Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 13 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Uncollected Dublin bins could be “serious health hazard”

Image: Screengrab via Oireachtas.ie

OPPOSITION TDS HAVE warned of ’looming chaos’ and a major health hazard if bins aren’t collected from 18,000 households in Dublin city.

Private company Greyhound have told customers that their rubbish will not be collected this week unless they pay an upfront fee. 18,000 out of 140,000 households in Dublin city are believed to have not yet paid.

Fianna Fáil TD Eamon Ó Cuiv said there was “huge potential from a health hazard point of view and from an environmental point of view to do enormous damage” and blamed Fine Gael and Labour for problems with the changeover.

He warned of the health issues arising from leaving large amounts of rubbish on the streets, and said it was disingenuous of the government to stand back from the situation in the face of a “serious public health hazard”.

“We’re a month away from St Patrick’s Day and we want our city to be a showcase to the world,” said Ó Cuiv, speaking in the Dáil this morning.

Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore said it it was a matter for the management of Dublin City Council. He called on the company to “exercise flexibility at this point of time in respect of the collection of the waste and in respect of arrangements for payment”.

Gilmore’s comments echoed those of Taoiseach Enda Kenny who yesterday said that “common sense” should apply and urged Dublin City Council and Greyhound to “sit down and sort it out”.

Dublin’s Lord Mayor also criticised the changeover to the privatised bin collection service for the city, calling it a  ’shambles’. Andrew Montague blamed new provider Greyhound and Dublin City Council for not allowing adequate time for the preparation of the changeover.

Greyhound took over Dublin city’s waste collection services in January after it won the contract from Dublin City Council.

Greyhound warns 18,000 customers that bins will not be collected >

Bin changeover a ‘shambles’ – Dublin Lord Mayor >

Read Next:

Comments (27 Comments)

• Daniel O'Sullivan 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

well done Dublin city and south Dublin county councils on selling an asset to a bunch of wasters

• Mark Rodgers 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

How can the opposition Parties blame FG and Labour for this problem? I thought Local Authorities were independent Republics?

• Keith Twamley 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Are the management of Dublin City Council not the governments responsibility? How about not passing the buck for a change?

• Ultan Quirke 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Not really, they are the councillors’ responsibility. The councillors were elected to take responsibility for these kind of things.

Report this comment

Who pays them?

• Brín Murray 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

City councillors voted 3 times last winter against privatizing waste collection.They were overruled by an executive decision by the city management who are unelected. Crazy situation,Whats the point in having a council?

Report this comment

Correct Brín, I do think everyone should pay to have their waste collected, but this has been a disaster, we have received no communication from Greyhound, we use tags and had to find out ourselves the different day the rubbish was collected, we never had to pay DCC money so I presume that we do not need to pay Greyhound upfront amount, point is, it’s all very confusing, there should be much more time and communication before they start getting heavy.

• Brín Murray 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Keith I think people should pay for waste collection allright but through their taxes.Not to a private company who are based in the Isle of man and have a really bad history to put it mildly.

• Reg 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Brín – why should I subsidise people who can’t be bothered to reduce their waste through my taxes. The users pays and rightly so. We don’t raise nearly enough in taxes to cover the costs of running the country as it is. What should be cut further to cover the cost of waste services or more like, who should we borrow the additional money from?

• Brín Murray 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well Reg the answer is in your post.We don’t raise enough in taxes!We obviously look at things from a completely different point of view.There are ways to get people to reduce their waste without privatizing!!.

• Peter 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Why should say Wexford people pay taxes that pick up Dublin trash… All needs to be privatised.. Ireland needs a USA style constitution and a federal government with just 26 tds.. Do it all from a local level..

• Diarmuid 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The place will be smelling like Naples!
    Greyhound are using bully boy tactics and besides this they are not even an Irish company.
    Dublin City Council should have insisted that the same terms remain in place when Greyhound took over and before held the people to a ransom.

• Eoin O'Duffy 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Right so, it’s €100, of which a €50 has to be paid upfront. When Dublin City Council collected the rubbish you still had to pay the €100, only in arrears. Many people never paid because Dublin City Council staff were less than aggressive in collecting what was owed.

Second, rubbish collection was losing Dublin City Council €22 Million per year, now it’s costing only 4.2 Million, this amount covers those who have waiver.

Third, every other council in Ireland is out of the rubbish collecting business, Dublin was the last to drop this service.

Lastly, you don’t have to use Greyhound to collect your trash, and if you don’t have it sorted you’ll be liable and exposing yourself to fines and the courts… as well you should.

Those 18,000 or so people need to pull a finger out and either pay Greyhound or get another company to sort their bins. Can’t afford it? Apply for a waiver… Dublin City Council will pay Greyhound Recycling €87,500 a week this year to fund bin collection from customers covered under the waiver scheme. You qualify for a waiver if your household’s total earnings are tax exempt and are less than €600 a week.

• Keith Mc Mahon 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

`Well said Eoin, I “dumped” the corpo bin collections before this and save cash as a result!

• Reg 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

For feck sake Eoin you will you stop making sensible points and suggestions. You’ll have the usual angry brigade down on you like a ton of bricks!!

• Bilbo Baggins 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

But sure if your not paying for your waste collection and still throwing bags on the street is that not dumping? A finable, and possibly jailable offence if ya dont pay the fine.

suck it up, Everyone pays for waste collection the country over. Pay it or keep your rubbish in your kitchen where other paying citizens dont have to fall over it n smell it.

• John Finn 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Surely the people to blame are those who have refused to pay the fee?

• Dec Rowe 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

To much expected from people in too short a time! I smell anarchy in the air! The country’s in trouble!

• John Johnson 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Is it to much to expect Dublin people to pay for the rubbish collection service ? Everyone else pays and most pay a lot more than €100

• Report this comment

That’s not anarchy, it’s your neighbours dodgy septic tank.

• Reg 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

John Johnson – we do pay in Dublin and have been for years. The problem is that some people haven’t received the correct information about the changeover from Dublin City Council. Then there are others who can’t be arsed and think that they’ll be able to free load on the back of those that do pay.

• Report this comment

Let it stack up, then join forces with the culchies who don’t want to pay their septic tank charge and have the biggest dirty protest ever, or alternatively grow up and pay the bill…

• damien chaney 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Dublin city council has paid greyhound a sum believed to be €1,000,000 to collect the rubbish from all the social housing flats under Dublin city councils ownership as the rubbish is all in communal bins

• Idont Care 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Those 18000 people can vote with their ability to pick up a phone and call another wast collection service instead of going on and on about not been contacted by the service picked for them by the government. Just go’s to show what a bunch of spineless sheep they are.

Add New Comment