Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 13 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Varadkar under fire after requesting €135k salary for adviser

Leo Varadkar
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

MINISTER FOR TRANSPORT Leo Varadkar has been heavily criticised after reportedly requesting an annual salary of €135,000 for a ministerial adviser.

Sinn Féin representative Paul Donnelly labelled Varadkar’s request “an absolute disgrace”, saying that the salary would work out at more than €2,600 a week at a time when many organisations are facing cuts. He said:

Minister for Transport Leo Varadkar has sought to overturn his own party’s commitment to limit special advisers’ pay. This is at a time when the ordinary citizen of this state is being asked to pay more and more from their salaries through charges and cuts.

The official pay scale for ministerial advisers sets their maximum pay at €92,672 – roughly €42,000 less than the amount sought by Varadkar.

“This attempt to secure this disgraceful salary at the taxpayer’s expense shows that only one year into this government’s five year term, they are starting to lose touch with reality,” said Donnelly, who contested a Dáil seat in Varadkar’s Dublin West constituency.

Mary Minihan reports in the Irish Times that a ‘compromise’ salary of €105,837 was agreed for Varadkar’s advisor Brian Murphy after Minister for Public Expenditure Brendan Howlin rejected the initial request.

Special adviser’s €130,000 salary ‘shows utter hypocrisy of cost-cutting’>

Read Next:

Comments (169 Comments)

• David Sheridan 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Sickening! Sure they are all at it now! Someone pass the gravy…

• Biggins31 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

What a surprise (NOT!) – yet another one that is a two faced liar when it come to sticking even to their OWN rules which they brought in state law but then break them!

This government is ENTIRELY disgraceful, disgusting and Fianna Fail and the Greens must be proud of them keeping up their previous antics and methods!

They should be ashamed of themselves.

TRAITORS!

• Kevin Carroll 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Ok varadker do the decent thing and resign

• Niamh Byrne 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha……oh…I thought you were joking…….there is no accountability in politics in this country. The disrespect that both our taoiseach and minister for finance over the past week of shocking beyond belief….sure why would vradkar be any different….the git.

• Eileen Gabbett 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

€42,000 Above the cap they set themselves….. that is 4,200 house hold charges ….. Veradkar (sigh) Resign .Please.

Report this comment

sorry ….420 house hold charges …finger slipped !!!!

• Réada Quinn 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

On that wage he wouldn’t be able to give any advice on how the masses are struggling. But Varadkar said it himself – he’s not a people person.

• Report this comment

Austerity in action.

Message to Social Welfare Recipients. “Do as I say, not as I do.”

• Stephen Mannion 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Ever so slowly beginning to lose faith in politicians. Same old sh*t, different party.

• Andy Crowe 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Same old same old shite. Nobody should be surprised.

• Andrew Langford 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

This is more of it…. This is the same guy who was outspoken about the flaws of every other party and then just gives two fingers once he gets into office. I just want to get on a plane and leave this country. I’ve had enough of this shite…

• Andrew McCarthy 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

If he’s that good, couldn’t we hire the advisor and get rid of the Minister?

• Stephanie Meehan 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Never mind resign, he shouldn’t be given the option. He should be sacked as should Noonan and Kenny for their disgraceful comments this week.
    We are too complacent as a nation. Heads should roll!!!

• B7584 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

FG/Lab OUT! OUT! OUT!

• Yvonne M 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I said it before and I’ll say it again.. Sack the politicians and elect the advisers instead.

• Gill Jones 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I’d like to hear the excuse given for this one.This Gov is grating on my ever dwindling nerve.
    \ / two fingers to Mr.V and his special adviser.

• David Jackson 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

your days are numbered, varadkar. i knew it from the moment you first opened your mouth, making silly comments on matters outside of your department. and every week your stupid face is in the papers over some ridiculous thing you have said or done. and every week, your blunders are more and more serious. its only a matter of time.

• Report this comment

Sick of this tripe now. It’s all take with these gobshites. € for you €€€€€ for me. Why are we letting this happen it’s time to run the lot of em!

• Brian Ward 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Fianna Fail should be voted out of Government ………..oh!

• Spud Byrne 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Here’s a hypothetical question for you all.

Say for instance, there was a general election in the morning.

A) Who would you vote for and why?
    B) Would you vote at all?

• Neil Kettles 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Personally I’d vote for Ireland to be run by some other country! The politicians here are a disgrace! I mean, you don’t have to be too bright to be a teacher, and yet half the Goverment are failed teachers! An absolute farce!!

