TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Thousands take part in Dublin anti-austerity march (PHOTOS)

As many as 8,000 people are marching through Dublin city centre to protest against austerity measures.

THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE are taking part in an anti-austerity march in Dublin city this afternoon.

The demonstration, organised by the Dublin Council of Trade Unions, is protesting cutbacks ahead of the Budget this 5 December.

Gardaí have estimated that about 8,000 protesters have taken to the streets so far, while other sources say up to 18,000 are demonstrating.

The march started out being led by a woman on a horse dressed in a black cloak, resembling the figure of the grim reaper.

Various different groups are attending the march including Siptu, Shell to Sea, the Socialist Party and the United Left Alliance. Protests are being made against various austerity measures, property tax, and evictions.

Protesters were heard to chant: “Enda you won’t break our backs, we’re not paying a property tax”, and “Phil Hogan have you heard, we’re not paying we’re not scared.”

One man held a sign which read: “Enda, do you like the gathering?”

At about 3.30pm, Michael O’Reilly of the Dublin Council of Trade Unions addressed the crowd and asked everyone present to join him outside Dáil Eireann at 4pm on budget day.

Additional reporting by Christopher McKinley

Thousands take part in Dublin anti-austerity march (PHOTOS)
1 / 13
  • Anti-austerity march

Image: Christopher McKinley
  • Anti-austerity march

Read next:

Comments (216 Comments)

• That guy on the horse looks seriously cool!! Thats the way to protest!!

• And a message to anyone out there considering starting a small business /venture.

DO IT.

Some of the greatest success stories came out of the last recession, we were a strong people then and we still are.

DO NOT let scare mongers and shit budgets stop you, the banks and the government aren’t behind you but the decent strong supportive public are .

Make us proud ;-)

• What business do you run yourself. Ross?

You must have your million made to spend time cheerleading the panacea of business solutions to unregulated business-created disasters.

Was it not the tigrine pride that precipitated the current mess? I suppose a little reflective thought would be totally antithetical to your pep-talk solutions.

• Toss pot !!

• Word of advice for anyone reading Damien’s comments….. He appears to imagine that vocabulary is a sign of intelligence.

If you use google chrome you can highlight any word, right click and it’ll offer a search for his attempts to appear more educated than the rest of us minions.

• Ta for the advice and psychoanalysis there, Tomy.

If you are not fluent at the Engish, ce bhuil do Ghaeilge?

Can I take you are also of the FG/FF/Labour opinion with Ross that businesses are the solution to the crisis?

The PDs are with us yet.

• you can take nothing for granted Damien…

kind of like your comments where you can just take nothing….

• Do me a favour Tomy.

Enlighten me as to relevance of Ross’s business pep-talk to the topic in hand; a protest about the working and disemployed and emigrating classes paying for the white-colar crimes of the accruing classes, whose incomes continue to rise?

Or are you in tandem on a diversionary troll mission?

• If anyone shares my views etc please feel free to friend me on facebook.

I’m not affiliated to any party or group and would be happy to meet up with others similar for the next demo and walk together as non affiliated members of the public .

Unity is a great thing, I’m happy to give up a Saturday to expand the numbers . Every little helps folks .

Cheers .

• er..Ross..non-affiliated…so whats with setting up Ross’s buddies for the public good?

Why not just work with the people that have been working for years to see a better society evolve?

• And the..’unity is a great thing’…uno voce?

Not always.

• Thinking trumps emotional solidarity for feel-good unity every time.

• Well, the Invisible people who have been “working for years” to make this a better society have failed miserably. It’s time to stop bickering and sniping because thats what has allowed Irish governments to remain unaccountable for decades. Putting differences aside and the inherent “I’m alright jack” attitude to become one gathering will make a difference for us, our children and generations beyond. Daily challenges should and will be the way. These people are hired and paid by us to serve the good of all and it’s time to remind them of that duty

• Sorry Lou, but feel-good camaraderie is less than enough to solve our problems. Excuse my scepticism.

• This is the gathering 2012. I think there is a lot more than 8000 here.

• RTE say 18 thousand.

• how many people in full employment dose it take to pay just one TDs salary . . .
    just asking ?

