You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Coveney set to freeze bin charges for 12 months

The environment minister held discussions with Ireland’s waste companies today.

File Photo Bin charges treble for customers as companies accused of operating a cartel. MINISTER FOR THE Environment will bring in legislation if private companies are found to be abusing the new pay by weight system by hiking up prices for customers.

Updated 20.24

MINISTER FOR THE Environment Simon Coveney appears set to freeze bin charges for at least the next 12 months in an attempt to draw a line under the current bin charges controversy.

Speaking to RTÉ News this evening after a day in which he spoke with representatives of some of Ireland’s waste companies, Coveney said it was important, as Ireland moves to a new pay-by-weight household waste system, that “while we’re in transition that people get the time and space to adjust to that”.

“That’s why I have asked the industry to support me in ensuring that nobody pays more next year than this year,” Coveney said.

We want to move to reassure people that nobody is going to get ripped off during the move from the current system to a pay by weight structure.

Last week, the issue of price hikes was raised by a number of TDs in the Dáil, with some members saying the waste collection companies were operating “a cartel”.

Bin charges have risen by 200% for some customers ahead of the new pay-by-weight system that is due to kick in on 1 July.

“We want a 12-month period whereby households will get used to the new system,” said Coveney.

He said that if waste companies don’t agree to his suggestion then it could be enforced by the enactment of “either primary or secondary legislation”.

The minister added that once the new package regarding charges is in place he would be reaching out to all political parties in the hope of achieving a “shared objective” of introducing a pay-by-weight system “that makes sense for everyone”.

Earlier

Today’s discussion followed on from Coveney’s meeting in Athlone last week, where he met representatives from some of the bigger waste operators, including Panda Waste, Greyhound, CityBin and Clean Ireland.

The new system was the former Environment Minister Alan Kelly’s baby, aimed at making people more aware of their waste and to encourage recycling.

However, just a few weeks before the system came online, a number of companies increased the yearly standing charges. Some prices went from €50 per year being replaced with weekly service fees of €2 or €3.

20/10/2015 Cabinet Meetings Photocall Ireland Photocall Ireland

Price hikes 

Kelly said on Friday he did not envisage price hikes under the new system and claimed he had “made it perfectly clear” to waste companies that if they tried to exploit the situation in this way, the Statutory Instrument (used to bring in the pay-per-weight system) would be revised “to force their hands”.

The Tipperary deputy called on the current minister to respond appropriately by restricting the standing charge a company can impose.

Following concerns being raised in public, the competition watchdog, the Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (CCPC) has stepped in and launched an investigation into the sector.

Freezing charges

Minister Coveney is expected to make his plans known tomorrow after he gets approval from Cabinet on the best way forward.

It’s believed he plans to freeze bin charges in an attempt to prevent another utility disaster.

File Photo Bin charges treble for customers as companies accused of operating a cartel. MINISTER FOR THE Environment will bring in legislation if private companies are found to be abusing the new pay by weight system by hiking up prices for customers. Laura Hutton Laura Hutton

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, the Minister for Social Protection, Leo Varadkar said some waste companies are trying to “take advantage of this new system to hike the charges”.

That is not something we are going to allow.

However, the question remains - can the government stop private companies from hiking up the charges?

While Varadkar said he did not want to pre-empt Minister Coveney’s announcement tomorrow, he said the government did have options open to them.

“There are things that can be done. The minister can make new regulations, potentially they could cap charges,” said Varadkar.

People should pay for the waste they produce but the charges have to be fair.

Meanwhile, two opposition parties have their own plans to tackle the rising cost of bin charges.

An AAA-PBP private members’ motion will come before the Dáil tomorrow calling for an immediate ministerial order to prevent companies increasing charges.

Sinn Féin will has a separate motion to get rid of charges in the Seanad on Wednesday.

Deputy party leader Mary Lou McDonald said an ultimatum should be given to the waste companies - reduce the standing charges or he will bring in new legislation. 

There has been speculation that any new legislation or regulations introduced by government will most likely be appealed to the courts.

Additional reporting Cianan Brennan

Originally published 10.29am

Read: Alan Kelly: ‘I never envisaged the dramatic increase in bin charges’

Read: Bin charges treble for customers as companies accused of operating ‘a cartel’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

175 Comments
    Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:35 AM

Simple solution if it wasn’t broke why try to fix it, so revert back to the previous charging system and scrap this new charging system which as we’ve seen is more hassle than its worth, we already recycle more than enough in comparison with other countries.

