You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Protesters gather outside the state Capitol building on Friday. Kelly P. Kissel

Supreme Court blocks last-minute attempt by Arkansas to execute murderer

Justices declined an appeal from the state’s attorney general to lift a stay barring the execution of Don Davis.

THE US SUPREME Court last night denied a last-minute request from Arkansas state authorities for permission to carry out its first execution in more than a decade.

The US high court decision is the latest in a flurry of legal setbacks to the southeastern state’s original plan to carry out eight executions between April 17 and 27, an unprecedented pace.

Justices declined an appeal from the state’s attorney general to lift a stay barring the execution of Don Davis, who was slated to be the first of several inmates to die this month.

The Arkansas Supreme Court had blocked the executions of Davis and one other inmate, after lawyers had requested the executions be delayed until the US Supreme Court hears a separate case concerning prisoners’ access to mental health experts who are independent of the prosecution.

But Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge swiftly filed an application with the US Supreme Court to obtain permission to proceed with the execution of just Davis.

As he awaited the court to decide his fate Davis ate fried chicken, mashed potatoes and strawberry cake – what could have been his last meal.

The US Supreme court’s denial of the state’s request came minutes before Davis’s execution warrant expired at midnight local time , wrapping up a day of legal wrangling among state and federal courts over the state’s accelerated execution plan.

‘An exhausting day’

Arkansas Executions Actor Johnny Depp stands with Damien Echols, right, before speaking at an anti-death-penalty rally on the front steps of Arkansas' Capitol. STEPHEN B. THORNTON STEPHEN B. THORNTON

The legal roadblock constitutes yet another setback for Arkansas’s Republican governor, Asa Hutchinson, who had pushed for the accelerated executions as the expiration of the state’s supply of midazolam drew near.

“While this has been an exhausting day for all involved, tomorrow we will continue to fight back on last minute appeals and efforts to block justice for the victims’ families,” Hutchinson said in a statement.

He said the state would continue towards carrying out the executions of the other inmates.

Hours prior to the US Supreme Court decision, state courts had lifted obstacles to continuing those plans.

The US Court of Appeals for the eighth Circuit reversed a federal judge’s broader stay on the executions, clearing the path for deaths scheduled to take place later this month to proceed.

The state’s Supreme Court also vacated an order blocking the use of the drug vecuronium bromide as part of a lethal-injection protocol.

© – AFP, 2017

View 24 comments
24 Comments
    Mute John Thomas
    Favourite John Thomas
    Jul 2nd 2013, 7:35 AM

We’d probably hand him right back to the yanks on day one with some shamrock.

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Favourite Montys Moonshine
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:06 AM

Not before he has his pint of Guinness though.

Mute Lloyd Christmas
    Favourite Lloyd Christmas
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:09 AM

Sure he can kip in my shed

Mute Justin Devaney
    Favourite Justin Devaney
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:35 AM

Once he’s seen the prices he would want to back.

Mute Jean Smith
    Favourite Jean Smith
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:39 AM

Can we swap him for Drumm?

Mute Dermot Purcell
    Favourite Dermot Purcell
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:00 AM

We let hundreds of thousands of welfare tourists in to this country which the irish people will never benefit from and this man is actually doin some good in the world and we turn our backs on him.

Mute Rowan Murphy
    Favourite Rowan Murphy
    Jul 2nd 2013, 7:44 AM

US Government : “Hand him over”.
    Irish Government : “Okay”.

Mute Frank Moynihan
    Favourite Frank Moynihan
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:52 AM

Exactly. Sorry Mr. Snowden. Ireland only grants asylum to tax dodging billionaires not to citizens who are lookiong out for the greater good of all humanity. If you had anything to offer this country financially, our political lapdogs would have you here in a heartbeat.

Mute Bob Coggins
    Favourite Bob Coggins
    Jul 2nd 2013, 7:37 AM

He’d love mosney…

Mute Lisa Lawless
    Favourite Lisa Lawless
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:04 AM

Brilliant!!

Mute Patricia Mc Cann
    Favourite Patricia Mc Cann
    Jul 2nd 2013, 7:42 AM

Can’t see Enda standing up to Obama that would take balls. Hope he gets Asylum somewhere safe and can live in peace.

