TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Bullied: Your stories of bullying and its lasting effects

We asked and you told us. Here are your stories about how the pain of childhood bullying can live on.

Christina Finn

A number of tragic incidents in Ireland over the past number of months has pushed the subject of bullying into the headlines. This week (4 – 10 March) the ISPCC is running Anti-Bullying Awareness Week to highlight the issue of bullying and discuss solutions to the problem from the point of view of children, parents, teachers and bystanders.

We asked you to tell us your experiences and we were inundated with responses. Here are your experiences, in your words, of bullying and how its affects live on.

John

I am 32-years-old and I was a victim of bullying from about the age of nine until almost my last day of secondary school. While primary school was manageable, for almost five years one girl made my life in secondary school hell. I just hated school and wondered every day what she would do. While mine was not cyber-bullying, it has the same affect. I wanted to write this, not to moan about what happened, but to educate people about the effects of bullying and how it shapes your life as child or teenager, never leaves you and I can say that for sure at 32 years of age. There are things from that time that you take with you forever, both good and bad. Luckily for me it made me tougher and I am now a determined successful person, but the self-esteem issue never leaves you and pops up every now and then, especially when you visit home and see the bully or when you come across a person with those same traits in your adult life.

Shapes life experiences

What I want to say to people who are bullies is, you have no idea what you are doing to a person and how you are playing a hand in shaping their life and personal experiences. And to the victims, all I have to say is, and I know this for sure now as an adult, the bully is jealous of you. You have something, whether it is a great mind, a great personality, a great family or a great smile, you have something that makes them feel inadequate. You probably don’t believe me now, just as I did not believe my mother at 15, but it’s the truth. There needs to be education in schools on this matter immediately.

Mary

I was the victim of severe psychological bullying in primary school. The school, after catching the guilty party in the act, did not punish the person, but took the view that the bully needed more help than the victim and started to reward her. By the time I arrived at secondary school, the damage had been done, and my teenage years passed in a haze of self-harm and anorexia. Nobody helped, and my college years were a train-wreck. A sitting target for a certain kind of man, at the age of nineteen I fell in love with a controlling and misogynistic college tutor, who convinced me to leave university. By the time I was twenty-two, the relationship ended. And I found myself in a psychiatric unit.

Lose trust
I am harder now. I made a vow that nobody would ever hurt me again. I returned to college, with a new boyfriend who it has taken me over three years to learn to love. Where others are concerned, I guard myself carefully and have learnt how to manipulate people so that I can never be hurt again. My arms and legs are heavily scarred and I take a small cocktail of psychiatric drugs every day so I can’t drink. I have lost my youth, and I will never get it back.

(Image via Shutterstock/Lesley Rigg)

Lisa

I was verbally bullied in school as a child - Fatty, Fatso, Chubby, Greedy, Chubby Checker, Pink Elephant and Fat Heap of S***. From the age of nine, I heard these names without respite. Break times were the worst – I often hid in the toilets to avoid the taunts. I’ll never forget the shame, humiliation and isolation – all I desperately wanted was to fit in.

Apart from being angry at those who did this (what was so wrong with me?) I am angry at myself, for not having had the tools to stand up for myself, for not confiding in people who could have helped, for not being someone else.  I am angry at my teachers, for not noticing or not bothering to do anything. I am angry at my parents, for not picking up on the signals of my sadness.

Paul

Watching the Bullyproof documentary on RTE  brought so many painful memories back.  I was bullied severely at school to the point that I had zero friends. It started when I was ten years old and carried on straight through to sixth year in secondary school. My parents knew but never knew how bad it was, this was between 1991- 1998, when bullying was seen as a rite of passage, something everyone must go through. From the minute I got on the bus in the morning until I was pushed off in the evening, the incessant bullying just chipped, chipped and chipped away at my confidence and what should have been great years of my life.

