TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

‘Whole government response to threat’ following #OpIreland cyber attack

The Department of Justice has confirmed it was subject to a Distributed Denial of Service attack overnight.

The website of the Department of Justice was inaccessible shortly before 11:30pm last night
Image: Screengrab

Updated 9.20am

THE DEPARTMENT OF Justice has said that a ‘whole government response’ is underway following an attack on government websites which forced them to be taken down overnight.

In a statement this morning, the Department of Justice said it experienced a Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS) attack which is an attempt to stop access to a website by diverting a huge amount of traffic towards it as opposed to a hacking where information is taken.

The websites of it and the Department of  Finance were taken offline late last night and early this morning after Twitter accounts affiliated to the Anonymous ‘hacktivist’ movement urged members to target the website.

Both websites are back online this morning.

A spokesperson for the Department of Finance confirmed it had been the subject of an unusually high volume of traffic last night but said there have been similar incidents in the past around Budget day.

The Department of Justice said in a statement:

Last night the Department of Justice website experienced a Distributed Denial of Service attack. This is not an attempt to extract information from a website but is instead an attempt to stop access to a service. There seems to be no damage done to the website. However, a review is being conducted this morning.

The situation continues to be monitored by the Department of Justice and the Department of Communications. The government is aware of the potential threat of this type of cyber attack and the Department of Communications is co-ordinating a whole of government response to this threat.

Other minor government websites including that of the Freedom of Information Unit and the human trafficking website ‘Blue Blindfold’ were targeted although Anonymous later said those attacks had not been deliberate.

The attacks came amid controversy over the government’s proposed reforms of Ireland’s copyright laws which are due to be published in the coming days.

The government has insisted that the upcoming legislation is not intended to restrict internet freedom but thousands have signed a petition urging the legislation to be stopped fearing it will do just that.

Read: Government websites taken offline in Anonymous #OpIreland attack

Read: Government has ‘no intention’ of restricting internet freedom – Sherlock

Read: Everything you need to know about Ireland’s SOPA

Read next:

Comments (50 Comments)

• I wouldnt condone these attacks but Sherlock has opened up a can of worms, he has no idea what hes talking about nor does he realise the impact the legislation would have. Piracy is obviously a crime but introducing this law would give big corporate companies control of Irish internet, and give them the ability to have websites

ISP’s should threaten to pull out of Ireland should this law be brought in

• the fact of the matter is that this legislation only supports corporates and does nothing for startups and innovation, If I started a music publishing site tomorrow what’s to say EMI would crack down on me with fraudulent accusations…they’ve done it to lots of music blogs in the past and have requested that blogs who have interviewed artists on their own back pay money towards them as their signed artists are essentially their “product” Its bullshit! our government are mostly technophobes with no real understanding of the new wave of internet!

• As they have demonstrated on umpteen occassions, the hacking capabilities of anonymous go *way beyond* mere denial of service attacks. When a legion of collaborative “freedom fighters” with a variety of “skillz” turn their eyes towards the Irish government, it would be niave to assume their only action will be to overload websites with simultaneous requests.

Niavety is a key word here: I have heard many first hand stories of Government ministers who have their secretaries print out their emails, and respond by dictacting the answers, which are then transcribed by their secretaries, and many more about elected officials who have at best a basic grasp of the internet. If these ministers can’t use the internet well at a basic level, how can we expect them to make smart choices with policy and strategy for our future in a digital age? This is literally an economic timebomb, founded upon the same niavety that has already caused economic turmoil.

As we live in a digital age, we need governance from leaders who are highly digitally competent, and those who are not should recognise their lack of competence may make them unfit to do their jobs in 2012.

• John 25/01/12 #

If you think SOPA sucks, check out what ACTA want to do to the web. m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=p_bERAf5KAg

• We already live in a nanny state, I don’t agree with illegal downloading but the Internet gives us the freedom to make our own choices, wonder is a coincidence that Netflix had spent a fortune advertising there campaign at the same time as mega upload is taken down.

• Lars Ulrich led the campaign against Napster, hardly and old fogey. He was more articulate than the tech guys who thought they were up against a brain dead rocker. His argument was simple. He created a product and people had a choice whether to buy it.

• Lars Ulrich would have to wait a month or two more for his solid gold Rolls Royce. How could someone live in such a world.
      *violin plays softly

• So because Lars is rich, it’s ok to steal his stuff?

• duh Tom, of course :P dig up Tom dig up

• He has plenty of ways of making money. People will always pay for convenience. Netflix is super convenient and fairly priced.
      Lars can have his music streamed live for free from the Metallica website. But if I want to create a playlist that I can share or download the music and use it on different devices, I have to pay for it. Could be a small monthly subscription to whatever he is producing, competitions, discounts for live tickets shows etc. Ulrich is far from the poor house just yet.

