TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

PICS: Students’ unions hand out food bags as grant crisis continues

The union at Galway-Mayo IT is handing out bags of food to hard-up students as SUSI continues catching up on grant payments.

STUDENTS’ UNIONS around the country have begun distributing bags of food to some of their first-year students.

The food parcels come as many students await the payment of the first round of maintenance grants by Student Universal Support Ireland (SUSI), the new body responsible for paying grants to first-year students.

The student who sent us the photo above, taken at GMIT, said the boxes of garlic baguettes (seen just to the right of the photo) were sponsored by a local company and were delivered as returning First Years arrived to collect their free food.

Athlone IT has meanwhile set up a soup kitchen in response to the demand from students who need food.

It is understood that some of the backlog of grant applications, which delayed the processing of some applications by several weeks, came about as a result of incomplete applications made through SUSI’s website.

Students who began filling out an online grant application form, but who may then have realised they were ineligible to apply via SUSI and did not bother to complete their application, were still treated as applicants – meaning a major delay in processing forms.

Figures produced last week indicated that 5,575 students were still awaiting the payment of the first instalment of their college grant, halfway through the year.

Education minister Ruairí Quinn has allocated €3 million to various student assistance funds in efforts to relieve the financial struggle for the students who have been affected by the delays.

The agency says it has now processed all outstanding applications and that any grants which have still not been paid are only pending the submission of additional documentation or of a student’s bank details.

SUSI, which is in its first year of operation, is processing only applications for students who started college last September; grant applications for continuing students remain the responsibility of that student’s local council or VEC.

Some students’ unions have argued that the delay in processing grant applications has forced some students to drop out of college, either because of financial difficulties or because their obligatory €2,250 contribution – which is paid by the grant awarding authority in the case of grant recipients – has not yet been paid.

Read: Minister gives extra €3 million to fund to assist students

Read next:

Comments (102 Comments)

• I’m a mature student at AIT. 57 mature years to be exact. Started this year. I was in college last week and bumped into a student I know, just turned 18. Mum – on her own – disabled with another child at home. She told me that SUSI said she ‘might’ have her grant by the end of February. Her landloed apparently is supporting her and other students in this matter. I asked her what she had to eat that day and she told me ‘ a bowl of soup and a roll’. A child. Hungry. No money for food. Full time student. A good student who I know attends all her classes. No work in Athlone anyway for anyone. [I know, my son is casual in a hotel here and no hours - anywhere.] How would you feel if your kid was doing full days and hadn’t a penny for food. Can’t go home weekends -€33 she doesn’t have for the bus. In 2013, we opened a soup kitchen in Athlone town [also in Roscommon]. What a disgrace for Ireland and it’s blowhard politicians. FG and Lab following discredited FF policies. Hungry people. When are we going to wise up and deal with those who would ‘lead’ us? BTW The college hasn’t opened another soup kitchen, they give vouchers for the college canteen funded bu charity – the hardship fund run by the chaplaincy. Donations welcome to Fr. Shay Casey at the college.

• I hate the stereotypes being floated around the journal about students. I’m currently sitting in an icebox of a flat, drinking tea to stay warm. Grant hasn’t come through yet, I’m waiting on it. I know a girl who got a bag from GMIT, that’s her food for the week now.

Yes, a lot go out. But there’s also a hell of a lot who stay in trying to count pennies.

• Get a job.

• Get in touch with reality Hayes!

• If I could, I would. But without experience they’re thin on the ground, unfortunately.

• Where # Michael if you know any one thats hiring please post here. THERE ARE NO JOBS OUT THERE FOR STUDENTS. We have tried :(

• What job?

• There’s one for ye – SATURDAY JOBS FOR STUDENTS.
      Chatterboxes required for outdoor fundrasing promotions, this january in dublin city centre , are you a student with a bit of free time at the weekends , if so we want to hear from you , are you a good talker and would enjoy working as part of a team , with people of your own age, this part time job , may suit students that want to earn a bit of extra cash at the weekends , top earnings paid , for more imfo contact david on 086 8888 101.

