TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Two arrested over attacks on PSNI officers in Ardoyne

The men have been arrested by police investigating the attempted murder of officers during the Twelfth Night incidents.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Updated, 20:05

PSNI OFFICIALS investigating what they describe as the ‘attempted murder’ of police officers in the Ardoyne area during last week’s Twelfth of July disturbances have today arrested two men.

The men, who were arrested separately, are aged 45 and 28. Both were arrested in the North Belfast area this afternoon.

Each is being held for questioning at the Antrim Serious Crime Suite.

Nine PSNI officers were injured in the Twelfth Night disturbances, the majority of them in the traditionally nationalist Ardoyne area where rioters threw petrol bombs and other missiles at police lines.

Riot officers responded with plastic bullets and water cannons.

Previously: Four men charged over 12 July violence in Belfast

Read next:

Comments (20 Comments)

• It’s horrible they should be banned they even burned the polish flag wtf? Can’t understand the hate!

• It’s because Polish people are mainly Catholic.

My grandparents relatives were burned out of their homes in Belfast in the 1960s because they were Italians, and therefore Catholics

Just blatant sectarianism. The sad thing is these bonfires which burns effigies and nationalists and Catholic symbols get “arts” grants!

• Wow, Reginald’s Tower.. That’s a very insightful post and its clear to asses that you’ve analysed the situation and you’ve got a firm grasp of the issues. As for Kathleen, it’s worth pointing out that the marching season is not about one day, it’s a period starting at Easter and ending in September, so completely avoiding it is hardly practical. As for the usual tripe about how they’re all the same up there etc. will somebody point out to me when a republican commemoration erected placards proclaiming “kill all prods” . I don’t recall that. Nor do I recall a bonfire where republicans went to the bother of writing out the names of 14 innocent murder victims, and giving them pride of place on the bonfire. While I’m at it, I seem to have developed some amnesia in relation to republican bands singing sectarian songs outside protestant churches, while marching around in circles, and beating the lard out of people who had the nerve to record this great cultural activity! Don’t think for one moment that “they’re all the same”. The orange order is just a little bit special!

• So the provocation results in petrol bombs and other devices being tossed at real live policemen trying to protect both a community and the rule of law. Then as if that isn’t enough the singers decide to use firearms to shoot them with intent to kill. AND YOU SICK GUYS CALL THIS A PEACE PROCESS AND YOU WANT TO GOVERN THE REPUBLIC AS WELL!

• How are they going to ignore parades going through the streets? They’re not exactly inconspicuous! They should be banned.

• They should ban Orange Order parades in the North altogether because they cause violence.

• or the RA heads could just ignore the parades & there wouldn’t be trouble then. Both sides are as bad as each other. They all need to cop on to themselves. Bitter bigots in orange & bitter bigots in green. Same same.

• The Catholics should be cute and take a holiday while the matching goes on! With no one to watch what would Orange get out of it!!!!!

• They should just ban the whole bloody place….and the like minded fool s that rejoice in causing misery for both sides in this silly game

• It wasn’t Orange men or supporters shooting at police, destroying cars etc. The trouble was after the GARC march which had over 2000 people, some of whom were bussed in for it, and couldn’t be controlled a point which seems lost on most. If you don’t agree with the marches by all means have a peaceful protest. There are hundreds of Orange marches during 12 july that are peaceful.

• I always invite people to attend orange marches and parades and tell them to ask plenty of questions. They often don’t go back after experience bigotry first hand.

• Fagan's 17/07/12 #

My 14 yr old niece was called a “F**king dirty Taig” while she sat in her front garden with friends. 2 grown men, in their 30′s, suited and sashs on. The Orange Order is riven with pure hatred.

• I have a friend who’s parents live on one of the routes. The also had a shop on the same road. They just shut up shop and came south for the week. Never bothered them. All the shouting and riots were done by the time the got home. Unfortunately a lot of people from both sides see all this trouble as a bit of excitement so it’s hard to see how it will stop

• Yeah, some things never change, despite the media shite to the contrary! Won’t be up there in a hurry despite all the jolly jolly stuff from the N.I, tourist board! Pass.

• Same old story different decade… from a bored resident of NI.

F@ck traditions can we not look forward for a change instead of backwards… so frustrating this part of the country!!

Emigration doesn’t sound such a bad option after all…

Option1) Australia (sun, beaches, bbq, jobs etc)
    Option 2) Canada ( a tad colder but i can deal with that:)
    Option 3)… or grey, wet, bigoted, sectarian, divided, no jobs, no money, no life, no future… Northern Ireland!

• Why not send the Garda up there on the 12 July to help out instead of sending them to Mauritius. They could do some good up north with the catholic side.

• Fagan's 17/07/12 #

They should be up there as observers at this time of year for the last 40 years. Would have helped shine a light on the brutality and intimidation that goes with the Marches.

Add New Comment