• @ o’Reilly , sure what do you expect, unions in this country have only one main function…collecting membership fee’s …

I’m not someone that likes Sinn Fein , not one bit, I wouldn’t miss them in the morning if they were gone.
    But I would miss Pearse Doherty . When I see him in action I can’t help but see a glimmer of hope for politics in the future.

We will see better days, we will see a new young breed of politicians willing to fight to the end for us..it might not happen over night but it will.

As a nation we must be strong and must NOT let pessimism and depression creep in any further . It’s time we showed the world that we are strong , optimistic, tough no matter how bad it gets . Sure that’s what being Irish is and always was about. When we show the government that we are never giving up , that we are stronger than any of them or any e.u then we will have a hope.

I love Ireland , I love our people and I’m proud to stand up and defend my country and all in it .

• Ross..with all due respect..

What age are you?

• Damien, get off the hobby horse (by that I mean Ross!)
      Just because someone is diametrically opposite your pessimism does not mean they are wrong.

• If you cannot distinguish between healthy scepticism and ‘pessimism’ I’m staying on my ‘hobby horse’, which is not Ross, but seeing who has begun to analyse the situation and who is merely reacting. Emotionla nationalism is not the solution, and may well compound the problem.

• who has begun to analyse the situation

I see very little analysis or counter argument in any of your replies so please don’t hide behind that point.

Instead of just criticising (because that’s all I can see) try making a counter point that isn’t as (paradoxically) childish as asking someone “What age are you?”

• My point, Tomy, if you cannot see it, is that emotional nationalism is insufficient to sort the problem in a globalised 21st century. I’m not the one scapegoating ‘new-age travellers and crusties’ as handy and vulnerable decoys.

Do you think fervid nationalism is productive?And scapegoating with hate-stir against the unwashed?
      If so, on with you. The bondholders will be delighted.

Do you think the organised right has not been preparing its provocateurs for this long foreseen crisis?My wuestion was not flippant. We do not need hot-headed joy-riding to glory.

• An my point, not that you appear willing to hear it, is that constantly attacking the person while making no effort to present a civil viewpoint of your own only allows people to pass over your opinion.

Try removing the condescending attitude and people might actually read what you have to say and might find that you have a point. At the moment all that you are presenting is bad attitude.

• I don’t know Ross, and have no reason to attack him. He may be perfectly sincere. You seem to find scepticism indicative of pessimism and condescension, and have problems with three syllable words.

Sorry, Tomy, but sometimes its necessary to deal with the complexities involved.

As for ‘bad attitude’…I’ve been accused of that all my not short life. Usually for asking questions vested interests preferred unasked. I do believe it started with challenging the religious teachers in school for their idiotic contradictions. The teachers’ pets were held up as exemplars of ‘good attitude’.

• No, you’re just adding nothing Damien….

• I’m quite happy to accept that as your opinion, Tomy. But curious as to why you don’t reply to my points instead of personalising the issues.
      I addressed Ross’s emotional nationalism and pep-talk enthusiasm in search of substance. No sign yet.

Must I remind you it was the scepticism of those who predicted this collapse years back that was dismissed as ‘bad attitude’ talking down the economy and that was advised to go commit suicide?

Are you so young you don’t recall?Or is it an attention span deficit?Or just a FF/FG/Labour true-believer in the market uber-alles?

• There’s part of the problem Damien. You make so many assumptions and ask if your right – but go on to make a comment based on you ASSUMING you’re right….

I have no real desire to let you know what age or political leanings I have because I know what follows. You’ll embark on another set of further-from-the-truth assumptions.

While I have no desire to inform you so that you can go off in another ridiculous direction I do enjoy how wrong you are. Not young, not affiliated with any political party, no problems with attention deficit. (Which interests me actually – that you criticise personalising the issue and then suggest an attention deficit, and question age – not just of myself – and make other personal comments about Ross and others)

None of the above informs anyone here as to what you are actually trying to say.

None of the above answers why it is you seem to feel the need to attack others posts rather than start your own, outlining why you disagree.

That’s really all I have to say on it – unless you can actually align your thoughts in a way that might be conducive to informing and analysing as opposed to whatever vague and huffy comments you’ve made so far?

Other than that, good luck, I find it pointless to continue to engage….

• Ta, Tomy. No interest in your age.

