TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Poll shows strong support for same-sex marriage

A recent poll reveals a 73 per cent support for allowing same-sex marriage in the Constitution.

Barry Dignam and Hugh Walsh were the first male couple in Ireland to enter a civil partnership last April.
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

MORE THAN 70 per cent of people polled in a recent Red C research project said they agreed that same-sex marriage should be allowed in the Irish constitution.

The research was presented to the Oireachtas yesterday in a report prepared for the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform on last year’s Constitutional referendum.

Report on Reasons Behind Voter Behaviour in the Oireachtas Inquiry Referendum 2011 also looked at why people voted as they did in the October referendum on the powers of the Oireachtas and what the public thinks about other aspects of the political reform agenda.

“The poll confirms the openness of Irish people and their support for further critically important progress to achieving equality for lesbian and gay people,” said Kieran Rose, chairperson of the Gay and Lesbian Equality Network (GLEN).

GLEN works towards securing access to civil marriage for lesbian and gay people as it sees it as the only option that will achieve equality of status with opposite-sex couples.

The survey follows yesterday’s reports that the Government will soon issue draft proposals for the make-up of the Constitutional Convention which will look at possible changes to the constitution, also allowing for amendments to the Dáil’s electorate system, the length of the presidential term, the clause on women in the home, the inclusion of blasphemy as an offence and the voting age.

As well as the poll on same-sex marriage, the Red C research revealed an 87 per cent support for a significant reduction in the number of TDs.

There was firm opposition to any reform of the single transferable vote electoral system with only 34 per cent agreeing that it should be replaced.

It was a mixed reaction from those polled on reducing the presidential term from seven to five years and removing the offence of blasphemy from the constitution.

The possibility of omitting the constitutional reference to women’s life within the home was also met with divided opinions.

The same survey asked 1005 respondents if the Seanad should be abolished and 59 per cent agreed that it should. Asked about local government, six in ten people said it should be given power to raise and manage it owns finances.

Download: The full Oireachtas Report here>

Related: Voters sketchy on arguments made for or against Oireachtas inquiries referendum>

Earlier: Cautious welcome given to progress on constitutional convention>

More: Youth lobby launches campaign seeking votes for 16-year-olds>

Read next:

Comments (83 Comments)

• You don’t say HOW this change would negatively affect our society, Alzee. Care to elaborate?

• @alzee – Do you mean that Homosexuality or gay marriage is a matter of choice? because if it’s the former, you are one ignorant blubbering fool!
    You seem to be set in your way, and with a stern opinion regarding the topic, and I adhere to your opinion, but I do not agree with both your opinion and your tiny sad little mind!
    A Majority of the public have NO problems with same sex marriage, etc, but yet folk like you imply that its a no go, and a matter of choice? grow up and get with the times.
    From the ‘normal’ heterosexual to the ‘choiceful’ homosexual, Everyone is equal!
    but thankfully, you will never be given such a decision, yet allowed a vote, I not sure if folk like you deserve one!
    Its either yes or no. its not about throwing ill advised opinions about the place, let alone implying that such a poll was ran in a gay establishment such as the George.. ever been?? hmmm.
    When you walk one mile in certain shoes, cast your rightful and dignified opinion thereafter!
    Cop on, or die trying….!

• Hmmm….why so against marriage?

• i know 2 lads that are getting married next sunday, and why not? how does it threaten anyone else’s marriage?

• Well, if they weren’t so fabulous they wouldn’t be so damn tempting!

• lol, fabulous indeed

• alzee 23/02/12 #

@Damien your comment above is indeed nicely put but that type of comment never ever fails to arrive in any argument such as these and inevitably is thrown at any one that doesn’t bang anti heterosexual drum.
      Marriage is a thing of beauty to be shared between Men and Women and the children therein.

Homosexuality is a flawed lifestyle.

• I got married to my partner of 16 years last July and oddly the world just carried on.

• alzee…what are you smoking! anti heterosexual…good God man show me one example of so called heterophobia and I gaurantee you I can point to.100 examples of homophobia…you need to.get out more

• Glad you liked my writing style alzee.

I hope it didn’t come across as a lazy cliche (probably something else you’d also like to keep for yourself), but I was just trying to understand your way of thinking. I’d be delighted if you could educate me as to any flaws in my logic (nothing against bisexuals at all BTW). If it wasn’t a choice for you though, how come I got to choose?

Clearly you must be some sort of expert on the homosexual mind to know with such certainty how it works.

