and showed zero respect for the rule of law, why some well known GAA figures and allegedly Michael O’Leary (possibly a publicity stunt) are supporting this behaviour is incredible. Natural Justice is a cliche, but in any event and at every turn in the proceedings the Quinn’s had an opportunity to assert their position and rather than act like criminals they could have obeyed the Court Order and fought their case within the rule of law. They and the people who support them do not have a credible argument and have only served to humiliate themselves further,

• It says it all that the public rally and appeal to natural justice occur only after their deceitful and clandestine attempts to move disputed assets beyond the reach of the court and their complete disrespect for the authority of the courts and the rule of law was exposed. If their case is as strong as they suggest and I am not saying it isn’t why not assert it within the rule of law? Why salute a man evading the jurisdiction of the state? The Quinn’s don’t recognise the rule of law or the authority of the courts in the republic of Ireland and their supporters don’t either, they are a disgrace and have revealed the nature of their character which is anything but decent.

• Quinnspin: def: Side effect of hubris, the denial of responsibility where disastrous financial investments have ramifications affecting a nation. Usually includes attempts to evade creditors by offshoring funds, evading national laws and all while pleading ignorance. May also involve manipulating local support despite national aprobation.

• Great to see him linking their ‘search for justice’ to the Mc Areavey case. Classy.

• rusty9 30/07/12 #

Mattoid, at least Quinnspin as you call it is not be paid for by the taxpayers unlike Anglo spin.

• Maybe this is a historical trait of the Irish. Respect for the man in the big house that gave the means to feed our families etc. it just shows that principles of right and wrong come second place when a ” local boy” is concerned. Same affliction affects the electorate in certain parts of the country where corrupt politicians are still held in high regard.

• Perhaps all the Con men involved in Anglo should be given firm Jail sentences and Fines….Rememeber in tougher times they would have been Be headed and the suffering masses would have turned out in their droves for the execution

• Servile sycophants whose behavior is typical of the that which condemns us to low standards in public life ,” “Sean gave me a job, so to hell with the rest of ye” As Irish we are good a community but terrible at Society , the greater good means nothing here.

• Just one question to all his supporters, why if the Quinns say they don’t owe the 2.3 billion did they come up with a plan to repay it?

• “We have had enough and demand an end to this scandalous campaign until the legitimacy of the 2.3 billion debt is ruled on in a court of law.”
    So they will accept the ruling on the legitimacy of the debt but dont accept the courts ruling when they found the Quinns guilty of contempt..cant have it both ways lads!!!

• I can’t fathom how these people think? it’s like a cult up in cavan, they have admitted hiding assets and can’t understand how they are all facing jail time for contemt of court and the people of cavan still say they are innocent. Sean quinn broke commercial law when he used company funds to try and buy a bank, he jeprodised all those people’s jobs by his illegal activities but he’s managed to turn it into a ”them versus us” argument.

• I think a new cult is taking over Cavan and surrounds “The Quinnies”

I doubt if anyone with any sense of reality would support Anglo if the facts as proven in the High Court where not so obvious. Its bad enough this family gambled away everything but their actions could have also desimated any good they may have done in the past. I wondered how the attendee’s at this disgraceful gathering felt about the latest news of various quinn family members recieving unbelievable salaries via their ukranian friends. It is quite simple really.

Quinns developed an amazing Business and created fantastic employment.
    Quinns wanted to own a Bank and Purchased massive amounts of shares, owning at one point over 20% of Anglo.
    The shares were purchased by way of Loans from the said bank
    The Bank tried to bail them out as the share price collapsed
    Value of the entire QUINN groups value gradually wiped out
    Bank Call in the debts
    Quinns offer to pay debts? (WITH WHAT I WONDERED?)
    Quinns could not pay
    Recievers appointed (Probably saved most of the Jobs)
    Quinns attempt to hide assets.
    Quinn deny same
    Quinns are caught
    Quinns continue to deny the obvious
    High Court acts
    Finally Quinn admits his guilt in what has to be the most dillusional radio interview ever aired in Ireland.
    Then we find out various members of the family are in receipt of substantial salaries from Ukraine, “God bless them, they were so hard done by”

G******** continue to defend the quinns?

