TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Pro-life group condemns attack on office as ‘grotesque and vile’

Faeces was used to stick photos and news clippings of Savita Halappanavar to the front of the Youth Defence office.

Image: Youth Defence

EXCREMENT WAS SMEARED on the door, locks and shutters of the Youth Defence office in an attack they have described as “grotesque and vile”.

The faeces was used to stick photos and news clippings of Savita Halappanavar to the outside of the building on Capel Street in Dublin.

They say the incident, which happened late on Tuesday night, is now being investigated by the Gardaí.

Clare Molloy of Youth Defence has blamed abortion campaigners for the office attack and said they are ‘truly disgusting’ and they have now reached a new low. “This behaviour is beneath contempt, and I am saddened that such naked aggression and hatred is being displayed by abortion campaigners.”

(Image: Youth Defence)

Niamh Uí Bhriain of Life Institute said: “It’s so enormously disrespectful and insulting to Savita’s memory. How they think this will further their cause is beyond anyone’s understanding.”

However, Sarah Malone of the Abortion Rights Campaign said whoever did this had no affiliation to their group and there are better ways to get involved in the debate.

“Savita died because of the laws in this country and that needs to be highlighted but not in this way,” Malone added.

A garda spokesperson told TheJournal.ie they were investigating criminal damage at the office which happened at around 10.10pm on Tuesday night. They said they are currently going through CCTV footage for more information.

Read: Pro Life opinion poll shows 3 in 4 are against abortion >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (245 Comments)

• So disrespectful to Savita Halalpanavar and her family. Regardless of whether you agree with youth defence or what ever your opinion is on abortion. Using s**t to stick a picture of a dead person on a wall is disgusting.

• Whom ever did this went too far. Did they realise that as well as putting faeces on the front of Youth Defence that they also put faeces on pictures of Savita. Do they think that will impress her husband. Very foolish act by small minded folk, stop abusing the memory of Savita.

• CABK 22/02/13 #

Is anyone else just completely tired of this on both sides now?

Personally I would not have an abortion, but I wouldn’t presume that I know the thoughts, feelings and situations of every other Irish woman/teenager/child enough to say we should have no abortion full stop.

Realistically we already have abortion – Irish women get abortions but they just go elsewhere to do it or take pills from the internet. The supreme court have also ruled that our current law around abortion needs to be changed.

Just legislate and stop this. Let people make their own choices in consultation with their doctors and partners/families and make the decision that is best for them.

• This is a disgusting way of getting a point across and should not have been done by anyone regardless of their views.

• Utterly disgusting. No justification for that at all and whoever did this should be ashamed of themselves!

• That was a pretty sh*tty thing to do

• Photos of pages of the Herald stuck to the Youth Defence offices came up ten days ago here – https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151297995706693&set=a.397142351692.171830.239469766692

Are they now saying it happened again 2 days ago, but with added poo? Sounds odd.

• Pro-choice people, the kind of people who attended a candlelit vigil for Savita, somehow then smeared her pictures with human (?) excrement.

Yes, this sounds totally plausible.

P.

• Not all pro lifers were at the candlelight vigil.

Whether you like it or not the pro life lobby has it’s own share of headbangers just like every other organisation.

• Sorry, should say pro choice not pro life.

Senility is a terrible thing!

• JayK 22/02/13 #

So you claim that the majority of the country is pro-choice, but none of those 2 million+ people would do this? You feel qualified to comment on the character of over two million people?

Your closed-minded hypocricy astounds me.

• CABK 22/02/13 #

But JayK – you believe that you are qualified to comment on the individual situations of any woman in Ireland who has ever wanted or ever had an abortion?

Your close-minded hypocrisy astounds me.

• JayK 22/02/13 #

CABK, point out to me where commented “on the individual situations of any woman in Ireland who has ever wanted or ever had an abortion”?

Or are you just fabricating stuff up, because you’re incapable of forming a valid, independent thought?

That’s what I suspected.

• CABK 22/02/13 #

I don’t really understand why you asked me a question, then in the same comment seemed to decide on what the answer to that question would be and then say that’s what you suspected…… What makes you think you can speak for my character?

Its quite simple to see that you are of the ‘pro life’ side of the debate over abortion given your remarks about how the pro choice side are ‘claiming’ that the majority of people are pro life – ie heavily indicating that you do not agree. ( this is also clear from your other comments on this thread)

If you are pro life then you do not believe in women can make their own decision regarding abortion – you instead feel that a blanket no should be applied to the individual situations of any woman who has had or wanted to have an abortion as I stated.

