TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 2 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Pro-choice march to take place in Dublin today

The march is part of a Global Day of Action for Access to Safe and Legal Abortion.

File photo
File photo
Image: Julien Behal/PA Archive/Press Association Images

A MARCH WILL be held in Dublin today to highlight a woman’s right to safe and legal abortions as part of a global day of action.

Today is the Global Day of Action for Access to Safe and Legal Abortion which will be marked at a number of public events across the country including in the capital where a ‘March for Choice’ will be held.

The government is currently awaiting the publication of a report by an expert group set up to examine the implications of a European Court of Human Rights ruling regarding abortion legislation in Ireland in 2010.

Campaigners taking part in today’s march say on their Facebook page: “This is a celebration of being pro-choice! A day of being pro-choice and proud, speaking up and speaking out, making our voices heard. Come and celebrate with us!”

They also said they expect a “small amount of counter-protesters” but have urged participants to not engage with them.

The march starts at 2pm today at The Spire on O’Connell Street before they head to Merrion Square where there will be a number of speakers including United Left Alliance TD Clare Daly and Labour senator Ivana Bacik.

Other speakers include Sineád Ahern from Choice Ireland, journalist Colette Browne, and Mara Clarke who is the director of the Abortion Support Network.

Pro-life campaigners, Youth Defence, are among those organising an All Ireland Rally For Life in Dublin on 6 July next year.

Read: Increase in women seeking post-abortion care from IFPA

Read: Minister believes Government will have to allow for abortion in certain circumstances

Read next:

Comments (143 Comments)

• 150,000 Irish women have traveled to the UK for abortions over the last 30 years.
    That’s not including those who went to holland or denmark or other EU Countries.
    150,000 irish women, that is 12 women a day.

We all have someone in our lives who has had an abortion.
    Would you be as quick to call your wife/girlfriend/sister/cousin/aunt/grandmother a murderer?

• I hope this demonstration is a success and it will help people to understand what pro choice is about . It is about Irish society taking responsibility for its citizens and not exporting its problems to other jurisdictions to please a bunch of cross dressing old male virgins in the vatican.

• AH but these male virgins in the Vatican need more children to abuse! Maybe theyre hoping for more homes like Goldenbridge and Letterfrack if there are more unwanted children in the country!

• Brian 29/09/12 #

To read some comments here you’d swear pro choice campaigners were looking to bring in abortion on demand. People need to get acquainted with the facts and stop scaremongering.

• Looking forward to supporting this today.

The god brigade will be out in force against it no doubt.

I have the utmost respect for anti abortion campaigners as they are fully entitled to champion their opinions. But those who are against pro-choice simply because of a religious storybook from thousands of years ago have no place in the debate.

• Lovin the slogan in the pic…it’s brilliant!

• I will be ayyending this march. No one in this country is forced to have an abortion,
    5000 women who go abroad every year need to have this available to them at home.
    Women must decide if and when their bodies are to provide life support. We dont force men to donate blood and their vital organs so why should we force women to provide the same against their will?
    5000 Irish kids in care folks, maybe the anti choicers should take these kids in and stop trying to control womens wombs.

• lets not forget, also, people who cannot afford to travel for abortions (so the rich can and the poor have children they dont want), AND refugees! http://safeandlegal.blogspot.ie/2007/05/migrant-womens-grim-choice-on-abortion.html Imagine being stuck in a camp/hostel with a controlling or abusive partner who wont use contraception and forces himself upon you, then to end up pregnant even though you have loads of children already, and then you cant access abortion And you cant afford to leave And you are legally not permitted to leave the state…oh the reasons women have for choosing abortion are endless and who am i to tell her she Must have the child?

• Of men could get pregnant abortion would be a sacrament.
    -swim.

• Let’s stop talking about morality and start talking about hypocrisy. making abortion illegal doesn’t stop or even decrease abortion. it just means that when faced with an unplanned pregnancy women and couples with money have options and women and couples without money have babies.

