TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

TUI recommends rejection of Croke Park II proposals

The union is to put the proposals to a ballot by its members.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

THE TEACHERS’ UNION of Ireland is to put the Croke Park extension proposals to its members in a ballot – and is recommending they reject them.

In a statement this evening, the TUI said that its executive committee met this afternoon to consider the proposals that emerged from public service talks as they apply to the education sector.

It added:

The overwhelming view was that the proposals are deficient in many respects.

The TUI executive has decided that the proposals should be put to a ballot of TUI members, with a recommendation to reject.

The TUI represents in excess of 15,000 members at second and third level.

RTÉ reports that a second teachers’ union, the Irish Federation of University Teachers, has also recommended its members vote against the proposed agreement.

This morning, the AHCPS, which represents more than 2,700 public sector workers, also recommended a No vote on Croke Park II.

Read: Civil servant union to recommend No vote on Croke Park II>

Read next:

Comments (99 Comments)

• As a retired teacher and former member of the TUI, I would like to state that the TUI were the most useless organization that I ever came across. The only reason that I remained a member was the credit union!! The unions in this country are only out there to feather their own nests!! They are well past their sell-by date.

• Do TUI union staff also get 180 days holidays a year or do they take on temporary work during school holidays?

• Teachers don’t get 180 days holidays.

365-(52*2[weekends])-(35[weeks avg worked]*5)=86 days.

Also – if you think the pay & conditions are so excellent, I invite you to do a PGD or a 4yr course so that you can join the dole queue – I’ll see you here in 2017.

• I’m a private sector worker,i know if PS workers go on strike it will be an annoyance.But at this stage people have to stand up to the Government and say enough and if the PS are the ones to do it well they have my support.
    Its time this Government started showing citizens of this country respect.

• Where else do we find the savings in public spending?
      Payroll and pensions is over 70% of the budget in many government departments.

• David they should have started with proper reforms but instead the easy option hit pay.
      Can you explain the fairness of B Cowen losing less than 8,000 out a pension of 150,000 and a front line worker losing 4,000 out a pay pack of around 40,000.
      The government have the power to pass law to reduce pension’s,they were able to take .06% out of my tiny pension fund.

• Your wonderful party and its members in parliament for a start David

• I agree they should have gone much further on public sector pensions. It is obscene that Cowen is still on that much. No one should be on a pension of more than €100k, far less than that preferably.

But the target with Croke Park 2 is €1bn.

Even if we cancelled every bit of public money to politicians, you still have another €900m+ to find.

Any ideas?

• David if they tackled the obscene pensions started a banking inquiry actually jailed some of the wrongdoers moral authority would have been on the government’s side but for whatever reason’s of Enda and co they chose not to.

• David,

One shop closed in my city yesterday and this was a family-run business since the 1970’s. Sadly, the city lost a great asset to the culture, vibrancy and municipality. If the pay disparity is due to a troubled economy and this caused private companies to take the ultimate sacrifice, so should the government, which would then eliminate that disparity.

Your party are in government. You were elected to govern.

• On What basis could the TUI reject the CP2 , they’re a Joke .What dreadful impact will CP2 have on them ?I supose we’ll have leaving certs kids held to ransom ! I do respect the teaching profession and acknowledge that in some cases its a tough job but their unions are a disgrace .By and large Teachers have it good in this country with the exception of new entrants that were sold down the river by their own unions that gave it the boo hoo after the fact pretending the gave crap, They can talk all the Sh*t they want , they are amongst the best paid in the OECD . They have massive holidays.I am private sector and support frontline workers Garda and Nurses but the teachers and very highly paid lecturers , the AHCPS can go ……. . .

• Reginald, keep taking the money out if the average public sectors wages and there will be nothing left to spend in the little corner shop.. No disposable income = no spending…

But that’s what u wanted after all, isn’t it?

• Already the case. Over a third of families now have less than €40 a month left after paying utilities and rent or mortgage.
      That’s why your family business closed.
      A closure repeated all over the country.

• @Tensing Norgay

You are correct in your assertion that Irish teachers are among the best paid in the OECD. However, I would suggest that your comments are a little disingenuous as they neglect the other aspects of OECD findings into Irish education. The first is that, as we all know, Ireland is one of the most expensive countries to live in the OECD. This is despite an alleged period of deflation in Ireland. If we look into the specifics of Irish teachers and compare them to their OECD counterparts, we should also acknowledge the following.

1) Irish teachers teach 20% more hours than their OECD counterparts, despite the longer holidays which you correctly mention in your post.
      2) Irish teachers teach the second biggest class sizes in the OECD.
      3) Irish teachers provide extra-curricular activities, mainly on a voluntarily basis. In other OECD countries, these extra-curricular activities are extra payments for teachers.
      4) Even during the Celtic Tiger years, the Irish government contributed the second least in terms of investment in education. So, even if you take the disputed statistic that 71% of the DES budget is spent on pay and pensions, it is 71% of the second least invested in education system in the OECD.
      5) Irish teachers do not have the same opportunities at career progression as their OECD counterparts. In other OECD countries, Heads of Subject and Heads of Faculty are paths to career progression for teachers. This is not offered in Ireland.
      6) Irish teachers are not given the same level of access to Continuous Professional Development as their OECD counterparts.
      7) Irish teachers are liable to more inspections and oversight than many of their OECD counterparts.