Taunting everyday

I wasn’t allowed sit on the bus, everyone, (and I mean EVERYONE) was being controlled by seven lads bullying me, they wouldn’t allow anyone share their seat with me or else they’d get a trashing as well, I would have to stand while they threw stuff at me such as lit cigarette butts, sandwiches, apple cores and they also spat on me and thumped me as they passed me getting off bus. Sometimes my jacket would be covered from people spitting on my back as they passed me. School itself was as bad and in class I had to sit alone and if I had to take part in anything with the desk behind me for group work the two guys would repeatedly say ‘we hate you, everyone hates you, your family hate you, why don’t you just die’ over and over again.

I tried ending it all several times taking tablets and loads of alcohol and cutting myself. The first time was in first year, after a guy in the bus had flicked a lit cigarette in my eye and the whole bus was cheering and clapping as I was crying in agony and still no one helped not even the bus driver.

Damaging

Horrendous is a mild word but the damage it has done to me in every aspect of my life since then is astonishing. I suffered severe anxiety attacks for years in college where there was no bullying, but my body was hard-wired to expect it. I find it impossible to trust anyone and found it very difficult to make lasting friendships, until the last few years. When you see how bad people can treat you, why the hell would you make any effort with anyone?

My life is great now – I have a job that I adore and fantastic friends, but not a scrap of confidence once you scratch beneath the surface. I can give a presentation to 100 people but don’t ask me sit in a canteen or a bus as I would feel physically sick. No one can ever understand the power of the mental torment that sick twisted bullies inflict on innocent victims, that have become victims, more often than not, through no fault of their own.

(Image via Shutterstock/O Driscoll Imaging)

Mike

I cracked up in the end and if I’m honest, the anxiety, fear and depression hasn’t left me. I’m 30 now and would say that I have done well enough in life but the bullying has stopped me from doing a lot of things because I have so little confidence. I ended up stopping the bullies by myself but it ruined two years of my life. At least I still have a life though. Others do not.

Joy

Yes I was bullied, I am now 42 and still live with the scars every day. I tried to take my life, maybe as a cry for help, but even then it never helped. Everything in you wanted to scream help but you could never speak. Why? Because you believed the bullies who said what they said and you felt you would never be believed. It’s hard to tell this story but if it stops one more young person dying needlessly I will tell my story.

(Image via Shutterstock/O Driscoll Imaging)

Karl

I was bullied from about third class right through to sixth year. In primary school it was more name calling than anything else. In sixth class it stopped as the bullies had moved on to secondary school and I came out of my shell. I was confident and I felt liked, school was finally a place I wanted to be. It didn’t take long for that feeling to fade away once I started secondary school. I was singled out pretty much straight away. This time it was physical as well as verbal. Every so often I’d be dragged around by the scruff of my neck, my jumper pulled over my head and school bag emptied. My hair, my glasses, my teeth, my school bag, my walk, I could do nothing right. Did it end when the school bell went? No. The main culprit was on my bus home. When he left in sixth year I thought I was free again, but it seemed the torch was passed to people in my class. It was in transition year year I was considered suicide and one day when I went on the mitch with a neighbour, my friends thought I actually did it. I could never go through with it. The emotional scars have faded away mostly and my confidence is still growing slowly. I’m nearly 30.

Emma

I’m 29 now, and was bullied from a young age in school, on and off until I was around 17, just before leaving secondary school. It was all verbal, never once was I physically bullied, but even so, it made me incredibly shy and reserved and left me withvery low self esteem, which I still am trying to overcome. I never told anyone. I was sure it would make things worse. I just waited it out, for all those years. I held an awful hatred for my bullies, and still do today, to some extent. Thankfully, I don’t have that problem any more, but I can’t bear to hear of, or see anyone being bullied, as I know how it can make you feel.

All names have been changed for anonymity reasons.

If you have been effected by any of the issues mentioned and would like to talk to someone please call Console on the service’s 24-hour helpline at freephone 1800 201 890. People can also access the charity’s services by texting ‘HELP’ to 51444, or at its website: www.console.ie. The charity has full-time centres in Dublin, Cork, Galway, Limerick and Wexford, and also offers services in other counties. Its services are open to people of any age.

