Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 13 °C Friday 25 May, 2012

Waitress told: ‘Go back to Poland’ after description of life on the dole in Ireland

Tra More beach in Donegal (File photo)
Image: Wikicommons

Update 12.30pm

A POLISH WAITRESS has been told to go back to her homeland by a Labour senator after an account of her life on the dole in Ireland was published in a newspaper in her homeland.

‘Magda’, not her real name, has told the Polish newspaper Gazeta Wyborcza in an article which translates as ‘Pole in Ireland. I love you, unemployment’ that even though she is unable to work, she is able to claim social welfare and do other things with her life.

A translation of the article appears in today’s Irish Independent in which she is quoted as describing the life on the dole as like a “Hawaiian massage” and reportedly claims that Donegal is a “shithole”.

Reacting to that, a Labour Senator has told her to go back to Poland describing her comments as “outrageous”.

However in a translation of the article obtained by TheJournal.ie, the 36-year-old says that while she is able to live well on benefits she does not like doing so at the government’s cost.

“Do I feel guilty about living on benefits? Certainly! I don’t want to live at the government’s expense, which is why I treat this help as an opportunity to start my own business,” she says.

‘Magda’ says she receives an allowance of €188 per week plus €59 for her flat in Donegal and €20 for fuel – giving her a total of €267. This is €67 more than she was earning as a waitress in a local hotel and more than she might hope to earn from the social welfare system in Poland.

“How am I holding up? Great.  I move on and change. I can breathe,” she says of her situation.

According to a translation of the article ‘Magda’ describes Donegal as “either the most beautiful, or the most remote and boring in Ireland.”

Wherever you look, there are green hills, beaches stretching out to the horizon, and it looks like a postcard. On the other hand, you could walk on the beach for an hour and you won’t meet anyone except for an old man in a wind jacket.

‘Magda’ says her life involves going to the local beach to watch the sunrise: “It charges me for the rest of the day” while she has used the time out of work to take up yoga, surf, decorate her house and have a healthy diet.

“Unemployment benefits are for people to stop for a while and think about their lives. I for one discovered that I no longer want to work for someone. I like having things settled my way,” she is quoted as saying.

However her story has drawn the ire of a local Labour senator, Jimmy Harte, who has described her comments as “outrageous”.

He told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland that he would “willfully pay for her airfare back to Poland” and said that she was doing a “disservice” to the local Polish community.

“If she had any humility in her at all, she would just leave Donegal and go back to Poland,” he said.

Polish Ambassador responds to Irish Independent’s ‘Magda’ dole article

Read Next:

Comments (309 Comments)

• Damien Doherty 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Good god, why am i paying taxes at all!

• Thomas Mc Carthy 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

So she gets more of the dole than being a waitress, it’s a no-brainer come on folks. What’s her other choice, go back to Poland to live in poverty or get the dole here, the money she’s talking about she gets is very low, come on folks You’d do it too. In addition the audacity of any politician who’s in government now to criticise this girl considering the savage cuts there inflicting on everyone. I say fair play to her. Dziekujey

• Mensah Mensah 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I cant comment…?????…too much to say

• Report this comment

@Damien Doherty: You are paying your taxes to allow Civil Servants big pensions and a nice life style.

You just have to be careful you do not allow them to create fictitious stories and deflect your attention away from they’re ill gotten gains.

• JustDieter 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I have it on very (VERY) good authority that this story is fictitious as is ‘Magda’ Really Irish people, can you not use your minds? Sometimes I despair for your future, you believe everything…incredible.

• Michael Quinn 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Don’t be ridiculous Thomas. While there are some people who prefer to go on the dole rather than work there are plenty of people out there on the dole who would jump at the chance for any sort of work. You are a disgrace with your “fair play to her” comment. Maybe the majority of us wouldn’t have the burden of paying high taxes and our country wouldn’t be in the shitter if attitudes like this didn’t exist. Her dole should be stopped.

• JustDieter 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Oddly enough the very same newspaper reported a fictitious story a few years back about a 70+ yr old publican marry a beautiful young 23 yr old Polish girl. Coincidentally another ‘Magda’ both the publican and fictitious Magda had to later admit it was a fairytale.

You have minds, think
      You have eyes, see
      You have a country, save it

Report this comment

@JustDieter – The stupidity in your comment is revealed by you ridiculing some people here for believing one source of information when there is no obvious incentive for falsifying such a story. You get on your high horse and act like the enlightened one because you have heard something to the contrary. Don’t waste your time despairing for our future just reveal your source and open a sensible debate or stop being a complete and utter clown.

• JustDieter 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Fictitious Publican and Magda were also from Donegal. See the pattern? I predict the next story will be how poorly paid Irish politicians are and how millions of Polish on the dole receiving huge childrens allowance payments are lounging on deckchairs along the sand dunes of tropical Costa Del Courtown.

Your naivety whilst sweet and cute at times is also incredibly irritating Ireland. I see now why your politicians mock you and play with your futures, effortlessly.

• JustDieter 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Michael, why I wonder would such a story be propagated to the Irish people? It does not take someone of superior intellect or enlightenment to see the motive. Yes, although I have read the original article my friend (I speak Polish fluently) and I have ex colleagues working for that particular tabloid like publication you are of course the one who sees all so clearly :)… Michael, have a nice day

Report this comment

@JustDieter – Yeah, those Donegal politicians even have their evil tentacles in the pockets of Polish newspapers. Oh wise one, oracle, god among men please reveal how we may save our little country.

• JustDieter 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

“A fool sees not the same tree that a wise man sees.”
      William Blake

• Paul Ibbs 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

What is with all the fuss here?

Someone gets dole that everyone is entitled to.

If you got more on the dole would you be working?

LoyalIrishCitizen is right – it’s a mere deflection away from the outrageous expense claims and allowances still awash throughout the upper levels of the Civil Service. Why oh why oh why do TD’s get laundry allowances ON TOP of their salary? Even ‘Magda’ doesn’t get laundry allowances.

Report this comment

Congratulations @JustDieter!

a). you are extremely enlightened
      b). you speak Polish fluently
      c). you have a Ph.D in Gobshiteism

Fact: Many people abuse the social welfare system (Irish and foreign nationals) – this is not news.
      Fact: This article source is a Polish newspaper (why would such an article be planted in a foreign newspaper to distract from Irish politicians bloated pay and benefits).
      Fact: We all already know that politicians here are creaming it (how would this article make us believe otherwise)

It seems your name is befitting in that you are indeed a dieter – in common sense!

Report this comment

“I have a mind to join a club and beat you over the head with it.”
      Groucho Marx

• Michael Cuthbert 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well Mr Quinn. May I respectfully suggest you read the actual article in the Polish press and you’ll discover its context and provenance and how the Irish Indo has used the quotes to make their own story…

• John Murphy 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment
    • Eileen Gabbett 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

LoyalIrish
      Can you amend your comment to ”higher civil servants”. Thanks :)
      I agree with all else you have said and usually say .

Report this comment

I would do Michael but I don’t speak Polish and Google Translate wouldn’t do the article justice. I am commenting purely on @JustDieters comments related to the article posted here.

I don’t care whether the article is falsified for sensationalist journalistic requirements or whether it should be taken with a pinch of salt or whether it is true as the point is that such people who are happy to exist on the dole do exist in our society. To me it isn’t important where they originated from but that they exist when there are people out there struggling to make ends meet. We hear of story after story of people in financial ruin and there are plenty of people who are burdening state and consequently the people who are out there working hard for themselves and their families. If these attitudes didn’t exist we would have far less problems in society. There are also people who legitimately need welfare payments to feed their families and the scroungers will inevitably cause a reduction in their much needed payments.

For what it is worth though I really don’t think an article was planted in a Polish newspaper to distract us from the fact that politicians are milking the system. That is another article entirely!

• Paul Ibbs 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I might agree with you Michael – maybe it hasn’t been planted, but it’s certainly being USED by a politician.

• Report this comment

@Eileen Gabbett: Give me your accounts and then I can amend the comment.

I think most people understand that it is the pensions displayed in the news I was referring to.

Report this comment

LoyalIrish
      not all people would know this …..
      Just saying like !!!

• JustDieter 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

To summarize the original article for the very intelligent and not at all naive Mr Michael Quinn

The girl is trying to start her own business
      Her hobby is surfing
      Her husband works full time
      She did not say Ireland or Donegal is a shi**ole
      There is nothing about a sign language course or golf

A lovely Polish journalist on the John Murray show has also explained that the article that originally appeared in the Polish newspaper and which was quoted by the Irish Independent was completely mistranslated, and she didn’t say 1/4 of what they said she said.

I am also reliably informed that the original article is fake.

