TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Taoiseach to address the nation ahead of Fiscal Compact referendum

Enda Kenny will deliver an address to the nation on Sunday evening to ensure balanced coverage from RTÉ after it broadcasts Gerry Adams’ speech to the Sinn Féin Ard Fheis on Saturday evening.

Enda Kenny addresses the nation last December ahead of his government's first budget
Image: Screengrab

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY is to address the nation on the Fiscal Compact treaty referendum on Sunday evening.

Kenny is due to address the nation just before the Six One News on RTÉ One at around 5.50pm on Sunday, four days before polling, at the request of the State broadcaster in order to ensure balanced coverage.

The broadcaster made the request in line with broadcasting rules after it emerged that the Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams will be addressing his party’s Ard Fheis on Saturday evening.

A government spokesperson confirmed that there had been a formal invitation from RTÉ for the Taoiseach to address the nation.

He said that the length of this address will be dictated by how long Adams spends talking about the referendum – in which his party is advocating a No vote – on Saturday night.

Sinn Féin says it expects its leader to address the party at around 5.30pm on Saturday night.

The party again called for the Taoiseach to debate Adams in a one-on-one debate. Kenny has already turned down an opportunity to participate in such a debate on TV3.

Commenting on this evening’s confirmation of Kenny’s televised address, Adams said that “this is an entirely artificial situation” which arises from Kenny’s “refusal to engage directly with myself in a proper debate” on the treaty.

Sunday will be the second time that Kenny has addressed the nation having delivered a 13-minute speech to the country last December prior to the government’s first budget.

Read: Donegal group defends protest despite ‘egging’ of Taoiseach’s car

Read: ‘Come Here, Will You Have a Cup of Tea’ Taoiseach of the Day

Read: TD brings legal challenge against ESM treaty

Read next:

Comments (144 Comments)

• I won’t be watching it for fear of throwing the television out the window!!!!!!

• Tenner says Indas sitting at a desk so you can’t see Merkels hand up his arse working the conrtols…..

• Ah yes, our esteemed leader will address the nation, with a prepared script/speech but will not partake in a debate…what if we’re “too busy” to watch?

• I agree with Ian. I think Mr. Kenny is taking the easy option. Why could he not debate the issue with people who are pro and anti? The whole thing is a shambles. Some voters I know are voting NO because of reasons other than economics. They think this government is incapable of telling the whole truth and also have got some things so wrong ie. the household and water charges, the public servants retirement scheme, the closure of Columb Bks. not sticking to the cap on advisors etc. Also we see the salaries and expenses of our Oireachtas members while some people live from day to day. Are they not acting more like a ruling class than our elected representatives?

• Wouldn’t it be wonderful if everybody just turned off in protest over him not doing a live media debate. Can you imagine the headlines?

‘ Ireland put Enda on stand by”

• Betty, you are right – people shouldnt vote no just because the government and Enda are a complete shambles (who would never have got in power if FF didnt completely stuff things up)
      Fine Gael felt they had a right to power after so many years in opposition. Lets not forget they couldnt win against Bertie and FF when everybody knew Bertie was a finance minister without a bank account. Even when they did win they couldnt do it on their own.
      I think FG wouldve tried to enforce this austerity on us even in good times – they are wannabe thahtcherites – and can only do their worst because of the situation we are now in.
      They do consider themselves our betters and entitled to lord it over us and I hope the Irish people dont forget this come election time

• Oh goodie – another patronising speech to look forward to! :0)

• Maybe this time he’ll tell us, “It’s not your fault you mad feckers, and I’m not going to use scare tactics, but I have been reliably informed by my Environment Minister that the sky has big problems. It is falling in”

• mart_n 22/05/12 #

I think a game of bullshit bingo is in order.

• Soundbite soundbite scare tactics soundbite shoulder to the wheel soundbite scare tactics soundbite. Probably covers it.

• No I won’t be tuning in and it’s a no for the treaty

• Is the man capable of making an argument for this thing himself? Easy to read words Phil Hogan writes for him off of a teleprompter. No sane person is going to look at this and think anything but “coward”.

• Absolutely! This man (supposedly Taoiseach of our country), WON’T enter a debate on the issues,but will gladly sit, unchallenged to say whatever he wants!

This really is an self-admission of is inept,and inability as a Weak leader of this country!!