GO FIGURE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Perhaps everyone should just judge any loan they’ve had in the last 10 years to be “illegal” and refuse to pay it.

That’d help.

• And we wonder why the country is on it’s knees. Its the fault of the Irish people; Tipp backed Lowry, Cavan backs Quinn and we can go all over the country wherever we find corruption. We have corrupt Politicians because we have Irish people who condone corruption as they like to back their own. Suffer on Ireland.

• if U study Irish history you will realise that this was the way the “Old Gaels” went about Business…..
      The Local Bards praised the Chief with contorted propoganda. I see that today and over the years the Fermanagh Herald which praised Quinn to the hilt over the years ( Who knows were the local press bunged by quinn over the years I know the Planning authorities were !) ……The Minds of this largely Rural area have been manipulated by Conservative social outlest and institutions….into a population ripe for exploitment by an inherenty corrupt and evil family. The “Burgois of the Border”……..
      U see that the founders of teh GAA wanted Irish to return to what it was pre famine and in truth the native ways of eth Irish pre famine where pretty damn primative but u see the Cultural Religious phenomenon that engulfed Ireland since partition has promoted this self congratulatory diatribe and in truth most Irish folk have bought into this craziness ever since…..as a society we are more divided than united in comparrison to stronger nations such as the UK the USA or the More socialist European nations….. In truth we are a peripheral Nation both geographically and constitutionally

• I think whipping up a pr campaign to win over support misses the point completely , it doesn’t matter how wealthy or influential you are or were , the courts are there to uphold law and Quinns might not like the findings but the judges have found them in contempt of court , I despair with the gombeen crap , honestly the levels of accountability in this country are outrageous , why are we so bad at addressing white collar crime .

• Would like the same amount of support shown for the families who are being kicked out of their homes by the banks. People seem to look the other way when that happens.

• The Quinns have robbed you, me and every other Irish person. How dare anyone “support” them.

• It is not surprising that the nation that elected Charles Haughey and Aherne would tug the forelock to the robber Baron Quinn.
    Grow up Ireland. You don’t owe the likes of Sean Quinn anything! He didn’t do it all for you you know!

• Obviously they were beneficiaries of the Quinn empire!

• HE FIXED THE ROAD

• Quinn supporters- If you caught a burglar in your house one night would you make him a cup of tea and help him load his van?

• The admittedly small percentage of Quinn supporters are very quiet. Kinda hard to defend the indefensible.
    The Quinn Family seem to think that, as they once gave employment to a sizeable number of people in the area that entitles them to be somehow treated differently. They didn’t pay huge salaries though, or their staff didn’t live lavish lifestyles. They did. It was for their benefit.They were like medieval royalty throwing pennies to the poor, and the poor in turn were grateful for what they got and served their masters well, ensuring they lived their lavish lifestyles – behind closed doors. King Quinn liked to portray himself as a common man who just enjoyed playing a game of cards and a quiet walk. His lavish castle and private lake aside, he fooled many people.
    Then King Quinn got too greedy and the smelly stuff hit the fan, when faced with loosing everything he tried to hide his fortune in other kingdoms. This angered the even more powerful Queen, who told him not to do that, so she threw him and some of his family in her dungeon to teach them a lesson. Ahhh but he still thinks he is a powerful King and has still fooled some of his old poor tennants, and others who should know better. In time we hope his spell will wear off and they’ll see the truth.

• Indded brian, however the frightening thing is the blind border counties fail to this. If they spent this energy fighting real problems that would benefit everyone they’d be a beacon for the rest of the country. From what I see they are actually solidifying the opposition to this vile and greedy man from the rest of the country, but again the ‘cant see further than our own nose’ lot wont be able to realise this either. What happens if they actually get what they want? He’ll get off, we’ll continue having to bail out the failed gamble, taxes will increase further and where will the sheep be then? Complaining behind keyboards and pints probably. The ignorance in this country is only surpassed by the level of apathy.