Regardless, the real point here is the reaction and how gullible Irish people are when it comes to the media or indeed propaganda…i.e Lisbon Treaty, EU, Five Point Plan, 650 million welfare fraud although in the budget it miraculously decreased to 40 million which is on a par with the rest of Europe etc etc

See!!!

Report this comment

“the Polish newspaper and which was quoted by the Irish Independent was completely mistranslated, and she didn’t say 1/4 of what they said she said.”

“I am also reliably informed that the original article is fake.”

Make up your mind JustDieter! The article either is fake or mistranslated and misquoted.

• Tim Henchin 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Shock Horror. The Indo pretty much made it up or a lesson in don’t use Google Translate.

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/02/01/ouch-2/

The quality that we normally associate with the Sunday Indo. is creeping in to the weekly version.

• JustDieter 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

A, The article printed in the Irish newspaper is almost completely made up
      B, The original article was a ‘space filler’ penned by a journalist who has a sister residing in Donegal. Quite a common occurrence actually.

My dear naive friend, you are embarrassing yourself more than you realize, but that is ok, so do I more often than not. If I am a clown, you are the court jester and not a very intelligent one at that. I suspect you also believe in the tooth fairy and leprechauns?

People like Michael Quinn are lost, time is too far gone for those like him. However, most Irish people are not so naive and ignorant. It seems there is a collective blindness and acceptance of lies in media, politics et al, but this will change, sooner rather than later. The consequences of which are frightening but inevitable.

• JustDieter 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@Michael Quinn aka the Intelligent and all knowing one. I have a mind and it is made up, you it seems that you have neither a mind of your own and you are ‘made up’ a perfect reproduction of the stereotypical caricature of the sheep who follows blindly and believes everything.

‘Original is ‘Fake’ i.e It is a ‘space filler’ with no bad intentions. The sister of the Journalist who penned the original article lives in Donegal.

If I am a clown, you have proved yourself to be the court jester…now be gone little man before you embarrass yourself more.

Report this comment

JustDieter – On a parting note you are a cretin.

• 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment
    • Réada Quinn 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Wrong Michael Quinn and I’m not anonymous either Journal. I’d really let loose if I were.

• JustDieter 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Thank you Michael. I assume you are dyslexic and what you really meant to write was “Just Dieter – On a parting note, you are wonderful. Your sensitive soul glows so brightly and your love of Ireland is so profound, it surrounds me. You humble me”

Cheerio Michael

• michael cuthbert 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Michael Quinn. Wonder if you’d have gotten so exited if you had read this before you entered the fray here: http://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/p6028/polish_waitress_packs_in_job_for_good_life_on/c3msb3a

• Derek Larney 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

//gets popcorn

• joseph mcgee 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

let the games commence!!!!!!!

• Réada Quinn 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Push up there on the sofa Derek. I’ve a fresh salted bowl here. This will be good….

• Declan Carroll 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Will be interesting to see how many Poles will comment on this thread about how they are being – wait for it – “discriminated” in our country. Shame on her & all others, no matter who they are & where they are from, who claim welfare instead of working. The biggest shame is our welfare system for allowing this to happen. Hers is not the only case & as a taxpayer, I deeply resent what she is doing. I’ll stop at that as my blood is boiling.

• Réada Quinn 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Oh gawd Declan. If 10,400 has you in that state I can’t imagine what the 1.65 billion did to you last week…

• Paul Mallon 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

This is one person.
      there are quite a few people doing this, of all nationalities – especially Irish.
      Nobody has a right to abuse the system, reform needed everywhere, especially in government

• Réada Quinn 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Ah yes Paul. But don’t sweat the small stuff.

• Nitin Gautam 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Businesses are competing again social wefare & govt & huge payments. No wonder prople dont wish to work

• Report this comment

This really could be fictitious article and an exercise to see how gullible the readers really are.

Someone could also argue that Irish Politicians looked after they’re welfare with European funds, so why not anybody else.

Why should Irish politicians have the monopoly of free money to waste and burn?

• Jim Brady 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Wtf?
      Your argument makes no sense…

• Réada Quinn 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I think it’s the most coherent post I’ve ever read from Loyal. But that’s only my “opinion”!! Get it!

• Report this comment

@Jim Brady: What’s wrong with my argument? Are you saying people cannot manipulate stories?

A couple of years ago TV3 had a documentary program, which detailed how some people were on the fiddle. Do you not find it unusual that those who commit the crime rush to Irish Media to admit what they are doing and lose they’re payments? Its more realistic to think that they will keep they’re mouth shut and keep the money.

There are times when propaganda can appear in media and that you cannot take every story as gospel truth.

• Report this comment

@Réada Quinn: In my opinion you going to crack me up with that sort of humour? Do you get it the irony?

• Richard Humphreys 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I would question how accurate the article is as well, there’s very little by way of trying to contact the woman in question and more relying on the article itself. But we thrust the media, too much some times.

• P Wurple 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@LoyalIrish, apologies for being off topic, but can you please look up the use of Their, They’re and There. Every post so far gets it wrong, and it’s melting my head.

• Report this comment

@P Wurple: I have spent my entire life dealing with that particular problem and its not important if you understand the message.

You could also consider that i might be doing it to find the nit pickers who have such a trivial life they feel the need to point it out in the first place. Get a life.

Report this comment

I was listening to John Murray this morning and
      a guy on there was saying that this piece was
      taken from a much larger article from a polish
      newspaper that was comparing how polish citizens
      were managing abroad in different countries…..
      Just saying .

• Réada Quinn 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Call an ambulance. P Wurple’s head is melting because of some spelling errors. Has someone got the €3,000,000 it costs now???

• John Murphy 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

For a new head or the ambulance?

• Tim Henchin 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The most down thumbs and yet he was right all along, its a made up article. The crazy polack gets up at 6am not midday and is setting up her own business, loves Donegal and her husband works. Have a look at broadsheet.ie for the real version verses the low grade reporting typical nowadays of the indo.

The truth shall set ye free.

• Jay funk 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

So she tells the truth and is told to leave Ireland? The problem here is that Social Welfare is too high, not her comments. By the way i’m on social welfare!

• Dean McDonnell 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

On the Radio this morning a Polish gentleman was saying that the Article was lifted and translated poorly from a Polish news paper and that many parts were taken out of context.

• Peter Carroll 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The article as reported here is from the Irish Independent, our own “Daily Mail”. The quotes were highly selective and taken out of context. Never forget that the Indo employs Shane Ross, who advocated our banks to copy Anglo Irish Bank’s business practices. Everything in that paper has to be taken with a pinch of salt.

• JustDieter 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The article is fake. I know a reporter working for that particular paper. Even the original bares no resemblance to what is translated here. I speak Polish fluently.

Expect major welfare reforms, this will be the first of many Magda stories, Paddy and Mary ones will follow

• Hugh O'Connell 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Hi Dieter,

Can you follow this up with us? Drop me an email: hugh@thejournal.ie.

Thanks,

Hugh

• Tim Henchin 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Have heard from others that the story is a crock of Indo. doo.

It seems that her husband is working, that she didn’t say that it was a shit hole and that she is setting up her own business. That the surfing is a hobby, has been, will be.

Personally i’m against welfare tourism and frankly would be stricter on her than my defense here states but this is just softening people up.

Remember kids that the cutting of Public sector wages hits the middle and lower the most, the top are still grossly overpaid. Hitting the dole, cuts demand in the local economy and hits the vast majority who are not dole lifestyle bums.

The next step, once the above are taken care of is to use the new reality to drive down wages in the private sector as well. It’s as plain as day, what is happening here.

Report this comment

That’s good to see Hugh. Keep it up Dieter…

• Réada Quinn 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Big kiss Donal McCarthy. You’re on fire with your links last few days. Told ya Michael :P

• JustDieter 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Hi Hugh

It seems you and The Journal have followed it up allready. Well done!

• Aydo 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I’m LoLing. I can’t wait for all the reactions to this.

• Maria Moran 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

This is outrageous, however she is just saying it as she’s living it, it’s a very bitter pill for the tax payer to swallow & Damien yes, I wonder why the hell I’m paying taxes at all.

• Francis Stokes 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

In Poland the cost of living is lower so that is the reason that the social welfare is only 39 euro s. Average weekly wage is 85 euro s. In Ireland you could not live on that. That is not to say in this case it is a disgrace how this is allowed to go on.It is because of the recession that ll this is coming to the fore. Government will have to act on Social welfare tourism.

• Report this comment

The story here is she was only being paid 200 euro a week as a waitress

• Tigerisinthezoo 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Dont worry. This is just the beginning of the softening up of the public before the dole gets cut.
    It is madness though how some of these can claim dole after only been in the country a couple of years. Europe is only allowing for welfare tourism. It wont do any good for the perception of the Polish who are mostly good people.