Mute T
    Favourite T
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:15 AM

100% agree.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:25 AM

Fcuk him. He’s placed the entire Western security system at risk.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Daniel Murray
    Favourite Daniel Murray
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:42 AM

Enola… you are a fcuking idiot

Mute Deasun Mac An Choiligh
    Favourite Deasun Mac An Choiligh
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:48 AM

This security system you refer to , who does it protect ? and from whom …

Mute Silent Majority
    Favourite Silent Majority
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:57 AM

They protect people from spyng on us Deasun. And obviously the only way they could possibly achieve that is by spying on us of course.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:05 AM

And you’re a fcuking moron Daniel. Just like the rest of the anti-US brigade.

Mute Gillian DeFaoite
    Favourite Gillian DeFaoite
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:06 AM

You need to educate yourself.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:10 AM

Ah yeah. It was only a matter if time before “educate yourself” arrived. You need to take off those roast tinted glasses and blinkers!

Mute Roz
    Favourite Roz
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:16 AM

It’s rose tinted glasses…

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:17 AM

*rose tinted

Mute Gillian DeFaoite
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:00 AM

I am not anti American, I am anti Any government who spies on their citizens, and on their allies.

I do not work for or answer to my government, they work for me, and they answer to me, that is how it is supposed to be.

Dig your head out of your arse and stand up for yourself.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:23 AM

Lol! You actually BELIEVE Enda and Co work for you :D

Mute Gillian DeFaoite
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:30 AM

No actually, I don’t.
    But that is going to change pretty soon. Mark my words.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:45 AM

Ah Gillian – keep dreaming my friend!!

Mute Gillian DeFaoite
    Jul 2nd 2013, 12:09 PM

*Fighting.

Mute Robert Parsons
    Favourite Robert Parsons
    Jul 2nd 2013, 12:25 PM

@ Gillian – do you seriously think that most goverments DONT spy on thier own citezens???

Mute Cathy Conley-Portka
    Favourite Cathy Conley-Portka
    Jul 2nd 2013, 12:37 PM

you can have the piece of garbage. But don’t cry in your beer when he turns on you!

Mute Bren Dan
    Favourite Bren Dan

Doesn’t make it right. Spying on foreign governments doesn’t sound very legal to me.

Mute Seán Kearns
    Favourite Seán Kearns
    Jul 2nd 2013, 1:06 PM

@ Robert, Just because some countries spy on their citizens doesn’t mean it should be tolerated by other countries. America has no right to spy on citizens who pose no threat, and they can’t justify themselves by saying that Russia or China or any other country does the same. All I want to hear from Obama on this is an apology and a pardon.

Mute Gillian DeFaoite
    Jul 2nd 2013, 1:44 PM

I seriously think that all Governments shouldn’t spy on their citizens.

Mute royston T justice
    Favourite royston T justice
    Jul 2nd 2013, 2:13 PM

ENOLA STRAIGHT – Thats nothing to do with ENOLA GAY right?

Because that makes me think you approve the actions of the B-29 bomber (enola gay) that dropped the first nuclear bomb on Japan by the US just as the 2nd world war was coming to an end anyway..

I think most people here are NOT anti-American, just very aware of their foreign policy & actions of the last few decades!

In reference to snowdon endangering the western world, the guy is brave to speak the truth!
    I think your forgetting George bush invading Iraq in 2003 with nothing but proven lies as an excuse for almost half a million dead already..

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 2:44 PM

Jaysus Royston you’re as sharp as a tack! That only dawn on you now?! As I said fcuk him. Regarding the A-Bombs that saved thousands upon thousands of Western lives so I don’t have. Problem with it actually.

Mute Daniel Murray
    Favourite Daniel Murray
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:40 PM

Ha ha ha ha! Your good for a laugh anyways.

Mute Sluggermctugger
    Favourite Sluggermctugger
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:03 AM

At least he applied before getting here.

Mute Silent Majority
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:48 AM

That’s actually why his application has been automatically rejected – only people in Ireland are eligible to apply for asylum here. So it’s not really the refugees’ fault that they arrive here without asylum status, it is the fault of our application system.

