TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Poll: Was Willie Penrose right to step down?

Was Willie Penrose right to step down over the closure of a local barracks – or should cabinet members accept the need for tough decisions?

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

ENDA KENNY’S CABINET lost its first member yesterday when Labour’s Willie Penrose stepped down as the junior minister for housing.

Penrose – who attended Cabinet as a so-called “super-junior” minister – also quit the Labour parliamentary party, protesting at the decision to close the Columb Barracks in Mullingar which is considered vital to the town’s economy.

This morning Pat Rabbitte described Penrose as “part of the Labour family” and hoped that the Longford-Westmeath TD would be back within the party’s Dáil ranks in future.

The resignation has once again raised the issue of politicians having a local mandate, but national responsibility. Penrose was elected by the people of Longford-Westmeath – but in cabinet was responsible for national decisions.

Today we ask: was Willie Penrose right to put the interests of his constituency ahead of his responsibility to making tough decisions at the Cabinet table?

Was Willie Penrose right to resign?

Poll Results:

Rabbitte insists Willie Penrose remains part of the ‘Labour family’ >

Read next:

Comments (78 Comments)

• I think he was right to resign if he believes that closing the barracks is not going to save money and his next step should be to prove to the public that the closure of the barracks is detrimental to the local economy and would be better.

• I think that it’s gas that people in Ireland are so annoyed that a politician had stuck to his word. It’s a sad day when the electorate actually expect a politician to renege on a promise.

I really don’t care if it was a stunt or not. What I care is that the nation are shocked that he didn’t lie.

Are we that dishonest an electorate that we actually expect lies from our public representatives. What are we like?

• The opposition(fianna failed supporters) are coming out from under their slimy stones to condemn the man for his integrity because what he has done it is not something they would be capable of. They caused the problems in the country by their parish pump greasy brown envelope politics and dealings with fuel smugglers and now don’t want politicians looking after the people who elected them?

• It’s hilarious to be honest, people moan and complain when they *don’t* stick to pre-election promises and when they do their best to. Damned if you do, damned if you don’t, what are they meant to do? People really need to grow up, you cant have it every way!

• Unlike a lot of his party, who made ludicrous promises pre-election, Penrose had the decency to stand down when it became clear he couldn’t keep his promise.
    Wonder when Ruairí will be stepping down for his broken promise on fees.

• While some may chose to dismiss what Penrose has done as just “parish pump”, he does have a point when he says the facts and figures do not add up on closing barracks (a reality that applies as much to the closures of Dun Ui Neill in Cavan and Clonmel Barracks as it does to Columb Barracks in Mullingar.

While closing these barracks may yield saving of €3-4m per year in the future, there will be real and immediate costs in 2012 and 2013 that far exceed this saving as new facilities abd accommodation will be required as the barracks in Athlone, Finner and Limerick receiving the additional troops. Also, as the sites will not be sold in the current environment there will be ongoing costs in securing and protecting them in the months and years ahead.

The other big error is the wrong signal this sends to the rest of the public service. Defence is the one arae that has reformed and modernsied in recent years. Unlike other ares, the numbers in the Defence organisation actually came down over the past decade (under the 2000 White Paper).

Defence now does more with less – higher productivity, higher sustained levels of overseas service. It implemted sugested the main cost savings measures in suggested An Bord Snip Nua in less than a year, but now it finds itself under attack from Finanace and a disinterested Defence Minister.

This sends out the wrong signal to others – watch other Departments attempt to featherbed against future cuts as they see how a sector (Defence) that cut first is tragetted over and over again.

See my article on this issue here: http://wp.me/p1DOdU-2c

• Well at least we’ll have one Lab T.D. after next election……….

• This is a local issue. Diificult economic decisions have to be made at present and there will be more conflicts yet to come between National and Local interests. Willie Penrose is morally right in taking the decision to resign, as he said he would do so at the outset. Having lost the argument he has proved that he is a man of his word and an honourable man. I applaud him for that, he is too decent to be a politician.

