TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Column: Yes, booze causes problems – but why tar us all with the same brush?

Proposals to hike the minimum price of alcohol are penalising moderate drinkers for the sins of those who have bigger problems, writes Aaron McKenna.

Aaron McKenna

“WE’RE DRINKING TOO much as a country,” said junior minister Roisin Shortall during the week as she mooted government plans to introduce a minimum price floor for alcohol below which retailers cannot sell. The move follows on from a sustained campaign that has turned the very concept of ‘drinking’ into an altogether negative one. We have had to put up with ever tightening hours of sale and attempts to ban alcohol companies from advertising.

I think I missed the day in school where we learned that the government is the arbiter of what you or I do on our own time and with our own money. I musn’t tune in to RTÉ at the right hour to receive the latest updates from big brother on the acceptable activities for my weekend. I guess I just ignore junk mail to the extent that I lose the pamphlets on how much water, coca cola, tea and beer I’m allowed to imbibe over a defined period of time.

The sustained war on all those who want to have a drink has, in recent years, meant that you can hardly go to the cinema on a Friday night and come out to have a beer in a pub on a spur of the moment decision. You have to pre-plan the operation and zip into your supermarket between certain hours and feel even more the social pariah for having a constantly stocked fridge for those occasions you just feel like having one or two out of hours.

Our national nannies have tried to ban alcohol related companies from advertising and sponsoring things like sports events. For sure if you stop and think about it, most rugby players probably wouldn’t be at the top of their game after four pints of Guinness. But the sponsorship of the sport by that brand has enabled it to do a lot of good work in terms of promoting sports to youngsters, and if it gives us fans a craving every now and again for a pint of the black stuff so be it. We’re grown ups, and can make decisions for ourselves.

Drinking ourselves silly

The addition of minimum pricing to the mix in supermarkets is a nanny state kick in the teeth for everyone trying to get by in the recession. I’m not a fan of Tesco’s own brand gin, but I’d say I’m counted among the majority who are glad to be able to pick up a decent beer at €1 a bottle on special offer.

Unlike the conjured image of drinkers that Shortall and nanny staters like her would conjure, I’m not going home to drink myself silly and beat my dog with the bottle. Government spinsters have told us that pretty much every societal ill, from child abuse to accidents in the workplace, are alcohol caused.

I would suggest that child abuse, workplace accidents and brawls in the street are caused by people whose problems do not begin or end the moment they have a drink. These people are stupid, evil or both and the government doesn’t bother to show a proven link to causation as opposed to the correlation between these savages and their love of the sauce.

For every brute who kicks his wife and kids around after half a bottle of whiskey there is a social worker who can’t read the handwritten notes of his predecessor and lets the problem slip through the cracks. Maybe that, too, has something to do with the ills of the world. Somebody ought to do something about that, eh?

The truth is that there are people who abuse alcohol, but they are in the minority. This we can guess by the fact that we do not live in a dystopian and non-functioning society. You don’t get to be first world if everyone is a drunk. The approach government takes, and specifically the nannyite elements within it who just can’t help but see something they’d love to regulate in every facet of our lives, is a one size fits all jackboot.

Medical bills

Likely you and I enjoy alcohol responsibly, but we will pay the minimum (and heaven knows, because the taxman will be a net recipient of some of that new minimum, ever rising) price of alcohol. We may, for some unfathomable reason, have innocent reasons for wanting a beer at home after 11pm; but if we didn’t pre-plan it, we’ll go to the pub or we’ll go dry. All of this we do so that the abusers of alcohol, who will likely beg, borrow or steal to get it, can afford to feed themselves and their kids a little less to sate their appetite.

Maybe you and I will enjoy a little more alcohol than the doctors recommend, without it ending in a scene from Eastenders. Perhaps over our lifetimes this will cause us some problems and raise our medical bills. Fair point, that society shouldn’t shoulder this burden alone. So maybe people treated for alcohol related illnesses should receive a loading in their national or private health insurance. Same thing for those of us who enjoy chocolate and burgers too much and exercise too little.

A minimum price for alcohol will harm everyone. Individual loadings and pointed medicals from insurance companies will target the problem people. Better social services and work on things like poverty and poor education will deal with the real abusers, the alcoholics and the miscreants who will drink no matter if booze is outlawed.