• He simply has no class, questions scare him & his handlers know there is one big gaffe on its way, they are just keeping him on a short leash just like they have hogan, howlin & shatter,

• ….Veradkar and the rest .

• Address the nation.
      Whats it gonna be this time Enda?

Is it going to be more
      ”I know everyone in Ireland is
      broke,
      getting repossessed,
      emigrating,
      not able to feed their families,
      getting robbed by their banks,
      being forced into the abyss,
      so we are just gonna screw ye all even more”

• He will wish us all good luck, just like he did when I wrote and told him how bad it was ..yellow belly.

• No Harry probably he just tell us we all went crazy borrowing again…. And it’s not our fault but we have to pay for it….

• Hope it’s not Enda story.

• If Inda is being invited to speak on Sunday because Gerry will be speaking on Saturday what would happen if Gerry were to say nothing about the referendum? I assume this would pull the rug from beneath Inda and, if everything is to be balanced and fair, he won’t be allowed to speak about it either. This makes him sound like a spoilt child who has to have the last word.

• Paul 22/05/12 #

The man has not got the balls to go head to head with any one in the no camp

• So will Kenny be talking to the Nation or Davos this time around? Maybe he could get one of his many special advisers to clarify that before the event.

• Ok folks here it is THE REFERENDUM DRINKING GAME! Every time Enda says the word “Certainty” you take a drink every time he says “Confidence” you take a drink and every time he says “Uncertainty” you finish your drink.

• Barra 23/05/12 #

@ Francis Devenney …maybe also include “let me be clear”, “the train is leaving the station”, “heart of europe”, “facing the right direction”, “open for business”. Bonus drinks if he says “Paddy” or “don’t kick the future in the face”.

I’ve been working on an Enda Kenny action figure – although action may be a misnomer. It has a string come out it’s arse and when you pull the string, It rattles of one of the above sound bites. I also considered an Enda Kenny puppet, but then I’d have to build an an Angela Merkel RoboCop to pull it’s strings.

• Barra. Great idea but I’d be afraid I’d get drunk enough to think he’s making sense, Because repeating the same meaningless phrases over and over again seems to make sense to drunk people.

• after his last lying effort ! don’t waste your time or OUR money its a big fat NO from me bell enda!!!

• Short of that little weasel telling us that he is resigning and calling a general election I can’t think of any toady lie of his that would interest me in the slightest… Im still voting no.

• Plenty of threats and the odd smile.We all know whats coming.

• Enda Kenny wouldn’t run a bath never mind the Country! … I’m on the VOTE NO side! …. Thumb me down Thumb me up ..but.. I’m still voting NO

• To the Yes side, and apologies again to the Journal people, but failing to answer the below question proves a corrupt cover up of facts of which you will not reveal to the Irish people.

The fact remains – Ireland will have to contribute €11 billion to the full fund of €700 billion. Where will we get it? The only place we’ll find €11 billion in the tranches its required in is from the EFSF. What that basically means is, we wil be borrowing from EU (EFSF) at interest to give the EU (ESM) money, to then borrow it back from EU (ESM) at more interest, yet we’re the idiots and the ones playing fantasy economics? I understand quite clearly that the first tranche is a “mere” €1.7 bilion but €11 billion is our total liability to fulfilling our full quota of the full ESM mechanism, which I may note will not be big enough in any case.

If the above is not the harebrained way we will contribute when we are clearly broke, please inform those undecided exactly how we will fund the ESM! Perhaps it is the toothfairy the Yes side have been blabbering on about so much is going to give us the grant of €11 billion?

• Erm no, you are wrong.

Countries will contribute to the ESM ‘on-demand’ should it be required. The whole point of the stability treaty is to bring stability and hence there should be no need for any country to need access the ESM. Remember, we gave money to bail out Greece and all nations gave money to bail us out.

• So ourselves, Greece and “tethering on the brink” Spain won’t need money so? So why are ye making a big deal about access so?

• Oh by the way James you didn’t answer the question either, when NOT if the full ESM is required and our €11 billion gets called in, where are we going to get it? I’d appreciate a direct answer please!

• Think about it, if the full ESM is ever needed, the €11bn will be of no concern to us as the Euro will implode and the dream will be over. There are a number of countries too big for even the ESM to bail out. I say it again, the treaty is a means to create stability, stability will bring lending prices down which will let us re-enter the markets.