• Adrian De Cleir 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Nonsense. If you come here, pay tax and contribute, then you should be entitled to the dole.

As a matter of fact, foreigners working then claiming contribute more to the country than the teenagers arsing around till they’re 18 so they can claim.

• Report this comment

Yawn, a grand month? So 12k for a year? That bond we paid to bondholders like Goldman Sachs so they can pay their top people millions of dollars, was what 1.3 billion, that could have kept her on the dole for over 100,000 years. Some perspective please.

• Marcondes Sávio 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

It’s the government own fault! Social welfare should be enough to help you while you are unemployed. Not money enough to be a way of living and I know Irish and non-Irish who doesn’t look for a job because they get from social welfare more than they would working…

• Ciaro 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Great to hear a senator complaining about this, they make far more than anyone for doing fuck all.
    Less than 100 days in “work” each year?

• Report this comment

Now there’s your dole cheats
    I’m so angry I can’t write what I really want to say !

• Réada Quinn 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Take a deep breath Kathleen. Nice and slowly now…

Report this comment

…. & let it rip …………

• JustDieter 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The naivety of you all is astounding. This particular Magda doesn’t even exisit, not to say that other Magdas do, but this one certainly doesn’t. Eben the original article bares absolutely no similarity to what is printed in the Irish reproduction.

This is the same newspaper that made up the story about the fictitious relationship between a 73 yr old man in Donegal who married his beautiful 23 yr old waitress. Irish people, when oh when will you learn to see :(

• Rob 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

to be fair i’m not really sure what we’re supposed to be surprised about here??

Magda didnt have to be polish – sure thres already a huge difference in welfare allowances on both sides of the border up there! i’m less in the school of “feck off back to Poland” and more in the space of “cut the feckin welfare!!”

@Just Dieter is at his entertaining best today! its all smoke and mirrors….. they’re not really Polish people at all! they’re aliens!

• Rommel Burke 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@ Rob
      I’d be more of a “cut the feckin welfare fraud” myself.
      Although seeing stories like like being floated tells me across the board cuts are coming down the tracks.

• Réada Quinn 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Please omit the “all” JustDieter. You don’t want to do an Enda Kenny on it. ;)

• Darren Swan 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

me too

• JustDieter 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Correction:

The naivety of some

• Mark Rodgers 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I wonder how placid this discussion thread will be and whether some of the more aggressive contributors who attack Government at all levels would take the risk of an obvious backlash.
    The Polish newspaper should follow up this story and find a fellow national claiming benefits just across the wee hills in Derry. As the typical exam paper asks……contrast and compare………
    The real danger of Stories like this is the potential for Welfare tourism and there is nothing to prevent this other than……………………

• PCurley 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Are you people just awake now???.Where have you been for the last 2 years??. We are the fools of Europe.Why do you think there are so many Eastern European and Africans here and Nigereans here is it for the climate??. To ease your minds i am not a rascist BUT!!!

• Réada Quinn 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

There, there.

• Matthew Mark 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Last 2 years? Where have you been for the last 30years? For every foreigner doing this there are 200 Irish people doing the same. And their children. And their grand children. It’s an intergenerational career. Don’t blame it on the foreigners – start your blame game in Ireland.

• Paul Mallon 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Spot on Matthew, why go on this witch hunt for the one person when there are probably thousands doing the same.
      The government are spineless, gluttonous, imperialist fucks. No sense of moral obligation or right or wrong.
      They’ll preach their drivel and consolidate their position while we drown in illegitimate debt.

• Report this comment

And what about all the Irish people who are not bothered their arse working.. what about the fact that the majority of foriegn nationals came here in the “good times” to work in positions that most Irish people did not want to do. They paid taxes and are entitled to their social welfare. As am I for working and paying my taxes. The influx of different nationalities happened years ago and greatly added to our workforce at the time. In my opinion there is nothing wrong with claiming social welfare if you have been working paying prse/paye..
      Let me guess were you the same type of person that was spouting ” all the foreigeners have our jobs ” in the celtic tiger boom? There is no need or call for racism or using social welfare as a disguise for racism. At the end of the day this story – true or false – is about a woman who is paid more on the dole than in employment. Not where she is from.

ps Nigeria is in Africa!

• Paul Mallon 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

spot on kate!

• Sheila Murphy 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

PCurley, I don’t know anything about signing on but I seem to remember big stories about a residency requirement to claim some time back? Irish people weren’t getting the dole cos they lived abroad or something? I don’t think you can turn up and just sign on – correct me if I’m wrong !!

• Shanti Om 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Now, on the flipside..
      A friend of mine who is French was working here throughout the boom. In 08, she was let go while on maternity leave, and she was informed she was not entitled to anything at all from the state..

I wonder how all these economic migrants manage it when she got totally and utterly screwed by our state despite having paid her taxes..

• Noirin Lynch 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Listen to Dean. On the John Murray show a polish researcher showed it’s taken from a 5 page article & the woman didn’t even say half of what the Independent ‘quoted’! He’s gone off to translate it & put it up on their website.
    However, if you’ve no interest in facts, & use stories like this to simply re-hash your favourite theory/ rant … Youre probably wondering what the truth has to do with anything anyway :-/

• Paul carew 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

People should work for the dole, if it is just cleaning the streets for 10 to 20 hours a week it should be compulsory . 188 euro a week is a lot of money to do nothing, especially people on the dole for more than 5 years they should be the first out working.we are all entitled to some social welfare payments especially in a recession but there are people that will take the piss.

• Matthew Mark 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

100% agree

• Niamh Byrne 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Forced labour….haven’t they tried.that somewhere before?!?

And if you think its such a good idea isn’t that (hate bringing this into it but here goes…) how we have all those quaint little dry stone walls and parchwork fields in the west? Built on the backs of people dying of starvation. Yeah forced labour is a splendid idea if ur from victorian england or apartheid south africa or north korea or stalinist russia or nazi germany….I could go on.

• Sheila Murphy 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Niamh I think there’s a big difference between the forced labour that you quote ( south africa or north korea or stalinist russia or nazi germany) and people giving their time to local community projects etc.

What would worry me more is, if there is work there, why isn’t someone paid a proper wage to do it? If SW recipients were to clean the streets, then the street cleaner is out of a job…………………

• Daniel Dudek 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If this won’t open peoples eyes that minimum wage as well as dole are too high, nothing will…

• Oh Inn 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

She was earning 200 a week working, and you are saying that the minimum wage is too high!!!
      This indo was successful in creating a public sector vs private sector divide, they now have social welfare in their sights.

• Gorey -Your Town 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I feel sorry for what she said. I am Polish myself and never even think that being on the dole is somthing to be happy and proud about.
    We all know that there is recession, we all know that is hard to find job specially in small towns. All my friends (Polish ones) who are unemployed would love to find job, any job but there is none.
    I am sure most of the polish community is not happy like me for what she said and would pay for her ticket home as well.

Report this comment

U are here in Ireland & are treated as equal EU citizens. I have come to learn that Poles are great for moaning & complaining. Yet Poles are not shy about living off our welfare state. I’ve met many Poles who are very decent people, buy many Poles just complain & moan. As we say here – sh*t or get off the pot.

Report this comment

jeez dec,
      ur awful fond of a good aul whige urself me aul pal.

as for us all being a europe of equals,
      flock me, do people still believe that horse manure??
      sure, the the majority are equal…
      equal serfs in the eyes of our banking masters

Report this comment

Good man, Joe !! No harm to have an aul’ rip every now & then. Whoo-Hoo !!

• Brian Henoll 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@ Declan Carroll
      “but many Poles just complain & moan”
      Guess they are no different than the irish then ehh.

The main difference I see between the Polish and the Irish is that the Polish work their @asses off when they can.. Not so for the Irish..

Report this comment

That’s true, Brian Henoll. That’s true, to.

• Ross Bowe 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The problem is both the level of welfare and people like her who clearly take advantage of it. People who say ‘I don’t blame her for taking it’ are part of the problem in Ireland where the lack of a sense of civil duty or social responsibility has led to this situation.

Report this comment

If only we all had the sense of civil duty and social responsibility so evident in our governing parties? People really would be better off focusing their attention on the people who are really taking advantage in this country, rather than be distracted by dodgy story in the Indo.
      If you’re looking to vent your anger at fraud there is a much bigger show in town.

• Réada Quinn 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

And who has fuelled that Ross. Lazy governments!