• Marla B Singer 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Neil – we already ARE – haven’t you realised that yet. These people who are paid to represent the electorate at Dail level (TDs) are not currently representing us. How long has it been since you’ve seen or heard an Irish politician do something that represents the interests of the normal people of Ireland – the workers, the jobseekers, the students, the parents, the children? How long since they’ve done something to make life better? They don’t represent us. They DO NOT represent the people of Ireland. And any pretense that they do is slipping. Leo the ludicrous showed that he was a self-serving money grabber when he left his profession to enter politics under the pretense of ‘doing some good’ well maybe if he had actually been available for his shifts when he worked at a childrens hospital where he actually could have done some good had he been so inclined then I might have believed he had an ounce of altruism.

• Aydo 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I honesty don’t know. Politicians are the scum of the earth. Their sole interest is their seat. Anyone who stands to be a politician i can now assume that they are self absorbed for this point on.

Also jives me that a politician in a ministerial job needs an advisor at all.
      If so he’s not qualified for the position and shouldn’t be there.

• Spud Byrne 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Also jives me that a politician in a ministerial job needs an advisor at all.
      If so he’s not qualified for the position and shouldn’t be there.

@Aydo: I agree with you a *MILLION* percent there.

• Declan Carroll 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

If we were asked to vote in the morning, I’d write on the ballot paper “why did our ancestors even bother to fight for our right to self determination. they must be turning in their graves at what is going on at the mo”. Failing that, I’d write “shove it where the sun don’t shine”, Spud. That’s how I feel about it after reading this thread.

• Trent Steele 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Independents and…Sinn Fein…Oh yeah I said it.
      Reasons:
      Why not?Arms are down (or going down) and remember that all Irish parties have blood on their hands historically.
      They are based on representing the majority of Irish people.Thats the broad jist of why without getting into policy etc.
      The ould nugget about “they wouldnt know what they are doin” can noe be without doubt applied either Fine Gael or Fianna Fail and Labour.
      THERE IS NO ONE ELSE.

• Réada Quinn 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

You’re getting greedy Varadkar. 2 gaffs in the space of a week. Keep them coming you shower of tossers. Keep them coming. Eventually we might be able to gather a handful of protesters willing to go into the Dáil and ask ye to leave…

• Lisa Saputo 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

What a tool! Do they ever stop and wonder if their advisors are actually not very good when they get crap press. Leo if read this, I would do the job for €50k and a better one at that!

• Tom Neville 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

If the advisors are the ones who got us back into the bond market, it’s tiny money.

• Sean De Burca 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

He is totally out of step with the mood of the nation.
    I once had high hopes that he would be an able and effective representative.
    He meddles, fudges and fidgets..
    Perhaps he’s realises his limitations at last.
    Thus the need for the advisor…
    Lost the plot long ago..
    Long holiday for Leo the tool

• Cecily J. Hoare 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

He was a loose-lipped, buffoonish loose cannon in opposition and he’s even worse now that he’s a Minister. Surely Enda has to see him as a liability? Shunt him back to the back benches and appoint somebody with an ounce of cop-on.

Report this comment

That’s why I think Enda sends him out to make these outrageous comments etc, Cecily J Hoare. To paint him in a bad light with the public. I suspect Enda sees him for what he is – a tool & treats him accordingly. Leo V doesn’t seem to have the cop on to realise that.

• Graham Mace 29/01/12 #
      Report this comment

You seriously have to query Enda’s judgement concerning the capability of hid appointed Ministers as well as his own judgement when it comes to “advisers” and their remuneration.
      Basically it is obvious that these politians still don’t “get it” ans are as far from the real world of the plain Irish people as ever.

• Ryan Murphy 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

This is gone beyond a joke now. How do they expect to have any credibility with the public when they pull stunts like this.

Snouts in the trough.

• Paraic Simpson 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

And we all sit in our armchairs moaning and doing fuck all.

Report this comment

So what do you suggest then Paraic? I’m all ears!!!

• Anel Cceram 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Not fair a group took over a Nama building and people are protesting the protests are mostly falling on deaf ears

• Tony Skillington 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

For a start Neil we could each of us email our local FG TD and demand that this ‘request’ be refused outright. The way to let Leo and the boys know how disgusting this is to put pressure on the back benchers..so mail them..