(in case this still isn’t clear to you, if you believe women should not be able to make their own decisions regarding abortion then you are effectively commenting that regardless of their individual situation you feel qualified to say they cannot have an abortion).

Again, your close minded hypocrisy astounds me.

• JayK 25/02/13 #

I don’t have a position, I’m simply pointing out idiocy when I see it, and these comments are awash with idiocy. Having to respond to my unquestionably comment by defeating an imaginary argument I didn’t make proves to me that you are, in fact, an idiot.

” you do not believe in women can make their own decision regarding abortion – you instead feel that a blanket no should be applied to the individual situations of any woman who has had or wanted to have an abortion as I stated.”

… in a reply to a comment about some petty vandalism. Oh yes, I see now why the Youth Defense smeared feces on their own walls. You’ve made me see the light. Idiot.

• JayK 25/02/13 #

Also, “you’re a hypocrite” – “no YOU’RE A HYPOCRITE” is the argumentative maneuver of a junior infant. Well done.

• As a pro-choice activist I want to to condemn what has happened here – this is the sort of thing extremist anti-abortion types have done in the past and there is no need to sink to that level of debate.

• I have never heard of pro-life activists using excrement on an image of a dead person anywhere.

• Unless you count the fertilizer they used to bomb abortion clinics.

• David Jordan – The Irish Independent had pay-out allot in damages in the High court to someone in Youth defense(after a long drawn-out court battle) for comments ‘just like yours’. I hope you are not trying to sabotage the journal.ie

• No, but anti-choicers do level abortion clinics to the ground with fertilizer bombs. Do you see me painting all anti-choicers with that accusation? No, cos it’s a small minority of extremists who do this sort of things.

• Is any part of of what I’ve said untrue? Pro-lifer have previously bombed abortion clinics with the sole intent to murder as many of the staff and patients as possible.
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anti-abortion_violence
      And I never said those pro-lifers had anything to do with you or Youth Defense but if you want to think I’ve libeled you or Youth Defense then go ahead and sue me, because even the most incompetant barrister in Ireland would have his legal fees payed by you if you did. Though I’d dough you’d be brave enough to do that, you can hind behind a fake profile in a tort case.
      You seen to like to saber rattle about police action or court cases Sparx1, I wonder if you’re familier with the laws about making a false report and obstruction of justice (wasting garda time), Youth Defense look as if they’re about to fall foul of them.

• What about pro-life activists who have being murdered eg. Michigan 2009 or hospitalized with vandalized homes eg. July 2012 by pro-aborts? They don’t matter so let us turn a blindeye to that one.

• Actually Marion that’s very wrong too. Perhaps you’d care to acknowledge that the murders listed above are not representative of all pro-life people and then recognise that the attacks you mention are also not representative of all pro-choice people.

• I also note that the activist you mention was murdered by someone who killed another person that day too (who was not a pro-life activist) and that the motive for the murders is unknown. I have no idea if this person was targeted because of his opinion on abortion but I think it’s quite obvious why clinics providing abortion services are bombed.

• Ah… bit strange here. Last Tuesday night? Then why was it reported on on the 13th of February?

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/02/13/read-all-over/

• I am very much pro choice, and I abhor youth defence, an organisation that is headed by a woman that ostracises career women and believe they shouldn’t have a voice in society as well as wanting contraception outlawed, but this is absolutely disgraceful. Muppets who do this crap do the serious issue no favours. I would ask the people that do this to cop on and stop lowering the pro choice argument to your filthy levels.

• I know we haven’t seen eye to eye in the past Diarmaid but on this I agree with you 100%

• Rubbish all of their spokeswomen over the past 20 years have had degrees and careers and also to look after our children full time is an extremely important task , plus it has never said it want anything outlawed except abortion. You should really argue about abortion instead of trying to demonize people. But then again when we actually look at what exactly happens in an abortion , who would want to argue about ripping a child apart limb from limb, as one abortionist put it.

• Fionnuala you appear to have a very poor understanding of how abortions are actually carried out. Also if YD only call for band on abortion could you please explain Niamh Uí Bhriain’s article opposing same sex civil partnership and same sex parents in the October 2009 issue of Solas, the magazine published by YD? Could you also explain their links to school textbooks promoting abstinence and speaking against contraception?

• Perhaps Fionnuala objects to DNCs being carried out.. That’s the only thing you could remotely call “ripping limb from limb”, and that is standard procedure with normal miscarriages that haven’t completed too.. Perhaps she would rather an incomplete miscarriage be left in the uterus?