• bpdeasy 29/09/12 #

So I guess you support the UN and UK in paying poor women to have abortions and sterilisation so.

• Yeah everytime Im away on hols I see the ‘Free Abortion’ posters everywhere! Glitter and steamers hanging out of them. Even offers of free shoes with every abortion.
      bp, we get it, youre anti choice and anti abortion so heres the thing, dont have an abortion so even if you want the free shoes.

• Bpeasy

Are you a troll?

Because your comments are embarrassing in there lack of structure and balance

It’s perfectly acceptable to disagree with something, but to conjure up untruths to misdirect people from making an informed opinion is both dishonest and brings nothing but a discredit to your viewpoint.

Please deal in reality, this topic is too serious to be infantile with.

• Tommy C 29/09/12 #

bp is on a same sex marriage page talking about how marriage is between a man and a woman. Check out his twitter account. Its set up just for trolling.

• Making rape, murer, theft and texting while driving illegal haven’t stopped those either

I think you need to look up the word hypocrisy

• Look. Everyone has strong and differing opinions on abortion. The issue here is really not abortion – it’s about equal rights. Women in Ireland should be afforded the basic human right to choose what happens to their bodies. End of story.

We as individuals have the right to decide whether abortion is right for us, but we do not have the right to judge others for the decisions they make. But the opportunity to decide must be given!

• I give up. There would seem to be a genuine case to be made for legal abortions in Ireland, not as a means of contraception but for genuine reasons. There will be plenty of arguement over what constitutes a genuine reason I’m sure. If someone does not want an abortion for moral or religious reasons, don’t have one, nobody is trying to impose abortions on the populace. But those who object to them ARE trying to impose their views, moral or religous, on everyone else, and that cannot be accepted.

• Why isn’t contraception, or more to the point, the failure of contraception, a “genuine” enough reason? If you are doing everything you can to prevent pregnancy, and you still fall unwantedly pregnant, that is an excellent reason to terminate it, the quicker the better. The more obstacles are put in your way, the longer it will take for you to do this.

But it is worth pointing out the facts here. Where abortion is safe, legal, and accessible, over 80% are carried out in the first 8 weeks, and well over 95% in the first 12 weeks – long before a foetus develops ANY sign of sentience or awareness.

My understanding is that women who do not wish to be pregnant generally do not agonise or delay, but seek abortions early, unless legal or other obstacles are put in their way.

In contrast later abortions (less than 5% of the total) follow a different trajectory, one that frequently starts with a WANTED pregnancy that presents with health complications for mother or baby, and ultimately requires termination as part of the required medical care in that situation.

The idea that women who do not wish to be pregnant simply wait around being pregnant five months and then flippantly say, “Arragh, I’ll get an abortion” is almost inconceivable!

And it doesn’t take away the fact that, yes, contraception, or more correctly, family planning, and taking personal responsibility for your life and your family, is a “genuine” reason for an abortion.

• I agree with your point on the failure of contraception, I meant it didn’t make sense to use it for contraception in general when there are simpler, cheaper and more convenient methods available. On everything else you’ve said, I agree.
      I think this whole debate would be fine if it was just thrashed out, calmly, by those with opposing views for moral reasons alone and leave the outlandish religous stuff for private consumption. I think Mark Twain said it best;
      “The church is always trying to get other people to reform; it might not be a bad idea to reform itself a little, by way of example.”

• My point is, that rarely happens.

I personally have never known anyone to “use abortion INSTEAD of contraception.” I have known several for whom contraception failed. It happens.

Although, I have often witnessed a different, and worrying, phenomenon where people’s ability to be happy and responsible sexual agents has been so fecked up by their religious upbringing, that they rely on alcohol to remove their inhibitions and engage with sexual partners at a remove, as if it all just “happened” rather than as if anyone actually decided to have sex together.

