You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AP/Press Association Images

Opinion Sony has capitulated to terrorist demands – it will have a chilling effect on freedom of speech

Pretty much any nefarious tin-pot dictator can pay hackers to go do a job for them. Will the people of the free world just throw their hands up in surrender?

IT HAS BEEN a long week for terrorists. In the highest profile events, fundamentalist Islamic murderers killed 132 schoolchildren in Pakistan and one of their ideological brethren brought fear to Sydney and ended the lives of two innocents there.

It can therefore feel trite to throw the word “terrorism” around when discussing the Sony hack and its corresponding fallout. Though there have been threats made against human life, nothing credible has happened there to put it in the ballpark of outrages we regularly see from those who are enemies of the free world and civilised peoples.

Nevertheless when we consider the aims of terrorism – to change behaviour through fear – the Sony hack, an act of cyber terrorism that has been linked to North Korea, has been wildly successful. Without actually having to fire a shot, the bellicose regime in Pyongyang has managed to puff itself up and send a shiver of fear through the entertainment industry in the west, and also the hearts of pretty much any organisation with an internet connection.

Not alone has Sony decided to pull a movie from cinemas, but rival Paramount Pictures has banned cinemas from showing “Team America: World Police” in its place for fears of a reprisal. A Steve Carell film to feature North Korea that was in pre-production has been cancelled. The chilling effect of the hack on the entertainment industry, which is one of our key cultural institutions and a bastion of free speech for good or bad, has been immediate and drastic.

In effect, it seems the world’s most repressive and vile government has managed to export censorship and fear beyond its own closed borders through an act of cyber terrorism.

What exactly happened?

In the hack, a group calling themselves “The Guardians of Peace” (GOP) took out Sony’s internal computer network for several days, and pilfered a treasure trove of materials. They stole several previously unreleased movies and stuck them up on the internet. They released thousands of emails and documents that have either revealed trade secrets at Sony Entertainment or embarrassing details of behind-the-scenes conversations between executives, producers and actors.

The group also released quite sensitive personal information about Sony employees, including medical records of individuals and their families. Sony workers have received direct and personal threats from the group or its affiliates.

The GOP then became quite obsessed with the Seth Rogen film “The Interview”, which was scheduled for release over Christmas. The comedy centres around two journalists granted an interview with Kim Jong-Un, the paunchy leader of North Korea, who are tasked by the CIA with assassinating him. This Interview had previously attracted the ire of the regime, who promised a “resolute and merciless” response if the film was released (though, to be fair, they promise merciless responses to most things.)

The GOP invoked the 9/11 attacks in a public threat telling moviegoers not to see the movie. Responding to this pressure, cinema chains and eventually Sony themselves pulled the film from its planned release.

Do we know for sure who’s behind the hack?

It’s difficult to say for sure if the Sony hack was directly carried out by the North Korean regime. It is believed that they have the capabilities and they have launched several high profile cyber-attacks in the past, so this fits their modus. In one rather fiendish attack on South Korea, the hermit kingdom hackers released an Angry Birds type game that made its way onto tens of thousands of smart phones. The North then activated malware code in the game and gained access to over 20,000 phones and the data on them.

It is possible that the attack was carried out by an independent group who then sold the data on to North Korea, but it is difficult not to see their fingerprints all over this event. Some of the code found to have attacked Sony’s systems was written in Korean, for example.

The North Koreans like to make hay out of posturing. Be it firing missiles over Japan, running underground nuclear tests or sinking South Korean ships; the North Korean regime likes to ramp up pressure just far enough that they score a victory without tipping into a war they would quite obviously lose.

Cyber warfare is an evolving area and government sponsored hackers have scored some audacious wins. Perhaps most famously up until now was the Stuxnet worm that was used to set back the Iranian nuclear program by several years. These kinds of attacks are a lot more accessible and likely to score success than the old methods, like Libya’s support for terrorists who would blow up the odd airplane back in the day. Certainly cyber-attacks are a lot less suicidal than trying to take on the conventional armed forces of a country like the United States.

