TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Four men charged over 12 July violence in Belfast

At least 10 shots were fired at police in Ardoyne last night.

Police line up against protesters in Ardoyne
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

FOUR MEN AGED between 18 and 41 have been charged with public order offences after the violent clashes in the Ardoyne area of Belfast last night.

The four, aged 18, 22, 24 and 41, are due to appear before Belfast Magistrates Court tomorrow.

At least 10 bullets were fired at police lines at Brompton Park, close to Ardoyne Road, the PSNI said today. More than ten PSNI officers were injured in the disturbances which broke out after Orange Order parades commemorating 12 July passed through nationalist areas.

Police used a water cannon and plastic bullets to dispel rioters, who threw petrol bombs at police lines and set fire to a car.

“I am angry that we have these three days of annual madness where it seems that everybody thinks the peacekeepers are a legitimate target,” said Assistant Chief Constable in the PSNI Will Kerr.

“We will be making a significant number of arrests, as we did last year, over the course of the new weeks and months to make sure that people are placed before the courts and answer for their decisions”.

The trouble flared yesterday when a small number of Orange Order members marched through the Ardoyne escorted by police, before a counter-parade by residents of the Ardoyne area was also held. Violence broke out as the two groups faced-off across police lines.

12th of July Celebrations

(Photo: Niall Carson/PA Wire)

- Additional reporting by AFP

PHOTOS: Nine police officers injured in Belfast riots >

PHOTOS: Violence flares after 12 July parade in Belfast >

Read next:

Comments (27 Comments)

• Its the same old shit every year

• Is there something I’m missing? Why are these fools allowed to march when every year it sparks trouble and ends up in violence!?

• Who’s the “peace keepers” he talking about? Surely it’s not the RUC.
    I’ve just watched a clip on Facebook of marchers deliberately stopping outside a catholic church and playing some songs. The person who was filming this act of bigotry and triumphalism was then approached by some marchers and told to stop filming. When he refused, he was assaulted by some of the marchers. This all happened while an RUC man sat a few feet away on his motorbike watching on.
    “peacekeepers” or providing a guard of honour ?

• The only reason the Orange Order marched down Ardoyne is because they wanted to taunt the Nationalists who live there. There was always going to be trouble.

• The marches are deliberately provocative and meant to keep inciting violence. Is incitement to riot not unlawful in the UK? What about the EU? Is the harassment of minority groups not covered by human rights treaty ?

• It’s an interesting point Seamus! I know for a fact if I set up a group in Ireland of any type that banned say Muslims from joining I’d probably find myself in big trouble very fast! Someone needs to grow a pair up North and ban that “organisation” from marching through contentious areas! I would suggest that ignoring them completely and they might lose interest but they’re bound to just push the limits further and further every year to get the reaction that their marches intend!

• If the law applies to one, then the law applies to all. This is the foundation of a just legal system and a civilised society. If it is illegal to discriminate or harass those in Islam, Hindu, Buddhist or other faiths, if it is illegal to harass Catholics as well. Similarly, if it is illegal to threaten, abuse and persecute people for their peaceful political beliefs, then the OO is over the line and has been for some time. There is no justifiable reason for conducting these marches where they are unwelcome. There are plenty of places where they ARE welcome.
      Last time I checked, if swastika bearing fascists marched through Jewish neighbourhoods in Germany, they’d be filling up jail cells and court calendars.

• Even in a week (or so ) when an ex IRA peace maker shakes hands with their demi-god they still have no idea what compromise or sharing is about, what a shower of bigoted idiots, It just has to be clamped down on, they should be a proscribed organisation for their fascist and hatred inciting behaviour.
    No chance of our government doing anything about it though, I suspect they actually admire them….

• Serious efforts should be made to de-sectarianize the Orange celebrations. On the 12th their should be a nonsectarian Orange festival on the main streets celebrating Ireland the island, Northern Ireland, the futility of armed conflict, the peace process and how far we’ve come.
    That is something which almost everyone could participate. After-all, the vast majority of St Patrick’s Day celebrations around the world have taken on entirely different festivities – it’s not all a big Catholicfest celebrating some old bloke from aeons ago – those who couldn’t care less about that crap (like me) still drink and celebrate the island of Ireland. The same could be done on the 12th.

• Nice idea, but the Orange Order by their very nature are sectarian. They don’t allow non-Protestants to join and nor are non-Protestants encouraged to watch. This is an organisation that venerates Oliver Cromwell on many of their banners, accompanied by flute bands that to a man support or are members of the loyalist paramilitaries.

Life in the North will never move on as long as the Orange Order exists.

• Fagan's 13/07/12 #

If you take the sectarianism, the triumphailism, the hatred of all things Irish, out of it what are you left with? The 12th will turn in to a normal celebration in time, a lot lot smaller, when the above is gone, but the Orange Order and friends will be down to very few members then. As is, it seems that their membership has fallen drastically over the last decade.

As for the 12th being about drinking like Paddy.s day, it is, not that that is a credit to either side. There is a lot to be said about the small town local parade that is has a real element of local and national pride, self-respect.

Wathcing giant paper mache puppets in Dublin, while drunk teens run amok, is missing out on what the parade should and could be bout.

• I’m just saying there should be alternative orange festivals on the day to detract from the sectarian shite. Something positive and cultural for people living in the here and now, not in 1690. Some sort of celebration that would eventually replace the protestant/unionist triumphalist repressive nonsense.

• Fagan's 13/07/12 #

Your not allowed to marry a catholic, enter a catholic church or be Godfather to a catholic child. All are enough to have u expelled or forbidden from joining. In a normal world, the Orange Order would be a proscribed org. that would be viewed the same as a Neo Nazi gangs.

The Grand Master of the Order described Tony Blair as a traitor, a turn coat, sold out his faith and people, all for having gone to mass with his wife. I’m no fan of Tony Blair or the RCC but crieky, its a bit extreme for just tagging along with herself.

The Order still live in the pre 1972 era when their power was absolute and catholics widely did not have the vote. Where discrimination was widespread, and the Northern Prime Minister would boast that there was no catholic in Govt. building that was higher than a cleaner. That is the world they want to go back to, the vast vast majority of people do not want that, time for the Orange Order to fall in to line and let its fascist state dream fade in to historical memory.

• Fagan's 13/07/12 #

Agreed with that. Once the OO is so small that it has no power then the hate will start to Fade.

• Eamonn the report I read had a SF activist saying how the PSNI man came to his aid and started using his baton on the bandsmen. However don’t let facts impinge on your bigoted opinions

• The reports that shots were fired is very disturbing. Nothing is worth the loss of even one life. I hope those responsible are brought to justice.

• Elrat 13/07/12 #

They should be left march in Dublin then batter the fcukers back I’ve the border !

• Those who were arrested do not represent the majority of of the people on this island who want peace NOT war. They weren’t even born during the troubles. They are mindless thugs.

Add New Comment