Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Taoiseach: Bailout funds are not dependent on fiscal compact

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

THE TAOISEACH has said that the bailout programme between Ireland, the European Union and the International Monetary Fund supersedes the proposed new ‘fiscal compact’ deal signed with 24 other states.

Enda Kenny told RTÉ radio’s This Week programme that the arrangement Ireland was already in trumped the one which it hopes to ratify later this year before it comes into effect in 2013.

“Anything that happens in regard to the fiscal compact is superseded by that fact – that we’re in a fiscal programme,” Kenny insisted.

The supremacy of the bailout deal over the fiscal compact means that if the latter is put to a referendum, and Ireland votes no, it will still have access to European financing – even though the latter deal says funds from the European Stability Mechanism will only be available to participants in the fiscal compact.

If a country emerges from a programme – any country – the situation is that if they require any further funding, it would still be made available provided they met the conditions.

Separately, Kenny said Ireland would not be re-opening its embassy to the Holy See “in the immediate future”, but said the closure of the embassy – as well as those in Iran and Timor Leste – would be “reviewed in due course”.

Kenny denied the closure was deliberately linked to the fallout from the Cloyne Report – saying that suggestions to that effect “could not be further from the truth”.

The relationship between the government and the Church had become “far more real” and substantial under Kenny’s administration, he said, because of the work the State had done to safeguard children in all settings.

“There is now a very real relationship in terms of what we have to do with the Church, and I want that to continue,” he said.

Kenny also repeated the assertions of Eamon Gilmore that Ireland would issue a diplomatic invitation to Pope Benedict if he wishes to attend the International Eucharistic Congress in Dublin later this year.

“If I get an indication that he wants to attend that, the government will of course treat His Holiness with th erespsect that his office and status require,” he said.

Read: Independent TDs seek to force referendum on EU fiscal compact

Read: 80,000 expected to attend closing Eucharistic Congress ceremony in Croke Park

Read Next:

Comments (43 Comments)

• Leslie Alan Rock 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

More rubbish from Enda

• Tony Skillington 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

He’s whistling past the graveyard at midnight….

• Report this comment

Meanwhile in other news, “U-turn Enda” wants to waste more money again by trying to re-open an embassy for the Vatican again!
    See: http://lnw.me/I97LHz

Enda Kenny – the state current biggest fool, liar, traitor and U-turn artist!
    He and Fine Gael are a disgrace!

• Gavan Reilly 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@UPI – If you read my article above you’ll see that Kenny specifically said the Embassy wouldn’t be reopened “in the immediate future”.

• Report this comment

Yet according to reports that in just very recent weeks, he is pushing for it to be re-opened.
      In other words, he’s once again saying one thing to the public – but behind closed doors to his fellow party people, he’s advocating another position!

Typical Enda!

• Bernadette Dunne 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Embassy will nit re-open in the near future “he knows that there are so many health services here at home to be addressed and re-established FIRST Like Services in Roscommon Hospital OYR A@E for one plus our Coronary Care Services etc etc etc”

• Sheila Murphy 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Enda’s ankles must be in agony from the back peddling here……………..

“fiscal compact means that if the latter is put to a referendum, and Ireland votes no, it will still have access to European financing”; ie. “Yes we know we’ll loose a (the??) referendum so I’m getting in ahead with reason not to be afraid of the referendum result” spin………………….

“the closure of the embassy – as well as those in Iran and Timor Leste – would be “reviewed in due course”.” i.e. as in lets consider them all at same level of importance so that we can re-open Vatican without loosing face………..

However in saying that, yes he should treat any visiting leader with the utmost of respect – it’s no more than we’d expect in the reverse situation – and I’m such a lapsed catholic that collapsed would be a better description of it. Looking forward to the opt out clause if Frenchman, Rene LeBouvier wins his court case demanding an opt out clause be put in place.