• James I don’t know where you’ve been hanging out but a quick flick through European news would show you Greek people starving in soup kitchens, Spanish banks tethering on the brink, Portugal and ourselves in a mess and looking for bailouts of bailouts, German and French banks creaking under bad debt from peripheral Europe and all we have from Brussels and Berlin is inaction and an ever longing desire to keep German inflation low while the rest of Europe burns.

So sorry to break it to you but Europe is already imploding, time to recognise that and face up to reality. Not until that reality is faced by our supposed “union” will any type of recovery begin!

• The full cost will appear on our “balance sheet” and will affect the cost of borrowing.

You can’t make these macho promises and ignore the consequences. We should have learned that from the famous “Bank Guarantee”.

• Greece will be out of the Euro and deservedly so. They are not saddled by banking debt and all their debts are through piss poor financial management. Ireland, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Belgium are all victims of the contagion effect brought about by lack of confidence.

• James

now seriously – “victims of the contagion effect brought about by lack of confidence”. We are in the mess because of the greed of bankers, developers and politicians. Their debt was added onto the sovereing debt thanks to inefective leadership.

• @James
      You know quite well that Mr Kenny & co have done the complete opposite to their pre-election proposals. Their mandate was not austerity nor was it to be the best boy in the class. I was expecting an army of politicians & experts to go to Europe & tell them this is how the Irish people want it done & “if you don’t like it you can go & fcku yourselves,” They probably would of been slaughtered by Europe but at least Europe would of known that we the irish people were behind our government & they were only doing what we elected them to do. I cannot vote yes to anything they ask because I have no respect for any of them & just don’t believe what they tell me. History will not be kind to this cabinet.

• Ann, you are correct. Our banking system, regulatory function and government let us all down badly. However, in order to get back into the markets, the markets want to see growth, to get growth we need stability, hence the treaty. Anyone who voted for FG and/or Labour who thought that the austerity would stop are deluded. I have to laugh at the SF slogan ‘austerity isn’t working’ because we have managed to reduce our deficit by nearly 10% which (as shit as the last few tears have been) is no mean feat. Growth will return but not without stability.

• And can you explain to us what part of the treaty will bring stability James?

• Balance the budget now… This year…. Do what has to be done… Quick sharp correction…. No need for markets no need for ESM… Say no to austerity treaty…. Kick these muppets out of government…. Let’s get the show on the road again…

• James the ironic thing isI don’t believe in the whole austerity treaty lark and I am certainly not a SF supporter, however, we are concerning ourselves with a dusty mantlepiece while the house is engulfed in flames. For stability and growth, and as Declan Ganley would say much better than I, we need to face up to insolvency and write off debts that will not be paid back and stop expecting states to bail private companies out. This treaty does nothing to add stability, only proves how short Irish peoples memories are!

• The stability comes from proper fiscal management (mandatory) in all states. This was one of the very reasons we are where we are. I have always said it (and I’ll say it again), Ireland needs and will get a writedown of the majority of our banking debt before the end of the year. The EU are working in it as it is not a simple process but it will happen.

• Jerry 22/05/12 #

Who cares treaty going to be passed YES YES. YES

• James this is another cod, have you seen the power the ESM is given. It is not answerable to any court or state. It’s alot more than proper fiscal management, if that’s all it was I would be voting yes!

• That is also incorrect. Each state will have an elected Government representative overseeing the function of the ESM. By the way, are you suggesting a big EU conspiracy? If so, what is your theory?

• Also incorrect? I proved you were waffling above, not the other way around there buddy. The fact remains that the Irish people are being tried of told what to do, how to vote, that they should pay back debt that’s not theirs and being lied to by politicians. This is more dissolution of sovereignty to unelected bureaucrats who can fine us if we break debt caps. Excuse my language, but it’s F**KING nonsense! Are ye listening to yourselves like? This treaty couldn’t be more irrelevant in todays Europe if it tried!

Please also refrain from snide “conspiracy theory” remarks. Being smart enough to see the enormous democratic deficit in Europe while its people are starving is not akin to being a conspiracy theorist, moreso just having a bit of common sense and respect for the fellow citizens of Europe!

• Every comment you make is factually incorrect so forgive me for not understanding your motives. I have listened to your conspiracy theory nonsense before. Face up to it, you don’t like austerity and you wan’t someone to blame.

• Ah give over, I’m done talking to you, you’re rambling out your backside now and resorting to the usual bull rhetoric when I am NOT A LEFT WINGER!