The nanny state loves to regulate. It feels good spreading itself out into all kinds of different areas in ever more invasive ways. We ought to put a stop to it, because I didn’t sign on to live in some civil servants idea of utopia. There are problems with alcoholics, not with alcohol. Leave the majority of us who enjoy one but aren’t the other alone and take a nuanced approach.

Aaron McKenna is a businessman and a columnist for TheJournal.ie. You can find out more about him at aaronmckenna.com or follow him on Twitter @aaronmckenna.

Read: More columns from Aaron McKenna on TheJournal.ie>

Read next:

Comments (46 Comments)

• Two reasons why the minimum price is being brought in.
    1. It will increase revenue for the Government under the guise of social responsibility.
    2. The VFI are trying to stem the tide of people going to their off licence because of the prices in the pubs.

When vodka baggies (the ones you get on Ryanair flights) came out some years back the VFI whipped up public hysteria and got Michael McDowell to effectively ban them from off licences because they “encouraged under aged drinking”. Apart from the fact that it was up to the off licence to stop under age sales and the physical difficulty of drinking straight from the bag McDowell proposed a tax hike under the guise of being in the public interest ie. I’m only doing this for your own good and certainly not for increased Government revenue.

The real reason for this was that people were able to easily able to smuggle the baggies into pubs and clubs where the same shot of spirits was 2 to 3 times more expensive. The VFI copped on to this and lobbied the Government who launched their “social awareness ” campaign and the public as usual bought it.

• I mean we pay through the teeth for everything in this country…..god forbid we might be able to enjoy some cheap beers

• A load of bollox! You can buy Wine in Spain for 40 cent a bottle, a can of beer for 30cent, yet I’ve never heard of them having huge alcohol related issues! Making drink more expensive in supermarkets is all about Fine Gael/Labour helping out their wealthy publican pals!

• Great article. Reminds me of a time when Ireland was fun.

The problem is surely not the price of alcohol but peoples attitude towards it. Just like cigarettes or any other drug a change in the price wont stop people abusing it. They will be more unhappy about it but they will still find a way.

Looking at europe where alcohol is already much cheaper yet they dont seem to suffer the same “abuse” is evidence more so that they have a more responsible attitude rather than a resentment for the price.

Personally i’m a moderate drinker who you probably wouldnt find crawling around town on a tuesday after diceys but i know why people do it. When groups of teens go nacker drinking as i’m sure most do they drink as many as they can because its their only chance to do so all week on a friday night in a field. If they have six cans they are going to drink six cans because they definitely cant be caught bringing them home.

This evolves into students having the mentality of only having 20 euro spare a week so they’ll spend every cent of it on drink before they run out of noodles.

As adults then these people can only sqeeze in one night of drinking a week and sure you might as well get your moneys worth at that stage.

In Ireland we take a more drink, less often rather than the european less drink more often approach. its bred into us. Raising the price of booze is not really adressing the issue.

Wow i need a beer or two after that long winded spiel.

• @ Stephanie – slight less than € 20 – for a bottle of vodka is not cheap! Looking at the issue from an European perspective, the supposedly “cheap” alcohol that is doing the damage is in fact tremendously overpriced. Alcohol is much cheaper on the continent, so surely they would have a larger amount of alcohol-related problems? But no, they don’t. The logic of increasing prices so limiting access and therefore limiting the problem breaks down as the opposite doesn’t hold; lower prices lead to more access, but this doesn’t lead to more alcohol-related problems in Germany, France, the Netherlands. Etc. So are the Irish somehow unique. Our culture revolves around alcohol-fuelled celebrations as social interaction, but you’d be hard-pressed to find a European culture that does not have alcohol as an important element of celebrating and socially interacting. So price is not the issue, a tradition of alcohol as social lubricant is not unique to Ireland, the roots of the problem, and do an effective solution, must lie elsewhere.

• Really good article. I agree with everything you said, but I do think there needs to be something which physically stands in the way of people addicted to alcohol from just accessing their “drug” at any time, as cheap as possible. I don’t know what that measure is, but your right, it’s not going to be solved by punishing the 99% who don’t have a problem.

• The minimum price is to prevent the retailers to sell cheap drink below their costs as they do now. The author loves his Tesco special offer drinks – he’s already paying for them via his bills for other groceries.