• Gombeenism. It’s also how corrupt and inept politicians get elected by their adoring GAA flag waving minions.

• Agree with u 1000 % I watched the Mayo Donegal final …then later in the day watched Arsenal V Man City the gulf in quality was immense …..we prefer to celebrate our own wee culture to the detriment of our National Soccer team
      Shame on us !
      The GAA must be the most “Professional” Amateur sport in the world
      Good man Paddy Irishman You are the but of the Joke again !

• Where were these sheep when we needed them to campaign against the water taxes, the household tax, the septic tank tax?? Why are these sheep defending the actions of a man who has defrauded them, the citizens of this country, of millions and millions in failed gambling ventures. What is it about sheep that they cant see this man and this family laughing at them, egging them on, ‘go on, go on, go on’, yet wouldnt even be offering them a cup of tea. This shows exactly whats wrong with this country. The Quinns are reprehensible, the bankers are reprehensible, the politicians are reprehensible, but everyone just protects their own little patch. Grow a pair Cavan and border counties!!! Your beloved Seanie took everyone for a ride. He, as well as the bankers and politicians should be punished, and you lot should cop on and protest more for the real things that need fixing, not a bunch of high living gamblers who have enough to live off even if they lose everything here in Ireland. I dispair with some people, I really do!

• Greed masquerading as piety to con the locals! There are many deserving causes for support in this area of which we have heard very little.why don’t the people who support this issue support the many distressed mortgagees who have been placed in this situation by the likes of the Actions of Quinn and company.

• Jedward would’ve gotten a bigger crowd.

• Quinn = Greedy = Gambled everything = Lost!!! Get over it Cavan and Quinn family. Pay your debt to society – I’m sick of paying increased charges and taxes because of the likes of you!!! I didn’t get greedy in the boom years but I’m suffering because of the likes of you and your greed. This parade of support is disgusting – shame on you Cavan!! And shame on Mickey Harte and mad arse D’Arcy for sticking noses in.

• Basic company law – a company can not legally lend money to anyone for the purpose of buying its own shares. The Anglo campaign to do this was clearly illegal, the people who orchestrated it are going to jail. Does anyone actually believe that the senior Quinn people didn’t know it was an illegal loan when they took the money? Huge gamble, they lost, & now they’re crying foul?

• the people who organised it go to court, not the people who bought into it. Those who were complicit in the scheme (as Gaeilge = scham) hold up their hands in mock horror. How could a solid financial institution do this to them?

• They’re not going to jail just yet, I’ll believe it when they begin a half decent sentance. As another poster said above, if this were to happen in America they’d already be into a 100 + year sentance.
      We can hardly say one or two of the people in this scam were guilty and jail them to satisfy the public lust for justice but allow others to go free, either everyone involved knowingly entered into it and broke the law, and are therefore guilty, or nobody is.

• The philosophy of provincial Ireland: anything people in Dublin do is wrong; anything people not from Dublin do is right. Michael Lowry, anyone?

• This is almost like something ya’d read in a Ross O’Carroll-Kelly column.

• Quinn tries to dupe the state for 500m….gets 3 months…………garlic importer dupes the state for 1.6m…gets 6yrs

“concerned Irish citizens” my arse!!!

• rusty9 31/07/12 #

Quinn has long since paid the debt of 455 million. His company worth 4.3 billion was seized by Anglo. Get your facts straight before you post ridicilous comments.

• Its good to see Cavan, a proper little Sherwood forest, coming out in support of the outlaw Sean Quinn and his band of merry men. Brave outlaws the lot of them, who robbed from, well us actually, to give to himself.

