TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Public Sector Allowances: The ones they *might* change

These allowances still stand but might be modified for future appointees: Secretaries to ministers and taoisigh; giving advice on keeping people safe on winter roads; taxi allowances and more…

Franking allowance is under threat
Image: David Jones/PA Wire

THE DEPARTMENT OF Public Expenditure and Reform today announced its review of the various allowances currently claimed by members of the public service.

The review breaks down its recommendations on the necessity of these allowances into three sections: Those they recommend be kept and given to new workers, those they recommend be modified in some way for future employees – and those that they think should no longer be given to new employees.

Almost 1,000 allowances are in place, according to figures from the department. Minister Brendan Howlin said today that his department will not realise the savings of €75m it had hoped to make by reforming the allowance system.

The following are just some the public service allowances which the department would like to see modified in future (for new appointees):

Taoiseach’s department:

• The following allowances are being looked at for review – and allowance to the private secretary to the Taoiseach (currently €24,427); private secretary to ministers (€20,685); private secretary to head of Department (€10,951). Those allowances are for “additional attendance outside hours, additional expenses and the particular nature and demands of the position”.

No overtime is paid to those secretaries.

Cross-sectoral (including civil service):

• As well as franking, there are driving, paperkeeper, machine duties, switchboard, clothing, uniform, travel time and supervisory cleaners’ allowances all under review

Education:

• Allowances for those seconded to implement national initiatives
  • Allowance payable to teachers for supervision and substitution duties
  • Allowance paid to non-professional Head of School, department or discipline at universities

Defence:

• Daily subsistence to personnel participating on a residential course outside the State
  • Annual diving allowance to personnel qualified in diving
  • Reserve Defence allowance
  • The instructors’ allowance paid to non-commissioned officers filling appointments in military college and training centres.
  • The allowance paid for holders of certain appointments at the Reserve Defence Forces
  • The allowance paid to special instructors
  • Allowance paid to those on call at Portlaoise Hospital

State Industrials:

• Travel time allowance
  • Taxi allowance

Garda:

• Allowance to sergeants who are appointed as court presenters (they are permanently attached to the courts offices and are not in a position to earn rostered unsocial hours’ allowances)
  • The allowance paid to those performing non-public duties e.g. inside sports stadiums. It is usually paid out of the fee invoiced to the organisation involved e.g. the GAA
  • The Reward Allowance presented  by the Minister for Justice and Minister for Finance

Local government:

• Acting (substitution)
  • Ice cast (RSA’s Road Weather Information System to assist local authorities in the management and delivery of each local authority’s winter maintenance activities)

HSE:

• Clinical directors’ allowance
  • Location allowance and specialist qualification allowance
  • GP trainee allowance
  • Acting Up allowance (this means carrying out duties beyond your pay grade)

Irish Prisons Service:

• Governor allowances
  • Duty allowances for deputy governors and chief officers
  • Instructor, school, gate, reception, environment, search, dog-handling allowances
  • On-call allowances

Justice:

• Callout allowance for provincial district courts and flexibility/on-call allowances for district courts and forensic scientists

Agriculture, Food and Marine:

• Meat inspection and beef carcass classification
  • Vet in charge allowance and vet inspector on-call allowance
  • Rendering plant allowance

Social Protection dept:

• Benefit-in-kind mileage and some on-call allowances

Road Safety Authority:

• Training officer allowance

Chester Beatty Library:

• Allowance for audio-visual duties and dealing with post

National Library:

• Early and late hours allowance
  • Science and arts attendant allowance

Ordinance Survey Ireland:

• Driving allowance

Inland fisheries:

• Unsocial working hours allowance for all sorts of inspectors, advisors and officers

Shannon Development:

• For working unsocial hours

Enterprise Ireland:

• Overseas at weekend allowance

National Transport Authority:

• Irregular hours allowance for taxi compliance officers

National Museum of Ireland:

• Camera, security, yard, telephonist and “In charge” allowances

See the full document showing the case being made for 800 or so public sector allowances>

Read: The public sector allowances they want to keep>

Read: The public sector allowances they want to abolish>

Read next:

Comments (53 Comments)

• Whatever about other cuts i would like to get rid of some of the 166 TDs and 900 CCs we have

• Can I just point out that the majority of public sector workers get absolutely NO allowances which are usually the lowest paid.