While your at it, care to tell me what this “gay lifestyle” is when its at home and why its so flawed? Whatever it is either me or my friends have a serious problem. Other than the gender of the adults with whom we may have consensual relations with, we all live the more or less the same lifestyle. Clearly, then, I’m either gay and living a heterosexual lifestyle, or their straight and living a homosexual lifestyle!

Weirdly though, nobody can tell which it is! I’m guessing we all must be living the gay lifestyle – we all seem to lack the hate and spite which so clearly fills your (I presume) way of life!

I look forward to your helpful explanations.

Just one thing though, would you mind terribly actually try to use reason and logic and actually explain your position, rather than just rattling off some tired, lazy, uninformed cliches? Not to be fussy, but while I’m personally convinced by arguments such as “I don’t like it” or “one small section of a really old book says it’s bad (provided you interprete the provisions one way and ignore others), even though the founder of my faith came along afterwards and said love your neighbour unconditionally and live and let live etc”, I think I’ll need something more to go back to the other gays before I can persuade all the other gays that they should be happy being second class citizens.

• Fourth para should read

“Weirdly though, nobody can tell which it is! I’m guessing we all must be living the gay lifestyle – we all seem to lack the hate and spite which so clearly fills your (I presume) straight way of life!”

• alzee 23/02/12 #

Let me begin with an analogy. The purpose of eyes is to see. We say that one has a pair of “good” eyes if they function in accordance with their purpose. By that same token, we say that one has a pair of “bad” eyes if they do not function in accordance with their purpose. Now, since good is something that ought to be pursued (that’s the definition of good), the proper thing to do with bad eyes is to turn them into good eyes. In other words, the proper function of eyes gives us insight on how they ought to function.According to this position, known as classic virtue ethics, human nature defines what is unique and proper for human flourishing, and a bad person is one who lives contrary to human nature.”
      Now, it is a self-evident fact that the purpose of our sexual organs is to reproduce – that’s how they’re structured. Just like how a key fits a lock, the male and female sex organs are complementary to each other. Given that their purpose is to reproduce, they are functioning properly when used in conjunction with this purpose. Homosexual acts are therefore wrong because they run contrary to the proper functioning of our sexual organs.
      Aside from the fact that homosexuality runs contrary to the proper function of our sexual organs, it is also physically destructive. Yet, if homosexual behavior were morally acceptable, then it’s odd as to why these harmful consequences result. Consequently, this lends credulity to the fact that there is something deeply wrong about homosexual behavior.

• So you only eat for nutrition, Alzee?

• I find it hard to believe Alzee that you’re actually being serious, but luckily it appears you are in the (overwhelming) minority. The sooner these out-dated ignorant ‘philosophers’ depart from this realm the better for society.

• Alzee

All your analogies are based on manmade precepts – nice to see your superiority complex is not hidden in any way.

Try moving you prying eyes off other people and make better use of your time.

• alzee, I’ll only say this – there is a strong old truth about virulent homophobia – and the deeper truths it may hide.

Gender is gender, and sexual orientation is sexual orientation. sitting in in your right teapot is sitting in your right teapot. You tend not to lash out.

Feeling a strong near unmanageable need to lash out against homosexuality can, in certain cases, speak to something else.

it might not be the case, but have a think maybe.

• And we drink beer for hydration and its diuretic properties?

• Alzee, a few points:

1. The basic thrust of your argument seems to be I’m going to “not working as intended/properly = wrong/immoral.” Given you use the analogy of a blind eye not working as “intended” to explain your point gay people are bad, are you suggesting that blind people are bad because they don’t use their eyes right? I really hope not.

2. Similarly, applying your reasoning, is somebody who is born infertile, and will thus not use their sexual organs for their rightful purpose is also wrong/bad/immoral? Should the infertile/post menopausal also be denied the right to marry?

3. If your suggestion is that sexual activity or attraction is wrong/bad unless it has a reproductive function, then you must also be condemning any heterosexual person who engages in oral or anal sex (including “pegging” etc), uses contraception or engages in sexual activity for reasons other than procreation is also bad/wrong/immoral.

Can’t see you making your friends if that’s the type of thing you to outlaw.

4. A male key fits a male lock. Your interlocking parts theory only really applies to lesbians so.

• I’m sort of astonished that there wasn’t a majority opposed to the blasphemy law. Such an archaic concept.

• Jeasus, Mary and Joseph. Michael it is such an archaic concept that no one gives a holy, god forbid sh!t about. :D There are way more important things that need to be addressed first. IMO

• Give it 30 years.