Just curious as to your apparent allergy to, and aversion from, a sceptical response to a simplistic tar-brush of unions in general from someone who seems intent on animosity to new-age travellers, crusty-types and the great unwashed, rather than the well-groomed articulate white-collar culprits.
      My comment about attention-deficit related to the same ‘bad-attitude’ FF dismissals of Bertie’s optimism challengers. Its relevant and appropriate.
      I suggest you use your google chrome skills to check out the populist speechifying of Benito and Adolf and other surfers on the emotions of roused anger for their own ends.
      Gullibility is more comfortable than research and scepticism. I can’t help you there. Sorry if I disturbed your peace. The price of liberty remains vigilance, not self-deception.

• So what you’re saying is that you have nothing to say?

• There are none so deaf, as those who WILL not hear. Nor so blind as those who read into a comment what they wish to see, and stubbornly refuse to accept clarification because it challenges their foregone conclusions.

You can lead a Paddy to porter..but you cannot make him think.

I obviously have nothing to say to you, Tomy. But thats not for want of patient trying. I hope you and Ross will be happy with your diversion.
      Thanks, but no thanks. I’m a while studying the cul-de-sac brigades who think its all going to be changed with a thoughtless appeal to patriotic fervour. If only.

• Not for the want of words either….

nor the constant moving of goalposts.

• The ‘goalposts’ remain, Tomy.

Scepticism as to the expressed anti-republicanism, contemptuous dismissal of the selected unwashed on a decoy ploy, scatter-gun dismissal of unions, rarara simplistic nationalist mantras worthy of a fascistic no-nothingism, and a general lack of analysis.

You elide the fact that is not me cheerleading here. I am merely questioning.
      Its called democratic feedback. If that is problematic, please elaborate.
      I am quite prepared to accept rational demolishing of these points, but not knee-jerk dismissal because they might require a little thinking.
      If you want more positive input, I suggest you read Maurice Coakley’s recent historical overview and recap, ‘Ireland in the World Order’, A History of Uneven Development(Pluto Press, 2012).
      Am I wrong and presumptious in thinking neither yourself or Ross even know the book exists?
      Good intentions will not pave the road to a more egalitarian Ireland, however commendable. Had you read it, or been familiar with the issues covered, I would not need to interject these uncomfortable caveats.
      Or perhaps you envisage some other end than a more egalitarian political system?
      I know my goal, and I recognise false trails to its realisation, witting or unwitting, when I encounter them.
      I have NO illusions that there are short cuts, or that it can be achieved without argument. Nor am I offering personal judgements on anyone or their motives, though that does not mean I am elininating the possibilities of deliberate mischief-making. Be sure it is always afoot.

• If I got my laptop to read your messages it’d just go..BUUUZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

• That reads like vacuous desperation and an inability to take the trouble to even google the book mentioned.

I hope the laptop has a more up to speed chip. Heaven help Ireland if it has to rely on such lazy dreamers.

• BUUUUUUUUUZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

• Troll on back to your Iona Institute, Tomy.

• Iona institute? nothing to do with me….

BUZZZZZZZZZ

• Oh – I get it – another assumption…

I used to live at the top of a street called Iona road – it’s also the name of a Scottish Island so….

BUZZZZZZZZZ

• Thats what you believe.

They will love your think-not ideation.

• The buzzing is more like a kind of mechanical repetitive clanging now…..

• That will be your last lost marble rolling down Troll Avenue..sure you never used it anyway, no loss.

Buzz off.

• Are you still desperately trying for the last word Damien? Really?

I predict another very sad barrage of meaningless adjectives and pointless corrections with no substance to follow, as appears typical at this stage…

1.2.3… go for the last word there…

• @Ryan… I support the protest fully, I would be there now only for I’m laying my father to rest on Monday.

But , and I am no blue shirt or fg lackey, the socialist workers party and shell to sea DO attract a huge amount of crusties / New age travellers etc that ,no matter what, will never work regardless of how the country is run. They always have and always will be wasters.

Thankfully though most at the march are decent hard working people who are victims of the government and the publics easy spend attitude during the boom . Oh and the likes of Quinn etc…

Before I get slated let it be known that I am one of those people suffering and struggling and I fully believe we need to do this every weekend until something is done……

I just don’t want those new age crusty lads representing us hard working hard done by folk because they are nothing like us, we will always support their existence with our taxes as they will always have an excuse to not work because of ‘the man’ …

Only being honest.