2 mins work on gumtree

• Never mind the moaners Cíara . Yes of course there will always be a percentage of wealthier students who don’t have to rely on grant aid just in order to survive. I can clearly see the major downturn in the studenty bars here in Tralee. A few years ago many students would go out a few nights a week, now it’s the same few heads and the bars are almost empty. It’s quite obvious that the level of poverty among students is rife. Part-time work almost non-existent and parents with a lot less cash also. Too many need that grant to stay warm now.

• CABK 14/01/13 #

Yes Michael, I’m sure that job in Dublin for January will be very useful to students studying in MAYO. Get a grip.

• So what your saying #Michael is my son should travel from Galway to Dublin for a few hours work on a saturday. Ok then that makes sense.

• @CABK. Complaining about a lack of jobs for students in Mayo is like moving to the desert and complaining there’s no water.

• I’m fed up with this rubbish myself Ciara.
      I’m a mature student, I just about manage.
      There’s young lads who I spend my day with sipping on tap water instead of eating, I’ve never seen them eat.
      They don’t look healthy and they’re not doing it for fun.
      Being a student now is a very different experience than “the old days”. Things are much tougher now.

• @Michael Hayes – how easy is it for you to sit there and tell students in financial difficulty to go out and get a job?! I was lucky to be able to work through college and lucky to have parents in a position to support me when needed. I really appreciated how lucky I was in that regard, in particular when I saw so many around me not able to afford simple things during college. I’m sure the overwhelming majority of students would get themselves a part time if they could, but the reality is there is a tiny amount of such jobs and a massive amount of students in need of same.

• mister 14/01/13 #

Ciara, I know your pain. Let’s face it, it doesn’t take long for the stereotypes of drunken students to be rolled out. I wonder is it from those who have zero insight into the reality of student life for some? When I was through college I was frequently left short of the grant until well into February and it was next to impossible to get by. I’ve never drank by the way!
      The people who throw that stereotype around probably know full well that it refers to a certain element of the student population, obviously with greater resources at their disposal.
      Michael, I presume your ‘stop whinging and get a job’ mantra is just an attempt to be deliberately provocative to get attention? Job done. T’would be an interesting turn of events indeed if all our third level students bailed out and joined the un/employment lines :-)

• I’m giving you one example. Heres 3 for Galway that took all of 2 mins again to find on jobs.ie –

Hotel Receptionist (Casual Part Time), Galway Harbour Hotel.

Door to Door Galway!…up to €17 per hour .Concern

College Students Wanted.. Part Time Positions Available. Simple Sales and Marketing.

In Mayo.

Sales Assistant and merchandiser. The Horkan Group

There, just proved if your lazy kids got off there arses they’d find a job.

• Orly 14/01/13 #

I worked all through college. It’s character-building. I still have that very same job as I search for a primary school teaching position; it helps me stay independent and gives me something to show I can keep commitments (because I’ve been working there three years now). The hours are great because they’re so flexible; I work with people who have disabilities every weekend and some weekday evenings to ensure I can pay my rent and bills. Then I get substitute work or busk around Cork to make ends meet. I also find time to volunteer with a local charity, and I’m starting an evening class this week.

Students; studying is well and good but seeing as it’s become just a necessary move to get any sort of employment whatsoever, you might as well work during college. Anyone can do it. It’s just the spoiled rich ones who don’t mind depending on mom and dad who don’t have to do it.

• Tell you what Michael – as you seem to have the talent to Google jobs at a whim why don’t you set up an agency and find gainful work for the 300k+ unemployed. You would be a multi-millionaire with those type of talents!

• #Micheal Hayes so you think that because my son hasn’t managed to get a job as advertised hes “lazy” well he has applied for countless jobs and when you get to be a big boy you’ll realise that just because a job is advertised that there is not an automatic entitlement to it just because you apply. Harsh i know but welcome to the real world. Thats a serious chip on your shoulder there mick. That college education is not doing much for your humanitarian streak is it.

• @John Well personally I feel the 300k should sweep the streets and preform community service for their dole but that’s neither here nor there. I’m not suggesting there’s 300,ooo jobs but there’s certainly enough for all those earnestly trying to gain employment.

