TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Clerical abuse ‘remains a mystery’, says Pope Benedict XVI

“They abused people and undermined the credibility of the Church’s message.”

Croke Park today
Image: Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland

THE ‘APPALLING’ OFFENCES carried out against children by Catholic priests in Ireland cannot be explained, Pope Bendict XVI has said in his message to the 50th International Eucharistic Congress at Croke Park this evening.

Commenting on the scandals that rocked the Catholic Church in Ireland, the Pope admitted that the cases of child sex abuse undermined the credibility of the Church’s message.

“How are we to explain the fact that people who regularly received the Lord’s body and confessed their sins in the sacrament of Penance have offended in this way?” he asked. “It remains a mystery.”

Thankfulness and joy at such a great history of faith and love have recently been shaken in an appalling way by the revelation of sins committed by priests and consecrated persons against people entrusted to their care. Instead of showing them the path towards Christ, towards God, instead of bearing witness to his goodness, they abused people and undermined the credibility of the Church’s message.

About 80,000 pilgrims were at Croke Park today to hear the papal message.

The Vatican has long been criticised by abuse survivors for not acknowledging its role in the cover up of abuses within the Church but the Pope stopped short of issuing an apology to victims today.

Earlier this week, his personal envoy came closer to that apology when he met with a group of adults who were abused by priests. Cardinal Marc Ouellet asked them for forgiveness during a tw0-day pilgrimage to Lough Derg.

Related: Pope’s personal rep to Eucharistic Congress meets survivors of clerical sexual abuse>

More: Cardinal Brady expresses ‘deep shame’ over Church abuse>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (109 Comments)

• “They abused people and damaged the church’s credibility.” It may have been more appropriate to say, ” They abused people and damaged their lives irreparably “

• A mystery eh? Well thankfully the guards don’t just throw their hands in the air and think the same.

• No mystery – the people who committed these crimes are evil, and those who systematically covered it up pure evil.

Pope still gets applause despite no apology from the organisation regarding the cover up.

• I actually cannot find the words…

• Does that apply to the decades of coverups as well?

• It is mystery how the Roman Catholic church managed to get away with moving priest child rapists from town to town and even country to country for decades without anyone in the civil authorities doing something useful until relatively recently. The other mystery is how a secular government can still tolerate discredited religious control of schools. What is Ruari Quinn doing about this scandalous arrangement?

• The fact that people still fall for this religion stuff is a mystery.Pedo protecting orginization is all it is.

• He was involved in the cover ups as a cardinal! Hypocritical comments as usual from the head of the catholic church…, shame on the lot of them.

• Hang on doesn’t this guy have God on Speed dial? So the Pope is Best mates with an All mighty Diety and claims to know the answers to questions like, how did the Universe begin? But he doesn’t know why hundreds of his Employees raped children and got away with it.

The biggest load of rubbish ever heard in Croke Park and that’s including Pat Spillane’s rants

• ‘Regularly received the Lord’s body’ and ‘confessed their sins’ wasn’t enough to stop it?

What does that tell ya? Maybe these things either #1 don’t work. #2 are not enough – you might actually have to make efforts, exercise your own conscience to be moral and ethical instead of deferring to the magical middleman of authority.

….everything is the Lord’s body. You’re knee deep in it, and making out like you’re the source of it, and that people need to come to you is the same evil schtick played out the world over.

If the Vatican really knew the message of Jesus imo, they would remind people of their always-already goodness. Shame would not enter the equation – not in the way that it has anyway. Maybe shame based on wrongdoing, not ‘original sin’ of being an incarnated being. There are no remainders in the infinite, eternal nature of God. Flesh is part of that, and could not be the basis for original sin of any kind.

Which makes me conclude that either the Vatican has absolutely no idea of what Jesus was about, or they know, and are using it in an evil and insidious way – keeping the message out of sight and giving a warped version instead. Jesus never, ever said that a church or a middleman of any kind was needed for Realization. He grilled the church in his own time and place, and they killed him for it.

