You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Apache Pizza stand over decision not to deliver to Moyross

Drivers say it is too dangerous to go into the Limerick estate with pizzas and money.

DRIVERS AT AN Apache Pizza outlet in Limerick have stopped delivering orders to homes in the Moyross estate as they say it is too dangerous.

Robert Pendleton, director of the pizza-making franchise, told Newstalk this morning that the ban will remain in place for the moment but could be reviewed later this year.

“Every six months to a year we will attempt to deliver to the area,” he said but added that if there is a serious incident, the ban will remain.

Pendleton said the company had to stop delivering to the busy estate as it was too dangerous.

“The incidents were not minor,” he told Newstalk Breakfast, “it became too much.”

The latest episode saw a front windscreen of a car smashed in but other incidents have involved people surrounding vehicles and stealing pizzas and money.

“We’ve had drivers who come from Moyross but wouldn’t go in because of the threat,” added the Apache chief who appeared on the radio show after complaints were received from a Moyross resident, Chris Duhig.

Duhig, a local activist, believes the national company is discriminating against people from the regeneration areas of Limerick.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

65 Comments
    Mute Mike Reid
    Favourite Mike Reid
    May 11th 2012, 8:41 AM

If people were smashing my employees car windows and stealing their money I wouldn’t send them there either. It’s harsh on the honest residents of the area but again it’s the loud minority ruining it for the rest

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    May 11th 2012, 3:25 PM

This article is based on the illlogical rantings of one guy, Chris Duhig . Remember every “deprived” neighborhoods in the country has these professional “activists”using the pavee point manual of excuses to justify their own existance. The fact is he has further damaged his own communities repuation by arguing his stupid point . To discrimiate agaist those those who use violence is right and proper . Make no mistake people, there are no go area up and down this country but yet again one moron draws the negatiev attention to Limerick .

Mute Mensah Mensah
    Favourite Mensah Mensah
    May 11th 2012, 4:41 PM

I thought were live in ireland and not iraq…

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    May 11th 2012, 7:36 PM

Maybe there’s too many Indians and not enough chefs in Moyross

Mute Absolute Media
    Favourite Absolute Media
    May 13th 2012, 1:14 PM

Cause delivered pizza is a human right in this day and age…

Mute Jones Frank
    Favourite Jones Frank
    May 11th 2012, 8:50 AM

Jeez, things must be really bad if the Apachies won’t go in!

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    May 11th 2012, 8:57 AM

Too many chiefs and not enough braves

Mute Deirdre Bennett
    Favourite Deirdre Bennett
    May 11th 2012, 9:36 AM

I think Apache should offer the job to residents of the Moyross area. Let them take on the responsibility.

Very funny comment Jones Frank…made me chuckle :)

Mute Susie Chester
    Favourite Susie Chester
    May 11th 2012, 11:09 AM

Deirdre Bennet
    The above comment from Susie Chester is made from a false twitter account . I have reported it to the journal several times . Please ignore the fraudster. I actually think you haver made a good point . But I also admire apache for protecting their workers .

Mute Richard Day
    Favourite Richard Day
    May 11th 2012, 11:38 AM

Maybe Apache should invest in their namesake helicopter for deliveries there!

Mute M J Fox
    Favourite M J Fox
    May 11th 2012, 1:06 PM

Did you read the article at all Deirdre and Susie?

“We’ve had drivers who come from Moyross but wouldn’t go in because of the threat,”

They have hired from Moyross in the past, and even those drivers refused to go in.

Mute Daithi
    Favourite Daithi
    May 11th 2012, 8:59 AM

A company has a duty of care for its employees. Good on Apache for not backing down and pandering to idiots who use the word ‘discrimination’ out of context.

Mute KarlMarcks
    Favourite KarlMarcks
    May 11th 2012, 9:16 AM

Right on, Daithi. Nothing to do with discrimination. This Duhig devalues the real and constant struggle against serious discrimination by trying to make a health and safety issue for the delivery people into a victimisation complaint.

Apache have said it clearly: You bring the violent posses to heel, and we’ll be back. You don’t, we won’t.

Seems fair to me. And entire bus routes have been suspended for less.