• Fully agree Ross and Condolences on your loss. It wasn’t my intention to suggest that those not in attendance are BabyBlueShirts but those comments above trying to condemn and suppress any form of critique from the government. The sniping comments are there purely to humiliate those honest, hard working, decent people who did attend. I wasn’t in attendance myself due to a sick child but offer my support were I can. Your right the people are to be highly commended, they had a clear message and its one that I support. I hope Enda is watching.

• Condolences, Ross

But you really should slow down with your verbal slurry. It was not new-age travellers or crusties got us into this mess.

Your economic and social analysis is simplistic, and to be frank, dangerously juvenile.

• Damien, seriously you are the one looking juvenile here. Ross hasn’t retorted back to you once and yet you appear to be trolling through the comments just to pick apart his opinions. He didn’t say it was new-age travellers or crustys that got us into this mess hence, I’m sure, the fact that he supports the protest. He just said he didn’t want to be represented by the people who protest anything and everything but wouldn’t work if a job was handed to them. What’s wrong with that. I don’t want to be represented by that either which is why it’s important for everybody to be up in arms and protesting.

• So why the repeated references to ‘new age travellers and crusties’…easy decoy ducks from the real culprits…precisely the strategy of the organised right to deflect legitimate anger onto vulnerable scapegoats.
      Some of these ‘layabouts’ Ross is venting at are educated and were fighting Thatcher and her policies(the ideological spawner of this mess)when a lot of these righteous newborn rebels were rocking in the cradle.
      Read a little on the origins and methodologies of fascisms, Aoife. Unthinking ‘up in arms’ emotional self-gratification is its motor energy.
      Read James Connolly. Read your Irish history if you aspire to be useful rather than noisy and attention-grabbing. A useful start would be ‘Ireland in the World Order’ by Maurice Coakley to gather perspective. Naomi Klein’s ‘Shock Doctrine’ introduces the global programme, and Michel Chossudovsky’s ‘Globalisation of Poverty’ gives more detail. Anger without intelligence is dangerous.

• Emmet 24/11/12 #

Well done to all, more needed…. I would attend myself but unfortunately reside in foreign shores for the moment. We need more like this and the Ballyhea group, fair play. The BBC morning show did a report during the week from Dublin and finally it seems the truth is coming out that all is not well in the emerald isle…

• OU812 24/11/12 #

Well done to all taking part. Unfortunately this will fall on deaf ears. They don’t actually care how many march or how long they do it for.

Unfortunately, a coup is required for a change of leadership.

Instead of protesting on a Saturday when they’re not there. How about having a protest every weekday morning between 7.30 & 10.30. Block them getting into the Dail. Tell them we don’t want them there any more.

• Well Ryan without strength ,hope , optimism and support for each other we have no hope.

I hope today was enough to rouse something in all that witnessed it ….. I hope indeed.

• Its 7856 more than the last protest.Hopefully it will increase weekly.

• Way more than 8000 I would guess, all rallying at the GPO now.

• “There are two ways to conquer and enslave a country. One is by the sword. The other is by debt.” – John Adams.

• Great turn out and as far as I can see more then 8000 but I have not counted ;)

• Unemployment figures are down-well of course they are considering all the people that have had to leave the country myself and my family included.The gathering what an awful idea it would be alot better to try help people move home for good not try to claim the glory of increased number of tourists when we are just goin to visit our ageing parents.

• alan 24/11/12 #

http://youtu.be/8qCc9K1113c at this stage the start had reached the GPO coming from the top of Parnell Square

• It’s only beginning. People have the power to do anything if they are one.
    One Gathering is all this country needs and I hope this Government are taking note because they don’t have very long left.

• There’s a lot more than 8,000 here at the moment. I would sa at least double that.

• The trade unions marching against austerity imposed in part by trade unions. Ya couldn’t make it up…

• As someone already said above, THIS is the Gathering 2012. Well done all. Another bigger one I hope will be organised after the budget. The REAL gathering 2013. Out or love and respect for my friends abroad I would advise them to stay away rather than come home and get ripped off.

• Good on them all, wish I’d have been able to join them. Next time.

• Is that Shergar in the first pic ?

• That march today was great and it doesn’t matter whether there was 8000, 10000 or 20000. Its a shame this couldn’t be arranged for weekdays say Friday. Nevertheless thats the spirit and its proof that the people would take to the streets with the dire situations we all have to face. The march was very well organised. Lets hope the one at the Dail at 4pm on budget day will be massive.