@Kathy I’ve been in the same position as everyone else. I’m in first year myself and in September I sent out 50 odd C.V’s, got about 5 replies thanking me and two interviews. Got one of the jobs and do about 20-25 hours p/w. My brothers 2 years older and got 2 new jobs last semester after travelling for a year.

• It’s not as easy to get a job as it was 10years ago when I was in college, When I was working part time while in college I could leave a job on the Sunday and have a new one by the following weekend, all these part time jobs are filled now and there isn’t the same space for students in the deli counters or doing till work etc.

• Michael if you were posting job details to actually help someone find a job, I’d respect that. But it seems you’re only doing it to prove a point. Your ”get a job comment” is fairly facile and doesn’t contribute anything.

You’ve just proved there are jobs out there. No-one is disputing that but the reality is that the demand for jobs far exceeds the supply. It’s relatively easy to find job ads but nowhere near as easy to hear a response from employers, let alone be selected for an interview. Unfortunately employers can be very demanding and seek those with years of experience over those with none which creates a vicious circle.

Just because someone doesn’t have a job doesn’t mean they’re not doing their utmost to find one!

• @ Eoin Dineen – I totally agree, it’s very hard to get a reply let alone a job. @Ciara Molloy has the right idea about doing free experience, I did the same thing in TY. My problem is with the people who seem to think looking for a job entitles you to one or say, and I quote @Kathy Dowd “THERE ARE NO JOBS OUT THERE FOR STUDENTS. We have tried”. There are, not many, but there are some. Just try harder (not suggesting your not trying very hard anyway but everyone can always do more)

• Lol Micheal! I remember applying for jobs like those ten years ago! Bar the receptionist job, the reg of them will likely COST you money! “Sales Rep” often meaning you buy off us and sell this cheap tacky crap/make up to others door to door! U need friends mate!

• @Brendan Why were you applying for jobs like that when you were 30 (judging by your receding hairline)? I need friends? You don’t know anything about me other than I comment on the Journal (like you) and am not sympathetic to left wing entitleists’ like yourself.

• AWW Now #michael your contradicting your self there. It takes a good memory to be a good liar. I think you’ll find you said students were “lazy” for not finding work to which i pointed out that just because someone applies for a job does not automatically entitle them to it. NOW your saying that i said that my son should be entitled to a job just because he has applied TUT TUT Michael ever thought of a career in politics.

• @Kathy you say “NOW your saying that i said that my son should be entitled to a job just because he has applied”. Where do I say this exactly?
      And the lazy ones are the ones who don’t bother even looking, I fully empathize with anyone genuinely looking but it’s my experience that there aren’t a lot of those sort of people.

• I think you’ll find that you said and i quote:
      “My problem is with the people who seem to think looking for a job entitles you to one or say, and I quote @Kathy Dowd “THERE ARE NO JOBS OUT THERE FOR STUDENTS. We have tried”.
      Reading not going to well at college either mick jeasus you’ll be luck to pass you’d better hold on to that part-time job real tight.

• I reckon Michael is a part time model. Fine pose he has there.

• @Kathy – Maybe you don’t understand what a contradiction is. It come from the latin “contra” meaning against and “dictio” to say, this case meaning “to go against the said”. I think you’ll find a) My problem is with the people who seem to think looking for a job entitles you to one and b) students are lazy for not finding work do not contradict eachother.

• Michael i think you’ll find that. A) You’re right about the “DICKTO” hope my spelling is up to scratch :) B) Clearly you have nothing better to do but “contra” every thing that any one says on this subject. I hope that you always have the blinkered perspective that you have how. I hope that in maybe 25years your not working every hour god sends to ensure that you’re child can avail of something that was unavailable to you, something that was given to others because of privilige or social status. Keep the faith mick cause you’re in for a shock when you get into the real world.

• amy 14/01/13 #

And what about all of the students who aren’t in college in Dublin?

• Why didnt you just take out a loan as an advance for your grant?

• Michael 15/01/13 #

Again, the exception and not the rule.

You know it too.

• flashback of tesco value noodle sandwiches

• Nikolai 14/01/13 #

Plenty of students spend a lot of money on alcohol, but at the same time their are plenty who can’t afford basic necessities.

