TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Poll: Who won the latest Presidential debate?

Which of the seven candidates gave the strongest performance in yesterday’s televised debate?

The seven candidates at TG4's studios yesterday.
Image: Tony Kinlan

THE SEVEN PRESIDENTIAL candidates travelled to Connemara yesterday for TG4′s debate.

The debate opened with each candidate presenting a personal statement in Irish, which ranged from supporting jobs to fighting injustice, before facing questions on 1916 commemorations, the national anthem, and the role of the Irish language in their presidency.

The candidates also faced more personal questions about their campaigns so far and what they would particularly focus on if elected.

Who do you think came out on top in last night’s debate?

Poll Results:

Read: The TG4 Presidential election debate, as it happened >

Read next:

Comments (91 Comments)

• Páidí Ó Lionaird emerged as the best debate moderator to date. It wasn’t all about him, you see!

• TG4 had the best moderator at the GE debates also (poll taken after the election). Doubt TG4 presenters are paid over half a mill a year unlike the RTE crowd – but that’s a different conversation…

• Totally agree! Páidí Ó Lionáird was very fair and was in full control of the debate at all times!! Matt Cooper also did a good job on the radio – at the Today FM debate in the Sugar Club. Some of the other moderators, being more concerned about their egos, were disastrous!! Certain elements of the media need to “cop on” that this election is not about their needing to get a “piece of the action”!!! :(

• Totally agree; he allowed all the candidates to speak without constantly interrupting to give his own view, unlike O’Callaghan, DuFFy, Kenny & the other overpaid oafs in RTE.

• Admittedly I am suffering for Presidential Debate fatigue at this stage but I felt that Páidí O’Lionaird did a great job. I hope Miriam O’C was looking on!

• Watched it late last night. Was impressed by Norris and McGuinness. Who decided on the seating? Whoever gets the centre place gets more attention automatically. Is it my imagination but is Higgins the only one in the race whose linen closet hasn’t been raided by the media? All the other candidates have been subjected to excruciating laundry inspections.

• BW 19/10/11 #

The poll question should really be ‘Who will you vote for after watching the Constant President on RTE’. That Programme should decide it better than any of these now meaningless Debates.

• The really winner was the presenter, Páidí Ó Lionaird. He did a great job, far better than any so far. As for the candidates; Michael D won on use of the Irish language, but Martin McGuinnes stood out for me.

• As with all the debates so far, Michael D Higgins got away lightly.

• And what would you like put to Michael D.

• I had replied to your comment with a couple of issues, but they deleted it.

• Saw it John and replied along with someone else and they seem to be deleted too. I’d say one of your points was seen as libel.

• The trouble with Higgins, from that point of view, is that he’s remarkably dirt free. It’s extraordinary that for someone with such a long life in politics the worst anyone in the media or any of the other candidates have been able to come up with is his vote on the tax amnesty.

But, there you go.

• I have a list of items i woul like Mr Higgins to answer :
      1) How does he reconcile his support for Hamas vs his apparent hatred of SF (even though he was a member of “SF the workers party”.
      2) How can we trust anyone who was a member of FF? How come he has no problem making public statements against China (delibeately to antagonise the country, and end up costing Iris export firms jobs)
      3) How come he has not disowned the Labour party after they supported the abhorrent cuts on the lowest income families in this state?
      4) How come he has never publicly called for an inquirey into the murder of 32 people (and 200 injured) after the Dublin/Monaghan bombings?
      5) How come he is taking multiple pensions (state funded) even though he is still being paid a wage as a senator?
      6) How come he wont give leadership and ask for the Presidents salary to be cut to less than 100k (seeing as the President doesnt have any expenses, everything is paid for by the state)
      7) How come as a democrat, he wanted to restrict the debates to himself and Gallagher, and deny the country their democratic right to hear all the candidate inputs?
      8) How can we trust anyone who jumps from Political party to political party as often as he has done?

A few answers on these questions, live on TV would have been good up to this point. But seeing as how he is an establishment party candidate, the Media must let him off… who in their right mind is going to bite the hand that pays teir salary.