• In my opinnion this is just another ploy by the government to raise more needed cash.
      If you are an addict or problem drinker you will find the means of getting your next alcohol fix. (no matter what the price).
      A good start would be to ban alcohol adds.
      An intense awareness campaign etc.

• Here is something to ponder. Do people by cheaper alcohol because they want to buy more drink to get drunk or do they buy it because they have less money in their pockets and so shop around for a good bargain. There are a lot of good beers on the market that don’t command a premium price and these are the ones that will be most affected by this minimum price increase. I went into my local offie the other day and had a choice of buying a premium beer or a cheaper alternative. The difference was €0.50 a can and being on the dole I try to make every purchase count. I got my 4 cans and toddled off home. I didn’t feels the need to blow everything I had on a crate of this cheap lager and guzzle it down before running down the street and picking a fight with the first poor guy I met. Instead I got a nice beer at a good price and put my feet up for the night which I haven’t done for a long while.

If the Government were to introduce the same approach as Scotland ( min 50p per unit) then my €4 purchase would have gone up to €5.04. The premium beer will stay the same as it’s price is already above the minimum. So once again the Government hits those of us on the lowest income level and trying to make out that it is for our own good. “Let them drink water” seems to be their attitude but then again we are going to be charged for that as well!

• Brian your contributions are excellent. If the government has its way then only the wealthy will be able to afford to smoke and drink! Then what will the rest of us do?

This is just another mechanism for them to bring in more revenue. Because they know that no matter what SOME will do to get the money THEY will do it. We know that robberies and housebreakins are on the increase as a conseqence of the recession. If the price of tobacco and alcohol are increased then lawlessness will rise.
      What the government are planning to do is nothing more than taking the easy way out. The problem of substance abuse/misuse will not go away until we know and understand WHY poeple do it. But then thats the hard road to take its easier just to jack up the price and say you’re dealing with the problem.

• Great article. IMO government policy like this won’t work given that the people that are supposedly being targetted are probably not for turning. Much the same with banning smoking in cars or sugar taxes to control obesity etc etc. Some people will never acknowledge the reasoning behind nanny state policies, whilst everyone pays.

• Interesting informtion here from the UK.

http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm201213/cmselect/cmhealth/132/132vw46.htm

It is clear that such measures have very little to do with health and much more to do with money … so follow the money trail towards the Pharmaceutical Industry who are acively developing drugs and vaccines to counter alcohol consumption.

• 99% who don’t have the problem,grossly naive what about all of the children who have no power over there parents drinking. If you think alcohol abuse isn’t widespread just ask someone not Irish? or go to AE at the weekend

• Excellent article Aaron !

Stupidity, ignorance and violence reside in the person, not in the bottle. Legislators appear to be confusing desire and habit with dependency and addiction. If you enjoy a drink (sensibly), then it is quite normal to want to go for a one when you have the opportunity. Habit or pattern can evolve when you decide to go out and meet friends on a Saturday evening.

Perhaps the real addiction lies with those wanting to socially engineer society around them to some uniform, puritanical model in their efforts to control us and stamp out our spontaneous wit and desire to enjoy ourselves.

• The reason they are hiking the price of drink ids because the department that is doing it is linked to the health service and they are a couple hundred million in the red every year so this is just a handy way of making up the difference and saying they are doing for the good of the people when really its to make up the shortfall in the health service and this thing of the sponsorship of sport by drink company’s not being allowed any more so are they going to tell FIFA or the urban that they don’t want any thing to do with there tournaments if they have alcohol involved are they going to block sky from showing the European cup or the Heineken cup rugby final in Ireland because of drink sponsorship if they stopped the supermarkets from selling the drink along with the petrol stations maybe then people won’t drink half as much because it would be a hassle to go there it is too convenient Nothing about the price

• I too am a moderate drinker (i.e. four to fourteen units of alcohol per week) yet I know too many people who would define the upper limit of their “moderate” drinking habit as still being able to leave the pub unaided at the end of a Saturday night.