Mute BlueSkyThinking
    Favourite BlueSkyThinking
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:42 AM

The current system isn’t broken, but the goalposts are moving under deadlines set back in 2001 by the EU law. This isn’t about recycling, which we are doing very well in, it’s about waste we don’t recycle (that goes to landfill). If we only managed to build those incinerators that have been tied up in planning objections…oh well, we reap what we sow.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:58 AM

We only ever do things that are more hassle than they’re worth. Why break a losing formula?

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:29 PM

BlueSky, it’s nothing to do with the EU. It’s all to do with Alan Kelly meeting up with the chairman of Cerebus who happen to own Greenstar waste disposal here, and coming back and legislating for pay by weight.
    It’s just one more example of the government legislating to help private enterprise screw people for all they can get.

Mute michael walsh
    Favourite michael walsh
    Jun 20th 2016, 1:21 PM

Yeah and who is opposing the building of incinerators but the waste companies who are dumping huge amounts of waste into landfills that could be burnt and turned into electricity

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Jun 20th 2016, 2:25 PM

The free marketeers like Alan Kelly often feign surprise when the free market operates exactly as it’s designed to. That is to maximize profits at the expense of their workers and customers.
    Privatization of essential public services is a recipe for worker and user exploitation. Let’s remember who’s collecting our rubbish now following privatization. The Buckley brothers (an investment banker and an accountant) who own Greyhound are ruthless employers cutting their workers’ pay by 35% in 2014, locked out the workers who resisted and used scab labour in an effort to break the strike.

In addition the Buckleys are tax dodging parasites who have gone to great lengths to avoid making any contribution to the society which they prey on having transferred their shares to limited liability companies in the Isle of Man. This is the same firm who were forced to make a €1.3 million settlement with Iarnroid Eireann for overcharging on a previous contract.

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/shane-ross/shane-ross-stench-as-rubbish-firm-wins-26820749.html

The waste collection service should be taken back into public ownership.

Mute BlueSkyThinking
    Jun 20th 2016, 2:42 PM

@Dave Doyle. Cork County Council were operating pay by weight (back in 2001) long before the private companies took over waste collection. I know because I was a customer. When the private companies took over Cork County Councils route, they got rid of pay by wieght and introduced pay by use. The Dept of Environment was not happy with the private companies dropping the pay by weight. The reintroduction of pay by wieght has been on the cards since then. Not too sure where Alan Kelly was back in 2001.

Mute BlueSkyThinking
    Jun 20th 2016, 2:44 PM

At Micahel Walsh, agreed, but there are also plenty of local action groups against incineration. These are my local nimby’s http://chasecorkharbour.com/

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    Jun 20th 2016, 3:47 PM

this current mess is the result of the political imbecile that is calamity alan kelly,,everything he touches ends up rubber ducked

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jun 20th 2016, 5:28 PM

BlueSky, i don’t give a flying one what CCC were doing back in 2001. It is no mere coincidence that Alan Kelly comes back after his meeting with Dan Quayle and legislates for pay by weight, and service charges go through the roof.
    It’s the very same as Noonan and his meetings with vulture funds, lo and behold legislation is brought in to make it easier for banks and vulture funds to evict people.
    This government, like the last one, works for banks and corporations, exclusively. It taxes people as if they pay for services,and taxes heavily, and at the same time opens the utilities that provide such services to privatisation.
    The government is doing a great job of helping the rich get richer, and ordinary people very much poorer. And you see nothing wrong with that?

Mute mary harris
    Favourite mary harris
    Jun 20th 2016, 6:14 PM

Problem is that the companies have invested millions for this new system & will want to recoup their cost. Total mess badly thought out & rushed through just like the water.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:40 PM

Have they invested millions? Or were they subsidised?

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:49 PM

Most of the companies already have the systems in place

Mute Adrienne Lyons
    Favourite Adrienne Lyons
    Jun 20th 2016, 9:02 PM

How did they invest millions? All they did was send out letters

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jun 20th 2016, 9:07 PM

Draw a line under it?? I’m not having it..when the heat goes out of this in a years time, the collection companies will jack up their rates. The conversations going on with Coveney now is a smoke screen. They’re still treating us like imbeciles.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:35 PM

The rip off is simply a consequence of the privatisation of formerly public services.

I doubt that capping charges can be achieved in a legally effective way.

The market rules where private commercial services are involved.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:39 AM

They can do nothing right.
    Always making a pigs Mickey out of the simplest of things.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:53 AM

P1ssup in a brewery comes to mind.

