TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Public sector pay cuts not ruled out, increments on the table – Taoiseach

In a wide-ranging interview with RTÉ, the Taoiseach also said that he was “not in the business of providing abortion on demand” and said the Anglo promissory note would be restructured.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny speaking to RTÉ today
Image: Screengrab via RTÉ

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has said that the possibility of cuts to public sector pay cannot be ruled out if negotiations on a successor to the Croke Park Agreement with trade unions fail.

He also said that the issue of increments paid to some public sector workers are on the table as negotiations, which got under way this week, continue in the coming days.

Kenny said that the government had committed to making €1 billion in savings in the public sector by 2015 and said that pay accounted for a third of that figure.

“We want to achieve those savings by agreement and consent where that’s possible and I hope that can be achieved,” Kenny told RTÉ’s The Week in Politics.

But he said that the government “reserved the right to legislate for reductions in pay where agreement can’t be reached” and said that the €200 million in increments were on the table.

He also did not rule out a process of benchmarking in the future but “not in the way it was done before”.

Kenny said that he hoped that current “intensive negotiations” between trade union leaders and the Public Expenditure and Reform Minister Brendan Howlin would see an agreement reached.

Promissory note

Two years after the collapse of the last government, Kenny defended his own administration’s record so far and pointed out that in the three years prior to this government taking office 250,000 jobs had been lost in the private sector.

enda twip 3

Taoiseach Enda Kenny being interviewed on The Week in Politics today (Screengrab: RTÉ)

He said that under the previous government the country was “haemorrhaging jobs all over the place” and said that lower and middle income families have been protected by his government’s policies.

“We’ve beaten adversity before, we are making very steady progress here. You’ve not heard me speaking of green shoots of recovery or everything is rosy in the garden,” he said.

Kenny told the programme that he was confident that the “patently unfair” situation with the Anglo Irish Bank promissory note would be dealt with and the deal – which sees Ireland paying €3.06 billion every year for the next ten years – would be “restructured and re-engineered”.

He said he foresaw the deal as being restructured “from a serious overdraft to a long-term, low-interest mortgage”.

Abortion

On the issue of abortion and yesterday’s pro-life vigil in Dublin, Kenny said that he was “not in the business of liberalising abortion”.

The Taoiseach said the government had a “duty and responsibility” to bring clarity to the legal situation on when an abortion is permissible in Ireland and insisted that the law would be strict and narrow.

“It is strictly, very strictly on the narrow line of what our constitution means, voted on by the people,” he said.

He said it was important that the issue was treated with sensitivity and insisted that it would not lead to a liberal abortion regime in Ireland.

“I am receiving correspondence and messages from all over the country… I am now being branded as worse than Herod,” Kenny said, adding: “I am not in the business of liberalising abortion. I am not in the business of providing abortion on demand.”

Euroleaks: Troika wants less pay, more hours for public sector workers

Pics: Thousands attend pro-life vigil in Dublin

In numbers: How much would we save by abolishing the Seanad?

Read next:

Comments (209 Comments)

• Put your own pay on the table. Bring it right down you ass. Low and middle earning workers shouldn’t be touched. They are taking the brunt of this all the time, whether public or private sector. We are an insignificant island, you should earn €90,000 tops for “running” it. Hit the high earners in both public and private sectors. Leave ordinary workers alone. We’ve taken too much already.

• He speaks as if public sector pay hasn’t been touched thus far, which is completely untrue. The vast majority of public sector workers are low to middle income earners who have already suffered a minimum of 17% in pay cuts alone. The bucket is scraping the bottom of the well Enda….look elsewhere.

• If I was that unhappy with my salary and paycuts, or worried about my job, I’d seek a different job and leave the public/civil service.

Why not get a job in the private sector ??

• Moan moan moan suck it up dipshits you voted him in

• He was voted in on a pack of lies and less than a third of voters gave fine gael candidates their first preference vote.

• 36.1% is more than a third….

• Apologies david, I had figures of 32%

Guess the phrase ‘a turd’ automatically pops into my head when enda kenny appears on the telly.

• Actually, credit where credit is due, the phrase ‘less than a turd’ is more apt……

• Julie 20/01/13 #

What jobs are you talking about ! ! We don’t have 15% unemployment because 15% said they couldn’t be bothered working no more!

• Sure he didn’t touch Income Tax, how are the property and water charges going to be paid? Does he think, we have money growing on trees and its Debt by a thousand cuts!

• Is it 15% of the general population or working population, that figure for unemployment is calculated?

• Politicians are paid far too highly in this country, what with salaries, pensions, expenses etc.. They are supposed to be our leaders, so set an example and reduce your own exorbitant payments before you try to take the knickers off a bare arse.

• Unemployment is running at nearly 20% it should be calculated on working population

• how the fook are they in a majority if the polls are correct.

• This path, if pursued, will inevitably lead to conflict with Public Service workers. Our politicians are among the highest paid in Europe, if not the world, which hardly gives them any high ground to preach to others from. We have seen our dole queue’s increase and emigration almost reach 1840’s levels but, conversely, the wealthier in society have remained relatively untouched, if anything doing quite well from all this.
      It seems everyone in society has been affected by all this, well the lower levels of it anyway, whether Private Sector, Public Sector or the unemployed but the idea that “I’m hurt more so you have to be too”, the perception that one group is somehow not suffering as much as an other, and they should be made to do so, this to me is childish. Stop and think about this. There are always going to be those who have better jobs, they may have more qualifications, more experience or just lucky enough to work for a good employer. Good luck to ‘em. But if we were to listen to the begrudgers and drag everyone’s pay and conditions down, who benefits? Not us, the employees. The employers will love to hear things like that, I wouldn’t be surprised if they encourage it, to drag pay and conditions down to a draconian, Dickensian level. When we have the leader of our country saying such things we have a serious problem. Its wrong, very wrong. We have to ask exactly who he’s is representing here, the citizens of Ireland, the good of our people? Or “Big Business”? If pay and conditions in the Public Service are driven down further, and they have already been pushed down considerably, this will allow the same to be done in the Private Sector. Its a see-saw affect, one goes down and is used to bargain the other down. At some point we, as a country, have to stop talking about it and tell our leaders, STOP. Enough, we can’t take any more.