• I was also initially shocked by the poll results. However, I suspect that the majority of people don’t believe it’s worth the time and money voting on such a ridiculous, unenforcable law.

Pakistan has used the language of the Irish blasphemy law to press the UN to recognize the so-called “defamation of religions” as a new normative principle of international law. For this reason alone, the issue should be included in the next referendum.

• The blasphemy law wasn’t challenged. FF pushed it through with the help of the Greens. McAleese didn’t see fit to refer it to Supreme Court, and no individual had both the finance and will to challenge in the SC. The good news is that it can, and probably will be reversed in the Dail without going to a referendum. Also no sane judge will ever want a conviction for this on their watch.

• Did someone make noise crossing the bridge? I can hear the trolls waking from their sleep.

• tom_cos 23/02/12 #

Alzee – you’re a homophobic bigot. I hope in time you can come to terms with that and realise that your hostility to gay people can be overturned.

• You’re on your own. You’re a bigot, and you’re on your own.

• looks like your idea of ‘our society’ is on the margins of acceptability. maybe you should reevaluate what’s acceptable in TODAY’s society. What people do themselves is surely the’r own business.

Were you raised a christian?

• On marriage equality, it is worth pointing out that there’s been a consistent trend of growing support (73% being the most recent figure) so I am confident that it would pass in a referendum. However, this is an issue of basic human rights which should never be put to a vote. There’s an assumption that marriage is confined to opposite-sex couples under the Constitution (even though no such thing is explicitly stated) and this is currently the subject of a Supreme Court challenge in Zappone so a vote may not be necessary.

Regarding electoral reform, PR-STV facilitates clientalism and ‘parish pump’ politics and while we should certainly retain PR, we should incorporate a list system which would also result in a Parliament more reflective of party support in the country. In the last election, for example, FG received just 36% of the vote but 46% of the seats and bigger parties always get these seat ‘bonuse’s under our current system. Still, it will be a challenge to win such a referendum as two previous attempts to change the system failed, although the proposals then were to move to the even more flawed FPTP.

It is archaic to have a reference to blasphemy in the Constitution, and following a decision by the last government to back this up with legislation, an unacceptable threat of prosecution does exist. In fact, a visiting artist from Mexico to UCC last year was threatened with arrest for displaying a painting of the ‘Virgin Mary’ that some deemed offensive. So it should be repealed.

There exists great potential for real and long overdue constitutional reform and this opportunity must not be squandered.

• In a gay marriage referendum, the no side would be energised, and those who think it is a good idea would be less likely to vote unless it would directly benefit them. It could still be a no vote due to low turnout

• I just don’t get why anyone is against 2 people of the same sex getting married. Someone above stated that it’s ‘a thing of beauty for men and women’. I can guarantee that my wedding was nowhere as beautiful as my gay step brothers wedding that’ll be held next year. You should be ashamed of yourself for being so closed minded. If you can’t tolerate gay marriage then are you racist too? Homophobic and racist go together in my mind…..

• well said Emily

• Um,I don’t think I’m the one that needs to grow up here.
      As you’ve missed my point,I’ll simplify it a little more for you.
      The comparison I made was to show that I feel homophobia is something wrong in someone’s mind,the same as being a racist is something flawed in a persons mind. They are both as ridiculous as eachother.
      2 people, of the same sex, getting married/legally binding themselves together, effects you how? Are you going to loose something? Is it contagious?

• Looks like I’m saying that to Shane as the guy who I was replying to had his comment removed…..

• What exactly is marriage – if you get that sorted then start arguing over who can get married

• ok mairead sure: he’s not on his own, you are right there with him.

his comment was crass, homophobic and bigoted.

He directly denigrated a public poll, saying it was held in a gay bar.

he held that Irish society was his society “our society”, he said.

It is not. Those days are done. His day, and his prejudices, your day, and your prejudices, are done.
    We have washed our hands of your homophobic cant.

You are little more than fringe elements in a society that has left you behind.

• @swimtwobirds I think you’ve missed the point there, while you were banging your gavel. Mairead, i think, means that you don’t heal someone’s oppressive pattern (in this case alzee’s alleged homophobia) by isolating, condemning and calling them names. You do it by staying cool, above it, and waiting for them to hoist themselves by their own petard, and realize how silly they look.