The problem we have as a society is that quite often we don’t see the effects of our abuse of alcohol until it is too late to do something about it. What you may regard as “Nanny State” is a collection of Government departments collaborating to steer us away from alcohol-dependancy. Department of Health see how even “moderate” drinkers are filling up hospital beds with alcohol-related illnesses and injuries (caused by them or by others). Department of Social Protection (or whatever it’s called) see how “moderate drinkers” sometimes become “moderate drug users” or even “heavy drinkers” without noticing. They see that Children’s Allowance doesn’t always buy the milk or bread but does buy the crates of beer. The Gardai and other front-line services see the carnage on the roads from “moderate drinkers” who take a risk of driving the short distance home and wrap the car around a pole. The insurance policies for all road-users are increasing because of “moderate” drinkers.

The State may be coming across as Big Brother only because it represents the interests of all of us in the State, not just the ones who choose to drink alcohol.

At the end of the day, if you really are a moderate drinker, you probably won’t be drinking enough alcohol to notice much of an increase in tax levied against it. The more you drink the more you will notice, and the more you will be contributing towards all of the functions that the State provides to remedy the effects of your drinking (e.g. increased health expenses, etc.).

Finally, pubs and off-licences are selling a greater range of non-alcoholic (NA) beers, yet they charge full-beer prices despite not having to pay beer-tax on them. This greed of the vintners trade loses any sympathy from me when they whinge about how tax, drink-driving laws, etc., are affecting their trade.

• Brian I am afraid that you are exactly the sort of person that I was referring to in my comment above. Don’ get me wrong, I agree with most of what you are saying especially the part about the cost of non-alcoholic beer. I the Government were truly committed to a more effective dink policy they would reduce the price of these products but then again that would be losing them revenue and we wouldn’t want that.

You say “The State may be coming across as Big Brother only because it represents the interests of all of us” A little bit ironic that as in George Orwell’s book 1984 that is the distorted message that he was trying to get across. The State keeps beating you down and taking more and more from you while at the same time telling you that it for your own good and the good of the people.

You further say ” if you really are a moderate drinker, you probably won’t be drinking enough alcohol to notice much of an increase in tax levied against it.” This could be a line straight from the Ministry of Truth, sorry, The Government Press Office. The inference is that only the “bad people” will notice the increase’s while the “good citizen’s” won’t. What will actually happen is that people with alcohol problems will keep on buying regardless of price while the majority who drink responsibly will pay extra and actually thank the Government for increasing the price!! It’s like getting robbed at an ATM and thanking the robber for relieving you of your cash as you felt you had too much money anyway.

• 100% agree on the comment about the price of NA beers. I drink NA a lot when I go out and it does get frustrating that it’s charged at almost the same price as alcoholic drinks. Theres no duty on them so really it just pure profit for the landlord. Mind you, if you check the price in supermarkets, it’s quite close to the alcoholic drinks prices there too. If you are thinking of cutting back on drinking, it’s a great way to go. Eirdinger blue actually tastes quite good, you don’t feel left out, it’s not as acidic as soft drinks and you wake up with no hangover.

• “The highwayman takes solely upon himself the responsibility, danger, and crime of his own act. He does not pretend that he has any rightful claim to your money, or that he intends to use it for your own benefit. He does not pretend to be anything but a robber. He has not acquired impudence enough to profess to be merely a “protector,” and that he takes men’s money against their will, merely to enable him to “protect” those infatuated travellers, who feel perfectly able to protect themselves, or do not appreciate his peculiar system of protection.
      Furthermore, having taken your money, he leaves you, as you wish him to do. He does not persist in following you on the road, against your will; assuming to be your rightful “sovereign,” on account of the “protection” he affords you. He does not keep “protecting” you, by commanding you to bow down and serve him; by requiring you to do this, and forbidding you to do that; by robbing you of more money as often as he finds it for his interest or pleasure to do so; …
      In short, he does not, in addition to robbing you, attempt to make you either his dupe or his slave.”
      Lysander Spooner, The Noble Highwayman, 1867

• I can see the nanny state argument but I don’t think this qualifies as a “war on all those who want to have a drink”. Until you’ve seen a bunch of 17 year olds compete over who can drink a straight litre of vodka faster (and pay less than twenty quid for the bottle) you don’t realise the impact cheap alcohol is having. Look at the cost to the heatlh care system, take a gander at the a&e in Galway, the Mater, CUH, James’ hospital on a Friday or Saturday night. Do a survey of how many of those people bought cheap alchohol before going out.

People aren’t saving money, they’re spending the same amount and they’re drinking more. You complain about hours in which you can buy alcohol but we have some of the most lenient rules in the world. Look at countries like Canada and Sweden where alcohol is expensive and only available from government off licenses.