• Eileen Gabbett 29/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Tony
      I started e mailing two weeks ago . The only one to reply was leo …. He shouldn’t have bothered …Any way I e mailed them all again this evening …The same e mail to them all . including kenny. I am goiung to continue this practise every time they lie , cheat , make idiots of themselves… I am so tired of their nonsence…

• Sheila Murphy 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

FFS (excuse the language) – AGAIN – another “adviser” worth more than the set limits – I didn’t even read the article – because it’s a case of “Insert minister name here” — we read this same story about various ministers way too regularly it appears to me…………………

Does anyone know of a nice quiet place (possibly an abandoned island) I can go to live without these f-ing eejits disturbing my life?? and I’m only half bloody joking – I really want to get away from this. No wonder travel agents have reported an increase in holiday enquiries.

• Gill Jones 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Sheila I was in trail finders today booking my flights to Oz, half hour wait Q’s out the door!! Seriously

• Sheila Murphy 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

that makes me very sad Gill

In the 80s I was one of the many that had to emigrate – to the UK in my case which wasn’t too bad once Ryanair kicked in – before that it was£300 sterling to fly home – Australia is so far though.

I wish you all the best if you go Gill; hopefully you’ll be able to come back in the future at some stage – but the world has changed so much since even the 80′s……. Unfortunately Greed became fashionable and big funds (especially hedge funds) came along and ruined so many economies……

Have a look at this; the explanation for Emigrate on dictionary.com

em·i·grate   [em-i-greyt] Show IPA
      verb (used without object), -grat·ed, -grat·ing.
      to leave one country or region to settle in another; migrate: to emigrate from Ireland to Australia

• Cal Mooney 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Why are all the coments about Vradkar in particular … yes, he is a buffoon, we all know it…. But so are his entire party and their labour whores in bed with them in the Dail ….

Folks, time and again, SF are the only alternative. They have committed to reducing TDs salaries down to the average wage in the country, so that our elected representatives know what impact their decisions make on the average person in the country. They have committed to reducing the Taoiseachs salary down to 100k … They have committed to bringing in legislation to cap ex-ministers and taoiseachs pension payments to 50k per year. They have committed to limiting all public salaries to a max of 100k per year …this one alone is expected to save the country 560million per year.
    Next time out, if you vote for your established Ivory tower parties like FF/Fg/Labour, dont cme on this site afterwards making whinging comments about their self-serving IVORY tower payments. The choice is yours.
    There isnt one chance of Pearse Doherty or any other party member sitting in front of the world media, saying that the Irish are crazy like Kenny did this week. Or make comments to the media that people should go commit suicide like Bertie did, if they didnt agree with his economic policies.

• Nuffsaid Thatsall 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

The Country would be destroyed within Six Months if we put the Shinners in!! There is no political alternative in any shape or form! Rainbow Govt next more then likely!

• aisling quigley 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Well said. Sinn fein is the way of the future.

Report this comment

Enough’s enough! It’s time to stand up for ourselves. If the real people of this country don’t do something now, we are no better than the politicians that caused this catastrophe! This new Government have had almost a year to make changes, but as far as I can see, they’ve only succeeded in making things worse. Their idea of fairness is to make everyone pay the same! I’m appalled by how far out of touch Fine Gael seem to be! And as for that crowd that call themselves The Labour party! I’d shoot them for committing treason. I suggest the real people of Ireland gather outside Government buildings and stay there as long as it takes to get the whole lot out! Time to act before it’s too late!!

Report this comment

Exactly, Nuffsaid Thatsall. All they are doing is playing populist politics. They “would” destroy Ireland within 6 months. Sorry, Cal ! I don’t agree that SF are the way at all.

• joseph mcgee 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

dec, ur quiet the optimist.
      u think we’ll survive 6 months…

well, maybe survive, but that will be about all.
      next election i will vote SF or ULA or independents,
      i have to, i want to see them tried out for real,
      they would be hard pressed to flock things much worse than FF, FG, Lab,
      who i will never ever ever vote for again. No short memory here.

if they do make it worse, that will be end of them for me, but I need to see them in action

• Mary Frain 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

SF do not tell the truth either….Not one single party worth voting for in Ireland just now. SF pay their elected members the average wage in the country….true….but the excess between that and the total salary goes to SF. Surely the point of wage restructuring is that Country saves money which eases the burden? In the case of SF it is a handy way of raising money for SF…!!!
      Just once it would be refreshing to hear the truth from a political party….