Mute Cliff Grebouwski
    Favourite Cliff Grebouwski
    May 11th 2012, 10:18 AM

I don’t know- I can see clear parallels between this and the Civil Rights movement!

I have a dream…

Mute Cliff Grebouwski
    May 11th 2012, 12:15 PM

For future reference (!) at the end of a sentence usually denotes surprise or sarcasm…!

Mute prot0type
    Favourite prot0type
    May 11th 2012, 8:51 AM

I think it’s very fair, I wouldn’t want to see anybody get hurt over a pizza! When I lived in Scotland, Domino’s, chippies and Pizza Hut had the same problem in my area, people wouldn’t feel safe leaving their vehicles but they would deliver, just we had to meet them outside the high rise.

The incidents in Limerick appear more serious than any I’ve heard and I’d go the same route as Apache. I think it’s very fair that they even will attempt every 6 months to a year.

Mute Susie Chester
    Favourite Susie Chester
    May 11th 2012, 9:29 AM

fair play to Apache , they have shown a reponsible duty of care attitude to their staff. well done .
    Mr Duhig ,should go and take a real good look at his surroundings and his neighbours and realise that
    it is theit own fault they are not being delivered to oh and , look up the meaning of discrimination

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    May 11th 2012, 3:14 PM

Ann-Marie
    I think you’ll find that these thugs are well able to make a show of Limerick themselves, they don’t need any outside help!

Mute Ann-Marie Wallis
    Favourite Ann-Marie Wallis
    May 11th 2012, 3:29 PM

Joan what are ya on about? I meant the thugs in Moyross that show up the whole city, not the pizza crowd. I’m well versed in work health and safety…if there is a danger to the employee then its the employers duty to protect their right to work safely.

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    May 11th 2012, 10:09 AM

Love how some comments are coming up with alternatives for apache to be able to deliver a pizza in moyross. Its a freaking pizza for gods sake. Dont worry they will live. I am just amazed they delivered there in the first place. That place is a zoo full of wild animals.

Mute Shane Farrell
    Favourite Shane Farrell
    May 11th 2012, 10:09 AM

I was ordering in store at my local pizza place in Pizza place a few weeks ago when a driver came in startled and shaking talking about such an incident in an area around here. From the gist of the conversation among staff this was a regular occurrence and they’d had enough and decided to stop delivering to the particular part of Finglas. You haven’t heard about it because no local resident of that area has brought it to the national press. But for sure this is a nationwide problem. We have a pretty hefty chunk of people that are fairly detached from our society in this country. Literal no go areas that are run by violence and the police will not patrol. Obviously this country is not unique in this. So you have to assume this is a natural by product of our social and economic structure. Without changing those, we will always have these areas.

Mute Briany Hearne
    Favourite Briany Hearne
    May 12th 2012, 7:42 PM

Or another time, shaking and pale possibly close to fainting, a driver described how a customer had ordered a quadrouple pepperoni. “That’s just too much pepperoni” he whimpered.

Mute d'usachtacht
    Favourite d'usachtacht
    May 11th 2012, 10:00 AM

To be fair Ann-Marie, the article clearly states they won’t go into Moyross, not Limerick. Most cities have rough areas and most intelligent people realise that Moyross isn’t the whole of Limerick, it’s just one area.

Mute Raymond Connolly
    Favourite Raymond Connolly
    May 11th 2012, 9:43 AM

Send armed gardai in with the pizza and make sure it delivered….?

Mute Briany Hearne
    Favourite Briany Hearne
    May 12th 2012, 7:38 PM

Send an armed chef to their houses to make the pizza?

Mute dubsy
    Favourite dubsy
    May 11th 2012, 11:15 AM

Since when Pizza delivery is an indispensable service…? It is Apache’s choice if they, or any other private companies, decide not to deliver somewhere.

Mute Briany Hearne
    Favourite Briany Hearne
    May 12th 2012, 7:45 PM

Does anyone have a copy of the menu?

Mute Cliff Grebouwski
    May 11th 2012, 10:15 AM

“The latest episode saw a front windscreen of a car smashed in but vehicles have often been surrounded by people with pizzas”

Either that’s a poorly written sentence or the people of Moyross have some crazy, post-modern thing going on.