….it’s not much a mystery to me, this clerical abuse, even though I consider evil itself to be a mystery in some ways. But as far as the relatively knowable contours go: the church is a perfect place for paedophiles to hang out in plain sight undetected. A supply of fresh young blood. A populace too scared and ashamed to speak out against the Zeitgeist. An administration that is above the law, and is resistant to being transparent as a whole, or even demanding it of its constituent members. What’s so mysterious about that?

…every time this guy “apologizes” he sneaks in a Trojan Horse of the church’s magical powers, as well as his message of ‘faith’ (obedience).

• As I have stated before I can understand why people can be Christians, what I cant understand is how Christians can remain part of the Catholic Church. I have spoken before about good priests, and I still believe that there are some genuine priests out there, but what is really “a mystery” is how they can stand by a church that is so contrary to their deeply held spiritual convictions.

• Mistake ? MISTAKE???????? A mistake is putting garlic in the dessert , not the systematic abuse of children. So glad I left that organisation and did not allow my children near them , no communions baptisms etc.

• @ paddy how can you call the systematic rape and abuse of our countrys children “a few mistakes” not to mention the subsequent cover ups and lies spewing from the mouths of the bishops and hierarchy in the catholic church I was raised a catholic and still believe in god but I can do it from the comfort of my own home without having to go to church and listen to some man (because women aren’t allowed to join their elite organisation) tell me how to live my life when he hasn’t got the faintest idea on the real world and what real people go through in their lives.

• Love to know Roy Keanes opinion on this one

• Just how detached from reality is that man?

• For anyone who’s interested in this type of thing….plus Stephen Fry = Legend :-)

Live Debate : Motion, “Is the Catholic Church a force for good?”

Stephen Fry and Christopher Hitchens VS Archbishop John Onaiyekan and Ann Widdecombe MP.

An audience of 1500 people vote on the motion before and after the debate.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5OMNPmoVAw

• Paddy, Dont count me as one of your proud 87.4% of citizens as proud catholics. They are a figment of your imagination. Am too ashamed to call myself a catholic anymore.

• Are you saying you are a member of an organisation you don’t want to be/are not proud to be a member of?

That would be like me joining the IRFU and then being a hypocrite giving out about it!

I’m proud of every organisation i’m a member of otherwise I wouldn’t join them!!!

Leave if you don’t want to be a member of the Church. Otherwise don’t critcise because it’s hypocrisy!

• Anyone else having trouble posting comments on iPhone?

• Paddy, you big fluffy troll you, you can’t leave the Catholic Church anymore, can you? They took that clause out of the laws they have that aren’t really laws, I think. I was baptised as a wee baby. Maybe if I’d realised, somewhere down the line, that being baptised would eventually lead me to being a hypocrite, I would have piped up and asked the parents to reconsider. Damn my baby-self’s lack of communication skills!

• We were peddled ‘mysteries’ as “religion”. Now we’re being peddled mysteries as excuses. The man should be floggged.

• Or fr. troll.

• So he can add it to all the other mysteries of the roman catholic church. What a joke. I could not believe the number of people who were at croke park. Maybe there really are so many people who consider themselves members of the RC church . I know there were a lot of foreign delegates , it still surprised me. As long as that many people hang on the very words of their leader and believe him , i don’t expect any real change. I get the feeling they are going ” for god sake would they ever shut up about child sexual abuse already , sure didn’t we give them a “healing stone!!!” and didn’t the boss say he didn’t know what to say, it’s a mystery , would they ever get over themselves” that’s what it feels like to me. It would make your blood boil.

• Yeah I’m sure that’s what the audience is thinking alright. Get a grip on yourself. As my parish priest said at xmas mass, “A great evil has been committed by members of this church against the young and vulnerable. Damage that cannot be repaired in the short term but only with real reconciliation and outreach.” The church does an awful lot of good in local communities and has done much good in third world countries.

• Is that why he didn’t appear at the congress! To join the other (not all) hypocrites in frocks! He could not face the real people whose lives were ruined by freaks!

• @ Paddy Bebop – u truly are a langer!