• having met the most vociferous charachters on both sides of this debate, I think its reasonable to assume that this is the latest shock tactic from the people who would stick posters of aborted foetuses in old peoples facec quicker than you can say ‘lowlife’.

• I could have done without seeing those photos!

Deeply unpleasant thing to do; but there is no way any pro-choice group was responsible. The culprits may well be, ahem, closer to home.

• Dirty tricks from youth defense to smear the reputation of their opponents. If their opponents were going to attack their offices why would they put faeces on pictures of Savita? It would be completely contrary to what they believe? But if you wanted to smear them, make them look bad, then you would need an attack that would make them look like they didn’t care about Savita, hence the faeces would more fit the logic of someone wanting to smear their opponents than the logic of someone wanting to vandalize the Pro-Life offices, because if they wanted to vandalize the pro-life offices, then graffiti with paint would be the typical option, but that wouldn’t have smeared the pro-choice side enough.

• I agree fully with your point, but the use of the word ‘smear’ conjured up some nasty mental imagery given the context…

• Well these people don’t have much imagination, so they haven’t been very inventive in their smear campaign. They only understand smear in its literal sense. They should stick to what they are best at, robocalls.

• @ Dave Gaughran
      correct Dave.
      all of those ‘pro abortion’ people are so nice & respectful,
      they would never do anything like this.

• Ah I see what they are at. There was an incident on the 13th of February were pages from an article on Savita were taped to the shutters of the pro-life offices. The pages have now reappeared with faeces added to them for effect. I wouldn’t be surprised if they then hand over the cctv footage from the 13th of Feb to the guards.

• Or a very cunning way to make it look like its an inside job. They attack the pro life offices and deliberately stage the attack to make it look very suspicious… as if it was the pro lifers themselves.

• I fully agree Tom, -
      For the many ‘pro choice’ commenters here, suggesting that Youth defence vandalised their own offices,
      – I think it just says more, about their OWN sad mentality than anything else.

• The pro-aborts don’t care about Savita she died from a strain of blood poison that was immune to antibiotics they just twist everything to accommodate their anti-life agenda further, it should be of no shock that human faeces were used in the attack, pro-aborts have no respect for human life so therefore it would be a miracle if they respected other peoples properties.

• You appear to have read a report no-one else has. Where has this antibiotic resistant infection nonsense come from? Anti-life agenda my arse.

• This debate is absurd.

If you disagree with divorce, don’t get one. If you disagree with gay marriage, don’t marry a gay person. If you disagree with abortion, dont have one.

This is supposed to be a republic with complete seperation of Church and State. A democracy is not mob rule, it’s success is measured by how well it respects its minorities and protects everyone’s right to determine the best way to live their own lives. How dare anyone attempt to take away anyone else’s right to decide what is best for them. Religious fascists, if god is good then just worry about your own mortal souls and leave the ‘unborn babies’ for Him (never ‘Her’ you’ll notice) to worry about.

• “How dare anyone attempt to take away anyone else’s right to decide what’s best for them”

Like by killing them?

• Chuck if you want to believe an embryo is a baby more power to you. Having such a blatant disregard for reality must be like being on some great hallucinogenic.

• So, abortion on demand up until labour then? Or do you draw a line at some other point when you yourself “want to believe” life begins?

• I don’t “want to believe” anything. I believe something or I don’t, simple as. My belief is dependant on the evidence available. As for when abortions should have a cut off point, I believe I am not in a position to say. I believe that is a question for a woman and her medical professional. It is none of my business, just as it is none of yours.

What I do believe is that a fertilised ovum is not a baby. I believe this because the Royal College of Obstetrics and Gynaecology came to that conclusion (the report is freely available online). As I am sure you agree, they are more qualified to speak on this matter than you or me.

• So, in other words, no legal restrictions on abortion whatsoever? Google “Sarah Catt”, you’ll find her story inspiring

By the way, I was quoting you

• @ Sam O’linger:
      great logic, Sam,
      & if you disagree with murder, don’t murder anyone ??

• If you don’t want a slave don’t have one, if you don’t want to sexually abuse a minor then don’t do it, if you don’t want to shoot your neighbour don’t, but everybody is entitled to a personal choice? What a doze of bull to defend those who favour choosing ripping a child limb by limb or being injected with a saline solution.