Mute BeeGee
    Favourite BeeGee
    Jul 2nd 2013, 7:40 AM

4th sentence..”wilileaks”..brilliant

Mute Apu Mohammed
    Favourite Apu Mohammed
    Jul 2nd 2013, 7:41 AM

Better get that looked at !

Mute Paul Keane
    Favourite Paul Keane

Hope he changed his underpants after that ;)

Mute CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:28 AM

I want to hear our official answer to this request. I want to know where this government stand on this situation.

Does Kenny and Co think its cool to let the mighty America gather all our private data behind our backs and just ignore it without comment? Do they think its cool to have EU offices bugged? Well I don’t, I think it’s disgusting. Bet you it will just be another nail in the coffin for this loser we have as Taoiseach. Hasn’t made a tough decision decisively since he slipped into power.

One for the road, ENDA… You’re a loser.

Mute Michelle Philpot
    Favourite Michelle Philpot
    Jul 2nd 2013, 7:47 AM

Sure his grandparents were from Kilkenny…

Mute Bren Dan
    Favourite Bren Dan
    Jul 2nd 2013, 12:00 PM

If he was any good at soccer we’d have him no bother :)

Mute Seán Kearns
    Favourite Seán Kearns
    Jul 2nd 2013, 1:07 PM

Ah ya never know, he could be better than the current lot we have playing for us!

Mute Ken Bracken
    Favourite Ken Bracken
    Jul 2nd 2013, 7:41 AM

A genuine application for asylum, we should but our government won’t. we are not the 51st state and so should not bow to America, sure he’d probably get a job with twitter here!

Mute Aindriú de Domhain
    Favourite Aindriú de Domhain
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:02 AM

His feet would barely touch Irish soil before he’d be handed over. Ireland would come under enormous US and EU pressure, the government would buckle like a coke can within hours.

Not the first time we’ve been asked for asylum, I think Trotsky applied to Ireland after Stalin went for him.

Mute Taxi Bill
    Favourite Taxi Bill
    Jul 2nd 2013, 2:25 PM

In the 1970s they used to hand back (genuine) asylum seekers at Shannon on a fairly regular basis to the Russians (from flights between Moscow and Cuba) Funny there was never a peace camp there then!!!!

Mute Dave Gaughran
    Favourite Dave Gaughran
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:37 AM

Remember when scientists, analysts, researchers and technicians used to defect from the USSR? It was understood as a sign that there was something rotten at the core of that system. Well; this is just the same thing.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:15 AM

They defected in droves. This guy was working in a sensitive area. What the fcuk does he expect? Seriously??

Mute Dave Gaughran
    Favourite Dave Gaughran
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:33 AM

They defected in droves because they had somewhere to defect to. Much more difficult for these whistle blowers. I’m sure if he wasn’t working in a “sensitive” (a nice way of putting it, to say the least) area he’d have nothing to say.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 2:48 PM

They defected in drives because life behind the Iron curtain was a horror story. At least get your facts straight.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 2:49 PM

*droves

Mute Rob Power
    Favourite Rob Power
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:39 AM

Just reading through the comments it shows what a sad state of affairs we’re in when none of us trust our government to be able to look his case and stand up for whats right. The US has been caught spying on all of Europe, Japan, South Korea, China , Japan, Russia ,South Africa and they are trying to play the victim. I don’t think so.

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Favourite Bramley Hawthorne
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:56 AM

The US didn’t have time to set him up with a honey trap or a car crash but he is believed to be carrying weapons of mass destruction in his hand luggage.

Mute joe dangermouse
    Favourite joe dangermouse
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:56 AM

He can move in with me and fix my laptop..I bet he’s lethal at candy crush saga.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:07 AM

There’s one application that went straight on the bin. Sure it would mean poor ole Enda having to grow a pair and tell the Yanks to mosey on when they came banging on the door looking for him.

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sean O'Sullivan
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:04 AM

Poor guy….I wonder does he now wish he had kept his head down at his keyboard and said nothing? His life is totally screwed.

Mute Kevin Hosford
    Favourite Kevin Hosford
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:11 AM

exposing a sinister act from his countries government on its people, I say he’d do it again in a heartbeat.

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:36 AM

Maybe Kevin….but at a huge personal cost. Unfortunately no one will remember his name a few years from now and the media will certainly have lost interest in his plight.