This, of course leads to all sorts of risks not being properly evaluated or sensibly discussed – STD’s, unwanted pregnancy, unrealistic expectations, etc.

Against that background, the whole “abortion as a contraception substitute” line always strikes me as specious. (also it has the marks of the fevered imaginings religious people become obsessed with when contemplating the sexual lives of others.)

• On everything you have just said, I couldn’t agree more.

• Bpeasy

You might want to give anyone of your comments a thumbs up

At least then you know that ONE person out there agrees with you !

• I wouldn’t be pro choice but I think the failure to introduce any system to comply with the X case is disgraceful.

• The March may disrupt bus services while it’s happening, here is the planned route you wish to see if it will effect you. http://www.irishchoicenetwork.com/1/post/2012/09/route-for-the-march4choice-29th-sept-2pm.html

• Brian 29/09/12 #

Looks like some of the Youth Defence attack dogs have been released from their cages early today.

• I reckon YD are hiding in the toilets in the airports and ports testing womens urine. If they find a pregnant one theyll scream and shout, try and shame her into not going anywhere!

• A referendum should be had once and for all. Let the people decide. I myself am pro-choice.
    But I won’t argue my position with any moron that believes in some wizard in the sky. That would make me more stupid than them.

• March for Choice – Saturday 29th September 2012, 2pm The Spire, O’Connell Street

The extremely successful “March for Choice” commenced at the Spire on O’ Connell street just after 2pm today before travelling to Merrion square. Several thousand people, including diverse groups such as the National Women’s Council of Ireland, Irish Choice Network and the Irish Feminist Network took to the streets of Dublin to celebrate their support for women’s reproductive rights and to demand that Ireland’s barbaric and restrictive abortion laws be changed. Several political parties including the United Left Alliance and the Labour party were represented at the march.

Despite a Supreme Court judgement and two referendums, Irish law remains so unclear that abortion is inaccessible in all circumstances for all women, even when a woman’s life is at risk.

Spokesperson for March for Choice Sinead Redmond commented “Today’s March was a celebration of Irish people’s support for women’s reproductive health and rights it is important to remember that each day 13 Irish women travel to the UK, often alone to terminate pregnancies. We walked in solidarity with those 150,000 Irish women who have been forced to travel to access terminations since 1980. We walked as out and proud pro-choice Irish people.

Women in Ireland want access to health services in our own country. Today, along with the estimated 3,500 who joined us we had an opportunity to celebrate our support for this choice.”

ENDS

• Irish law is as clear as day! Life begins at implantation. Where there is a threat to the life of the mother, treatment which terminates a pregnancy is legal

Legislation on this would/will just be window dressing

• It seems to me many of the anti choicers are the best argument for abortion on demand never mind pro choice. As has been said many times above, no-one here forcing anyone to have an abortion, just let the one person it truly affects make HER own choice. This is not about killing babies, stop the hysterics.

• I think it is a bit unfair for The Journal to use that picture, it implies that all Pro-Life people are religious fanatics. That seems to be the general prejudice, and images such as this add to solidifying the view that anti abortion means crazy, archaic Catholics. That being said, you are free to use your journalistic license as you see fit, but abortion is not a religious matter. I am anti-abortion, exceot for cases which result from secual assault, which should be dealt with on an inividual basis. To say that it is ‘a woman’s right’ and so should be accessible is a bit biased, is it not a woman’s responsibility to nirture the chi

• (Pardon the terrible spelling, the comment box disappears behind the keypad on the iPhone)
      child she has created? Again, I see exemptions in sexual assault but my faith in humanity would be greatly reduced if Ireland were to introduce access to abortion across the board. I’m not a Catholic, never have been and never will be. My opposition comes from a humanistic point of view, as well as being a 21 year old woman who has witnessed more than enough times the harrowing and long lasting effects abortion has on an individual and their partner. Again, not religious, so please don’t tar us all with the same brush.

