You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A teenager sets off a firework at Grand Canal Square thatguybillosh/TikTok

Lord Mayor decries use of fireworks by teenagers at Grand Canal as 'mindless and dangerous'

A video shared on TikTok earlier this week shows a group of people with their faces covered setting off fireworks outside of the Bord Gáis Energy Theatre.

THE LORD MAYOR of Dublin, James Geoghegan, has said it was a miracle no one was injured after teenagers set off fireworks at Grand Canal Square earlier this week. 

Geoghegan decried the behaviour as “mindless and dangerous” and said anti-social behaviour around the Grand Canal area will be the number one item on the agenda of the next South East Area Joint Policing Committee.

A video posted on TikTok earlier this week by a resident in the Grand Canal Square area shows a group of what appears to be five teenage boys with their faces covered setting off fireworks in the area in front of the water outside the Bord Gáis Energy Theatre. 

Posted by the account ‘thatguybillosh’, the video shows the fireworks being directed towards the water as dozens of passersby are also seen in the vicinity. 

The man filming makes the point that a car alarm can be heard going off and that the behaviour is happening in the middle of the day. 

Teenagers Grand Canal The group of teenagers thatguybillosh / TikTok thatguybillosh / TikTok / TikTok

“Episode 45 of the random shit that goes on at Grand Canal Dock,” the poster said, adding that the fireworks could hit a passerby. 

“There’s quite literally little kids going to Bord Gáis to see Wicked and these lads are letting off screamers and fireworks. It’s daylight,” the man is heard saying. 

One staff member of the nearby Marker Hotel told The Journal that while they did not witness the fireworks, similar anti-social behaviour is a common occurrence in the area. 

They added however that it is the same “across Dublin”.

Commenting on the behaviour, Lord Mayor Geoghegan said there has regrettably been an increase in anti-social behaviour in the Grand Canal area during the summer months. 

“Lighting fireworks in the direction of windows is mindless and dangerous. It’s a miracle nobody was seriously injured.

“One of the measures I announced as Lord Mayor in the last council meeting before the break is the re-establishment of the local joint policing committees,” Geoghegan said.

He added that a new system of local engagement with gardaí is being set up through safety partnerships, but said this law hasn’t yet been commenced.

“It’s really important we don’t have any gaps between the ending of the old system and the beginning of the new one and the Garda Commissioner committed to me his support of this initiative.

“It’s so important that locals and their representatives have a way of direct any ongoing communication in relation to policing matters,” Geoghegan said. 

Geoghegan, a Fine Gael councillor who was elected Lord Mayor in June, added that while anti-social behaviour at the Grand Canal will be the number one item on the agenda at the next South East Area Joint Policy Committee, he would be happy to facilitate a meeting with locals and gardaí in the meantime. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

98 Comments
    Mute Nigel Baldock
    Favourite Nigel Baldock
    Nov 27th 2024, 5:30 PM

No wonder Teesh Simon is a fan.

Mute Toca Stories
    Favourite Toca Stories
    Nov 27th 2024, 5:25 PM

So to highlight disinformation they have spread disinformation…..bit ironic no

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Nov 27th 2024, 5:36 PM

@Toca Stories: no….they deleted them before they went out??

Mute Jerry LeFrog
    Favourite Jerry LeFrog
    Nov 27th 2024, 5:39 PM

@NotMyIreland: yes they did. It’s part of their MO

Mute Éamonn O'Kane
    Favourite Éamonn O'Kane
    Nov 27th 2024, 5:47 PM

@Toca Stories: the ads were never aired. Try reading the article before commenting.

Mute Lonely Are the Brave.
    Favourite Lonely Are the Brave.
    Nov 27th 2024, 5:54 PM

Simon for tae shocked

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Nov 27th 2024, 5:32 PM

Tick-Tock Taoiseach spreads a fair bit himself..

And btw Journal.. look at the Trump/FG trolls in the comments for last few weeks before throwing any stones at others.

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Nov 27th 2024, 5:56 PM

yet our elected numb nuts in the dail continue to use it……ironic

Mute Daniel Skelton
    Favourite Daniel Skelton
    Nov 27th 2024, 5:25 PM

TikToxic just needs to disappear. It’s cancer of the internet.

Mute Andrew Giles
    Favourite Andrew Giles
    Nov 27th 2024, 6:30 PM

@Daniel Skelton: a bit like the comments section here, notice how only a select few articles can be commented on now.

Mute Daniel Skelton
    Favourite Daniel Skelton
    Nov 27th 2024, 11:09 PM

@Andrew Giles: The Journal (of Censorship)

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Nov 27th 2024, 5:34 PM

Wow ! Disinformation ! Is this a new word for bullshiting ?

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Nov 27th 2024, 5:28 PM

The advent of social media in general has ruined the minds of people. It’s a toxicity, a cesspit, a breeding ground for hatred and false realities. It’s addictive nature is, in particular, destroying younger minds. 20 years from now, our species will be the dumbest It’s been as a result.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 27th 2024, 5:36 PM

@Andrew Kenny:
    Sure we can just identify as another species, I’m gonna be a fish.

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Nov 27th 2024, 5:39 PM

@Regular John: I might be a cat myself. Lol.

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Nov 27th 2024, 5:30 PM

If the posts ” “should have been immediately clear to any human reviewer” that these statements were false.”, why would it not be immediately clear to any human reader that they are false?

Mute Jerry LeFrog
    Favourite Jerry LeFrog
    Nov 27th 2024, 5:44 PM

@Oh Mammy: I guess some people would not have seen them as false, because they would have comforted them in a narrative they already espouse (these people can be called, according to your own sensibilities, “woke”, “far-right”, “conspiracy theorists”, etc. Everybody has a go at someone else these days)

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Nov 27th 2024, 5:47 PM

@Jerry LeFrog: are you suggesting this condition does not apply to human reviewers?

Mute Jerry LeFrog
    Favourite Jerry LeFrog
    Nov 27th 2024, 7:08 PM

@Oh Mammy: I said “some”. I’m sure though that the vast majority of humans would be able to realize those were fake ads. At least 90%. I just have doubts for a small minority who don’t seem to think for themselves, and these pose a greater danger to the rest of us

Mute Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Favourite Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Nov 27th 2024, 7:26 PM

@Oh Mammy: most first line moderation is done electronically. It usually only goes to a human if it’s flagged. Use the right words to avoid the flags and most posts will go live unless they’re reported. Then you have Facebook and X that allow misinformation and worse whether it’s flagged or not.

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Nov 27th 2024, 9:17 PM

@Oh Mammy: Completely clueless aren’t you ? Do you really think “humans” review hundred of thousands of video every day?

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Nov 28th 2024, 4:05 AM

@Alex: reading comprehension is not your thing, is it?

Mute Nestor
    Favourite Nestor
    Nov 27th 2024, 9:41 PM

This is nonsense from this crowd.

Those advertismenets were not disinformation.
    They were just silly.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Nov 27th 2024, 6:00 PM

Tik Tok just created a shocking election last Sunday in Romania, as a nobody WON the first round of presidential elections due to farms of bots and heavy influenced Tik Tok reels. Scary stuff. Read about Calin Georgescu, who had the 7th or 8th chance to win and he… won.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Nov 27th 2024, 6:26 PM

How about Irish election misinformation when the camera conscious woman says “I don’t care” and Harris is accused of ending the conversation.

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Nov 27th 2024, 9:15 PM

Chinese tr4sh, what do you expect. It should be banned.