• This is the kind of half-assed Feudalism that passes for politics in this country. It’s what allows politicians of all hues to hold onto their seats every election. People jostling and scrambling for a few crumbs from their lordships table. He might get them that medical card, or the planning permission, or their young fella into that CE Scheme that might lead to something better. Just as long as the feudal prince is allowed to live in the manner he feels befits him. And as long as the people don’t ask for too much other than the few crumbs. Because this is how politics and business operates in this country, people continue to perpetuate the system because they want to climb the greasy pole too, or at least benefit in a small way.
    Yes, the banking system is the arch-villain here. But Quinn is not some simpleton who was sent to market to buy a goose and came back with some magic beans. I object to the annointing of this man as some kind of persecuted folk hero. I’m distressed that the ordinary people are still being divided by being fed real scapegoats. We’re told that it’s the people on the margins, the unemployed, ordinary workers, pensioners etc that are exploiting the tax payer and we’re swallowing this. All the while the wealthy establishment carry on as before. It’s typical of this country that Quinn is being held up as a martyr (by a minority admittedly) while those on the bottom are being portrayed as the exploiters.

• Quinn for Taoiseach, why not? We elected Charlie, Bertie, Michael and the list goes on and on and on!

• I makes it easier for pro Quinn types to believe all us against him are pro Anglo. utter .nonsense. id burn them all. Anglo slowly getting reprimanded and so should that w@nker Quinn and all the other greedy people that just didnt know when to stop

• Okay…so the Quinns have supporters.So what? The courts will ignore them and make their decisions based on the available evidence. Unlike the Quinns ,who ignored the courts and did their utmost to hide the evidence.Hardly unfair treatment of the Quinn family…. ( cue godfather theme )….they were made an offer they should not have refused.

• NOT my words – but I wholeheartedly agree: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=79979715&postcount=56

I’d have a bit of respect for the Quinn family if they hadn’t tried to fnck the state over when everything went pear-shaped. Businesses fail, economies hit recession. He had created lots of jobs, putting a lot of people’s kids through college.

But when things got hard the entire family seemed surprised that they would have to comply with Irish law and their illusion of being untouchable tycoons was spoiled. But rather than do it, they basically gave two fingers to the entire state and Peter Darragh Quinn still gives two fingers to the entire state.

That taints their entire history because it shows that when things get tough, they do whatever it takes to look after themselves. So they didn’t create jobs and businesses out of some loyalty to Cavan or Ireland. They did it to make money, and they happily took those jobs away again to try and save their money. Anyone who supports the Quinns is doing so out of a misguided loyalty to capitalists who played the “we love our people” game, but were very quick to screw over “their people” when their own personal money was at stake.

They’ve played the Irish people for fools.

• If I went bankrupt and took my family down with me regardless of the amount and I withheld documents from the court I too would be held in contempt! No one would have any sympathy for me and I would be in prison to! This should be no different!

In the wise wise wise words of my da: F**k ‘em!!

• They’re a different breed up there that’s for sure

• Listen I am from the area I dont work for Quinn, none of my family work for Quinn, I dont support him we are not the only family like this in teh area . But the regulation and enforcement of law in rural Ireland is a Joke. It is not surprising that an Obsessive power bent businessman got away with what he done in the area. like the lack of Health and safety inspections…lack of Union representation. Lack of Construction Law enforcement . And Fundemenatlly the lack of Educational institution clout in the Cavan, Longford, Leitrim, Monaghan, Fermanagh Area. Why hasn’t this area at least got an Institution of Technology or a University……Surely if successive governments neglect an Area it will fall victim to clandestine Opportunists Like Sean Quinn and the Myriad of other rogue employers in the Area who are well aware of the Weakened community spirit of the people who have been two fingered by the Urban press and Urban Elitists since partition ! We are not Cattle we are not sheep . We dont define ourselves by “Breed” But i will Agree with u that it is F#’king Un forgiveable that so many have bought into this Quinn Nonsence I sometimes think it b
      orders on the occult !

• It’s this sort of mentality that gets the likes of Michael Lowry re-elected,or people thinking that Brian Lenihan was a fool with a good intentions,or CJH was just an old rogue.

It is this sort of mentality that has this country doomed!!!