• he believes he eats and drinks hes creator who is also his own father and a zombie he also believes in virgin births and that in no way man evolved from primitive apes no wonder its a mystery HE’S AN IDIOT …and also he was in the Hitler youth so an evil idiot to boot…….and paddy bebop … although individual priests were of great help during the famine foreign donations of money never made it to our shores the evil empire saw to that….. and pagan isnt bad just cause you think so

• The universal truth is the the C. C. , like most abusive organisations, will continue to lie about anything they have not been totally nailed down on!!

• It’s official. The pope smokes dope.
    There is no other explanation.

• Lots of decent people here responding to trolls. Please don’t waste your time giving them the attention they crave. As for the point “all the good the church has done” I’d like to throw in the organisation’s resistance to free state education and health care, before and after independence; it’s support for fascist regimes throughout the 20th century; it’s denial of protection for millions of Africans in the battle against AIDS ; it’s dismissal of homosexual people as “intrinsically disordered” ; it’s intrinsic subjugation of women as second class people; it’s doubtful provenence in terms of morality based on near pre-historic desert cults. Oh, and it’s collusion and facilitation in the sexual and physical abuse of children on an industrial scale. No mystery to me as all of this is the predictably mundane behaviour expected of a power-hungry criminal gang. No mystery at all Benny.

• I think it’s not faith but nostalgia which is holding people in the catholic church. You hear the hymns or prayers and it may bring back memories. Or indeed some people I know will remain catholic as they were taught to be by their parents who they love and respect. As one who left the church and purposely did not allow my children to be involved , I know my choice caused hurt and unhappiness. It’s not hard to walk away but it’s very hard to watch those you love being hurt by that.

• They managed to get millions of idiots to believe in the immaculate conception, so anything is possible!

• Of course you can leave. You were 6 weeks old when they poured water over your head and recited some “mumbo jumbo” You did not willilgly or knowingly become a member. So; Walk Away, you will be amazed how your life will improve and a heavey weight will be lifted, you will see the real world in all it’s natural beauty. Best thing by far, that I have ever done. I walked away at 12 years old.

• Maybe the next time the Pope is chatting to God (that is his thing right? that he hears the voice of god?) He could ask him to clarify up things so that the systemic rape, abuse and torture of innocent children by sanctimonious believers in a talking snake can be more understood by him.

• Register your new status with a silicitor and that when you die you do not want any religious fiends at your funeral. That is what I have done, and a bit more.

• Perhaps she should have said “Become the person you want to be and set the world on fire” Because you are not here at the behest of some deity so, you are not here for a reason. You have to create your own niche.

• clerical sexual abuse a mystery? is that a bit like the mystery of the virgin birth , or the resurrection, which are only mysterys as long as you have ignorance and a climate of fear ? There’s no mystery here. Power is always abused , and a dogma that doesn’t allow questions or admit that it is wrong will always pull in the darker side of humanity , because power is the key and the goal. Those who wish to retain power excercise a ruthlessness and inhumanity which transcends rationality and perverts society.

• Has anyone in the RCC’s hierarchy ever investigated the link between celibacy and child abuse? All humans have urges of a sexual nature (priests are humans too) so a celibate life cannot be a natural way to live. If anything, the pretence of celibacy may have actually lured paedophiles into the church so they could have direct access to children. Some may have abused children as a result of their celibate life. Either way they were, and are, evil b######s. But it’s the church that is accountable for a repressive regime that suppresses human nature. I know priests who would make great husbands and fathers but the church can’t see this. Jesus was married, why can’t priests (uh oh, now I’ve done it!!!)

• 87% of ireland are listed as catholic because the catholic church removed the process by which you can leave 3 years ago

• If you do want to be listed as no longer being a member of the catholic church then you have to go through a process. This will also mean that you cannot have a church funeral. Kind of have you by the balls there…. not many people are going to go to the trouble and will just think that no going to church will be enough. An unfortunate side effect of this thinking is that on paper you have 87 percent of people being catholic because they were christened when in reality the number is probably a fraction of that.

I think the Journal should have it as their next poll… might shed some light on the figures .