Report this comment

Nuffsaid
      The Country would be destroyed within Six Months if we put the Shinners in
      I disagree with this statement .
      Infact the country could not do any worse and in all probability would benefit with a complete change.

• Declan Carroll 29/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Hi, Joe ! I see on another thread that the EU will take over the running of Greece. We’re next. U can put money on it. I get your point but from my point of view – no SF. I wouldn’t trust them with anything.

• Bernadette Dunne 29/01/12 #
      Report this comment

S.F. is the only HONEST party we have they have never denied their past F>F where do they originate from? F.G. where do they originate from. Kenny and the rest of the F.G. are too up their own *o*e because this shower do not want to admit where their perty started where as I have found that S.F are the only Party that TRUELY LOVES IRELAND and want what is best to protect her independence and sovereignty I say out out out with this shameful pack of liars Fine Gail and Labour they are representing Me Or My Country

• Bruce 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

More double standards

• foggy_lad 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

He does come across as a bit of an attention seeker and has not been very good at anything since his election, he should grow a spine and close down the western rail corridor as well as the lines from waterford-limerick jctn and nenagh-limerick and come out and tell the train spotters that the western rail corridor is never going any further and metro north is also scrapped instead of just postponed.

He should then resign and forfeit any salary bonuses and pensions he has and get a real job!

• ap freely 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Can the IMF just please come in and run the country, another 10 years of this BS, wouldn’t it be better to just take all the pain up front and close the budget gap, seriously fed up of governments who just talk the talk

• Marla B Singer 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

The govt is already following the IMF agenda – to the letter. The above is just another blatant example of the cronyism and personal creaming off the top that is inherent in Irish politics.

• ap freely 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

The agenda ain’t working, it’s going to take too long, the gap is still to big, and borrowing to plug the hole in the meantime is pointless in the long term. Like any household in the country, if your spending more than your bringing in, fix it as soon as you can and scrap Croke park and all the other freebies we can’t afford

Report this comment

Reduce TD’s pay across the board .

• swimtwobirds 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

God but I detest varadkar. The degree to which he screams smug entitlement is mind blowingly annoying. He’s a disgrace. He should be forced to resign as a minister.

Screw it – lets get the Sinn Féin and the independents in. If nothing else the prospect of Gerry Adams in charge will drive the Germans out of their minds.

• Paul O'Keeffe 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Exasperating.

• mart_n 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Every day it’s something else. Up their sleeves; they seem to have more ways to piss people off than I have breath to decry it all. When will people say that enough is enough? There’s only so much crap that we can take before it becomes really unhealthy.

• Eugene O' Neill 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

More great news
    800,000 pay of for Ex-ESB http://www.independent.ie/national-news/exesb-chief-padraig-mcmanus-gets-800000-package-3002543.html
    When will we stand up we need someone to start a organisation to start marching the streets.

• Gill Jones 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Let’s hijack paddy’s day, that’s the only time you’ll get ppl on the streets.

• Eugene O' Neill 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

And another thing to point out €145K is the amount the Taoiseach should be paid.
      Are these people in the same country we are struggling to get by and worst to come.
      I bet my life’s possession’s that if Varadkar was in opposition he been screaming murder.
      @Gill
      I like your style Gill but the government would only blame the drink/drunken people for protests,
      Its like the shit has really hit the fan since the start of the year.I think people are too afraid to protest because you look like the “looney lefty”,a word made up by main stream politics.

• Réada Quinn 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Looney left? We couldn’t be as bad as the crazy capitalist conservative party calling the shots now!!!

Report this comment

I read that ESB story this morn, Eugene. I nearly threw up me breakfast. E800k ?? What are we like ? Many at the top, incl’d the ESB, need to be brought down to reality. Have we a political leader to do it ? Naw !

• Karl Doyle 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

It’s quite evident they are not able for government and have purposely pressed the self-destruct button as they view making big mistakes and saying they were overblown as the least embarrassing way to leave office. That’s their choice but If I were them I’d have Enda come out and say the following:

We regret to say that we are not able for government and we will hold fresh elections. We are not going to run enough to get back in so don’t worry, we are very sorry and hope to do you much better in the future.

Its short, sweet and the most dignified way to leave for them from my perspective.

• James Gaffney 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Wasn’t Leo only whingeing in the papers the other day about the cynicism of the media? Well maybe they wouldn’t be so cynical if he and his ilk weren’t so hypocritical.

• jimbo 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

This guy is unreal he should resign,after all the sh1te he has caused and now this.