• How about MDH’s claim for Dail expenses in Dec 2008 when he was in fact in Oslo on a junket, this is a matter of public record, I’ve seen the FOI’d letter, I’m sure the media have too yet never mentioned by them.

• That sounds like a fair question, Richard, and one that should be raised; as does Cal’s about the bilateral debate (which was really a very foolish proposal in more than one way). I suspect that last one may well be raised yet on The Frontline. The rest of Cal’s, I don’t think most people really consider them issues – certainly on many of them Higgins is simply in line with the apparent feelings of the Irish people so they’re quite difficult to use against him.

I mean, I’ll certainly say that if there are skeletons in Higgins’ closet they need to be examined and perhaps the media need to be doing a better job of chasing them down (though certainly any failure in that regard isn’t down to him being ‘establishment’ — Mitchell’s gotten a bit of a beating on *his* record, after all)

• Did Higgins propose the two way debate? My understanding is that when asked he said he would be open to such an idea. If my understanding is correct then there is a difference.

• Open to correction on the above as i genuinely dont know for sure how the 2 way thing came about

• Evan O'Q 19/10/11 #

Cal. as for your Fianna Fail question, he joined as a mature student for a short while before he got into politics, i don’t think he ever stood for election or did anything political with FF, and half of the Labour ministers were in the workers party with him including Gilmore so i don’t think there’s anything particularly strange about that.
      Also, I could be wrong but I think he only draws an average wage instead of a full senators one.

I don’t think the two way debate thing is a big deal either…people had no dirt on the man so that became the big controversy for everyone to get all up in arms about..

• John !!! You have to respect your elders !!!!!

• Mary Davis pledged to include persons(s) of ‘intellectual disability’ on her Council of State – Bertie might get into the Áras after all.

• Roll on Charlie Bird debate and this surely puts a question on the Tv licence we are now suffering from presidential debate fatigue and more importantly the tv ratings seem to bey more important than the other issues like the referenda . A huge waste of money and probably reflects the Rte Authority the necessity to cut costs

• And below is a poem written by P.Pierce in 1912 about the shape of Ireland to come.My God how close he was to the pulse.Now read on and think Banks ,Bailouts and Traitors.

For What Died the Sons of Róisín, was it greed?
    Was it greed that drove Wolfe Tone to a paupers death in a cell of cold wet stone?
    Will German, French or Dutch inscribe the epitaph of Emmet?
    When we have sold enough of Ireland to be but strangers in it.
    To whom do we owe our allegiance today?
    To those brave men who fought and died that Róisín live again with pride?
    Her sons at home to work and sing,
    Her youth to dance and make her valleys ring,
    Or the faceless men who for Mark and Dollar,
    Betray her to the highest bidder,

• How much media attention have the more important issues that we will be voting on the same day been given. Surely the two referendums we will be voting on are going have a muc larger effect on us then who the next president is going to be.

• I thought Michael D won in as much as anyone can win in such a 7 way debate. I think most improved was Norris, he getting better in each debate and maybe the coaching is working,but i wouldn`t vote for him because of those clemency letters etc. Mary Davis started campagin well but her blandness is coming through more and more. Dana is dana lets say no more. Mitchell is still grey and cant win. Mc Guinness is doing ok but think he in a fight for 2nd or 3rd place which he`ll be happy with. Gallagher thinks were all idiots and the smugness and arrogance is really getting under my skin, rumours are he asked tg4 could his wife sit on his lap during the debate, but i can`t confirm those rumours.

• Not a bad idea paul to teach our kids Chinese, I may help in time with our exports markets into the future. As for anyone being a terrible example to children in school, I doubt if any children were watching the debate in school or at home or at all. Our language is part of our heritage and we should all support its use and promote its survival, the majority of the population are in the same position as the six candidates who are not fluent in our native language. Let us again look to the future an make the enjoyment and promotion of our language an enjoyable experience rather than any thing akin to the experience of many under past policies of education in the subject. Learning needs to be enjoyable rather than a chore. I do believe that we should be introducing other languages like french and german also from national school level.

