TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Councillor wants republican artwork pulled from local exhibit

Fine Gael councillor Mark Cooney has proposed that Shane Cullen’s ‘Fragments sur les Institutions Républicaines IV’ be removed from a council-owned art gallery in Athlone.

The artwork in question replicates the text of messages smuggled out of HM Maze Prison (pictured) by hunger strikers in 1981.
Image: Geograph.ie via Creative Commons

DISPUTES HAVE ARISEN in Athlone over a councillor’s request that an artwork featuring excerpts from letters to and from Republican prisoners in the Maze Prison be removed from an exhibit in the town.

‘Fragments sur les Institutions Républicaines IV’, an installation by Shane Cullen, features 32 ‘comms’ – written and often brief messages – that were smuggled in and out of the H Blocks where Republican prisoners were being housed in 1981 at the time of the hunger strikes.

The piece has previously been exhibited at the Irish Museum of Modern Art, and is currently on show at Athlone’s new Luan Gallery of contemporary art which opened six weeks ago.

A motion before this evening’s meeting of Athlone Town Council, however, requests that the artwork be removed.

The motion has been proposed by Fine Gael councillor Mark Cooney, and asks Athlone Art Heritage Ltd – the company behind the gallery, which is owned by the council – to remove Cullen’s work “as it is offensive to so many people”.

Cooney’s proposal had has been criticised by Sinn Féin councillor Paul Hogan, who said it was an attempt to censor history.

“Facing up to the legacy of our country’s history is a responsibility we all share, no matter how uncomfortable some aspects may be for some people,” the SF councillor said in a statement. ”Censoring history is never the way forward.

“Any attempt to remove Shane Cullen’s work will irreparably damage the reputation of the Luan Gallery. Other artists opposed to censorship in the arts will not want to exhibit here.”

Shane Cullen is known for his work dealing with republicanism and the Northern Ireland conflict; another of his best-known works, ‘The Agreement’, includes the entire 11,500-word text of the Good Friday Agreement, presented in a 55-panel sculpture.

Mark Cooney is the son of former Fine Gael justice minister Paddy Cooney, who was reported by Sinn Féin’s ‘An Phoblacht’ newspaper to have struck one of the panels with his crutch and demanded that it be removed from the gallery when attending the gallery’s opening in late November.

Poll: Do you think publicly-funded galleries should display politically controversial art?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (74 Comments)

• I for one world love to see these messages. Im not sure if i would class them as art but they certainly are a part of Irish history which should never have any aspect good or bad hidden. You learn nothing from something you can’t see.

• Maybe we could look at the history of Paddy Cooney, Mark’s father. The Justice Minister for a significant period of the 70′s. He has many dishonourable mentions from that period, and especially in relation to the constitutional crisis that forced President o’Dalaigh to resign. O’Dalaigh, who was once Chief Justice regarded the right of the President to defend and adhere to the constitution to be inviolable. The Govt. had an other view. His tenure as Justice Minister can best be described as when the Gardaí ran amok, and undesirable elements in them were promoted rather than sacked. Many a Guard that has been since disgraced traces his time back to Cooney’s Justice circus.

The Cooney’s should go up to East Belfast and throw stones at the PSNI with the other dinosaurs. Complain if they like but the days of censorship and our way or the highway are over in this country and not a day too soon.

• Art is supposed to push boundaries & stimulate discussion.
    Newsflash……Art congregates in Art galleries, and immature actions reveal more about the perpetrator than the piece.
    I personally feel art should be much more than sanitised depictions of daffodils tossing in the wind.

• I don’t think the argument here should be about whether or not art work of a political nature should be displayed in publicly funded art galleries. But instead should be about the dangers of politicians deciding what is and what is not appropriate for public consumption

• It is an attempt at political censorship, a tradition much practiced in Red China, the former Soviet Union, the former East Germany etc etc. I thought we had ended that sort of thing in this country.

• “Arms Length Principle”…..hence the creation of the Arts Council to distribute public money to artists, who can be free to create pieces on any subject matter. Whatever your personal views on pieces, we better not get to a stage where prejudice dictates what art can be displayed…art by it’s very meaning is to promote discussion, debate and conversation. We do not want to live in a nanny-state…

• I think the question for the poll is a bit off putting. I for one, couldn’t care less about “republican art” or public gallerys displaying politicaly charged art, but I’m against censorship and have a real pet peeve towards people who use “being offended” as a valid excuse to censor.

• This is the problem when cultural institutions have no autonomy. They should be able to preserve heritage and history safely for all peoples and not their responsibility to do this strangled by bureaucracy and small minded personal agendas.
    Seems with FG we are only allowed to talk about what they say is acceptable. But they don’t own us- we own them! They should get on with the job we unfortunately employed them to do while we continue to use our freedom of speech

• By Mr Cooney’s measure we should abandon Beal na Blath as well. For once Hogan seems to be on the right track.