• He owes €455m which all parties are agreed on so he probably should have just paid up and moved on. The only problem with that is that he would have been wiped out completely. Maybe the order in which the court cases are being held should have been different? If there is a legitimate case to be heard in that there are question marks over the legitimacy of the €2.3bn, then why not deal with this issue first and clarify for all parties involved whether or not the IBRC are correct in their actions. I would have thought that the value of the assets collected by IBRC to date would be of sufficient value to act as a down payment or security over the agreed loans until the €2.3bn question has been answered? … And anyway, by the time the state has spent hundreds of millions of euros that we don’t have establishing who the big bad wolf is, it won’t actually matter because Sean Quinn will never be able to settle any judgement against him.

• whatever happened between quinn and anglo is irrelevant..he was ordered by the courts to freeze his assets but he didnt…he started stripping them away, dealing with anyone including dodgy ukranian mafioso.
    The quinn family showed a total lack of respect for the Irish Legal System…it would make you sick the way they laughed and joked about how they felt disobeying the irish courts thinking they could do whatever the hell they liked..everybody that supported that rally has been tarnished

• When I hear of Quinn the words liar , thief , cheat , corrupt and dishonest come to mind and the gas thing is that the like of Fr Brian Darcy and M O Leary have shown open support for this tool including all the village idiots who turned out to kiss a** Irelands number 1 stroker

• Whatever chance Quinn had was lost on friday when he admitted on radio to trying to squirrel away assets so the state couldnt get them. Ok so Anglo were crooks and Seanie and the boys will pay in time but it doesnt excuse it. Now Kelly ex-president of the GAA is on board too. Enda is related to him somehow I recall. He would want to have a quiet word and tell the gombeen to shut up. GAA must tread warily around this one! Two of that gang in the photo at the “rally” have had bad days in court relating to debt too. Think on boys.

• During many years in an allied health profession, my experience of Quinn Healthcare insurance was that the company had a policy of dragging its feet as long as possible before paying out on health expenses claims. Clients never complained of similar problems with VHI or Aviva, but Quinn Healthcare would regularly and as a matter of course send invoices back to them, to be brought to me to be checked or rechecked or stamped or signed or reissued on headed notepaper, or otherwise re-jigged, often resulting in substantial delays on their claim reimbursements. It’s not hard to imagine such delaying tactics doing wonders for the company’s bottom line – especially if clients could be made to feel so fed up as to give up on claiming altogether. (We’re not talking large claims here, more the kind of small niggley ones that add up over time).

My impression was of an unhelpful and unprofessional attitude towards clients. On that basis I was never sure where their stalwart business reputation came from.

• Madness. Crap like this shows me what that we have learned a bloody thing from this recession.

• I hope they have a song. Every good protest movement needs a song.

“Free, free Sean Quinn,
    I’m telling you please.
    24 hours in captivity.
    Are you so blind that you cannot see.
    Free free Sean Quinn,
    I’m telling yo please.”

Ah yes South Africa’s prisoner of conscience was Nelson Mandela.

But Cavan’s got Sean Quinn!

• Yet again we see country people and parish pump politics at work Lowry Quinn in mayo are they all stupid?? The man gambled and lost get over it!!!

• I’m Spatucus (PDQ) !

• Y.F. 30/07/12 #

I support Quinn as I have been following his demise from the beginning and believe that people in the country are only hearing one side of the story. Yes, they were convicted of contempt of court, and have admitted to what they have done, but I don’t like the way it is being played out. How are Anglo allowed to bring them to court over assets that have not yet been proven to be theirs? Should Quinn’s case against Anglo not have come first, to prove the legitimacy of the ownership of the assets? Quinn always kept his word and he promised to repay his debts. His chance at paying them off was taken from him firstly because Anglo wouldn’t go with the perfectly viable plan that was put forward to repay the debt in it’s entirity, and secondly because they took everything off him, and in doing so, his means of repaying the debt. Let Quinn have his day in court against Anglo before pursuing him for everything. Let a judge prove who owns the assets before sending them to jail for hiding them.

• censored 30/07/12 #

Disinformation.