Using that analogy is the same as saying “I’ve seen plenty of homeless spending their money on drink, so VDP shouldn’t give out food parcels”

• Utterly convinced the government are seriously hoping students get frustrated and leave college. Then emigrate, so its not their problem anymore. Then the governments figures look great cos another few thousand have left.

• Completely agree with you. A lot of what they are doing seems to be pushing people to either protest or leave the country. This looks very good for them as they can say the unemployment is decreasing.

• “To generalise is to be an idiot” – William Blake

• I attend gmit and I have gone hungry in the past. I’m luckily able to survive as I’m working 25 hours per week, minimum wage. Aswell as studying 5 days a week, its killing me but I do this because my family don’t have it to give. There is NOT a job for every student studying and I am lucky, actually Ive been blessed. Galway has a bustling night life and yes there students on the rip but there are also bars shops and restauraunts closing every week, I know this because at the end of then month where I work joins that list. And a lot of part time jobs being taken up by struggling parents or the over educated under employed generation. But look at the bigger picture its 2013 and education costs, rent, cost of living are not dropping as wages standard of life are. There is something seriously wrong in this country but people are more concerned with attacking each other rather then fixing what’s really broke. Its just sad really.

• There is no money for drinking In the Grant, I get 2200 a year and accommodation costs 2600

• When i started college 3years ago, I didn’t get my 1st grant payment until april! Some mornings when i was expecting money into my account & it didn appear i did have a little cry & tantrum, especially around the day i needed to pay my rent. My parents had put me through so far and I hated asking them for more & more money.

It really is a struggle but students need to prioritise. Put important things 1st and then worry about having a bit of craic :)

• This isn’t about an increase in fees or any PR around that, this is about the failure of a Govt. body to issue approved maintenance grants.
    Whether or not there’s an agenda behind it, it’s news worthy at a national level, makes me wonder why RTE didn’t carry it on tonight’s news.

• Students should get 3 meal vouchers a day during exams regardless of whether the grant is in or not.

I starved during some of my exams and my grades DID suffer.

• Then soon everyone will need food parcels

• I am a student. I done my leaving cert applied in 2010 then I went on a did a plc course which I had to do and then I done another plc course because I didn’t get enough points from the first one to get into college , I am now in college since September and I do not receive a grant , also I have being looking for a job since I done my leaving cert and I can’t find one any place I look needs at least 2 years experience I do not have 2 years so how am I meant to get a job when I can’t get the experience required for a job?

• Free advertising for the companies that donated it. Win win.

• Eire 14/01/13 #

It’s like a throw back to James Plunkett’s Strumpet City instead of the starving & poor of 1913 joining the British Army we’re exporting our educated young to foreign shores in 2013 Shame !

• SUSI does not appear to be fit for purpose, maybe they don’t have enough employees, or maybe the systems used can’t cope with the demand or maybe its a plethora of reasons.
    Whateve the reasons lots of applicants are now complaining that personal information sent to SUSI has been misplaced or gone missing and this brings up data protection security issues for SUSI data protection controllers. Wonder how the government plan to get round their own legislaton on this one?

• Thank God when I was in college I was close to home and hence free board. It was always tough going for my buddies renting. So it is an age old problem and looks like it is getting worse.

• Today is is quite difficult for students to get part time work because of recession. I would think that many try but they are up against a brick wall. There should be some sort of subsidised food voucher given to students so that they can have a least one decent meal a day.There are many genuine students not all of them are out on the town at night throwing away their money.

• All in all, the grant system is completely backwards.. They need to prioritise. I know a lot of people who are struggling even with the grant and I know people who have spent grant money on a sun holiday. I feel sorry for those in GMIT and Mayo.

• I was a student who got the grant and didn’t get it until January each year. I took out a 2,500 loan to keep me going until January each year and paid it back when I got the grant. I recieved not one cent from my parents, (they didn’t have it to give). Why are people in this problem? I didn’t have this problem, and I wad definately the poorest of the poor.