• Shanti Om 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I’m not a catholic by choice and my names on that list so here’s to overturning canon law!
      If you are catholic and reading this I mean no offence to you, I would merely like to have my freedom of religious expression respected.

• Barry Lynch 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I’m pretty sure that Eamon Gilmore said on Vincent Browne that if we didn’t sign this thing, we’d be cut off.
    He made it sound like as if a gun was held to our heads and we had no choice.
    We need to get rid of this government and elect a new one before they do any more damage than they have done already.
    I for one, get seriously downhearted when I think about what this country will be like when this crowd of gutless idiots are done with it.
    Not only are they continuing what Fianna Fail started, they are also putting the boot in themselves too.
    This government has placed more importance on a promissory note that should never have been made, than on their promises to the Irish people that they made during the election.

• Ann Reddin 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

When was Gilmore on Vincent Browne. I’m sure I havent missed a programme recently and if I have I would like to be able to watch it on 3player.

• Bernadette Dunne 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Totally agree… And I am saying that we DO need them gone and not at the end of the full term in office either we need them out NOW

• David 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Oh my. You are so wise Just

• Shane Gleeson 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

We’ll need it for bailout 2 from the ESM.

• Karl Doyle 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Not true, it can’t over-ride an EU treaty as it isn’t one itself, the UK prime minister David Cameron vetoed it when they asked for an EU treaty, while they made provisions for it to use the European courts which is done in some cases outside the EU, it is not an EU treaty and therefore cannot over-ride any other EU treaty and the other treaty was in June or July I believe.

• Bud O'Rourke 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

And the talking shite award goes to,,,

• john g mcgrath 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Perhaps if Enda read the document he would see that future access to new funding depends on the agreement being in place.
    I cannot believe he has come out with this.
    Does he smell a referendum in the air and has he worked out he can’t scare us into it so try to lie to us

• Karl Doyle 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Watch Vincent Browne and Sky News, since it’s not an EU treaty it can’t over-ride other EU treaties, it’s just a lie to scare the Irish electorate in case of a referendum.

• Gordon Lucas 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Did the man answer *any* of the questions put to him on the This Week programme?
    If so I didn’t hear it.
    That statement was in response to a question on the lines of: “Can Ireland use money from state assets to pay for a jobs strategy?”

• Report this comment

Have to say I’m surprised at Kenny’s statement. He more and more reminds me of our dear departed Pee Flynn, who automatically went into gobshite mode in the proximity of TV cameras. Invisible Gilmore(does he really exist?) has played the tried and tested route of threatening fire and brimstone if we have the temerity to vote “no”. Maybe Kenny does realise the proposed referemdum is fecked and is trying to be pre-emptive…. ah I don’t know or care anymore. They’re all lying muppets!

• Karl Doyle 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

“lying” that’s it spot on. Notice he says future bailouts require this treaty however the current doesn’t, not true. It’s impossible for it to interfere with any EU treaty or law as when they asked for the EU treaty, David Cameron(UK PM) vetoed it. This isn’t actually an EU treaty, it is a European treaty(a treaty made by countries in Europe) which is open to all(even outside the EU if they are dumb enough). The only thing in Europe this can use is the ECJ as that’s the only permission David Cameron allowed them.

• Michael Cuthbert 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Is it possible for someone to lie if they don’t understand what the hell is going on/they are talking about?

• Karl Doyle 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Michael they are not the fools you take them for, if they where they would not be in office now as they wouldn’t of being able to deceive so many so well. Perhaps our nations greatest weakness is we take these dangerous people as fools, fools are harmless but government is not.

Report this comment

But Karl. The only aim in life for most politicians is to get elected. That’s what they’re good at. They’re manipulative, power hungry, attention seeking, etc. Showbiz for ugly people. Certainly doesn’t mean they know WTF is going on. Kenny is clearly out of his depth. This was clear to many in FG who wanted him gone less than 2 years ago.