• I agree with you Graham. The whole farce of pre-election promises and then renaging on them when they have their bums in the Dail is sickening. This man made a commitment to his constituents and the government pressed ahead for the closure. At least he has the integrity to be honest with the people who voted him in and resign. If anything he has their respect. I don’t know the man but I respect him for taking a stand. Where I live every single one of the local TD’s who went up for election made promises regarding health services. And EVERY ONE of them promised to resign if they weren’t returned. Well guess what? They weren’t returned and each and every one of those TD’s has stuck their two fingers up at the people and said I’m in – I lied my backside off to get here – but I’m in.. Now where’s that expenses sheet. Makes me sick.

• If Penrose is morally right to resign, why did he make a promise that he had no control over? The only promise that he could make is that he will do his level best to keep the barracks open. I see no evidence that he hasn’t done that and he is probably deserving of praise in that respect. However, he lost his battle at the cabinet table.

I see no breaking of promises or breaking of his mandate – especially as he wasn’t a single issue candidate. Therefore he has no cause to resign – he appears to have done his best.

What else can you ask from your elected representative? Resigning in the face of defeat is not one of them.

• A politician who was not forced to resign, who did not try to lie and scam his way out of a situation, who put his hands up and said “I’m sorry but I was elected to do this and I have failed so I’m resigning” wow, can we swap out the rest of the scum bags for this guy?

• surprise, surprise, one honest politican. To hear enda waffle yesterday was embarassing, the man who broke every pre-election promise. Liars all—–

• well at least he stuck to his word unlike the likes of gutless lying cowards like kenny, gilmore , reilly and co who are only interested in milking us for every thing they can get and to look good in the eyes of merkel and Sarcosy.

• What was his word? Did he actually say that he would resign if he didn’t get the outcome he promised? What would resign from? The cabinet, the Labour party, the dail? He doesn’t seem to have a web site so I can’t check his manifesto. He’s also vanished from Labour.ie!

• He stood by his beliefs and I believe if we had Irish politicians with the same morals and values we might not be in such a mess.

• There’s at least been SOME progress in separating local politics fro national politics in recent years. It’s not that long ago when some of the politicians had their noses in both troughs, getting salaries and expenses for doing two jobs badly, not just the one. The problem today isn’t just that we’ve all been landed in the s**te by the gombeen men, it’s the depth of the s**te that’s the problem too. I doubt any of the elected representatives have any real power against the interational money men, they’re all puppets to an extent. Willie Penrose was probably out of his depth as a Minister but at least he had the decency to make an honest exit. And yes we are, many of us, cynical about politicians. Is it any wonder, judging by the lies most of them tell us. Ireland is the world’s biggest producer of political “pork pies”, pity we can’t export them.

• The poll question is, as so often, phrased in a biased way that supports the destructive illogic of austerity by assuming ministers have a ‘responsibility to making tough decisions at the Cabinet table’.

The phrase ‘tough decisions’ is a euphemism for cuts and tax increases this government and the previous one favour, which hurt ordinary people, particularly the least well off dependent on public services.

Where are the ‘tough decisions’ against the elite, like refusing to pay their gambling debts, introducing a wealth tax or a third rate of income tax people over 80k and abolishing tax shelters for the rich? If those measures were taken we would have no need of ‘tough decisions’ that attack those least able to afford it.

• Very much so, FW, good point. Wonder would the results be different if the question were

Was Willie Penrose right to keep his word to his constituents rather than stand behind a cut that’s probably unjustified, certainly small beans, and definitely a case of deckchairs on the Titanic, given the banking situation?

• You can’t make “tough decisions” which are detrimental to the Elite. If that were to happen where would the resources be to fuel the “trickle down” theory of economics which ensures the majority get enough crumbs from the table of the minority. I tell you, taxing the rich as you shamefully propose in the above paragraph would be disastrous. What a dangerous notion!!