• ”Hit the high earners in both public and private sectors. Leave ordinary workers alone. We’ve taken too much already.”
      the high earners – mainly in the private sector employ this guy – so waht do u expect – and soeone said — suck it up ####its who voted him in – and that person has a point – what exactly did anyone expect from FG – and since when did politicins tell the truth . If they did that – how many would get elected .

• how right you are there . only you nad i know this will not happen the workers will pay all the way

• Interesting how government can legislate for public sector pay cuts but can’t touch pay at top levels in banks and other vested interests. Fine Gael cowards.

• What about TD’S pay and pensions? No cuts there, looking after thier own.

• ‘The lower and middle classes have been protected by his government policies’…..is this clown serious?? His crowd of political thugs have beaten the financial sh**e out of us. Today we see how his and other politicians constituency offices are exempt from rates and he’s trying to be the leader and statesman he can only dream of being.. You have been shown up for what you are Mr Kenny..a light weight with only your party’s interests at heart . Roll on the next election and to when you’ll have your political arse handed to you. You’re a joke!

• Hello Angela it’s Enda here
    oh hello pixie head
    About that debt write down we spoke about before….
    Click
    Eh hello hello angela are you there??

• Typical scaremongering. Government should be minded that industrial unrest has bubbled under the surface for four years and talk like this will bring it to the boil.

• Came across as reasonable to me. Employees working for a private company that’s in major financial trouble would expect cutbacks in pay and changes in terms. Why employees of Ireland plc would expect anything different is beyond me. They should appreciate the job security they enjoy relative to the private sector before even countenancing industrial action.

• What about the paycuts they’ve already taken? Are you forgetting about them?

• Public Sector workers have experienced big pay cuts. Those at the bottom (usually front line) have taken a 20% cut since Austerity began, those people cannot take anymore. Yet, those earning over ?100K (faceless civil service) have had a smaller hit of 12%. People and Government need to distinguish between high earning paper pushers and low earning grafters!

• There just isn’t a parallel between a state and a business. A business entered into involves risk: if you sell typewriters and they go out of fashion, you close down. A state is required by its citizens to provided services which they cannot individually provide, so health, education and transport, for example require a workforce and a budget. States aren’t selling a product, they’re ‘supposed’ to be making people’s lives better. Of course the way to pay for it all is through tax but that’s too hard a sum for Enda.

• Don’t agree with a lot u say Vincent but on this I do… I’ve heard the argument advanced that because most civil servants turned down jobs in the private sector during the boom years, and because they stayed “faithful” to public work they deserve better protection from pay cuts than Johnny Joe private sector !!! Well my opinion is we’re all on this sinking ship and it’s all hands on deck !!!

• MichaelD, no I haven’t. But I haven’t forgotten about benchmarking either. MichaelH, I don’t think anyone disagrees about prioritising the bureaucrats for the cuts!

• @fintan- during the Celtic Tiger the unions were very keen to establish a parallel between the public and private sectors. You have to take the bad with the good.

• @Vincent incorrect. Public Service unions consistently pointed out that trying to compared private sector work with public sector work was a fallacy: there are no private sector Gardaí or teachers.

• @vincent i have nothing left to give!

• Julie 20/01/13 #

Maybe Enda would like to lead by example so and cut in the dail first to people who caused this and then hit the big earners in public sector And make your way down reducing the cut ! Everything done backwards in this country ! See people are angry because we all know Enda know and what he like , he won’t touch the big earners and will go after the nurse or guard that have very little to live on at the moment and doing alot harder job then Edna’s ass kissing !

• Sorry Vincent, but who in the private sector has to return home with a patients vomit on their clothes? Or can be expected to take the monumental abuse from the public and still be expected to treat the patient who has just berated us? Or is expected to work shifts that are longer than many private sector workers working weeks?
      And don’t reply with the rhetoric that it doesn’t include frontline workers because it is going to include us. (Indeed, we heard James OReilly state that the obscene recruitment campaign for nurses was going to be extended to other areas).

• @fintan- that was the core premise behind benchmarking which the Unions happily embraced.

• VD, you going to benchmark the public servents who would be earning more in the private sector, or just the ones who would be earning less??

• @james- I’ll reply with the “rhetoric” that a whole lot of people in the private sector work much longer hours than those in the public sector. That’s not even counting “sick days”. As for your description of a days work, if you don’t like your job, maybe you shouldn’t have went into that field?

• Benchmarking must be reversed so that Ireland Inc can be competitive! Lets be realistic FF and Bertie- on his big pensions of E150000 plus PA made a big mess of the Irish Economy. How much has Bertie paid back to the Irish Taxpayer ? – NOTHING to date! Let Michael Martin and Willie O Dea write newspaper articles about how FF destroyed the economy!, lets have honesty in politics!

• My days work Vincenf? Oh you mean when I turned up to work at 6:15am on Friday morning and didn’t see the light of day until 7:15pm Saturday evening? I did that twice this week Vincent. Anyone do that in the private sector? Anyone?
      Sick days… I’m the only nurse doing the job I do, if I don’t turn up my job is not done. That is the same for a huge amount of front liners… We don’t take sick days because we know that our hours will not be replaced by a stand-in.
      I love my job, however I dislike intensely when people discuss my salary as though they are doing me a favour by paying me at all. I am a professional, I work hours that would be akin to slavery in any private sector job, I take dogs abuse (of every nature) from the people I serve, and still you are doing me a favour by paying me?
      Pity about you Vincent, get back in your box. If you want to know what any of us who will be effected by these cuts do, I suggest you stand in you local hospital, or local school, or shadow a Garda or fireman or paramedic because its us who will be effected by them. Not the people who push paper, or office staff, or higher ups. The people who you begrudge a half decent wage to are those of us who do the work.