• Andrew Dunne 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

If we hav to pay some else to the their job, then what is goin on with our politics , I think it’s time for a goverment of experts in their field it I’d be cheaper than havin fools there who don’t have a clue about their brief

• Toureag 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I thought Leo Varadkar is clever & doesn’t need to ask for advice…..how wrong we are!

• Don Booker 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Leave our future taoiseach alone! He’s so busy it took him 9 months to meet-up with the Sports Council. Not bad considering what he has to go through every day with us hostiles. Why shouldn’t he have a well paid adviser or two. We must be seen as a former country to be demonstrating to advisers all over the world that when it comes to asking for the best advise – we must also be willing to pay for it. 100k is nothing for sound advise over a year. Few would say it hasn’t been great now, can they?! So loosen up Journal-er’s
    It’s not like we are under some austerity program or anything. Cut the guy a break. He brings another dimension to politics. He’s not a teacher chancin’ his arm. The anti FG spew today is terrible. What if the yanks are lookin’ in? How are we portraying ourselves. Anti-free-market capitalist. How will we attract foreign investment here when our Corpo tax is decided in Frankfurt? We’re doing tremendous damage to our image abroad guys. If we’re not careful they’ll all leave. The EC, the ECB, the IMF, the ESB, RTE, WTF – the whole lot. So think before we slam. That’s all I’m saying. Go out and hug a tree or something. Cheer up!

• aisling quigley 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Shut up, no one deserves that amount of money no matter what there job is peopl are starvin in ireland worrying if they will hve money to keep a roof over there head and we are paying some gombeen that amount of money, maybe lets keep d advisors and get rid of the ministers if they need to be told what to do! It shoul be an honour to represnt your country not a free for all for the ministers nd there friends! Its beyond belief how people still defend this gov and saying there is no alternative, there is, at the moment the gov r protecting the wealthy instead of the citizens of this country! Sinn fein at least represent the average joe. You cannot dismiss them as an alternative until they at least hav a chance. For so many years the same parties hav lied and ruined our country and yet people still defend them! And before people start yelling ira and that about sinn fein lets look to building a better future not dwelling on the past! Now i await the red thumbs from all the fg sheep.

• Don Booker 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I understand your anger, but Leo’s only doing his best. Have you ever seen him on Vincent Browne. All that fire and passion for the country. Could you possibly imagine If we didn’t pay politicians and their advisers – who I’m sure are not personal friends of theirs or anything – huge money in wages, massive expense accounts and other perks. How bad the country would be then? Be like the ghetto’s of New York or the rough areas of Detroit City. At least we don’t have nearly 5,000 people homeless in Ireland and hundreds sitting on hospital trollies! Our addiction levels are at an acceptable level – hence the cuts to those services. It only makes sense. These people know what they are doing, Ash. Trust them. Look at Leo. Sure he wouldn’t harm a fly. Not like that Flanagan lad with the overgrown – what’s that called again? We can trust in Fine Gael as much as we can in God. Let’s turn this country around once and for all. We have to quit whining about everything. It’s only money at the end of the day and the livelihoods of a few hundred thousand people. Luckily we have a small population and know how to grow spuds. And plenty of natural water. I think people should accept the harshness and turn to nature again. Like in the 1800′s. We were happy then. A nation plugging away and all that was thrown at us. And a pint in the evening. :)

• Rommel Burke 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Love a dollop of sarcasm of a Saturday evening! Thanks Don.

• S P Mc Grath 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Well said Aisling

• William O'Shea 29/01/12 #
      Report this comment

@ Don, Lol here big time! 2 very good posts. Methinks, given all those red thumbs, it’s just as well we never got those electronic voting machines up and running!

• Don Booker 29/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Saturday evening and rain does it to me. Get tired of calling it as it is. Wanted to see it from the other side for a change. Long may the E-Voting stay away. Hard enough keeping an eye on things.

• Julia Panton 29/01/12 #
      Report this comment

@Don – personally, I think we need WTF to stay here … we should do everything we can to encourage their presence … it’s lack of WTF which has the country the way it is … just heading out to find a tree worth hugging.

• Don Booker 29/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I think it’s time to stop asking questions to WTF must go. Maybe we can replace it with an FFS.
      Go beyond the question and respond with an actuality. But that’s just my small contribution into one way of changing how we react to things.
      As for tree-hugging it was Gerry Adams admission that he was fond of hugging huge trees that got me thinking about it. Much rather hug a big 400-year old thing that survived all people through at it than people themselves.
      Call me crazy. It rests easy with me. :)

• Paul Mallon 29/01/12 #
      Report this comment

lolz! cracking posts Don.

