You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/Rollingnews.ie

635 million drinks containers collected through Deposit Return Scheme since February

Consumers have claimed back deposit refunds worth €110 million since the launch of the scheme.

635 MILLION CONTAINERS have been collected through the Deposit Return Scheme since its launch in February.

Consumers have claimed back deposit refunds worth €110 million, according to new figures released by the Department of the Environment.

Additionally, €70,000 has been collected through the scheme’s Return for Children charity initiative.

The scheme that was introduced this year involves customers paying a deposit on plastic and aluminium beverage containers of 15 cent or 25 cent, depending on the size of the product.

Customers can then return the bottle at a reverse vending machine or to certain other locations and receive a voucher to claim back their deposit.

In ordinary recycle bins, where lots of different types of materials are disposed of together and contamination is common, plastic bottles are often no longer of ‘food-safe grade’ and must be recycled into lower-grade types of plastic, which means new plastic must be used to create more bottles.

However, the more sanitary process of collection through the Deposit Return scheme means the plastic can be recycled into a bottle again more frequently, reducing the amount of new materials that are consumed.

The monthly collection rate through the scheme has reached an average of more than 100 million containers. 

The figures give an insight into the large volume of single-use plastic and aluminium products that Irish consumers are purchasing and discarding every month. 

Earlier today, the European Commission published figures for 2022 showing that 41% of plastic packaging waste was recycled overall in the EU.

On average, each person living in the EU created 36.1 kg of plastic packaging waste in 2022.

Ireland was among the lower performing countries, recycling only 32.1% of plastic packaging waste last year. 

Slovakia, Belgium, Germany and Slovenia had the best recycling rates of plastic packaging waste, at 59.6%, 54.2%, 51.1% and 50.9% respectively.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

123 Comments
    Mute Stiles
    Favourite Stiles
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:33 PM

im sure you’ll find just ad many were collected and recycled before the sneaky tax..

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:35 PM

@Stiles: moan harder why don’t you

Mute Ajax Penumbra
    Favourite Ajax Penumbra
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:43 PM

@Stiles: I pay my 25c on a bottle, deposit it when it’s finished, and get a 25c voucher back… how is this either a tax or sneaky?

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute Margaret Deacon
    Favourite Margaret Deacon
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:48 PM

@Stiles: what tax,it’s a refund of a deposit, my bins are charged pay by weight so I am happy not to have to put cans and bottles in it and they now go directly to recycling without having to be sorted from other stuff

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:17 PM

@Ajax Penumbra: When bottles aren’t accepted in different shops. You’re not going to drive back to the other shop to get the deposit. How many millions of bottles and cans are bought at airports that are never reclaimed! Someone is getting very rich from this joke of a scheme which puts out people who religiously use their green bin! Having to Re-claim your own money is such a scam. You pay for the value of the can/bottle in the price of the goods…… Get rid of the deposit. Let those who want to use their green bin use it. Let those who want to return it use those machines and get a smaller refund for the material they’re returning. Win win!

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:19 PM

@Margaret Deacon: yep, plastic bottles and aluminum drinks cans weigh a ton…., you’re saving a fortune

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:27 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: Bottles are accepted in any machine once it has the logo! Buy in Ballinahinch and return in Ballincollig, no problem!

Mute MickCbar
    Favourite MickCbar
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:35 PM

@Ajax Penumbra: the problem is that producers pay a fee and they pass this increase to consumer. Bin charges will go up because they sell on the aluminium like they use to. Finally not sure if people are aware of this but Re-Turn purchased a number diesel fueled trucks to collect the bottles/cans from the shops.
    So now you have extra trucks on the road, where we already had the trucks doing this for us in the first place. Makes sense? Doesn’t to me anyways.

Oct 24th 2024, 7:48 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: Sorry pal, from first hand experience, I’ve had plenty of “this bottle is not accepted in this store” messages….. Thanks for trying to correct me on my own experiences though!

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:53 PM

@Margaret Deacon: recycle bin isn’t pay by weight – do keep up.