• @Vincent Dolan. I imagine James loves his job. I hope u don’t need to appreciate James enthusiasm for his work at any time in the future. I imagine James, like myself, is sick of his vocation being ridiculed by generalist, populist comments like your last.

• Julie 20/01/13 #

Public sector against private sector , employed against unemployed ! When is this going to stop an when are people going to turn their attention to the real problem the stupid useless government we have !

• Remember the posters vote yes to Lisbon there will be more jobs no pay cuts. And that fat hamburger eating brain cowen told us to vote yes and when he was asked what was in the Lisbon treaty he said that he didn’t read all of it .. Well the Lisbon treaty is our new consitution and that fat ba@@& didn’t even read it and told the country to vote yes but we voted no and the EU say not good enough vote again,shame on you… that not democracy but they tell us it is shame on our government who are only mangers of this country Cos we all know who the real boss of Ireland is and it’s not or government

• Bring in pay rises and compulsory redundancy, any PS worker worth there salt has nothing to worry about.

• Julie 20/01/13 #

Check out this video on YouTube:

http://youtu.be/PrBVeXVX1vo

Have a listen to this song Ireland bailout sums it up pretty well !

• Sorry – you don’t get it. If the money isn’t there to pay you, whether you work for private or public enterprises, you need to reduce the pay bill. Raising taxes further stifles taxpayer’s ability to pay for other things, which leads to further job losses in the private sector and creates a downward spiral which both public and private lose out on. The only way to stop that is for the public servants, like people who work for private companies to take a pay cut.

• … And neither do we in the private sector … Won’t stop me being laid off next month though

• Apologies eugene, but the government cannot credibly pay a billion to unsecured bondholders one day, and then the next say that 200,000 people who earn less than the average industrial wage need to have their pay cut to save a billion cos theres no money available.

• Also it’s worth ramming down governments throats that the pic sector weeny taking pay increases hand over fist during the boom time. I’m pretty sure the way it’s going government will create a huge welfare nation as public sector workers will not be able to afford to work. They need to experience the same fear of making ends meet to truly move forwards. Bell-Enda already has his early fat pension at the ready. Will never ever see a poor day. Not will his buddies that he broke the salary cap or. One rule for them…

• Again incorrect. Benchmarking in fact undervalued the work of the public sector worker, discounted them for having pension provision and then threw money at them for productivity changes.

• Werejammin
      According to recent research Public Sector salaries are on average some thirty per cent ahead of Private Sector salaries! If Benchmarking was good enough for the PS on two occasions in the past it must be good enough now and let the chips fall wherever they may!

• Link please, or are you referring to the report which cherrypicks certain employees?

• @james- careful now to keep that halo polished above your head, won’t you? You were unaware of the work conditions & terms before you took the job?

• Yet, vincent, you have a problem with increments, which are part of those pay and conditions. Hypocracy much??

• @werejammin. From Irish Times October 12 2012
      “Some public sector workers earn up to a sixth more than people employed with private firms, it emerged today.

Official figures showed the pay gap varied from 6.1 per cent to 18.9 per cent in 2010 after qualifications, service and age are considered.

The largest gap was among those on the lowest incomes but it decreased as workers in both sectors earned more, according to the Central Statistics Office.”

• Vincent. You seem to be ignoring all the pay levies that public sector employees take on their earnings that private sector do not. My pay package has about 10 mandatory deductions. You don’t see that in the private sector. They’re the sneaky pay cuts we’ve had ontop our the reduction in our gross income, which is ignored by he media.

• Vincent, my contract states I get various allowances.
      I have yet to see said allowances. Forgive me if I don’t put much grace by my contract.

• Risteard, how do your 10 deductions stack up against allowances?
      Currently, the Department for Public Expenditure and Reform pays out over 1,100 allowances a year to public sector workers, at a cost of €1.5bn.

• I claimed my previous 4 years expenses and was given a total of 300 euro. That’s 75 quid a year. Didn’t make a dent in those deductions.

• @ Jim

“Some public sector workers earn up to a sixth more than people employed with private firms……”

SOME.

SOME people grow up to be rapists. Should we cut everyones willy off just to be on the safe side?

• I can earn 1.5 times privately here.
      A doctor could earn 4 times privately what he earns publicly.

• Bullshit!!!!!!!!!!

• What’s bullsh!t?

• @Vincent Dolan: you are 100% correct. The laws of economics are coming into play, I.e. you cannot spend more than you take in. This is inevitable, for all the waffling of Jack O’Connor and Co. and the irony is that it will be imposed by a “Labour Party”.

• I’m sorry Eugene but I think it’s you that doesn’t get it. If its necessary for the government to reduce the public pay bill by a billion euro they had better come up with a plan to put the bulk of that back in to the economy to prevent job losses in many small businesses. This is because the state is burdened paying out for unemployment benefit and other charges that this state gives out. Me as a small business owner am seriously concerned about your agenda.

• Shame on them then, if they have already taken a 20% pay cut and done nothing about it in the last 4 years, this makes one suspect that things are nowhere near as bad for the public service as they would lead us to believe.

• Jesus you haven’t a clue really do you, long working hours I work most days for 13 hours not including 13 hour night shifts in the disability sector which take me away from my family do us all a favour chief do your homework and shut your stereotypical big mouth

• God with an attitude like that I’m glad you don’t look after my brother. If things are so awful for you then why don’t you do something about it rather than scratching your arse all day, 13 hours a day chatting around the water cooler is not exactly work is it??? Bloody idiot

• And what’s most days? 4 outta 7?

• The ordinary public worker has taken hits on there pay yet the City / county managers and directors of services had there cuts reversed , The pay of bankers and others within the ruling class cant be touched due to ” Legal and Contractual issues” So we are to believe that the ordinary worker , Firefighters , Gardai , Nurses , prison officers , etc etc contracts arent worth the paper they are printed on, Once again its one rule for the wealthy and one for the peasants in good old Ireland

• “You’ve not heard me speaking of green shoots of recovery”

Well we have but we didn’t believe you no more than you believed yourself.