• People are afraid to attack Higgins on 2 fronts 1 the media wont touch him because he’s the establishment and 2 no one wants to be seen to Bully an old man ………………….neither is reason to have him as president !

• Mary Davis takes too much credit for Special Olympics, she was only a very small cog in a very big wheel, and she got on “BOARD” with the well paid establishment.

Michael D is a gentleman and should retire quietly on the inflated pensions he is already recieving on top of his over inflated salary.

Gay Mitchell sat on his hands while in opposition and never opened his mouth to question anything that inevitably brought us to todays economic situation, and he took all that was going with both hands and still does.

Sean Gallagher, what can I say that hasn’t been said already. If I stole his wallet from his pocket, Id get jail. He was on the execuative of the organisation that brought our state to bankruptcy, does this qualify him to be president?

Dana has serious private stuff to sort out and should never have entered the race in the first place.

David Norris shot himself in the two feet with those letters. nuff said.

Martin McGuinness is criticised over his past. If any one of us put ourselves in his position back then, when there was only one vote per household,and the minority ruled, and you saw your friends and family beat off the streets and eventually shot off the streets when they stood up for their rights, what would you do, lie down and whinge under the burden??

When a similar situation presented in south Africa, how many sympathised? When it happened in our own country, how many decided that it was ok if it happened “up there” and didn’t effect them? How many felt, “oh keep it up there at all costs?

Martin McGuinness made a decision at the time, he could have taken the road that John Hume took but in both these mens cases, their decision individually was a 50/50 thing, they mad respective moral judgements at the time, its happened its in the past, its time we moved on and build a future. Tell me in all honesty, how many could say how they would have reacted if they had been born north of the border. Look to the future and vote for a winner, vote for a true leader and President. Vote No.1 Martin McGuinness.

• Well said. The media have certainly forgotten the last 17 years, as has the government. We were told to look to the future when the Queen came over, now we can’t forget the past. Double standards.

• 19/10/11 #

well said!

• Seamas, an excellent analysis of this media driven (establishment driven), and largely shoddy, campaign! Your conclusion I heartily agree with……….. Mr. Martin McGuinness is THE standout candidate in this election. ANY person who takes a stand against oppressive establishment forces and then has the sincerity to extend the hand of peace, and develop that peace FOR ALL is worthy of not just the office he currently seeks……… the man should be Taoiseach!

• Well said and explained.I will correct you on one thing one had to be a Property Owner/Rate payer to get a vote in Northern Ireland back in the day when Martin mc Guiness joined the IRA.If you owned 1 house you got one vote if you owned 100 houses you got 100 votes,now guess who would own a 100 houses ? It was not the likes of Martin Mc Guinness and people from Nationalist working class area’s that’s for sure.Its no wonder they went down the road they did.
      When Stephen Speilberg made the movie “Schindlers List” he was asked why he made such an
      horrific movie ? He replied “Least We Forget”.We must all move on but never forget the sacrifices these men and women made to bring us to were we are today,for that alone Martin Mc Guinness deserves to be acknowledged.

• Doesn’t our current President come from Northern Ireland and she and her husband have never been linked to any of the troubles up there , also her Husband has done alot of work towards the Peace talks!!! Vote No 7 for McGuinness .

• In answer to Jimmy Dunphy you have in a roundabout way agreed with me.All people who went out on a limb to bring the conclusion of the horrors in Northern Ireland to an end deserve credit,that includes Martin McGuinness.I don’t know what age group you represent but as the saying goes ,you have to be standing in the shoes of the a Nationalist person particularly during the 70′s to really understand what it was like.Have you ever had to stay awake all night or sleep in shifts so as to protect your family and property from a demented gang at the end of the street that had Carte Blance from the security forces to do what they pleased ? No I didn’t think s and lucky you.Do you not get it that Martin Mc Guiness and co were the ONLY protection the Nationalist community had ?As for the current president,do you think it was a coincidence that she was the first of her family tree to go to third level education ?
      And last but not least were where all the descending voices when our former leader Bertie Ahern had Ian Paisley in bear hug love on the Banks Of The Boyne a few years back.Ya see Jimmy opinions without all the facts is just ignorance parading as moral outrage !