• no mary they won’t listen in LH at all , too busy counting the money ……….shower of parasites

• Great turnout today. 8,000 at best is a really poor guesstimate or at worst spin to suggest people not that bothered. The thousands I’m with today would beg to differ! I took better pics on my iPhone that show the crowd size than those published here. Great demo – very peaceful & well organised. Looking forward to the news for once now. Always interesting to see how the media perceive & report such ‘Gatherings’!

• alan 24/11/12 #

Ah sure all your going to hear is no one was at it, Hopefully this is not the last should organize one during the week when that gang of spanners are sitting in the Dail

• Waiting with patients for the FG die hards and baby blue shirts of yfg to say that all those people are ‘crusties’ ‘dole heads’ and ‘wasters’ when in actual fact they are the back bone of society, hard working people who have had enough and standing up and shouting for the right thing. FG have surpassed FF in running this country into the ground and its the people who are left to unfairly pick up the pieces. Enough is enough.
    I can’t praise those who attended enough. Though I was unable to be there myself, I gave them all the support I could via twitter uniting the PIIGS in solidarity against a government failing its people, bad banksters and unlimited unfair unworkable austerity.

• This is a sign of things to come, these people were able to make it and so many weren’t. Due to work, no money, no transport and the Government knows they are in big trouble. Never mind polls, they are used to sway people. They’ll get a bigger kicking at the ballot box, Fg are in trouble and Labour will be wiped out for their lies!

• should have weekly march till the politicans realise that their policy is not working. public sector reform is not working. the pay/pensions bill is as yet not dealt with. i dont vote unions into power so do what your elected to do and govern the country. austerity is costing jobs every week. the political class need to be inventive creative and brave and stop protecting one section of society at the expense of the economy.

• Well, GDP went up 1.2% last year. We are no longer mentioned by the markets with the likes of Greece or Portugal. The cost of government borrowing has decreased. The unemployment rate has reduced since the last election…

I’d call that progress.

• Cutting public sector pay is also austerity. Likewise with taxing the rich. It all take money out of the economy.

In fact the same people protesting today would take MORE out of the economy than the government is through wealth/income taxes, or at least they’d have no choice to do so when we have nowhere else to borrow.

• Colin, your last sentence is spot on. The politicians need to have a serious reflection on why they are elected and who by. Looks like they are the agents of the elite top 5% of earners in this poor country. What about the quality of life of the majority?

• If I could paraphrase a statement by somebody on another website:
      Politicians are our friends in the run up to an election. Once they are in, that friendship dies. My real anger though is reserved for the electorate, I’m already spitting f**kin bullets, you just know the bloody sheep will vote for the same bloody crews, just like they did before and the time before that, safe in the knowledge that the nice man promised he’d do the right thing this time, and he looks so young, and he’s a father you know, and isn’t his wife a nice person?!
      It could drive a good man to drink.

• unfortunately colin politicans in this country don’t do inventive, creative or brave ,
      they do , easy , look after the rich and sod the rest ,
      @winston ……………………don’t be using technicalities to convince people things are fine ,
      low-middle class worker’s are very quickly slipping down into the poverty trap (thanks the FG’ adaptation of FF policy’s ) ,
      from the people of the ground point of view , FG/LAB have progressively made the country worse with their look after the rich at all costs mentality
      stop listening to the gov back media and stats (stats can make anything look good ) , and go ask ordinary joe-publics how they feel and what they think needs to be done

The Gov need to grow a pair , and fast

• Ok, I won’t use FACTS to argue my case…

The fact is we are in a much better place since the current government took over. Times are still tough and progress is slow but we are making progress none the less..,

• @Winston. The unemployment rate has not reduced since the last election. It has increased from 14.1% to 14.8%. That is despite over 100,000 emigrating in the same period.

• @David
      The rich tend to take their wealth OUT of the economy and lodge it where capital can accumulate for personal gain, very often dodging the tax workers have deducted at source before they even see it (see Romney and US capital fight to China, including industry).
      If tax does not serve a redistributive purpose through rational management of resources the rich can oligopolise through their cartels and lobbies, where will the infrastructure for economic activity stem from?
      The generosity of the rich?
      Thats not how they get rich.