Jun 21st 2016, 5:19 AM

Seems like Coveney is showing some initiative here! With this useless bunch, the standard solution to every problem is raise taxes. The new tactic now seems to be (like IW), freeze payments for 9 months or a year, and then…….well I dunno? Isn’t it just kicking the can down the road?

Mute Joe Murphy
    Favourite Joe Murphy
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:40 AM

The government claims that pay by weight is being introduced because of an EU directive. I have my doubts. In Stockport (Manchester), they don’t have pay by weight. And no talk of it being introduced either.

Mute Teddington
    Favourite Teddington
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:44 AM

Not while there’s a Brexit campaign to be won, these things need to be cloak and dagger! Sure the EU is grand for jobs!

Mute BlueSkyThinking
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:46 AM

The EU sets the targets, but it’s up to countries indivdually as to how they reach those targets. I’m not a fan of pay by weight anyway. How does the wieght of an object affect how much space it takes up in a landfill? Weight is an issue for transportation costs (diesel) I’ll admit.

Mute Robin Tobin
    Favourite Robin Tobin
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:46 PM

@bluesky just read my weight for a year into bins collected it is 1975 kilos if I pay Panda .27 cent per kilo plus vat @ 13.5% plus yearly fee €86 I am paying €362 more and I recycle. Everyone will pay this. Before charges my bin cost €9.05 every third week plus yearly charge of €110 it was much cheaper.
    People should protest next week like the extortion stepping platform to water charges which has ceased. Bins when first introduced for charging had people go to jail to stop what is developing on 1st of July this year from happening.

Protests will save the planet from illegally dumping because these charges need to be stopped

Mute Sean Lyne
    Favourite Sean Lyne
    Jun 21st 2016, 7:24 AM

With almost 2 ton of waste you can’t be doing much recycling.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:42 AM

Of course they can be frozen. The legislation to introduce pay-by-weight hasn’t passed through the Seanad yet, so if the AAA-PBP private members bill this week doesn’t sort things, then SF can move to have it blocked in the upper house.

Say NO to price gouging by cartels.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Favourite tommy macdonagh
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:50 AM

would charging $500 for dinner be considered price gouging?

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:55 AM

Ah Tommy . Even enda likes to charge for dinner.
    TAOISEACH Enda Kenny will tonight celebrate 40 years in the Dail with a private party . . . for 400.

The lavish bash at the luxurious Breaffy House resort in Castlebar, Co Mayo, is by invitation only, with guests forking out €50 a head to attend.

See 34 more replies ▾
    Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:59 AM

“would charging $500 for dinner be considered price gouging?”

Not compared to the two grand a plate FG used to charge, no.

http://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/election-funding-system-serves-to-undermine-public-trust-1.995480

“Fine Gael organised three corporate dinners in 2006 at an average of €2,000 a head.”

Mute Bill Rooney
    Favourite Bill Rooney
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:01 AM

E50 – $500.

Just a bit of a difference?

One covers the cost, the other is a ‘donation’…

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:06 AM

40 years, well done enda :)

Mute Diarmuid Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Lenihan
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:17 AM

40 years a parasite on Irish society. The sooner the useless pr1ck fooks off the better.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:19 AM

our greatest ever leader :)

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:20 AM

Tommy. 40 years, a parasite well done indeed.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:26 AM

it will be some party to honor the great man :)

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:34 AM

You don’t organise partys for political corpses tommy, you’re thinking of a wake.

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:40 AM

“it will be some party to honor the great man :)”

For you Tommy I’d say it will be, a box of kleenex, some hand lotion and your favourite picture of Enda.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:50 AM

40 years Dane eh… And in 40 years what did this gombeen freeloader achieve.. Nothing, zilch, SFA. In fact I reckon your driving school would have achieved more in 1 year than that eejet will ever accomplish in his lifetime. He even had to beg to get back in. Some *so called* leader alright. Oh sorry I forgot your trademark ( :) )

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:02 PM

tommy and Enda are a perfect match, in fairness. When in doubt, grin like an idiot and say something irrelevant

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:09 PM

Some part eh Tommy. What will enda charge for that party?.€100.
    Our greatest ever leader Tommy. Isn’t that what the n Korean say about kim Jung yon

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:11 PM

returned as toiaseach that must really hurt they shinners after their 5 years of spouting nonsense, its no wonder every just laughs at you lot :D

united ireland any day now huh :D

Mute Michael Clinton
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:17 PM

Well Dane/richie/rodgers/tommy etc etc etc,I was actually wondering when you would come out with your shinners drivel. This is about the the greatest “waster” this country has and ever will see.. Kenny. Get back to your driving school ,you must have a customer to look after. ( :) ;) :D :P etc )

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:18 PM

“returned as toiaseach”

By Fianna Fail, yes Tommy what an achievement. Proves the man is a weasel and a turncoat,someone not to be trusted. Not surprising that you would have a crush on him.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:18 PM

European of the year too, what a fantastic leader, sure its no wonder he was reelected as toaiseach :)

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:21 PM

Returned witn no actual power and serving at the behest of Michael Martin. Political corpse washes up on beach in Wales climing to have swam the irish sea.

