Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

This house could be yours for under €500

The house at Ardleigh Park, Mullingar, Co Westmeath
Image: James B McDonnell & Co via Cabinbee.com

A HOMEOWNER IS trying to break the property market deadlock by selling his house to the lowest bidder.

Rob Reynolds owns this five-bedroom, four-bathroom house in Mullingar, Co Westmeath. He now lives in Germany with his wife and told TheJournal.ie yesterday evening that the economic circumstances in Ireland at the moment have forced him to find a novel way to shift the property.

The house is featured on a new website Cabinbee.com, operated by property agents and auctioneers James B McDonnell & Co., which asks would-be bidders to pay €50 in order to submit a bid for a property. However, the winning bid will be the lowest unique bid. (For example, you can bid 1c if you like but if someone else also bids 1c, then the bid is not unique). Bidders are advised not to bid over €500. The winning bid is announced once 6,000 bids have been received to the site.

Basic calculations would suggest that the process should pull in a gross total of €300,000 (€50 application fee x 6,000 bids) although Reynolds said it wasn’t yet clear how much he would actually get into his hand after auctioneer, legal and agent fees were deducted from that. David McDonnell of James B McDonnell & Co. said that Reynolds would still end up with over €200,000. The valuation of the property on the site is €165,000.

Reynolds told TheJournal.ie:

My reason for trying to sell my house in this manner is mainly due to economic circumstances in Ireland at the moment. Credit is virtually impossible to get so a solution was needed to be able to sell the property without the need for bank financing, ie, so the buyer does not need a mortgage. The one thing we have learned from the guys who run the distressed property auctions is that there is still a strong appetite among Irish people for property. The biggest issue is getting a mortgage from the banks and we think we have the solution for this.

He said that the house had already received bids despite the Cabinbee.com website just going live this week. Reynolds had thought of selling the house himself over the internet but decided that it would be too risky and asked James B McDonnell & Co to step in. He said: “They are bonded which means that the money they hold is insured. That way bidders can be assured that their money is in safe and trustworthy hands.”

The estate agent/auctioneer company liked the idea so much that they set up Cabinbee.com in the hope that Reynolds’s house will not be the only property they can sell in this way.

David McDonnell of James B McDonnell & Co. said that the idea had been brought to them by Reynolds. “It does work,” said McDonnell, “It has worked in Europe and we have to try it. Certainly it would make getting a house very affordable for one lucky person. I had heard of it before and Rob would have seen it in Germany quite a bit so we did our research and we’ve had a good bit of interest although this is the first real exposure that we’re getting.”

Properties currently languish on the market for an average of a year before a sale is made – McDonnell hopes that the Reynolds house could be sold within three to four months. He said that finances are obviously the “biggest concern in offloading property” at the moment and that unless they are “priced very attractively”, it can be a waiting game.

He reiterated that the auction process was being overseen by a solicitor. Reynolds also explained: “At the end of the auction, when enough bids have been received, James B McDonnell & Co. auctioneers will review the list of bidders to determine the lowest unique bidder. The bidding process is sealed until the auction ends.” Even Reynolds himself will not know what the winning bid is until the auction is over and the result verified.

While Reynolds’s house is the first to be featured on Cabinbee.com, McDonnell is optimistic that there will soon be more properties on the site. “I have had one enquiry today,” he said, “and it does seem to be generating interest. Essentially, the site opens your market from the provincial to the national.”

To see the house and details on how to bid, click here>

Read Next:

Comments (118 Comments)

• Eggfuel 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Wow.
    That is an amazing idea.
    Now that’s two fingers up to the banks
    It’s basically a house lottery.
    The mortgage ridden owners who are being milked dry by the banks get released and the new owner gets a house for basically nothing…
    Well well well.
    I can see this being a very worrying trend for modern capital markets. Wonder what legislation will b introduced to put a stop to this..

• Oisín O'Neill 14/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I fail to see how this has anything to do with the banks in fairness. He is just selling his home in a unique manner. He will still need to discharge his mortgage with the funds from the sale or otherwise prior to transferring the interest in the property.

It’s a novel idea, but I could see potential for enormous losses and fees from the website. Plus, what makes him think there are 6000 people that will actually bid when it comes down to it?