Mute Lisa Lawless
    Favourite Lisa Lawless
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:06 AM

And its that kind of thinking that keeps us in quiet in our houses instead of taking to the streets

Mute Gavin McGuinness
    Favourite Gavin McGuinness
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:41 AM

I disagree Sean. Just like Bradley Manning, this gentleman will be remember for years to come.

Mute Niall Dooley
    Favourite Niall Dooley
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:51 AM

@ Sean – I for one won’t be forgetting his name any time soon and I’ll do what I can to ensure others don’t either.

Mute sean
    Favourite sean
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:05 AM

“poor Guy” my arse

the dude is a living Legend ,he has done nothing wrong , all he done was reporting on something that is totally illegal.

Mute Joe Traynor
    Favourite Joe Traynor
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:13 AM

Bradley who?

Mute Emmet Purcell
    Favourite Emmet Purcell
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:36 AM

Disclosing classified information to the public is illegal. Prism – which I am completely opposed to, by the way – is not illegal in the US and is authorised by Section 702 of the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act. It’s unconstitutional but it’s not illegal.

I’ll obviously be red-thumbed for this comment but it’s important that people aren’t entitled to their own ‘facts’ on what is or isn’t illegal in this case.

Mute Silent Majority
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:21 AM

“It’s unconstitutional but it’s not illegal” – if something is unconstitutional it is by definition illegal. It really doesn’t matter what laws or legislation are passed by the legislature, and even if the Supreme Court has previously ruled such laws safe, if it runs counter to the constitution it is illegal. Maybe he should have petitioned the Supreme Court with his concerns, but then he probably didn’t have the few hundred grand required to do so and at the end of the day, the courts are only really there to protect the concerns of the rich, right?

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:25 AM

Very true, the American media have lost interest in what he exposed in favour of following the witch hunt that’s going on for the “traitor” that’s handing all their secrets over to the Russians and Chinese.

Mute Emmet Purcell
    Favourite Emmet Purcell
    Jul 2nd 2013, 12:26 PM

The act itself was not intended to override the Fourth Amendment but the NSA is pushing it to its absolute limits. The Amendment guarantees against unreasonable search and seizure and the NSA has operated under the required supervision of the FISA court. As such, their behavior is legal but they have disengenuously used recent amendments to further their own ends.

For example, in 2008 amendment 702 to the statute allowed the government to use electronic surveillance to collect foreign intelligence on non-US people it reasonably believes are abroad, without a court order for each target. Section 215 of the Patriot Act means that the government no longer has to prove telephony metadata scouring is in service of a target that is a foreign power, just that the records are sought as part of an investigation to protect against terrorism. Combine the two and hey presto, you’re legally spying on whoever you like.

Mute Silent Majority
    Jul 2nd 2013, 12:49 PM

Well then it’s not unconstitutional. My point was just that something cannot be, as you put it, “unconstitutional but… not illegal”. If amendments and articles are being pushed to their limit then they are not being violated. If any citizen feels that they have been pushed too far and have become unconstitutional they can petition the Supreme Court for review. However, as I mentioned, this is not a cheap process and is therefore, in practice, a supposedly universal right reserved for the rich.

Mute John Dobermann
    Favourite John Dobermann
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:45 AM

Its not too bad living in an airport. I saw this film once where Tom Hanks has to live in an airport and it was both funny and heart warming so it can’t be all bad!

Mute Don Griffin
    Favourite Don Griffin
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:59 AM

I saw this film called Superman and he was weally weally strong and he could fly and everything….that’d be nice too.

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey

What is going to happen to this poor guy? Imagine he was your brother or son, how heart breaking. I feel so bad for him. Why can he not stay in Russia? Surely they don’t give a damn about American “requests”.

Mute NWA
    Favourite NWA
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:17 AM

I hope the ignorant Irish now understand that people who claim asylum don’t ONLY emerge from the african continent.

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Favourite Montys Moonshine
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:21 AM

They seem to be the only ones who look for asylum at Dublin airport though.

Mute Lillian O'Connor
    Favourite Lillian O'Connor

NWA think you have a cheek calling the ordinary Irish people ignorant…if you don’t like it here well get back to wherever you’ve come from

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:08 AM

Lillian, you just proved his point.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:18 AM

No she didn’t. A typically stupid post about the scam that is “asylum”.

