TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Seán Quinn bankruptcy annulled by Belfast High Court

Once Ireland’s richest man, Quinn’s declaration of bankruptcy in the North has now been annulled. The bank formerly known as Anglo Irish is pursuing him for billions owed in loan repayments.

Quinn outside Belfast High Court in December.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

BELFAST HIGH COURT has annulled the bankruptcy of Seán Quinn, once Ireland’s richest man, following a successful challenge by the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation (IBRC) which was formerly known as Anglo Irish Bank.

RTÉ reports that the court ruled in IBRC’s favour and annulled the bankruptcy. The bank had argued that Quinn’s centre of main interest was in the Republic of Ireland and not in the North as the businessman – who at one stage held substantial shares in the defunct bank – had argued.

Irish Independent legal editor Dearbhail McDonald tweeted from the courtroom that IBRC had also won their costs against Quinn.

He had filed for bankruptcy in early November claiming that he had no option but to do so after he made huge losses on complex share investments – known as contracts for difference – with Anglo Irish.

IBRC has been pursuing Quinn after it took control of his business empire last year. He owes some €2.8 billion to the bank from loans he took out during and towards the end of the economic boom.

In November he was ordered to pay more than €1.6 billion of this money at the Commercial Court in Dublin. He later acknowledged he had made big mistakes during the boom years that contributed to his current troubles but argued: “I was wrong and thousands of others were wrong too”.

Over the weekend, his two daughters were quoted in the New York Times as saying there was a “vendetta” against their father with people “intent on dragging him down”.

‘Vendetta’ against Seán Quinn, say former tycoon’s daughters

Seán Quinn: ‘I made big mistakes’

Read next:

Comments (115 Comments)

• John 10/01/12 #

In the words of the philosopher Nelson Munce, ha, ha!

• Excellent. I hope that serves as a warning to the other potential bankruptcy tourists like Ivan Yates that you can’t just bugger off to the UK, shaft people you owe and come swanning back a year later with a clean slate.

• The Irish People want a new bankruptcy act and a proper financial watchdog with sharp teeth. We do not want to go to another country for fairness – the select few from the US and EU f:;:;ked things up for everyone but where are they now – fat pensions and the good life – we need a revolution and heads will roll again !

• ha love the ignorance of his daughters ,claiming there is a vendetta against him.Its called justice.Its what happens when you borrow more than you can pay back….

• One can reasonably admire the past achievements of Quinn while disagreeing profoundly with his business and investment decisions in recent years. The overturning of his bankruptcy is a rare and welcome victory for IBRC and seemingly common sense. At the moment IBRC is bogged down in what passes for a legal system in the Ukraine trying to recover assets for the Irish taxpayer. It is hard to fathom if any or all those Big People who have seen their notional fortunes, mainly now we know to be ‘borrowed’ fortunes, really care about the collapse in living standards being inflicted on the country as a result of their businesses tottering loans which Cowen-Lenihan judged necessary to cover with the Bank Guarantee. The natural question that arises now us whether IBRC will challenge the bankruptcies of other Celtic Bubble Barons in the UK?

• Can you believe this guy, he goes on national tv saying how he wants to pay back every cent of the 2.8 billion he owes due to pure greed and then runs up north and files for bankruptcy. Any person who goes to another country to declare himself bankrupt leaving huge debts behind him/her should have their citizenship of this country revoked and their passport cancelled. Pure scum the lot of them !

• You need money to make money! If they take everything how can he ever repay?
      Leaving us all no better off and still paying for the unregulated greedy actions of Anglo and all those it did business with seems to be what every ones wants however!
      How did he become successful? How does anyone become successful and create jobs? They take risks and chances that their adventure will pay off. Name a succesful company that hasn’t worked like this. ffs

Where’s all the hatred for the Anglo bankers who did the exact same thing with Sean Quinn, they give him a product (Loan plus INTEREST) (Risk taking no less) which is why they were so happy throwing out millions to every Tom Dick and Harry with a builders permit. He is being used as a a scapegoat here and by the massive negative reactions to him, I see very very little aimed at Anglo the true culprits who facilitated his inability to pay ceasing his assets along with the other 30 odd billion in loans they leant out willy nilly with only the thought of the juicy interest it would make them.
      His debts hang on us now but don’t think for a minute the saints at Anglo/IBRC give two shits about getting this money back to lessen our debt, this is only balancing their books while still charging their ridiculous rates and wages they are still interested in.