• what about cases where the life of the mother and child may be at risk by the pregnancy, it’s not always a black and white case of “murder”

• A foetus isnt a child. It relies on another persons body to provide life support. Its not any persons responsibility to provide this against their will.

• Sharrow 29/09/12 #

Which is what the X case High court ruling was about Paul but so many wish to ignore that.
      The expert group has to report back, and any legislation will be for the narrow remit which the high court
      approved where they life of the woman is in dire risk.

• Cases where pregnancy poses a threat to the life of the mother or child should be examined on an individual basis, anti abortion doesn’t mean I wish suffering upon anyone. And yes, a foetus relies upon the mother for its vitality and wellbeing, therefor the creator has this responsibility. It has absolutely no other way to take care of itself, it is the ultimate vulnerable being and so that is why I feel unborn children deserve basic human rights. Again, cases of sexual assault are to be considered in their own terms.

A foe

• Tommy C 29/09/12 #

Again Amy, if a pregnant woman is smoking and drinking during her pregnancy, should she be locked in a room and forced into a healthier lifestyle during her pregnancy? Youre talking about a womans responsibility to her foetus so should she be charged with abuse?

• No Tommy, I don’t think that. Please don’t twist my words, why am I not entitled to my opinion in the way you are, just because you don’t agree with it. You seem to think my aim is to punish people, that’s honestly not what I am about. I’m not looking to police women who choose to treat their bodies and pregnancies in a certain way, I just don’t want to live in a society where abortion is an acceptable option for unwanted pregnancy that is not a result of sexual assault. I’m not looking for anyone to suffer.

• You dont want anyone to suffer yet you feel its ok for a woman to have to remain pregnant? I cannot imagine what its like to have an unwanted presence in my body and I never will but I respect a womans right to remove it from her body. I respect a womans right to determine when she carries a pregnancy to term.

• That’s great Tommy, it’s good to know you live your life by conviction in your belief. Please allow me to do the same, I don’t agree with abortion (except for circumstances already outlined), and I won’t say that I will. That doesn’t make me a bad person.

• so Amy you ARE pro choice then? you seem to be painting all of the pro choice people with the same brush. not all of the pro choice marchers are for on demand abortion and like yourself want the choice to be there for women who for individual reasons such as rape or danger to their health or even the fetus health can not go through with the pregnancy. and then of course there are people marching for pro choice no matter what the reason/circumstances…

some of the comments on this article are just ridiculous (not aiming this at you Amy). people have and are entitled their opinions and views but some commentors feel the need to express their view at every single person who has a different opinion than them. we got your point the first time seriously no need to be repeating yourselves!

• Amy i know where you are coming from(not all lifers are religious), as a pro-choicer who has never had an abortion….i dont want women forced to carry an unwanted pregnancy as Tommy says, i also feel the further along the pregnancy goes im more uncomfortable with the idea of abortion(so maybe early term abortions are ok but a limit has to be set?) I think if men were able to get pregnant Abortion would be not even discussed it would be a right without a doubt, SO what it boils down to…don’t think you could forgive yourself for aborting then don’t have one, but let women decide for themselves the intricacies of each life makes the decision (ie poverty, age, reliability of a partner, stage of college/career, health issues, rape, religion, family support or lack of…..)

• JayK 29/09/12 #

I presume Tommy is morally opposed to life support machines too.

• Amy, it’s comforting for people to tell themselves they are being persecuted by the Church(es). It also gives them a free pass on answering any questions about abortion that they don’t want to answer

• “A foetus isnt a child. It relies on another persons body to provide life support. ”

How well will a newborn or a quadriplegic fare without constant supervision? \

If a mother chooses to leave her newborn infant on the doorstep so it can make it’s own way in the world, is that a valid choice? If not, when does the duty of care come into existence? 12 weeks? 26 weeks? Why at that point? What is the criteria for recognising the occupant of the womb as human life?