• abandoning fine gael/labour/ff would be a better track to be on

• TopDog1 07/01/13 #

The Cooney’s would have no problem with that. The likes of them would have shot Collins if he had survived the civil war. They are only getting over 1916 “stab in the back” now. Don’t even mention the Civil war.

• He is absolutely right to request this art to be taken down. This is insulting and glorifying terrorism. The 1800+ and their families of which so many of them innocent civilians would find this glorification disgusting.

• Your very own tricolor is a glorification of terrorism so demand thats also taken down

• TopDog1 07/01/13 #

Cholly appleseed. Just for the record about 80% of those killed by the PIRA were combatants or working as part of the state war machine, ie Judges etc. That is not much good to them or their families or the 20% civilians. Neither was the fact that 90% of those killed by the Loyalists were civilians or that half by the security forces were as well.

• Glen 07/01/13 #

TopDog1 those figures are incorrect – consult the CAIN website.

• Glen, if I recall correctly they’re broadly accurate per CAIN: can’t remember the exact figures offhand or find the link, but it’s there or thereabouts.

Whole thing is a disgrace – Cooney’s “think of the children” comments after were particularly cringeworthy. Apparently the exhibition’s had 1,200 visitors to date, and 3 complaints.

For a while I thought Cooney might be trying to whip up some national profile ahead of a run in 2016 with this stunt, but the more I hear of him, the less I believe he’d have the brains for that.

• Wouldn’t expect anything better from a Blueshirt

• TopDog1 07/01/13 #

It is a sad story. An old man walking around art Galleries hitting exhibition pieces with his crutches. Angry that people that he felt he could walk over and force in to the mud are no longer knowing their place. It would be more in line for Mark to give him a cup of complan in the evening and keep the poor dear from wandering lest he hurt himself or others. Such hatred and bitterness all his life must leave a worn out soulless shell of a body. A waste.

• This proposal is coming from the same party that sold the 6 counties off in 1925 for a write-down on British debt. The boundary commission that was set up in 1922, which was supposed to reintegrate parts of the North back into the Souths jurisdiction was shelved by FFG in return for a write down of debt that the British Government put on the shoulders of our state as it emerged in 1922.
    I am genuinely not surprised that FFG will do whatever it takes to continue revising our history, to avoid the reminders of the sell-out of the Irish people living North of the border.
    Michael Collins, if he had not been murdered by FF, planned to reunite the Island through a ‘guerilla war’ campaign similar to the one that emancipated the 26 counties. He supplied arms and training to the guerillas immediately after the 1922 agreement with Britain. It was has aim to use the peace agreement as a means to allow the Irish side rearm and renegergize.
    FFG were happy to see him killed, as they could abandon the North to the decades of civil rights abuses that they faced. It left FFG a free hand to start robbing the people in the South.
    Shame on FFG.

• By FFG do you mean Fianna Fail Government? Just wondering.

• Yawn Cal. I see that chip on your shoulder has increased in size…

• Toorkeel, if people are allowed to drag up the past of Sinn Fein then they should be allowed to do it about every political party and their past mistakes.

• The Free State government is a disgrace that is nothing more than a british puppet thats wrapped up in its own corruption and ineptness.Why should we be ashamed of anything the IRA have done?Brits arent ashamed of 800 years of slaughter,they have statues of Cromwell in England and he is on their list of Greatest Britons,they arent ashamed of the firebombing of Dresden nor the massacre of Indians,they arent ashamed of Bloody Sunday and readily shower praise on the British Army.

• I agree Jason but its the whole jargon and lingo like, sell out of the “6 counties”..boundary commission, free state, North of Ireland (He never refers to his home as Northern Ireland)..etc etc, this is what I’m referring to…the ever expanding chip…

• No doubt Councillor Cooney and his ilk would also like to see Picasso’s Guernica removed from the MRS in Madrid.

• What is Mark Cooney afraid of? It’s a clear attempt to return to political censorship. People like Mark can’t accept the truth because it shines a light on them and how they have done absolutely nothing positive for this country. The reason the people of this country are so afraid to stand up for themselves is because of the likes of Mark Cooney making them feel bad about their history and using scare tactics in order to gain political favour. I’d love to ask Mark Cooney, exactly who are the people this artwork offensive to? Absolute rubbish!!

• Great news cooney’s plea for art to be removed has being defeated in Athlone tonight. Thank God for a sensible decision by Athlone Town council.

• Censoring is anti democracy, whether its newspapers television or art, is Fine Gael attempting to impose the North Korean system in Ireland,

• Kevin – You mention that Sinn Fein keep loosing in the south?

Sinn Fein will have a bigger slice of the next election than FG will have. They had their time and they have been a complete shambles.