• Quinn was consumed by greed no more no less and we and our children are all now paying the price for this. He created jobs… Don’t play the same record over and over in his defense. He wasn’t worrying about jobs when he took the risks; that was the last thing in his mind. It is sickeningly obvious he was trying to pull yet another stroke by availing of more favourable bankruptcy laws in the north. As for that comment from Derry Linn hoping that his/her dole would come directly out of a particular taxpayers direct taxes; if that doesn’t sum up a twisted mind I don’t know what does.

• lee, its called reality and the reality is that the people of Ireland will be paying for the tens of thousands of jobs that will be lost as a result of the personal vendetta and exercise of deflection by ANglo

• What about Ray Grehan? He seems to be getting off very lightly.

• Good news. I wonder if he will appeal if he can?

• Good News, Are you cracked. The greatest creator of jobs this country has ever had, has just been prevented from ever creating another job. The worst thing is they are doing it “for the taxpayers”. Let me be quite clear this injustice was not done in my name.

• let him pay who he owes here clean up all his mess here then let him start again all he likes

• Your great creator of jobs managed to pull down his own companies by his own actions and greed (as he admitted himsel in an RTE interview). His actions and his alone are the reason jobs are going in the Quinn group. That and also the fact that a fair chunk of the Quinn groups business is in supplying to the building trade seeing as the building trade is tanked its no surprise jobs are going. He is also the reason why everybody in the RoI who takes out any insurance (except health insurance) is now paying a 2% levy every year with no end date in sight. Me I’m very pleased that Quinns attempt at bankrupcy tourism has been refused. His supporting documentation (lease) to say his centre of interest was in NI wasn’t even witnessed.

• The government should be very ashamed of themselves today. In a recession with 400,000 plus people on the dole, they have just rubberstamped that the greatest creator of jobs EVER in this country, has been prevented from ever creating another one. Kenny, Noonan,Burton a pile of teachers, couldnt create a job with a paint by numbers manual. Thought ye were elected to do the best for the people of this country. Today ye failed us all.

• Caitriona, great hyperbole! But answer this question … should he pay his debts, Yes or No?

• Lads,could we arrange to get a picture of him in handcuffs and get the media to run with it for the News headlines. It might help in this campaign of terror and stop him form telling what really happened in ANglo.

Better still, could we arrange to run him over with one of his own lorries and tell the world that he was complicit in his own demise? We have to stop him talking one way or another. We should waste more taxpayers money on additional propaganda first and they might fall for it that he fell under a lorry. They already believe that we are doing all this to recoup money for them Ha Ha!

I must demand a big bonus for all this extra work trying to finish him off. Oh well, Michael Noonan believes
      anything we tell him.
      Next, we have to stop the big case. That would finish us off. We are desperate.

Anglo Gurrior.

• @Caitriona Reilly If I magic’d up a few billion through shady dealings then I’d create a few jobs too.

• Caitriona – of he created so many jobs in this country why was he trying for bankruptcy in the North? I think your support point has proven why it’s only fair that it was annulled today.

• So Catriona, greed is good? Get a grip.

• Jesus Caitriona, sounds like you are talking about Kim Jong-il or something. Control yourself.

• Seems like the great man is STILL creating new jobs by hiring PR people to write nonsense propaganda comments for him. Shame that taxpayers in the ROI will end up paying for them.

He lost all respect from me when he had his wife tell a court of law that she was an IDIOT in order to cheat her way out of debt.

Scum.

• John, your name suits you as you are a turkey and a stupid one at that.
      you are talking nonsense about the taxpayers having to pay for Quinn PR. You are mixing Quinn up with ANglo. That is their pattern.
      Secondly, having followed the story carefully, Sean Quinn did not ever suggest that his wife tell the court that she was an idiot..

SHE IS NOT AN IDIOT. SHE IS A WELL RESPECTED WIFE AND MOTHER AND JUST BECAUSE SHE DOES NOT, AND NEVER HAS WORKED IN THE BUSINESS, THIS DOES NOT MAKE HER AN IDIOT. YOUR COMMENT IS AN OUTRAGEOUS ASSAULT ON EVERY WOMAN WHO DEDICATED THEIR LIVES TO THEIR HUSBAND AND CHILDREN.

The idiot here is you and the people who believe the Anglo propaganda that we are all paying for.