Bullied: Your stories of bullying in the workplace>

Bullied: Your stories of bullying in school>

Read next:

Comments (53 Comments)

• A friend of mine. Small chap whom people thought they could bully. There’s where they made the mistake. One day in school, the class “bully” started slagging his mother and pushing his head. My friend told him “if he did it once more he would see”. So Mr bully did it again. Well my friend used the stool he was sitting on and nailed him.

• Couple of weeks back a friend of ours told us about a classmate of her daughter .. who’s 9 .. this lovely individual texted a warning to our friends daughter to bring in money or she’d f&@king kill her. Well luckily she told her parents and the parents went in to complain to the head teacher. When the bully’s parents arrived they assaulted .. both verbally and physically .. both my friends and the head teacher. Nice people .. this is the criminal behaviour which bullying promotes in children that they carry through to adulthood.

• I was bullied in secondary school, all verbal abuse, not even physical, but I would’ve rathered to have got my face smashed in everyday instead of the words which just swirl around your head long after the school bell has rung. My self-esteem is ruined but slowly I have got better, mostly just due to time passing by, but you never forget it. I would get physically sick during school weeks, making excuses not to go in just to avoid them for one day. Then you had those days were you think you have nearly gone through the whole day without them targeting you, but they just wanted you to think that, then in the last hour of school they would pick you off *again* Anyway, talking about it only makes me feel worse so I’ll stop. And I can say the bullied can become the bully, it has certainly made me a more hateful person and a more angry person and that’s thanks to bullying.

• deirdre 07/03/13 #

The stories above are devastating. The majority of bullies are twisted individuals. However some are just plain thick/thoughtless and dont realise the impact of their actions. Children should be taught in school to stand up for those kids being bullied by informing the teacher. Everyone loves a hero. Make it uncool to be a bully. Its great to see at long last that people are taking it very seriously

• Our daughter was badly bullied from 1st to 3rd year. She ended up being ostracised and one if her peers (who were prevented from mixing with her by a group of bullies) reported it to the teacher.

We became involved and communicated through telephone and email as we couldn’t be seen at the school. What happened? The school told the bully that we had complained and things just exploded.

While all of you pontificate about non-violence pause for thought/ your child is being assaulted. You cannot protect her. The school cannot protect her. She has to protect herself.

So a placid adolescent has no option but to use violence (which she did Nd which we supported her in) to protect herself.

This kept things relatively quiet for months until one day she was trapped by a mob of twenty or so in a cubicle of a public toilet.

Were it not for her mobile phone I dread to think what would have happened. Luckily she spoke regularly to us about it. She switched schools after her Junior Cert and never looked back.

She is now a well-adjusted adult who we live dearly. She was one of the lucky ones blessed with a guardian angel.

So before you castigate those who advocate violence (not always the solution I would agree) stop and think.

Schools – for all their posturing and policies – are unable to cope. Parents fare little better.

• Let’s not throw our hands up in the air here and whinge there is nothing we can do to help our kids. Bullying is criminal behaviour and offences and has to be treated as such. If the school can’t help then contact social services and report the parents of the bully. If social servise cant/wont help then you have to make a complaint to the Gardai. If they wont help then go to the District Court Office in Aras Ui Dhailigh in the four courts and they will assist you in making an application to the District Court to have a summons served on the individual(s) under the Petty Sessions Act 1851. Even if the Gards cannot arrest/charge the child at the very least they will be left in no uncertain terms the behaviour is under scrutiny and they will be noted by social services. Lets not use euphamisms and call a spade a spade .. this activity is verbal and physical assault and assault causing harm, harrassment, false imprisonment, threats to cause harm and conspiracy at a bare minimum. If their parents dont like the summons then perhaps theyll assault you aswell in which case youll be perfectly justified in either ‘defending’ yourself and your kids and/or summonsing them again. Grow a pair use your head and look after your kids. Do not let them get away with it.

• It’s comforting that the likes of Pat Rabiite fully support peoples right to bully and be bullied. Builds them .. prepares them for the big bad world etc. I was bullied in primary school to the extent I ended up with a fractured Clavical (unfortunately this was long before litigious PI claims) . Predictably it never healed properly and now am left in a situation where I cannot even lie on my left side because the pain can be excruciating. Yeah bullying certainly manned me up .. btw the bully went on to become a Garda .. just sayin’.