I think we should do it.

• Can anybody explain how this will save money? Surely building a new barracks is going to cost a lot more then maintaining the current one? I presume soldiers will have to commute and thus claim expenses for this and thus cost even more money? I have’nt heard any commentary that explains exactly how this move will save money, does anybody know the details?

• mike 16/11/11 #

Nobody seems interest in how this will efeect businesses in and around the Barracks with the losss of maoney to the areas. And the impact on the economy. This is about more then just the soldiers.

• Yes in that he clearly wasn’t suited to be there in the first place.
    No in that his reason for stepping down was a cynical parish pump move.

• The absurdity of the comments here talking about parish pump politics.

What is strange about expecting the electorate to elect a public representative to represent them?

• Under the current system, nothing. That is why the system needs a rethink, as has been promised before, to eliminate the pre-election and pre-Dail vote bribery that has seen independents sell out to ruinous government in return for cheap local victories.

National politics needs to be removed from the parish pump, and vice versa. Not that the parish pump doesn’t need fixing from time to time, but we should not be expecting national level government to fix it.

As for the resignation itself, I agree with Charlie above – once he had backed himslef into a corner, he couldn’t get out. Damaging as it is for national government, at least he honoured his word.

• Nice to see at least 1 standing by the people who put him in power

• He wasn’t elected as a local Mr Fixit but as a national legislator. This proves that there really is no point to the Dáil. Local councils should run their own patch with legislation and tax raising powers residing is Brussels.

• He should be ashamed of himself.

There are lots of hard decisions to be made over the next few years. To resign on a local issue is just pure Gombeen politics.

• If you think that walking away from the trough rather than breaking his word to his constituents is a gombeen move, then your definition of “gombeen politics” must differ radically to mine.

• Fair enough Niall, maybe gombeen doesn’t capture it. Jackie-Healy Rae-esque looked all wrong to me when I first typed it out. Clientest BS is maybe the right description.

Big deal, he stuck to his word; however, he should never have made such a promise. Politicians shouldn’t make promises that they don’t authority to make or that hold the Government to ransom.

I wouldn’t accept that being at Cabinet is a trough though.

• I would hope that the cabinet wouldn’t be a trough, but past experience would tend to suggest that it is.

Personally, I don’t agree that it’s a Healy-Rae type move, it’s a matter of simple integrity. Do you think that the bould Jackie would give up his seat at the table, and everything that entails, over a trifle like being made into a liar?

Don’t see it as being clientelist either – God knows I despise that kind of politics – I think that it’s simply a case of representing his constituents, and staying true to his word … as opposed to, say, facilitating a super-casino or a mobile phone license.

From what I know of Penrose, he’s the very opposite of a gombeen man.

• This is a man who fought hard for a cabinet minister role and now shows his true colours, F the country I’m here to look after my own little town.
    There is no doubt labour will welcome him back in the near future as he’s shown he’s a true self serving labour man

• mike 16/11/11 #

Willie Penrose sees how this will effect people and the local economy. This will effect not just soldiers and thier family but reduce the cash flow into shops etc. And we this will lead to pressure on employment. As well as having to pay for the maintenance of the Barracks anyway.

• He sees the next election anyway!

• Not even about that – he made a campaign promise, and he refused to make a liar of himself by rolling back on it.

Unlike someone like, say, Frank Feighen, who was happy to stay on, despite his constituents protests. And he did it with dignity, without prompting, unlike, say, Denis Naughten.

If I vote for a candidate, I want them to be true to their word, or at least not take an active part in breaking their word.

• Neil 16/11/11 #

There’s businesses closing every day of the week, and people having to commute the length of the country for work, and I don’t see any ministers resigning because of it.

Yet soliders not losing their jobs, just seeing their place of employment being moved to the other side of the county is a resigning matter?
      Slight loss of perspective at what’s really happening out there in Ireland.