• It is rather strange that Alzee is creating so much reaction. The best answer is to ignore and allow him to have his opinion. Gay marriage will come eventually and the face of Catholic Europe will change when the present grey haired people who attent Sunday mass are no longer with us. I am in a civil union for the last two weeks and happy as Larry after 57 years of the ‘auld’ Ireland. I live in France and I do go to mass on Sunday and pray for those who do not know what real love is. We must let all people say what they believe and think or the result is a fascist totalitarian state.

• why does anyone want to get married at all? could never get me head around that one

• As things are, it’s handy for tax, inheritance, fathers signing consent forms, pensions, property rights. In many modern societies marriage isn’t necessary because de facto/common law partnerships are recognised as equal to marriage…

• If you have kids or own a house together or something I can see why people do it..

If you aren’t married to your child’s father then you both have to adopt your own child in order for the father to have power of attorney in emergency situations (had a friend who worked in children’s hospital, told me a child had to be made a ward of the state in order to have a life saving operation, because the mother, who was away on her hen party, couldn’t be reached and the father had no legal right to sign for consent)

Mind you, that’s indicative of a far more pressing issue that needs resolving.. You shouldn’t have to marry in order for the father to have rights..

• Getting government out of the marriage game will solve all these problems. It’s not a matter of making it legal, it’s just a matter of getting out of the way.

• It is time to rewrite a new constitution and not just edit the old one. There is a myriad of flaws with the existing one.

• The problem will be deciding who and how its rewritten. Could you trust any political party to rewrite the country’s basic rules? How do you rebalance power, which is far too concentrated in the Cabinet, when the folks that benefit from this power and lack of accountability, get an input? Who do you pick as chairman of this Convention the government is going to set up?

I like the idea, but the execution of the idea will have to be watched carefully.

• I’m with David on this one. We have a good citizen protective constitution. It certainly needs to be updated but the people should be able to vote on every change IMO. It’s the only interaction we’re allowed after politicians think they’ve won the “popularity of the 5 years contest”!

• Nail on the head Reada. Each part must be looked at individually and assessed as such by each citizen alone.

• I agree with David, the way things are at the moment, I simply wouldn’t trust any politicians to do it. I’m not a nationalist really, im actually quite pro European and im happy to be living in a far less conservative closed off nationalist Ireland than people did 50 years ago , BUT if there’s one thing that MUST be written 100% for the Irish people and Irish people alone is our constitution. And I just wouldn’t trust anyone with a hint of power to do it at the moment.

• As corrupt and inept as political parties are now, they were much more crazy in bygone times. I hold no romantic sentiment about bunreacht na hEireann. It would be hugely symbolic of a new Ireland if it was replaced. The present constitution will always smell of Dev and Catholic Ireland. Sometimes its better to start afresh. Try get all party support and have it independently reviewed and let the people decide in a referendum. This would be the case anyway.

• In every case Id agree with you Cyril, especially the reference to Catholic Ireland etc, except for the constitution, I think we are lucky that it was written around the time it was, reason being, it must be written selfishly, completely selfishly because its the only that thing that protects the people. Dev, for all his flaws, at least did this succesfully. I couldnt imagine people being capable of that now. Even if it was an independent board that wrote it, Id have huge reservations about the amount of influence politicians and even Europe would have while it is being written. And I would really fear that people would vote on it without actually reading it, or at least reading detailed summaries.

This is what happened with Lisbon, for both yes AND no voters.

• Well Cyril,your own words betray you,as long as Catholics and followers of a particular party can have no input,then I guess your happy,a bit narrow minded don’t you think…

• The problem with a whole new constitution is that I might some of the new ideas and not others, so might vote against it. You could have a whole host of new provisions in it, and would get several lobby groups against different changes in it.

• Seems to be a consensus here that it needs to be rewritten, but uncertainty about the methods.

• WTF? Blasphemy?

Does that law count for saying Mohammed without adding Peace Be Upon Him?

Or saying ‘Buddha’ without being silent for 10 seconds and tasting now?

• You did not say who was polled. This is very important. Was it a random sampling of the public? Was it an internet poll? What was the mean age? You need to tell us this stuff. You are a journalist.

• 2nd paragraph above. Click on “report” (it’s blue). The methodology is on page 6…

• @michael
      I know, but it should be in this article itself, because that information tells how plausible the study is and how representative it is. An internet survey or a survey of younger or older people might give a very different result to a truely random sampling of the general public.