• I’ve sent 26 emails, 2 letters , made 3 hours of phonecalls to SUSI in the last five weeks. NO Answer to any emails and phone staff do not have the knowledge or empowerment to deal with anything. They are not even allowed to communicate with the assessors. Still waiting for a cent and fees to be paid to Uni. All documents sent in August. The account SUSI gave to the press is a case of ‘spin’ the story.

• “SUSI, which is in its first year of operation, is processing only applications for students who started college last September” So, will they be handling all applications next year?

• Do what I did, get a job and stop whining. Seriously, everyday in college people are complaining they haven’t been given money. Newsflash, your not automatically entitled to money.

• According to the latest IMF report over 30% of people in and around my age are unemployed. I’ve been jobseeking since my leaving cert ended in June ’12. It’s not a black and white issue.

• No, you’re not. But unfortunately, there’s not many places hiring without experience. I’ve offered to work in pubs for a week for free to train, but they won’t when there’s people with experience going on. Handed in a CV to a spar shop, it was only when walking in I saw that they wanted “minimum three years experience”

• Amen brother. Turn off auto-entitlement and shuffle their arses to the employment line.

• “Minimum 3 yrs experience”

That’s more of the “my ass is covered if I don’t like the look of you” shite.

• Yeah, I agree that some are ridiculous with the experience they require. You could run a Spar with 3 years experience. Basing my statements on my friends who complain but literally do nothing to get a job. Well all I can say is chin up and good luck, just keep throwing them C.V’s out and maybe use some poetic license?

• I am a 4th year student and I have to agree with you Michael, I first handed out CV’s in summer 2010 and got 2 part time job offers that would fit perfectly around college, I kept one of the jobs for 2 years then handed out more CVs at the end of the summer just gone and got 2 more full time job offers, given they were in hospitality i.e. waitressing but there is nothing wrong with it, I find, in my own experience of talking to people who complain of no money/work that there are jobs there to be had just they are not willing to stoop so low as to work in a minimum wage job serving someone else…I know its harsh but thats my experiance

• before I get hated on I do understand it also depends on where you are in college, I am in a city so probably easier to get a job there then in some of the smaller towns that have colleges :)

• Aoife I have cousins like you always had jobs in uni when other people wouldn’t take them up because they were demeaning. They got jobs straight out of college because they had a good employment record. I hope this is the case with you. I do feel your right about smaller towns having colleges though it is a bit harder there.

• Had to say it looks like the enjoying your holiday in that photo….

• I am fortunate enough to have a few years retail experience so it wasn’t hard for me to get a job when I started college however most people I know didn’t have jobs in secondary school and went straight to college, as did I, but haven’t been able to get jobs because they have no prior experience. I agree that it’s worth trying to get a weekend job but its not all that easy at the moment.

• We’ve all been students so we know what it’s like and what your priorities are like.

So this make me curious just how much of the students money was spent on drink before they realised they actually needed to eat!

• WHAT RUBBISH. My son is at college and only got his grant recently. We (my husband and i) have gone without to ensure that he remains in college he doesnt qualify for the full grant before you start about entitlements. My other children have also felt the pinch during this disaster that is called SUSI. We managed to cover his rent and send down as much food as we could gather for him.THERE WAS NO MONEY FOR DRINK. Not every student is pissing it up. Well done GMIT for helping out these struggeling students.

• What an absolute diagrace and a real microcosm of where we are as a supposed advanced,modern country!
      We have a Public Service Executive/Administration sector big enough to run a country like China, yet we are left with absolutely ridiculous situations like this. Embarassing!

• OU812 14/01/13 #

Garlic Bread?

That’s the future that is…

• OU812 14/01/13 #

Seriously though, should be giving them staples like rice & pasta.

Give them scratch ingredients & teach them how to cook. Will be better for them in the long run.

• I go to DKIT and they did this too, however they did provide staple foods like rice, pasta, potatoes, beans and tea bags etc.

• Hey Kathy,

Not everyone is like you.

He’s right.

• No, he’s not. And you sure aren’t.

The point is that this new quango has failed. It does not do what it says on the tin.

Now, that means either it was poorly resourced to begin with or its management and staff are incompetent.