Yep, some achievement all right.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:23 PM

are you suggesting enda is not the taoiseach?

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:24 PM

모든 위대한 지도자 우박
    modeun widaehan jidoja ubag
    Do you say it in your sleep Tommy.

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:24 PM

That’s the FG mentality, achieved nothing for 40 years but he’s been there for 40 years so this make him a success.

Sure isn’t that why he’s leader of FG in the first place, extremely low standards.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:25 PM

they achieved the most votes Les …. just saying like :D

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan

“are you suggesting enda is not the taoiseach?”

You see, as I said, extremely low standards!

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:26 PM

His such a success Tommy that he has raked up , how many pensions now. Not forgetting the €100.000 cash lump sum and €30.000 a year teaching pension for his staggering 4 years teaching. That’s his legacy.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:27 PM

befitting a man of his stature, i hope he enjoys every cent as no one deserves it more :)

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:28 PM

The man has absolutely no sense of dignity. The electorate clearly told him to jog on, yet through secret meetings and promises of god-knows-what to Mehole, he brazenly clung to “power” like an unashamed military dictator.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:30 PM

except he was democratically elected both as a TD and as Taoiseach :)

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:32 PM

Propped up by Fianna Fail and you think this is an achievement?

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:35 PM

“I have great faith in fools – self-confidence my friends will call it.”
    ― Edgar Allan Poe, Marginalia ,
    This you Tommy.
    I

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:36 PM

first ever FG taoiseach returned is some achievement alright les, no better man to do it than our enda :)

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:40 PM

He couldn’t do with it without Fianna Fail, he’s answerable to Fianna Fail, the party partly responsible for destroying our economy and this is a great achievement?

Yep Tommy you are as I have always suspected since your very first days here as Vincent, not very bright at all!

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Favourite SickOfCorruption
    Jun 20th 2016, 1:22 PM

Tommy such shameless sycophanicy, don’t forget the knee pads for tonight.

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Jun 20th 2016, 4:51 PM

Hands up who would pay 50 euro to have dinner with Enda.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:37 PM

When formerly public services are privatised, there is no unchallengeable legally effective way off limiting or capping price increases.

Market rules, K.O.

Mute Chris Treacy
    Favourite Chris Treacy
    Jun 21st 2016, 7:50 AM

A walking headless fcuking chicken..is what that clown is….same as that gobs#ite from tipperary

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:43 AM

The fact the didn’t see coming , says enough , they did and like everything ignored it. Till it’s was out of control.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:44 AM

They didn’t see it coming.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 1:55 PM

Didn’t a previous minister of the last government meet with Cerberus. Who happen to own a waste management company. As usual no minutes. Did fg miss that. No . They just ignored it. Or Did they?????be bit hard to not know what ministers of your government are discussing.

Mute Julian McCormick
    Favourite Julian McCormick
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:12 PM

This is the problem when a utility type service is privatised, eventually they get greedy and hike up prices. This was the fear with Irish water. Besides, charging by weight is not a fair charge, for example a family disposing a lot of heavy nappies will pay a huge amount for what is essentially just water.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:43 PM

Just water? What on earth are you feeding your babies?

Mute FeynmanSays
    Favourite FeynmanSays
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:57 PM

Absolutely agree on the nappies – 3 kids in this house and we’ve been disposing of nappies into the black bin for 6 years. Weight is largely water. If someone has a device for evaporating the water without releasing the stench I’d happily buy it.

Mute 3monkey
    Favourite 3monkey
    Jun 21st 2016, 8:49 AM

Yes , It’s called a fire.Which is where a lot of waste is going to end up as a result of this latest development.

Mute Business Cat
    Favourite Business Cat
    Jun 21st 2016, 11:07 AM

We have 1 baby/kitten.

I actually weighed a wet nappy…. they come in around 200g.
    The lad goes through 5 nappys a day…. ergo: 5 x 200g = 1kg
    That amounts to 30kgs a month…
    @ 33c per kg (in our area) this means that disposing nappies alone will be at least €10 per month..

or, to put it another way over €120 PER YEAR just to dispose of f*cking nappies!