If we are to compare, then let’s at least compare accurately.

• Respect to the teachers. Good luck

• The teachers have my support. If my child can’t go to school one of us has to stay at home. Knock on effect to the private sector. Some people are asking what difference will it make to earners over 60000. Again. Why are people more concerned about the effect when the problem is no the working people in this country. The problem is the over pensioned public sector double jobbers. The cats in the street knew 10 years ago we could not afford the pension bill. This is what needs addressing. Not the tax paying hard working people. Public or private. I also have little time for unions in general but I believe that we will eventually unite against this horrific treatment of honest hard working people. Time to stand.

• Sacha Mahady
      ” The problem is the over pensioned public sector double jobbers.” Who also pay tax ,,, The problem is the wealthy who are not paying the appropriate tax , the foreign corporations who do not even pay the required corporate tax. Do not buy into the divide and conquer mentality, please. ALL workers private and public are suffering .

• David Higgins you are obviously not affected by this. My advice to you is don’t comment. Wait till you have kids!!! And then you’ll probably moan about the quality of the education system. This country disgusts me more by the day.

• @ Gerry Murphy. If you think teaching is such a cushy number, why didn’t you apply for a place in college to become one?????

• The deal is a disgrace … once again it is the average worker being hit the hardest. Without these extra payment such as sundays for nurses etc and supervision payments for teachers they would be earning a pittance and may as well work in mcdonalds as james reilly suggested. Most people realise cuts are needed but they should be fair. A small cut in basic pay for all instead of big cuts to a minority. There are many ways to save but people at the top should pay more….. there are very few nurses, teachers, paramedics earning the big bucks and all of them are 100% tax compliant

• Hopefully all unions will recommend no. Enough is enough. Either the government backs off and represent the people wishes or get out voluntary or forcibly.

• And what exactly are the people’s wishes?

People don’t want more taxes meaning that spending must be cut.

Payroll and pensions is the vast majority of public spending….

• What ‘people want’ is your beloved party to stop handing billions of our money out to unguaranteed bondholders at the drop of a hat, and then threaten teachers, gurads and nurses a few days later to shake them down for extra cash to fill the gap.

• David – Payroll and pensions is the vast majority of public spending….

You would expect that it is. It’s the public SERVICE and as such you should expect that! That’s not to say that appropriately targeted cuts are unreasonable but this idea of continuously throwing up your arms and saying “where do you expect it to come from?” answers nothing and is the vaguest “tough luck” attitude ever.

So let’s hear some specifics – in what way would you target cuts?

• The worm is FINALLY turning

• It’s the start of the end of fg-labour

• Good to see the TUI recommend rejection of this complete attack on the workers of Ireland let’s see what the big two SIPTU and IMPACT do

• Slowly the people within the various union sphere are waking up to the cuts after being on their Knees due to bad trade union ICTU leadership has been shown up. Guards, teachers, nurses are groups that maybe small in the overall size of the trade union movement but has a stronger resonance with the wider public than some of the larger trade union that appear so far to accept the proposals in Croke park 2. FG/Lab are starting to worry during the butt kissing EU presidency and Italian election result the austerity approach is failing and civil disobedience is becoming more of a possibility.

• Quite possible ICTU as we know may be coming to an end because of the voting block held by SIPTU AND IMPACT they can still drive this deal through leaving the other union’s no option but to withdraw from ICTU members in these union’s really need to have their voice heard by O Connor and Coady

• Each year its the same. Cuts then people say that’s it time to show these followed by alot of threats and disorganised attempts at protest. 4 years ago was the time to do this. A 25% paycut for most people overnight because a bank went wallop. Nothing happened and nothing will happen?

• Wow ! and I am often accused of being pessimistic ….
      Ha ha… Well something is happening now . And will continue to
      happen too , til this proposalis rejected entirely along with the property tax and water metering
      Labour are dead in the water Fg are a dying breed FF ….We will never forget .
      Cheer up C.P.Horan . It will happen. :)

• Am not having a go at teachers here and commend the union for rejecting the new proposal but what exactly are secondary school teachers going to lose under these proposals if the majority of them earn under 60,000 a year ?

• The big losers are the union bosses who are on big bucks. They would be pressured into accepting paycuts in line with whats on offer. Thats why these weasels are advocating a no vote. Looking after themselves.

• Well there’s such a thing as solidarity!

• Carl , maybe their union is top heavy with principle teachers on their executive,

• As a teacher and having had a quick look at the Croke Park 2 document, there are a couple of things that will happen.
      The first is that the supervision and substitution work which is the life blood of all newly qualified teachers will be taken away. This cover will be provided by other fulltime teachers for no extra pay.
      A full time teachers will have to provide cover for up to 5 extra classes per week. This on top of the extra 35 hours per year that they already due for no extra pay.
      Allowances have been earmarked for abolition.
      Between the loss of qualification allowances and substitution payments, this will mean a loss of about €6,000 per year for full time teachers and newly qualified teachers being left destitute. Some teachers have already lost about 20% of their take home pay already whilst doing more work. Others have had their hours slashed.
      As well, there is scope for those at the top of their pay scale to lose 6 days leave per year or the monetary value of those 6 days.
      Implementation of these plans will remove any goodwill remaining from the teaching profession.