• Again Marion you’re demonstrating very little knowledge of how the vast majority of abortions are performed. Lastly I’ll point out that if your neighbour has no right to live off your body without your consent, why does a foetus have that right?

• Michael the Toole

• Amazing! How about this: if you don’t like the colour red, criminalise it!

• Pretty extreme to smear crap on locks doors etc but i’d say it’s the work of one sicko.I very much doubt if pro-choice had anything to do with it.

• Youth Defence probably did this themselves.

• Oh, you have evidence for that? I’ve seen some very nasty comments on facebook pages and else where about pro-life people that bordered on incitement to hatred so it’s not outside the bounds of possibility that someone would go a step further and perform this vile action.

• That’s revolting, whoever did it. Doesn’t look like something Pro-Choice people would do. YD are well known for their “vile and grotesque” protests. Most shocking is the attack on the memory of Savita, what an insult to her family.

• As revolting as the poisoning/suction/flushing or whatever method you prefer to abort a baby that the pro abortion lobby support?

• Foetus/embryo/zygote. Not baby.

• JayK 22/02/13 #

It is what it is. You can call it a cauliflower if you want. The word you choose doesn’t affect the extant object you’re referring to.

As far as the theory that this was an inside job by Youth Defence, that’s the quenching of the last sliver of sanity in theJournal pro-choice comments. It’s been reduced to the delusional ranting of a paranoid schizophrenic.

Of course, there’s still a strong argument to be made by pro-choice proponents. Just like there’s a strong argument to be made by the pro-lifers. This is despite the brainless proselytic circlejerks on both sides. Youth defence on one side, TheJournal commentators on the other.

• Tell that to a woman who’s just miscarried Conor. It’ll cheer her up no end

• Conor Farrell – You are just a clump of cell yourself ! I wonder do you think you have a right to life ???

• I don’t like abortion as much as you guys, but at least I have the common decency and logic to accept that because the abortion issue is so morally ambiguous, women have the right to choose their own morality, and not have it forced down their necks.

That’s pro-choice, lads.

• Chuck, that’s a strawman argument. I said nothing about women who’ve miscarried, but I have no doubt that miscarrying when you want to have a baby is a horrible and traumatic experience. It doesn’t change the fact that it’s still a foetus or an embryo.

Sparxz1, yes I am a bunch of cells. But I am also a person. A zygote, just like a fingernail clipping, isn’t.

• Hi, Chuck! I used foetus as the word for my early miscarriage, but it seems that you only think the opinions of women as to what’s inside their body counts if they agree with you.

• Hi Nick! It seems you are doing exactly what you accuse me of

And Conor, why don’t you go console some women with that line of thinking so?

• Chuck, what makes you think I don’t?

Oh wait, you’re trying to undermine my argument by making comments about my character. Very well played! You could write a book about fallacies.

• I abhor the actions that have taken place. There are many questions being asked and not answered and as usual the debate has degenerated to the quality of a food fight, charged in emotion and sloppy. This is my own personal opinion and not intended to offend anyone.
    My biggest concern with the article is the immediate jump to conclusion that it is a pro-choice group that committed this act. What I find even more annoying then anything else is the flaunting of this fact on the Youth Defence facebook page to garner likes and publicity of the incident, a typical move. Some of the comments being made are an utter disgrace and as usual, unmoderated.
    As suggested, the person(s) will hopefully be caught using CCTV and punished accordingly.

• I’d say the Youth Defence people did it themselves.

• This stinks.

• I have no qualms in saying that this was absolutely the work of Youth Defence, do they think we’re stupid? Hope CCTV footage of one of their fascistas doing it turns up.

• “naked aggression”
    haha.

I bet they sabotaged their own office to sully the opposition.

• JayK 22/02/13 #

Because no one pro-choice would ever do anything tasteless. Everyone who agrees with me are always clever, considerate and mature.

Where as all those people who disagree with me, they’re mean, heartless disgusting monsters. They’re the only one’s who do bad things. Including convoluted schemes to alter public perceptions on reproductive rights by smearing fecaes on their own walls like an R-rated Scooby Doo villain.

You are literally displaying the intellect of bickering 11 year olds.

• very true Jay K,
      ‘Pro choice’ people consider themselves such models of rationality & enlightment, while everyone else is living in the dark ages!
      Not necessarily the case!
      Iv’e seen some ‘pro choice’ websites, & have been shocked by the sheer toxic hatred of some of the comments.

• I’d be fairly sure this croud set this up themselves for publicity and to detract from pro-choice.