Mute Matthew Connolly
    Favourite Matthew Connolly
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:26 PM

@Ajax Penumbra: bEcAuSe Rte are ConTroling the public duhhhhh

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:35 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: If it has the logo it should be accepted. Complain! Ask questions!

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:39 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: Jesus are you actually looking to show your ignorance in what is a good story, you have tried economics and tax now you’re having a go at…..who knows. Stick to your grade which isn’t even a C…….

Mute Trevor Donoghue
    Favourite Trevor Donoghue
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:43 PM

@Ajax Penumbra: It’s a tax because you pay it at every shop, but most shops do not return your deposit.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:03 PM

@Stiles: Well show us the figures batman

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:08 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: it is in Dublin

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:09 PM

@Stiles: Sure there were. Keep telling yourself that. Lol.

Mute Fliep Flap
    Favourite Fliep Flap
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:10 PM

@Stiles: You have won the EEJIT prize of the day.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:12 PM

@Ajax Penumbra: You are right. It isn’t, but it is an extra cost that now has to be budgeted for in the weekly shop and was an unnecessary scheme, seeing as people were already recycling those items in the more than adequate waste collection services the country has. What is worse is that we need to keep those items safe as they are rejected for the slightest bit of damage on them, which us ridiculous seeing as the machines crush them as you put them in. I don’t know about you, but I dont exactly have the room to be keeping items from being damaged, which means extra trips to the shops, whereas before, I would stand on them before putting them into my recycling bin……

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:14 PM

@Ajax Penumbra: ……But seeing as you seem to be a proponent of the scheme, maybe you can explain why it was needed in the first place, and seeing as it is not a charity, who is making money from it? I do know that shops get 2 cents for every returned item, but I don’t think there are enough kept deposits to cover that, so where does the money come from? The public coffers? It was a system that wasn’t needed, creates extra hardship on families, and causes extra road trips to in order to find a working DRS machine and return the items, and to top it all we still need our recyling bins because the DRS does not take everything.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:17 PM

@Margaret Deacon: Maybe look into changing your waste collection service. As far as I know, the recycling bin is part of the set charge, and only true rubbush is paid by weight, and at that, only if it goes over a certain limit.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:30 PM

@Dave Harris: It’s where I am, and I guess not where Thomas is either.

Mute John F doe
    Favourite John F doe
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:34 PM

FG are playing an absolute blinder

Oct 24th 2024, 9:41 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: ah my old friend Paul the know it all, who thinks his opinion is the only correct one…..Firstly, I’m replying to someone and not commenting on the article as an OP. That’s allowed isn’t it?!?! Secondly I gave my opinion on how I think it should operate so that the scheme still operates, litter remains down and people who use their green bin for it still can without the inconvenience or losing a deposit. Where’s the ignorance there? We are all allowed to have opinions that may differ from your own…… Getting insulting and personal again for no reason?!?! Seems to be your M.O….. Maybe just be mature and don’t engage! “Stick to your grade……”?!?! Haha, what sort of man child are you!

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:53 PM

@Pat Barry: Sorry, that was meant to say ” it isn’t where I am…..”

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Oct 25th 2024, 9:05 AM

@Matthew Connolly: nut job

Mute Megan Ward
    Favourite Megan Ward
    Oct 25th 2024, 9:41 AM

@Pat Barry: Once the barcode isn’t damaged, they’ve been fine for me with a bit of denting. I don’t drive, up until recently was sharing an apartment with a housemate, kept them in a granny trolley I have. Bring the granny trolley when I go do a big shop, and if it’s not in my local area I’ll go to one that I know has a few machines in case one or two are broken (which hasn’t happened as much as I thought it would from other people talking). It’s inconvenient but don’t need a mansion to store them somewhere.

Mute The facts
    Favourite The facts
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:36 PM

Meaningless figure…what is more valid is how much is unclaimed.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:48 PM

@The facts: Not really. If you don’t use the receipt having returned the bottles, etc, then it’s on you.