• Winston is obviously ‘making progress’, therefore its universal.

• @Enda, now it seems FF popularity is on the rise again. It’s astonishing the way the electorate are so easily fooled and just switch back and forth from once useless party to the other. What we need is something completely new.

• Spot on, Marie

A little applied intelligence would be refreshing. Lots of wishful thinking, and not a few rather obvious mischief makers on patrol today. The Right are looong organised for this day, both nationally and beyond. They saw it coming and exited the market in advance. They always do surf the economic cycles with their headge-funds to immunise themselves for glitches.

• Well done to everyone who was there today (I was there myself) it is not pointless to protest as there is a momentum building now to get these traitors out of government. A fair estimate would be 20k people there today.
    I will applaud the agonising death of Fine Gael and Labour and Fianna fail when it comes and it is coming!
    We need to take back our natural resources and our media and our country.
    The solution for the FG spin doctors on here is:
    We must follow Iceland’s lead, they are remarkable country that has won the war against austerity.

• Does Banning Austerity mean continuing to spend money that does not exist. People should as themselves ” did I actually produce more than I consumed this week” If the answer is NO then ……….well….. work it out yourselves.

• Why don’t you ask yourself if Bertie and Sean Fitz and the rest of the golden circle have consumed more than they have produced this week? It’s austerity for some, life as usual for others. That’s the problem.

• Can’t spend what we don’t have but ok for payment if bondholders billions #NotOurDebt

• @Tom
      Ask the half million disemployed and excluded from producing anbd consuming anything more than shrinking sustenance; and those catching planes in the hope of finding a means to partake in any society anywhere, you …..genius.

• Tom,
      You are of course right. Theres a lot of anti austerity feeling evidenced, a position of dubious economic merit. The alternative to austerity (aka spending only a bit more than producing) is profligate spending.
      Nuts!

• The only reason the money “does not exist” is because it has been used to pay the bondholders, at the cost of the irish people! The only reason so many people are consuming more than they produce is because they have been robbed of the opportunity to produce by the government/bank generated recession. The bondholders made an investment in this country, and like any investor, they should have been watching how their investment was being managed. Who else gets their money back if their investment goes down the pan??

• alan 24/11/12 #

Way more than 8000 more like 80000 it took 2 hours to pass our vantage point biggest protest I’ve seen in years

• 8000 people???Still not enough.

• Oh boy 24/11/12 #

RISE UP people RISE UP

• Rise up against what? We voted this government, and their policies, into power… I guarantee they’ll be reelected in due course and we’ll still have people spouting about ‘rising up’!

You are in the minority and the share of the votes at true last general election reflect that !

• The next GE will reflect differently! FG are strangling this countries hard working people. You watch the votes flow back to FF and SF.

• And…

• FF maybe but that’d hardly represent a revolutionary change in Irish politics… The vast majority of the Irish public are intelligent to realize that given their outlandish economic policies, SF can never be a force for good in government. The only people who still vote SF are deluded republicans and an entitled section of society who want the government to hand them everything on a plate and don’t want to pay for anything… The general Irish public are smarter than that.

• Above comment wasn’t meant to go there.

• And those hard working people were out on the street today with a message. FG are fast becoming very unpopular, sliding in the polls, bad international coverage. The next GE won’t see FG win it.

• Consistently above 30% is sliding?

Ryan the only basis for your poll predictions is wishful thinking.

• The problem with this country is that there’s not really any choice for the electorate. FG…FF…Labour….etc. Choice? What choice?
      The whole political spectrum in this country will need to be completely changed. So will the political attitudes of the sheeple. The usual “ah, sure it’ll be alright eventually” or “my family have voted for them for generations” statements are the reasons why we’re in this mess. Sheeple sitting on their a*se expecting others to force change is also the problem. They’re too busy watching football or X Factor to give these issues any serious thought.
      Nobody guided me; I followed my own conscience when I saw things weren’t right.

• Once Shan David Higgins of YFG I reiterate yes that is my prediction as an EX FG voter! But as I always say the only poll that matters is polling day so we shall see then, after that we can continue this conversation. But you have to admit that your party are loosing popularity in favour of FF, it is worrying for any party but especially FG. I don’t Forster a second term when none of the pre election promises actually came true. Your party has sold out more than FF ever did.

• Michael 24/11/12 #

People will not vote these guys in as they aren’t Santa Claus coming up to elections.