• Detract from pro choice is it? Shur ye guys can’t even admit to call your cause by its proper name…. Pro abortion

• Pro-choice is the accurate term. I don’t consider myself especially pro-marriage, but certainly I think anyone who chooses to get married should be allowed to. Simples.

• Eric I firmly believe it’s time you and that sick church keep away from the lives of women, gays and children.

• Very poor analogy petr, marriage does not result in the direct killing of a life, abortion does. When something is wrong it should be banned, or at the very least restricted, is there anything worse than the deliberate murder of an individual life?

• Keith, just cos I disagree with abortion does not make me religious, that’s one of the key flaws of the pro abortion lobby, they incorrectly assume that only religious zealots care about the killing of an unborn baby.

Many ‘normal’ people think that abortion is a disgrace disgusting action and most people see through the attempts to distract from the actual abortion by talking about choice, foetus and such generic terms.

• Since you’re so worried about loss of life, I’m sure you’re vegetarian too, eric nelligan?

• No opinion on the act one way or the other. However, you reap what you sow.

• I am 100% pro- Choice but this is just vile and unexceptable and puts a awful name on the pro-choice campaign group

• The kind of people who are anti choice are the kind of people who would do this.
    Question 2 of their recent “poll” shows that they are illogical, ignorant and muddle headed.
    Disgraceful behaviour whoever did it.

• I’ll tell you what I find “grotesque and vile”. These “pro-lifers” standing outside the GPO with massive colour posters of aborted fetuses causing kids of all ages to ask their parents what the poster means. Whether a person is “pro-choice” or “pro-life is a different matter altogether. Have your endless argument behind closed doors and stop with these repulsive shock tactics. You find abortion offensive so you make posters of it to freak out innocent children?

To be honest, I would be very surprised if this was done by anyone but the Youth Defence themselves. I don’t see anyone else out there that would shamelessly sink so low.

• Talk about an inside job. A display of “Naked aggression and hatred” say the people who oppose autonomy for women and would happily force a rape victim or cancer patient to carry to term against their will, perhaps jeopardising their life or health (mental and physical) ….. Sure. The people who trust women with a choice are the sick ones filled with hatred… I think not. They also tar everybody with the same brush.. “How they think this will further their cause is beyond anyone” yeah because every single pro choice individual in Ireland would support such behaviour. Way to generalise. I’m sorry anti choice sheep, but sticking newspaper articles to a building is not as bad as standing back and allowing women to die in agony because her dying foetus has a heartbeat. You are the most disgusting people on earth. The lowest of low.

• The choice to abort is pro-abortion, an abortion procedure cures nothing nor saves a woman’s life but to those who favour the choice to abort it is acceptable if women die from so-called safe legal abortion the most recent case just over a week ago in the US Ms. Mckenna Morbelli, Tonya Reaves, Jessie Mae Barlow ……………….12 women per annum die in the states. Lancaster 3801 the abortion mill of horror none of the females who filled out the abortion forms chose what happened there.

• This is why it’s called pro-choice Marion. Anybody who is pro-choice is just as angry at anyone being forced into an abortion as someone who is “pro-life”. And perhaps one could say that making the choice to have an abortion is “pro-abortion” but it is in those circumstances, their circumstances and it was their choice. Pro-choice is pro-adoption, pro-keeping the baby, pro-life, pro-adequate healthcare, pro-child benefit, pro-paternity and maternity leave and pro-termination, whatever the choice she makes is, they are pro-that. Far, far more women die in childbirth than do as a result of abortion. Less than one in 100,000 women die due to complications of an abortion compared to 12 women in 100,000 due to complications of pregnancy in Ireland.

It’s also worth noting that medical abortions are by far the safest option yet Ireland’s ban on abortion means women seeking one must resort to a surgical abortion which is a (very slightly) riskier procedure.

• I have some questions about this act.

First why was it that these poster were hanging there for almost 10 days? As this facebook photo proves the posters were put up on the 13th February https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151297995706693&set=a.397142351692.171830.239469766692
    Did the shit appear last night?
    Didn’t youth defence remove the posters?
    If they did, why is it that the posters are put up again in the exact same place as they were on the the 13th?
    Did this really happen last night?
    Were the feases used to stick these poster on the wall or was it smeared over one poster, as the photo of this article suggests?

I think two tings could have happened. One is that it is a deliberate act of Youth Defence or it was an act of just 1 person, maybe drunk. In both cases I think it was a vile thing to do.