• I highly doubt that. Sinn Fein get temporary sugar highs when people are angry, desperate, and are sick of a highly incompetent government. If we look at the last 60 years; people just keep switching between FF and FG when they are mad at the other one. Most people didn’t vote for FG/Labour because they really believe in them. They voted because they did not want FF who caused the situation or the rhetoric of loony left-wing/stuck in the past Sinn Fein. They feel absolutely no hope and choose the less “corrupt”/ “irritating” party in their opinion. That’s all it is, most people would love a new party to enter the scene.

• Thankfully Rob the electorate in the Republic can see through the SF manure PR machine no matter how many goodies they offer. This always and ever will be the case. SF remind me of the wolf in Little Red Riding Hood….try and lure you in to a false sense of security and then they pounce….

• Ah I think u are mixing then up that more FG style my friend. SF deliver on what they say. Lying to get what they want is Gilmore and Kenny style !

• toorkeel 07/01/13 #

SF deliver on what they say….bombs and bullets perhaps..
      Cheers for that Bobby RIP, I needed a laugh

• And hiding behind a picture of a donut with a fake name says a lot about you.

• These “Westbrit”, “Blueshirt” terms are so irritating. The Sinn Fein supporters always use it along with overly patriotic whackjobs who promote this “real Irish” agenda which is basically anyone who agrees with them. I love how they claim that Sinn Fein represent the people (obviously excluding the people they savagely murdered/buried who got in their “way” or were “West Brits”) why do they fail in all the elections down South then? Why did the Irish people elect the so-called “West Brits” “Blue Shirts”? Clearly so-called “genuine/real” “Republican” “values” don’t appeal to the majority. But then again this is all part of the “West Brit” conspiracy to tamper with polls and most people in Ireland are “brainwashed” because they don’t put Gerry Adams on the same pedestal as Christ himself. Of course!

• Well said Kevin

• Well Kevin you didnt get an Irish passport because the irish govt asked nicely.You have a very niave view of your own history,a product of the british pr machine if ever there was.

• “Well Kevin you didnt get an Irish passport because the irish govt asked nicely.”
      -True, but the people who sacrificed their lives for my passport had a majority backing by the South. The reason they had a majority backing is because all the elections on an independent Ireland were overruled/ignored by London against the wishes of the Irish people. Northern Ireland has the option of leaving the Union when the majority of people in the 6 counties wish to do so; the South was never given such an opportunity. Saying that Northern Ireland is “occupied” or inferring that it has no right to exist is extremely hypocritical. I am no fan by any means of Ulster Loyalism as it is based off of ethnic/religious supremacy and the state of Northern Ireland treated Catholics as second-class citizens. But I can’t help notice the contradiction of a number of people who like to mock the people in Ulster who call themselves “British” but at the same time like to point out how we are the “authentic” or “real” Irish. What makes someone “real” Irish? Gaelic last name and follower (or background) of the Roman Catholic Church? What about all the Ulster-Scots with Scottish Gaelic surnames? The Anglo-Normans who started British rule over Ireland 800 years ago; most of their descendants are Irish-Catholics. The Fitzgerald’s and Butler’s being the most famous of them. If Connacht decided tomorrow by a majority vote that they wanted to become an independent state, they have every right to do so. The Troubles helped promote this artificial British identity. The PIRA didn’t exactly win hearts by shooting people coming out of church, placing bombs under school buses and in random locations, executing people they didn’t like, murdering Catholics who join the army/police force or anything in government. Essentially the PIRA is the result of anti-Catholicism/second class status but it never justified a barbaric murder campaign in my opinion of so many innocent people. The reality is that in the end the PIRA lost. Is the ROI and Northern Ireland, united? The only time Ireland was ever united was under Brian Boru and the Act of Union. Why is that? Our history shows that we have never been a very close/united people, which is sad.
      “You have a very niave view of your own history,a product of the british pr machine if ever there was.”
      -I have no interest in arguing/insulting you, Robert. I can see you obviously have very strong views along with strong prejudices judging by your comments on other articles. I thought it was interesting that you said:
      “Why should we be ashamed of anything the IRA have done? Brits arent ashamed of 800 years of slaughter,they have statues of Cromwell in England and he is on their list of Greatest Britons,they arent ashamed of the firebombing of Dresden nor the massacre of Indians,they arent ashamed of Bloody Sunday and readily shower praise on the British Army.”
      -In my opinion: We shouldn’t be ashamed of the IRA (1919-1921) who got independence/freedom for the South. But we should be ashamed that certain individuals murdered/terrorized Southern Protestants during/right after independence. We should be ashamed of remarks by Valera saying “this is a Catholic country for a Catholic people”. We should not be ashamed of PIRA because they never represented the Irish people in the first place. But a person should be ashamed if they supported the PIRA’s murderous/brutal campaign. From my understanding the British government has apologized a number of times, for even the famine which affected our ancestors. Britain’s cruelty to Ireland didn’t justify/validate mass murder in Northern Ireland. The constant back and forth blaming/tribal mentality is the reason why Northern Ireland is the way it is still. Everybody is more concerned playing the “victim” and doesn’t want to acknowledge the grievances of the other “side”.