Mute NWA
    Favourite NWA
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:47 AM

Turns out , you are one of the ignorant Irish i referred to. How can you tell that i’m not a native?’ …. and by the way, there’s around 50,000 ‘illegal ‘( not Asylum seekers) Irish immigrants living in the USA – god knows how many in Australia. Almost a thousand leaving the country for greener pastures every week.

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:52 AM

Scam? Its a universal human right under the Geneva convention which we are signitories to! You don’t get to choose which rights apply to who.
    Also, two thirds of last years claims were found to be genuine.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:47 AM

Gearoid. Of course they were! Lol!

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Jul 2nd 2013, 12:08 PM

Why’s that funny? Look around the world, there’s many millions of people in really horrible situations who deserve our sympathy and, if they can get here, asylum and our help. I just wish we’d a better system where we processed claims quickly and got genuine asylum seekers being productive as soon as possible and quickly deported the rest with a minimum of expense and fuss.

Mute Gillian DeFaoite
    Jul 2nd 2013, 12:13 PM

It is ignorant to refer to any group in such a generalising way.
    I am Irish and I take offence to your ignorant comment.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 2:46 PM

Yeah Gearoid. Let’s just open the floodgates. As if things aren’t bad enough already. What planet are you on??

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 2:46 PM

And I at yours Gillian :)

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Jul 2nd 2013, 2:56 PM

Floodgates?! What planet are YOU on?! 1,200 applicants last year, lowest in ten years. Two thirds genuine. Genuine, most likely meaning they’ve come from circumstances so horrific or threat so serious that they’ve been granted asylum. Escaping things you can’t possibly equate to the “hardship” facing this country. Floodgates, that term makes me laugh. At the current rate we get the same amount of asylum seekers a year as we have Irish people emmigrating every two weeks!

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 3:00 PM

Ha ha! Even better from your perspective I suppose. Dump out some Irish and replace them with “asylum seekers”.

Tell me Gearoid – where’s the number we can ring to verify whether or not they are rapists, paedophiles, or criminals. Well??

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Jul 2nd 2013, 3:26 PM

Your first statement doesn’t even make sense.

As for your very loaded question, I’d guess those questions, amongst others, are asked by the Office of the Refugee Applications Commissioner and pressumably the people that are employed do deal with these applications have been doing this long enough to know how best to assess how genuine the case is. As much as is possible anyway.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:58 PM

Ah right. “Are you a paedophile” “No” “That’s grand then”.

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:55 PM

Yeah sure, that’s it. The floodgates are open for the influx of paedophiles from across the globe. You figured it out, its not homosexuals from extremist Muslim countries, its not rape victims from Congo or political exiles or any of the other usual people that flee their homelands. Its an international pedo ring after Irish kids.

I’m starting to suspect you’re just taking the piss because that is some of the most arseways logic I’ve heard!

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 3rd 2013, 10:58 AM

Gearoid – “arseways logic” would describe your outlook anyway. Accepting people in good faith without any proof. UK or France anyone? It’s people with your outlook that has things as they are.

Mute orla
    Favourite orla
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:43 AM

Let him come here,we need him here,he could let the Irish People know what the Government and Bankers are up to.i

Mute Dawn Keeballs
    Favourite Dawn Keeballs
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:22 AM

Doesn’t really matter where he ends up if he goes back to america he will be locked up for life, if he finds a country to shelter him he will some how find himself in a most horrible sky diving accident or something along those lines. Cards are marked no matter what

Mute Tracy Ni Bhraonain
    Favourite Tracy Ni Bhraonain
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:05 AM

I think we should let him come live here!

Mute Heeps
    Favourite Heeps
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:08 AM

If he comes here they can bring him into Shannon and he can wave at the American troops on their way to slaughter anything that moves in the Middle East.. Democratically, lawfully, slaughter of course, cos that’s obviously fine… The US Gov have some brass neck!!

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:49 AM

As the man himself said in so many words ” Its not me that Obama is afraid of, its the American people”

Mute Lauren O'Halleron
    Favourite Lauren O'Halleron
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:42 AM

I have to agree with people who suggest we’d just hand him over. We would, and all for a pat on the head from the Americans. Poor guy, I hope he doesn’t spend his life behind bars. Surely he prepared for this.