• Major problem with the Journal polls is that you can vote, then log off, come back later and vote again. So the results are a distortion!

• Maybe they might only allow journal readers to vote & we might hav the first republican leader head of state since 1921

• Somewhat surprising that this publication has not (to my knowledge, and I’m open to correction) reported on the alleged attempted murder of Dana last night. Whether we agree with her or not, if this had allegedly happened to ANY of the other candidates, it would undoubtedly and rightly be the talk of the town.

• Given only 1 candidate was comfortable answering all questions in Irish, it defies belief that so many of your respondents are suggesting anyone besides Higgins won this one! (and I’m saying that as someone who will not be giving his 1 to Higgins)

• I would have thought that anyone seeking public office would make it a priority to speak fluent Irish. Its a terrible example for children in school struggling with the compulsory subject. If the president can’t speak it we may as well start teaching the kids Chinese.

• Paul, with respect, the Northern Irish candidates were not taught Irish in the schools when they were young. In fairness to Gerry Adams, he did learn Irish during his time interned at HRM pleasure. But the very very vast majority of the Irish in the North, were not taught Irish. So, i do think it is unfair to expect Irish fluency to be a pre-requisite, iotherwise you are advocating deliberately excluding folks brought up North of the border from running in these elections.

• I think it’s safe to say Mary Davis and Gay Mitchell are out of the race.

• Thanks for the correction Mel. VOTE NO.1 Martin for President.

• Martin McGuinness my arse, can someone tell me why he is polling so averagely in the professional polls and then winning all the online ones. I wonder are the Sinn Feiners slamming every poll.

• Maybe so Gary, but why would you really be bothered doing that? The truth will be told on the 27th.
    VOTE NO.1 Martin for President.

• VOTE NO.1 Martin for President.
    hes is 100% above the rest

• I’m not sure who the winner was but the real loser is the Irish electrode.
    Why is the debate taking place in Google’s office where up to 70% of the staff will have no vote ? I have contacted Google to ask for an invite to the debate and was told it was staff invitation only,70% of whom will have no vote.
    Is this a representation of things to come where we the Irish people will take second place to a media company such as Google to elect an Irish President ?

• i have listened to all the debates……….so i base this on what i heard who can do their best for ireland….who carries the weight of of something new for ireland….the only one ahead in my books is martin mcguiness,he tells it like it is…… as it is the countrys on its kneees by the clowns who ran the country……….i need someone who can go to the park and do somehting new……not sit on their assets….dont comment another sinn feinner…i am not…..i base my thoughts on what i heard from the debates all of them

• Are Sean Gallagher & Michael D Huggins complete traitors or have they taken leave of their senses?? Our patriotic dead would be turning in their graves. Is it not bad enough that Sean Gallaghers Fianna Fáil lost us our sovereignty & Miahael D’s Labour are continuing down this road! They are not content with that, they want to scrap our National Anthem too and leave us with no identity!! NO WAY. We the people will resist this!

• And lets not forget in the “POOR OULD BERTIE” days he was prepared to have the Irish language omitted as an official European language for translation purposes.The more I think of the likes of Ahern and his Cohorts the more I’ll canvas for anyone but Sean “Mr Nice Guy”Gallagher.

• Just another media circus… another performance by a bunch of mass-debaters. None of which I have any desire to vote for, personally.

• Where is Christy Moore (Singer) on the Campaign for Martin Mc Guinness.He made plenty out of the Republican Movement.Has he completely sold his soul to RTE and its cohorts

• Hes a ULA/PBPA supporter- well he publically supported Eamon McCann in the Assembly elections

• Ya Fiachra for now he supporting whoever is in Vogue,that Christy Moore for ya.But should Matin Mc Guinness win the bold Christy Moore will be the first one out with a song about it and in so doing fill another pot of money for himself.I cannot stand these armchair republicans.