• Tom Mulligan 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

hey Leo ill give you advise for free. get rid of the quangos bring all ministers salary down to the average wage get rid of the expenses you all get. pay for your own transport. take back the 1.25 billion you helped give away of our money to the people that we don’t even know who they are. use our taxes,levies in the right places and maybe we can spend again and move this country in the forward direction it is suppose to go.

• Tom Mulligan 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

just thinking of George Orwell animal farm. And this goverment spring to mind. all the promises before the election. can someone inform me if they followed through on any if them. I think ill stop reading because the more I read about the incompetence of these people the more annoyed I get. advisers for the advisers blah blah

• Stephen Maher 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Let’s just look at the alternative (Gerry and the Indos). Gerry’s been shot at, done some shooting himself, actually been shot, and has done plenty of time in prison. SP tds have gone to prison on matters of principle (in contrast to certain FF tds), as has Ming Flanagan.
    Does any one really think that the deluded sissies sitting in cabinet would forego all their privileges and perks for a prison cell for twenty minutes on a point of principle???
    Would they FUCK!!!!
    and, at the faintest whiff of cordite they would be seen for the craven cowards that they undoubtedly are, as they scuttled off to the safety of their mother’s apron strings.
    At least Gerry & Co. Have demonstrated commitment in their actions as well as their words, in contrast to our current treacherous overlords.
    We are a nation led by scared little schoolboys.

Report this comment

That’s why I suspect Enda puts him out there to make all these unpleasant comments. To destroy him in the public’s eye. A useful tool, Cecily.

Report this comment

I suspect you are right Declan
      Which just goes to prove that we can not if they can not trust each other to look after themselves…….
      What a shower of back stabbing ass poles…

• Justin Tighe 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Why not get rid of viradikar and give the job to the advisor

• Adam Magari 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

If Employers PRSI is added on top, the gross monthly cost would have neared 12.3k. Good to see that Leo is following the example set by Kenny and Howlin. Austerity for the taxpayer and small business, but the elite must eat well. Anything happening about rates reductions to help tourism sector Leo?

• Glyn Carragher 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Not apenny more,. …..nice one Leo ya had them going there for a while.

• Jimmy Bennett 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

If these people require advisors to do their job, they shouldn’t be in their positions in the first place. Draft in some Technocrats and get rid of these wasters

• Harry Coffey 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

then again i the previous govt had seeked advice from the advisors before signing the bank gaurantee we prob wouldnt be up to our necks in shit now.

• john g mcgrath 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Vincent Brown exposed him as a spoofer.
    Perhaps this adviser is a bomb disposal expert.
    Continuity F F rolls on

• Derek Rochford 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Leo Varadkar should hang his head in shame!!

At a time when the Country is on it’s knees, he wants to bring in one of his buddies as an advisor and pay him (with Tax Payers money) a massive E135,000 a year plus all the perks that go with that position!

What is going on? Do these politicians think that they were elected to enrich themselves and their friends, while the rest of us are being screwed by austerity?

Something has to give and if they are trying to test the patience of the Irish people, well they are suceeding.
    What he and other Ministers are doing in relation to paying these ‘advisors’ is immoral and if that’s the kind of politicians we have at the helm, well then there is no hope for Ireland.

I wonder what the great ‘Leader’ Enda will do about this request from one of his Ministers, but I’m sure that he has already given the green light…..Another 2 fingers to the electorate!!!

• Dave Garrett 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

go for god sake you leech.

• Bernie Brennan 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Well Done Sinn Fein for bringing this to publics attention.

• Howard Cooley 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Just goes to prove. Same shit different party. They care not one bit for the country or the electorate. I really hoped that FG would do a decent job but they have turned out to be as bad if not worse than the last lot.

• Shane O'Connor 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

There are no words.

• Shanti Om 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

It makes you wonder.. What was the point of the pay cap at all? It seems everyone’s breaching it..

Sorry, forgot where I was there.. There was me thinking the government were able to follow through on their promises and they weren’t just window dressing.. Must have been asleep..

• Frank2521 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Enda – upon return will ask”HAVE YOU ALL GONE MAD SPENDING”?