• The Bigger u are the harder u fall…Sean Quinn built a house of Cards he must accept that it is nigh impossible to build up such a thing once again. And anyway what does it matter to you how rich or wealthy Sean Quinn is ? Do u and the Quinn fraternity wish to set up a state within this state ? Sean quinn is answerable to the law as is the rest of us and his sneaky corner cutting business tactics have not been exposed for what they were over the years. Like the Bad Quality Building products and teh itrangegant dealings with inrance claimants who got in difficulty when they got into problems. if U work for him can u not get a job some where else or start up your own business ?

• censored 30/07/12 #

I have no problem with these people offering to pay for Sean’s debts. Names and addresses please!

• I don’t know if they are right, I do know that it should not be my business. Quinn was given an illegal loan by a private bank to prop up the bank share price. If it was not for the fact that I have become an involuntary share holder in this bank I would not give 2 hoots how much money Quinn squirreled away.

• Anglo should have been investigated first

• Dumb and dumber!

• The alleged 2.8 billon euro claimed by Anglo has never been proved in court…but a court has already judged that some of it, at least, is unlikely to be valid.
    The media /Anglo make no allowance for the huge value of the businesses Anglo has already seized.
    The seizing of the companies and the ongoing court cases are designed to make the Quinns bankrupt, so that they won’t be able sue IBRC/Anglo…..THAT IS AN INFRINGEMENT OF BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS.
    When the Quinns tried to purge their contempt, despite numerous attempts, IBRC REFUSED TO SPEAK TO THEM OR MEET THEM in an attempt to persuade the court that the Quinns were not co-operating.
    Anglo/IBRC are seling Quinn assets below their value, even though they have no valid call on them and that case has not been determined by a court.

It protects the vested interests of foreign bondhlders and covers up the lack of regulation of the government and the corrupt activity of the bank. They are using the Quinns as SCAPEGOATS.

• Have a whip around for the quinns…….

• It would seem that you guys are so eager to slate Quinn and support Anglo. Maybe those supporters see this as wrong. Why do Anglo neglect to inform us of all the assets they have sold from the Quinn empire? Why are Anglo trying to stop Quinn taking the case against them? Why are people so eager to believe all Anglo say?

• Why don’t the Quinns come clean?
      Why doesn’t one of them come and stand in a court of law instead of cowardly running across a border defying the law?
      Why doesn’t the Quinns explain all their money laundering antics?
      Why doesn’t the Quinns tell the truth in court instead of the lies they have been showed IN COURT, they lied about on various matters?

• Reg 30/07/12 #

Why do some Quinn supporter assume that if you are critical of Quinn then you are a supporter of Anglo? Grow up! Quinn ran his insurance company like his own personal bank. He got found out and it is going to cost the Irish people about 1 Billion Euros in the form of an insurance levy over the next 15 years. This is a fact.

• censored 30/07/12 #

Who is defending Anglo?

• Sad comment, sad but just what could be expected from people who view IBRC as the good guys

• Hi can use all check out this page and if you like us agree that the Quinn family are playing us for fools like the page

Thanks

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Very-Concerned-Citizens-Of-Ireland/210904535705475

• Wrote a small opinion blog about this if anyone wants to take a look and tell me what they think.. http://wp.me/p2D0g5-b

• Yes and mr Quinn Getting involved in our ultra capitalist health care system where the fat cats shit on the poor. Typical again of the System that festers our society The Old Gaelic Class ridden ethos. Should we be proud to call ourselves a Democratic Republic when our next door neighbour “Monarchy” has a completely free health system. Quinn Healthcare was part of a fat cat system where beaurocrats and over paid Health professionals bled our country dry. Another facet of our Proud “Gaelic” Clan parochialism that festers our land and has ultimatly proved to be a failure in the eyes of proper modern sophisticated democracy.
    The Divisional Structures of the Catholic Church and the GAA have kept our hearts, minds and dignity lost in darknes since the foundation of our state

• Listen Anglo is gone…..Quinn “The Gambler” Gambled it all away. Quinn took advantage of a Disadvantaged area and a Disadvantaged people and his regime has their minds in his grasp since the 70s. The in-equality of Wealth in the Border area is very much of his families doing and also the GAA and Catholic Church establishment who pull the strings in the Border these guys are out for their own greed and Bank accounts. The vested interests in the Border area don’t want change. New small business in Cavan, Monaghan Lietrim is not given enuff push and encourage-ment.