• I agree with Seán, I can take the pay-cut, the country’s finances aren’t great, we all know that. But this is a killer deal for a young teacher who only has 5 or 6 hours work a week. They need the supervision and substitution hours just to break even and pay their bills. Nobody could live on 5 or 6 hours a week work with all the deductions that come out of it. Its going to be an interesting few weeks.

• I think the goodwill factor is one that is often over-looked. I know that in theory, as a teacher, I’m supposed to be grateful to have a job etc… People assume that as our time tabled hours are from 9 to 4 we have short days and long holidays. What’s not to like?
      In reality, I’m in school from 8 until 5 or 6. I give several extra classes in my free time, during lunch and after school. My school offers free after school study four days a week and I supervise this voluntarily. I run a drama club during lunch once a week. That’s before I even think about preparing for my classes or correcting students’ work which takes between 2 and 3 hours each night.
      I am tutor to a class group and dealing with their issues and problems takes up most of my “free classes”.
      I’m not looking for a pat on the back. I’m lucky enough to have a job I love, work in a school I love and teach fabulous kids from all walks of life.
      Teachers don’t want thanks, just don’t take it all for granted.

• Education is our lifeblood for gods sake.
      Teachers provide that education.
      If we want to improve our county’s lot we need education.
      It costs what it costs – if the government cant add it up – its their problem not the teachers.

• 60,000? Try 1,400 a month after tax!!! It’s only the ones near retirement on that kind of money you speak of

• This might be off topic but….

ADEBAAAAAAAAAAYOOOOOO!

• Pablo 27/02/13 #

Having read the LRC recommendation, especially the foreward where they lay out what the government wanted, it does seem like a gamble to vote no on this. That alternative or foreward is literally twice as bad as the negotiated settlement. It’ll be an interestimg summer. The workers should be backed one way or another. Hopefully as someone else said we will see the back of the government and maybe then it may break the cycle and Europe will sit up and take note.

• Should this not be the under “Lansdowne House Talks 1″
    http://youtu.be/a1Y73sPHKxw

• this makes me laugh that teachers earn 60000 a year..i wish and i would agree wit others that is is not a soft 9 to 4 job..hours each week go into planning and preparation

• Dot Arse 28/02/13 #

Are we on Croke Park 11? It’s like Police Academy

• I see someone let Reggie out of his box again – hand up the guilty one.

• this makes me laugh that teachers earn 60000 a year..

• If the proposals are rejected the government will legislate for whatever they want! It makes no sense to vote no it’ll be worse for everyone!

• 5 months holiday a year, use tat for prep work besides tanning ur a*** n d canaries on tax payers money… sad really 13years n school & cant speak d native language & i ain’t alone… great teacher’s & education!!! strike if yer goin to strike on yer summer vacation& bring yer placards on ye to spain, ull get payed anyhow

• Tax payers money?
      13 years in school?
      Can’t speak English?

• Straight2pt – you poor poor man. I understand the pain you are suffering, for i too often wonder why them lazy teachers never spent all their class time trying to teach my dumb ass. I mean, i was the coolest cat a class of 24, so cool i would usually just shout and roar and be disruptive in class, sure i knew everything anyways. Poor poor me, i suppose Im 100% entitled to blame my babysitters, sorry, i meant teachers, for my lack of education. And, when she wasn’t out drinking and making more tax burdening babies, my mammy always said them teachers were shite anyways, with their big educations and all, definitely not my fault.

Yep, i too spent 13 years scratching my ass, thinking i was billy big bolloc*s in school. And look at me now, not a word of out Irish out of me! Tut tut tut, poor Michael Collins would be rolling in his grave.

So yes, poor straight2pt (probably his real name too god bless him) has had to endure a hard life ever since. And not because hes more than likely a useless lazy bar steward who was raised to think no better and blame all his woes on the teachers/government/gardai/his parole officer/case worker – No no, its them useless lazy teachers who got into a profession by working very hard at a degree and going onto absolute shite jobs with starting take home salaries of 15k a year.

How dare the teachers betray me and my friend Straight2pt, its just not fair. What about meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee?

• Lets vote for even more holidays for teachers! If you divided the actual hours worked into their salaries you would clearly see that they are amongst the top earners in the country! Now add in some early retirements & re hiring …..& still a nice cosy pension when they finally retire….Ok now Que. up in an orderly line…….

• DesBod 28/02/13 #

What a shock. Teaching union rejects deal which had minimal impact on its cosetted members, and protected their massive hourly wage rate (when 5 months paid hols are taken into account)

• Wat part confusing u heathen, il explain to u n small words, if tat helps… And ur probably a teacher, god help us!!!

• Wat wit d red thumbs, feel free to correct anything ive said if im wrong… oh sorry yer not getting paid to correct me!!!

Add New Comment