• What are you then? Central Midfield or Center Forward?

• And there we have a sum up of your intelligence!

• James, only one nation in history has sustained the levels of debt that Ireland now has without either devaluing it’s currency or defaulting or both.
      That nation was Britain in 1815 during the industrial revolution. When it had the largest empire on earth.
      I am not a socialist by any stretch, but anyone who believes Ireland can sustain this debt is delusional.

• Sean, great comment but if you read my comments you would see that I have already made that point.

• Well done James, you have buckets of persistence. Your contributions are very helpful.

• @ James, would the fiscal compact have prevented Ireland getting into the mess they are in now?
      Ireland had a budget surplus until 2008 when the ass fell out of the economy. My understanding (limited) as it is, is that the fiscal compact wouldn’t as the economy was earning so much of property development and when that imploded, the country was screwed. Secondly, if that compact was in place when Ireland started to have a budget deficit, we would be penalized until we got it to a certain percentage.

• So boring

• James, I appreciate that you feel it in your bones that the EU/ECB will grant Ireland a write down at some point in the future.
      In fact, your bones are wrong for a number of reasons.
      Firstly, no write down will be granted until it is requested (ideally demanded) However, our glorious leader has ruled this out. (By itself an excellent reason to vote No. Remember the Irish state never requested any guarantees on corporation tax until after the first Lisbon vote)
      Secondly, several euro-nations have debt in around the same level. A write down cannot be granted to Ireland in isolation. This would be political suicide for senior German politicans.
      Thirdly, the stability of German national finances are often overstated. Germany national debt exceeds 80% GDP. Meaning it needs to retrench. In addition several other issues. An impending pensions crisis, Internal German states in financial crisis, German banks highly exposed to the periphery and still carrying Wall St toxic securities and €1/2 trillion liability on bundesbank books.

“‘Caught in a Trap’

As long as the monetary union continues to exist, this isn’t a catastrophe. The money is virtual, created by central banks, and its existence doesn’t mean that an equivalent amount is lacking elsewhere. But as soon as a country leaves the euro zone, or the currency union collapses entirely, things get critical.

“We’re caught in a trap,” Sinn says. “If the euro breaks apart, we’re left with an outstanding balance of nearly €500 billion, owed by a system that no longer exists.” That figure, €500 billion, is more than one and a half times Germany’s annual federal budget.”
      Der Spiegel

While this means that Germany is not as liquid as often portrayed, it is much more vulnerable to the demands of a struggling nation than we are lead to believe.

• Talk about being a drama queen. You know the answer to this, but ill happily clarify a few bits for those who are floating voters.

Firstly, its important to know what voting Yes or No makes absolutely no difference to how the ESM will operate and our part to play in it. The piece of legislation covering the ESM will more than likely go through the Dail, as required, and be passed. That means we contribute to the fund without having access to it. Its nothing to do with the treaty. Voting Yes, the fund and our contribution remains. Voting No, the fund and our contribution remains. Ireland was a contributing members to the existing fund, the EFSF.

Secondly, the emergency / bailout fund total is going to be €500bn (on top of €200 billion already committed to bailouts for Greece, Ireland and Portugal) funded by 17 euro area member states. An initial paid-in capital is required by all such states. For Ireland, we must pay initially €1.273bn in five equal installments starting in July 2013. We have such money readily available without needing to draw down or ask for an additional loan by the state.

Thirdly, do not need €11.3bn for “membership” as some would describe. This figure you quote is our overall guaranteed sum in the event that the ESM draws down the full €500. So, like other states, if the ESM needs to give someone a massive bailout which means drawing down all funds available (ie €700bn) than that is where we would need to pay out.

Finally, the maximum current commitment Ireland would have to the ESM is €11.15bn including the initial payment. While that’s a large amount, as anything in billions is, it’s only about 6-9 months deficit. This is raised, like the EFSF, on the market. It doesn’t apply for countries in a bailout programme.

On a separate note – the fiscal treaty is like the steps we have taken before in previous treaties and pacts. It is not the full answer. There is nothing to say its going to fix all our problems. But it goes some of the way. Its a step by step process, and it always has been. This move is all about stability and keeping countries more in check – because it enforces the existing rules and financial requirements (which even if we vote No, they will still be there) we are bound by in such a way to try prevent against the problem previously where people just simply left.

