TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Youth lobby launches campaign seeking votes for 16-year-olds

The National Youth Council of Ireland says people who can work, pay taxes and join the army should be given a vote.

2,220,359 votes were cast in last year's general election - but none of them by people under 18.
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

A YOUNG PEOPLES’ lobby group has today launched a new campaign demanding that the voting age be reduced to 16.

The National Youth Council of Ireland launched its ‘Vote@16‘ campaign today in Dublin, at a conference which the council said proved the interest of young people in current affairs.

“At the ages of 16 and 17 you can pay taxes, join the army, work full-time, leave school or be detained at a detention centre – so why not have the right to vote?,” said James Doorley, NYCI’s assistant director, ahead of today’s conference.

“There has been a tremendous response to this Youth Conference which is heavily oversubscribed - so the argument that young people are not interested simply does not wash.”

Doorley said the main reason why young people appeared uninterested in politics was because they were disillusioned with politicians who ignored them because they did not have a vote in the first place.

“By reducing the voting age you would engage young people in the political process much earlier and enable registration at a time when they are still in school,” Doorley said.

The conference, being held in the Morrison Hotel today, is being attended by over 100 young people who hope to have the issue of the voting age included for review in the forthcoming constitutional convention.

The NYCI is an umbrella group which represents youth volunteer organisations.

Poll: Should 16-year-olds be allowed to vote in elections?

Read: Gilmore confirms Irish push for ‘flexibility’ in fiscal compact deal

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (40 Comments)

• Have always supported this move! If you can pay taxes you should be able to have a say on where those taxes go.
    However it is obvious that Fine Gael/ Fianna Fail would not support this proposal because they do not have the support of these age brackets.

• If a twelve year old buys a bar of chocolate in a shop they pay tax on it. Should they be allowed vote as taxpayers?

• Well tell me this David, Why shouldn’t a 16 year old be allowed to vote?

• Raf ⚡ 11/02/12 #

There’s probably a lot you don’t know you’re saying Gavin:

“If you can pay taxes you should be able to have a say on where those taxes go.”

To follow that line of reasoning, one should be only allowed to vote if they pay income tax, will you agree? I think it would be a fairer system btw.

• My apologies Raf, that is exactly what I meant. If you pay tax on “earned” money then you should have a right to say where it goes. eg if you pay income tax.
      David here is putting words in my mouth.

• This is bloody nonsense. I’m a father of three children in their twenties and at 16 they could join the army, work, pay taxes, leave school, be detained, fly a plane, father a child and lots of other things. So why didn’t they?
      Because while they COULD do these things it doesn’t mean that they SHOULD. You could find a two year old who could place a tick in a box but this doesn’t mean they should be allowed to vote too. At 16 its hard enough getting them to tidy their bloody room and clean up after themselves, but we’re seriously to believe they’re ok to understand politics and choose a government which will not only affect them but everyone else as well. I don’t think so.
      I’ve no doubt there are 16 year olds out there who are more than capable of doing all the above but we have to realise that the vast majority are not, its not as simple as paying tax on a bar of chocolate and expecting an automatic say on where that tax is spent. As adults who vote and feel its getting to the stage where the air we breathe will be taxed soon, does anyone seriously believe you have a say on how your taxes are spent? Remember 10 year olds buy chocolate too, so where do you draw the line here? The bottom line is, just because a teenager can do something does not automatically mean that they should do it.

• Barty 11/02/12 #

Look what we over 18s voted for, cannot see over 16s doing any worse.

• The age of consent to enter into contracts, buy property, incur debt, buy alcohol or tobacco, undergo medical treatment, join the Defence Forces, get married etc. etc. is 18. When, as a society, we are ready to reduce the age of consent for everything then give them the vote, not before.

• I agree, this country needs to decide what an ‘adult’ is. When I was 16, I wouldn’t have been allowed to drive a car even if I knew how, but I still had to pay an adult fare on the public transport system (on Dublin Bus that’s more than twice the cost of a child fare). Hello?

• Raf ⚡ 11/02/12 #

It is a bit of a stretch to compare something as fundamental as voting to a discount on the bus, paid for by parents anyway.

• Meg Ross 11/02/12 #

It’s only an example, but the way I see it, it is kind of unfair to say it’s ok treat us like adults when they can benefit financially from it, but treat us like children where it actually matters.

• Website of the campaign is http://www.voteat16.ie and on twitter #voteat16 via @NYCInews

• Teenagers can work (or have no jobs to find), pay taxes, join the army and have decisions made by government that seriously affect them and their lives. I do think you can only consider lowering the age to vote if you are actually going to have proper political education in schools, but that would make too much sense for it to be done.