Nothing is for free.

• Only free if your a bondholder, politician or banker Michael. Does Enda look good in a red suit…..photo op there.

• Rise up? ……like from the dead?……..what a silly thing to say.

• What ?
      Rise up and do what?
      Put in some despot ,like in Egypt?
      Everybody is so scathing of our politicians,
      So start your own party, that’s how you “rise-up”

• If the unions are involved in anything it dilutes the crowds. The unions and the media are still. Wry quiet about Rory Quinn creating a big job for Mrs Gilmore — this I think is a resigning matter and totally corrupt. The media are like the British media in a lot of ways — they trade information for favours to politicians and advisors for leaks etc.

• @Gary fitzgerald..how are my views extreme left? is iceland now an extreme left country?..my view is that Iceland’s solution should be our solution? how are my views left? never mind even extreme..should we not control our own natural resources? what is so wrong with that? how come if I don’t like fine gael, labour or fianna fail you try to brand me as extreme left? I am not a member of any party and I actually think some left wing views are ill thought out and unworkable
    please do not try to brand me, and then discredit me again.
    You grow up

• alan 25/11/12 #

I am not sick of this country for once since 2008, I was there today and there was every walk of life at that march, I arrived with my 10 year old son @ noon @ approx 12:15 there was no more than 150 people at the garden of rememberance, by 1:45pm the crowd had swelled to more than at least 5000. From the start of the parade it took approximately 2 hours for the full march to pass us, there must have been 50’000 people passed us, I have been at football matches with that amount of people and don’t believe the reports on RTE or this Fine Gael site, you are being manipulated by these media outlets, I was there. Roll on the next one. Ireland is starting to wake up

• Mick 25/11/12 #

Its now 50, 000, really? Why do people make them selves so stupid looking on this? It does no favour to the cause if there are constant lies thrown out about it…

• Conor 24/11/12 #

Even if it was 18000, there was still about 30000 at the Aviva for the match…… Kind of puts it in perspective!

• Unfortunately this protest will fall on deaf ears!!

• Fantastic turnout today and a huge thank you to all who participated. But will this protest march make any difference? 10,000+ out of how many people who are affected by these Austerity measures, is not enough!
    I suspect it will quickly be forgotten along with all previous marches?

The only way to bring the country to a standstill and get our inept, spineless government to STOP the austerity measures, is for everyone to Stop What You Are Doing for 30 minutes! EVERYONE AND THEY WILL TAKE NOTICE

http://www.swyad.com

• Looks like everyone had fun.

• Lets hope this passes off without the left getting violent , last thing you need is another protest being overshadowed by idiots sitting in the street when told to move or attacking gardai

• A general strike! How original! It has worked wonders for Greece, hasn’t it? So. Austerity is hitting hard and people are short of money so this ICTU guy wants workers to give up a day’s pay, he wants to choke the city and push retailers over the edge and really screw up our shattered economy even more. Wonder how long it took him to come up with that genius plan?

• today can only be considered a start time for all the union leaders to grow a pair and take us out on a national stoppage

• parabens cruthaitheachta :-D

an dlúthpháirtíocht na Brasaíle.

• And the prize for best photo goes to #6 (imo). Although I agree #1 is excellent.
    Think they’ll listen above in LH?

• If you can afford to keep and feed a horse like that then you can surely pay the household charge. In fact looking at the colourful outfits, well produced signage and spectacular props I’d say there is no shortage of cash about that crowd today….

• Ha ha. Very good.

• Trolls are out in force, it seems.

Like authoritarianism, much?

• Hey Michael do you agree if someone has the spare cash to keep a horse would you not agree that the can easily pay the household charge?
      Have you nothing better to say than call someone a troll? It’s very simplistic and doesn’t make you sound very smart.

• James — You’ve trolled once to many times to be taken seriously. Don’t expect to be entertained here.

• Dave 24/11/12 #

Maybe they were protesting for others who are less well off James, or would that be a totally alien concept for you??

• How am I trolling? I don’t slate anyone without being slated first (maybe the odd time, no one is perfect) and I only express my own opinion. Calling me a troll because you can’t think of a better way to answer my question or just don’t agree with me is just a cop out and in my opinion makes you seem a bit simple.