Stability? I say stability because its austerity no matter which way you vote. It does not enshrine austerity into our constitution or laws. It does not give a hall pass for permanent austerity. It is not designed, nor will it operate, to give such. It was designed so that we could all agree not to over-spend a considerable amount (certain over spending IS permitted, just within reason) and keep our budgets in check. By agreeing to that, we are showing investors that Ireland is committed to getting its finances back in order, we are open for business and we want growth, investment and jobs. In order to get that, we need to show we are a stable country economically by agreeing to the new fiscal rules while also letting others know that we have a European Bailout fund we can access if required if another bailout is required.

Instability? More caused by stepping into the unknown. By deciding to swim into uncharted waters that are simply unknown. By rejecting the treaty, we immediately state we are not going to keep our finances in order the way the European Union requires and we want no part of the ESM (European Bailout) and shall head to the markets or the IMF, for example, to get funding. While that sounds good in principal, there are no guarantees we will get money from either nor do we know the interest rate and bailout terms given by any such body that agrees to fund us. The No side agree, and have offered alternative proposals which do not stack up – not enough cash, not instant cash, and making bigger problems for yourself down the road.

I suspect a lot of people will rate this red, as they do on the Journal when you point out facts and avoid fiction taking the treaty at face value. So don’t take my word from it. Don’t take your politicians word if you don’t agree with them. Look at the experts that even the No side claim as experts. People like Karl Whelan and Seamus Coffey. Look at independent neutral bodies who take the treaty at face and factual value. Look at small organisations, medium organisation and large organisations who require stability and a strong economy to succeed. What are they saying?

But for the love of god – please, for the sake of the country, do your own research and avoid silly Youtube videos and campaigners that selectively quote what sounds better than the truth, pluck figures from the air claiming its fact and make up stuff that has absolutely nothing to do with the treaty (taxation, abortion, conception, bank debt, bankers, jedward, water charges, household charges etc). Ignore the outside noise such as the scale of our debt, which does need to be addressed but separate to this treaty, the faults of Europe, and the faults of our current and past governments. Look for the future, look at the facts and look at the actual figures. Examine the treaty in full, not just places that pick random parts and make it sound good or make it sound bad.

On May 31st Ireland is calling. It is calling for our future. It is calling for stability which can help bring us jobs, investment and a better future. On May 31st please use your democratic right, which so many other countries are fighting for daily, and vote in the Referendum. Together, we can make a difference for our future and our children. Thank You and God Bless. :D

• censored 23/05/12 #

Karl Whelan: the economics of this treaty are pretty awful, but on balance we should vote yes.

What a weasel.

• A few simple facts.
      As Hans Werner Sinn points out, one nation departing the Union could crystallise a €500 billion lose for the German taxpayer. This probability has increased significantly since the Greek elections.
      As pointed out above, Ireland will not sustain it’s current debt levels without either a devaluation or restructuring. Ireland has a strategic advantage in negotiating a debt writedown not available to other distressed nations. Ireland is the only nation holding a referendum on the fiscal union treaty.
      If Ireland cannot ratify, the Germans will have to decide to either agreeing to restructuring in an attempt to avert Bundesbank liabilities or cut Ireland adrift for the sake of debt that amounts to one-tenth of those liabilities. €30 billion of Irelands debt could be written off at the stroke of a pen as these are seignorised funds (promissory notes).
      Currently, the ball is in the Irish voters court. If we refuse to ratify this treaty Germany will have no option but to agree to a restructuring in our favour.

• European bank exposure to the periphery nation; €1.2 trillion.
      The EU cannot afford to cut Greece loose.
      Is the penny dropping yet anyone?

http://mobile.bloomberg.com/news/2012-05-22/european-banks-unprepared-for-pandora-s-box-of-greek-exit.html

• He is a Coward and this proves it . Does he think we are thick ? Yes he does ….. Well enda I w3ill be voting NO as will my daughter and two sons. Grow a spine you good for nothing Rabbit .

• He is a weak cowardly “leader” – even using that word in this sentence irks me!! He is incapable of arguing his points (if indeed he knows what thry are) in a debate and has relied on opposition leader Micky Martin to fight his corner! He is a disgrace and an embarrassment!

• Address this ! No !

• I’m probably wrong but is this proposed address not against the rules as set out by the referendum commission. Taoiseach or not, do the rules as set out by the commission not specify the equal time must be given to each side to make their point. Also is this address being funded by fine gael or dept of Taoiseach. If dept of Taoiseach the public money must be used to give both sides point of view. If fine gael the he should not be allowed use the actual office of the Taoiseach for broadcast.

