Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Sean FitzPatrick released without charge

Sean Fitzpatrick leaving Bray Garda Station this afternoon
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

DISGRACED FORMER BANKER Seán FitzPatrick has been released without charge following his arrest yesterday morning.

The former head of Anglo Irish Bank had been arrested as part of an ongoing garda investigation into alleged irregularities at Irish financial institutions.

A garda spokesperson said that a file is being prepared for the Director of Public Prosecutions.

The one-time chief executive and chairman of Anglo Irish Bank was being held in Bray Garda Station under section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act.

Fitzpatrick had arranged with gardaí to attend the station yesterday morning.

He was arrested as part of the ongoing investigation being carried out by the Garda Bureau of Fraud Investigation and the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement.

It was the second time that FitzPatrick has been arrested. In March 2010 he was arrested as part of the inquiry into alleged financial irregularities at a financial institution.

Read more: Former Anglo chief Seán FitzPatrick arrested in Garda banking probe

Read Next:

Comments (40 Comments)

• Ann Illing 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Probcly a bit icy on the golf course this morning ! Im not a fan of his but at least he didnt feck of to Florida.

• Niamh Byrne 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Woohoo!! Happy days (:

• Eddie Condon 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

It’s were he should be!!!

• Dearbhla Carmody 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

How about a nice cell in mountjoy?

• Frank Buffets 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Section 4 to hold him for 24 hours to discuss the Christmas raffle and what dinner arrangements are in place this year. They already made such a mess of pursuing him under criminal investigations that they have resorted to the companies act which will impose a slap on the wrist.

• Joe Bloggs 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Poor fella, he probably missed the first tee off this morning. Isn’t that punishment enough.

• Eire 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Political policing ! With a Budget to die for , for the poor of this country & the rest of it’s not your fault people.., by their own actions this Government are starting to feel the heat ( not that many people can afford that luxury on this cold day), their next step is to sell us out to the elite in Europe to save the Euro & more importantly more Bond Holders…so what best to distract Joe Public ? Arrest Seanie! Let’s fill the Sunday papers with speculation & tripe , sure later today we might press charges but most probablt let him go at an arranged time ( for the cameras) & while our right wing press who for decades by & large where in bed with the Government their reporters are been fed SPIN to fill the broad sheets on Anglo while the Sunday World will tell us what other criminal Don wear’s a pink thong & mean while this country under the stewardship of Fianna Gael & I can’t believe I’m typing this LABOUR are sealing our faith & digging our graves which is now ironically the only construction work going on in this poor broke empty country ….Fitzpatrick is just a side show…. he was flirted & courted with by our so called country’s political elite , Media in the good times like the French once did this Government will give us a public execution of a banker & tell us to eat cake at the same time Great Timing !!!!

• Paraic Simpson 10/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Your spot on Eire.

• Dave O'Shea 10/12/11 #
      Report this comment

We have Jedi minds because I would have written that piece verbatim, now if we can get say, 10,000 more , we should at least set up our own political party and start telling the pseudo elite of this country and Europe to do one , Ireland can self sustain and give its people a good standard of living but this won’t happen until we get the right people in government … My first action as a TD would be to cut wages to 60,000 a year and vouch expenses… A small gesture one might say but a bloody good start to show Ireland we mean business and care… What I say to the politic now…. Let THEM eat cake.

• Stephen Downey 10/12/11 #
      Report this comment

What odds of any actual charges? The authorities have a habit of arresting these guys when there is a bad news story to do with the banks. They arrested that other Anglo fella on the eve of paying 700million in Anglo bonds.

• Dermot Purcell 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Can you imagine if this was a real investigation and seanie was in there spilling the beans on all the political elite the judges the accountants the bankers , what is the chance that a lot of these people are still in power

• Gavin McDonnell 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Probably looking for a donation to the Garda Christmas party

• Barry Healy 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

the problen is dave they ARE eating cake… and caviar and lobster and steak and washing it down with champagne with their overpaid “consultants”! We need fewer TDs, fewer senators ( although i dont agree with abolishing the seanad, dont trust the country not to put ff back in someday and dont trust then with sole control, dont trust.any of them actually!!) fewer councillors and local authorities!