• Aarum 18/09/12 #

Who will put teaching or medicine on their cao forms in the future? People planning to move abroad when they qualify that’s who and people may aswell protect themselves and their property as there will be feck all guards around on the street

• Some of these allowances seem ok to me. Not all .

• I thought Ff destroyed our country but it was the Unions and FF that did it.

• Be it on their heads if they cut supervision pay in schools . Imagine lunch breaks. No teachers around !!! Dose not bear thinking about .

• @ Little Sparrow: It is part of the teacher’s job description in the UK according to a previous poster here. Why not the same in Ireland? I remember the strike about 10 years ago when teachers demanded an increase for that particular role. I thought it was wrong then and I still think it is wrong today.

• Well to enlighten you and since I taught in the UK, teachers who do lunch duty get free dinners in the canteen consisting of either lasagne or fish and chips, veg, a drink, cake for dessert and sometimes ice cream.

• Ryan, it is incorrect to say teachers went on strike looking for pay for supervision ten years ago.we withdrew our voluntary supervision to demonstrate how much work we did over and above our contracted work. the then minister decided to grant pay for it to those who opted to do it.that s still the position.

• Ryan, it is incorrect to say teachers went on strike looking for pay for supervision ten years ago.we withdrew our voluntary supervision to demonstrate how much work we did over and above our contracted work. the then minister decided to grant pay for it to those who opted to do it.that s still the position.;

• Ryan Allen guess what ?we don’t live in the uk if you want to starts making comparisons you could be here all night . Free doctors , free dentists free prescriptions etc

• You the unions and FG.

• FG HAVE LEGAL ADVICE AT THEIR FINGERTIPS ,YET THEY CAME OUT TO SUPPORT THE BIG SPENDERS IN CLARE
      CO. CO WHO WRONGLY THREATENED WITHHOLDING STUDENT GRANTS . DISGRACE,,,, .KEEP ON FRANKING THE NON EXISTENT WORK PRACTICE ALLOWANCE. GOD HELP US ALL

• Hi Elizabeth,
      I don’t know if you have your caps lock on by accident but if you have, would you mind knocking it off please? It’s just that when you comment IN ALL CAPITAL LETTERS it looks a little like you are shouting at everyone.
      Thanks very much,
      Susan, Editor

• Probably , but to be honest Enda as soon as you try have a reasonable discussion on the public /private sector here it ends up predictably enough with each side in the blame game and if you highlight something like the fact our small little broke island is paying so much money for lousy chaotic services like the health system , or at consultants get paid way more here than other euro countries , r that we still have really inefficient systems that should be reformed there’s usually a list of personal insults and waffling that the private sector caused all the problems so tough shit yada yada ….turkeys won’t vote for Christmas so meaningful reforms are going I be painfully slow as we saw again this week , we are not cutting the top consultants pay , we are not addressing allowances …it just goes on and on unfortunately.

• peter 18/09/12 #

Last time i checked diesel wasnt something you get for free when you join the public service. I also pay tolls and Dont get any extra annual leave, I just get more than you and yes I get paid sick days once i Dont abuse the privilege. I suppose you should just be happy to have a job

• government are incompetant and clueless. the cuts should be for every public servant (not just new employees)

it is discriminatory to prioritise those already in public service over future recruits

• peter 18/09/12 #

Also the reason the country is in the shit its in is because of reckless lending by the banks mostly to big private sector companies. The mess was in no way caused by the public service , all we done was look for a piece of the pie everyone in the private sector was eating.

• Not once in 23 years of working have I received any allowances or bonus’. You are still not grasping what I’m saying or maybe its because of your utter contempt for public service workers you probably never will. We will just have to agree to disagree.as private v public will always deft d their positions

• mike 18/09/12 #

At a glance most seem ok to me. It all comes down to how much they are. eg is mileage 50 cents per km or 2 euro per km.

• peter 18/09/12 #

Because we all went straight into the public service from school. Id like to see you do my job for a week and see how long you last.