• Daniel R 11/02/12 #

With 16 year olds encouraged to grow up faster than ever before, by the educational system, part time jobs etc. they should be. It’s a two way street you can’t push people to grow up faster through increased responsibilities and not give them any say. 16 year olds have more experience than even 10 years ago from what they see and hear on a day to day basis. And I’m not taking into account the Facebook ‘spicers’ but when we talk about giving over 18′s the vote are we taking Joe down the road who gets up at 12 and spends the day in the pub into account? No. Anyhow democracy is a sham they’re all the same shower of corrupt sh*tes we need Direct Democracy. Let the people vote

• “Let the people vote”

That’s exactly what they are afraid of! If 16+ year olds were allowed to vote, politics in Ireland would be a lot more vibrant. This SI in relation to copyright has shown how politicly motivated the youth of Ireland can become when they believe in a topic so dearly.
      The government are afraid of that energy and cut throat attitude that the youth have. They just want an easy ride… get in there, do a bit of work and get the big pension. No ifs, ands or buts.

Let them vote!

• I just finished speaking at this conference. 40% of our population is under 30, with 30% of under 25s unemployed. Ireland needs this mass of young energy & ideas if we are to transcend the current despair.

We need to engage young people if we want them to be active & broadening the voting age is a no brainer as one contribution towards achieving this.

Instead young people are being told to sit back and trust older Ireland. Look where that has got us!

Ultimately we need an overhaul of our basic political infrastructure to bring politics back to the people & people back to politics.

• I Think the youth today ARE well informed they may have attitude but they do know and understand all about politics and all that it takes they can also have very well informed debates on the state of the nation that does put Full Grown Adults to Shame give the 16 yrs old the vote but please do NOT go any younger

• Isn’t it a disgrace in Ireland where leeches who CHOOSE to be on the dole get the right to vote yet the future of our country get no say. Yes, 16years olds can be immature a majority of the time but their opinions can be relevant to some situations. Foreigners should never be allowed to vote. People oj the dole more than 2 years should have no right to vote either coz lets face it, if you’re that long on the dole without even part time work, you’re a pointless leech!!

• Raf ⚡ 12/02/12 #

I agree, anyone who does not pay income tax or is on welfare should not have a say in where the money paid by those who do work goes.

Foreigners aren’t allowed to vote btw. with the exception of local elections where you only have to be a citizen of an EU country to vote where you live.

• Here here!

• Barry 11/02/12 #

I’m very sorry lads, but at 16 most teenagers don’t know their arse from their elbow.

They think they know but the honestly haven’t a clue,

The main reason many teenagers have zero interest in politics is the very same reason they don’t watch the news, take interest in anything else going on in the world….they are still very much self involved.

We’ve all been teenagers and we all know when your in your 20′s and look back to when you were 16 you honestly haven’t a clue about the much bigger world around you, to claim otherwise is a lie

• “I’m very sorry lads, but at 16 most teenagers don’t know their arse from their elbow”

I could say the same thing about someone twice their age!

If a 16 year old is given the right to vote then they would in the majority of cases, inform themselves.
      We are teaching kids from as young as 12 CSPCE (Civic, Social and Political Education). They probably know more about the inner workings of the government than we do.

I remember when I turned 18, it was just in time for the MEP elections here in Ireland. I was so proud that I could vote that I actually physically researched each of the runners and watched the debates religiously. If you are given the right then you are more likely to respect it.

Let them have a go at it. They are more than capable!

• Sorry Gavin, but CSPE is the biggest waste of money the dept of education ever thought of. It’s the only subject thought at common level, teachers don’t teach it, students don’t study it. The fact that ‘Draw a poster’ features on the exam pretty much says it all

• Stereotyping teenagers like that is extremely offensive. I know many teenagers who are very interested in politics and social issues, and have better formed opinions than the average 20-something year old. I agree that CSPE is a waste of a subject, but it’s not the teenagers that are taught it that made it so!

Are you saying that the teenagers involved in movements like Young Fine Gael (not including myself, to clarify) have zero interest in politics? That the teenagers across the country (like myself) who participate in Student Councils, Comhairle na nÓg, Dáíl na nÓg, and competitions like Model European Parliament and Model European Council have no interest in politics? Get a grip and stop lumping us all into the one category. Teenagers are as varied in their interests, thoughts and opinions as those ten, twenty or thirty years our senior.

Teenagers only have a bad reputation because adults completely underestimate us, and maybe don’t want to admit that they weren’t a model teenager themselves, so they generalise and paint us all with the same tarred brush. Teenagers are full of enthusiasm and great ideas – with little of the cynicism of adulthood – , in my experience, and have yet to even prove themselves. The people who ran this nation into the ground were adults, and they still have the right to vote.

• Raf ⚡ 11/02/12 #

“I could say the same thing about someone twice their age!”

Congratulations Gavin, you’ve just unearthed the grim truth: democracy is the rule of stupid majority i.e. idiocracy.