Coordinated defences over cyber attacks are vital 

Sony might take some heat for having poor cyber security, but in an attack from government sponsored agents I believe there is a wider national security question at play for nations of the civilised world. We wouldn’t expect Sony to put up an effective missile defence shield if they had a factory in range of conventional North Korean attack. So too I believe nations need to consider their defences against cyber-attack in a coordinated fashion, rather than leaving every company and individual to sink or swim by themselves.

What Sony and others do bear responsibility for is their response to acts of terrorism. The company and the wider industry seem to have folded like a deck of cards. George Clooney told Deadline that not a single person in the entertainment industry would sign his petition calling for a firm and resolute response to the North Korean sponsored attack. Clooney speculates that nobody wants to stick their head above the parapet and get smacked by the same troubles as Sony, as the hackers are probably looking for a follow on success to build upon what they’ve already achieved.

This will have a potential chilling effect on industries beyond entertainment. What of journalists or politicians thinking of criticising the regime? The spectre of having some hacker come and try to prise open your personal email or company or party records might make you think twice. Beyond North Korea, we could see the likes of Russia – which has been suspected of perpetrating cyber-attacks against the likes of Lithuanian newspapers – taking action against countries and companies involved in sanctions against the country.

Letting the terrorists win

Pretty much any nefarious tin-pot dictator can pay hackers to go do a job for them, and every indication now is that the people of the free world will throw their hands up in surrender pretty quickly.

This is unacceptable. We cannot allow the repressive, murderous and vile regimes of this world change one bit our behaviour, our freedom to speak and to express ourselves. Bad enough they keep their own peoples under thumb; I will not live here in the free world according to the rules set down by an overweight dictator in a land of starving peasants.

More attacks may come. We’ll just have to suck them up and not provide oxygen to them by leering over every leaked detail. Films like “The Interview” should be broadcast far and wide, just the same as folks should pile back into Lindt cafés in Sydney and children should be schooled in Pakistan. We must never give in to vile people.

Aaron McKenna is a businessman and a columnist for TheJournal.ie. He is also involved in activism in his local area. You can find out more at aaronmckenna.com or follow him on Twitter @aaronmckenna. To read more columns by Aaron click here.

Hackers have scared Hollywood into not releasing Seth Rogen’s new North Korea film

Here is what we have learned from the Sony hacks so far

Cinemas now can’t even show Team America: World Police

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

51 Comments
    Mute Flynn.
    Favourite Flynn.
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:04 PM

Are ya alright hun? I’ll txt ya later xx

Mute Angela O'Riordan
    Favourite Angela O'Riordan
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:27 PM

@Flynn.: I find myself in agreement with this young man, nobody enjoys Christmas, they just pretend they do. I would like to see it become a purely secular holiday and cut out all of the buying of presents nonsense.

Mute Whingy McWhingy
    Favourite Whingy McWhingy
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:37 PM

@Angela O’Riordan: sorry Angela, you are so wrong!

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Favourite Stephen Coveney
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:41 PM

@Angela O’Riordan:
    for me it is a secular holiday…or at least ill take the parts that i like from it and make it so. but i really like christmas…it’ll take a while but cant place your new account with the previous ones

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Dec 21st 2017, 8:02 PM

@Angela O’Riordan: a secular holiday gives rise to more commercialism and less of what Christmas is about.

Mute Finn Mc Cool
    Favourite Finn Mc Cool
    Dec 21st 2017, 8:24 PM

@Angela O’Riordan: It is a purely secular holiday, the ringing of cash tills has totally drowned out the church bells. All worship is conducted in the cathedrals of commerce, aka, shopping malls.
    Sentimental guff is everywhere.
    Damn all the money grabbers.

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    Dec 21st 2017, 8:39 PM

@Angela O’Riordan: Speak for yourself. I love Christmas with family and friends. Good food, great company and the craic when we’re all together is brilliant. You might not like Christmas but that’s just you. Miserable sod.