• For now Fiachra,till the next big name comes calling.Thats the bold and brave Christy Moore an Armchair Republican the type few of us can stand.

• Evan O'Q 19/10/11 #

I don’t know how the ULA/People before profit crowd are ‘Vogue’ as you said…their reputation amongst most people (myslelf not included in this) is pretty much as low as SF’s is.

• To all those who didn’t get my “Armchair Republican”jib about Christy Moore let me explain as during the mid eighties while I was living in London the bold Christy Moore would arrive in his Mercedes up to The Dominian Theater on the Tott’ Court Road in London ,give a concert ,almost insight a riot and get into his Mercedes and vanish while the rest of us where left to pick our way through the police lines.Ya good old Christy to work up the crowd and vanish leaving us holding the “baby”.Bear in mind we were in our late teens early twenties at the time.

• you dont get it Mel. cop on. Christy is a legend. dont like it when ppl use personal anecdotes to judge someone else’s life and creative journey. Christy sang about many issues that a lot of ppl wouldnt touch with a barge pole. what did you want him to do after a gig where a load of fools, as you claim, wrecked the gaff? bash the cops with his guitar?!

• Quick Reply to Gary Roche. Firstly we didn’t wreck the venue or Gaff as you put it (Gaff being a slang Cockney word for house that origionated in an early 80′s TV series called “Minder”).
      Christy Moore a Legend ! your joking me.Christy Moore is and was a parasite who lived off other great singer song writers.Christy Hennesesy,Jackson Brown,Bob Dylan,Jimmy Mc Carthy,Shane McGowan,Luke Kelly to mention a very small few.He an average guitar player (try Jimmy Smyth for a real Irish Guitar player) and he spent most of his life breaking into the influential but closed circle at RTE.He mates are Bono,Harry Crosbie and formally Charles Haughey,need I say anymore .Moore tapped into a lonely and desperate group of emigrants (including myself) desperately trying to hold on to anything that would remind them of home (how in gods name do you think The Saw Doctors gained such a following,music talent ?).Two things Christy Moore loves is himself and the money,I don’t mean to be offensive to anyone but saying Christy Moore is a Legend is just to much for me.Do you really think that “Don’t Forget Your Shovel” stands along side “Thousands Are Sailing”(The Pouges) when it comes to a true picture of Irish Emigration ?The most dangerous thing in the world is Blind Loyalty,which alas all of Christy Moore fans seem to suffer from.

• well Mell you’re certainly very bitter about him but in as much as you wrote, you still haven’t really explained, at least to my satisfaction anyway, why.
      some of the people to whom you ascribe friendship with Christy are fairly odeous to my taste, but thats one of the things i like about him and one of the qualities that allowed him to support ppl like the hunger strikers and others when ‘it was neither popular nor profitable to do so’.
      i’m sure if you write to him he’ll give you your £2.50 back for that gig back in 1975 for failing to live up to your revolutionary expectations.

• Replying to Gary Roche below,I’m not but I am angry for the very reasons you express in your comment.He high jacked the Hunger Strike in 1981 all to his own benefit.(he never played one gig in Northern Ireland throughout the hunger strike).Were was he when he was asked to attend a demonstration outside the embassy in Ballsbridge against the Hunger Strike when the rest of us had the Sh*t battened out of us (o sorry he was in Boston USA,a fairly safe haven I would think)and last but not least where did all the money go after Work Aid in the RDS in 1986 (if you can remember that).I could write a book on this guy as I lived through that time but I’ll just park it there as its not my idea to be offensive to you or anyone else but check all of the above out,I love Irish music and all things Irish, but that does not include Christy Moore in a previous life I’d hazard a guess that he was a Banker !

• LOL. McGuiness is leading the poll despite doing so poorly in the paper polls. Gotta hand it to Sinn Fein supporters/campaigners for getting their candidate on top of all these internet polls and forums.

Add New Comment