• The issue isn’t the barracks. The issue is the promise to his constituents.

• @Niall quite clearly he’s not a liar as he has always made clear that he wanted to save the barracks. He is obviously not tolling back – he’s just lost this one. How is he a liar?? No shame in losing the battle if you can account for yourself.

As a TD he is no longer acting just for those constituents who voted for him but for the entire country. He is responsible for more than just Co, Westmeath.

i can’t see how you can state that the “issue isn’t the barracks, it’s his constituents”. How can you state this? If he’s interested in his constituents why did he resign from office? I’m sure the majority of his constituents expect more than a resignation. Shame on him! This is no hero or a representative to be proud of. He has let everybody down.

• I didn’t say “issue isn’t the barracks, it’s his constituents”, I said that the issue was his promise to his constituents.

He absolutely is responsible for more than Westmeath/Longford … but at the same time these are the people who give him his mandate, he does have responsibilities towards them, also.

If I say, “vote for me, and I’ll save the barracks” and I find that saving the barracks is politically impossible, then I think I should at least not take an active part in closing the barracks. A matter of basic integrity.

That’s what it’s coming down to – nobody’s calling him a liar, this is the point.

• The fundementals of Irish politics i.e. weither we like it or not, All politics is local! Parish pump stuff! It shouldnt be the case, but it is. If Willie made a promise to those who elected him and his government now will not deliver, then he is right to resign the whip. Wait until the budget, they will be like rats deserting a ship!!

• What bout his constituents in longford. How is he sticking to his word. He promises it wouldn be closed and it is. If he feels that much bout it resign his seat and run in the re election as an independent.

• is Longford closed?

• Willie Penrose is one of the hardest working T.Ds in Dail – A man of true conviction, there are no facts or figures to support Columb barrack’s closure and this issue is not ‘parish pump politics’, it’s about being honest with the electorate and keeping pre-election promises… http://youtu.be/YA6nhGFHzls

• His resignation is disgraceful and needless. He has let down both his constituents and the country by resigning. Surely he understands that you can fight a battle to the best of your ability and not win them all. Surely he understands that there is more to be done at national level than one barracks in Mullingar? Obviously not. It’s probably best that he’s out of office then.

• Councils for local issues. Dail for national issues …simple.

• as we have seen over the last while fine geal and labour have sold their souls. the banks now run greece and italy and hold the rest of europe to ransom. they hold the balance of power in ireland . the only thing that these puppets can do is give themselves a pay rise at the expense of the children that are living below the poverty line. so forgive me if i couldn’t careless if one decided to stand down. one less thieving bastard

• Based on recent reports of Labour’s use of the party whip, perhaps he was forced to resign?

• I wish we cud get rid of the rest if the fg/labour govt…they are all selling us out to europe!!

• Newton’s 3rd law Willie – for every action there is always an equal and opposite reaction. Give €700 million away to bondholders one week, close barracks, hospitals, classrooms the next.
    James Connolly will be spinning in his grave.

• This man was elected to the national parliament if he wanted to work parish politics then stick to the council. Once he accepted the paid of a national representative he should have done the job he’s paid to do. The man should have the decency to resign his seat as my tax is paying his indecent wages and expenses. Get a job on the council willie

• Except that county, city and town councils have no real power. The power to deal with local issues like this is entirely vested in the national legislature. And those members are not going to give up that power as it is on the basis of that power that they are elected. In other words, what you are looking for is a system which gives no representation on local issues at all – i.e. a talk shop (the councils) to discuss local issues but no power to deal with them, and a national legislature which does nothing about local issues despite the fact that it, and only it, can deal with them.

• …and I stupidly thought that the Defence Forces and their deployment was about offering the optimum support to the defence of the state for the best value… When all the time it is about bolstering local economies… That was not really what I put in my twenty years for… a lot of it in the beautiful Columb Bks. Best luck to the 4 Arty Regt.