Mute Denis Mc Kenna
    Favourite Denis Mc Kenna
    Dec 22nd 2017, 1:49 AM

@Angela O’Riordan: Totally agree Angela.I gave up buying presents a number of years ago.Not everybody was happy with my unilateral decision.But on the other hand I continued to accept presents graciously ,making all the right responses and expressing my gratitude for the thought and consideration that went into buying me unwanted and unneeded presents.But I thought, who am I to deprive people of the opportunity of expressing their love and affection for me.I could have been a bore and mention that the true meaning of Christmas has been lost in this orgy of crass materialism. Yes I know you probably think that I show great strength of character in my reticence but come Stephen’s day I hope to return these presents, for cash, and put the money towards a good cause..me.All well that ends well. Can’t wait for next Christmas.

Mute Frank Lee
    Favourite Frank Lee
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:07 PM

Fair play, finally an article that cuts through the corporate feeding trough that is xmas

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:18 PM

@Frank Lee: So I’ll return the Playstation Pro, yeah?

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:42 PM

@Frank Lee:
    dont forget “Love Day”, its only around the corner

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:45 PM

@Frank Lee:
    He’s spot on – so commercialised (and Halloween, Paddy’s Day and Easter not far behind).
    It’s nice to get presents for kids, but most adults in my family have agreed to make charity donations instead of giving each other presents – charities need the cash far more than I need more shit that I don’t want!

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:46 PM

@Stephen Coveney:
    Oh, I forgot Hallmark day.

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Dec 21st 2017, 8:03 PM

@Frank Lee: or you won’t celebrate Christmas

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:17 PM

Looks like someone could use a Christmas hug

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:11 PM

Happy Christmas Eve Eve Eve Eve

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:14 PM

@David Dickson: ps please don’t have children.

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:13 PM

Seriously Barry. Your picture says it all. Cheer up mate. Not one iota of positivity in that Column. Why get yourself more stuped even by penning it. Also trying to bring everyone down with you. You seriously need to sit down and watch a Christmas Carol. Follow it up with Home Alone 1.. Merry Christmas Barry.

Mute Frank Dubogovik
    Favourite Frank Dubogovik
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:20 PM

@The Viking: “it’s a wonderful life” wouldn’t even work for ol misery guts

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:25 PM

@The Viking: a legend of an article, couldn’t agree more. A period of false and frenzied cheer.

JJ
    Mute JJ
    Favourite JJ
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:28 PM

@Misanthrope: Sure we might as well have a bit of cheer at some stage. Life’s too short to be grumpy

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:31 PM

@Misanthrope: As a pretty staunch atheist myself, I found it less than amusing – if I work on the assumption he was trying to be satirical.

I’m not certain he was though, and atheism doesn’t need any more wannabe James Deans any more than the Church needs more Holy Joe’s.

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:45 PM

@The Viking:
    hope you meant Muppets Christmas Carol

Mute Benny
    Favourite Benny
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:22 PM

Well, this fella is about zero craic.

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:38 PM

Quite a caustic little rant, like something a moody teenager would put together. I think people like this secretly love Christmas, it gives them one more opportunity to have a good aul moan, and it lets them broadcast to others how much of a ‘unique’ individual they are. They’re not part of the mainstream, they’re too cool.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Dec 21st 2017, 8:28 PM

@O Swetenham: No, I’d say he doesn’t enjoy it. Probably because this time of year isn’t enjoyable for him. Why not take the man at his word?

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Dec 21st 2017, 8:42 PM

I’ll do that. This article is filled with assumptions about other people, but when I make one about the author, I’m in the wrong. Go figure.

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 21st 2017, 9:14 PM

@O Swetenham:

Give it a rest you moaner

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Dec 21st 2017, 9:22 PM

Ha! Have a wonderful Christmas Casper.

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 21st 2017, 9:51 PM

@O Swetenham:

Many happy returns xxx

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:08 PM

…was… this satire?

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:19 PM

@Gerard: I think somebody pissed into his cornflakes.

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:44 PM

@David Dickson:
    whats wrong with pissy cornflakes? extra nutrition

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:36 PM

while i know this was meant in a satirical way dont try the disassociation technique

“We are all familiar with the myth of “spending time with your family”, an organisation so hostile that we move out as soon as we can afford to rent”

I like my family, i like christmas day with extended family. try replacing “we” with “I” in your sentence. (or I am instead of we are all )

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:13 PM

”or who believes that wearing themed socks is an acceptable substitute for having a personality”
    How dare you insult the Taoiseach like that .