On the subject though- I don’t think that the withholding of pizza made it into the UN Charter on Human Rights

Mute New totwit
    Favourite New totwit
    May 11th 2012, 8:57 AM

Well there’s always 4star and domino’s…. How many different pizza places does 1 estate need?

Mute Michael Fagan
    Favourite Michael Fagan
    May 11th 2012, 10:50 AM

It’s time people of Moyross took their area back from the thugs, and let them know their behavior will not be tolerated.
    What about the corporation evicting residents who are causing problems for everyone else? Or providing youth clubs for the teenagers in the area, or jobs.?

Mute Shane Walsh
    Favourite Shane Walsh
    May 11th 2012, 10:53 AM

Michael its all well and good evicting people but where will they go? There are many youth services for people in Limerick and they are used and have helped people. There will always be that small percentage of people who will make life hard for others. Sadly its all down to how they were brought up.

Everey town and city has their share of it, just ask the Firefighters, Ambulance crews, garda

Mute Seany Mc Donagh
    Favourite Seany Mc Donagh
    May 11th 2012, 10:42 AM

There’s loads of places not delivering to certain estates all over the country for years. Mountain out of a mole hill.

Mute Peter Mc Court
    Favourite Peter Mc Court
    May 11th 2012, 10:34 AM

iv never been to limerick and i never will or do i ever want to. it sounds like a hell hole of a place

Mute Declan Mannix
    Favourite Declan Mannix
    May 11th 2012, 10:54 AM

Peter, 95 % of people in moyross are as decent as you or me. it’s the remaining 5 % that drag the whole area down with horrendous crimes, intimidation etc. every city has it’s own moyross or south hill. ballymun in Dublin, knocknaheeny in cork, even small towns like kilrush have no go areas because of the actions of a small few. limerick is a great city. lived here over 40 years and have never even seen as much as a street fight while out and about.

Mute Ann-Marie Wallis
    May 11th 2012, 3:27 PM

Wow well done Peter, wonderful comment there. Hate to see where you’re gaff is!

Mute Ciaran Mc Hugh
    Favourite Ciaran Mc Hugh
    May 11th 2012, 8:24 PM

I wonder is that Frank’s relative

Mute Sam Manton
    Favourite Sam Manton
    May 11th 2012, 11:38 AM

I’m surprised its just moyross! My friend drove into South hill there couple weeks ago was there less than 15 mins before he got a rock thrown at his window!

Mute Martin Mac
    Favourite Martin Mac
    May 11th 2012, 9:03 AM

Good free advertising by Apachi

Mute Peter 66
    Favourite Peter 66
    May 11th 2012, 10:00 AM

Not judging by your comment I don’t think you will find them in the yellow pages…

Mute Frank Faldo
    Favourite Frank Faldo
    May 11th 2012, 1:06 PM

That Pizza is rubbish food. Send in someone to teach the residents how to cook proper meals.

Mute Stefan Hanrahan
    Favourite Stefan Hanrahan
    May 11th 2012, 1:47 PM

I wouldn’t go in either

Mute Ann-Marie Wallis
    May 11th 2012, 9:28 AM

This is just embarrassing for Limerick. How easy it is to destroy the reputation of an area, and the collective city. I understand that the employers have a duty to protect their staff but there are good honest people living in Moyross, Ballincurra etc, it is a bad reflection on the area.

Mute Anel Cceram
    Favourite Anel Cceram
    May 11th 2012, 9:31 AM

How do you know?? There are guards won’t go in there.

Mute Ann-Marie Wallis
    May 11th 2012, 9:46 AM

I’m from Limerick and I’ve worked in Moyross…I know the area well. I’m sick of these people making a show of Limerick. :(

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    May 11th 2012, 11:15 AM

I assume your talking about the thugs thieves and all in criminals making a show of those estates? rather than apache ….

Mute Ann-Marie Wallis
    May 11th 2012, 3:26 PM

Heh obviously, Mr. Baggins!