• The truth of the matter is that a person should be hired and paid a flat salary based upon skills and experience. Any additional benefits should be given in a form of a bonus. A bonus should reflect many variables: Number of sick days taken + Hours worked + Personal Business Development related to job + Completion of projects + Coaching others + Internal\External Customer Service + Financial Savings to Business Unit + etc. Once this is satisfied then a bonus would be given to the individual. A manager would review and coach the individual worker’s progress quarterly to insure that the worker is on the correct path to get the path. If a person doesn’t follow through on Personal Development Plan, then the worker would get a percentage of the bonus relative to his co-workers. In turn, the manager would be monitored and coached on similar variables to get their bonus. As the we look up the ladder, each person would have particular goals that needed to be met to receive a bonus.

In essence, each individual would have control of their bonus and payment. All roles would reflect a performance based model. But then again, from where I sit… No one in the public sector want change to benefit this country. And our politicians are hap-hazzardly forcing change in all the wrong ways.

The fact is…. The way our public sector, politicians and government does business needs to be restructured. Because currently “IT AIN’T WORKING”!

• @ Neil, I dont claim to be a martyr I stayed in my job because I like it, your missing my point, I resent being told how lucky I am to have a job by ex-private sector workers who are now unfortunately unemployed and are blaming us for it.

• I don’t blame Public sector workers for causing the mess. The banks caused it.

What public sector workers are guilty of is delaying the recovery by striking against and rejecting every measure taken to reduce public expenditure via their bloated Unions. The country simply does not have the cash flow to sustain the level of benefits, allowances and pay-rises the public sector feels they are entitled to.

Don’t act so surprised when your sitting in your job-for-life and the little sympathy people do have for the public sector workers on the front line is eroded away by this attitude that would see the whole ship sink rather than a few pieces of dead weight thrown overboard. I had my work-load doubled and my pay cut by 10% in 2009 overnight. I have never received a bonus from my employer. Public sector workers refer to these phantom bonuses and perks as justification to hold onto their allowances and perks but the truth is this widespread bonus culture that you think exists across the board simply doesn’t.

When the Croke Park agreement reaches its conclusion you all better be ready for the inevitable sh*tstorm that follows because by then the public finances will truly be at breaking point and you will find no sympathisers outside of yourselves after 4 years and counting of resistance to all measures to reign in the public spending. We’ll see what cuts you will be willing to take then when the only other option is your P45 – you’ll have the luxury of knowing what it’s like in the private sector then.

• iBob101 18/09/12 #

Are these allowances all subject to tax?

• “Allowance to sergeants who are appointed as court presenters (they are permanently attached to the courts offices and are not in a position to earn rostered unsocial hours? allowances)”

So they’re being compensated for not having the opportunity to be inconvenienced with unsociable hours?
    Only the public sector could come up with this logic

• I think there are more public sector than private sector workers reading The Journal!

• peter 18/09/12 #

So when a private sector employee signs a legally binding contract they Dont have a right to that contract being honoured. I signed a 30 year contract which will end on the 9/8/32. When i will be 53 It should be honoured

• No in the private sector they are told their terms are changing and pay is being cut, and if they don’t like it their shown the door. Honour doesn’t come into it, if the company cannot afford to pay them these changes must be made. Should be the same in public sector

• Terms changed and pay cut = civil service in last 4 successive budgets. Or have you been hiding under a rock Ciaran?

It must be coming up to budget time when the government launch their now yearly attempt to turn private sector against public sector.

Sure every one in the public sector should feel so lucky to have a job that they should work 24/7 for no pay. Or at least that’s what the government have tried to convince all non-public sector workers over the last number of years.

I am a teacher and don’t see why at this time of year every year I am supposed to feel guilty that I have a job. A job that I am reasonably paid to do. A job that I will not become wealthy on the back of. And to those who think teachers are over-paid and underworked – feel free to get a decent leaving cert, go to college for 4 years and then act as educator, psudo-social worker, psusdo-psychologist

• …. pseudo-social worker, pseudo-psychologist to 28 pupils every day whilst ensuring they are kept safe and enjoy school. Best of luck, but it ain’t no gravy train.