• Hardly trolling Michael. Grow up you child. Simply critiquing the spectacle that took to the streets today. We can’t all support a stance of refusing to pay our taxes. Where would the country be if some of us weren’t responsible citizens.

• Michael 25/11/12 #

Absolutely not. Someone works hard enough to afford a horse, then they should have it.

If you forcefully take money off that person with the household charge, and give it to some civil servant for him to have a horse, well then we have a problem

• Michael 25/11/12 #

I’ve grown up, the bigger picture is a wonderful thing.

Responsible citizens should be free to do what they want to pursue, their own self interests etc.

Taxes are too high, but if you wanna pay more taxes to be a responsible citizen then write revenue a bigger cheque

• Wow this is getting old. Career protesters were no doubt out in force as is usually the case with the left. People complaining about not having enough while smoking 40 cigarettes a day and having pints in the pub.

• I beg to differ – I am sick and tired of the attitude regarding ‘The Left’. I know many Left Wing supporters and they are not as you described at all. They are very passionate, hard-working people who believe in a brighter future and spend a considerable amount of time and effort trying to change things for the better. I don’t know where this negative derogatory attitude has originated but it is very ignorant and generalised. Maybe you would have realised this fact if you had gotten off your backside and out onto the streets to meet these so-called career protestors. People are so quick to judge and all wondering about how many were out…..instead of talking, bickering and name calling why weren’t any of you guys out on the streets?? I was and I’ll continue to be out protesting as much as I can until the Government sits up and takes notice….and no I don’t live in Dublin…I travelled from Donegal to be there before anyone accuses me of being a ‘career protestor’.

• I’m a bit puzzled as to why Sinn Féin were not mentioned in the article considering we had the largest contingent of any political party there today. I’d expected it from other sources(Indo, Times, RTE ETC ) but not here as well??

• I understand the frustration but I can’t see what’s protest will achieve especially when to see the recent surge in FF popularity.

• Good some people think fancy vocab and reading of certain books = absolute knowledge …….

I’m sorry Damien, for making you decide I am a ff/ fg/ labour man ….Christ they wouldn’t have me lol

All I can say Damien is that you are the reason Many people wouldn’t want their kids studying social sciences etc ….

And yes , I really believe setting up business as a cure for our crisis. (Christ almighty……)

I await your nonsense with a glint in my eye and a hope that if I ever meet u by chance that you will be a nicer chap than u portray on here :-)

• @Damien…. Seriously. I’m no nationalists , definitely not as tricky with the lingo and references to Thatcher etc to give a pep talk !

@ other posters….. Don’t let others wind you up on here . Not worth the stress !!

Damien maybe I was wrong to say you were trolling, I don’t know, but I have no interest in talking about those who fought Thatcher etc.

I also won’t act like a condescending chap , I’m no better than anyone else here .

I am not avoiding you , I am just fed up with you. Nothing personal , just a fact. I couldn’t be bothered trying to deal with someone who :
    Ask my age (in a smart arse way)
    Refers to me as juvenile ?
    Marks me as a nationalist ! (Lol )

And generally sees things his way only.

No need to carry on like that chap, no need at all.

• @Damien, I respect your opinion and yes you make sense in much of what you say but have to say that you are very quick to put down others who are clearly thinking in a similar way as yourself.
    Unfortunately Damien not everyone here are as studied and linguistic as yourself and put their points across in simple terms.
    You will be annoyed to hear it but you are clearly a pessimist , you also feel that your opinion is the only one that is right due to your ‘educated’ opinions.

When people come on here and attack or put down others that want the same it only puts them off standing up and doing something.

Now I can only wait for the educated sharp reply that will come my way….but hey Damien, its okay , I’m too juvenile to count .

• Well said Aoife, unfortunately trolling is a hobby lol …and unfortunately there are people out there who are so much more educated and knowledgeable than us ‘simple’ folk that they forget about the big picture.
    Give it a while and I’m sure it will turn Into a thread on Marxism, reds etc….

Don’t rise to it Aoife !

• This would have been fun to see, like a big parade… We should do it every year, it would boost consumer spending and give the economy a kick.

Too bad it’s thanksgiving weekend and I’m xmas shopping in the USA. Small business Saturday here, trying to buy gifts from local stores. We can all do our piece to help those who REALLY help the economy.

• I couldnt be bothered to go out and protest. I stayed at home watching the United game.

Add New Comment