*and he is most definitely an old fogey.

• Tom’s calls for people to stay on topic are very do as I say, not as i do.

Protecting someones property is an important issue but giving power like this to record companies is never going to end well. They are going to exploit every loophole available to them to.

People like the Arctic Monkeys and Justin Bieber would have made plenty of money without the help of a music company. Record labels know this and instead of adapting, they are choosing to get Governments involved. Two groups of old fogeys who can’t see the big picture.

• The mainstream media ignored this government’s attack on our democracy until this morning, despite a campaign to get them to talk about it. If it takes hacktivists to get the story out to the general public, then in my opinion, let them do it. The anger on boards, twitter, and here wont’t be heard by any one. btw, who here has called sherlock’s office to voice their disdain? if you haven’t then stop bleating.

• :)
      Only in response Liam.

Claiming politicians are unworthy because they aren’t tech savvy is silly on many levels.

• Liam you’re dead right. The world is adapting, we now have new ways of working and enjoying. The nub of the problem is the Record Industry has failed to adapt new business models that take advantage of technological advances.

On the otherhand the Music industry (very different to the Record industry) HAS adapted: musicians are using advances in technology to raise profile and fan-base with free downloads, promos on the web, self publishing & digital sales etc. accessing market-places thousands of miles beyond their local town-hall.

Technological advances mean we can share qiuckly and easily – the future is collaboration and a spirit of generosity is positive.

These Irish SOPA type laws fly in the face of human instinct. They are intended to make content-carries paranoid which ultimately will restrict access to self-publishing – and restricting new material will protect the interests of Record Industry much more effectively than removing copyright-breaching material. This is – in fact – their strategy.

To avoid litigation carriers will make us jump through loops to prove every piece of content we submit is beyond copyright question (I jump through hurdles every time we manufacture a CD release). Eventually we’ll stop sharing and return to couch-consumers as Clay Shirky would say.

His TED talk on the subject is well worth watching.
      Here’s a link (if Journal.ie don’t allow links you’ll find it on my twitter):
      http://www.ted.com/talks/defend_our_freedom_to_share_or_why_sopa_is_a_bad_idea.html?utm_source=Digital+Paper&utm_medium=twitter&utm_campaign=Feed:+TEDTalks_video+%28TEDTalks+Main+%28SD%29+-+Site%29

• Politicians are unworthy on many levels but they spend plenty of money for the advice of more articulate people in their chosen field of ignorance. The whole things sounds like the Dail are going to try and impose laws that will not distinguish between the internet and the physical world. It would be no harm to bring in some experts or as they are no doubt dubbed in the Dail “NERDS”.

Sherlock was the spokesperson for agriculture and has a qualification in Politics/Economics; he doesn’t stand out as a man who is particularly well versed in the logistics and intricacies of internet copyright law, does he?

• I for one support anonymous’s actions.

I support them because had it not been for them, I like many others would have been blissfully unaware that this change in the law was going to be made, and would have had no opportunity to voice my opinion on it, or contact my government to show with cause my reasons for opposing it.

I would agree with Tom in that what anonymous has done is the equivalent of ringing a doorbell, however they have not run away. They have continued to ring that bell, and knocked on that door so that enough attention will be drawn to the issue for a larger proportion of the population to become aware of the current situation, where by the government, without any consultation with the public or even proper public debate between themselves was going to pass a law the abuse of which would allow the take down of practically any site which allows the upload of data without moderation- you know like this one, or any internet forum like politics.ie or boards.ie.

So yes, I am glad anonymous rang the doorbell of the government and I hope it gets coverage on the news, so that it might force the government into pausing and discussing the pros and cons of this easily abused law with the public who will suffer under it. Because clearly the government either does not comprehend the scope of abuse present in a law like this, or they assumed we could not care less. And neither of those two realities is acceptable.

• Toms a knob.. Jus sayin

• lol, check this out:

http://www.endakenny.com/

• I am completely against what is known as IrishSOPA however this is the wrong way to go about protesting against it. The online petition is a great idea but this doesn’t help in turning minds around to our point of view.

It only makes politicians more intent on clamping down on sections of the internet. It only highlights the downsides of the internet when we should be promoting its greatness.

It’s also a major cost to the state when websites go offline and someone has to go and fix them and protect them. I accidentily crashed my school’s computer network by giving out the wi-fi password. Every iPod in the school connected to the network and the fees for a contracter to fix the servers was about two grand.

Responsible protest please!!!