Maybe you think the occupant of the womb is never human life until birth. Then abortion is private matter up until the moment of labour, right?

Now, here come the comments telling me that;
      1. “Stop being ridiculous. No mother would ever look for an abortion at 8 and a half months, so we don’t need to worry about that.” To which I say; Sarah Catt

2. “No mother would ever kill a newborn infant, so we don’t need to legislate for that.” To which I say http://www.thejournal.ie/german-woman-five-babies-613806-Sep2012/

• I am pro choice. And i completely agree with what amy is saying. Would i be right in thinking you are only against it as a form of contraception? Because that is my view too, however i dont think it is the governments job to decide when that iS the case, therefore, i am pro choice

• Absolutely fantastic poster fair play to them marching would have been there if I knew it was on

• Annie 29/09/12 #

I am anti abortion and not for the reason of been religious bandaro. was a big anti abortion march already this year. Will be interested to see how many turn up to this pro abortion rally. The 2 hags there in force anyway. Clare daly and collette Browne.

• Abortion is wrong it is a denial of the most basic human right of all the right to life

• Annie 29/09/12 #

Call me a hag all you want Rebecca I could think up of some choice names for the likes of you, but ill try be an adult and leave the name calling to the likes of you. I can say what I want about a person in the public eye but you resort to calling me names someone you know nothing about. Although due to your support of Clare daly I can figure out what type of person you might be

• The pro abortion march numbers will be helped by your ADVANCE reporting. Any anti abortion events coming up? Media Reporting of anti abortion events AFTER they have happened is not balanced journalism. Not accusing Journal.ie of this practice.

• People celebrating the ability to kill their own babies takes things to a new level. Absolutely no good can come from this. No matter how people try to portray it

• Silly siobeli, you are ignorant of the facts – a dangerous thing. Do you know that a very prominent member of Choice Ireland was at Mena Bean Ui Chribin’s funeral. And that members of Mena’s family and extended family are connected to the Labour Party. I could keep writing, but hey, I’ll keep this for later. dont say you weren’t warned

• siobeli 29/09/12 #

Taramolloy…let’s hear your further stories on the labour party and their connections??!!
      You cannot deny she supported these parents…are you defending her actions and the actions of the parents???

• These the same people who are in government backing the yes campaign in the childrens rights referendum, double speakers one and all, the world has gone crazy, I’m all for gender equility, however feminism is one of the most dangerous tools been used by the eugenicists to create their new world order, I’m in no fashion religous but liken it to the story of Eden, with the United Nations been the talking snake, humanity is truly on the verge of annhialation when we have groups calling for people to come celebrate with them their “right” to murder babies

• You had me up to new world order, paranoid much? How is Jim Corr these days.

• I couldn’t agree more. There is a book out now called “Adam & Eve after the pill”. It looks at the damage done since the introduction of contraception and how all the predictions have come true. Abortion on demand being a result of access to contraception. Anti-life means being for death.

• It’s not the UN. It’s the Fraternity of the Order if the Sion Knights Freemason Templars. They’re plan is to abort all the people so the noble weasel may inherit the earth.

• Oh yes Pierce. The same new world order that wants to make men and women interchangeable, make everyone believe that to be gay is the most amazing thing we can do with our lives and the ability to kill babies in the womb. If it’s fantasy then why did France remove all references to father and mother from official documents during the week. And that by the way slipped through the journal.ie net.

• What has a middle of the road musician got to do with my comment Peirce, we just had a meeting of world leaders at UN HQ, why not check some of their speeches out? Obviously 20-20 doesn’t apply to your foresight or insight

• @ Deasun, well Jim Corr is a favourite on your facebook book page.

• @ bpdeasy, could you send me on the new world order manifesto as it seems like you can attribute anything you like to them.

• bpdeasy 29/09/12 #

Pierce the first line of the manifesto is “wake up and smell the coffee before it’s too late for your children and grandchildren”.