• The public sector took its pain to the tune of a 14% cut. As have welfare recipients and the low paid. The wealthy are still laughing all the way to the bank. Whens their turn exactly inda?

• How many pay increases did the public sector get during the boom though?

• Eh, Aoife, the boom time wouldn’t have been a boom time if most private sector employees didn’t get increases as well. Are you contending that the private sector, as a whole, didn’t see increases during the celtic tiger years as well?

• A proportion of the 14% “pay cut” is, in fact, pension levy.
      I can appreciate that having to contribute towards your own very generous pension (including an average €87,0000 lump sum golden handshake) may be an alien concept. These changes can be very scary at first.
      Unfortunately, us fools in the private sector have been grappling with this idea for a while now.

• “A proportion of the 14% “pay cut” is, in fact, pension levy.”

Call it whatever fancy term the governement spoonfed to you jim, It is a cut in your pay, and public servants already paid towards their pensions prior to the ‘pension levy’.

Any more urban legends you’d like to regurgitate jim?

• @werejammin
      Gardai who retired last year had an AVERAGE payoff of €107,000 + €33,000 p.a pension.
      So, if I want to have the same pension, and my plan is to retire at 60, a pension calculator tells me that I have to contribute just over €1,000,000 to my pension. That’s a million cash set aside over my working life.
      Now, if you can honestly tell me that that represents a level playing field,I will conceed every inane point you have made on this thread. If you can demonstrate figures that show how the pension levy even comes close to balancing those figures, I will humbly acknowledge defeat.

• Private sector workers are clearly outnumbered on here. I’m not saying private sector workers didn’t get pay increases but how many of them lost there jobs or had their pay significantly decreased as a result of the recession? When your employer can’t afford to pay staff a decrease in wage is required. Seems simple to me.

• More silliness jim. You talk about comparisons with the private sector and then use Gardai, who have no equivalent in the private sector, as an example.

Did a civil servant used to take your lunch money off you in school or something, because you are going beyond the whole ‘concerned citizen’ thing here…

• ‘Pension levy’ is nowhere mentioned in legislation and not a cent of it goes into a pension scheme. Public service workers who are not in pension schemes are obliged to pay, as are those in public sector institutions which, for historical reasons, are not in public sector pension schemes.

• If Ireland are only getting a restructuring deal it is Michael Noonan’s duty to the Irish people to show us the Triochet letters. They should not be held for the next 30 years under lock and key.

• So the blackmail card is out by Dame Enda. It’s either accept what’s on the table by the Govt or we will cut your money and there’s nothing you can do about it.
    Where was that kind of backbone when the Govt were dealing with the debt we don’t owe?
    This is a systematic attempt by the Govt to lower everyone’s standard of living be it Public or Private Sector.
    Will Enda be lowering his own wages? His Pension? His expenses?

• Well why don’t you reserve the right to legislate on politicians and bankers pay?

• Good (not) to see a swift response from the hugely overpaid bearded brethern in the ICTU. What do these parasites actually do, apart from drawing down massive salaries which the “ordinary” members pay for? I have just seen the current edition of the “Impact” newsletter and the cover story is how we should protect our trees! Very laudable, but does a member paying €5/6 per week give a shite about the trees when their terms and conditions are being decimated? One massively corrupt country.

• For those who still moan about the civil service: http://businessetc.thejournal.ie/public-service-pay-drop-bigger-than-in-private-sector-372330-Mar2012/

Please, look at facts, not in fiction.

• Does that mean you aswell Enda ? what are you getting paid for anyway ? I am still wondering why you are actually paid……

• Hide yo wive, hide yo kids cause they raping everybody up in here!

• Neck like a jockeys ballox

• Vincent, you’re either Enda Kenny or you have a very brown nose?

• It’s wasy to know he is only in it for the money,cut everyone else and leave mine alone.
    Lead by example you thief

• It was Germany who forced Greece to sell off land/ ports etc.. Their labour market is at rock bottom, wages & conditions destroyed..
    Now big German companies are buying cheap and setting up there.
    Ireland will not be able to compete with this. This is the plan for Ireland also.
    Look into it for yourselves, its very worrying for our future.

• It’s time for industrial action , the low paid public servant with the high debt burden is being bullied again.. Sort out people’s debt first mr kenny then cut pay .. Enough is enough !!

• Time for public action more like it. Greece and Spain showed us how its done – get out into the streeta and show these clowns the door.

• John
      The people on the streets of Greece threw petrol bombs at their police in an attempt to murder and to scar. Is that what you are calling for in Ireland in defence of Public Service salaries?
      Could you advise us of the gains made by these thugs in Greece with their hatchets, stones and petrol bombs. Did their Government back down? Did their Government halt the march of austerity because their police were burned like fried meat on the streets? No………and this is what you want for Dublin?

• They got a massive writeoff of their debts mark, debts they actually owed as a nation, whereas we’re paying off everyone elses like obedient little Paddies.

• @werejammin- we also have prospects going forward. Greece- not so much.

• Prospects like that couple who froze to death last weekend? Prospects like the people taking their own lives in despair due to their debts? Prosprects like the tens of thousands emigrating every year to find work……………

• Yeah because behaving like the Greeks is definitely the model for economic recovery…

• Should we behave like your party leader and have our heads patted in front of the words media instead david??

• Werejammin
      The inward investment in Greece has shrink to zero and the Multinationals are withdrawing so fast you would get dizzy. The Pharmaceutical Companies will only sell to the Greeks on a cash with order basis because they were unpaid for four years.
      So you see where the write down has been of such enormous benefit to Greece!
      Any comments to that position?

• Nothing you mentioned in your post is as a result of the writedown. You need to read what you type on your brand new twitter account ‘mark’.