As it happened, they didn’t even have to be any good at getting elected last year (which seems to be the case with FG & Labour over the few years Ireland has been a republic). They were kicking at an open goal and still it went in off the goal-keeper’s glove…

• Karl Doyle 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Michael he’s not out of his depth it’s an act to deceive you so he may have an excuse when he leaves, some of his cabinet out of depth perhaps but not Enda himself and sadly this is an act for which you have fallen for. They ran a campaign which worked well for them and had everyone prancing around town but come the cursed budget time they had to call a german MP for Noonan is a teacher and he’s a sexist one too as he didn’t ask one of the others on is cabinet to do accountancy even tho that was her job before politics. Take them for fools and you’ll loose.

• Michael Cuthbert 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Again, Karl. Confusing the issues. He may be a cute hoar, putting Labour members in big spending departments and Howlin in to nobble the public servants. Politicians excel at that carry-on. Quite a different thing dealing with the heavyweights in Brussels…

• Spud Byrne 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Once again, I don’t believe him. At all.

• John Wooldridge 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Kenny is as much use as a chocolate teapot. Verbal diarrhea of the highest order.

• Glyn Carragher 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I heard that if we don’t reopen the embassy in Rome a financial bomb will go off in Dublin and bondholders will foreclose on Cloyne.

Report this comment

“Anything that happens in regard to the fiscal compact is superseded by that fact – that we’re in a fiscal programme”.

Can something be superseded by a fact?

Can something supersede another thing in advance?

Back to school with ye Enda…

• Karl Doyle 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

A European treaty can’t interfere with an EU treaty as they are different things.

Report this comment

That position lacks polish Karl. Different things can interfere with each other: Priests and alter-boys; the sun, the moon and the sea (tides). Get my drift? Think I understand where you’re coming from. Question is: does Enda?

• Karl Doyle 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Michael, you seriously need to watch the news cause clearly you live in fairy land. My position doesn’t lack any polish, it’s a fact hundreds of reporters have stated. Some even reckon this treaty will be found void in the ECJ cause of this. When your IQ surpasses fairyland status then I’ll show you how the real world works.

• Michael Cuthbert 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I know Karl. I am a mere embryo. I’ll not bother you again until I’ve been around longer than a wet weekend…

• James Ohare 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I think someone got it spot on when they said “Kenny is out of his depth”…this man is an embarrassment…I cringe when he opens his mouth. I now know why FG tried to get shot of him. I live in hope!!!

• Ardo Ci 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

What is it about politicians that the people can never believe a word out of their mouths. They treat us all as fools and don’t seem to realise it’s we who see them as fools. The worst kind of politician is the one who actually believes himself.

• Cork 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Gilmore making a stance on the Vatican embassy what a joke and enda like a deer in the headlights they are just moving the furniture around merkozy are idiots the iceberg has already hit the euro zone and the poor Irish are fckd on the lower decks bailing like mad

• Bernadette Dunne 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I can believe that Enda Kenny would come out with such dribble because that is all we hear from him all the time Pat the Dog on the head there he seems to enjoy being the under dog and believes that All Irish people will feel the same if he keeps telling us he is one useless g**s**t*

• Noreen Kennedy Yesterday, 1:37 PM #
    Report this comment

For once Enda is speaking the truth, DR Andy Storey read out a statement at a meeting on the fiscal treaty by the no campaign last night in Whites hotel in Wexford. It stated at the time of our bail out from the IMF that any country needing financial support will get it until such a time as they have economic growth or no longer need a bailout.. SO when any politician such as Brendan Howlin asks where will we get the money if we vote no, they are lying. We owe too much for them to kick us out of the Euro zone

• Eileen Doherty Yesterday, 5:17 PM #
    Report this comment

Noreen we can never be kicked out of Europe , we are in Europe and the only way we get out it by leaving it, sure look at Greece they didn’t kick them out because they can’t , and if we vote no we will still get funding that’s if we ever needed it , Ireland is the most indebted country in the world for the size of our population . Vote No

Add New Comment