You say you like your €1 bottle of beer and to be honest I’m fine with that. A €1 bottle of beer probably has an alcohol volume of around 3.5%. But you can buy a 200ml of vodka at 37.5% volume for €4 in some off licenses.

Don’t be fooled into thinking that young professionals and parents who enjoy a cocktail are going to be screwed over if this is no longer allowed. College students and underagers will just have to limit themselves to eight or so €2 shots when they go out instead of downing two naggins before leaving the house.

What the author has completely ignored here is the evident effect that cheap alchohol had in the chaos of the rag weeks in both Cork and Galway including the easily preventable death of a student. It seems to me that almost no research has been done in this article to present the facts of the impact on alcohol abuse in Ireland, the author is using personal (and in my eyes very bloody limited) experience as a basis that we don’t need to introduce minimum pricing. The attitude of “the ordinary man” and the “sure, it’ll be grand” style to articles like this are the cause of the prevailing attitude that anyone arguing for tighter regulation of alcohol is a real dry balls with no mates who spends every friday night playing with their cats. That the people arguing don’t want anybody to have fun.

So don’t get me wrong lads, I’m not looking to shut down the pubs and clubs, I enjoy a drink. Really I do! Nothing better than a pint of a bulmers while watching a match or a glass of wine after a stressful day, and a few shots on a night out, I enjoy them all (except jaegar bombs, I spend all the next day feeling like I’m about to have a heart attack). But the fact is that not being able to buy a naggin of Vladivar for €4 is not going to ruin that any time soon.

• And in relation to the above comment about this move not addressing the Irish attitude towards alcohol – who is addressing the issue? How? What do we do about it? Especially when you can’t say a word about moderate drinking here without first presenting your credentials as a seasoned drinker. Whenever someone talked to us about alcohol when I was kid they never used the realities of alcohol. We were cynical and any adult talking to us acted like not a drop passed their lips til they were 18. They told us bad made up stories about teenagers puking after taking a shot of brandy from their parents stash. It was insincere nonsense.

They don’t tell you what it’s like to feel drunk, they don’t tell you what it’s like to forget a night out, they don’t tell you what it’s like to regret your actions or to wake up in an a&e to be told you’ve been abusing the staff all night. They don’t tell you about waking up with injuries with no idea how you got them (how many people do you know with mystery bruises or a sprained ankle?), they don’t tell you how much it costs to puke in a taxi, they don’t tell you what it’s like to have a hangover, they don’t tell you what it’s like to tell the unvarnished truth and be completely uninhibited and possibly not remember that in the morning.

And most importantly what they don’t tell you is how easy it is to decide that you’re only going to have five drinks only for the fifth drink to impair your judgement enough for you to have another seven drinks.

• @Stephanie. I was not presenting myself as a seasoned drinker. I made reference to never crawling about the place but thats not the point.

I fully agree with you that there is a problem and if i knew how to change the nations attitude I would get into politics.

As you’ve pointed out all the issues associated with drinking too much are rampant and a blight on society. The point I was making was that all of these problems are a result of “Drinking too much”.

The issue of drinking too much is a personal stupid decision and many people unfortunately make it every time they drink.

Where i disagree is pointing the blame directly at the price. Easy fix right. You say people drink twice as much when its cheap which means you may think they would drink half as much when its expensive.

Ironically they will probably drink half as often but drink for drink per night of drinking the same amount. This is because the attidude seems to be why have two drinks every day all week when i can have seven on a friday and seven on a saturday.

Im sure im not the only person in the world that thinks this.

You have rightly pointed all the maladies associated with drinking too much which i see as an attitude rather than directly price related. Im not saying fixing the price would have no effect. Im just saying it masks the real issues.

When I was growing up i was often offered a beer or two at family gatherings, i never felt like it was something i had to jump at at every opportunity. And maybe subconsciously this is why for me personally I can limit myself. European families do similar and alcohol does not seem to be as big a problem.

Im not pretending to have any answers i just feel that price fixing is a convenient way to mask a deeper seeded problem.