• What about a debate between the leaders? Is it an unreasonable request?

• I’m sure he will tell us all that it wasn’t our fault … again. Weathervane Enda.

• What an absolute pussy!

• jerry obviously a fine gaeler. thats my second post like that in a few mins. fg must be panicking now and getting people to log in and support them. vote no!!! until enda and co bring their incomes down to a respectable level then im not interested in what they have to say. they told countless lies to get elected. not another cent to the banks my arse. lying cheating good for nothings.

• What’s the point in voting for a Treaty that is going to be renegotiated? We need to see what the final package contains before considering voting yes. This referendum is premature. Vote No.

• mel 22/05/12 #

Coward he must think we are complete idiots! Maybe Nora Casey could give the speech at least she had the courage to debate it,even if it was complete crap what she was saying!

• So he will come on the TV to scare the crap out of us into voting yes. I’m sure there will be words like trains leaving stations and insurance policies on your house. Hope he brings along Hogan. Although he probably has him in the wings either way in June 1st to bully us further.

• Kenny is just another elitist clown. I’m voting a big fat NO! in the referendum because………

I’m NOT in favour of “bailouts”. I’m NOT in favour of using “growth” to get out of this crisis*. I AM in favour of balancing the books. But first, and far more importantly, we also need to balance the inequalities of income, wealth and power embedded in our system. And we need detailed, specific commitments on these, with appropriate targets, stress tests, key performance indicators etc.etc., followed up by immediate, urgent action, rather than some vague, pious aspirations tacked onto the treaty.

Rather than write banker/accountant diktats into our constitution, we need, for example, a maximum income policy (See http://www.change.org/petitions/the-european-parliament-help-the-peoples-of-europe-to-introduce-a-maximum-income for more), to be determined democratically by the voters. We need a job guarantee written into our constitution. We even need (Shock! Horror!) the state to provide work, as well as to encourage community, agricultural and worker co-ops.

The YES side’s two main arguments, cheered on by media millionaires, are contradictory. They argue that we absolutely must ratify the treaty in order to “balance the books”, while in the next breath arguing that we absolutely must ratify the treaty in order to get the next bailout. This is followed by brass-neck accusations that it’s the NO camp that is irrational. Blank-cheque Bertie would be proud.

As for demands by multi-millionaire TV presenters like Pat Kenny, masquerading as impartial referees, for ten-second sound-bites as to “where would we get the money” to make up the budget deficit, since the richest 300 people in Ireland are worth 50 Billion euros, how about “TAX THE RICH, STUPID!” A mere 1% of that 50 Billion would pay the household tax three times over. A maximum income of 100,000 euro per year (hardly peanuts) would bring in billions more.

Further, not another penny should be given to bankers/bondholders. Their casino capitalist gambling was the main cause of this crisis. The bailouts of these criminals, forced on the Irish taxpayer by the criminal Fianna Fail/Green government, catastrophically worsened and continues to worsen the 2008 economic crash. To those who, having facilitated the robbery of taxpayers to pay off criminal bankers, now wash their hands of it all Pilate-like and say that the money is gone, that the bondholders in Anglo-Irish Bank etc. have already been almost completely repaid, I say that we were pressured by the ECB to introduce the bank guarantee, that the imbecilic Fianna Fail/Green government buckled under that pressure, and that since it was the ECB that was so keen to prop up rotten banks, that it should be the ECB who pays for it. We should therefore tell the ECB that we will not repay a penny of those ECB loans we received in order to bail out Anglo-Irish Bank etc., and that if they want their money back, that they should contact the relevant bondholders. This shouldn’t be too difficult, given the overlap of “talent” in the ECB/EU/IMF and, for example, Goldman Sachs. We won’t call this “default”, since it upsets the elites so much. Let’s call it “restructuring the debt”, or maybe “Justice”.

* “Growth” is environmentally catastrophic. “Growth” is poisonous and cancerous. It is incredible how all the lessons about climate-change and ecology, about how we live on a fragile, LIMITED planet, lessons supposedly at least partly internalized by capitalist elites, have been unceremoniously dumped in the recent mass hysteria for more growth. “Growth” is a con, a social pressure-valve, an excuse to kick the can down the road forever, to avoid dealing with the central issues of politics – the issues of wealth and power. It’s ideally suited to easing the consciences of “caring capitalist” and smoked–salmon socialist alike. It’s simply more of the same free-lunch mentality, the idea that you can solve the problems of inequality by doing nothing at all about them, instead lying back and thinking of “growth”. Instead of babbling incoherently about pie-in-the-sky “growth”, we need to urgently move to a green, no-“growth”/high-equality economy as a simple matter of survival.