• “The quantitative study carried out by RED C consisted of 1005 interviews with adults aged 18+ conducted between the 28th and 30th November 2011. A random digit dial (RDD) method was used to ensure the
      process of selection of households to be included was random – this also ensured that ex-directory households were covered. A respondent from each household was then invited to take part in the survey, with demographic quotas used to ensure a representative sample. Half of the sample was interviewed using an RDD landline sample, with the other half conducted using an RDD mobile phone sample. Interviews were conducted across the country and the results weighted to make sure those surveyed matched the profile of all adults.”
      http://per.gov.ie/wp-content/uploads/OIReferendum-Report-Final-2003-corrected.pdf. PAGE 6

• Slightly off-topic but I’m always amazed at the poor usability of these sort of PDFs.

The TOC should have hyperlinks and there should be a bookmarks panel that replicates the TOC and all the missing levels (the TOC is level 1 only).

This doc looks like it was written in Word, which has the ability to do all of the above when saving as a PDF.

• alzee 23/02/12 #

NO NO NO to gay marriage.They choose to live that kind of lifestyle they should have to live with comes with it and what does not come with it.Don’t like it leave the country.

• Give a legitimate reason against it but I suspect you can’t. I’d prefer if all the bigots left instead tbh, bigotry should have no place in modern Ireland.

• Who does it harm?

• I always wonder about those who say being gay is a “choice”. If they think sexuality is a choice, presumably they must at some point have chosen to be “straight”.

For most straight people I know though, they never made a choice to be straight. They just are. They don’t feel any same sex attractions at all whatsoever, so they were just straight by default. When a straight man looks at another man naked, they don’t “choose” not to get turned on – they just aren’t.

Equally, I haven’t met a gay person who chose one day to be attracted to the same sex. They just were (more often than not despite fighting against the attractions for a long time). As much as he’d like it, the sight of a naked woman just doesn’t move a gay man that way.

Which leads me to wonder alzee, if you are so convinced that one can choose who you are attracted to, doesn’t that make you bisexual?

• What exactly is your problem with gay marriage, Alzee? If two men or two women chose to marry, how exactly would that affect you or anybody else?

• Damien Lohan..comment of the week.sir!

• God on a bike Alzee. Think about the logic behind someone “choosing” to be gay. You must be trolling.

• Hey alzee, intresting name? you might try the following.
      Don’t like gay marriage? Don’t get one.
      Don’t like abortions? Don’t get one.
      Don’t like drugs? Don’t do them.
      Don’t like sex? Don’t have it.
      Don’t like your rights taken away? Don’t take away anybody elses.

• Er gay people dont “choose” anything when it comes to their sexuality.

Unless you mean the choice we make to finally and bravely acknowledge who we are, and stop being unhappy and isolated?? Great choice that alright.

• @alzee I hope one of your kids turns out to be gay and makes your brain explode.
      I would however be extremely sorry for your kid as he would have to hide himself for you and resent you forever.

• @ Alzee

You should move to Uganda – no doubt you would agree with their politics

• @Shane i think alzee’s attitude is the opposite of what uganda needs :)

• If gay marriage is introduced will you leave the country? I hope so, the less bigots we have here the better.

• Completely off topic here but it’s driving me nuts…..shauna,what film is the still on your profile pic taken from????I know it but can’t think.
      And alzee,your a funny aul yoke you are,if we were all as lucky as you to be able to choose who we desired in life there’d be no heartbreak. But also there’d be no love. We’d just mate because it was what we ‘had to do as human beings,to reproduce’.
      People fall in love and enjoy sex. What does it matter to you who they do this with? As long as both parties are into it then who are they harming? Let them be married,what the hell difference does it make to you?

• This is wrong wrong wrong

• @swimtwobirds…Aizee is not alone….being insulting to people who don’t agree with your point of view….not a valid arguement

• Mx 24/02/12 #

The constitution is a dynamic document and is changed by statutes, apart from the church+state we have an ok constitution that is stable enough. Something like same sex marriages will require a referendum and unfortunately I wouldn’t see it passing

• @swimtwobirds.I have no problem being in a minority.I am not a sheep blithely following popular opinion.I am not calling you names.I just don’t agree with you.Are you not a tolerant person yourself then???

• Wonder why the report was prepared for the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform?

Bit odd…

• If I might hazard a guess at this one, but I think the answer might be in the roots of the “2010 certain rights and obligations act” which purported to be introducing rights for same sex partners but was in fact designed to pull same sex cohabitants in to the reach of the dept of social protection. Up until 2010 same sex partners could not have their social welfare reduced under the 2005 cohabitation act because same sex partners could not cohabit. Now thanks to the new homeland security act …sorry social welfare act same sex partners are crucified like every one else.

Add New Comment