Mute Naomi Taylor
    Favourite Naomi Taylor
    Jul 2nd 2013, 7:57 AM

Asylum? Give me a break.. This guy is cheapening the plight of genuine asylum seekers

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:05 AM

Yea…like all the genuine ones we already have here!!

Mute Joe Traynor
    Favourite Joe Traynor
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:25 AM

This exactly the type of person the asylum laws exist to protect, this is the very definition of political asylum, I don’t know enough about the mans intentions or motives to say he was right to do what he did but if he was motivated by a genuine political view that what his government was doing was wrong then he should qualify for asylum under our system.

Mute gingerman
    Favourite gingerman
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:56 AM

Luckily for him we need to suck Yankee di*k so there won’t be any welcome in the parlour for him. I will swop if he wants. The transit lounge of Moscow airport offers more potential than the rest of my life in this ass wipe kip

Mute Emer Sugrue
    Favourite Emer Sugrue
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:43 AM

Ireland would be a terrible bet. If Russia and China can be pressured we haven’t got a hope. He probably wouldn’t even hit the tarmac, we’d just redirect the flight straight to Washington.

Mute Gillian DeFaoite
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:08 AM

Snowden, We’ d have ya if it were up to me, but you’re better off somewhere else. The weather here is shite.

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:01 AM

He bears an uncanny resemblance to a young James Joyce, let him in ,he’s one of ours.

Mute Bren Dan
    Favourite Bren Dan
    Jul 2nd 2013, 12:41 PM

Ha ha. Have you ever read Joyce’s letters to Nora Barnacle? He loved the kinky loving.

Mute R
    Favourite R
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:30 AM

He can live with me.

Mute Dublinjonny
    Favourite Dublinjonny
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:04 AM

He just heard about our dole for foreigners

Mute John Quinn
    Favourite John Quinn
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:38 AM

Doesn’t matter what anyone thinks should happen. Or why he did what he did. It’s still a crime and the punishment should stand. Everyone always gives out about “the rich and famous” getting off. Why should this guy get off? I’m sure he was aware of the risks so let him stand and take a punishment like a man. Otherwise he’s nothing more than another glorified keyboard warrior.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:34 AM

Is your ivory tower warm in the summer?

Mute tommii cosgrove
    Favourite tommii cosgrove
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:07 AM

@John Quinn – actually it does matter, one cannot sue for breach of contract of one is already in breach and by the same standard a government cannot commit a crime and then accuse the whistle blower of committing a crime by reporting and disclosing that crime

governments don’t have Carte Blanche rights to commit crimes against its people

whistleblowers have and should continue to have protection especially if Governments are committing serious crimes

the original crime was worse than the whistle blowing

and the ad nausea statements that only those that are committing crimes should be concerned by illegal intrusions into our lives and records that the innocent have nothing to fear goes against all good governance, due process and the rule of law

Mute sean
    Favourite sean
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:09 AM

exactly what crime did he commit John ?

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:12 AM

That’s it John. Where did he think he was working? A summer camp? Gas though to see all the Che/Victor apologists chanting ‘down with that sort of thing’.

Mute tommii cosgrove
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:21 AM

@Enola Straight – don’t confuse my use of a well used graphic image with my politics, legal principles or observance of the rule of law – the principles of which protect Snowden

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whistleblower_Protection_Act

so again I stand by the rule of law that exists – and in this case it could be easily argued that he was in breach of his employment contract but is entitled to whistleblower protection

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:28 AM

Tommi – not aimed directly at you (only noticed your avatar now) but in all fairness what did he expect? Seriously? Spying goes in. It has done for decades. And will continue to do so.

He worked for the NSA. He knew what was expected. And what would happen if he acted the bollix. No sympathy.