• This is a reprehensible act on the part of whoever is responsible, but I wouldn’t put it past Youth Defence to orchestrate something like this for the sake of publicity. Not for one second.

• Why can’t we have a sensible discussion on the subject of abortion? It seems the camps on both sides are plagued by violent fundamentalists. It is not fair to make a decision as important as the one about abortion in a climate of fear. There is never going to be any winners here, but we must make sure that there are no more losers like Savita.

• Just goes to show what kind of mentality is behind the anti-choice crowd in this country.

• I love the amount of Sherlock Holmes’ here who have solved the crime by reading a paragraph! Both sides are as bad as each other when it comes to paranoia and propaganda, its just sad that the pro-choicers cannot see it for themselves. What if it had been the exact same scenario only vice-versa, would the reaction be the same? Judge objectively! Get off your high horses!

• Youth Defence are like p*igs in sh*te over this.

• I passed by this building last week, on the night of that Evening Herald headline and saw this stuff on the shutters. I wonder why they are saying it only happened on Tuesday? It was well gone by this day last week. Seems anti choice people just can’t help lying.

• Why, I wonder, did they leave those newspaper cuttings up on their building for almost an entire week…? Far be it from me to suggest YD and their ilk might have a bit of a martyr complex going on, but…

• Smacks of a stunt organised by youth defence themselves in order to get their campaign, that is clearly failing, cheap publicity

• The one and only time I will agree with these people

• I am not surprised at the depravity of those who would wish to legalise baby murder.

• I call pot kettle ack in relation to offensive photos…

• Why oh Why did the people who did this have to bring themselves down to the level of Youth Defence.

I never thought for one minuite I would agree with anything that Niamh Uí Bhriain says but she is correct.

• To the complete eejits who think we did this ourselves; we have video footage proving otherwise, which is being used in an investigation at the moment . The usual burly males who give us abuse, typical ‘brave’ pro-aborts.

• If you can prove it, I’m sure they’ll all retract their statements

• Typical aggressive comment from YD extremist.

• Usual “burly males”? Oh please, I’ve been involved in prochoice activism for about a year now (since you started that ad campaign last year, nice work galvanising the prochoice movement btw) and the majority of people I have come to know have been women.

Lets not stereotype people on either side of the fence or you’re likely to be lumped in with the extremely aggressive guy with the loudspeaker outside the GPO.

• Pro-aborts don’t base their arguments on evidence to defend abortion but stoop to accuse people so don’t expect them to depend on evidence in relation to this crime.

• Care to elaborate Marion? What facts? Like the fact that abortion is statistically safer than childbirth? Like the fact that more than 4,000 women travel to the UK from Ireland a year for abortions? Or the fact that in 2011 37 of them were under 16? Or that in 2010 nine of them were impregnated as a result of rape? Or the fact that pregnant women are the only citizens denied the right to bodily integrity?

• Paula 22/02/13 #

The fact that, as a majority, ye pro-choicers are stating that it was most likely Youth Defence trying to achieve more publicity, is showing up a large amount of immaturity in your group. Yes, because a group that smathered their own shutter with faeces and a picture of a woman who died under tragic circumstances would then go so far as reporting it to the Gardai for a criminal investigation. Makes sense.

• This was a horrible, vicious attack on a group that fight to protect the unborn, nothing more! To answer some of the issues raised here; pro-life people are just that, we could call ourselves pro-choice too, the unborn child’s choice to live. There are two sides in this; pro-life and pro-abortion, that is simply fact. It is time for pro-abortionists to own their title and stop hiding behind the facade of ‘pro-choice’. Secondly, the pro-life movement is not made up entirely of rich people, I am both a student and living on a bare minimum, as are my family, I attend pro-life rallies and work to get others to sign the pro-life pledge because I believe an unborn child has a right to life. Thirdly, Savita was not killed by the pro-life laws in this country, she died because steps weren’t taken in a hospital with overworked staff to save her. Fourthly; YD and other pro-life organisations use pictures of aborted children to show the public the truth of what is happening in our world, in our name. If you can’t handle this truth, why are you a pro-abortionist? And finally, there are far more people in Ireland who seem to be pro-life. I have witnessed this at street sessions where the ordinary people on the street are delighted to sign the pro-life pledge. Pro-life have the majority in Ireland!

• Youth Defence / Abort 67 et al use photos of late term miscarriages, which is unrepresentative of the reality of abortion.
      According to the UK government 91% of abortions in the UK & Wales happen before week 13, at which point the embryo is not even 1 inch long and could be mistaken for a clot of blood in the period.