• Derek Durkin 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

They won’t charge the bankers cause if they do they will have to arrest the politicans and regulators like they are doing in Iceland. Same circumstances there execpt in Ireland we like having criminal scumbags calling the shots. Iceland had a revolution, we gave them bonsues and whopper pensions.

• Graham Gallagher 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Probably.one of the gaurds looking for banking advice on their pensions..!!

• Ciara Harvey 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

No shit Sherlock!!! Could’ve saved urself an article no one expected otherwise!!

• Glyn Carragher 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

What a surprise. Well it looks like he must be innocent then.

• Paul Reilly 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Great to see that you have such faith in a professional Police organisation getting to the bottom of the matter.. They’ll all pay in due course… Including that wa*^*r Fitzpatrick

• Noddy Mooney 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Don’t be too surprised if he fecks off in the near future.

• Ciaro 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

3 years later, no charges. Are the Gardai stupid or is there something more sinister going on here?

• Gis Bayertz 10/12/11 #
      Report this comment

He’ll never be charged, he’ll probably get a couple of k’s now for his hours in custody!

• Eire 10/12/11 #
      Report this comment

@Ciaro are the Gardai stupid I think not , it’s the political handlers of the Gardai who I guess are pulling the strings . In the media during the week it was spun that the Gardai have handed over a lengthy file to the director of public prosecutions a file on Seanie Fitzpatrick a number of months ago & I guess the DPP are sitting on it until otherwise directed differently …..NO INDEPENDENCE HERE,, but it’s nothing to the file or info Seanie has on Politicans , Judges , solicitors , accountant , pension firms , media financial interests & the like ……it’s the best game of poker if it was not so serious! Like Capone the elite here in this country including Guards had their hands & noses in the trot of one Seanie Fitzpatrick …..Fare game if all these people pay their debt to Anglo & we burn the unsecured bond holders & the Tax Payer can go back to paying taxes for resources the people & this country really need .

• Titus d 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

“Make sure you are around for the next budget Seanie” said the guard when he left the station

• Adam Magari 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Let’s be clear about one thing: no one can accuse the authorities of rushing this investigation…

• Tara 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I believe the gardai will nail the little arrogant obnxious little runt eventually…they obviously have something they’re working on.There are some people on here who love a rant..you’re posts are too long.and boring..yeah Eire.that’s you love.zzzzzzz.

• Dermot Purcell 10/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Tara do not hold your breath seanie has enough ammo to bring a lot of people with him they would have to build a huge prison if he started talking

• John Murphy 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

”Listen Seanie we don’t want you going around spilling the beans. There’s some very important people worried about what might come out of your measly little mouth, so keep your trap shut and your lip buttoned and off home with you now. Oh! and by the way. Try to look a little less arrogant when your passing those hacks outside. There’s a good little man!”

• Report this comment

Jail is too kind for the likes of him. It means we’ll have to pay for his food, clothing and accommodation for the rest of his life. His assets should be seized, and he should be forced to sleep on the street… just like countless people that his bank impoverished.

• play more music 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Arrested by appointment. Very civilised. Now guard, just a moment so I can check my schedule. Thursday out, playing golf with the lads. How about friday? Can squeeze you in round 12 ish. Great. See you then!

• Paul M Brady 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

arresting him seems to be a PR exercise. they could easily ask him questions in his own home.

• jimbo 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Really amazing how this SH1TEhead can get away with what he has done and walk out free with a big grin,goes to show how lenient we are in this country he should be locked up and have the key thrown away,he will probably celebrate with a round of gold in marbella over the next few days laughing his head of saying to himself ha ha CATCH ME IF YOU CAN!

• Donal Lynch 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Don’t jail that f** ker , make him live on €188 per week! That would kill him , there are people out there doing just that as a direct result of what he did to this country and three years later the Gardai have to make an appointment to question him ? Joke

• Randy savage 10/12/11 #
    Report this comment

(Garda to Govt:) we have him and we can do him weve got the evidence let us at him.
    (Govt to Garda:) ah no lads just leave him be too many skeletons in the closet, do what your told now lads and remember who’s in charge.

Add New Comment