• That sounds more like a description of Syria. The people of Greece ousted their Government. Every such event invites those who are just looking for trouble and the media is quick to latch on to these big stories. They set out to stop a government thinking that the country belongs to the party and that asuch they are free to do as they will. The country belongs to the people – the people have a right to demonstrate in a peaceful manner but hooligans are everywhere. Do we ban football because a few attack the police?
      The people need to voice their concerns and sometimes just moaning about it in a pub over a pint just doesn’t get the message across. Certainly, if we all continue to just sit on our arses and wait, then its going to be a long wait.
      In all probability, its too late for us to see better days but our efforts might benefit our children. After all, we don’t inherit the country from our fathers, we borrow it from our children.

• And then John more public sector Gardai will be sent out to stop you. One out all out. The teachers, nurses, Gardai, Fire Service, prison officers etc all down tools and let the private sector see just how under appreciated they are. When you bring your kids to school and there’s no teacher, you go to the hospital and there are no nurses, you’re being robbed and no Guards to call or your house is burning down and no fire service and no prison officers to keep the criminals locked up. The government with its divide and conquer strategy and us taking the bait. Why do Irish politicians need to be paid more than their UK counterparts with a population that’s 15 times smaller? But hey, their buddies lost on investments and the working man/woman pays the bill. If I invest or back a horse, do I have a guarantee of my money back? Kenny just wants Europe to rub him on the head and tell him he’s a good boy.

• 50,000 grand a year for the puppets and muppets in the dail…….and the same for their pension , they should be a little bit proud to serve their country in the first place !!

• Enda Kenny and all TDs should lead by example and cut their salaries to €50,000 … “haemorrhaging jobs all over the place”. What language. Get to work for the people Enda. Not the European moneymasters. Lead by example and keep your eye on the ball offshore!

• That is a good idea.166 tds on a average of 200k all in if their wage was cut to 50k each one would be able to supply funding for 3people on a decent wage..
      If I was on 50k a year plus what ever I personally made I would be able to save over half

• If i was on 50k per year i too could save over half. Politicians need to be educated on what it is like for the majority of citizens. Might make for a good reality TV show :) ‘Frugal Politician’.

On a positive note Europa Oil and Gas Holdings announced Jan 16th the discovery of 1.6billion barrels of oil at Kiernan Prospect (South Porcubine Basin) off the west coast. Scores on the doors so far 3.2billion barrels of ‘Irish oil including Barryroe’. Lots more exploring to come in 67 more areas. Good times ahead when we as a people wake up to our rights and demand we have control over our oil and gas wealth. http://www.Trillions.ie for more info on latest oil discovery.

• @pog mo thoin

TDs are not on €200k a year or anything near it.

Stop spouting populist nonsense like you’re in the pub on a Friday night.

• The basic is just under 100k,”expenses”50k+(some up to 28k in fuel alone which is physically impossible unless driving a war tank) there are many more getting well over 200k,all they do is sit on a few government committees never show up and collect another 60k.
      Or are you under the taught they get 500e a week and all the magic beans they want

• @Pog mo thoine
      Can you give me your specific sources for those numbers please ?

• @ red thumbs..just Google average tds wage it I’m really not bothered copy and paste links for a troll

• @pod mo thoine
      as I said their salary is circa €92k pa.

Everything else is an allowance and is therefore not salary. Perhaps you don’t understand the difference so let me give you an example;
      If they get a €3k allowance for a constituency office, that does not mean they are handed €3k.

Other allowances are vouched so , no spend-no get.

Every TD in the Dáil is not a ‘few committees’ so thats not valid either.

Its not perfect but the Government is trying to reform things after the destruction by Fianna Fail.

Unless you would prefer to be back in the time of the Bertie Circus ?? When very few of you were asking any questions ar all.

• @pog mo thoine

And I forgot to mention that of course Google is the source all academics use for accurate and factual research !

—–

TO SAVE IRELAND FROM BANKRUPTCY – VOTE POPULISM !!!

(Head drops into hands with dispair)

• @red,I used the words average and most, obviously you do not understand the meaning of either of those words and some how try use them as a fine line..
      It’s expenses when that’s what its used for not just saying “yea I’m owed this much”..
      Now back under your rock

• Paul 20/01/13 #

@little red thumb boy, yeah all of those are legit expenses: the average industrial wage annually on petrol, sorry, if your constituency was the size of France you could probably justify that! €12K travel if you live in Dublin? Getting to work is my responsibility, I’d look sweet going in to the office with a tesco bag full of bus or luas tickets or petrol receipts, I’d be laughed out of it and maybe slow clapped for sheer brass neck but then again, I’m a mere mortal. And yeah, a turning up for work allowance has to be spent and receipts provided? The rest of us just assume that’s part of the job too.

• Little Red. To save ireland from bankruptcy take control of our offshore oil and gas reserves and invest in sustainable industry ;-)

• @pog mo thoin

Your condescending tone is as bad as your understanding of macro-economics and public policy.

Learn a little, you’d be amazed at how many might start to take you seriously if you did.

– You can go ahead and have the last word if its important to you as I won’t be responding.

• Ryan'O 20/01/13 #

^^^^

Last word LOL

• Thanks foe the link Trillions…the big difference between us and Norway though is that their government look after their peoples interests…our crowd don’t. With Pat Rabbitt in charge that oil could be worth nothing to us if the current arrangements are left in place. Like Norway we should have a 75% tax on every barrel that comes out and if this makes it too expensive to drill..let the exploration companies piss off. The oil will still be there in 5 or 10 years time and it’s only getting more valuable.

• Agreed Tony. What is the rush. We know the oil and gas is there. And prices will continue to rise. Providence Resources are making a big thing about investing 500million euro in exploration but they are ‘farming out’ that exploration. Europa Oil and Gas are a company valued at a mere €16million euro and are also ‘farming out’ their exploration to Big Oil partners. They do not have the financial resources to drill. They are prospectors. ‘Our’ Oil and Gas will only increase in value as you say with the years so it is a good security. We should be forming a State Oil company similar to Stat Oil in Norway, hiring top professionals in the field and farming out the exploration ourselves. If the government (or we the people) were to look at a 3-5 year plan to get our State Oil company together. Offer competitive salaries to get the best team together.