• @andy you are an absolute hypocrite…I believe you commented on another article yesterday saying “Bulling is part of life and an opportunity for the victim to grow up and develop as a person”.

• hi all

i went though a bit of it some time back in the “bad old days”. it got to the point where i turned around one day caught one of them lifted him up and smashed him off the ground. he ended up having a panic attack or something and needed to be brought to the hospital. was i sorry no. he didn’t open his mouth again i saw him recently and he is just as nice as pie. there was also one incident years ago where some guy thought it was great fun to take crutches from some girl in school. i came up behind him grabbed the crutch and battered him with it. to all victims of bullying never give in to these pathetic little creatures known as bullies. they are simply insecure little so and so’s who are trying to make themselves feel better by trying to make you feel bad. speak up and tell a parent or teacher. no matter what the bullys say it will help and it will make it better. failing that if anyone lays a hand on you ever fight back pick up a weapon a chair or something and attack them. put an almighty fear into them yah you may lose sometimes but it is better then being walked over by insecure little sh….k’s

• I am 53 years old. I was always a loner as a child. I was bullied. Constantly bullied. Constantly beaten up. Bullied by fellow students and bullied and beaten by my so call Christian Brother teachers. I remedied that situation later in life. I joined the defence force. Learned how to defend, protect and look after myself. I returned to my home town many years later and beat the living daylights out of every single one of them . After, I had no more issue with the effects that bullying had on me. When my sons were to attend the same local Christian Brothers school, I made sure they knew how to look after themselves with regard to students of a similar age. With regards to the teaching fraternity of that school, I left them in no doubt as to what would happen if my sons were treated the same way I was. Suffice to say, they had a pleasant time learning the skills that they would need for life. They were not bullied.

• deirdre 07/03/13 #

Emmet Cahill. I want u on my side if i ever get bullied or know someone who is getting bullied. Determined is the word for u. You are right. Leave no stone unturned

• Bullying thrives in many environments . We’ve been made aware of cyber bulling and face to face bullying in schools. All of it is inexcusable.
    A request went out from the journal recently for people to express their concerns about bullying. I responded. My concern and my examples were related to teachers bullying pupils. I made the point that when it is a case of teachers being the bullies it is impossible to tackle. As a parent you are treated as an unreasonable parent, the pupil has no voice in these situations. I am not anti teacher, I have the utmost respect for dedicated teachers, however, some teachers can bully and when this happens it is so difficult to tackle. I requested a copy of the schools anti bullying policy and on receipt of it I found that it only addressed pupil to pupil bullying. There was no reference to teachers bullying. This amounts to denial that teachers can be bullies and this very denial that some teachers can be bullies is what allows this form of bullying to thrive.

• joe oconnor above is the reason thick headed bullies exist. Because some people are just nice and others are just a**holes. Joe exposes a very clear difference between the two.

• The sad fact is, for many it doesn’t get better. You get better. Stay strong and hopefully you wont have to see the bullies ever again

• Smiley 07/03/13 #

The conventional wisdom is ‘sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me.’ A total load of tripe. Words are more damaging. A quick smack on the bum with a hand (nothing else) gives a quick message as a last resort. The amount of time spent on explaining, justifying, giving time out is disproportionate to the ‘offence’ more often than not. Seems to me that bullies fall into two camps—those who’ve never been on the receiving end of quick consequences of their actions and those who’ve had the crap beaten out of them, physically or verbally, by parents.

• Eamonn i was horrified to read the story about your daughter. You are a great dad and i hope ur daughter has a peaceful happy life. As parents we can only do so much to protect our precious kids. I depend a lot on my Guardian Angel. Sometimes we need Divine intervention to tackle the bullies when the schools/parents are unable to do so. I am so glad that things are good for u now. God bless xx

• Truly horrible. The victims above were let down by the adults in there lives. At least they’re still here to tell their stories, which sadly cannot be said for others. Bullies like the ones mentioned above are sc*m. I don’t however, believe bullies all suffer from inadequacy issues, some just get kicks out of it. They’re the worst of all.