• Mullingar need their representative at the table like all rural towns he lost the barracks battle then walked away from the war in a huff he needed to stay a fight the next battle and represent his people

• I’m delighted to see him step down. Small-town considerations have no place at the cabinet table. There are bigger problems to sort. Better off without him.

• I have yet to hear a military reason for keeping these barracks open….

• you will find eamon gilmore or alan shatter area wont be hit is that parish pump politics

• No . He was not right to step down . I admire his loyalty to his constituents BUT he was aminister and had responsibility for the country as a whole. He is a good man by all accounts and decent, but again he was a minister and he should do what is right for us all. I believe that however difficult things get ,eventually things will turn around for us. At the end of the day FFail were in power that brought about this crisis and is effecting EVERY one . I wish Mr Penrose well.

• The reality is that if you stood for election in Mullingar saying “Well if it’s the correct decision, the barracks should close” you would not get a vote.

So if we want to look at who’s self-serving and parish-pump, we should go to the bathroom and look at the yoke hung on the wall above the sink.

• I have yet to hear a military reason why we need a standing army at all

• Peacekeeping in warzones, therefore saving civilian lives and enforcing UN mandates? Keeping military traditions alive in case the future means we have to shift away from our policy of neutrality? What type of reason are you looking for?

• thereby instead of therefore, sorry

• Peacekeeping in War zones? We are not obliged to do that. Enforcing UN mandates? No not required. Keeping military traditions alive? Don’t make me laugh! We don’t need an army.

• How about maintaining a navy to enforce our laws on drug smuggling? Or would you delegate that to the guards. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to say that the Armed Forces are the be all and end all, but I also think that it’s not a bad idea to maintain a limited capability. It isn’t a huge drain on our spending and as commented above, they have been decent about implementing cost saving measures. Also, do remember, the circumstances that allow us to remain neutral may not last forever. No harm to keep options open.

• Well David I think a small country like Ireland could set a great example to the rest of the World by NOT having an army. I know they send a battalion to Chad now & then but I believe these are more like vanity projects.For the most part they are shining buttons and twiddling their thumbs. Floods and snow last couple of years no sign of them.
      Navy? But they can’t cover the coast of Ireland .They are only a token Navy. Better off relying on RN.

• Well, I disagree, but your view is fair enough. I’d prefer if we didn’t have to rely on others to do our work for us and I appreciate their work in Chad and Lebanon and such like but your points are good ones nonetheless.

• I think willie backed himself into a corner and could not get out of it

• Good man, Willie; always prepared to sacrifice the national interest on the altar of re-election.

• Mr penrose is typical of Irish politicans for generations, only interedst in local parish pump politics. What about the national interest? He was elected to the parlament not the local councill. As a minister he has a responsability to the whole electerate. His resignation is a snub to the rest of us outside Longfort/Westmeath.

• Who really cares about him he’s nothing a nobody ….. On to the next one .!!

• Reada he was a junior Minister in the government and a member of the dail not a local councillor in mullingar. He should resign his dail seat and stop claiming obscene wages and expenses if all he’s interested in is local politics

• Chris I refer you back to my last comment. One way of doing away with parish pump politics is to do away with the whip. The reason we have representatives is because we want them to represent us. It’s democracy. The whip strangles democracy.

• The question should have been “Was Gilmore wrong to have put Penrose anywhere within sight of cabinet?”

• Maybe he will stand at the by election as an independent.

• Forget about the closure. It’s small beer in the overall context.

The fact that someone resigned from cabinet over relatively insignificant issue – IN THE CONTEXT OF THE CHALLENGES THIS COUNTRY FACES (apologies for the large type) – points to everything that is wrong about our political system.

He should never have had to make this promise in the first place. But the parish nature of our system forces prospective TD’s to make promises like this otherwise the fickle fools (US) will vote for someone else.

Add New Comment