• That’s why u put the age limit up to 21 and put in place a proper regulation authority it can’t all fall back on the guards the whole time unless they are going to start recruiting again and what else is there to do in this country for young people at night only go to the pub going to the cinema is a rip off cheaper just to get a couple of cans and drink with the rest of the lads and lassies

• If you do not know what to do or how to live then you are probably a prole. Everybody, except proles, receives instructions on how to live their lives by watching their telescreens. You might consider submitting an application to the Thought Police to find out if you qualify for a status upgrade.

• What utter nonsense. Aaron, we live in a society and unfortunately we have, as a society, a historic problem with alcohol. I am still in my twenties and can confirm that it only seems to be getting worse. If stopping outlets from selling lager for 80c won’t reduce intake of alcohol in your mind you’re deluded. Second to that, before you or anyone accuses me of being pro the nanny state, I’m far from it. I believe, for example, all narcotics should be legalised, however, if you or anyone can not get your heads around the social, financial and health cost that alcohol abuse has on this state, I suggest attending a treatment centre. Selling cheap drink in a society with such rampant alcohol abuse is beyond dopey and you must loath your own society if you’re not willing to pay an extra few euro for a few drinks in order to try alleviate the problem!

• Well said Diarmaid, there seem to be a lot of People on here trying to justify their drinking as though it is some basic human right, I think they already have a problem.

• @mick we don’t make half enough tax on drink either to cover for the health and social costs intrinsically linked to not only alcohol abuse, but just alcohol in general.

• I’m confused now, we should legalize narcotics but restrict access to alcohol through price increases. So who then should have access to narcotics……thode that can afford them? When I ( and others I know) gave up smoking it was the message finally got through to me that they will destroy my health, price had nothing whatsoever to do with it.

• @anthony Wouldn’t life be great if it was as simple as you believe it is. Do you think it’s advisable for a nation with such a historic problem with drink to have outlets selling alcohol for less than the equivalent measure of water? I too am an ex smoker and I agree the health implications made me stop, however, I believe and always have believed smokers should be taxed to the high heavens. If not to discourage them, to pay for the health services smokers will require in the future. Increasing the price is not the solution, I would never say it is, however increased tax is needed to cover the health, public order and general services costs. Increased revenue will also provide us with the ability to educate properly in a bid to really tackle the problem. If you and Aaron want to throw the head in the sand in order to save a few bob on a few cans fair enough, just prob better off not trying to justify it as being anything other that society loathing selfishness.

• Diarmuid, judging people as society loathing selfish individuals isn’t going to do anything to help sell your opinion.

• Diarmaid, you were doing oh so well until you said ” all narcotics should be legalised”! On one hand you want to increase the price of alcohol for people but on the other hand you have no problem allowing the legal sale of heroin, cocaine, GBH, Crack, methamphetamine, PCP and all the other crap that has arguably an even more devastating affect on peoples lives.

Personally I would prefer to go to a party and have a few cheap cans rather than seeing someone stick a needle in their arm and shoot up their heroin fix or watch somebody else climb the walls and chase the purple monkeys swinging off the lamp shade because of their LSD trip.

• @Anthony You are probably right, I just can’t stand people being so selfish about such an issue, when drink is wreaking such havoc across this society. Ppl are happy to let anyone over 18, regardless of background, mental health, general health or genetics have access to 80c per half litre of lager, just so they can save a few euro on their own, regardless of the consequences for the rest of society or the lack of funding for treatment and education. It genuinely sickens me.

@Brian You are dead right, which is the very reason why I would legalise. I am cringing giving this link again but I feel I should explain myself: http://diarmaidtwomey.blogspot.ie/2012/07/lower-crime-and-legalise-drugs.html

• Diarmaid, I drink beer, not cheap stuff, I prefer the artisan brands and I enjoy trying different types.I don’t have a huge disposable income so it’s safe to assume I don’t drink to excess. Therefore the cost of beer does not directly effect me as my consumption is small and I will probably buy it anyway. That being said I still believe that increasing the cost of the 80c can will be limited in it’s effect as the heavy drinkers of cheap brand beers will find a away to come up with the cash, possibly at the expense of something more important in their lives. I totally agree with you that their is a huge problem in society with alcohol and if the cash earned through increased taxes is directly injected into well thought out educational campaigns then I will gladly pay my share. My concern is that this will not happen, our government will increase prices and argue they are dealing with the problem, certain people will still drink to excess and we will all get used to the new status quo while alcohol abuse and misuse continues. I am a parent BTW which strengthens my belief that education is the only way to deal with this issue.