Mute Margaret Deacon
    Favourite Margaret Deacon
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:49 PM

@The facts: that’s a problem for those who don’t return them

Mute Trevor Donoghue
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:44 PM

@Margaret Deacon: return them where? Almost none of the shops you buy from accept returns.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:01 PM

@The facts: Do the maths and make it a meaningful figure, even a 90% significance would be hugely beneficial to our understanding…..thks in advance.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:02 PM

@Trevor Donoghue: recycling machines

Mute Mick Duvanny
    Favourite Mick Duvanny
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:25 PM

@Trevor Donoghue: Only shops smaller than 250m2 can refuse to accept returns

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:27 PM

@Margaret Deacon: The public was returning them anyway as part of our waste collections in our recycle bins. Why should I now have to budget extra into my weekly shop for the deposits, lose my money on return of items that get rejected, and make extra trips to the shops to return items because I have no place to keep them, when I was already returning them anyway as part of my waste collection recycle bin, which is not pay-by-weight, like you tried claiming further up

Mute Daniel Skelton
    Favourite Daniel Skelton
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:49 PM

Deposit Scam Scheme.

Mute Foscam Dl
    Favourite Foscam Dl
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:25 PM

@Daniel Skelton: wow Daniel, handing out a roasting there with your quick wit

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:58 PM

@Foscam Dl: He’s such a cad…..

Mute Darragh Mcnamara
    Favourite Darragh Mcnamara
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:43 PM

And 650 million rejected..

Mute Gaelactico
    Favourite Gaelactico
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:55 PM

@Darragh Mcnamara: The scheme has been used successfully for many years in other European countries and yet it’s only in Ireland that there’s moaning going on …

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:19 PM

@Gaelactico: Only people that complain are the typical degenerates that complain about everything

Mute Sandra Lysaght
    Favourite Sandra Lysaght
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:29 PM

@Gaelactico: exactly

Oct 24th 2024, 6:53 PM

I wonder how true the recycling part of it is considering that over 70% of our recycling bins that are collected ends up going into a incinerator

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:56 PM

@John: If the incinerator is working properly at a high enough temperature then no problem!

Mute A W
    Favourite A W
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:20 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: yep just poliution up always go to nord winds

Mute A W
    Favourite A W
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:22 PM

@A W: sso stangely like chimneys painted only for one side to be visible redfor sauth…

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:35 PM

Seems like a great success to me, well done all.

Mute Temp Stuff
    Favourite Temp Stuff
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:41 PM

@Hotirish: as the plastic bottles can only be recycled a limited number of times but aluminum endless times, all drinks going aluminum would be ideal perhaps

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:38 PM

@Temp Stuff: Why not glass like in the old days. Only 30 years ago, when we bought milk or drinks, it was in glass bottles which and we paid a deposit on the bottle. When we returned the bottle undamaged, the deposit was returned, and most importantly, reused. The only extra energy was in sterilizing it for the next use. If the bottle was broken, you lost your deposit, but the bottle was recycled.

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:05 PM

Seeing as we consume approximately 2.1 billion drinks containers per annum,…. We’re claiming back a third, while return get to keep the difference, Returns directors include people from Diageo, Britvic Ireland, coca cola….

Makes you think

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:14 PM

@John Darker: Accounts just filed to the Companies Office show that its 11 directors received total remuneration of €401,356 last year, having already been paid €313,087 during the 10 months of 2022 following the firm’s incorporation

Mute Alex Kane
    Favourite Alex Kane
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:46 PM

I know this is helping in a sense but should the emphasis not be on the producers of the bottles rather than Joe public left to sort it out.

Mute Foscam Dl
    Favourite Foscam Dl
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:22 PM

@Alex Kane: yes, they should cancel using containers for the liquids and simply sell the levitated liquids directly. Or maybe have the producers do daily house calls to every home in the country. Alex has really thought this through.

Mute Alex Kane
    Favourite Alex Kane
    Oct 25th 2024, 1:55 PM

@Foscam Dl: Your mother!