• I think that figure comes from the census lads. A good question is how many of these people actually don’t believe in the teachings of the church but just put themselves down as Catholic because they’re culturally Catholic? I’d love to officially leave the church myself and I’d be offended (if I wasn’t dead) if I was given a church funeral.

• Shower of dysfunctional f%$ks. Arnt the church great…..sure they even robbed pagan festivities and made them their own. the sooner this country rids itself of disease the better. They make me feel so ill!

• “I’m reminded of the line from the film A Few Good Men – “You Can’t Handle The Truth”.”

You hit the nail on the head, Paddy. They cannot handle the truth, so they have and continue to suppress it at all costs. There is nothing mysterious about it. You don’t even need a PhD in psychology to figure it out. Common sense will bring you to most of the answers.

And why do I, as a survivor, not see 87+% of those proud Roman Catholics at Mass on a Sunday ? Too busy down the pubs shaking fists in the air shouting, “Tiocfaidh ar la !” ?

I don’t see ANYONE here criticising the good in anything the Church may have done in the past, present or might do in the future.

They are rightly criticising what Benedict himself calls, ‘rot and filth’ which he is obviously not prepared to root out as to do so would be to hold hand to heart and offer a sincere, ‘Mea Culpa’.

If this lot want to retain any sense of credibility let alone any degree of real trust again – they need to be TRUTHful and cut out the scapegoating.

And as I share these few thoughts here, I speak them to the palm of my right hand, realising I have more chance of being heard by Palmy than the ‘rot and filth’ in the Church.

Thank you and God bless you :-)

• A purposely made video, to be shown to the sheep. How very facist, or is that a Nazi thing to say?

• @Irene and others. There is an explanation that may help curb your feelings of depression and exasperation, regarding the causes and responses to these despicable crimes. Their is scientific proof that shows that, in Ireland’s case, two to three per cent of people are psychopaths. The majority are socially adept and non violent. Through brain scans coupled with psychological tests, it has been proven that these people actually do exist. It is a terrifying reality that has taken me years to accept, but it is true. The characteristics of these people are that they are attracted to positions of power and status. They are incapable of remorse and show no signs of having a conscience. They are are also glib and superficially charming. They lie with ease and are experts at manipulation. They are also attracted to vulnerable people and organisations that claim to care for such people. When you despair, as I have done in trying to understand the mindset of individuals and organisations involved in the commission, or cover up of these crimes, then please look into psychopathology. Dr. Robert Hare is a good place to start. For an insight into politically socially adept psychopaths, check out Politicalponerology.com. The pandemic of unacknowledged psychopaths within our midst, is akin to the problem of sexual abuse in our societies in the past. It was so awful that it simply could not be believed. If we do not educate ourselves, regarding the existence of this pandemic, then I’m afraid that history will repeat itself, over and over again.

• Oh yes! Clerical abuse moves in mysterious ways bla bla bla! Here’s an Idea, Let priests get married, stop controlling primary education through dictating the ethos of the school with sexually frustrated men.

• I personally believe you don’t need religion to have faith. I have faith, faith in humanity, but no faith in the Catholic Church. How can I? I’m a woman after all.

• My humble prose could never match some of the very enlightened comments posted here over the last few hours, so I’ll quote Thomas Babington Macaulay, referring to the Catholic Church, “She was great and respected before the Saxon had set foot on Britain, before the Frank had passed the Rhine, when Grecian eloquence still flourished at Antioch, when idols were still worshipped in the temple of Mecca. And she may still exist in undiminished vigour when some traveller from New Zealand shall, in the midst of a vast solitude, take his stand on a broken arch of London Bridge to sketch the ruins of St. Paul’s.” The RCC is not perfect but, for believers, it is God’s (the fairy thing people rail against with such vehemence) It will be here after the Euro, after the EU, after the Republic of Ireland etc etc become paragraphs (or footnotes) in history books. Despite the best efforts of enemies without and with in, it will survive…why??…because for believers, its part of the plan!