• @3christian3 – ok so you are not a Quinn PR lackey? Must be a coincidence that since you created your Twitter account that all four of your tweets are in defence of Quinn, right?
      As for your “OUTRAGEOUS ASSAULT ON WOMEN” comment – his wife claimed in court that she was a housewife with no business sophistication and a claim of UNDUE INFLUENCE by her husband could be advanced in her case. This was despite her being a director of 63 Quinn group companies in the Republic, 28 Quinn companies in the UK and secretary of about ten companies.

If she is not an idiot then she is a liar.

Sean Quinn claims to be a bankrupt, so who is paying for Quinn PR? That’s right, Anglo/IBRC. And who owns IBRC? Yep, the taxpayers.

SCUM SCUM SCUM

• Turkey, just because you are being paid for PR does not mean that I am. I can guarantee that I am not being paid by anyone and nobody asked me to just tell the truth.

I know it may seem amazing to you to do something without being paid for it but some of us have morals and beliefs and are not out to just feather our own nest. That is what will win in the end because the money for ANglo propaganda will run out and we will still be here.

• Fantastic news. A cute hoor stopped from pulling off another stroke. Incredible that some people still support him after all that he’s done. Incredible that they want him to get his hands back on his company after taking it to the casino and betting it all on red.

• You will always have those simpletons pleading “Awww leave him alone, poor Sean”. Doesn’t know the meaning of the word. As if he needs the sympathy of commoners.
      Sure there are people who mourn the passing of Stalin, on his anniversary. Some people NEVER learn.

• Kevin,you are the simpleton as you soak up the Anglo propaganda like a sponge. Why dont you ask the question,
      “What has the current strategy recouped to date for the taxpayer and how much of our money has been squandered on futile legal costs and PR by Anglo?”

Quinn submitted a proposal that guaranteed that the taxpayers would not be burdened in this matter.How does the current the current strategy compare with what was on offer. Dont suppose you have an answer.

• Distraction lads. Anglo or should I say the bank formally known as Anglo are trying to distract you.

2 weeks now to another “flush Irish taxpayers money down the toilet moment” payout to bondholders. Anglo trying to play the good boys here is making me feel nauseous.

WAKE THE FEIC UP!!!

• brilliant serves the greedy man right….if he wants to declare bankruptcy do it in the south were he does buisness …the cheek of the man trying to do it in the north….its about time that these greed mongers got their comeuppance…i still bet hes not struggling like us normal folk….when you borrow money you have to pay it back….shame on you mr quinn

• Are people forgetting the only thing that brought Sean Quinn to where is today was pure and simple “Greed” when is “enough” enough for people like Sean Quinn,whatever way it happened the ordinary person is paying for his greed ie Taxs and 2% Non Life Insurance Levy.

• i totally agree and its amazing how some of our fellow citizens actually support this greedy man….he gambled and lost …thats his tough luck…hes not a poor man …i say again if we the normal people have to repay our debts than why the hell should a power hungry man like quinn be allowed get away without paying his….suffer the consequences of your own actions mr quinn ….do gooders cop on to yourselves…

• Good news for a change. Glad to hear that a precedent has been established to prevent cowboys from ROI border-hopping to avail of shorter bankruptcy terms and sanctions. Hope that IBRC also pursue his naive wife and publicity seeking family too.

• I call fake commentators on Caitriona Reilly and Derry Linn.

• Doyle 10/01/12 #

Donal, Sean Quinn has lots of support. Calling people fake is a pile of bull. It is Anglo who accepted in open court that they look at these sites. Is it possible you are one of those guys on a 200 or 300k salary?

• Nothing fake about being sacked Donal, and just for the record I was sacked by Anglo after 14th April. I hope my dole payment comes directly from your taxes this month.

• Doyle – clicking through to your Twitter account leads me to believe you are also a fake profile created solely for the purpose of adding supportive posts about Sean Quinn.

If anyone wants to do a Google search on any of the Derry Linn and Doyle profiles you will find only supportive references to Sean Quinn and to nothing else. The Caitriona Reilly profile has a few recent comments on a few things,

I wouldn’t normally do this but it is clear to me that you are all quoting from the same fact sheet.

• Very good Donal, if somebody disagrees with the Anglo spin, then they are obviously fake. How arrogant! You picking up an Anglo payslip each month?

• Seconded, if you’re going to set up profiles just to make it look like people care you could at least make the profiles look like they’re used. A profile picture helps, as does a wee bit of information, make it up. Its really not that difficult. I hope this helps in your future astroturfing campaigns.

I’m just wondering if you’ve been paid or are you a Quinn sitting behind those accounts.

• Sam Smyth you are also a fake. And btw, if you search for me you will find I have commented on plenty of other things besides your boss Sean Quinn.

Lads – all your FB profiles look exactly the same.

Very few Journal commentators have the level of privacy you have.

• Here here Donal. I received a lot of personal insults for voicing my opinion on the SQ affair yesterday. Whatever about constructive arguing – resorting to insults is a bit rich from fake profilers and supporters of a man who owes 2.8bn to the Irish people.

• Pffft, amateurs. If you’re going to troll then learn to do it right.

• Good, now let’s see him pay up!

• Restores your faith in the judicial system!

• @Donal McCarty Derrylin is a small place in Co. Fermanagh near the border with Cavan. Also hometown of Sean Quinn and former headquarters of his concrete operations.

• Great news. The chancer Quinn who has done more damage to Ireland than Oliver Cromwell should have to pay what he owes.

• alan 10/01/12 #

my faith would be fully restored in the system if proper reparations were made. the annulling of the bankruptcy should only be the first part of the addressing of what people like quinn have done. surely, it can’t just be left at this?

• People like Quinn. He created 10,000+ jobs ruduce insurance costs for the public. Yes he then speculated in a bad investment in a bank not being properly regulated.
      We need more like him

• @Jay: You think he created lots of jobs for peoples benefits, or so that his company could grow and he could become richer and richer? He was after the money. Even the spiders in my attic know this.

• I’d like to declare the feicing banks bankrupt.

• “job creation” is the new buzz word. Ears prick and everyone praises whoever creates it.
    Creating a job is easy……. Sustaining and growing it is the tricky bit !

• Cpm 10/01/12 #

Classic!

• Misprint.
    I meant to say.
    Anyone For Another Billion Euro Tribunal?

• I agree. THis will be the mother of all tribunals.

• The only ones making money here are the lawyers. Surely Quinn will be declared bankrupt at some stage. This is just dragging everything out. The taxpayer is picking up even more debt. They clearly are trying to make some sort of example of him. It’s all just a game and the taxpayer will pick up the tab.

• Doyle 10/01/12 #

Hmm; and how much extra will Anglo recover? They have already spent €500,000 over turning his bankruptcy. This is a blatant waste of taxpayers’ money, the board of Anglo should be held accountable for this flagrant disregard to taxpayers’ money.
    It’s not about recovering money with Anglo, it’s all about PR.
    And let us not forget, the only reason the taxpayer is on the hook for all of this, is because the geniuses in the Regulators office, Central Bank and Govt, taught it would be a good idea to nationalise the bank; when they knew all about the reckless and fraudulent lending.

• Weren’t they awarded costs by the judgement. Basically it cost Anglo nothing! Says it in the article.

• I wonder who is paying Sean Quinn’s legal expenses in his pursuit of a lenient bankruptcy? That would be us too I suppose…

• Joe his bankrupt with 10k in the bank, Anglo will be paying their own costs, which have been estimated at over 1 million.

• @Caitriona the Quinn family have €500m in property assets abroad which from what has been reported in the courts they are trying their best to prevent Anglo recovering. If he is declared bankrupt here in Ireland then a court appointed receiver can follow the paper trail in an effort to recover that money for the Irish tax payer. If Quinn doesn’t co-operate with the receiver he can be jailed. Seeing as Quinn owes €2.8 billion to the country it makes sense to me that we or the receiver appointed makes every effort possible to get as much of that €500 billion in the name of the Irish tax payer.

• Doyle 10/01/12 #

Kerry, it doesn’t make a difference where SQ is made bankrupt, he had done it himself voluntarily in NI, which is the most cost effective means, until Anglo spent € 500,000 of taxpayers money overturning it. It’s not about a paper trial or foreign assets; as SQ hasn’t had any assets in his own name since 2002. Anglo are in charge of the Quinn Group, they can follow the paper trail from there. Overturning a bankruptcy to make SQ bankrupt in the South is a waste of taxpayer’s money, plain and simple. Anglo have done this solely for PR reasons. It makes no economic sense whatsoever, the articles also refers to Anglo be given costs, again a pure PR stunt; SQ is bankrupt how can he pay their legal fees.

• ” it doesn’t make a difference where SQ is made bankrupt, he had done it himself voluntarily in NI, which is the most cost effective means”
      Nothing to do with cost. Only lasts a year, compared to 12 years down here.

” Overturning a bankruptcy to make SQ bankrupt in the South is a waste of taxpayer’s money, plain and simple.”
      They wouldn’t have had to overturn it if he had been honest and declared bankruptcy in the South. SQ should shoulder the costs. Gambling away people’s livelihoods. Monster.

• @Catriona: You really believe SQ has only 10K to his name? Now that’s funny.
      I heard he had to go to the Credit Union just before Christmas, for money for pressies. (joke)

• And You Can Blame It On Quinn If It Makes You Feel Better.

• He’s Not Paying Michelle.

But Thanks To Anglo.

”You” Are.

And Your Bank Account Is Being Drained As We Speak For The Drumm Witch Hunt.

Get Your Beach Towel David

Anglo’s Expensive (Taxpayer Paid) Legal Team Is Bringing You To Justice.

You’re Going To Marbella With Seanie And Fingers.

• *soap opera and scapegoating, I meant

• I am shocked at all the pro anglos on this artical.Anglo & the banks all the banks f##ked this country.They are responsible for the economic disaster that is Ireland. I would think Sean Quinn made some major mistakes & is some what reponsible for some of his problems. The fact that Anglo are involved in this I would say that we are hearing a lot of half truths from them. People like Sean Quinn are the people that will get Ireland back on its feet & a lot of the people commenting are blaming Quinn & holding him fully reponsible for all his woes.This is truly inaccurate. It would do people in Ireland to remember who provides their jobs & comments like its easy to create a job & hard to sustain it come from people that know nothing about job creation.To sustain a job you must first create it.

• Post Edited And Re Posted as Original Post Was Taken Down (Possibly Due to High Content of The Truth?).
    Please Find Below Slightly Milder Version
    (By The Way Hugh, What Was Impermissible in in my Original One?)

Corrupt Bank (Whose Ex Chief Has Been Arrested) Seizes Country’s most successful Business
    Corrupt Bank(Whose Ex Chief Has Been Arrested) Sells of Best Parts of Business to Their Cronies For a Song
    Corrupt Bank (Whose Ex Chief Has Been Arrested) Ruins Country’s Most Successful Businesses in a Few Months
    Employees lose their Jobs
    Communities are Torn Apart
    More Dole is Paid Out By the Irish Taxpayer
    Incapable Barristers and Receivers Paid Huge Bonanza From The Irish Taxpayer to Run The Remaining Parts of Business”Into the Ground”.

Now The Same Corrupt Bank (and Its Legal Cronies) Spends Millions of Euros of Taxpayer Money Trying To Make Sure That Country’s Biggest Ever Individual Employer (and His Very Capable Family) Never Has The Opportunity to Create Another Job in The Country Again.

How Long Will The D4 Types And Their Wigged Barrister Cronies Keep This Nice Little ”Legal” Gravy Train Going At The Expense of The Irish Taxpayer??
    Aided For Another Billion Euro Tribunal??

The Unbiased Fact Is
    That If They Left Sean Quinn In Control of His Business and Worked With Him
    Jobs Would Have Been Saved (Not Lost)
    Communities Would Have Been Saved (Not Lost)
    Debts Would Have Been Decreased (Not Increased)
    Business Would Have Been Created (Not Destroyed)

I’ll Say it Again
    I Wouldn’t Blame You One Bit Sean Quinn (Or Your Very Capable Family) For Not Doing Business in Southern Ireland Ever Again.
    The System is Very Anti Business Down Here.
    Especially if You Are Irish.

This Is A Dark Day For Business In The Republic Of Ireland.

• You are not the only person that ANglo bandits are trying to silence which makes us more determined than ever to get the truth told. Watch out boys, we are going to expose you.

• This is exactly my point. Anglo are to blame for the debt of 2.8 billion now hanging over us. If Sean Quinn had been left to run his business he would still be employing and paying this loan off like he had done with I can only assume the many loans he previously took out over his long and successful working life and repaid. If the banks actually worked with him he and his many company’s would still be contributing to the economy and have thousands of people still in jobs off the dole.
      Its the actions of a few executives and government stooges that resulted in this being lumped on the public. Did S. Quinn or any one else every wish for the public to pay his 2.8 billion business loan? NO, only our spineless politicians eating up the spin the shower at Anglo fed them and scared them shitless.

• These comments are way OTT

• @chicken ball ann: OTT is what seems to pass for normal in this circus of a country these days, everyone heard about the scaremongering that went on in back rooms when AIB and Anglo boys went in and scared our feckless politicians white if they didn’t cover and secure all the crazy inept dealings they had been getting away with for years when the shit hit the fan and exposed the truth that the banks had massively over lent for ages and had concealed it.
      Taking sensible actions seems to be frowned upon around here… My comment sounds logical to me and would at least be beneficial to the country as a whole (Hello Spruiker pointed reasons out quite clearly) ie. people still in work and off the dole instead of just satisfying the banks demands first which so many love to do and everyone have a bitch and moan about it after.

• Such bitterness here toward this man, typical Irish attitude – love seeing a successful man reduced to nothing.

Sean Quinn is a man to be proud of, and I’m sure he’ll rise again.

Keep watching this soap opera and the soap opera, because all it does is distract your attention from those who who are truly responsible for the situation we find ourselves in. Sean Quinn is a victim like anyone else.

• Ok imran let’s give him another 2 billion
      Better luck next time.
      Major fuck up that will cost multiples of 2 billion

• a rich victim …you dogooders make me laugh ..he gambled and lost …and should pay his debts like everyone else….hopefully hell declare bankrupt here and thats him gone for 12 years…good riddance you greedy greedy man …shame on you mr quinn

• The only people who fucked up were those bastards in government and advisors who thought the party would never end. I suppose you take equal pleasure in watching families lose their home because they took out full mortgages at the time, no? Because it’s basically the same thing on a larger scale. Acting on bad advice

Sean Quinn didn’t bring the country down… He contributed to the boom, other people’s failures and greed caused the bust.

• Would he not have to get his marraige annulled as well to totally isolate man from corporate responsibility ??

• Delighted he’s not getting away with not paying but the bank must be held to account even more. I hope they get Drumm in the states as well!

• Lads, could we not arrange to get a picture of him in handcuffs and get the media to run with it for the News headlines?
    It might help this campaign of terror and stop him from telling the world what really happened in Anglo.

Better still, could we not arrange for him to be run over with one of his own lorries and tell the people that he was complicit in his own demise? Just look at what we got away with so far. We have to stop him talking one way or another. Maybe we should use more taxpayers money on extra propaganda first. They might fall for it. They already think that we are trying to recoup money for the taxpayers by doing this Ha Ha!

I must look for a big bonus for doing all this extra work trying to finish him off. oh well, Michael Noonan believes everything we tell him so it wont be a problem

But what about the big case, how will we stop them all from talking? Maybe I’ll take my lump sum , bonuses, pension and be gone before then. We are getting desperate.

• Most of the comments on this story whether in favour of Sean Quinn or mouthing some unintelligent socialist rubbish are entirely wide of the mark and dangerous.
    I am certain that the Director of Corporate Enforcement and or the Director of Public Prosecutions have substantial files on the activities of certain Bank executives and certain business people from the period when the sovereign State of Ireland was bankrupted. This involved much more than foolish Bankers overlending to doubtful enterprises.
    The stories about Balance sheets being enhanced on a Bed and Breakfast basis and customers being encouraged to purchase shares in certain Banks with funds supplied as required are commonly discussed in the media.
    Should prosecutions ensue in any of these situations then the accused can cite the prejudice being published here as a primary defence.
    What would you the critics say and how would you feel if you were the cause of a legal charge against individuals being dropped for such a reason.
    This has already happened many times in our Courts with one infamous case involving that great former Leader Charles J Haughey.
    Don’t say you haven’t been warned!

• It will be interesting to see also how the DPP reacts when he is provided with a formal complaint under the new Criminal Justice Act about how the Minster for Finance misled the people of Ireland on 14th Apr. when he said that the bondholders had taken a hit in the region of 50% in the Anglo deal on QUinn. They took no hit whatsoever and this can be proven.

Interesting also to know how Richard Woodhouse will explain that he misled the Belfast court when he said that Sean QUinn would have been in Dublin anyway on 14th April.,- another fib that will be proven. They are mounting up.

• Sean Quinn is a great Irishman & the banks f##k him. He did takes risks thats why he was sucessful in the past. People suggesting that anglo are the shining knight here are the same that agree with staying in the euro bank bailouts & all that shite. You will never convince me that the banks are the innocent party here. The reason for this is they alone destroyed this country. Sean Quinn still provides jobs here.