• Ross Bowe 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Ah yeah blame the government for people’s attitudes, because everyone looks up to them. The government have their own house to get in order. I think the Irish people can be expected to be mature enough to enter a social contract and play their part. If every individual did that themselves then there would be no problem. The government is just another symptom of the attitude.

• Aranthos Faroth 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

It is in my own opinion that you should not be able to claim the dole unless you have become a legal ‘Irish’ citizen.. pass the test etc.

Before you get citisenship, you must be in employment for 3 years with a break no longer than 2 months and a total break for no longer than 6 months (Break being out of a job).
    If you don’t manage to get a job in the first 6 months.. bam.. cya. Barred for 2 years from seeking employment again.

Ok, this cannot be done thanks to our wonderful gods in Europe, but it undoubtedly needs to be changed.

This is a clear indication that it’s being abused.
    The fact that this woman felt like she could just slate .. oh man I’m getting so annoyed at this.
    I’m paying more taxes than ever, partly because of scum like this.

• Kevin Dennis 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Actually, the indos piece is quite kind to her.

She refers to us Dubs as “them arseholes from Dublin”,

Full article,in Polish, http://wyborcza.pl/1,75480,11028074,Polak_w_Irlandii__Kocham_cie__bezrobocie.html

• Terry McDonald 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

If someone has worked and paid tax and PRSI here then they are able to claim any benefits that they are entitled to, no matter where they are from. They have already contribued to the system in the good times and should be as able as anyone else to benefit from it when times are hard.

The Independent has some hard neck publishing this in the same week that senior civil servants are getting massive payouts for early retirements and colossal sums are being thrown at defunct banks.

To those that are joining in on this witch-hunt – remember they’ll be coming for you next.

• Paul Ibbs 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

“Actually, the indos piece is quite kind to her.
      She refers to us Dubs as “them arseholes from Dublin”,

Funnily enough, I can’t see that bit.

• John McGuirk 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I’m just going to save everyone some time by calling you all racists. That’s where the thread is going to end up, so we might as well just get it out there. Racist Racists.

• PCurley 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Whats the view like from your Ivory Tower????

Report this comment

Ross is right. We all need to get a healthy dose of “civil duty” &/or “social responsibility”. That starts from the top. Sadly, look at what we had & have in power. There’s the “Racist” card. Throwing the racist card is a poor substitute for any meaningful argument. I sense u are taking the p*ss, tho’ !!

Report this comment

Oisin you say that she was only being paid 200 Euro per week as a waitress. In the interest of accuracy and objectivity could you clarify whether this was for ten or forty hours in that period.
    Clearly this lady made a personal choice of the dole over work and it is my understanding that she could have her payment suspended under the rules for same?

• Ross Bowe 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

@Oisin – I’m sure tips aren’t included in that and even if she doesn’t get tips can you explain why she should get much more than €200??

• Réada Quinn 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Oisín. You forgot the tips man! How could you forget the Irish tips. Holy cow!!!

• P Wurple 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Sums sums sums.

Minimum wage is 8.64 an hour. For a 40 hour week that’s €346, not 200. So it must have not been a full time job, but rather a few hours here and there.

You are always better off having a full time job rather than being on jobseekers.

• Ross Bowe 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well Reada, a person could earn up to and above €100 in tips in a week depending on where they’re working. Not to be sniffed at if that equals half of your wage packet. I also qualified my comment by saying even if she doesn’t get tips how is €200 not enough?? Why should a waitress get anything above minimum wage unless they’ve been working in the place for a number of years?? No offence to waiters/waitresses but it’s not the most skilled job and the stress is largely superficial. I’ve been a waiter before, I know.

• Sheena 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I agree Daniel, the dole is too high. This article has riled me no end!
    It’s one thing if someone loses their job after paying years and years of taxes and struggle to find work again- but to have an immigrant boast about fleecing the irish taxpayer- it’s a disgrace, she shoudl be ashamed of herself. She should be hunted down, deported and made an example of.

Report this comment

not a bad idea.
      yeahhhh…..after hunting her down, lets make an example of her
      by placing her head on the city gates, that should send a message….

oh and sheena, hope u don’t lose ur job and have to live on 188 quid a week.

• Sheena 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@joseph mcgee- I have been on the dole (when it was 194 a week) and i can assure you i would have rathered waitiress for the same amount. Or clean streets, or do anything. and i NEVER boasted about how great it was. Stick that in your pipe.

• the bionic rats 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

ha ha ! hunt her down. yeeeeeeeeeeee haaaaaaaaa!

Report this comment

bbbbbbbbbulllllshhhhhhhhhhhhh………….

back into yer own pipe m’dear

• Paul Mallon 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

please!
      this article is weak distraction from the real news. wake up!

Report this comment

Sheena
      This article has riled me too , no end ….because it is not true. The Indo mis quoted her ….
      Google translate did not work too well today…… OOPS !

• Jacqui Russell 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I’m a non-Irish taxpayer. Can my money go into a separate fund so I don’t have to pay for Irish claims?

Report this comment

Cairo
    Please do not perpetuate such inaccurate distorted and deceptive statements as you have with the comment on Senators pay.
    The Senate sits for one hundred days each year but a typical working week for a Member is a multiple of that. You seem to believe that the only function performed by a public representative is their presence at sittings of the House. For most this represents a fraction of their working time
    Before you splutter some accusatory response I am not a Senator nor do I work for Government nor any Political Party.

• Tigerisinthezoo 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Come on Mark. The senate should have been scrapped long ago. They serve no purpose or role not already been done. But it’s another issue.
      Back to topic- the Irish in oz wont get the dole after 2 years there.
      I would what PR company found this for the gov to spin.

• Tony Dunne 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

This is an old story that the dogs on the street even know was going on, to be honest with you at least she was residing here and more than likley spending some of the money locally unlike others who would jet themselves in courtesy of mol pick up their free money and leaveWorking for your dole payments is an option where there is traceability and responsability.Wake up ireland target all dole fraudsters make them repay and prosecute all those concerned regardless of nationality, name and shame

• Val Kearney 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Send he back to Poland and don’t even attempt to pay he way either. Drop her into the North Sea in a dingy and let her sort herself out.

Report this comment

c’mon val, ur gettin soft,,
      why even bother with the dingy….

• Glyn Carragher 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

hey Val Should we refund the PRSI she paid while working as a waitress below the minimum wage before we drop her into the North sea, or perhaps its time to start rounding up people “like this” and send them to camps. Some of the comments on this page are making me sick to the core, how easy it is to whip up the ire of fools. When I read comments like these I can see why evil right wing parties have no trouble surviving. Even if this person is real (which I doubt) why should she not have the right to seek out happiness. You would be well advised to direct your anger to those nameless bond holders, bankers and politicians who are stealing your money and the future of our country then to some fictitious waitress who enjoys walking on a beach in Donegal

• Val Kearney 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@Glyn: Apologies, I suppose I didn’t really explain myself properly. I have no problem with an immigrant worker into Ireland claiming the dole, especially when many of them contributed to the economy we had a few years back. Unlike many people, I understand the economics behind what the immigrant population actually done for Ireland, how they elevated our economy to a whole new level. The heights we hit wouldn’t have been anything close if they hadn’t been here, and therefore any immigrant that has lost their job is fully entitled to claim their dues in the hope of sticking it out in their adopted country only to find work again in the future.

However…this woman has glorified being on the dole. While she might be entitled to it, it is her “shur why would I work when…” mentality that should not be accepted by us. I have spoken to many non-nationals about issues like this and I know quite a few Polish people that would say the exact same thing. This isn’t about left wing softness or right wing extremeism, this is about someone who is deliberately sponging of the Irish system and having a right aul laugh about it. How do you think it makes people feel who have lost their job and are ashamed to be on the dole despite the fact that they too are collecting over 250 euro a week?

• shane kenny 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

When Irish people emigrated to the US we were lucky to put the second or third generations through college at out own expense, the Irish system will put immigrants in a plush apartment, put spending money in their pockets and put 1st generation immigrants through education up to masters level if they wish… you can’t blame people if they operate lawfully within the system.. indeed we should thank these people for blowing the whistle

Report this comment

This is true – I was in a pub a while back with a few people. A chap, who turned out to be Polish, came in & he knew one of the lads in my group. Came over to say hello & all that sh*te. A young lad in his late 20′s. A big lump of a lad. During the conversation, someone asked him what he works at. Guess what his reply was -” I’m off to Australia soon so I’m surfing the welfare wave”. Exactly. He didn’t hang around us too long after that. The vibe he got made sure of that. There y’are folks. I don’t know how true/false the above news story is. The one I told u is. She’s not the only one at it.

Report this comment

Eh why was he off to Australia?
      Do you know anything else about him?
      Had he ever worked here?
      Also I really don’t see what his nationality has to do with anything. Could an Irish person not have said the same thing?