• Diarmaid thanks for the link and I can see where you are coming from but I still think that there are a number of serious flaws in your argument. The first and probably most important one is do we really want to allow even more addictive substances to be released into society? Secondly will it it take the sale of drugs away from the drug gangs?

I am a great believer in personal responsibility and non-State intervention in peoples private lives but allowing the sale of heroin, crack and meth is a no brainer considering their addictivness. To counteract the inevitable need for treatment services you would have to set a price for the sale of these drugs at a very high level. As we have seen with another addictive drug (nicotine) high price levels only lead to criminals supplying the drug at a lower price by smuggling in cigarettes. By legalizing all drugs the theory is that drug gangs will just fold up their tents and move on. That ain’t going to happen.

The net effect of legalizing drugs is that we would create a huge amount of addicts that would over run treatment services that are already at breaking point. Drug dealers would have a much larger market to sell their lower price illegal drugs. The Government would make a small fortune in new taxes but as experience has shown they would not put that into the treatment services that the taxes would/should have been destined for. In a few years time the Government would acknowledge that there is a problem with these drugs and what would their solution be? Yes you guessed it, increase the minimum price for those substances, put more money into the Government coffers and completely avoid any action that might actually alleviate the problem at hand.

• @Anthony I would share your concern re education and what the government would actually do with the funds, but I suppose one would have to trust / ensure those same funds are used in a proactive way. I would have to disagree with you on a fundamental point however. Those most vulnerable to abuse – alcoholics and teenagers / young adults in the majority will have limited cash and predominantly will try to make their money stretch as far as possible when purchasing alcohol. If you raise the prices you are reducing the amount of intake possible for that individual. I do agree with your last point that the main thing to stem the problem is education, however, education, treatment and health services all have to be paid for and I believe drink should be taxed more instead of having a minimum price.

@Brian Some very good points there and most I would agree with. My opinion is by no means a definite solution to the problem. I personally believe drugs should be legalised, however, I would be happy to even hear a healthy debate on the prospect. I don’t think people realise just how many addicts already exist, so while you say we’ll create more addicts, I genuinely believe that would be near on impossible. My logic of legalising is to reduce deaths in addicts moreso than create anything else.

• I especially like that my local Toners was used for the photo although it must have been at 11 in the morning to have it that quiet. Photographer is clearly the one with the booze problem!

• Check out http://www.sligochampion.ie/news/judge-criticises-councillors-smart-attitude-to-sergeant-2626984.html

Pub open after hours, publican* abuses Guards, does not bother to attend court at first and told if you had been polite to Sergeant you would not be here today. So much for enforcing the law!
    Loss of licence and/or heavy fine would go a long way to reducing this heavy drinking but we cannot interfere with old Irish customs can we?!

(*sentenced to 2 years in prison a few years back for defrauding the Department of Agriculture)

• lads give it a rest about the drink problem in ireland jezz, were blamed for the euro crisis, drink problem, not exercising enough, whats next its irelands fault that syria is at war. Theres alot of people in this country who have too much time to think esp in the government, instead of trying to help the VFI and clear the conscience on the fact they are crap at there jobs in the department of health and using drink and drug abuse to justify the huge pay of managers and paper pushers who are golfing and drink buddies of minsiters, why doesnt this minister do what she and the rest of the muppets in charge do what we elected them to do and thats get us jobs, hang the bankers, fight the eu and get the country out of this mess

• Noel O'D 28/07/12 #

This is the second article that I have seen posted on journal.ie opposing Minister Shortalls proposal (the other one was written by the guy from Ash, the smokers lobby) and I have yet to see an article supporting the proposal. I am sure there are many who have the background, experience to write such a piece. Journalism is supposed to be balanced but I often find that the journalism on journal.ie panders to the views of its largely radical left leaning and anti government readership. A bit of balance please journal.ie!!!!

• Think it won’t make a lot of difference to those who can live without it ,and will force those who can’t to cut back or knock it off . It may stop young people getting the habit of drinking too much. Can’t see it helping the pub or revenue situation too much .the money just not there anymore

• I sorry but that article seemed to be no more than a vitriolic rant that resembled a long winded “comment” as opposed to an “article”.

• “Hit the dog with the bottle”, ah good times.

Add New Comment