• OMG

• Did any of you brave commentators actually listen to the Pope’s speech? The mystery referred to is the same mystery as to why fathers would sexually abuse their daughters.

• If you’re interested in what the man actually said: http://ncronline.org/blogs/ncr-today/pope-calls-irish-abuse-crisis-appalling.

• Hi Noirin,

The quotes in the article are verbatim from the Papal message…and match the link you posted to.

Thanks,
      Sinead

• Dave 17/06/12 #

Why doesnt popey release some of that 8 Billion euro worth of gold which the church holds and pay compensation to the victims rather than sticking the bill on the Irish tax payer?

• Hi Sinead,

Noirin’s link gives considerably more information and context then your quote in the article. It was appropriate and informative of her to provide the link. You seem a little defensive in her providing this information to your readers.

Just a personal observation.

Thanks,
      Kevin

• Hi Kevin,

Not being defensive at all and we welcome links to other publications. I replied to Noirin in case other readers thought that I had misquoted in the article (which I haven’t) as she had implied. I have also provided full context as the entire paragraph attached to the issue of abuse in Ireland is provided.

Thanks,
      Sinead

• I have to say that I saw some of it, and the young woman from Armagh was an inspiration. The young student teacher who quoted Catherine of Sienna, “Become the person you are meant to be and set the world on fire.”

She could teach the pope and a few others a thing or two.

But then so did Catherine of Sienna. She took none of their crap either.

• Paddy BeBop
    5 hours ago # Comment reported, thank you
    Report this comment
    278 25 People on here are a bunch of pagans with serious hatred of an institution that kept this country in bad times (famine, occupation etc). Ye definitly represent a small % of Irish people. Grow up the lot of ye and get over the few mistakes that were were made. The Catholic Church is among the oldest institutions in the world and has played a very important role in advancing human civilisation throughout the centuries. More so than any of ye begrudgers anyways!! Benedict, like JP2, is a good lad as well so let’s give him a chance”
    This is so DEPRESSING, is anything EVER going to change in this country… I cannot believe that is written into the second decade of the 21st century… let’s celebrate ignorance!!! Ye and ye and ye………!!!!!

• People on here are a bunch of pagans with serious hatred of an institution that kept this country in bad times (famine, occupation etc). Ye definitly represent a small % of Irish people.

Grow up the lot of ye and get over the few mistakes that were were made. The Catholic Church is among the oldest institutions in the world and has played a very important role in advancing human civilisation throughout the centuries. More so than any of ye begrudgers anyways!!

Benedict, like JP2, is a good lad as well so let’s give him a chance.

• Is this guy for real?

• king Troll.

• Widespread molestation and its organised cover up, centuries of repression, religious subservience and indoctrination are a “few mistakes”? It’s presumptuous to assume that the RCC has played an important role in the advancement of humanity when it’s persecuted some of the most enlightened thinkers of humanity. Remember Copernicus?

• Are you f*cking serious? The most corrupt shower since the dawn of man, who sat in huge palaces while people starved, who continue to preach from on high while the elderly who have faith would rather go hungry than miss putting something on a collection plate!

• When you take your head from where the sun don’t shine you might come up with something coherent Paddy.

For your sake we’ll ignore the blatant interference in the laws of this country by Ratzinger and his cohorts in their rush to ignore/defend/help/repatriate (delete as appropriate) the known paedophiles that were in their company.

• Raping children = “a few mistakes”?, what more can be said…

• I’m reminded of the line from the film A Few Good Men – “You Can’t Handle The Truth”.

People commenting on thejournal.ie can’t handle the truth that 87.4% of the citizens of the 26 counties are proud Roman Catholics.

The agenda against the Church is a Dublin 4 liberal agenda driven by discussions at labour party dinner parties in Donnybrook and Ranelagh by the likes of Ivana Bacik.

• You have your finger on the pulse there, Paddy. Bit of BeBop pulse though.