Mute Finn Schøyen
    Favourite Finn Schøyen
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:00 PM

How many drinks containers were sold in that same time period, just so we can put a meaning to the figures?

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:07 PM

@Finn Schøyen: as per the independent a few months ago ” some 2 billion per year

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:55 PM

@Finn Schøyen: Feckin loads

Mute K O
    Favourite K O
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:41 PM

Liebour and soc demos backed the hate bill, no marks for guessing what these vain parties are going to do after the election

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan

@K O: so did SF

Mute A W
    Favourite A W
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:18 PM

@K O: will keep mocking all, us again and again…

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:56 PM

@K O: Cry harder.

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:21 PM

@Alan: Incorrect. PBP/Aontú/SF and all present independents voted against the bill.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:54 PM

@Darth O’Leary: But for SF they really didn’t as it passed all stages prior to the vote with their full support…but you know that , like was that child 16 or 17 well he certainly wasn’t 17 , as shown by the grovelling, what might happen next Tuesday……

Mute John F doe
    Favourite John F doe
    Oct 25th 2024, 2:04 AM

@Paul O’Mahoney: another day another u turn from the pedo supporters

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:09 PM

As great as this scheme is they could have somehow stopped the bin companies from using it as an excuse to hike peoples bills cos they are losing out with a genuine scheme that is helping to stop pollution etc

Doing your part to help fight climate change or recycling shouldnt see people being ripped off

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:16 PM

how many city/town streets have been ruined by people rummaging through bins and leaving them open for the birds to have a field day?

Mute Foscam Dl
    Favourite Foscam Dl
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:23 PM

@Niall English: 4?

Mute A W
    Favourite A W
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:26 PM

@Niall English: for people why do not work at the moment or can not work, it is something to do for green aganda, also great mentally revarding for society, so win win…

Mute Meh Meh
    Favourite Meh Meh
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:34 PM

@Niall English: you’re an insufferable lord. You’re probably dictating to your butler to type your replies.

Mute John F doe
    Favourite John F doe
    Oct 25th 2024, 2:06 AM

@A W: having some scrote rummaging through your bin is never desirable

Mute Megan Ward
    Favourite Megan Ward
    Oct 25th 2024, 9:43 AM

@Niall English: My local area is tidier because there are less lazy dirtbirds flinging cans and bottles on the ground.

Mute Meh Meh
    Favourite Meh Meh

I’ve 635 million cans and bottles here in the house to add to that total. Returning can be sometimes hard to do. The map of collection points needs updating. Smaller localised return points sometimes aren’t there. Never existed in some cases.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:47 PM

@Meh Meh: Ballycanew in Wexford has one and it’s population isn’t huge but they seem to make it work.

Mute Philip Cullen
    Favourite Philip Cullen
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:47 PM

The number is meaningless without a comparison…how many containers were people putting in their green bins? For me the number would be exactly the same, except now I have to keep bags of cans hanging around my house.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:49 PM

@Philip Cullen: Same here. Everything that could be recycled went into my recycling bin at home. But now we have to go to shops more often in order to return stuff because there is no room for storing stuff undamaged

Mute You're Not Serious
    Favourite You're Not Serious
    Oct 24th 2024, 11:02 PM

@Philip Cullen: and you can’t even stamp on them so extra space taken up

Mute Kevin & Philip Sheane
    Favourite Kevin & Philip Sheane

How many cans were sold since February ?

How many bottles were sold since February ?

The difference between sold and returned might be interesting.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Oct 24th 2024, 10:09 PM

Any explanation yet from Ossian on where the unclaimed Millions are going & will he publish the salaries & bonuses of those in Management & the Directors of the Limited Company, many of whom are very rich individuals already. The most blatant corrupt scheme in decades, letting the rich Drinks sector design a scheme that enriches them even more. A scheme that Minister Ossian Smith couldn’t answer basic questions on in the Dail chamber & had to come back on multiple occasions with replies

Mute Trevor Donoghue
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:52 PM

Given up on the return scheme at this point, Bin liners full of cans and bottles cluttering up the house all the time, and all bought locally, but no way to return them without a car as most shops don’t take returns. Tired of the mess and clutter, so they are all going in to the green bins again.
    Why don’t they simply fix it by allowing you to return them to the shops you bought them from?