• These hackers do it because they can and they won’t get caught, the equivalent of ringing a doorbell in an old person’s house and running away. When the technology catches up to catch these guys (and it always does) they should be jailed. But for now they just deserve ridicule.

• Ur fighting a losing battle tom. But I do like ur reference to the government being antiquated….spot on.

• They won’t get caught because when technology does catch up to them, they will already have figured out 10 more new ways of doing it. I wouldn’t call these guys brilliant but there are others out there who are and will always be two steps ahead.

• At least they’re doing something Tom! There’s so much shite being thrown and us and we just stand openmouthed waiting for the next dose some government monkey dishes out.
      They knocked out a website for a while to raise awareness and finally stand up for something and I applaud them!

• Christopher…you’re right. They are doing something. They are taking down a website. And this affects nobody except those who use it. Do you think politicians lost sleep over this? No. A mild annoyance at best. I always laugh when I meet people who think they stuck it to a politician. None of these guys have a clue reallt. Honest politicians only get annoyed when you lie and dishonest ones only get annoyed when you tell the ttuth.

• They made their presence known tom….that was the point of the exercise. To let the government know that this isn’t going to go unnoticed. And as ferghal said they will always be two steps ahead when most of these government ministers barely know the basics when it comes to technology, computers and the internet.

• They made their presence known? So govts don’t know hackers ecist? Lol.

• So Niamh, it’s ok to attack someone cause they’re not tech savvy? I bet you’re fun with old people. So it’s my parents fault for being old and not tech savvy so they and all older people deserve to be attacked?

You sound like a rational person.:)

• Ur hilarious tom. Do you have an off button? Maybe try switching it off and turning it back on again.

• I’ll take that as an admission that your atrack on not tech savvy folkd was wrong.

Now stay on subject.

• so you admit that your government is antiquated and clueless when it comes to technology. They are three ones trying to force through a law that will drag the useful websites through endless copyright court actions effectively putying them offline. We are an it country and this will destroy all that we have built up. Look at the bigger picture tom. This is being led by the massive record industry. It its not in or country’s best interests, but thats nothing new, your government hasn’t a clue what is in this country best interests. Today being case in point.

• Niamh, old people may not be tech savvy. So yes old people are uncool though I don’t share your distain for older people.

• B7584 25/01/12 #

Oh dear….

• Wot are you on about old people for? Have you something against old people? I’m talking about your government…..

• I admire your concern for the old people Tom. Pity your party doesn’t share it tho.

• Calm down dear. You’re getting all upset because old people aren’t tech savvy.

This hacking was the equivalent of ringing a doorbell and running away. And then congratulating yourselves on just how clever you are.

• If ur going to use childish analogies tim then put simply what ur government is doing is taking away the ball when people are still using it with the excuse “big boys made me do it” I hope there is no copyright on the ball tom because they will be after that next…..

• Running away with the ball is the same as stopping piracy????
      Explain please.

• Don’t be fooled, this isn’t about stopping piracy, its about record companies throwing their weight around and of them continuing to rip off the consumer.

• So record companies are ripping you off?

Here’s a shocking idea- don’t buy the product.
      I think Brown Thomas is a rip off but rather than steal from them, I simply don’t buy there. Problem solved.
      I am amazed how you think stealing is acceptable for non essential items.

• it’s a mistake to think that anonymous is a specific group of people, it isn’t, sure there are particularly vocal people in anonymous, but it’s just the general public for the most part, no different from the occupy movement, concerned citizens is all (and some jokers), maybe a few angst ridden teenagers.
      These ddos attacks don’t mean much, I could teach my three year old to do a ddos attack, but it might get interesting if some more actual hacker individuals get involved.
      What’s happening now is nothing, whether or not it escalates is another thing.

http://xkcd.com/932/

Also, hackers are building this technology, technology doesn’t catch up with them, they set the agenda.

• Scarlet for ya Tom, you’d think by now you’d have realised with all the red thumbs that you’re wrong. Proper scarlet. Now go ‘way and drink some Barrys and listen to Andre Rieu ^_^

• Ah now Danny, attacking my taste in tea or music is a unusual tactic. I presume you haven’t got an actual criticism:)

Thumbs down? Reminds me of when I was part of the small % who said Bertie was making a balls of things. I don’t worry what FFers on a website say. You’d be better off getting your own house in order.

• Tom it is pointless trying to argue against something that you obviously know nothing about. I know ur continuity ff but there has to come a point where even blinkered a you are you cannot deny the facts and defend what is essentially an outdated oldfashioned bunch of cronie who are not very tech savvy.(to use ur expression) introducing legislation that they knower little our nothing about. Educate yourself….
      http://www.thejournal.ie/readme/reader-irelands-sopa-a-faq/

Add New Comment