This is our economic salvation if people would speak up. People need to start talking more and asking the right questions of their elected politicians who have the power to renegotiate the correct deals (due to incompetence of previous governments who mismanaged and wrecked our economy!). Cease all drilling until a better deal is in place to benefit us citizens of Ireland (shareholders).

• Funny stuff, this thing called ”Irish politics.”

Sounds a bit like the English when they introduced the unfair taxes on the colonies. While they contemplate small changes, they failed to see their empire crumbling.

Ireland is crumbling, institution by institution and piece by piece.

• It makes me laugh to read comments of right wingers – supposed to be keen on property rights, limited government and respecting agreements – cheering on the use of state power to break 300,000 contracts. Traitors to their own political tradition.

• As usual nothing will be done.unions will “tut tut” and throw shapes making noise.
    Frontline workers will be shafted yet again and kenny & co’s wages will remain untouched.
    I would not be in the slightest bit surprised if kenny didn’t grant a raise for his “buddies”

• Dame Enda and his bunch of merry vankers are wannabe Thatcherites who couldnt get voted in until FF well and truly imploded. If they had have got in before by some miracle they would have been trying to lower taxes and cut the bejayzuz out of the public service in exactly the same way they are doing now. They’re using the current financial crisis as an excuse to further their own agenda – not save the country.

• europe europe europe,, so sick of him and europe,, ireland needs help,, people freezing to death, in hospitals with malnutrition, and he said change with their government, no change for them and their pockets, pensions, bonuses, bankers, all the elite still at it,, he is nothing but a leech, he has never employed anyone in his life, only taken tax payers money , most of our politicians are leeches, they only ever worked for the state, never had to run a company ,, lay off people, pay a days wage,, dear god, our country in so much trouble and if i here europe again,, i would shoot half the politicians if given a chance, and half the trocar for not looking at their pensions and pay and allowances,, its all the same some things never change,, and yes i voted enda in,, sorrrrrryyyyy

• Julie 20/01/13 #

Just don’t do it again and we will forgive ya :) it is crazy to think what he is doing and still people aren’t out on the streets , there is a protest on Facebook , it being held in Dublin limerick cork Waterford last time I looked there was 236 going , that ridiculous ! Does anyone else find it interesting that he will come on and talk with that little shite who won’t ask the hard questions ! Would love to see him on vinny b being asked the hard questions not able to waffle out of them. He is a sorry excuse for a man and they are a disgusting corrupt party ! REVOLUTION !! Ballyhea 100th protest also is on Sunday week have a look into these guys every week they are there brilliant bunch of people !

• @jackie crowe

Yea that damned Europe thing !

Giving us all those billions to keep us going after Clown Bertie an Co destroyed the country.
      Public sector workers are getting paid only because Europe gives us money to keep going every month.

But Europe is such a nuisance isn’t it ??? (Shakes head and throws eyes to heaven)

You were right to vote Fine Gael in at the last election, you can’t blame Enda Kenny for the mess we are in. Ring your local Fianna Fail office and complain.

• They didn’t give us billions to keep us going, they loaned us billions at a punitive rate to cover their gambling losses for them.

• Julie 20/01/13 #

Europe wouldn’t be too bad of we didn’t have a little school teacher negotiating for us or more like doing what he is told! look ff FG all the same to me , FG were in opposition the whole time and instead of doing their jobs they went on Long holiday with our tax money ! Both the same both should be gotten rid of ! Enda ya lovely Enda poor ring jut trying to clean up the mess silly FF left for them oh and how is he doing this by bringing in most of the policies FF would have if try had been reelected attack vulnerable , disabled poor and working families on the breadline. All the while sitting pretty with his big salary and perks and allowances and all the rest , the arrogance of him ! He needs to be gotten rid of before he does anymore damage

• @werejammin

Gave / loaned — I’m happy to use your word if you prefer.
      After all we had so many options at the time. Countries and institutions lining up to give us finance !

‘Europe’ gambled nothing, it was banking institutions and Charlie McCreeveys blind eye economics that has us in the mess we are in.
      Fine Gael and Labour are trying to get us out of the mess

• You need to put more effort into your trolling, preferably somewhere else.

• @werejammin

You really don’t like your ‘daily star’ understanding of our economic situation being challenged do you ?

You stock answer is to ignore the point, then be dismissive, and finish with the word ‘troll’ like you are the moderator.

See note above for my final response to your drivel.

• Eh,no. When someone uses a name conducive to solely posting trolling comments on a single site, they are not worth engaging.

• How bout public sector strikes not ruled out enda !!

• Julie 20/01/13 #

Lets not have just public sector although ya are get at getting out there and having yer say but shouldn’t we all unite together and set a date and have one big protest and keep doing that ! There are a few being organised at moment but not alot of support

• As a child I enjoyed the Thunderbird’s, the sage like nodding of the head, the strings waving the arms about indiscriminately in an effort to accentuate the rhythm of the characters speech.

Sometimes I really do get the impression that Mr Kenny is little more than a physical manifestation of a political handlers mind and that we have all been given just a smidgen of Lysergic acid with the fluoride in the water in an effort to entrench his image in our minds as a real person masquerading as an elected representative.

• B Lowe 20/01/13 #

If the government is even considering hitting the public sector again, especially those who have already taken up to 20% pay cut then it is time to strike and all out strike now.
    This at a time when our ex presidents are on pensions of ?160,000 a year!
    Strike, strike now.

How about the journalists ask Enda Kenny this one question:

“Taoiseach, do you think it is fair, that hard working law abiding public sector workers who have already had cuts of up to 20% in their overall take home pay,…. do you think it is fair that they be cut while we have ex Presidents on pensions of ?160,000 a year. If you do not Taoiseach, then what attainable action will you take? “.