• King Troll? here are the King Trolls: Leslie Alan Rock, Kevin O’Brien, Derek Mooney, and so on…, I can see that people who critizice the Church most are those who have no idea about the Church whatsoever, and only are picking-up sensational news from media, well done journal… instead of focusing on good side of the Congress, here we can read for a thousandth time same story about the child abuse, why don’t you write about molesting children in HSE managed foster homes?

• “87.4% of the citizens of the 26 counties are proud Roman Catholics” if people were honest on the census practicing catholics would make up less than 1% of the population. I got 500 friend on Facebook NOT ONE is a practicing Catholic (despite what the profile says).

People say their Catholic for traditional reasons one philosophical reasons.

Ps…. Contraception much? :-)

• Amen Simon Yautya VIII

• Dave 17/06/12 #

Anyone who refers to the rape of children as a “few mistakes” is evil.

• one = not*

• Why would say they are a member of an organisation they don’t believe in?

You’re in denial Tadhg!

Stop believing the Dublin 4 Liberal Labour Pary agenda!

• “The agenda against the Church is a Dublin 4 liberal agenda driven by discussions at labour party dinner parties in Donnybrook and Ranelagh by the likes of Ivana Bacik.” well said!

I see that thejounral.ie is becoming more and more “liberal” and full of bigotry, how many times I can see stories here that criticize Church, pro-life groups and write crap about gay-marriage? aren’t media suppose to be politically independent? And later on my comments are removed even though there is no offensive or vulgar language there…

• @ Paddy BeBop why? to disassociate themselves from Protestantism/Unionism its pretty straight forward really…

• @Paddy BeBop

If you are actually a real person and not a Troll, I just have a few words for you. You’re talking sh1te. John Paul II knew all of this was going on, not just in Ireland, but all over the world. The Popes before him knew. To allow it to continue for so many years is just inhuman. They obviously felt and still do feel that they are above any law.

I put it to all catholics in the world. Request the RCC, Rome to sell some of the art, gold that is in the Vatican and the proceeds go to the abused, damaged children and adults on building their lives again, councilling and funds into their bank accounts. The church belongs to the people, so do the assets!

• Paddy, as a rule, people do not ‘choose’ to join the Catholic Church – they are baptised as babies and brought up in an educational system that is , for the most part, Catholic. I can state quite clearly that I ticked the no-religion box on the census form, and therefore cannot be part of the 87.4%. However, that was the eighth or ninth choice on the form, while Catholic was the first choice.
      I have no intention of knocking you for your faith – if you believe, fair play to you. Equally, fair play to those of us who have denounced the ‘faith of our fathers’ because of the systamatic abuse and the cover ups. I accept your point that the Catholic Church is not the only organisation that abused children, however, this does not in any way lessen the guilt of the abusers.
      As for your claim that: “The agenda against the Church is a Dublin 4 liberal agenda driven by discussions at labour party dinner parties in Donnybrook and Ranelagh by the likes of Ivana Bacik.”, I will merely point out that I live in Dublin 3, and do not vote for any left wing policies. Facetious? Perhaps, but the truth nonetheless.

• a bunch of pagans are you for real…this institution that made a “few mistakes” raping..buggering…molesting…and all the rest…advancing human civilisation???? in what centuary are you living in…I have nothing against the genuine believers …if people have faith I admire them but as for the institution…how can you defend it???? There is no defence of what they have done or what they continue to do! end of

• Paddy you’re a langer! Paganism, which is also a religion, is older than Christianity.

• Paddy
      Shocking , disgusting comments . Just go away . You have lost all, if any, credibility you ever had .

• ah hw cud u even stand up 4 that comment?? I liked jp2 but he knew what was going on.. I go to mass wen I can butvit doesnt mean I aggree with the abuse that went on .. as 4 that comment big foot n ufos are mysteries .. abuseing children is just wrong

• Great to see that Paddy is yet another educated Catholic without the blinkers on……… Paddy what kind of an idiot are you? The church kept this country during the famine??? No. The church kept enough wheat and other crops to feed themselves and enable them to give out just enough to starving people to look generous and hold power over those people. They ensured the rest was exported to England. Very similar to what the warlords in Somalia did in the early 1990s. They educated themselves to ensure the uneducated looked up to and heeded their teachings i.e. donate what little money they had. Other practising Catholics on here have at least recognised the err of the church’s ways but you are a sheep paddy. If your child had been raped and molested by a priest you may have different views. But let me guess, you are a bachelor, live alone and a wannabe priest. Your views are then relatively understandable. If you do have sons and daughters of your own then, well, I just don’t understand. Educate yourself please…

• A laborer works from Sun to Sun, but a troll’s work is never done.