• HazelMcDonagh 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

It has just taken me 5 minutes to send an email to my local FG and Labour TDs demanding an explanation for this shite. You can find your local TD an their contact details here:

http://www.oireachtas.ie/parliament/tdssenators/tds/

I suggest everyone does the same.

• ian mc dermott 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Ok so we gave Kenny’s tribe a chance and it’s turned into just more of the same, out TD’s are a joke, with Irish politics a cesspool of self serving leeches and that’s across the full spectrum of Irish politics. Lord help us, who do we turn to now?

• jrbmc 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Micheal O leary is the man , if you heard him on The Late Late show last week , every word it said made complete sence

• Mad Taoiseach 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I told Leo to get an intern from Joan.

• David Sheridan 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Not a peep on RTE news at 6 about this. I want to break something!!!

• Gus Lynch 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I have an ongoing email conversation with the Department of the Taoiseach on a similar issue (Ciaran Conlon’s pay rise). It started on December 5th.

I have reached acknowledgement stage.

The wheels of democracy roll slowly in our little republic.

Be sure to put a read receipt on your mails, as likely they will be deleted without being read by our esteemed representatives.

• Chopper 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Ah balls, I didn’t think of “read receipt.” I’ve emailed a few of them: Joe McHugh as my local TD; Joan Burton over JobBridge abuses; and Sean Sherlock on his SOPA – I have never gotten an acknowledgement, or reply of any kind, from them. New Politics My Feckin Arse. No different than the last shower of shites.

• Leslie Alan Rock 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I would e-mail my local T.D. but guess who it is. Roisin Shorthall. So it would be pointless to waste my time. She’ll do what she’s always done…Fuck all

• Niall Tierney 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Words fail me, I’ve had to leave for work here in Christchurch, there are tradesmen who paid taxes for years and can’t get the dole, while this blood sucking hypocrite wants to give his mate 3 times more than the average wage. How many carers allowance has been cut to pay for that one ?

• Barbara Franzoni 29/01/12 #
      Report this comment

It’s actually greater than 4-and-a half times the nat. average wage – just to be clear.

Report this comment

Niall Tierney

I am sure you will do very well for yourself there
      I admire your get up and go.

At the same time you must feel so frustrated reading about
      ”this blood sucking hypocrite ”.

Onwards and upwards Niall:)
      I just wish some one here would do something …

• Bernadette Dunne 29/01/12 #
      Report this comment

The very best to out in Christchurch I know more that doing the same we will have no young left here but the very best and take care

• Dermot Murphy 29/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Yeah Niall,words fail me too.You know well yourself why they keep doing it,simply because we let them do it.

• Andrew O Sullivan 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

What sickness me more is that there are people in this country who still think this Government are doing a good job and have the people’s “interests” at heart..more like our money at heart. What is it the government has to do before everyone say’s enough is enough? That pay rise is a year’s salary for most people who have lost job’s, there home there family’s and in some very sad case’s there lives.
    And isn’t Leo the man that said before the election “not one more cent for Anglo”? Turn coat springs to mind!!

• Dave Seacy 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

WTF ! I am beginning to think that Leo is as arrogant as Bertie was!! He has a smugness that deserves a slap!! I say let Michael O’Leary have a go, these useless TD’s are rotten to the core!!

• Dermot Murphy 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Why is everyone so shocked.This has been going on for years,and will continue to go on as long as WE let it..These fuckers are only in politics for the money,and dont give a fuck about me or you.They even have advisers from Denmark,Sweden,and other countries,with broken English to advise them on how to run the country.Are they that thick,that they have to get foreign advisers to tell them how to do their jobs.The Dail is an easy money pot,you only have to work there for a few months,(like Mitchell),get paid a huge salary for doing fuck all,then resign,and get a pension for life,and go back to a full time job afterwards.What country in the world can you work for less than a year,and get a pension for life.Only Ireland,Why,because the people,like me are fucking idiots to accept it time and time,and fucking time again,and do fuck all.I am so angry with this lot,I could easily take up a gun,and thats been honest.I have no criminal record,never had a driving offence,but if this keeps up,that might change.WE have to do something,and I mean soon,before they destroy this country altogether.Its not just the Dail either,they are all at it. Rte solicitors,bankers,Ceos,and that goes for the Union bosses too.Enough is enough,WE all have to do something.we cant leave it all up to the un employed to take to the streets.We must all do it.Stop watching Rte for a week and see what happens,dont pay any mortgages,and stuff like that,hit them where it hurts,their pockets.That is their God,Money.Come on People wake up.