• Gavin Yore 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Believe me mate, he won’t get a penny in Australia that way. Been there and noticed they don’t suffer lightly to people like that. If it’s getting tougher and tougher for Irish to get onto sites for fear of stealing Aussie jobs, their certainly not gonna give out free welfare to people like that.

Report this comment

He said he gave up work here & was surfing the welfare wave. Was going to Oz to meet up with pals, Rommel.

Report this comment

Yes – he could have been any nationality. The fact is he is Polish. I would be equally annoyed if he was from Mars, so to speak.

Report this comment

Ok, so he did work here then. Any idea how long he worked here? How long he was surfing the wave here? Are you saying he’s going to Oz to work? You’re basing a lot of assumptions on ” I’m off to Australia soon so I’m surfing the welfare wave”

Report this comment

Making no assumptions, Rommel. That’s what he said. He said he worked here for a year or so & was going to Oz to meet up with pals. That’s what he said. Just relaying that. In the meantime he lived off welfare – surfed the welfare wave. The welfare state is the prob for allowing that to happen & I have no doubt the welfare state will be completely changed within the next 5 years. It was so annoying how flippant he was about it. Can’t add any more than that.

Report this comment

Fair enough Declan. Sounds to me like maybe he is going to Oz to work like some of his mates may have already done. If he was getting welfare for a few weeks in advance of that I don’t see a problem. Maybe it’s just the words he used?
      I can see your point about being flippant.
      On the reverse side the vast majority should feel no shame for claiming welfare. There always has and always will be a minority who take the pish, and this badly needs to be addressed. But that requires political will and I think it suits the Government to have people divided on issues like this rather than united.

• Ross Bowe 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

When somebody says they’re riding the welfare wave Rommel you don’t need to look much further than that. Why can’t you just accept that a lot of people take advantage of the welfare system. Stop making excuses for people. You’re part of this ‘what’s in it for me?’ attitude.

• Melissa Knowles 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

My boyfriend is from Eastern Europe and he and his friends laugh at how gullible the Irish are all the time. I have to say I agree with him. You can’t blame a person for taking advantage of a nations stupidity.

Report this comment

That’s an outrageous attitude to have, Melissa. This is where resentment starts. Welfare isn’t there for be plundered. It’s there to help people when they are in times of difficulty. Your East European boyfriends & pals are disgraceful & if they are claiming welfare willy-nilly, remember this – they are taking money away from areas where it could be better used. Like buying fuel & hot meals for the elderly. TBH – I think u really need to look at your fella again, open your eyes & see what a sponger he is. Sounds like being here with you, he is on the pig’s back hooked up with a cash cow, to use that term. Wake up !! U ought to hang your head in shame for contributing that comment thinking there is nothing wrong with what they are doing. It is our money.

• Edel Lyons 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Melissa look around you-if you think there is nothing wrong with the comment you have just made you are as bad as your Eastern European boyfriend and his sponger mates. I hope you are never on the receiving end of social welfare payments as so many decent people are in this country. Time for a change in attitude I think

Report this comment

Correct, Edel. It’s there to help anyone in a time of need & to help anyone get back on track. God know when anyone us may need assistance.

• Madge W. 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

You can always find a freak saying this type of things. I dont know whether she’s provocative or being stupid. Probably matter of translation too. As a polish I can say that all unemployed people I know are back to Poland. I personally dont know anyone on benefits at the moment. Im not saying there is none though…

Report this comment

Too late. Anyway. Before anyone jumps to conclusions, read the full article in the Polish press. The Irish Indo have taken certain liberties…

• Begrudgy 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Disgraceful story designed to feed into the hatred and racism of foreigners. Poland being part of eu has as much right to be here as the irish going to england. As this 1 person on the dole i know of plenty of irish doing the same or even worse. shame on journalists involved for printing this rubbish. We should be looking alot closer to home before we start throwing stones.

• Oswald Cobblepot 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Your on the ball, don’t need to go to mainland Europe to hear stories of people riding the system. A minority of people on the dole here for years doing this and worse.

• Paddy Cole 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

No matter how you try and spin it, this lady, like most of us, still lives week to week. She hardly has an extravagant lifestyle and simply claiming benefits she is legally entitled to as a European is far from outrageous. The mob calling her scum and a scrounger will achieve nothing.

• B7584 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Tackle the system, its Burtons area, shes good at making noise, let her sort out this rubbish. In certain parts of the world Ireland is known as ‘Treasure Island’ – this has to stop.
    As a perfect example of a somewhat acceptable social welfare system in latvia you get the dole for 9 months, based on previous earnings. After 3 months it drops to 75%, then 3 months later – 45%, then after the final 3 months – zero. I know people who wont take a job if it doesnt pay €400+ pw. Crazy that the dole is so high, its not for holidays or sky tv.

• man in the cat 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

What about all the irish that have never worked in ireland ‘riding the wave’. The polish were the hardest workers ireland had seen in a long time. I remember some of them skipping their lunch for 2e extra wages. Most of them are gone home at this stage anyway.

• Pisreog 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I fail to see that one’s nationality or ethnicity has got to do with this. Methinks that we all know of plenty of people surfing the welfare wave who are plane lazy and who are never going to work even if and when work is available. There are many dying to get of welfare, but there are some who have no desire to. This seems to be a universal human trait irrespective of nationality or ethnicity.

• Report this comment

I would drop the people who allow this to happen into the North sea. I wouldn’t blame her for claiming what she’s entitled to- whether its just or unjust.

• damien chaney 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Absolutely love the comment “for some donegal is the most beautiful place in the world for others the biggest shithole”

• Paraic Simpson 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

It’s not too many years ago while living in London that I used to know Irish lads drawing the dole in three or four different dole offices while working the sites for cash in hand. This was a known fact and was accepted behaviour among the ‘Paddy’s’.

Report this comment

Hi Hugh. Were you listening to John Murray on Radio 1 this morning? The show’s researcher is Polish. He gave the background to this story and contradicted quite a number of “quotes” from the Irish Indo story. Will you be reading the full article in the Polish press and running a follow-up story?

• tweet_tweet 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The senator should not have made this an issue about nationality. People should the focus on the disturbing but widely known fact that people on low wage jobs are better off on the dole than working – regardless of whether they are Irish or Polish. There needs to be a monetary incentive for people to work and the whole welfare system needs an overhaul. If people can only get part time work the system should encourage them to take it. There are huge anomolies in the system that make it dysfunctional. When will we have a government that aren’t afraid to take this on?

• Michael Kelly 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Poles in Ireland are generally honest and hard working, respect the rule of law and don’t want to be scroungers on the State. It’s a shame that this particular story will probably be taken by many Irish people as a slur against all of them.

• fizi_water 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I am from Poland myself and I’m mad @ this girl, what a slap on the face for all decent hard working polish community here, for some people working their hands to the bones. The fact is that she is only cheating herself, I pity the people who prefer to take social money if there is work around, even if the crappy one. Then, what life is she really leading there? She is perhaps raking in 800 or 1000 a month in benefits, may be a lot as for free money if you think about it that way, but is that really enough for good living, for opening family, for being social normal person…? If I had 1000 a month I would be crying out loud, my rent is more than that here. Also has she ever thought about future pension? What pension she would get if she continues like that? She won’t be watching sunsets and surfing in Donegal whole her life, wake up lady! She is just a black sheep that sparked some row here now and probably was sort of same person in Poland – useless, non-employable idiot. Unfortunately not just decent people emigrated but some chancers too, too bad she got into newspapers! I am thankful to Ireland to every last bit of chances I have been given here, my own country never gave me similar, I never took 1 cent of social money and I feel honestly ashamed about people like her. She also sheds bad light on the whole social thing and on people that are in genuine need of help. If they cut down social money in Ireland sparked by examples like her then they will harm genuine people too. This is serious thing to consider and not necessarily social money should be cut in Ireland, but better controlled I’d say to eliminate scammers (or unemployed as walk of life if you more like this expression) like her. She should be evicted here like from Big Brother, plain and simple. Thanks.

• Ruaidhrí Maxwell 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If she was working and was let go from her job then is obviously entitled to dole payments. However we need to change the system. In germany they introduced a rule about five years ago, where you were offered a job anyywhere in the country you had to take it or lose your entitlements. In fairness there is menial work out there, for long term customers of the social welfare what else do they expect to get, this would take a huge chunk out of the social welfare bill and encourage people to either work or leave.