• The Irish government’s decision to renege on their program for government
    policy to allow commercial tenants market rents,was the worst economic
    decision since the infamous bank guarantee. It has ensured the destruction of
    tens of thousands of sustainable Irish businesses and jobs and the
    creation of a damaging two-tier commercial rental market. The government
    have aligned themselves with the commercial property cartel to ensure
    the Irish commercial property market will not recover and this will
    further damage the Irish economy. Any cost/benefit analysis would
    clearly show the error of this decision.

This government still believes the propaganda of the property industry,
    the exact crew who wrecked the country. The economic logic is -if you
    massively over-rent commercial tenants until you destroy their
    businesses and jobs -this will help the Irish commercial property market and
    increase the value of Irish commercial property. This is one of a hat trick of
    disastrous Irish government decisions, the first was to allow the
    creation of the greatest property bubble of all times -second to
    guarantee all Irish banks liabilities and -third to allow all commercial
    tenants to be be bled dry by massive over-renting using ruinous Irish
    commercial lease law.

• JakkiB 20/01/13 #

Best one I heard last week
    “Enda coming to get your Pennys Kenny”

• Hey Taoiseach.. You want to make veiled threats to public service workers who are at the end of their tether with pay-cuts, increased workload and low moral. Here is a threat right back at ya. We’ve had enough. We have given enough. We will go out on strike and stay out. We will bring this country to it’s knees. Hospitals, schools, buses, trains, Garda civilian support staff, local authorities, government agencies. We are 250,000 strong. Bring it on.

• I wonder dose this clown read the journal . Not that he would take any notice . Of What we think .

• He does of course and between him and his ego strokers they have a good laugh but don’t worry,at some stage and for some reason it will leak into the public domain .
      Then you will really see how much of a sleeveen he really is.

• @tax slave
      I would say that if the Taoiseach read the Journal;
      -people like you would moan that he is wasting his time reading
      -he would probably be amazed at the stupidity of some people and have second thoughs about the cuts to education
      -he would wonder how people don’t see the sh*te we were left in after Fianna Fail
      -he would be amused at the idea that some people think all our problems would be solved by the Oireachtas taking paycuts and bringing sandwiches to work

• Bahahaha….. More spin here than a pottery class…
      Ya gotta love the newly formed twitter accounts and looking at their tweets..
      Ah well it takes all kinds.

• RED.is your thumb red. From sticking it up endas Ass. Or from sucking it

• and fair play to your man that runs bus eireann,, 50,000 bonus for showing a loss, but met his criteria,, wohoo,, go public sector. and to the tds who got a raise in oct, that was kept hush hush,,

• There are definitely higher earners in the public sector that should be taking pay cuts. Also incremental pay increases are a joke. Pay rises should be based on performance, not length of service. The current system doesn’t incentivise or reward hard work.

• Well then they should start public servants on the top of the scale because that is what the correct pay should be for the work done each grade. The increment system was set up to take account of learning and becoming more skilled on the job. The top of the scale is the rate considered appropriate for the job. What they could do is remove the higher scale that exists and remove it retrospectively from everyone that has it. It is awarded without rhyme or reason or consideration of qualifications or experience. A little “gift” from management for the “pets” who tow the corporate line. This would save a lot and make pay more transparent. All non vouched expenses should be abolished from TDs and they should be paid the same as teachers. Most of them were anyway.

• poor enda being bullied and compared to herod,,,, ,, glad he aint at my door,, i wont be bullying i will be telling him home truths and he wont like what i have to say,, dont think fg or mini me,, oops ment labour will be knocking at doors this time around,,

• Tax the wealthy stop screwing people’s who have nothing

• Enda is a public servant.is he going to take a pay cut.???? i feel that he earns more than and other european prime minister is a disgrace.only 4mil in country.and like them before he making the country fall to ifs knees and families scrimp and scape .will he stand beside me feeding the homeless .no i donr think so.

• As a public sec worker . I come under support staff I can tell u our wages Are crap.. With cuts . levies , pension Levies . My pay slip all it is deductions . Yet we have to do sometimes triple the work cause with staff reductions .. But keep the same standers .. Now Mr Kenny wants more cuts . More hours . Reducing staff no.s again.. How!!!!

• Debbie we all have to put up with that private sector aswel my pay slip all deductions too

• Cut social welfare and their ‘various allowances’ give people some incentive to go back to work.

• Benchmarking seemed to be a very popular word in boom times.
    I dont hear much from public sector unions about benchmarking the parallell fall in private sector wages

• @Jim Brady. My Private Sector equivalent has not had pay reduced by employer at all! Benchmarking has already been reversed by pay cuts to Public Service. Wake up.

• Germany and France pay their public sectors less than the private sector averages with no ostensible ill effects on efficiency and delivery of government services.Job security in both countries is considered an attractive feature of public sector employment,although high costs of redundancies make it very hard to sack private sector workers.

In contrast,even after austerity cuts Ireland pays the public sector (civil service,teachers,gardai,HSE and hospitals) about 50% more than the private sector average, but delivers far fewer free services,notably in health care.If this pay is unjustifiably high,obviously that takes from money that should be available for services.

In Finance’s budget forecast,2012 pay was estimated at €19 billion,which is 15% of estimated gross national income of €131 billion. If this pay was cut to roughly the same level as the private sector’s,the figure would be €12.7 billion,a cut of €6.3 billion in arguably unnecessary pay. The pay bill is 15% of national income and the arguably unnecessary portion is 5%. That €6.3 billion would go a long way to reducing the national deficit.

• More silly comparisons jim. In france, medical and childcare are free, and the cost of living is far lower.

Try harder if you think you’ve an argument to make.

• Apologies if it wasn’t clear to you when I said Ireland “delivers far fewer free services, notably in healthcare”
      On your second point, do you consider it possible that uncontrolled wage inflation here might have some part to play in our high cost of living compared to France?