I believe that a little light hazing (banter) can be fun and developing for all concerned, but a cycle of torment like these are horrendous and in no way acceptable.

• I grew up in the days when non-conforming children including bullies were spanked, caned, and strapped across the bare behind. Yes in some cases the use of corporal punishment was abused, but in most cases it was deserved. It taught us right from wrong, simple as that. Since parents and teachers have had their rights to properly discipline their children and charges withdrawn from them, crimes such as bullying have increased. Re-introduce regulated corporal punishment from an early age and you’ve the bullying problem cracked in no time.

• Aleo48 07/03/13 #

We already know all too well how bullies are created, Joe. When you have a suggestion on how to actually put an end to the violent and perverted behaviour they have learnt to justify, I’m sure your contribution will be of real help to their targets.

• I see by the red thumbs that the under thirties anti-spanking brigade are onlineon force today.

• So essentially you’re saying that to stop bullying you use physical violence against children, and dress it up as corporal punishment due to them not conforming?

• No Damien. My way prevents it, it doesn’t stop it. I gather you’ve never had your bum smacked?

• So by using violence, you’re preventing violence and bullying? How does that work? Kids have always acted the maggot and taken the piss. That’s the way kids have always been. I do agree that kids do need some kind of structure and discipline.

But there’s a difference between having your bum spanked and “spanked, caned, and strapped across the bare behind.” There is NEVER a need to use an object to discipline someone, especially a child. The second you need to use an object then you move from discipline to assault. It’s that simple.

You’re an adult, how about you act like one. Not to mention remembering that as an adult, you’re supposed to show your kids how to behave and act like a grown-up and behave in a responsible manner. Not that if someone acts in a way you don’t like, use a weapon on them until they start behaving in a way you want.

Then again, your way seems to have worked great in the past hasn’t it? Everybody who received it has turned out to be a perfect saint, and treats everyone with respect and never bully anyone, don’t they?

And who said i never had my ass smacked as a child? There’s a difference between that and using an object to do it.

• Joe I can give you the name of a good psychtherapist who’ll help you own you rpain and trauma and won’t require you to take it out on others .. btw those who can think as opposed to simply hit are not all under 30!!

• No Emmet, you’re grand, thanks. I’m fine as a person, successful in business and able to retire in my early fifties. My son and two daughters are also successful career people and I confidently suspect my six grandchildren will be the same. I don’t impose on anyone else what I said in an earlier post, I merely stated my own opinion of what happened in the day. I wish you all the very best too.

• @joe
      violence breeds violence.

• Not necessarily. When all other avenues have been exhausted it may be the only option.

• I used to get caned with bamboo, the only thing it did was make me not trust my parents. It destroyed my relationship with them and it’s only been repaired since my late 20s.

Kids are not very good with empathy, it’s a trait that needs to be encouraged and nurtured – so making the bully understand what it feels like to be on the receiving end (without bullying them in return) is more constructive than just hitting them.

• Everyone used to call me plum face back in school and my bag was filled up with ketchup on a number of occasions.

That was before I slept with the principle in 4th year during my work experience which I did in the school shadowing her for a week. I can tell you no one called my plum face after that!

Jurassic park!

• deirdre 07/03/13 #

Xx

• deirdre 07/03/13 #

Unable to post comment

• deirdre 07/03/13 #

Dylan. Those bullies will get the karma they deserve. So too will u. Keep the faith.xxxxx

• Toughen up. Thats why us from the southern hemisphere always beat the crap out of your wussy whimpy rugby teams here. Like your commentators keep saying -we bully you. Damn right.

• Alice 09/03/13 #

We all have to learn to stand up to bullies because we will meet someone in life who has power over us. At the moment that is the banks. So though the stories were sad each person has been steeled by fire & has learned to the only way to stop a bully is to stand up to them from the start. That will stand to them through life.

Add New Comment