Mute John Nolan
    Favourite John Nolan
    May 11th 2012, 10:43 PM

Very easy answer for both Apache and Moyross residents. Apache hire Chris Duhig to deliver there pizza. Problem solved!

Mute Declan Mannix
    Favourite Declan Mannix
    May 11th 2012, 9:34 AM

probably not worth the cost but a box with a keypad to open it positioned just outside the estate, customers given a one time pass code to collect their food might work, but maybe not, the same gurriers who break car windows would damage anything new brought in there I’d say. sad.

Mute Jay funk
    Favourite Jay funk
    May 11th 2012, 9:43 AM

Why can’t they go and collect the pizzas themselves (because they are scared to go out at dark) or learn to cook piazza

Mute Ian Noble
    Favourite Ian Noble
    May 11th 2012, 9:07 AM

Apache could establish an advanced payment system?

Mute Emsy wemsy
    Favourite Emsy wemsy
    May 11th 2012, 9:16 AM

For the cars that gets smashed up or staff that gets the crap kicked out of them?

Mute conor hickey
    Favourite conor hickey
    May 11th 2012, 2:05 PM

Gun slinging cowboys scare off apache .

Mute Mark Larson
    Favourite Mark Larson
    May 11th 2012, 12:26 PM

Its not only Myross, on the back of the Apache menu it says they go go parts of Ballymun.

Mute Sam Manton
    Favourite Sam Manton
    May 11th 2012, 1:01 PM

sorry what I meant was I’m surprised its only Moyross when it comes to Limerick!

Mute Paul carew
    Favourite Paul carew
    May 11th 2012, 12:35 PM

The fight against obesity has started a little seriously I thin.

Mute franco
    Favourite franco
    May 11th 2012, 10:33 PM

Send in the guys from goodfellas ..

Mute Patrick Goss
    Favourite Patrick Goss
    May 11th 2012, 1:15 PM

ahh man…its the beginning of the end!

Mute Raymond Connolly
    Favourite Raymond Connolly
    May 11th 2012, 10:48 AM

Maybe they just don’t like pizza….

Mute bejebus
    Favourite bejebus
    May 11th 2012, 2:50 PM

Apache are muck anyways, dominos baby, KEEP IT REAL!!

Mute Eric Costelloe
    Favourite Eric Costelloe
    May 11th 2012, 8:00 PM

Does anyone outside limerick ever wonder why Limerick is constantly in the media, the last 5-6 weeks ( years ) it has been one negative story after another, the only crime that has been committed was a delivery man’s window was smashed…I truly hope some people out there can see through the continuing agenda…take last weekend in Cork, 2 fatal stabbings, 1 serious assault, by monday it was out of the news…had that have been Limerick you can bet the funerals would have been top story on 6 one news, politicians aplenty on national airwaves calling for calm…no doubt another TV3 Crime special, and of course another Prime Time investigates, and Paul Williams appearance on late late to discuss, everything that happens in Limerick happens all over this country.

Unemployed people want bigger houses to fit in more kids-nationwide problem
    Firefighters getting rocks thrown at them- nationwide problem
    Pizza delivery service refusing to enter certain areas – nationwide problem
    Murder – nationwide problem

Even the Steve Collins affair had no crime attached. ( I refer to his secret exit from Limerick, not the tragic loss the poor man had to endure )

No city in the Western World ( certainly in english speaking country’s )has a reputation as bad as Limericks, for gods sake a number of years ago certain journalists claimed it was The murder capital of europe…

I am from Limerick, love the place, never been touched by crime, but I get very annoyed by the way it gets treated by not just the media but irish people in general, this is a country with very low crime rates yet tourists and people alike are led to believe it is some kind of crime hell hole…

Mute Briany Hearne
    Favourite Briany Hearne
    May 12th 2012, 7:47 PM

Yeah but 9.95 for any pizza, any size. Hard to argue.

Mute Heywood Jablome
    Favourite Heywood Jablome
    May 11th 2012, 1:46 PM

??????

Mute Heywood Jablome
    Favourite Heywood Jablome
    May 11th 2012, 1:47 PM

How about a box with a keypad outside the estate ? Mannix thinks its a great idea too