Would you not agree that this is a little dishonest?

No one thinks that abortions are inherently great things, but some of us realise that making them illegal just makes them unsafe – it doesn’t affect how many occur. If a woman doesn’t want to be pregnant she will do anything she can to end it, and sadly this can be fatal to her too.

We would all prefer a world where abortion was something no one ever felt that they had to do, but that is a sort of utopia we may only dream of. In the meantime we need to be realistic and accept that women’s safety is important.

• Shanti you just summed it up perfectly. Pro-choice doesn’t mean pro-abortion, just as anti-choice doesn’t mean pro-life.

• Perhaps this should be put to a final referendum so the headcases on both sides will STFU once and for all.

• They have a video to prove it was not them how Convenient

• The desperate attempts by prochoicers here to salvage any respectability is laughable. if it were the prolife themselves YD would not be giving the Gardai the CCTV footage. Cop on. There is a visable and tangible ugly side to prochoice campaigners. Read the YD facebook page anyday and see the comments. YD also receive threats of death and rape to the women volunteers. They are told they will be burned in their homes.

• The point here is that the YD press release implies that this was done by an organised pro-choice group or lobbying organisation. I very much resent this implication. It was a despicable act and I honestly think that it was so despicable that nobody can think of anyone who would stoop low enough to do this, or anyone who would think that this would accomplish anything. The only follow through people have is that the only gain to be had from this is the damage of the reputation of pro-choice groups by accusations of vandalism and that YD are clearly trying to make those gains AND that given the past behaviours of YD members (which have landed them in court more than once) that it is possible they would stoop this low.

I don’t think that’s the only possibility but imo the likelihood is that it’s either them or a very distressed, very disturbed individual who did this.

• Youth defence did this themselves. They have done this type of thing before to get free publicity.

• Says a lot about the fascist bully boy tactics being employed by the aggressive, blood thirsty pro abortion mob.

• If your talking about “bully boy tactics ” you just need to look at the pro-life campaign in which they show pictures of dead children a dead fetus cover in blood with slogans underneath the image. that is what you call “bully boy tactics”

• Name one pro-choice campaign in Ireland that has engaged in “fascist bully boy tactics”. Just one. Because it was Youth Defence members in court for harassing IFPA staff, not members of Choice Ireland.

• No jack that is simply reality. Just like a box of cigarettes has a photo of cancer-ridden lungs on the front, the “user” must be fully informed as to what they’re letting themselves into. Pro-choice people who are offended by this are hiding from the truth. And you know it.

• Andrew, 91% of abortions are no different to a natural first trimester miscarriage, ie – it’s a heavy period, with nothing particularly identifiable in it (unless you really search for it). The pictures displayed by anti choice protesters are of late term miscarriages which at best would be vaguely similar to 9% or less of all abortions carried out in the UK.

That’s why they are considered misleading.

• Well said Andrew. Very well said. The pro aborts refuse to show what product it is they are selling. Using bully boy tactics, calling themselves opened minded and democratic when they are anything but because they are quite happy to allow the government to change legislation without the people’s say or taking it to a referendum and to force legislation upon a people who don’t want that legislation anyway.

• Stephen, you *actually* have no idea what you’re talking about.

Legislation isn’t being changed, because there is none. There was a referendum; two, in fact.

• @shanti. Oh look Andrew this is how you kill a child it’s very easy and quick like a period. There’s nothing really there unless you search for it, so just don’t look and bury your head in the sand. Shove your fingers into your ears and try to drown your conscience that has just told you you murdered a child.

Life begins from the moment of conception, even the torturer performing the abortion knows that. So please complete the sentence shanti…..it’s ok to kill a child when,……..

• Oh yes there is legislation and that legislation is for the protection of the unborn. In order to kill children, the pro aborts must first change that piece of legislation. Have you never actually read the Irish constitution?

• Stephen — I need a shower after reading that comment.

• Stephen.
      As a woman who has had miscarriages I can assure you, it’s the exact same as having a particularly heavy period.

And my comment referred to the dishonesty of shoving images of late term abortions in people’s faces to insinuate it is representative of the whole. But by all means, keep beating that straw man..

• A straw man, eh? Like all those pregnant 12 year old rape victims that keep being mentioned?

• Elana 22/02/13 #

No not always.

• Stephen, the Constitution is not legislation. Jeez! Again, you haven’t a clue what you’re talking about!

• 1. Legislation and the constitution are two different things.
      2. Irish abortion legislation dates back to the 1800’s. it’s hardly current.