*hit submit too early with previous comment when checking if i spelt pseudo properly, which I didn’t – another reason to sack those pesky teachers, they can’t even spell pseudo, (although they have enough sense to check the spelling!).

• Sorry James, forgot to bring up the small matter of massive job losses in the private sector which the public sector are immune to. Also the golden defined benefit pensions that you will receive at the end. Do you know I will have to pay upwards of a million euros into a pension scheme in order to receive the same return as the average public sector employee. This is what you were complaining about having to contribute to. So anyone in receipt of a defined benefit of 50000 pa pension is effectively a millionaire.

• Btw all those things are what being a good teacher is supposed to be about, are you looking for a social worker allowance and psychology allowance as well?

• Who put the gun to your head and forced you to become a teacher James? Or did you just not research the job enough? Or perhaps you’re a martyr taking such a crappy job for 183 days a year for your reasonable 365 days of pay.

Nothing worse than people crying over jobs they freely and willingly trained and applied for and then expecting extra credit above and beyond a solid salary, excellent holidays and world-beating pension.

It ain’t exactly a picnic over this side in the private sector either – I can assure you of that. Swap jobs any time you like lad, just say the word.

• Who put the gun to your head and forced you to become a private sector worker?

• No one did. But I’m not on here crying about hard my job is and expecting a pat on the back for doing it. I don’t need a hug for doing the job I’m paid to do – I get paid to do it and I do it.

Glad to have a job at all having survived a cull in work a couple of years ago. I’m happy for James and his colleagues that they will never know that kind of fear coming up to the end of a month having seen colleagues handed their marching orders the previous month.

I find it bizzare this awkward sense of entitlement many public service workers seem to have that’s bred into them by the Unions who enforce the kind of ridiculous allowances outlined in this review. They can’t seem to just do their job and take their salary. They always want to let everyone know how misunderstood the difficulty of their job is, how hard they really work and how it’s such a travesty that they have to make a contribution to their lucrative pensions. Like I said above – cry me a river.

• It’s these type of allowances and the lethargic lazy attitude of majority( not all ) public sector workers that is the reason the state is in the shit it’s in! I would love for some of them to go work in the normal world I.e private sector for a week they wouldn’t know what hit them!

• Dumbest thing I’ve ever read. “the lethargic lazy attitude of the majority (not all) public sector workers is the reason the state is in the shit it’s in”. Nothing to do with bankers, Fianna Fail, over inflated prices from builders, carpenters and developers, stupid people paying 350,000 for a two bedroom box house in a crappy area in a crappy housing estate and most of all, the government in charge not saving some money for a recession to equalise the an inflated economy. Chris, if you’re on the dole, give up your allowance which consists of heating, rent, the €186 a week paid to 450,000 people (that’s near €84,000,000 a week).

Some allowances can go no doubt and other can be tightened up.

• Dead right

• Pretty sure I work 50 hours a week get paid for 40 pay for diesel pay for tolls don’t get lunch allowance don’t get paid sick days which are effectively holidays don’t get extra annual leave days so keep your assumptions to yourself. I’d say you are happy they haven’t touched your paid sick days though so relax

• peter 18/09/12 #

You still haven’t addressed your dumb ass comment that the public service caused this mess.

• So your assumptions are ok to throw around then? Cop yourself on lad!

• Chris, over what period of time did you meet with the majority or all of our public servants? What criteria did you use to assess all of those employees you judged? Do you have files on each individual employee? Have your findings been published? Did you carry out this work on your own or were you part of a team?

• To be fair to Chris these allowances are symptomatic of a monetary black hole.

• Chris, if you work 50 hours a week and get paid for 40, then the problem is your employer, not the public service. Oh, and most public sector workers I know have also worked in the private sector. Some are even leaving the public sector to go back to the private sector as a result of the 15% pay cut, so you really need to think about what you’re posting.

• No Chris, the reason we are in the state we are today is due to bankers and developers.
      Nothing to do with nurses and teachers etc.

• I wonder did the civil servants get an allowance for giving each other top marks in the performance self-monitoring they did in 2010??

• Look what is happening ,it Is becoming private sector vs public sector . At the end of the day we are all paying more tax USC charges prsi and getting less for our money . we should all be marching under the same banner against the government and not each other

Add New Comment