• Tom Kehoe 14/01/12 #
      Report this comment

@Eggfool No legislation will be introduced, this suits the banks. They get the existing loan repaid without the risk of lending more to another borrower.

Banks don’t want to lend money today, especially not for property. The government and financial regulator have commanded banks to avoid lending (i.e. shrink their balance sheet, deleverage, increase capital ratio – all done by NOT lending)

• Tony Stanley 14/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Oisin, it’s everything to do with the banks!

• Eggfuel 14/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Ok Oisin..
      The ability to get a house for under 500 euro has quite a bit to do with the banks…
      No mortgage required for new owners…
      Check out the interest earned by a bank on mortgages over their lifetime…
      The system is a river of money into which the banks draw their strength…
      The effect of this solution is to introduce a possibility of contagion to that system..
      This is the effect if every person in the country decided to give this system a try…
      Tom this is not an issue on its own… Its the idea that will change the system or can change the system..
      Similar to Matin luthers words..” I HAD A DREAM”
      An idea is very very powerful…
      It is from an idea that everything springs…
      Consider this…

• Cabinbee.com 21/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Thanks for the comments, we should have more announcements over the coming weeks. Folow us on twitter @Cabinbee

• Brilliant idea who need the banks this.
    This country is starting to wake up and by pass the robbers in this country ie banks

• Lar Hayden 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Nice Idea. Practical and easy to do it seems. Something others should definitely look into. Well done sir.

• Philip Wilson 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Innovation is born of necessity! Fantastic creative thinking, I hope it works for them.

• Dominic Achom 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

True talk.

• Cormac Flanagan 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Could you raffle your house. Same principle. €50 ticket and pick it out of a hat. Could have second prize of furniture etc. could this work.

• Caitriona Casey 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

genius!

• Heber Rowan 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

@eggfuel it shouldn’t be made illegal.

I admire the enterprise and out of the box thinking!

• Melissa Knowles 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

€500 still seems a bit high for Mullingar.

• linda marvel 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I still wouldn’t be able to afford it!

• Aaron 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

that happens on LBC “London biggest conversation” radio every week. they offer ipad and laptops on that through this bidding procedures but he is taking it to next level .

• Report this comment

Ha!! Works similar to that madbid site. If you pay 50 quid to enter a single unique bid, how many unique bids do you buy before your unique bid hits the mark. I’d rather pay for a lotto ticket!

• Derek Keogh 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Iv heard of house raffles back in the 80′s, nothing new here.

• Shannon Haynes 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Genius. Shame more aren’t doing this.

• Begrudgy 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Technically it is yours for under €60. Seeing as there is only 6,000 bidders. Winning bid has to come under this aslong as the bidders are not thick.

• Shanna 14/01/12 #
      Report this comment

That is providing no bid is duplicated. so could probably eliminate anything above 30! find the most likely range then, buy all the numbers, auction house again using same method. Free money.

• Sean Mac Gabhann 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Just reading some of the comments. 1. This isn’t a raffle, so no permissions needed. 2. There is no sale until he hits 6000. There is very little risk. if anything g this is classed as an auction and is one of the best and brightest ideas I’ve seen in years. Well done.

• Martin Fitzgerald 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

The reverse auction is a great novel idea.

I would question the figures though, as only 500 max will be made from the actual sale of the house, would the 300,000 from all these 50 euro fees not be subject to income tax?

That would take a huge slice out of his profit, or at least require him to sell more to allow for that.

Report this comment

He already is! He is only expecting to get 2/3 of that back about €200,000

Report this comment

He already is! He is only expecting to get 2/3 of that back about €200,000.

Report this comment

It says the 200k allows for auctioneer, agent, and legal fees, don’t know if that implies income tax too.

Report this comment

Yep…. normally on a sale like this the auctioneer has to declare it to revenue (over €60,000 someone correct me on that figure if im wrong) so in theory it should include his liability to revenue. but i do agree that this sale is a bit unusual so there is a question over it?!?

Report this comment

yeah I get what you mean, I would just wonder if the money would be categorised as income, seperate from the sale which will only be for 500. Interesting to see how it pans out.

Report this comment

Yeah the auctioneer will still have to declare the €300,000 to revenue. The question that i would love answered is will it be classed as income or property transaction tax as in one sence it has nothing to for with the property….. it’s a transaction fee. Will be interesting to see what happens.

