This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 20 °C Friday 25 May, 2018

Reilly hails "new phase" as HSE new interim board announced

Health minister James Reilly says the new HSE board will change the relationship between the HSE and the Department.

Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

MINISTER FOR HEALTH James Reilly has hailed what he says is a new phase for health services in Ireland after announcing the new interim executive board of the Health Service Executive (HSE).

The new board, which takes up the roles vacated by the previous board when it resigned en masse at Reilly’s request two weeks ago, sees senior figures from the Department of Health appointed to the board in a bid to streamline the HSE’s overall management.

The interim board, which will be chaired by outgoing chairman Dr Frank Dolphin until a full replacement is appointed, will also meet more frequently than the previous board.

A Department of Health statement further added that the ‘direct relationships’ appointed by senior officers from the Department of Health and the HSE to the same board would form “the bedrock of the present and future connection” between the minister and those who run the national health services.

Though Reilly has previously indicated his desire to abolish the HSE, the Department said that the people being appointed to it would be a “pivotal” resources in future.

In tandem with announcing the new board, Reilly said he had asked the Secretary General of his department, Michael Scanlan, and the HSE’s chief executive Cathal Magee to review the senior management roles within both bodies, in a bid to reduce duplication.

“I want to develop strong and coherent governance arrangements for the entire healthcare system which will continue to operate after the abolition of the existing legal governance structure,” Reilly said.

The new interim board is as follows, with two vacancies to be filled in the coming weeks:

  • Dr Frank Dolphin, Chairman
  • Mr Cathal Magee, Chief Executive Officer, HSE
  • Mr Michael Scanlan, Secretary General, Department of Health
  • Dr Tony Holohan, Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health
  • Mr Paul Barron, Assistant Secretary, Primary Care & Eligibility, Department of Health
  • Ms Bairbre Nic Aongusa, Director, Office for Disability & Mental Health & Citizen Participation, Department of Health
  • Dr Barry White, HSE National Director, Clinical Strategy & Programmes
  • Dr Philip Crowley, HSE National Director, Quality, Risk & Clinical Care
  • Ms Laverne McGuinness, HSE National Director, Integrated Services – Performance & Financial Management
  • Mr Brian Gilroy, HSE National Director, Integrated Services – Reconfiguration

Who are the HSE board members James Reilly asked to resign? >

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Gavan Reilly

Read next: