TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Shane McEntee to be laid to rest on Christmas Eve

The late TD and Minister for State, who died yesterday, will be removed to his local church in Meath on Sunday.

"A true gentleman": Shane McEntee, TD, will be laid to rest in Co Meath on Christmas Eve.
Image: Photocall Ireland

Updated 15.42

THE LATE TD and Minister of State Shane McEntee will be laid to rest after a funeral service on Monday.

The Meath East TD died suddenly at home yesterday – he had just turned 56 on Wednesday. His body will repose at his home at Mitchelstown, Castletown outside Navan, Co Meath from 7pm today. His body will then be removed to St. John the Baptist Church, Nobber, tomorrow evening to arrive there at 7pm. A funeral Mass will be held at 11am on Monday, Christmas Eve, before he is laid to rest in Nobber cemetery.

The death of Mr McEntee was met with shock by his colleagues, friends and family yesterday. President Michael D Higgins said he was “very saddened” to learn of the death of his former Dáil colleague and joined the country in extending condolences to Shane’s wife Kathleen and their three children, Vincent, Helen and Sally.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny said he was “devastated” at the death of his “loyal friend” and a party and Dáil colleague who first took a seat in Leinster House in 2005. Further tributes to Mr McEntee can be read here – he was popular across all parties and was described by Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin as “a true gentleman”.

As a former farmer himself, Shane McEntee was highly regarded by the farming sector as a “decent, hard-working public representative” at his post in the Department of Agriculture and Food.

His close colleague, Agriculture Minister Simon Coveney, released a statement today on the death:

The news yesterday of Shane’s death has shocked and numbed us all in Fine Gael and in the Department of Agriculture. Shane was one of the most honest and big-hearted people I have ever had the privilege to know. His popularity crossed the political divide, everybody loved Shane. We are all just devastated at his untimely death.

He was such a fantastic support within the Department of Agriculture – talented, down to earth and loyal to the core whenever I needed him. He understood farmers and rural people in a way that I can only aspire to.

Farmers loved Shane for his blunt and practical approach to solving problems. He was a people person who really took the problems of others to his heart and advocated passionately for the values he believed in and the people he represented.

Shane was such a family man, his wife Kathleen and his children meant everything to him. They will miss him so much and our thoughts and prayers this Christmas and for a long time after will be with them all.

Meanwhile, his constituency colleagues from Fine Gael also released a joint statement today. Regina Doherty called him a “loyal and caring friend” who had been a “tower of strength” to her, looking out for her in Leinster House in her first months as a new TD. Ray Butler also spoke of being taken “under his wing”, and called his loss a “terrible tragedy”. Damien English spoke of how close Shane McEntee was to his family and how the community would “reciprocate with its support, esteem and care for Shane’s family, as he would have done for any of us”.

Read: Tributes to the late Shane McEntee, TD>

Read next:

Comments (40 Comments)

• jrbmc 22/12/12 #

It’s always a horrible time when some one close to you dies, but especially at Christmas. RIP

• Susan you did the correct thing for the right reasons.
    RIP Minister McEntee. And thank you. God help your family and friends at this sad time.

• Shane had a genuine concern for people in need. Tragedy for his family, may they have the strength and the faith to comfort each other in the days, weeks and months ahead. Judge a man by how he lived and not by how he died. Rest in Peace Shane.

• This thread so far proves Susan’s point tbh and says more about its users than the staff. I think if people want to moan, email in and complain but leave this thread to those who wish to leave their condolences.

RIP Shane. You will clearly be missed by friends and family, both on a personal level and also in politics.

• “I wish to extend my sincere condolences to his wife, Kathleen, and his three children Vincent, Helen and Sally

• People say that Ireland lost the run of itself during the Celtic tiger years, and that we lost our sense of community. In the rush to acquire material things, we stopped looking out for our neighbours. That, if there is an upside to the recession, its that we have reconnected with the important things in life, and are kinder and gentler to each other.

Are we, though? Its now second nature to tear into all politicians, accusing them of being self-serving, out for the State pension, timewasters. Shane was a thoroughly decent man who took on other people’s burdens and worried on their behalf, worked quietly to help them, and got results. He was public service.

I wonder if we gave him the thanks he so richly deserved while he was here.

May he rest in peace.

• @ray…excellent comment, this country is now populated by complaining morons I’m afraid…too many are now reactive, complaining and cribbing after the horse has bolted, instead of being proactive….armchair politicians or maybe keyboard politicians…or hurlers on the ditch, I can’t decide! RIP Mr. Mc Entee

• Well done Ray, fantastic tribute to Shane McEntee. Shane was always welcome in my house. He brought an enthusiasm and determined attitude with him at all times. He wasn’t just a politician, he was a people person. He cared so much and deeply about those he has helped in the last few years working tirelessly to advance the cause. I can truly say in my lifetime I have rarely met a man so dignified and gracious. He was a true gent. I will miss his smile, handshake and genuine nature. He will be sorely missed. RIP Shane.

• Brian 22/12/12 #

It’s appalling that some people’s biggest concern is over the fact they weren’t allowed comment on the story yesterday but that says more about them.
    Sincere condolences to Mr McEntee’s family, their hearts must be broken.

• The thread was closed yesterday out of respect for the family, the thread is open a very short 24 hours later for those of you with itchy keyboard fingers who wish to discuss the details. The Journal had consideration for the family, I suggest that an isolated group in this thread follow suit. A warm man and a big heart.

• Condolences to Mr McEntee’s family and friends. Glad that this thread is open to comments, that wasn’t the case for some reason yesterday Susan. In any case may he RIP.

• Comments were closed yesterday out of sensitivity to his family because the death had just been recently discovered and just been confirmed, thanks, Susan.

• There was a lot of speculation about the cause of his death. Discussion about it has been censored everywhere. Not sure why.

Anyway, may he rest in peace. From what I’ve read he was a good man.

• Susan, you are doing a real good job along with the rest of the guys in the journal…if people want to comment at sensitive times they are best to do it elsewhere ! Plenty of other app’s out there for those type of people!

• Shane was fantastic helping people and getting the pyrite issue to where it needed to be , A politician for the people , R.I.P

• By all accounts he burst his chops for the Pyrite people and anyone who ever asked him for help and was noted for his humble nature.

Across all parties he was noted as a decent and caring man. God be good to him.

• R.I.P. Shane

• God bless Shane, a gentleman if ever there was one, RIP

• A very decent man. Thoughts and prayers with his family. RIP.

• mcbab 22/12/12 #

Condolences to Mr McEntees family friends and colleagues at this very sad time.

• Thoughts with his family.

• Very sad and tragic and thoughts with his family.
    The IT reporting his cause of death this morning but correct comments were closed/ moderated on news sites yesterday. It was very sudden and shocking for those who loved him.

• Terrible decision on behalf of the sites who blocked the comments. It further perpetuates the taboo which only does harm in bringing the subject to light. You can’t tackle a problem by sweeping it under the carpet.

• Sean, it was not sweeping the issue of suicide under the carpet – it was to prevent people from posting speculation about motives or specific details of Mr McEntee’s death so shortly after his body was found.
      This was both out of respect but also because it’s according to guidelines around best practice of reporting and publicising of specific details.
      If this comments thread were to start featuring people speculating in any way, I would have no compunction in closing it again.
      Regards, Susan

• SL 22/12/12 #

Agree with you SB. While I’m fully cognisant of, and sympathise with the sensitivities and hurt involved, I’ve had personal experience in this area of loss and I don’t feel we as a people should treat it like a taboo or a shameful issue. We need to accept and tackle it head on. It can happen to any person of any age, background, or circumstance. Acceptance will bring increased knowledge, sensitivity, and support. RIP.

• SL 22/12/12 #

Absolutely right Susan. Anyone who would post speculative comments on motives or details should have their comment removed for being an insensitive moron. I’m sure that’s not the point SB or myself meant. Thanks for clarifying.

• That’s fair enough, SL. I just want to make it clear that TheJournal.ie doesn’t shy away from reporting on suicide or on the root causes and wanted to clarify why I didn’t believe closing comments yesterday to be a “terrible decision”. (Although I wouldn’t believe that, seeing as I’m the one made the decision…)
      Anyway, I’m sorry to hear that you too have been touched by loss like this. It’s devastating.

• lads theres a difference between releasing full details before all the family can be talked to and censoring for the sake of suicide. the journal is fantastic in promoting suicide awareness, and the always print all the help line numbers.

• Sean Beag
      This has nothing to do with censorship but everything to do with RESPECT. This is not a site for gossip but rather a place to acknowledge the unexpected passing of a fine man, a husband and a father.

• Susan you don’t even see you are doing it. In one sentence you say you are not pushing suicide under the carpet and then go on to say it was out of respect. How is it disrespectful to simply report it as a suicide? It is not something a family should have to feel shame over.

And why was this not the case with the reporting on Erin Gallagher last week? Is it because Erin’s suicide could be blamed on bullying but there is nothing so simple to blame Mr McEntees death on? It would require discussing some difficult issues.

Of course you can threaten to close a thread or delete comments all you like but you will simply be perpetuating a taboo that is killing people daily.

• Sean do you not think its up to Shane’s family to decide to publish a cause of death or not?? I don’t believe the journal or anyone else is shying away from this subject. At the end of the day this man may have been in the publix eye but he was also a husband, father, brother,son and uncle to many grieving people. the decision lies with them to release details and maybe they are just not ready or able to. RIP to the McEntee family at this sad time.

• “you will simply be perpetuating a taboo that is killing people daily”
      That’s lovely, Seán, thanks. If you don’t care to read what I’m trying to say to you, then the least you can do is refrain from saying such horrible accusatory things. I might remind you that I, too, am a person, and being accused of deliberately contributing to something which kills people is not the way I want to continue this thread.
      Please be civil.

• Susan, look at all the commenters above you talking about respect, like there is some difference between reporting a man has died by suicide and a man who has died in a car crash. I understand completely if the details of a death are witheld but why not report it as a suicide? Do you not see how that attaches a stigma to the issue? This is particularly important when the victim is a high profile figure who had no apparent issues and was held in such high regard. It’s easy to report a suicide when you have something to blame like bullies or the economy or grief but it’s much more difficult when the cause is so vague and elusive because people feel like they are blaming the victim or the family and friends. This is the mentality we need to leave behind.

I’m not attacking you personally nor am I implying you are purposely contributing to anything. I’m merely stating the wider effect I believe your decision as the moderator would have. I’ll withdraw from this thread now but I hope you’ll take my comments on board for the future.

• Give it a rest Sean. It was insensitive to discuss the death of Shane yesterday, end of story. Boards.ie is a great place to talk about suicide and anything you might like. This is a news site, will report on the news and so on. Yesterday wasn’t the right time to discuss something even theJournal were unsure about (and has it even been confirmed yet?). So, as I said earlier, can we just move on from the conspiracy / complaining and get on with leaving condolences?

• So many lost and not one member of FG or LAB will put 2+2 together even when it touches them personally.

This crisis and loss of life will never stop when you have the like of Dukes and Spring in the background.

• Govt controlling the media, are we living in North Korea ?.