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:55 PM

Round of applause for everyone,.Great work all, really helping the environment. Go Ireland!

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:54 PM

Why is this scheme actually making the news at the end of every month and the start of every month? Something is not adding up here…. A lot of of our landfill rubbish is being transported from landfills across Ireland to the Waste incinerator in Poolbeg in Dublin…

Mute Furious George - The Wasp
    Favourite Furious George - The Wasp
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:36 PM

@Tommy: propaganda

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Oct 24th 2024, 10:40 PM

@Furious George – The Wasp: ‘Propaganda’ LOL You’re one of those lads then …

Mute ibrahim Sudane
    Favourite ibrahim Sudane
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:12 PM

Netherland recycled 900 million plastic bottle last year, 22 million citizens !
    Ireland by end of next Feb. 25
    Will pass 1.23 billion. Bottle.

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:15 PM

@ibrahim Sudane: Ireland consumes over 2 billion per year….as per the independent a few months ago

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:57 PM

@ibrahim Sudane: there’s 18 million people in the Netherlands.

Oct 24th 2024, 10:09 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: you’re a delightful human as always. Did Ibrahim really warrant that insult?!?! Maybe you should find another hobby than trolling forums and insulting people. Sad really!!!!!

Mute ibrahim Sudane
    Favourite ibrahim Sudane
    Oct 24th 2024, 10:23 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: thank you it’s reflect your mental state !

Mute Jockey Jim
    Favourite Jockey Jim
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:57 PM

I welcome this development, I hope the Green Party will be in the next government

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:12 PM

@Jockey Jim: Green policies working!!

Mute Shaun
    Favourite Shaun
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:19 PM

I bought a pair of trainers made from recycled plastic a few years ago and they still hold up today. Totally off topic but I thought it was worth mentioning.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Favourite eoin fitzpatrick
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:26 PM

It just goes to show how much rubbish we create, it’s disgusting. I hope this scheme reduces people’s consumption of plastic bottles especially. Reduce reuse recycle, in that order.

Mute Michael Fleming
    Favourite Michael Fleming
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:55 PM

So how many non recycle receipts have been issues???

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:40 PM

@Michael Fleming: How us that possible?

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:46 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Did you not know? The vouchers issued by the DRS machines cannot be recycled. Maybe you should stop calling people “thick” and then prove how much in that direction you are yourself!

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:54 PM

The perpetual whingers out in force. They’ve a problem for every solution.

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Oct 25th 2024, 1:01 AM

1 in 4 not returned, so a nice extra 330 million charge plus a possible double charge if also own recycling bin charges.
    How come for some reason with all green initiatives lately, that the ordinary consumer gets a double charge for less service and more effort on own part and the ‘businesses’ get the free money.
    It just like carbon taxes/credits distributed to industry to compensate when even the slightest chance that green initiatives impacts their profits.
    All a scam perpetuated by spin, pr and crafted narratives, beautiful presented in a nice pretty basket and save the planet bow on top.

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Oct 25th 2024, 1:14 AM

@Michale Kane: meant 30 mill. Approx. .. sh … ah too late for maths, perfect time for another hot one ..

Mute Dale Voinz
    Favourite Dale Voinz
    Oct 25th 2024, 1:02 AM

You can only recycle plastic a couple of times before it breaks down toi much and goes to landfill anyway. Make everything glass if you really care, that can be recycled unlimited times

Mute Happy Harry
    Favourite Happy Harry
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:52 PM

It’s a pity we have to tax a scheme like this. Shouldn’t we naturally recycle. Naturally avoid unnecessary waste. Yeh I know. Dream on.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:41 PM

@Happy Harry: but it isn’t a tax though, but you go and try and learn something.