• Aisling O'Toole 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If she worked and paid stamps here she is perfectly entitled to claim social welfare that she is entitled to. I don’t think she’s entitled to the fuel allowance though if her boyfriend is living with her isn’t it only for people who live alone? Unfortunately for her she has just sparked another round of “its all the foreigners fault” “why don’t they all go home” and other such comments. Is it not still the case that in other eu countries if I wanted to claim social welfare I would be entitled to the rate I would get in my home country? Once non-nationals stamps that were paid in this country run out why don’t we pay the rate they are entitled to in their country of birth/origin? Would that not be a fairer system also it would allow people 9 months to find a job perhaps making them more inclined to “get out of bed” for minimum wage or move to find work plenty do it both Irish and non-nationals be it to the next county or the other side of the world.

• Report this comment

If they would just get rid of rent supplement ffs, it’s keeping rent sky high here just so landlords can have their snouts in the trot. It’s also the reason we have wasters and scroungers here, if you can’t stand on your own two feet and rent a place with your own income, then get a job or stay at home with mammy and daddy til your 50 for all I care.

• Feeds 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I read an article I can’t find now saying close to hall of rental accommodations in Ireland are paid for with rent supplement, thus keeping average rent high.

This is another way the government subsidizes the banks as most of that money goes into mortgages.

• lisa duignan 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If nothing else this might get the debate started about foreigners living and working here. I can’t get another part-time job because the eastern europeans, brazilians, etc. are all here in them. I’ve applied to factories, shops, office admin, etc. and I have a good CV, virtually no employment gaps, a decent part-time job at the moment, and references. Further, these guys are working cash in hand, but the government won’t crack down on them.

• James Rockett 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I fail to see what this story contributes to the overall conversation about how we as a nation spend what little money we have, this story is not about that. The fact is in the absence of a healthy jobs market we have a situation where people have little choice but to claim social welfare. The idea that you can pay all your expenses and live a lavish lifestyle on 180 a week is a ridicules notion. So if this artical is not about how we chose to provide a net for those in need of it, what is it about? how about we come up with some fresh thinking about how we might get ourselves out of our present difficulties instead of looking for scapegoats.

• Lara Gillespie 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

This article is to drive a wedge between factions and make us hate. Things are so dire now that our arguments can’t even be the same boring ones we’re used to. Our biggest civil duty and social responsibility at this point in history is to hit the streets. Demonstrate and protest inequality–or occupy too. Remember striking is the way to control your master. It doesnt matter if you’re employed or on the dole, looking or not looking for non-existent work, educate yourself about the consequences of inequality. Increased death, illness, suicide, drug addiction, crime, stress, more domestic violence, etc. are some of the consequences of the haves and have nots with so few people disproportionately holding all the wealth. Magda on under 14K per year ain’t the problem.

• SharonC 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Why are people angry at her? It’s the Government who have made it so comfortable for her she was probably taxed to the eyeballs when she was working and struggling to pay her rent. She is actually better off unemployed than when she was working it just makes no sense but it’s not her fault.

• Multi talentless 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Over 30% of public spending is on social welfare all those ‘small amounts’ add up
      do you think it is sustainable to ‘import’ our unemployed too ?

• Gavin Yore 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

This story really annoys me. I’ve been unemployed now for 3 weeks, the longest period since I finished school 14 years ago. I was in Australia for 16 months working and came home a year and a half ago and was lucky to walk straight into a job. I went to the dole office the other week almost embarrassed to be signing on and was abruptly told no your not entitled to anything but would have to be means tested and now what’s penalizing me is the money I’ve saved. While I was been told this ,two guys, one of African origin and one from eastern Europe were at the hatches to my right and all I could here was the lady counting 20,40,60,80,100,120…….twice!! And another thing, I had to fill forms out to prove I was Irish!! So here I am, sitting at home looking for a job on the internet going mad being idle and can’t really do anything about it and apparently this IRISH citizen is not entitled to a penny. So blood boiling at this stage.

• David Kelly 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Gavin,
      I understand your anger. if you have not done so already go to the HSE as they will supplement you until you are means tested .

• Luke Piskorski 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Here are some quotes from the original polish article on what she really said, you be the judge, seems quite different then what it was said in Independent…

“Magda is doing a basic massage, Hawaiian and hot stone, which she learned at the free course.”
    “I do not want to live at the expense of the state, so I treat it as a support that will allow me to set up their own business.”
    “In afternoon we go for coffee for 3 euros. The same can drink at home, but the point is – explains Magda – to support local businesses.”
    “Donegal for some the most beautiful place in the world, for others – the biggest shithole. Wherever you look carefully, green hills and beaches to the horizon, like a postcard.”

• Alan Quinn 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

That reminds me of the time when the Garda were chasing Polish guy for over 1000 speeding tickets. “Prawo Jazdy” was his name. This is also the Polish for drivers licence!! It would not surprise me if this was a mess up in translation,

• Derek Sweeney 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

This woman seems to be able to live happily on the 267 fare play to her she should teach the senators a bit about how to budget money that would only been lunch money on Baggot st and may be few gin and tonic before heading back to the office
    And come on Blaming the Polish what is this 1930s Germany
    wake up people its all our fault we put the fools in office

• Terry McDonald 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

This is another horrible, hate-filled article from the Indo – designed to distract the public into fighting among themselves. Could they be trying to draw attention away from the massive payments to senior civil servants due to retire at the end of the month? Mr. Appleby, the Director of Corporate Enforcement (well done on keeping your eye on the ball over the last ten years by the way – great job) was due to retire with a lump sum of €226,000 – €200,000 of which is tax-free – and an annual pension of €75,000.

But yeah – let’s tear an unemployed Polish waitress apart just because she’s claiming what she’s entitled to. Just watch the Liveline light up this afternoon with Angry of Blanchardstown sounding off to Joe about the cheek of her.

Look over your shoulder though. Thet’ll be coming for you next.

• Tom Neville 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Most Poles (in fact most people from all countries) are very decent and honest. But there are sound who most generously can be described as having gotting into a routine of living off welfare.

The article itself was amended to get a reaction.

Even if she is a decent person and didn’t describe Donegal as a *******, she should not be milking the system, but then again neither should the Irish.

• Report this comment

She is giving the polish people a bad name, stupid statement to come out with, any poles I know are sound hard workers. This makes us Irish look like a soft touch

• Sean Shaughnessy 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

She’s merely hi lighting what we all know that Ireland’s social welfare is a complete sham, the senator shud be paying the air fair for the advisors/ td’s who do little to rectify the discrepancy
    When the ability to do as little as possible for the same amount as putting in 37 hr week it’s not surprising the decisions some people make

• Inda Kinny 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Meh, whats all the fuss about.

• corky2004 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

the fact that she’s polish is irrelevant
    the problem is the system – the system should not allow this

• Feeds 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

A system that pays people for doing nothing is just plain wrong. It is demoralising. People can stay on the dole in Ireland indefinitely, this is not healthy.

I understand there are people who are in dire situation and the dole is their only support. There wouldn’t be any harm having them do basic community jobs to work for their payments.

There’s 400 thousand people who could be sweeping the streets, work in creches, do other menial community jobs. Those genuinely looking for work wouldn’t mind and those leeching off the system would find jobs in no time.

• Alan Lavender 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

To shift, if I may, the focus, Sen. Harte is himself doing his own community a “disservice” by even deigning to use emotive terms like “disservice” and “go back to Poland”. Fictitious or not, our Magda is an ordinary citizen, and Harte a highly-paid public servant of whom we should expect more diplomacy.

• alan 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Shouldn’t our attention now fall on to the Independent

They are the ones deliberately misrepresenting the orignal article

You have to ask

1. why are they doing this

2. can they be taken to task over it (surely you can’t just run articles like this, knowing full well that they are a misrepresntation

• Niall O'Keeffe 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

hear hear! – although the story has now hit the daytime radio talk shows and even more people are therefore taking it as verbatim truth

• Feeds 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

174 comments before lunchtime… so which ones of you here are slacking at work and which ones are relaxing on the dole, huh?

• Niall Connolly 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Agreed her nationality isn’t at issue here it’s the way that the system can be abused in this way. Anyways after 3 minutes research the only VEC in Donegal doing Sign Language courses is Gortahork, you’d think that Irish journalists would research this a bit more and find the fabled Magda and RIchard.

Report this comment

I posted on this thread earlier, where’s it gone admin? Did I offend you or someone else?

• Report this comment

I don’t see the problem. She has no job so she gets the dole. And she’s looking at starting off her own business. Also, the translation isn’t the best either, must have used google translate!
    People used to be angry at foreign people taking our jobs, now they’re angry at them taking our dole! : )

Report this comment

It shows up on my com but not my iPhone.

Back to my original point. So wot, in the grand scheme of things the amount of negative responses to this article is disgusting. Someone’s happy and you all trying to slaughter her. Focusing on the wrong people again.