• So bpdeasy, the manifesto is just a series of clichés then, grand good to know

• congratulations deas?in, that’s a whole new special kind of mental. absolutely breath-taking.

• Human rights, childrens rights pretain to human beings who are here now and who deserve the best. A foetus is living off someone elses body. The owner of that body is the one who deserves their human rights to be recognised.

• Tommy C 29/09/12 #

Deasun, ‘I’m all for gender equility, however feminism is one of the most dangerous tools’. who is the double speaker now! Have you told your daughter that shes not equal to your son and that there are things she cant do because shes female? What about your wife? Barefoot by the sink and pregnant while looking after you for most of her reproductive life was she? You are the reason feminism exists! Cave man!

• @ tommyc, firstly, the mother of my daughters sadly died 7 yrs ago, secondly gener equality and feminism are two seperate issues, they have about has much in common as chalk and cheese , I suggest you research your information before throwing falsehoods and inuendo , also it may help you in your search for knowledge to take a look at Margaret Sanger , a vile, racist excuse of a human who championed the extermination of black people, the sterilization of people of low IQ’s, and the right of women to commit infanticide etc.etc.. , she is championed as the mother of feminism to this day, and I’m called a neanderthal for not supporting her feminist agenda. Get a grip buddy

• Gender equality and feminism are exactly the same thing! The feminist movement began due to lack of gender equality.
      However as men cannot get pregnant, abortion is an issue that woman get the say over. You cannot be forced to support my life against your will via your body so a woman cannot and should not be forced to provide life support either. Womens reasons for aborting are vast and complex so please dont patronise them.

• March for Murder.

Looking forward to seeing The Journal promote Youth Defence’s next event, in the interests of fairness that is.

• The article tells about a march next July, or do you just read what you want to see?

• Youth Defence just had a campaign of lies with posters and billboards all over the place.
      They need to change their name to Foetal Defence because they dont care about the young.

• siobeli 29/09/12 #

Youth defence….march for madness!! Didn’t the daughters of that mad bi@&ch bean ui cribban set up youth defence??? Same people who supported the parents of the Roscommon abuse case, even paying for their legal team???
      You are “evil” to have an abortion, but it’s ok to physically, emotionally and sexually abuse your living children.
      Youth defence…biggest bunch of hypocrites in this country.
      Pro choice rally is about a womans right to information to choose…whether that is abortion or not

• siobeli 29/09/12 #

Youth defence….march for madness!! Didn’t the daughters of that mad bean ui cribban set up youth defence??? Same people who supported the parents of the Roscommon abuse case, even paying for their legal team???
      You are “evil” to have an abortion, but it’s ok to physically, emotionally and sexually abuse your living children.
      Youth defence…biggest bunch of hypocrites in this country.
      Pro choice rally is about a womans right to information to choose…whether that is abortion or not

• People celebrating the ability to kill their own babies takes things to a new level. Absolutely no good can come from this. No matter how people try to portray it.

• It didn’t make any sense the first time, don’t know why you repeated yourself.

• This march is NOT about people “killing” babies….it is about giving women a choice over their bodies and their lives…You obviously live in a utopian world where everything is brilliant and life always works put