• Yep, but i don’t see you calling for wage cuts for the 90% of working people in Ireland who aren’t public sector. It also just shows how silly the comparison was in the first place.

• Precisely my point: market forces determine wages in the private sector, companies or employers negotiate a contract with employees, to which both parties agree. Baying for a reduction in private sector wages, would, as I’m sure you appreciate, make little or sense.
      Public sector wages, on the other hand, are paid for by the private sector, without the concommitent market forces determening wages, or requrements to perform, and no risk of job losses.
      Incidentally, the argument that public sector also pay taxes is fallacious. If you pay someone €60,000 from the public purse, and subtract €20,000 in taxes, the result is a cost of €40,000. There has been no net gain to the public purse.

• “I am receiving correspondence and messages from all over the country… I am now being branded as worse than Herod,”enda Kenny said, brand you andy pandy more like

• @shane go to work where exactly Shane ???

• @Aileen

‘Down with this sort of thing’

The wealthy already pay ‘more’ tax.

Furthermore, generally those who gained the wealth did it through hard work and taking business risks. They are entitled to earn as much as they can provided they do it legally and ethically.

• Hard work like the fat bankers I earn 15000 a yr I’m paying same USC charge as someone earning 100000 ya that’s fair and equal ain’t it cop on wealthy get away with murder never does a budget touch them only targets people at bottom and you saying they pay enough tax means your one of th because you don’t see the affects of the recession

• i have tried to get questions answered by government ministers relating to the sale of Aer Lingus copthorn hotels state assets 1994 gov departments told keep your mouth shut ????? they will not give out information i took a high court action still no support in cork my story would surprise a lot of people if the truth got out Garda refuse to help media will not pick it up state solicitor will not help 18 years of hell caused by my involvement to me and my young family

if you would like the names of the people involved and the current ministers who refuse to meet current FG Leader included request refused
    FF request refused Labour request refused ??????

stone walled to the point i had to move to america as advised but moved back to Ireland with my family to get answers before they destroy me financially
    no one gives a dam this is my experience progressive Ireland ask the simple question garrycoughlan facebook cork please log on i have a story i want told any support is welcome to be stone walled for so long is wrong

Garry Coughlan Cork 086 2605640

• Increments are a reward for experience, even the private sector pays them if under a different guise ,
    However it also means many stay in a single job , never moving, removing increments may have a benefit in that of all are getting the same money, why stay where you being treated badly, movement may be based on other terms and conditions, proper canteen, showers , respect for the job you do etc

Watch out you cob/shite if that’s the way you go

• Flying red flags, another slap in the face! The bulling politics are unacceptable,,Shame on you Enda! We are negoitiating so why the red flags.. 24/7 allaince takes the street tonight starting at Tallaght! Bulling tactics are how we got into this econmic mess in the first place! You better hold your horse Enda and watch what you say…. your job is in jeapordy!

WHAT THEY WOULD Mean to Frontline Woekers!

Change of Sunday / Public Holiday Premium
    from Time X 2 to Time X 1.5
    = 6.62%
    LOSS of Time + 1/6th Twilight Shift Premium
    = 2.6%
    LOSS of Saturday Premium
    = 1.08%
    Change of Night Duty Premium
    from Time + 1/4 to Time + 1/6
    = 0.33%
    TOTAL REDUCTION=

= 10.63%

This will be toyal reduction since austerity of 24.63% Unacceptable!

24/7 Alliance Rally 18th February 2013 – LIVE TV FEED – this will be available later this evening.

Press Conference on behalf of the 24/7 Frontline Services Alliance, took place today 12 February in INMO HQ with regard to their campaign to protect the pay of its members.

• Jim Brady is on the button. It is time to benchmark downwards. The public sector have the equivalent of upward only rent reviews.

• Silly comment. nurses and IT people etc. earn far more in the private sector. Its blanket statements like that which are entirely unhelpful.

• @Enda Story. Very brave words, if ignorant of the reality of the actual plight of Public Sector workers. The pay cuts Public Sector workers have already taken have nullified any benchmarking benefit of previous years. Pay reduced by almost a quarter. Quit the vitriol and educate yourself.

• Let’s hope tomorrow morning, around 5am when the place is covered in snow, that these “upward rent only” public servants decide to come to work and clear the roads so that the “impoverished” private sector workers can attend their place of work. Never heard ye whinging before 2007, when the “pariahs” in the public service were barely getting the crumbs from your marble and granite tables.

• I know a guy who takes home €1000 per week for pouring liquid into a machine at one end and taking the solid matter out the other end of a machine in a pharmacutical plant in county cork , He has no technical skills or qualifications of any kind and he is only working there less than a year , And i hear him talk that public servants are over paid.
    Makes me sick !

• It’s the public who elected these muppets should be kept in mind. Irish public should make a stand to embarrass this piece of crap and other EU traitors acolytes in FG, FF and Lab. What’s required is a national strike whilst the EU lick arse traitors presidency is taking place. Show some fight like the Icelandic people or the old refrain of crop pies lie down is still relevant.

• Maybe the public sector will feel the pain of the private sector!!

• An Taoiseach Enda Kenny is in a very difficult position at this time. FG gave a pre-election commitment that FG would not legislate for abortion but he is directed by the EU Court to clarify our legislation. Clarification means exactly that… It does not mean abortion on demand! Where the life of a pregnant women is at risk the medical profession have a duty to save the mothers life even at the expense of the life of the baby but the medical profession have a duty of care to try to save both lives if possible. In the 1982 Referendum the then AG told the then Taoiseach CJH that the wording of the referendum was open to challenge. FF did not accept the advice of the AG. Shame on FF! Hang your heads in shame! Lets hope the FG can make the correct decision this time.

• Guys try this game
    http://tinyurl.com/bh3bbwu
    Ireland is under attack in it and we need you to join a 100 strong Irish community take on the UK! You can also become a journalist, work in or own a company, buy land and much more!

• Good about time in all fairness

Add New Comment