• ‘My fear which is also my reckoning, is that the entire case is like a dam with many cracks, when the dam bursts, the cost to the irish tax payer will be unforgiving’. CM 05/0812

• I think the good Folks from Cavan and the border counties should just let it go and get back to work at all those jobs successive Irish governments and the IDA brought to the region………..

• I’ll take the red thumbs come from people who think successive governments and the IDA done their damnedest to get investment in the border areas…….lolalol

• Denis 30/07/12 #

I think the good folk of Cavan have demonstrated why the IDA can’t get any jobs in the area.
      Most companies require an educated workforce to be available locally.

• Well said Denis. Dermot, the people of Cavan should start advertising for a new feudal lord. It appears that all they have to offer is blind loyalty.

• Will you f***ing trolls stay away from my comments.
      I have little interest in what cowards hiding behind troll accounts think.

• Hows this for not trolling.

I joined Quinn direct in 2006, I had previously worked for U.S. multinationals. After a week of working there I could not believe the way the company was run.

Firstly they payed the lowest salary they could possibly get away with, no sick leave, pension, health care, nothing.
      Christmas bonus that year was a 50 euro voucher for discount of car insurance, that same year he invested over 100million in property. Nepotism was rife within the company, you were afraid to say anything negative incase you were overheard by one of his relations. Sean junior, who was in charge of the claims department in blanchardstown would likely only turn up in the office once or twice a week.

The funny thing was that at the time I seriously couldn’t believe that the employees were accepting this level of gross unfairness, but they did simply because they had a job. But make no mistake he did not do ANY of this because he was trying to help anyone except but himself, if he could have had his employees working for buttons he would have.

In the end his own unrelenting greed got the better of him and luckily for his employees they still have a job as the company went into receivership. I only hope that he learns something from this and with this level of support and from listening to his delusional speeches about unfairness I doubt he has.

• censored 30/07/12 #

Ah, there’s no justice like angry mob justice.

• I’d bet that Quinn insurance has no record of a Mr Edward Scissor on their books, maybe if you wanted to make a point you might post with a real account and not some made up cowardly troll account, so go back under your bridge troll and bring your troll friends with you.

• How much do you love the word Troll, could you give me a rating from 1-10, just out of interest.

• Is your real name Edward Scissor?
      If not then you sir are a troll, I don’t make the rules.

• Media and government top dogs have once again brain washed Irish people into thinking that every word that comes out their mouths is gold dust, pure and true. There is alot more to the Quinn family’s story than meets the eye (when reading your newspapers) Anglo Irish bank have corrupted the Irish banking system, yes Sean Quinn was wrong to have put so much money into an account for his own pocket, but when a huge ‘trusted’ bank is telling him his stock is doing well (telling lies which is illegal to do so in this manner) you cannot blame a man for doing so. Anglo Irish bank where trying to make a pretty penny for the most park, and when everything went wrong through their own wrong doings, they used the Quinn family as scapegoats.

• Isn’t it going to be very difficult for S. Quinn to challenge Anglo when they don’t exist anymore. That’s a real ‘cute hoor’ trick to to chop and change. It makes for tortuous legal tangles trying to identify who owns what. What genius civil servant came up with that one. Now it’s a real slippery eel which will slither and slide away each time they think they’ve caught hold of something. What exactly does IBRC own. When and how was it all legally transferred so fast. It wasn’t a take-over or a buy-out. It was never liquidated or dissolved. All those talked about assets are in a kind of legal limbo.

Old Michael Buckley (ex CEO of A.I.B.) must be chortling over his Cognac that he finally ‘got him’ liked he threatened to, over 10 years ago. Imagine, the cheeky upstart even called his tiny start-up bank A.I.B. too.

• if i was in sean quinns shoes i’d have done the same……i think most would have done the same.

• The trolls are out in force today, man up FFS

• ;p

Add New Comment