Mute tommii cosgrove
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:34 AM

Enola – to a point, ur right, but the NSA still qualifies as a GOV Agency that entities employees to report serious crimes

spying, whether on other countries or not is still unacceptable – we just turn a blind eye when it’s to our advantage

but too often we hear the USA complain that China or Russia has spied on them and how terrible and low and despicable it all is

goose gander pot kettle – call it what you like

they were caught with their hand in the Cookie jar and as always want a scale goat

all will have a exemption or get out clause except Snowden

that’s how it is I agree – but doesn’t make it right

but I accept ur principle argument albeit I don’t agree with the position

Mute Robert Parsons
    Favourite Robert Parsons

@ tommii – you right he does have protection IF he makes an offical complaint and then because of that is “persecuted” etc. –

But thats not what he did or at least whats been reported he did. He seems to have made no attempt to make a complaint via the correcet channels in america what he did was run away and pubish sensitive or secret information or the other way around i aint sure.

Whether you like it or not the NSA does not appear to have broken american law. also if the law they were using to collect information was on the statue book it could not have breached teh consitution as it would either have not been allowed to be signed in to law or would have been struck down by the courts neither of which has happened.

Mute tommii cosgrove
    Jul 2nd 2013, 2:19 PM

thanks Robert, I would disagree on the or basis that we are not just taking about US law, but even if it was just the USA, the constitution protects the liberties of its citizens from unnecessary intrusions from GOV such as this even though when scripted current information sources weren’t available

“The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized”

since no such subpoena or legal instruments are being issued all subsequent collections are illegal intrusive and in breach of the US 4th Amendment

additionally – the alien tort claims act allows a crime that was planned arranged organised or financed from US soil but actioned in another jurisdiction to be an actionable cause of retribution and is a crime when the information accessed was not permissible or the owners permission given

illegal surveillance is illegal – period

and if it’s illegal and unauthorised it’s a crime punishable by up to 15 years for embrace offence

additionally u can’t get a warrant or subpoena without lawful cause – wanting one isn’t a just reason to get one – the ppl must be shown to be committing serious crimes to even get a search warrant

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 2nd 2013, 7:51 AM

We have plenty of anti-Irish Irish traitors so we can’t point finger.

Mute Adam Power
    Favourite Adam Power
    Jul 2nd 2013, 7:57 AM

He’s not exactly seen as a traitor by the US public though, just the intelligence service and Government.

Mute Kevin Hosford
    Favourite Kevin Hosford
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:12 AM

Give it time and they’ll warp his image.

Mute Adam Reeves
    Favourite Adam Reeves
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:59 AM

‘Wili-leaks’ not the best typo to make ;)

Mute Adam Reeves
    Favourite Adam Reeves

Just read the rest of the comments – and realise I look like a fool…

Mute Povilas Auškalnis
    Favourite Povilas Auškalnis
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:22 AM

“Wilileaks has said”

Good job, TheJournal, good job.

Mute Lillian O'Connor
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:24 AM

No way give this guy asylum

Mute Monica Lillis
    Favourite Monica Lillis
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:28 AM

Lets hope you never need to ask someone for help Lillian.

Mute Lillian O'Connor
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:46 AM

St Monica.

Mute Monica Lillis
    Favourite Monica Lillis
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:08 AM

Wow! I’m no saint, but I didn’t realise being saintly is considered an insult now. Edward Snowden, I’m sure, is no saint either. But he has, for no personal gain, exposed a massive breach of trust and invasion of privacy on the part of his government. And all he is asking for is for a place to stay.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:47 AM

He himself is in breach of trust. That’s. double-edged sword.

Mute Gavin McGuinness
    Favourite Gavin McGuinness
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:51 AM

Unfortunately, I can’t see it happening. The Department of Justice has said that such applications can only be made by the person within the State. It would be way too risky for him to chance his arm at asylum here in Ireland. He would be shipped off as soon as he landed. Would love for him to choose here.

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:29 AM

Not only should the government grant his asylum here, he should be made an honorary citizen, for exposing what he has, the man is a hero.

Here is Obama’s statement on whistleblowers in his 2008 ‘Change’ election campaign:

Protect Whistleblowers: Often the best source of information about waste, fraud, and abuse in government is an existing government employee committed to public integrity and willing to speak out. Such acts of courage and patriotism, which can sometimes save lives and often save taxpayer dollars, should be encouraged rather than stifled. We need to empower federal employees as watchdogs of wrongdoing and partners in performance. Barack Obama will strengthen whistleblower laws to protect federal workers who expose waste, fraud, and abuse of authority in government. Obama will ensure that federal agencies expedite the process for reviewing whistleblower claims and whistleblowers have full access to courts and due process.