• Ok, so what about when an ectopic pregnancy ruptures? Would you prefer doctors just stood around watching the woman bleed to death?
      Or what about Placental Abruption’s?
      Or what if its detected that the foetus is anencephalic? Would you prefer that the parents be subjected to such a horrific condition, where they know that their “baby” will not see out the next hour of its life?
      Abortion is already carried out in Ireland, fine we may not call it abortion, we might call it a treatment for ectopic pregnancy, or a treatment for placental abruption, or we might say that as a result of an anencephaly, it would be better if we induced early. We preserve the life of the mother so that in time, when she is ready, she can decide that she wants to become pregnant again.
      Your sweeping statement is an insult to women, it is an insult to fathers, and families. It is an insult to the medical staff of our hospitals, and most of all, it is an insult to society.
      Yes, there are services there to deal with unwanted pregnancies, adoption, foster care, but sometimes they can have such a negative affect on the mother that she becomes a non-productive member of society – is that what you want? “You’ve done your civic duty in giving us your unborn child Mrs, now you can go jump off a bridge”. You think it doesn’t happen? It happens. You stand in the lobby of any maternity hospital on the planet and you’ll see it.
      Who am I, as someone who has never been married, is a gay man, never likely to give birth (thanks biology), to dictate when a 16 year old girl is ready for pure and simple childbirth? Who am I to dictate to a 34 year old mother of 2 that because we are not allowed carry out termination of her pregnancy, instead of her preparing to give birth to an addition to her young family, she has to prepare for her own death?
      Giving birth is one of the most intimidating things you can do, even when the pregnancy was planned. You throw in the emotions that go with unplanned pregnancy, teenage pregnancy, the chance of a still born, the chance of maternal death, and you’re changing the whole dynamic.
      Don’t insult the medics, they know what they are doing, they have the ability to treat and work with a whole plethora of conditions, issues, problems, patients, you name it, just allow them do it.

• Michael, I agree with all your points bar one. Adoption etc is an alternative to parenting not abortion. Abortion is for woman who do not want to be pregnant for whatever reason. Adoption is for woman who want to be pregnant but do not want to or cant for whatever reason be a parent.

• Micheal 29/09/12 #

Tommy C, abortion is not so black and white as to say that the mother just doesn’t want to be pregnant, it’s never that simple. Adoption is one alternative to abortion, as parenting is one of the main reasons for Irish travelling to the UK for abortion, they are too young, too old, not ready to parent, they’re not parenting material, other issues like substance abuse take effect. Yes, adoption is an alternative to parenting, but as a result of that – its also, in turn, an alternative to abortion.

• Tommy C 29/09/12 #

And Im adopted!

• Tommy C 29/09/12 #

Michael, Im directly involved in maternity services.

• The only issue I took with your post was this -’there are services there to deal with unwanted pregnancies, adoption, foster care,’ Unwanted pregnancies dont usually end up in adoption or foster care. Unwanted children do. Unwanted pregnancies usually end in abortion.
      I support abortion on demand by the way.

• Aaron t 29/09/12 #

How about you stop posting anti abortion statements every few comments, and actually provide a decent argument to the people that have called you up on your point of view here.

• Micheal 29/09/12 #

Tommy C, I’m confused as to your differentiation between an unwanted pregnancy and an unwanted child. Do expectant mothers want the pregnancy but not the resulting child? Do expectant mothers believe that their pregnancy will result in anything other than a child?
      Not every expectant mother can afford the plane ticket to the UK, adoptions as a result of unwanted pregnancies exist.

• bpdeasy 29/09/12 #

This is reality. But I guess this comment will probably be removed
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/apr/15/uk-aid-forced-sterilisation-india

Read it!

• No.. If there is a will there is a way.. Disgrace on yiz murdering baby’s that choose ya to be there Mammys settle with the right man if that’s possible considering your trying to be a murderesser..

• Annie 29/09/12 #

Robert as I Said we can all have our opinion about people in the public eye. We know details about them, we know what they support and stand for etc. we form opinions about them based on this. like all verbal abuse people give the government. There is a big difference there between that and some childish brat calling me names in a comments section of a news story. She knows nothing about me. Now if your not capable of seeing the difference it’s not my problem.

• Annie 29/09/12 #

And your name says it all. Lol. By your reasoning intelligent people are not allowed to have fun. Your quite amusing. So waffle on. Tell me to go back to school and get an education? I am in 3rd year of my law degree. You shouldn’t stereotype people. You are funny though, could think of a lot more words for you but as I don’t know you ill leave it at funny. Guess what intelligent people are allowed to enjoy themselves too!

Add New Comment