• sheepdip1 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

WAIT! It looks like the Indo pretty much made this story up!!

There’s a partial translation of the original Polish article over on Reddit:
    http://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/p6028/polish_waitress_packs_in_job_for_good_life_on/c3msb3a

• Gavin Mckenna 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

It’s a sad reflection of the state of a country when you’re better off on the dole.
    Yet again instead of the media pointing the finger at a system of government that doesn’t believe you have a right to prosper , they point it at us and tell us we’re to blame. They sad thing is the attitude of Irish people. Turned from a nation of rebels into a nation of bloody cowards.

• Stephen Robb 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Donegal doesn’t want you

• Oswald Cobblepot 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Not many people want Donegal

• Chopper 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Speak for yourself Stephen, perhaps you should get someone else to “translate” the intention behind the Indo article for you. Also, try asking a Polish person in Donegal to read the original article to you in English, and see how distorted the Indo piece (of sh*t) is.

I personally welcome anyone to Donegal, from anywhere in the world, who, like “Magda,” is willing to start up their own business. Some day, if successful, she may be employing a friend or family member of mine!

• JustDieter 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well said chopping poerson

• Stephen Lowe 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The Irish Independent will heavy edit any story or comment it chooses. Usually, to change the entire context in some cases……. I know from past experience. Freedom of the press.!!! They are all the same. Don’t see the difference between free press or state run press. Propaganda where their masters see fit.

Report this comment

Hello everyone,

It would be good if we could note that we have since had the original article translated ourselves and have amended our article as such. As you can see from the quotes, a rather different picture of this woman’s life in Ireland and her view on Donegal emerges.

Thanks,

Hugh

Report this comment

Thanks Hugh….. Too bad that the damage is already done, also very responsible of Sen Jimmy Harte stirring up the public on the radio, without even reading or seeing the article…. No worries, expecting an article in the next couple of days… Pole beaten to a pulp hanging for life, ah what can you do

Report this comment

Luke, we are working on another piece about the Polish embassy’s response to this story. Coming up shortly, hopefully.

• mahagaine 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Why don’t you mention that she is preparing to open her own business, renovating premises, training etc?

Report this comment

I give journal all the credit, they at least attempted to update the story, and im sure they will update it farther when they get the complete picture… Here is a link that another member has posted, for others

http://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/p6028/polish_waitress_packs_in_job_for_good_life_on/c3msb3a

As for Independent, crickets no update, main story changed on their site.

• JustDieter 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well done Hugh. Hugh, a powerful name, shared by so many past Kings of Ireland. Indeed the legendary High King of Ireland, the King of Kings so to speak, ‘Áed Rúad’ was also named Hugh. You come from sterling stock Mr O’Connell, go forth and multiply!

• Oskar Fritsche 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

So It’s only the Polish that’s doing this, how accurate is the translation?

• Dáire FitzGerald 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Shocking stuff, Indo is a rag of the highest order.

• Joey Howard 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Well I have something to say, and its nothing to do with that womans nationality either, she is being allowed to cheat the system. I am unemployed for the last near 3 years, trying my bleeding heart to get a job. I got a letter in the post stating that my benifits are being stopped completely because my term of 2 years is over for collecting this benifit. Now I have to go BEG the welfare for a few pennies. YOU KNOW WHAT????? I am going to claim for every penny I can get off the welfare too. Just like this woman…. If the Government would open it’s thick moranish eyes and see why the unemployed are not working. Minimum wage is a big issue here, not this womans actions, she is fighting to live just like the rest of us….

• Derek McKenna 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Turns out that this story is completely distorted. A Polish journalist working on the RTE John Murray show quoted and referred to the original article in a Polish newspaper which paints a very different picture. The Polish woman learnt to do massage….her partner is now working…..she is doing FAS courses trying to learn the skills to set up her own business….and she loves Donegal….she gets up at 6am not 12noon etc etc etc. The John Murray Show say they will try to put a full translation of the original story on to their website.
    I am not surprised at the Irish Indo for carrying such a distortion but RTE Morning Ireland I thought had better journalists – apparently not!
    Irish Indo and Morning Ireland should both do hight profile apologies and set the record straight.

This is from the Indo article: Senator Jimmy Harte told the Irish Independent: “This woman is doing an enormous disservice to the Polish community in Co Donegal and to other hard-working non-nationals. “She has clearly taken advantage of Irish hospitality. I would like to see her go back to Poland and if we can find out who she is, I’d gladly pay for her flight home.”
    Labour Senator Jimmy Harte was on Morning Ireland repeating this same nonsense – he should publicly apologise and beg forgiveness from the Polish couple!

• Norman Hunter 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The senator would probaly claim the cost of the flight off expenses what a muppet.
      To everyone else this woman is clearly trying to make herself more employable spoke of her love for our country all of this to me is a good thing.I wish her the best of luck for the future and hope she knows the bigots are a very small minority in this country.

• Darren Swan 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

and what about the childrens allowance she and her likes are getting every month for their 2 or 3 kids that are living with their parents back in poland,lithuania,romania etc

• Niamh Byrne 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

And the irish living abroad….the flamin cheek. It works both ways, irish people can claim childrens allowance from eg. germany, if one parent is living there and their children are still in ireland.

Report this comment

Don’t know about you Darren but no amount of social welfare would entice me to live apart from my children. And I’m sure the same can be said for the vast majority of the people you refer to.
      By the way, keep up, “she” of the Indo does not exist!

Report this comment

As wrongly slanted as the article was never stated she had children where did you pick that up from.As for child allowance for chilren not resident in the state that is an EU directive where the parent is working in a different member state.If you have an issue with that take it up with the EU.

• Report this comment

Ah Darren, you disappoint me.

• Joss Moorkens 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

“She and her likes”? And you’ve invented kids for her now too. Cretinous.

• micktwatter 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Indo is a rag. This is the paper that licked Bertie’s arse for years. Never mind this polish girl, start bringing that crook to justice.

• Michael Ryan 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Nationality has nothing to with this. Loads of Irish are doing the same or similar. System needs an overhaul but our politicians haven’t the balls to do it!

Report this comment

Indo proves never let the truth or facts get in the way of a good story.

• 1 Human Being 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

It’s a good distraction after the threat of the treaty yesterday. Irish independent will get a sarkozy pat on the neck from Enda.
    “Government try’s to instill class warfare” should be the headline. let’s all fight with each other and forget the country is going to austerized out of existence. But sure isn’t that always the way governments always use the divide and conquer method to get there way.

• Cormac McGrane 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I think its the media trying to create a news story out of nothing. In fact, if they could create some racial tensions and a bit of internal strife, who cares, its more to print for them. Give up reading the newspapers. At least on the Journal, you get a chance to explore the story and what others think.

• Yvonne M 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Not the first time that rag also known as the Indo would “bend the truth” slightly.. As Norman states there.. why let the truth get in the way of a good story. Gutter press.

• Stephen Kearon 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The problem of welfare rates discouraging work isn’t new, nor is it restricted to any particular nationality.

The whole system needs reform so that it delivers a contribution based safety net, whilst discouraging long term dependency.

Ideally we should follow Canada and Australia and replace welfare with workfare.

Report this comment

Good idea that. If those on labour related payments had to go somewhere, they would find work soon enough, because those on the black market would either have to go legit to explain their absence, or quit their illegal working and leave work for those who want to have it.

I’d feel sorry for the genuine job hunter though. How would you suggest keeping those on “workfare” productively occupied, so they don’t go nuts doing menial work or make work? They may as well join the Civil Service and get an office job away from the real world and work. How do the Aussies do it?

• sheepdip1 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment
  • Luke Scully 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

This was a Polish national who was working but who lost her job. Surely those with any sense of decency wouldn’t say such a thing as to comment that she should be refused a dole payment and return home. Where have we gone that we’d treat admirable foreign nationals in such a way, it’s such a shame.

• Jerking Jester 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

i am wondering if your being sarcastic? why would we treat them this way. the answer is easy. the irish government give non irish a nice big sunday dinner with all the trimmings and when their done we get the scraps. ever since the flood gates have opened the irish are the ones being put on the back burner. disagree and call me ignorant but many many people will agree

Report this comment

Jester, you can no doubt think of a few examples of Social Welfare largesse, but I’m pretty sure that girl in Donegal is claiming nothing more than the system allows. The system is not designed to help the unemployed survive, it is designed to help them maintain a good standard of living, comparable with being on the minimum wage. I have felt for some time that SW payments should be subject to PAYE. I accept that those on pay related payments deserve better payments while their contributions run down, but once they are gone, why should anyone doing nothing earn more than someone on the minimum wage. And before I get flamed, disability payments are a whole different issue.