Mute Gahan Frost
    Favourite Gahan Frost
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:03 AM

US will send Liberty statue to France back to France soon too.

Mute Karl Waters
    Favourite Karl Waters
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:58 AM

I’d like to throw in my weight at this stage of the proceedings. Snowden can stay in my spare room, as long as he chips in with a few odd jobs around the gaff.

Mute phooey
    Favourite phooey
    Jul 2nd 2013, 12:17 PM

If he was allowed in I pretty sure we would get a lot more visitors from the states for one Reason or another

Mute Disco Dee
    Favourite Disco Dee
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:58 AM

So the guy takes their money, commits a crime, tells everybody about it and expects to get away scott free. He is either naive or an Irish banker

Mute CharlieHinkle
    Favourite CharlieHinkle
    Jul 2nd 2013, 1:25 PM

I have to agree with Jfash9. Accepting Snowden’s asylum request would seriously damage our relationship with the US, which in difficult economic times like this, should be well maintained. Jobs and trade are far more important to this country right now.

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:58 AM

Usa would have him lifted within a week

Mute Mark Mahon
    Favourite Mark Mahon
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:48 AM

I do n’t believe that a bit- that he applied for asylum in Ireland

Mute royston T justice
    Favourite royston T justice
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:41 AM

..you would think he would be granted asylum after all the thousands before him, however he will not be granted asylum.
    We are one of the US lacky countries & Enda won’t rock the boat..
    What a disgusting government we have!

Mute Catherine Hayward
    Favourite Catherine Hayward
    Jul 2nd 2013, 1:14 PM

It truly amazes me that we kick off when Banker’s and other’s keep secret’s and lie to us, then we hum,and end up doing sod all about it, Yet here is a young Man one of the younger Generation we all talk about and hope they are honest and care about the truth and doing the right thing, Yet low and behold where has it got him trying to do exactly that, ( we are like the tea advert…all talk )……

Mute toubini
    Favourite toubini
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:16 AM

What’s the Government’s reaction to Snowden’s leaks?

Has the Taoiseach called in the US Ambassador first thing in the morning and demanded explanation?

Are members of the Government and the Oireachtas using devices using software by companies allegedly spying for NSA: Apple, Google or Microsoft? Is it possible they are being spied on through those devices?

Has anyone official demanded explanation from American companies located in Ireland (Google, Apple, Microsoft, others) who allegedly are spying on “non-Americans”? (hint: that’s us).

I don’t think anyone bothered to ask. We just gathered to wave to the Obamas like the village idiots while Germans protested against them.

Mute Jfash9
    Favourite Jfash9
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:26 AM

We have to be pragmatic here. While it is easy to empathize with the man and support what he did, it is more crucial for Ireland to maintain solid relations with the U.S, particularly in the current global climate. The last thing we need is a diminished relationship with a major trade partner.

Mute Bren Dan
    Favourite Bren Dan
    Jul 2nd 2013, 12:44 PM

Taking the soup.

Mute Lorraine Mc Grath
    Favourite Lorraine Mc Grath
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:01 AM

When’s the film coming out !

Mute Lou Brennan
    Favourite Lou Brennan
    Jul 2nd 2013, 3:43 PM

Let him in. We could do with a few more whistleblowers around here.

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 2nd 2013, 12:17 PM

America has and is defending us and Europe so why have sympathy for a traitor.

Mute Lillian O'Connor
    Jul 2nd 2013, 12:45 PM

I agree with you Tom

Mute Wendy Willard
    Favourite Wendy Willard
    Jul 2nd 2013, 1:32 PM

he’s more than welcome to move in with us.

Mute R H Beige Lark
    Favourite R H Beige Lark
    Jul 2nd 2013, 7:17 PM

Hmmm. I’d like the editors to tell me why they decided to remove my comment.

Mute R H Beige Lark
    Favourite R H Beige Lark
    Jul 2nd 2013, 7:45 PM

Oops. My bad. Apologies… Wrong article. :D

Mute Jack Green
    Favourite Jack Green
    Jul 2nd 2013, 12:48 PM

No.That wouldn’t be nice. That wouldn’t suit Paddys agenda. Making americans angry! No way! What if angry americans will start deporting all illegal irish migrants,millions of them.