• Cabinbee.com 21/01/12 #
      Report this comment

We should have more announcements over the coming weeks for those interested. Folow us on twitter @Cabinbee

• Jason Maguire 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

My Gaa club Grattan Og in Longford built and raffled a house in 2008 to pay for developing our facilities. The winner bought 20 tickets (€100 each). There was other prizes, a car, holiday to Australia etc and the club done all right out of it but it took huge effort from lots of volunteers. If they had to be paid, I don’t know if it would have been worth it. The novelty value will probably sell the first few to come on the Market, but will it keep going?

• Ann Toebes 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Let’s see how it goes…

• Jack N Beanstalk 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

If you end up winning the house. You end up with a liability. You cant sell it. You probably cant rent it & you will end up paying property tax on it.

• Stephen Downey 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

He is looking for 6,000 bids @ €50 a pop to raise €300,000. With bids as low as €0.01c then there are 100 unique bids per €1.
    So with a max bid of €500, that equates to a possible 50,000 unique bids. So why the limit to 6,000 bids? Odds are against anyone picking a unique bid. Either a scam or could be a waste of time.

• Philip Farrelly 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Ryanair will be giving free apartments with every flight booked. Taxes and charges extra of course.

Report this comment

I think people are missing the point of it. Property tax is based on the amount you spend on it which will be less than €500. You say winning, but its not a competition its an auction. that’s the clever part. If you bid say .01c you have to pay €50.00. If your bid is excepted then you get the house for .01c but if its not then lose €50. that’s how the person is making the money back on the house. in theory you could get the house for €50.01C and that is what you will be paying taxes on. The seller on the other hand will have to pay taxes on the other hand will have to pay out on the €300,000.

• Liam Breen 14/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Property tax will be based on market value not actual price paid. The government already usess a similar policy when determining value on distressed NAMA properties ie 2009 values (still deluding themselves a little, but if they applied lower values the tax payer would be asked to make up the increased shortfall so I’m not sure which is better)

• Carlos Hamilton 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

At the end will a list of bids be produced? Unlike the Government and previous Governments. i like transparency.

• Colm Austin 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

The problem here will be finding 6000 people that want to live in Ardleigh, Mullingar. Last weeks cannabis factory find in it will no doubt help.

• Jones Frank 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Oh a great idea! There hasn’t been half enough property related gambling in this country, well done for thinking of this means.

• Robert Power 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Great idea, €300,000 there about in the pocket and he is laughing.

Better off spending the €50 in the lottery!

• Lucy Nevins 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

A builder did this in Rosslare 2 years ago for charity, it was a huge success & a 3 bed semi was bought for less than 1k

• Adrian De Cleir 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

He’s working off the once off novelty factor. It’d be a nightmare if everyone did. Genuine buyers would never find a house.

• Richard Carroll 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Smart fella. Good luck to him & his family.

• Tom Dillon 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Its similar to what Barney Curley did in the seventies with Middleton House. It was dubious then.

Report this comment

I read the above and i realise why lonely planet slammed this country during the week as a country of “begruggers”. A great man once said “Problems of the world cannot be solved by sceptics and cynics who’s horizons are limited by the obvious realities, we need men who can dream of things that never were and ask why not”.

Report this comment

What a fine true statement that has nothing to do with raffling your house.

Report this comment

Bad news. Your one of the i have focused that comment at. Your totally missing the point and belittling a great idea.

Report this comment

Elaborate then, tell me how its not a raffle. 6000 entries, 5999 are left 50 euro out of pocket . Dont get me wrong, fair play to him for managing to get rid of his if it works. But stop making this out to be some kind of revolutionary forward thinking that could serve as a new model for how the property market works.
      Its unsustainable, basically you’re putting on a 50 quid bet to win a house.

• SMcB 14/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Great idea my hole. He’s not the first gombeen to conceive a notion to sell a house by way of a raffle nor will it be the last. I’ve no problem with a respected charitable organisation raffling a house or otherwise for profit but this chap wants 6,000 people to pay off his mortgage and ultimately relieve him from his financial mistake. No thanks.

Report this comment

Like i said….. point proven with your comment. Your completely missing the point. Justsso i don’t have to re-type it again on my phone. Read back on other comments and the article. Its simple. You pay to place a bid it is accepted or not. There is no raffle or game of chance. You pay other you don’t. Your bid is unique or its not.