Mute Trevor Donoghue

@Paul O’Mahoney: It is a tax if the shops don’t give you your deposit back.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Oct 24th 2024, 10:38 PM

@Trevor Donoghue: It’s theft if I leave a shop without paying for something. What’s your point? Can’t find a shop to return to? Can’t ask, enquire, complain? You’ll have moaning and whining down though, I’m sure.

Mute Caitrín Ní Fhearghail
    Favourite Caitrín Ní Fhearghail
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:57 PM

Absolutely amazing achievement by all. We are definitely on the right track. However, I have actually seen people picking through public bins, filling plastic bags to get this refund. Bit

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Oct 24th 2024, 10:37 PM

@Caitrín Ní Fhearghail: Win/Win then!

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:32 PM

All the usuals on here love it, the phuckin sleeve rollers.

Mute Meh Meh
    Favourite Meh Meh
    Oct 24th 2024, 7:36 PM

@Eric Gaffney: “Excellent”. /Tents fingers

Mute John F doe
    Favourite John F doe
    Oct 25th 2024, 2:10 AM

@Eric Gaffney: woke nonsense is all it is, life is far too short for that BS

Mute J N
    Favourite J N
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:25 PM

Great scheme. Streets are cleaner and if your not a lazay fu..ker it is of no extra cost

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Oct 24th 2024, 10:36 PM

Great to see it working so well.

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:23 PM

‘Rabble, rabble, rabble. It’s been nearly a year, what do you mean we haven’t ended the scheme by continually and exclusively giving out about it online?’
    ‘It hasn’t worked boss. A lot of people are seeing real benefits from it.’
    ‘Suboptimal but keep at it for the foreseeable anyway. Now update me on how our 25 years of giving out about the NCT is getting on. We must be close to ending that by this stage?’
    ‘Eh…’

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Oct 25th 2024, 10:09 AM

Its an easy fix to fiddle the numbers for the EU. Ireland currently exports ‘approximately 82% of packaging waste, with only about 18% managed within the country, primarily due to limited domestic recycling infrastructure.’ At least since 2018 we’re not shipping our waste to China anymore. Would love to know where these bottles go after the machines are empty. The system pales in comparison to our recycling of glass, which we do excellently, and is er free.

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Oct 25th 2024, 2:12 AM

A half assed idea I lived in Holland 30 years ago and there was a deposit return on every container glass or plastic

Mute Noel Cowzer
    Favourite Noel Cowzer
    Oct 25th 2024, 10:39 AM

63 million 15 cents that was paid by customers on every bottle (of which you can not opt out off )and the smell of the bottle dispencer rats and vermin everywhere the stink of the car ,the queues of 30 mins plus and its a success get a grip on reality people see the bigger picture .they will tax you on the return prices etc etc .the bin charges are going up as there are no plastic waste or aluminium in the green bins .so what’s the alternative you say .
    RETURN TO THE WAY IT WAS .

Mute Kevin Harper
    Favourite Kevin Harper
    Oct 25th 2024, 8:51 AM

Christmas savings. The vouchers have no expiry date, so I’ve saved them and will hand in a wad to pay for my Xmas groceries.

Mute Joe Bergin
    Favourite Joe Bergin
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:21 PM

That’s a lotta Coors…

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Oct 24th 2024, 8:39 PM

@Joe Bergin: Cans or bottles?

Mute gregory pym
    Favourite gregory pym
    Oct 26th 2024, 11:56 AM

Completely pointless scheme . It is 20 years too late and has resulted in duplication of effort. Waste companies have to increase charges to make up for the revenue loss. Plus you have all these containers clogging up kitchens etc. another Green party virtue signalling exercise along the lines of cycle lanes which in my experience here in Galway only a minute amount of the population use if at all. There is a big one on the road to Kinvara from Kilcolgan which no one uses. It only goes half of the distance and the Peleton people don’t use it preferring to block the main road. The half of the route with no bike lane has no hard shoulders so pedestrian traffic ends up walking on the road if they dare. The sooner the Green party is history the better.