• Disagree with you there. Soon as those 2 Dinosaurs Gerry and Martin go it will be a different party that will have appeal to voters across the board.

• If your referring to people like Mary Lou McDonald and others who have no connections to murders/baggage. Then yes I see growth for Sinn Fein but not until the dinosaurs retire and the new generation takes over. Which will happen eventually. But that doesn’t change the fact that people want a new/fresh party as an alternative to all the ones that exist now; there all horrible.

• If they’re to have any hope they need to get rid of that clown McDonald too!!

• Of course art, regardless of the message once it’s legal, should be displayed for everyone to make up their own minds. But it seems contradictory to refer to Fine Gael as ‘Blueshirts’ – which they are not but had an association with historically – and at the same time to object to reminding us of the murders carried out by Sinn Fein Associates in the much more recent past

• TopDog1 07/01/13 #

Mark Cooney seems to forget the irony that his father was the Justice Minister during a period of our history when Govt. abuse of power and contempt for the constitution and legal rights ran wild. A period rightly described by some historians as being like a South American tinpot dictatorship. Control freaks always react badly to being challenged. Angry at the hoi polloi not knowing their place. That is why the hatred spans generations and will continue to.

• FG are so anti Republican its embarrassing for them, what next will they ask that all Republican items be removed from our museums. The Councillor Cooney would be better off asking his father what he knows about the 1974 MI5 bombing of Dublin & Monaghan.

• Sea saw sea saw

• Republicans fought for civil rights of Irish people who were being tortured and killed for no reason houses burned down. We could do with a few brave men like that now ! REVOLUTION

• I thought you were dead

• Sinn Fein will deliver if you look at their policies there not just spouting bull crap so they can get elected to be honest they not worried about elections they are concerned for Irish citizens, they are put forward fair alternatives and not one of the rats in there would even look at, you think any human being if they taut there was an alternative to cutting carers they would at least thoroughly look at it ! As for bombs will ye give it a rest that is the past it was a war for our fellow citizens basic rights! Bobby Sands was an intelligent inspirational man who DIED for his country . There was innocent victims like there is in any war but the British shed a lot o innocent Irish blood before the IRA ever began so stop now there was a peace process I will talk with anyone about problems they have with Sinn Fein politics but just give the rest a rest for now.

• toorkeel 07/01/13 #

Bobby, after reading that comment…I’m at a crossroads in emotions, do I laugh or cry…I’ll do both at once….cry laughing! If you are the average example of the SF voter, our little Nation is safe for eternity from ever having to look at those bandits in camouflage drag in Government. May you Rest In Peace Mr Sands.

• Why is he concern with things that didn’t happen in this republic?

• Damn right take it down. Who wants to read this crap or even remember the bad old days of them trying to kill and injure. They were locked up for a reason and we shouldn’t be glorifying their murdering.

• blueshirt unionist

• Browns cows if we don’t know our History and learn from it then the blue shirts will tie us up in bondage again. The truth of how these people suffered at the hands of the Brits should never be forgotten or hid away. Mark blueshirt Cooney should be doing more constructive work for Athlone than going on a rampage about truthful art. I’m proud that the Luan Gallery has this work on display. The suffering these men and their families endured should never be forgotten or hid away. Hang on would you and mark Cooney like to put a picture of Maggie Thatcher up so that ye can praise and thank her for what she brought to our country?

• A snapshot of what the pictures look like might give people a better indication if they should be removed or not in your poll…

• If it was a loyalist maze prisoner that wanted to hang his pals notes in a gallery you would all be up in arms. Funny how people you and the rest of the hate mongers on this call everyone a ‘West Brit’ & Blue Shirt’. Ireland will never be free or at peace as long as bitter bigots on both sides live on and spew their evil hate venom.

• @Browns
      I think you are a bit over the top my friend
      Yes if it was Loyalist prisoners they should stay up aswell
      Art is expression of freedom

• TopDog1 07/01/13 #

Browns Cows. The UVF “Brigadiers” were invited to a State function in Dublin to meet Betty Windsor. There wasn’t a peep out of any one. Nor would anyone give a toss if there was a Loyalist letter up in a gallery. Indeed I have seen historical exhibitions that have had materials from both sides.

• Seem to recall loyalist Michael Stone on the Late Late show a few years ago talking about his “art” and the sky didn’t fall in. Mind you he has been locked up again since so maybe not the best example.
      Fine Gael arrogance however seems to be consistent over the years (am I allowed say that? ) ;-)

Add New Comment