Report this comment

All it is and ever will be is an auction in reverse. The one and only difference is you have to pay into it.

• James Higgins 14/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Total agree with you.

Report this comment

You seem to play down the whole “The one and only difference is you have to pay into it.” bit, thats the huge bit, you could be bidding and bidding and get nowhere.

Listen I didnt mean it was LITERALLY a raffle, I know how the process works, its similar to madbid (which I consider a horrible scam). Buts when all is said and done its like a raffle. Its more like a raffle than it is a normal auction. At least with a normal auction the person that wants it will really get it and they will be the only one that pays, here you could bid 100 times, lose 5k and get nothing, just like a raffle.

• Rommel Burke 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Vaguely remember something similar in Cork in the eighties. Sellers family members won I think, left a bit of a bad taste amongst the locals, to put it mildly!

• G. Smith 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

The other problem for the greater many is that whilst some could sell with novel methods like this, trading up will be impossible as mortgages will be tough to obtain on another house given banks and the small amounts of homes selling this way. Can’t really enter a lottery like this either and risk ending up homeless. The buying and selling homes “chain” is still a chronic nightmare

• made 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

This is the same way as madbid.ie works, you pay to bid and that’s how the company make money.

• Marc Mulligan 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Rob Reynolds, give him lots of medals. He’s a legend. Let’s all try to be creative like this man in our financial transactions. Let AIB, BOI and the other retail banks rot.

• G. Smith 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

It would also be nice if house selling prices (or equivalent obtained sale value via novel methods like this) were published for all to see. Property is all a bit cloak and dagger in this country which fuels the problems we’ve all seen in recent years.

• jason mc keever 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Have the same sort of bidding system with all our ghost estates around the country,gets a few quid flowing and families into perfectly good new homes………

• fizi_water 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

As anything else in this world if something is cheap then there is a catch. If you bid for this house you might buy lotto ticket as well or donate that money to charity – either way you won’t see them again…

• Pa 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Wasn’t there a big drug raid in this estate a few days ago?? Ehhh… I think I’ll pass! http://www.shannonside.ie/news-details.php?nid=11000&action=newsdetails

• SMcB 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

What’s even more rediculus is the value the auctioneer has placed on the house… €165k ROFL!!!

• Eugene O' neill 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

The people to pull out the winning ticket is…..Fathers Ted Crilly and Dougal McGuire :)

• Titus d 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

So the first one to bid €0.01cent wins?

• James Higgins 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I would think the chance of winning this auction are far higher than winning say 100k fit a €50.00 outlay in National Lottery

• Biggins31 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

You just know the banks are going to start lobbying the politicians in their pockets, to put a stop to these type of methods to sell property.
    Anything that might effect their business and/or might catch on that don’t involve them, O’ no… can’t have that – must rush legislation to out the boot down upon it under the guise of also just protecting consumer law!

• Lamb 14/01/12 #
      Report this comment

The banks aren’t giving out mortgages so I’m not sure they have much to worry about.

• HELLO SPRUIKER 14/01/12 #
      Report this comment

CENSORED AND RE POSTED

WHY NOT JUST DO THE THE REAL LOTTO?

AND HAVE A CHANCE TO GET SOMETHING OF REAL VALUE

THE ODDS ARE BETTER

AND WHO WANTS A HOUSE THESE DAYS

WHY?
      SO YOU CAN PAY UNFORESEEN EVER INCREASING PROPERTY TAXES AND MAINTENANCE ETC

THIS IS A ONE TRICK PONY (EVEN IF PEOPLE ARE SOFT ENOUGH TO BUY ENOUGH TICKETS)

• Biggins31 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

First of all – if someone else does it – its not a “ONE TRICK PONY”
    Secondly – loads of people want a house these days instead of being stuck in more cramped conditions!
    Thirdly – some people – a lot of people are quite willing to put money back into the state by paying property taxes and other fees in order to have a better roof over their head!

…But then its tales bit of kop-on to see the above three points!