• Cpm 10/01/12 #

Nothing like passing on the blame, eh? It was the banks caused it all, not Quinn’s greed.

Hopefully they can claw back those transfers now and get the assets he passed on to his family members. That would be real progress.

• You are deluded Michael – what a load of tripe. I’m kinda getting sick of the blame game and finger pointing – he is a grown man and decided to gamble everything he had on Anglo. He lost and he should pay up. End of. Try going to the bookies today and putting all your money on a horse and when it loses blame the fella behind the counter for accepting the bet. Grow up.

• Agree with you Michael, he created as many jobs as google. We need more like Quinn

• John Woods. If the horse had a gamy leg that was certain to let him down and you were told that he was perfect, would you still be happy to pay if he lost and whats more, if you had a sound proposal to repay all monies and it was thrown in your face, how wold you feel?

• Ciaro 10/01/12 #

Gamble a successful company and lose. Then fuck off and dodge your responsibilities while leaving Joe Public, including your employees, to pay back your gambling debts.

Sean Quinn, hero!

He can have his bankruptcy discharged when he pays back every cent he owes. I didn’t invest in Quinn, why do I have to pay 2% on my insurance premiums to cover his gambling losses?

• Hard luck Sean , Disgraceful behaviour by Anglo. We can all see that Anglo are trying to bring ye down 1 by 1, to ensure the main Court Action doesnt happen. Ye are fighting the Government and you have lots of support. Hold your head high and keep fighting.

• If he paid his debts nobody would be trying to bring him down.

• Right you are Derrylin.
      The taxpayers are not better off after today. Anglo agents of the government have just ensured Sean Quinn will never create another job with nearly half a million people on the dole.
      All you begrudgers should be aware that Quinn has created more jobs in this country than any other single person . I hope the above posters are happy to pay dole for all the Quinn employees when the companies fail, and for all the people that will remain on the dole as a result of todays verdict.
      FG Jobs, Jobs Jobs, “We will create jobs ” You have no idea , experience or history of creating jobs. Every member sitting in Dail Eireann today should be ashamed of themselves.

• How can he pay his f****** debts when they took his companies. Apart from that, over 2 billion of this money was given by Anglo to prevent Anglo from collapsing and the Quinns are disputing they are liable for this.
      If you loose your job you cant pay your mortgage. When they took Quinns companies in April they copperfastened they would never get paid. Cause be under no doubt Anglo are not running these companies well. They are bleeding the carcas taking big salaries for themselves and employing their “advisors”
      This is bullshit.

• Quinn employees are losing their jobs because he took a massive gamble with his company and lost. Quinn has destroyed these jobs.

• Quinn did not loose these jobs. During the recession 07,08,09 he never got rid of 1 employee. Anglo are incapable of running these factories, and they are the reason the jobs are going. Shame on you for believing Anglos massive PR spin. What have Anglo ever done for any of us ? Compare that to what Quinn has done , and dont bother coming back with your owing the taxpayers 2 billion because I said compare and Anglo owes the taxpayer 33 billion excluding Quinns 2 billion.

• Very interesting comment the guy gambled with Quinn money and jobs.
      This collapse of Anglo had nothing to do with him?
      The rise in unemployment is in no small way directly attributed in the Anglo collapse.
      The regulator did not go into Quinn because he disliked Cavan men he went in as it was unworkable in it’s then position and WE are all paying for Cavan mans cock up in levies.
      The man should have stuck to sand and gravel and not entered areas he had no idea training or qualifications in.
      Trotting out yes men and women mouthpieces will not undo a 2 billion debt that will eventually be repaid in the form of higher taxes,dole queues,
      emigration,hospital services slashed,despair and dare I say it some who will take their own lives.
      This is reality no let’s pretend we live in the North

• Posted by a lackey

• Sean if you are going to defend use your name Derry Linn ?
      Rings as true as bankruptcy petition

• John Mc Grath @
      Well said , every word of it .Especially the part about the despair caused …. The thing is we could all be very very wealthy if we borrowed money illegally . Maybe this state will never get all the money back but at least we might start getting something like justice now….

• Its surprising that Anglo Gurus have not manipulated this site also and barred anyone who questions their actions, as has happened on other sites. Lads, those who have nothing to hide, hide nothing and where there is a will there is a way. you will not shut up those who are telling the truth. Just wait for the big case.
    But maybe you will decide to take your bonuses, massive salaries, pensions etc and run before then.

Add New Comment