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:46 PM

@Ken Hayden:
    i think he was aiming at justin. trying to start an international incident

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:35 PM

@Ken Hayden: Hasn’t Gerry got rubber duck socks as well?

Mute Séa Graham
    Favourite Séa Graham
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:51 PM

Don’t do Christmas either. Haven’t done in over 20 years. Still find it easier to reply “yes” when some one asks if I’m all set for it. Not Christian and don’t buy in to the consumerism

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Dec 22nd 2017, 12:14 PM

@Séa Graham: Some Christians don’t have Christmas either, there is no mention of Christmas in the Bible. It coincides with the winter solstice and is now-a-days just unbridled consumerism.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Dec 21st 2017, 7:10 PM

It’s the season of giving , of looking out for your elderly neighbors and helping the homeless and poor. Try thinking of someone else besides yourself.
    If you were my son or daughter with that attitude I wouldn’t want you home for Christmas, you would ruin it for everyone else.

Mute Shannon Mcg
    Favourite Shannon Mcg
    Dec 21st 2017, 7:25 PM

Completely agree with everything in this article.
    People are going “this is obviously satire” but it really isn’t. This is how people feel.

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Dec 21st 2017, 7:30 PM

@Shannon Mcg:
    not me, i like christmas

Mute Shannon Mcg
    Favourite Shannon Mcg
    Dec 21st 2017, 11:56 PM

@Stephen Coveney: well good for you then! I don’t recall asking if anyone actually likes christmas. I distinctly recall saying other people agree with the article, me being one.

Mute Peadar O'Comain
    Favourite Peadar O'Comain
    Dec 21st 2017, 7:16 PM

I love Xmas. I love the pre Xmas beerin, the Xmas jumpers, the shopping, the carol services! Christmas day with family, food, prezzies and crap TV is just the best. Start your Xmas day with the Goal Mile after the kids have opened santa presents…….it’s all just such a happy time in the depths of winter. I’ve borrowed about €2K that I won’t have paid back until June but I don’t care!

Happy Xmas Eve Eve Eve Eve everyone!

Mute Boxer Alice
    Favourite Boxer Alice

I agree with a lot of what Barry says. Like it or not what he says is true. Xmas is only for kids . Nothing else about it appeals to me , except for Xmas music and lights. The rest is just consumerism and boring overall!!!!

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Dec 21st 2017, 7:07 PM

@Boxer Alice:
    everything about it for me has nothing to do with consumerism (although giving presents can be construed that way!! )
    the fact is most people i know will wake up, be happy, exchange gifts, and then will play games for the day, tell funny stories of people that are no longer here and eat till we drop.
    which part of that do you find boring or not appealing

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Dec 21st 2017, 8:37 PM

@Boxer Alice: I thought it was refreshing. I think a lot of people would love to have a relaxing few days in.

Mute Boxer Alice
    Favourite Boxer Alice
    Dec 21st 2017, 8:18 PM

Why do most people have such a problem with this man and his opinions on Xmas. He speaks how he feels and as I said earlier I agree with most of what he says. Each to their own. I have had some wonderful wonderful times when my children were young but Xmas is different now . It holds little interest for me. Overspending, over drinking and everyone expected to feeling wonderful about it all, as though it were compulsory, which its not!

Mute Adrian™
    Favourite Adrian™
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:09 PM

Troll level- expert! Well done!

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:16 PM

It’s alright ma, I’m only a militant atheist.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan

The anti-Santa.

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:39 PM

@Niall Sullivan:
    haha i cant get dougals expression out of my head. though i see nothing in his article complaining about religion? you seem to have seen the last two lines and inserted an extra part so you could complain? i might be missing something?

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:58 PM

@Stephen Coveney: I wanted to give him the benefit of the doubt and see it as a satirical piece, but I don’t think it is. I think he’s serious, and tbh, a bore who tries too hard.