• Biggins31 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

* taKes…

• michael morley 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Still too dear for Mulllingar

Report this comment

Kids!!
      Pack Your Things
      We Are Moving To Our Dream Home
      Daddy’s Taken ”Initiative”
      He’s Taken Housekeeping Money And Bought Tickets For A House In Mullingar
      No Money For The Bookies This Week

I never do the Lotto
      But I Know Its Far Cheaper Than €50 A Throw
      And At Least If Someone Else Does Your Lotto Numbers
      You Will Still Get Something

€50 Is A Lot Of Money In The Right Hands

Remember
      Sean Quinn Started With £100 and Became One Of The Richest Men In The World (Without A Third Level Education).

He Brought Competition To A ”Closed Shop” Irish Insurance Industry

He Created Thousands Of Jobs Directly and Tens Of Thousands Indirectly In The Republic Of Ireland.

He Gave Millions To Charity.

And Now Even Though He Is 65 ( A Pensioner)
      Anglo And Our Government Are ”Corruptly” Spending Tens Of Millions Of Euro Of ”Our Money”
      Trying To Make Sure That This Man ”Does Not” Create Another Job In The Republic Of Ireland

Anglo Are Afraid That
      (1)Quinn Will Get Back Into Business (at 65)
      (2)Do Extremely Well (As He Has Done For The Last 50 Years)
      (3)And Expose Anglo,The Government And Their Legal ”Fine Scholars” For What They Really Are
      Namely
      A Bunch Of Corrupt Dependent Dead Beats

Take Your €50 And Do Something Worthwhile
      Like Creating A Few Thousand Jobs and Give Millions To Charity
      Like Quinn

Or Save It For This Years Insurance Premium
      I Heard Its Going Up!!

• Aranthos Faroth 14/01/12 #
      Report this comment

@ Hello Spruiker
      Yeah, we could but then I’ll say ‘different times’.
      You can barely fill a car for 50 squid these days.

• Yeera Yeahboy 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Quite. Pardon?

• Lamb 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

This odds in this could be as good as 1 in 6000. I fancy thay over the lotto to be fair

Report this comment

@ Lamb

Could Be As Good As Zero As well.

An Estate Agent ”Auctioning” A House

How Inventive And Noble

Wouldn’t Be One Of Those Honorable, Honest ”Celtic Tiger” Estate Agents??

Value €165,000??

Click On Daft.ie (On The Bottom Right Hand Corner Of This Fine Website)

And You’ll Find A Couple Of Pages, Of The Finest Mullingar 5 Beds For Under €100,000.

Usually If You Spend Some Money At An Auction Then You’ve Just Bought Something.

And Besides

Any Dead Beat Can Win At A Game Of Chance.

• Aranthos Faroth 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I’m not too savy on this sort of thing, at all (And am expecting a rake of dislikes here.. but I love em! :P)
    Wouldn’t the buyer of the house (Say they did pay €500) then be liable to capital gains tax if they try to sell it in future for alot more?

Again, apologies for not knowing much on the subject – You don’t ask, you don’t get answers.

• Goldie Locks 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

What happens if they don’t get 6,000 bids? E.g, only 3 or 4 or 5,000 people are interested – after a certain period are they reimbursed? Or does he get to keep their money indefinitely?

• Niall Naughton 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I’m sure revenue would also raise issues with it in some way. Something to do with the “value” of the house as opposed to what you pay for it!?

• Adrian O'Donnell 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Enough of this faff,
    I raffled my gaff,
    That’s the reason I left Mullingar

• Norman Hunter 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Wow Dave love the insight.

• Carlos Hamilton 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Oh no, I wasbn’t lucky this time, ah well another €50 … oh, I wasn’t lucky that time either, ah well another €50 again and again and again and again and again ….. I don’t think it is going to work.

• Louise Hanney 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Well location makes a difference so you may have seen a 5 bedroom house in mullingar for under a hundred grand but is it in the same place? Is it the same street? What’s the inside like? Will it have much work to be done? I think fair play to him at least he’s not complaining about not been able to sell his house and being in negative equity!!! He’s doing something about it

• Glen Grehan 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

win a house for €50 what a brilliant idea

• Tom Mulligan 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

how many people have signed up.
    I think its a great idea.hope it works out for them.

• baz 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

“If James B Mc Donnell & Co. and the Property Owner decide not to proceed with the auction, all bidders will be refunded in bidding credits only which can be used on the site.”

• Cabinbee.com 17/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Its been a crazy few days at Cabinbee. Thank you all for you support and feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We are finally up on Twitter at last so you will here more from us in future.

Add New Comment