• “Vote No No No And Say That’s The Enda Of The Matter” 

• mel 22/05/12 #

What an utter coward,he just keeps proving his critics right ,if he believes that the treaty is such a good deal then he should have the courage to defend it,coward ,coward, coward

• Up 22/05/12 #

Unless he brings his wiskey and gun i won’t be watching the traitor

• WS 22/05/12 #

I’m sure Enda will look into the camera with his best puppy dog eyes and proceed to tell us again “thats its not our fault” and that “Ireland is a great little country” and some other condescending dribble about voting Yes is in our best interest even though he is not arsed debating the issue.

• The tray-aty.

• Dear Friends,
    I am sure ye will all be delighted to hear that this Sunday I will be making a live television Address to the Nation. The purpose of this Address is to explain to ye Feckin’ Eejits, sorry, Good Citizens of Ireland, the many many Many good reasons why ye should vote yes in the up-coming Fiscal Tree-a-tee referendum. Now, while this is not the debate that many of ye think I should be participating in, as ye all know, I don’t do debates. But this is the best ye are going to feckin’ get.
    Yours Blah blah disrespectfully blah etc………..
    Vote Edna, Vote YES !

• Ffs!!!!

• Definitely voting No – again convinced by oreilly, darmody & mcbab that it’s the right way to go considering their blind allegiance to the Great Feathered One! Honestly lads – get a room will ya! Lol!!!!

• censored 23/05/12 #

Hmmm blueshirts and a treaty. Think we’ve seen this one before.

I wonder what we’ll give up this time. Maybe Enda will offer up Donegal after the egg throwing incident.

• I.must buy eggs to throw at the telly.

• It’s like turkeys voting for Easter. Irrelevant.

• Will we see the string being pulled from above from merkill

• howzat 23/05/12 #

Can there be a manic robot warning before he goes live

• #footinmouth award goes to Enda Kenny!

• Suppose it’s welcome news that he’s stepping into the fray in some capacity at all… He’s been a phantom in this campaign thus far.

• He get to address the nation because RTE are covering the Sinn Fein Ard Fhéis? Will Adams get to address the nation when FG are having one… if it keeps going like this there’ll be no time for anythinh else on RTE Wan.

• RTE are required by law to offer balance and fairness in any campaign. The No side will be on TV making their point. Therefore, someone from the Yes side needs to make theirs. Thus, complying with the laws.

• Too little, too late.

Leader my ass? You don’t lead from behind!

• Enda has done a lot of interviews : regarding the ‘implementation’ of various EU treaties: haven’t you Enda?
    #BallinasloeOctober2009

• I think it’s very easy to put yourself in front of a television camera for all the limelight and entertainment of a TV debate. But what’s more challenging is in fact meeting people face-to-face who are very angry at some of the decisions you have made. Coming to public meetings and taking questions from anybody in the audience of all political and non-political backgrounds is a much more uncertain environment than debating with the same bunch of politicians that you debate with daily.

As has been shown so far, the TV debates have made no difference. In fact the last one was a shouting match only confusing an already uncertain electorate. This referendum will be won not from the TV hype but from engaging with voters on the ground to their face rather than through their TV screens. People appreciate it much more and when the Taoiseach comes to your local parish or neighbourhood people certainly appreciate that more than jumping in front of a TV camera. Meeting and greeting is far more effective and anyone who has been to a public meeting with the Taoiseach will know that.

• As the political leader of our country, it is right and proper that he should address the nation. You might not agree with the content, but it is right and proper. You might not like the man but show some respect for the office. God forbid but someday it could be one of O’Learys loonies in there and the same respect will be expected.As is right and proper…

• I will be voting yes but I still thing Enda Kenny is letting us down badly by not debating the issue.

• Jerry 22/05/12 #

Enda is doing a great job of helping the country

• So depressin lookin at these comments full of moan bags…how many address to the nation has the last few taoiseachs done …none. Fair play to him keeping us in the loop instead of the last failures

• #BallinasloeOctober2009mcula

Add New Comment