• Barry 11/02/12 #

Meg Ross, nobody is stereotyping anyone.

You have to remember anyone who is now a adult used to be a teenagers and is well aware of what it was like,

Sure there are groups of teenagers involved in things like young but these are very much in a minority.

You yourself are trying to generalize all students as wanting to get involved in the bigger world, this however is far from the truth. The vast majority of teenagers have zero interest in anything that isn’t them, their friends or stuff they own.

Unlike teenagers we can speak from actual experience and know what it is like to be a adult, teenagers only think they know,

• Meg Ross 11/02/12 #

You are stereotyping. Yes, a lot of teenagers couldn’t be bothered about politics, but that’s very true of adults too – you don’t see me saying that most adults “don’t know their arse from their elbow” . It’s not a good enough reason to not give us the vote. How much more life experience does an 18 year old have than a 16 year old? You wonder why teenagers don’t want to have anything to do with politics, but then turn around and say their voice doesn’t count for as much as someone marginally older than them.

I’m not saying every 16 year old would use their vote wisely, but that’s not to say that ever over-18 year old does. I’m sick of society underestimating the intellect of teenagers and their capacity to be interested in the world around them. It would be a positive step to, for once, give young people the benefit of the doubt.

As for self-involvement, teenagers are hardly the only ones who can be self-involved. Some people in powerful positions seem to only look out for themselves and their own, to the detriment of the country. How much more harm could 16 year olds really do to the country?

• Well said Meg. Completely agree with you.
      The stereotyping in this chat is unbelievable.

• Ridiculous

• I think age should probably not be the Deciding factor, how about an IQ test instead.

• @ Karl Doyle…… very well said Karl and i agree with you and i am over 3 times your age and i agree most 16 year old’s given half a chance can hold a decent well informed educated conversation so why not vote too…… 16/17 yr old could not do a worse job with electing the Government than ALL Adults on the Electorate Register Last Year

• Thank You, yes they didn’t elect the greatest government in history but the parties do hold part of the blame and I’d more say the 2007 electorate where the worse one but that’s a matter of opinion so suit yourself.

• I think it could be a good thing. I know when I was under 18 I would have liked to vote and I know many others who would have too. A lot of which had an interest in politics.

Maybe an upper age limit would be good too, to stop all those older voters who go with tradition rather than what might actually be good for the country :-P

• @ Ruairi Mc Kiernan Very well said and The youth of today are informed if “Adults” only took the time to Listen i mean actually LISTEN… What we would actually learn from them but most “Adults” are afraid. Adults of Ireland Listen to our Young people you never know what we might find out Just read Karl Doyles Post above great piece

• We let them vote, and the first thing they’ll do is vote for no more school and skateboard lanes in the streets. It’ll be the downfall of Ireland. Chaos. Mark my works.

• The political awareness and maturity of the average voter is bad enough as it is without giving the vote to to spotty ones.

• Raf ⚡ 11/02/12 #

Younger people don’t understand economy (that’s not to say older people do) and are guaranteed to vote for more spending: free education for all, guaranteed jobs, hefty dole, without reflecting on where the money would come from, which always means: higher taxes for everyone.

I am afraid this is what this whole movement is about, to increase the electorate for politicians who promote “social spending”.

• The movement is just another expansion of a democracy movement that also gave blacks, women, catholics and others the vote ONLY after convincing the mainstream view and established powers that democracy wouldn’t collapse. The status quo always fears change like this. And the status quo is a mess.

I’ve worked in the youth sector for the last 12 years and can tell you that 16 year olds aren’t as foolish, ignorant or apathetic as the stereotyping would have you believe. If you want to make generalisations then it can also be done of other groups based on age, geography, socio-economic status and gender.

Lowering the voting age isn’t going to threaten democracy, but rather enhance it and benefit society as a whole. The current system is broken and this is one of many measures that can help breath new life into it.

• Raf ⚡ 11/02/12 #

OK I am in. But only if we also let them drive, smoke, drink (officially, i.e. in bars) and be responsible for their actions in courts like adults.

• Not true Raf not at all, I personally want to see a reduction of students in public schools(FG are kinda doing that right motive, wrong way), don’t want any jobs guaranteed in the public sector(I don’t believe they’re should even be a bloody public sector outside of health, why does the government need shares in an airline,electricity company,etc? it’s pathetic), the dole I believe should be what is required for basic standard of living and as for the higher taxes, ye I do want that actually on those who brought the bloody country down.

Probably going to get a lot of thumbs down on this but that’s what I want and you can’t say we don’t know how things work because you probably don’t even know anyone aged 16 so glad you changed your mind.

Further more re “be responsible for their actions in courts like adults.” as a bullying victim I’d love that, might teach the odd one or two of them to cop on. You can’t judge the majority on a minority, I really would like to see this happen.

Add New Comment