• maurice frazer 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I am embarrassed to be a Irishman . Typical of some of the journalists in this insular island

Report this comment

Maurice, be brave. Just quit reading the Sindo. I did many years ago when I realised just how manipulative the media can be. If they can attract attention and get people to buy their paper out of curiosity, why would they worry about the news and features content. It is all about advertising revenue and nothing else.

• Dara McHugh 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Can the Journal please change the headline? It should really reflect the fact that the Indo story was fictitious.

• Richard Delevan 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Does anyone know if the original article in Polish has ‘Magda’s real name? If so, she might make enough on the defamation settlement to come off benefit and start her business off properly – if the Indo reporting is as wilfullly perverse as portrayed on this site.

Report this comment

seFor those of you wishing to give a piece of your mind…

independent.letters@independent.ie and info@independent.ie

and the great Senator of Donegal jimmy.harte@oir.ie

• Pa McGarry 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

@ just dieter, you are a knob… produce your evidence that this is a fake story, otherwise STFU.

Report this comment

‘Meanwhile Donegal Labour Senator Jimmy Harte – who was contacted by the Independent about the article – said he wasn’t given the full story and he’d happily take his comments back if the article is wrong’

Just confirms my original post that he probably doesn’t even read the bills he votes for/against…Being a politician is a helluva job isnt lol… So someone tells him, the grass is yellow and he comments on it without checking the facts. Donegal must be proud of having such a incompetent idiot in office.

No need to take your comments back Mr Harte, people of Donegal will take back their votes for you in the next election

• Multi talentless 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Errrr Senators don’t get voted in by the people just saying like

Report this comment

This kind of xenophobic trash is all too common and very predictable when a country is on its uppers. Thankfully, most people are decent and intelligent. They will listen, find out for themselves and remain civil, balanced and inclusive. Hope this issue hasn’t tainted your experience of Ireland too much Luke…

• Michael Manson 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

This is the cream of the crop.
    A polish worker in Ireland exposing the system.
    Fair play to you girl.
    Who was the senator who commented on this?
    He most definitely is a Xenophobist.
    Did I say he was a senator?… More like an insular cretin.

• tuba hg 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

It’s a terrible indictment of the country that people are better off on benefit than working
    Why is everybody concentrating on this persons nationality rather than the facts

• Abbie McGowan 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I hope everyone that slagged off this poor woman feels ashamed now that its come to light that this translation was essentially a figment of the author’s imagination. Shouldn’t you be more concerned with just how hard your government are screwing you than some poor woman trying to do her best in life?

• Don Booker 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Dead right Abbie. Disgusting amount of party slackers hang around this website. I worked for years with foreign people on half the money of their Irish counterparts but doing twice the work and taking twice the abuse. That’s fact and you can quote me on that! Train drivers, teachers and even a lawyer trying to create a future for themselves like millions have had to do in Ireland over the centuries.

• Martin Gregory 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Boycott the indo ! Lets get the campaign going !!!!!!!

• michael egan 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

That hotel owner should be investigated for human exploitation if he is paying wages like that.

• Tensing Norgay 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Understand, but this is Naive , did nobody notice that the Government went after low paid the minute they got into Government assisting service industry by breaking up long standing agreements so that they do not have to pay overtime or premiums to weekend workers thus narrowing the gap between work and the dole. Of course no look at the croke park agreement !

• Steven Murray 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I note this article has been altered since it first appeared earlier today. Populist journalism at it’s finest.

• Frank2521 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Ironic a Senetor having something to say about screwing the state. This guy could give night classes in how to extract as much money from the taxpayer as possible. How much expenses has he claimed last year both vouched and UNVOUCHED ? Please be a good journalist and investigate. I await your findings. Thank you in advance. The public should know.

• Ansis Paukshis 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Come on people, I`m also came here fore a job, and I`m more lucky then Magda, because I have 320 per week, in the place where I working not working any local, just Polish and Latvians. For a momennt I don`t get any benefits…

But do someone of people discussing here are ready to work for a waitress for ridiculous 200 per week? She does, Do your think as she not earned to have a rest a bit? If she get jobseeker allowance she had worked for a while…

Would be interesting how much hotel owner earn if pay so absurd salary for the job…

• Seamus Beirne 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Heres the real message . The dole in Poland is €37 per week ,in the Uk it is £80 stg per week (€97 per week equiv). In Ireland where we spend €18bn more than we earn we pay pay out €188 p.w before secondary benefits . Surely the solution to the fiscal problem lies in a necessary attuning exercise within the social welfare department . Leftists will surely disagree – but how can a bankrupt sovereign be so out of step with others which creates the tourism factor . At best It Is ill grounded economic haughtiness based on a fallacy of being a developed nation of means, at worst it is profligacy without foundation or heed of the long term effect .Reform needed here in a big way I would say . The nationality of the person is not the substantive issue , although it does add to the incredulity of the situation . Cannot understand jibes at the indo for running the storey – it is topical , relevant and pertinent to what is happening across the entire Irish social spectrum .

• Des Keegan 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

yeah but in the UK they pay for your heating, electric and refuge etc and give you the remainder to buy your groceries, over here you’re given the larger amount and have to pay all your own bills. Not sure about Poland, all I can say is the cost of living is a lot less

• Aisling Tighe 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Firstly, why is Magda’s nationality even relevant? From what I have read, she has done nothing wrong and is merely claiming what she is entitled to having paid PRSI/PAYE. If Magda had not been Polish, what would the local TD have said? Nothing! It wouldn’t have even been a story. This article is nothing but an excuse for the veiled “acceptable” racism that seems to go on in this country. Secondly, this yet again is a case of the poorest in society (wherever they may be from) being used as a scapegoat for our current economic situation. I do not excuse the behaviour of anyone claiming benefits and refusing to work (and I believe these are a very small minority of the people currently on the dole in Ireland), lets not be naive enough to believe that cutting benefits would somehow solve our economic crisis. Our economic crisis will be resolved when we learn to work together to protect those most vunerable in society, introduce realistic reforms to ensure that the elitist and corrupt behaviour of our bankers and government can never be repeated, an equal and sustainable healthcare system and provide a supportive and fair education system for our future generations.

• Dan Mc Goldrick 01/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The reply from the Polish embassy hits the nail on the head. Creating a hostile atmosphere towards the Polish community in Ireland through shabby journalism is just plain wrong. I usually don’t comment but after reading all the way down through this I felt the need. I have worked with more than a few Polish people and generally I find that they have a very good work ethic, better than ours half the time to tell the truth.

It was hard to hold my tongue sometimes hearing the kind of remarks some customers would make towards them during the day, such as why don’t you go home etc. You need only scroll up to see some of the utter rubbish people talk, this idea of branding a whole nationality this or that is just ignorant. It good to see like minded people shooting down the racist comments.

@justdieter: Stop telling me I need to wake up. I am awake already thank you very much. Some of your comments make perfect sense and I don’t disagree with them but please stop being so damn condescending it is frustrating to read.

• Ansis Paukshis 01/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Completely agree. When I go the local Lidl, Tesco e.t.c who is working mostly here? The right answer is-Polish. Job like this is not good, and well payed enough for local people, but good enough for Polish.
      And than somebody of them will lost their job, they have a right, like everyone who working in Ireland and paying taxes to be supported by welfare. That ish..

• Don Booker 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Typical response mostly – We Irish seem to forget the 8o million we have across the globe. They didn’t get there by themselves. Then maybe ask – Why did they [we] have to leave in the first place.

Céad MIle Fáilte, I say.
    Typical mainstream junk!

• feck'n voters 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Aodhan O’Riordan might want to use the R word with Jimmy for having his unapproved opinion.

Magda paid taxes, politicians failure led to mass unemployment and she is claiming her rightful social protection.

Maybe Jimmy does not like freedom of expression? Well Shatter’s constitutional super powers will put paid to any unwanted gossip in a country 1000km away in a different language. It’s only a phone call away.

• S G Collins 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

i happen to know this ‘magda’ since before she moved to ireland, and i can tell you she didn’t move there for any economic benefit, or to be a freeloader. she moved there because of her love of ireland and of the irish. as to whether the irish state should or should not be paying unemployment benefits to non-citizens? you can argue about that amongst yourselves. but please stop slandering our friend.
    s g collins, postwar media
    amsterdam

• claire 08/03/12 #
      Report this comment

oh come on people- she didn’t kill anyone, she simply got what she’s entitled to. She’s not drinking her money away or driving a flashy car she takes trips to the beach. BIG FAT DEAL. She didn’t cheat the system in fact she used to work which means she more than likely paid tax

Add New Comment