• Why Ivana Bakic of all the Labour party people you could have mentioned?

• Some of ye need to cop on. No one, particularly me, is condoning the abuse that went on. Needless to say it was a disgrace and as far away from Christianity as one can get.

I’m simply pointing out the hypocrisies of many of the people commenting here. Nobody in the media ever runs stories showing all the good the church does every day. And it is a fact that there is a liberal dublin 4 conspiracy to black mark every good decent catholic left in the country. The reason I mention Ivana Bacik is that she, along with a lot of the atheist labour party, are at the forefront of this agenda to blacken all good Catholics with the one brush.

• “kept this country in bad times”
      Exactly!

• The man is a deranged, demented physchopath

• Paddy k 18/06/12 #

I’m sure this guy is just trolling,He’s got no followers and just seems to comment on everything.So just let him whack off and cry when no one falls for it.

• I love ye and want to have your amoebas.

JPII would have canonised a serial abuser given the chance. St Maciel ora pro nobis.

That’s what is truly scary with this lot too. I am a survivor and hold the faith. I hold to the faith that ‘makes well’. By its fruits you shall know. If it brings life well and good. Anything else.

And I render unto Caesar what belongs to Caesar. To sit and suggest that the causes of the abuse crisis are somehow a mystery is to speak as a Caesar – from a position of temporal rather than spiritual power. It does not inspire confidence, trust or faith and brings no life. There is nothing ‘holy’ about it. He deserves no respect or obedience speaking as such – speaking out of two sides of his mouth. When he speaks ‘rot and filth’ it needs challenging as such. He is an elderly man and I can respect him as such. Indeed he is being abused as an elderly man in such a position at 85 years of age.

If faith makes well and brings life. Good. When we are given ‘rot and filth’ – vomit it out. I pray one day they will grow a pair and learn what it means to be honest. Without truth there is no holiness. And as they all sang in their big hats and grins on leaving, “His truth is love and his love is TRUTH !” Tell the truth and shame the ‘devil’.

Glad they all enjoyed it. But the hierarchy are a diabolical disgrace

Shame.

Pau

• I have to say on a separate yet related matter – the stone in Lough Derg. I just read about that and the ‘prayer’ inscribed on the thing. It’s an insult and in my opinion a sacrilege on that lovely little island. Been there a few times over the years and whatever else about it, believer or not, you get a good detox.

Always qualifiers, little ‘get out’ clauses in these ‘prayers’. “Some of us………. ” And no mention of young people, vulnerable adults or ‘some’ others I could mention. I’d love to speak to the survivors who were consulted on that one. And then having the audacity, after being party to the murder of innocence, of souls, asking that they be the ones shown how to help.

“Physician heal thyself,” comes to mind.

I surely need my head examined remaining with any of this. But I won’t be beaten by them, have the ‘faith’ that ‘makes well’ desecrated too, or ‘some’ of the real good which is realised through ‘many’ of the good people – be they lay or cleric.

And I agree with you Tom. Sexually frustrated ‘celibates’ should be sorting themselves out or taking cold showers and not preaching to anyone. Least of all married persons. I never understood how it was right or good to ‘teach’ young children to be Catholic, Protestant, Jew, Muslim, Hindu anyway. I see no evidence of Jesus preaching to or ‘teach’ing young children. He did say, “Unless you become as one of these……. ” Ideally before the ‘some’ get their hands on them and cause their ruination.

Anyway – that stone in a disgrace.

The rest I now take with a very huge dose of Epsom salts and a hot flush in the AM.

Sorry for that but that’s all the rest is worth.

Add New Comment