• Francis Stokes 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Sometimes you would wonder is it worth commenting on these issues because the Government as far as I can see is not in touch with the people. It is a Question of do not do as I do but do as I say. It seem that they are not taking the people seriously . We see tonight that both Government parties are down in the poll ratings.To hell with advisers we elected them to do the job if they need advisers at such enormous cost why not let them take over .

• Alley bean 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

This government is rotten to the core. We looked for change but all we got was more of the same. What we needed in power were new, fresh minds, not more cronies who have been in politics for years and have completely lost touch with reality. Enda and most of his pals are in politics for years and are well used to their big salaries and expense accounts. How can these people seriously relate to Joe or Mary trying to make a living in this country. Time to rethink our election strategies… only three years to do it…(thought of having to listen to this crowd for another three years is just sickening tho…)

• Blair Somers 28/01/12 #
    Report this comment

In fairness, if I had a €135k advisor to me in my job, I’d be fairly shit hot at it!

• Dario Fo 29/01/12 #
    Report this comment

And we fukced over FF. At least we knew where we stood with them.. These clowns are more averice than the last crowd. A.P.A.B.

• Report this comment

Must be something in the water in the Dept of Transport! Remember the previous muppet Minister for Transport – Noel Dempsey. Varadkar & Dempsey. Laurel & Hardy would have done a better job.

Report this comment

Yes,I am afraid the wrong people are emigrating.It should be this lot in power.They should all be put on a boat to Oz.I am on the dole,and find it hard to swallow that these retired ministers are taking home huge pensions,and 99% of them have returned to full time work.If I do say three days work a week,I must inform the dole office,and they will deduct my payment to suit the amount I have earned.Same should apply to this pensions.Anyone receiving 3,000 a week pension.and returns to fulltime work,should have their pension stopped until they cease work again.this money could then be put into the economy..Examples are there to be seen,Take Byrne for instance,He gets a massive pension from Rte,then he handed a job,a very high paid job,( one he knows nothing about anyway),and then takes up two other jobs in the process.Every one of them is laughing all the way to the Bank,while we suffer.I am not begrudging people their pension,but lets all be fair.We are in a deep recession,and its time we all helped out to get this country moving again.Bertie on a huge pension too,and in highly paid jobs at the moment,and why on earth are we paying huge money for three secretarys for him,when he does not work for us anymore.When god made these people,he forgot to add Morals,and conscience,to the mix.

Report this comment

Also in reply to Alley bean.We dont have to wait three years to get them out.They have all failed with their election promises.they have mismanaged our wishes.I am not politically fluent,but there must be something in the constitution that can bring about an early election,simply due to mistrust or something.If i start a new job tommorow,and make a balls of everything,I will be sacked,and rightly so.Why not these lot.They have shown time and time again,that they are working totally against our wishes,so lets get them out.Elections in future need to change.We need to pick our own people to work for us,not just pick from the few that is put before us.We must pick someone from our own community,someone we trust.someone with Morals,conscience,honesty,and above all,one who will put the people first,in other words,a normal person.This lot have none of these qualitys.they dont even understand what SHAME is.

• Graham Mace 29/01/12 #
    Report this comment

@Dermot I agree with you 100% about sacking this lot, as they are no better than the shower of crooks they replaced. Trouble is, it won’t make a $h*ite of difference to the bigger picture, as it’s the ECB and Brusbourg / Strassels pulling the strings, these overpaid clowns are just puppets.
    What would make me feel better is to downsize their wages, more in line with what they are worth. And not allow the less well off to pick up the punitive taxes. That is something these politicians do have control over and they’re not doing it.
    As for picking someone from your community as a representative, that’s basically what we do given that the candidate is for a constituency limited in size and location. Then we’re talking “local politics”, which is fine but it doesn’t solve our problems in Europe.
    In reality, we have no Independence or sovereign freedom now. it’s all gone over the water. Not to the old enemy but to Merkozy. But the politicians are still being paid as if they were proper national ones, though they’re nothing better than jumped up parish councillors with snouts in the trough.

Long past time for a reality check.

• Jenny Brereton 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

This is absolutely disgusting, a minister who requires an adviser, thats just and admission that you cant do your own job, you complete waste of space Leo, you and your party. Get over yourselves all of you and give us back at the very least some of our pride. Your big salary and pension will ensure that you dont suffer, we, the normal people who are keeping this country on its feet are on our knees, How absolutely dare you and your ministerial adviser.

Add New Comment