• Yout Defence have no right to speak about Savita or her memory, How can they worry bout what’s on their shutters when they have so much blood on their hands.

• It was an act of thuggery against pure thugs.

• Holy shit!

• This is the hostility that the pro abortion majority shows towards the pro life cause. This is terrible and at the same time these peoples actions are a credit to the pro life cause. This is the face of evil right there.

It is also evidence of a pro abortion campaign that is losing a battle it had already lost a long time ago and spitting the last bit of bile that they can and showing their true colours.

People are saying this fighting must end. There is no fighting from the pro life cause, only defence of the youth. This is persecution by the pro aborts not a battle or fight between the two.

• There is so much wrong in what you’re saying I don’t even know where to start.

• I don’t know a single person who is pro-abortion. I know plenty who think women should be allowed to choose for themselves whether or not they want to go through with a pregnancy though. Pro-choice. Your bleats of persecution are so far off the mark and really just complete drama queen tactics.

• You’re quite right to assert that the pro-choice side are hostile to the ‘pro-life’ cause; a level of hostility is natural in such an emotionally-charged debate. You are wrong, however, to casually associate all pro-choice people with this sick act. I can assure you most would condemn it and this thread is some proof of that.

• Stephen you are rather good at this trolling. You do more damage to the sides you preach for. Perhaps that’s your intention ;)

• YD and the likes are not pro-life. How many more tragic cases of women dying unnecessarily do we have to have before you people drop that tag? You are anti-choice, simple. You would be more comfortable in a right-wing, fascist, dictatorship. Ireland isn’t run by the Roman Catholic Church anymore. Thankfully.

• Oh you mean evil as in the murders of pro-choice activists and doctors, and the use of fertiliser bombs to flatten abortion clinics?

• The most endearing thing about Stephen is that he is not a troll. Makes me so very happy he’s on the team supporting the right not to choose, the right to vilify homosexuals and of course the right to chain your partner to the kitchen sink.

So very very happy to see you Stephen. You represent one of a varied selection of garden variety religious nut jobs. I love you and your friends, I love especially your narrow christian worldview, that special brand of selective hate for others that masquerades as Gods love as expressed by a true christian.

• We all know about Stephen and his rational opinions and voice of reason. http://www.countmeout.ie/responses/mp3/CMO_DundalkFM_290709.mp3

• the link posted above,
      - is an incitement to hatred – & bullying of Stephen, for his Christian/catholic faith, & for his pro life views.
      Tony, – I wonder do you realise what you are doing is classic Cyber Bullying?

• Ah Zoe my wannabe JesuitNemesis we meet again ! It’s his interview and his words how is that me inciting hatred , surely I’m doing the opposite by promoting him. Looks more like your trying to bully me . Now begone back to the shadows Beelzebub awaits !

• Zoe- you clearly don’t know what you are doing to me is classic cyber bullying.

• If nobody was pro-abort then there would be no abortionists nor pro-aborts campaigning for abortion. Forcing rape victims such as victim C to abort without her consent let alone knowledge.

• Marion, abortion will exist as long as women decide to have them and has existed since women decided they needed them. Legal bans on abortion do not stop abortion. They just result in women compromising their health.

And FYI nobody who is pro-choice thinks that what happened to MIss C was acceptable. It wasn’t. Pro-choice is pro-informed choice, pro-consent, pro-making sure it’s the right option for you. What happened to Miss C was wrong.

• I’d rather see the pro-choice lobby not lower themselves to this ‘youth defense’s’ organizations level with acts such as this.

• Well that escalated cackily….

• The youth defence are vile themselves but this was just horrible .

• May God smite them.

• Forgive me if I have got this wrong, but to smite is to kill right?
      Are you calling for god to smite the people who did this? Because that would be a tad over the top wouldn’t it?
      I totally disagree with these actions – as I have said above, but I wouldn’t call for their deaths over it.. It seems especially strange coming from someone who identifies as “pro life“..

• Sorry, I failed to spot the sarcasm, my apologies – I always miss that in text, troll away sir, Kudos..

• Must be one of these God-fearing types.. me, I love God. and how dare you to suppose who God will judge? I believe God to be an enlightened, beautiful energy of compassion and love and intrigue, and ultimately, humanity. Humanity means to be humane. Was what happened that beautiful, talented young woman humane? My God tells me no.

• Oh dear! Someone has issues to deal with. Adolescent fantasies much??

Add New Comment