Either way, there will be no consequences for those who conceived it or those who are running it in such a disgracefully in competent way.

All you private enterprise heads regularly bloviating on here: WTF would happen to a private startup founded in 2011 but which could not deliver a decent service to its customers, or even process their orders, 16 months later?

• * incompetent — of course!

• I work as a sex worker in order to get through college, mind asking the government to stop bringing in a legislation which would criminalise those who give me my bread and butter i.e. my clients.

• Remembered myself about 8 years ago when I was studying in Athlone IT, had only €7 in my pocket one day. Miles away from my family. Did everything to get a god-damn part time job. Never got lucky like Dubliners. Always easier to say then doing it #Michael.

A better way should be settled for students. Government can require each local company to provide some scholarships according to their size.

• But despite this a students union in one college headed off on a ski-trip! So much for solidarity with your’ peers. It clearly creates a them & us situation, the haves & the have-nots. Those on the Media & PR Course in said college need to examine why they couldn’t see the signals this sends out. Surely forfeit the trip if things are hard & donate some of the ski trip fund to student assistance fund either in said establishment or USI etc.? #PRFail as the students themselves would hashtag.

• But how come they’re still out most nights of the week in Galway, cork, dublin, limerick etc causing carnage, doesn’t add up, those food bags should be given to the homeless

• A lot of students wouldn’t be eligible for the grant because of their parents incomes or they are in employment. Students who do rely on the grant, the people in receipt of these food parcels, would have very little money to cause carnage with.

• Some students have Mammies and Daddies, with high paying jobs in the PS or politics(frontline staff excluded). Then there is the spoilt brats of wealthy parents, taking advantage of tax loopholes and very low corporation taxes. They’re the ones you see out, living it up most nights and some have jobs also!

• Give it to the homeless and not the students? You do know why most people are homeless don’t you? Usually Alcohol and drugs related! So which is more deserving?

• Luke 14/01/13 #

Not all students of wealthy parents are brats.

• Generalizing again. The people who are saying this obviously never went to college. Chris Massey, have you taken note of every student you have seen every night of the week? Are these the same group of students going out 7 nights a week? Or are they separate groups going out 1 night a week each? How long are they staying out for? We need to know specifics, stop bloody generalizing.

• I did go to college John and I worked to pay my way, that’s why I have a gripe with those few who moan and complain about grants yet they still manage to go on the piss and act the idiots. Generalisation perhaps but that’s my general bloody opinion.

• To be fair with everyone complaining about how badly Ireland’s been hit by the recession and people have no money, people can still afford to go out on a Friday and Saturday night. Why should students be any different.

• If I were a Student Leader(Too Old), I’d have them out protesting, occupying college grounds in tents till something was done? But IL&P, a state owned bank paid their bond of 1 billion plus today. No Delays there!

• You are aware if they burned the bondholders people with savings accounts would be burned to? Under the law they’re both lending to the bank and are hence both creditors. So which is it, burn them all or pay them all because you can’t have it both ways.

• Its not an either or situation. Mostly secondary bond holders like Roman Abramovich who it was reported bought Anglo bonds at ten or 20% of face value on the secondary market and then managed to get full price for them from our government.

• Michael Hayes you espouse austerity for students but socialism for the big banks. A little mixed up in your priorities perhaps?

• No, I would have (illegally under eu law) payed whatever cash was there to depositors at an equal % and said f*ck off to the bondholders. At that point we would never be able to borrow on the international markets so I would have balanced the budget immediately, causing even worse austerity then now.
      That’s the socialist policy.

• Same here…..in December 2013 SUSI said that everything i confirmed……still awaiting

• You two lads above we’re reading my mind……” Food parcels” …what a load of nonsense…obviously a well orchestrated PR campaign by student unions…..wonder how many Dutch will u get for hem parcels ?

• I’ve said it here before to no reply? WHY is this even a problem? Why can’t people get grant advances in the form of bank loans, overdrafts etc. Problem solved? Many of my friends and I did that!

• Susi is responsible for dealing with all first time applicants for grants this year, not just first year students.
    It is the eventual plan that susi will deal with all applicants

• Free horse burgers for all students

Add New Comment