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Dec 21st 2017, 7:12 PM

@Niall Sullivan:
    oh ya, not inviting him over anyway. but fair play to him for putting that piece out there because there are loads of people that have no fondness of this time

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 21st 2017, 9:16 PM

@Niall Sullivan:

I have a pretty good feeling your a boring old shite yourself

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:35 PM

Interesting Article Barry, happy Xmas to you and your family.

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper

The comments here are disgusting, this is a guy writing about his experience of Xmas you may not like it but it’s just an article, remember every thing you write there is a person reading, put your egos to bed and be respectful to the author or don’t bother reading his stuff.

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:58 PM

Don’t be naive. If you put anything in the public domain you can fully expect people to pass judgment on it. Besides, the author knows what he’s doing. An article like this is designed to garner negative reactions, an article about how wonderful Christmas is would not have got much again attention. It’s all about dem views and clicks.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Dec 21st 2017, 7:11 PM

@Casper: Disgusting? You have a weak stomach. Nothing said beyond a mild slagging (at worst).

He put himself out there, and got feedback. Is it compulsory people only agree with it and like it? And no, every time you write there isn’t a person reading, unless you publish it.

Mute Myk_Oval_Balls_nRyt
    Favourite Myk_Oval_Balls_nRyt
    Dec 21st 2017, 8:30 PM

@O Swetenham: Well said, think of the AdSense Casper… THE AdSense!!!

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden

Get a life you muppet .
    How old are you now ?
    I missed the bit at the bottom , he writes and edits a satire blog .

Mute Abe Brennan
    Favourite Abe Brennan
    Dec 21st 2017, 7:57 PM

Bet he is much sought after for parties and other social gatherings.

Mute Andrea Purcell
    Favourite Andrea Purcell
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:54 PM

Barry why can’t you be like everyone else and stop having an opinion backed up by facts? You’re ruining it for all the rest of us! :p

Mute Trish
    Favourite Trish
    Dec 21st 2017, 8:54 PM

I think your view of Christmas would change rather rapidly if you had to spend every minute of it on your own.

Dec 21st 2017, 6:25 PM

Ba humbug! God you sound miserable! And god help the poor people you inflict yourself on at Christmas! And I’m an atheist!

JJ
    Mute JJ
    Favourite JJ
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:30 PM

@Deborah Behan: How do you know if someone’s an athiest? They’ll tell you without asking.

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:37 PM

@JJ:
    vegan…thats vegan.

Mute Peter Hinchliffe
    Favourite Peter Hinchliffe
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:38 PM

@JJ: At least they don’t knock on your door or take over the local school to do it. ;)

Mute Myk_Oval_Balls_nRyt
    Favourite Myk_Oval_Balls_nRyt
    Dec 21st 2017, 8:26 PM

What a nihilistic outlook that im sure extends beyond Christmas? like everything, It is what you make it. Merry Christmas Dude.

Mute Sam O'Neill
    Favourite Sam O'Neill
    Dec 21st 2017, 7:25 PM

Won’t be inviting you to the Christmas party

Mute Louise Ryan
    Favourite Louise Ryan
    Dec 22nd 2017, 12:20 AM

Oh i love this article

Mute Damien Carr
    Favourite Damien Carr
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:22 PM

Supported by Lidl

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Dec 21st 2017, 11:09 PM

Looks like you are purposefully looking for the negative. Good luck to you Ebeneezer. Hope those three Ghosts visiting you don’t get the bejaysus scared out of them from being with you. Even the Grinch would tell you to either cheer up or shut up.

Mute Whingy McWhingy
    Favourite Whingy McWhingy
    Dec 21st 2017, 6:39 PM

Loving Christmas and to hell with all your mood hovering nonsense. Go into a dark room, shit the door and leave the rest of us out to enjoy ourselves please

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:33 PM

@Whingy McWhingy: What the door???

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:00 AM

He’s okay he lives in the “Meadow of Honey”!!!!

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:32 PM

Commercialism and greed are the keys now to Christmas. People would like it more if it went back to its roots of a spiritual nature, a time of peace and relaxation?
    No, it has been kidnapped and hijacked by people who only want profits and tell people that happiness is caused by spending too much and that has become Christmas. Do what others do and try to out-do them at it?