We were paying €290 per year to our waste provider!

This is insane!

Jun 20th 2016, 11:35 AM

Just like the political pensions. They can’t do anything but they have to take the pension rises.
    God we’ve got a right bunch of ignoramasus running this country.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen

I use Panda and you can see the weight of each lift in their web site. My last bill was 34.80, when billing per Kg comes in the same bill will be 89.91. That’s a bit of a steep increase

Mute Richard Doherty
    Favourite Richard Doherty
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:08 AM

The eu is good for creating employment but is also good for privitasition of public services which people are forced to pay for which erodes workers living standards

Mute Tom Kevin
    Favourite Tom Kevin
    Jun 20th 2016, 2:50 PM

€196 service charge and 35c a kilo .Average lift will be 30 kilos or more so the real cost will be over €420 a year if the black bin is just used.
    A complete rip off. How do you stop someone using your bin when it is out for collection.

Mute Chris Treacy
    Favourite Chris Treacy
    Jun 21st 2016, 7:49 AM

Hey tom did you ever see darren from love hate …when some lad was dumping rubbish in his sisters bin….thats what ill do if i catch a c#nt doing that

Mute Tom Kevin
    Favourite Tom Kevin
    Jun 22nd 2016, 6:55 PM

problem is some feckers will do this under the cover of darkness.

Mute Susan Lloyd
    Favourite Susan Lloyd
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:40 PM

where is our exact breakdown of what that property bond holder tax pays? will revenue give us a breakdown?
    Rip off Ireland. least in Uk they get a breakdown for their council tax? beginning to think ours just goes into the
    pension pots of these so called TD’s. that LPT needs to be looked at.. no means/ability to pay etc.. makes my blood boil

Mute Fjordie
    Favourite Fjordie
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:09 PM

No direct bin charges in England as its included in your council tax.

Empty or full bin – it’s still the same price

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:17 PM

And for every person in Ireland that pays there are about 12 people paying in the UK. Have you heard of the concept of ‘economies of scale’

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:28 PM

Yep as is emergency services etc. At least you get something in the UK for your council tax/ property tax. Here you get nothing. Potholes in the road’s.

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:39 PM

Council tax in the UK pays for libraries, transport/local buses, refuse collection, police, parks, road cleaning/maintenance, water/sewerage etc. An average household will pat about £180 a month and it’s a much fairer system.

Mute Mary King
    Favourite Mary King
    Jun 20th 2016, 9:46 PM

Surely then we produce 1/12 the rubbish as they do in UK ?

Mute Joe Murphy
    Favourite Joe Murphy

If they are gonna defer these charges for a year, then they should force providers to issue “dummy” bills for pay-per-weight alongside current charges to show exactly how much people would have paid if the system was fully in force. The data is available. It would very quickly point out any obvious gouging and also help people get more used to it and help them adjust their behavior in time for the real billing.

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:43 AM

How could a man responsible for so many failures have an ego the size of his? Silly me, I almost forgot, this is the land where we celebrate failure and mediocrity.

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:16 PM

Water gouging tax-bin gouging tax-and an increase in property gouging tax on the way.??

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:21 AM

Pressure should be put on suppliers of goods to minimize packaging at source! Trying to force people to minimize rubbish, recycle and compost is working from the wrong end of the supply chain. Breakfast cereals in huge cardboard boxes, what a case of over-packaging! Use the same packaging as for crisps. Doing my head in!

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:38 AM

John

The vast majority of packaging can go in the green bin which is free to collect with Panda so I assume the others too.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jun 20th 2016, 2:22 PM

You should try carrying your cornflakes home without packaging

Mute Mick Trant
    Favourite Mick Trant
    Jun 20th 2016, 1:06 PM

Isn’t it amazing how suddenly “there are things that can be done” when you don’t have an outright dictatorial majority in the Dàil, Leo ?

Mute Cathal McDonald
    Favourite Cathal McDonald
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:33 AM

Freeze bin charges, freeze water charges. Why have we turned into the Paul Murphy pay for nothing brigade

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:41 AM

Nobody is proposing that we pay nothing for bin collection.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:42 AM

Sounds like you have brain freeze Cathal

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute OnTheOutside
    Favourite OnTheOutside
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:43 AM

Dunno about you but I am paying my bin charges at the moment, pay for water via general taxation and they literally have a tax for owning a home which you get nothing out of in return for paying. So I don’t think nobody is paying nothing for anything. You get nothing in this life for free and defo not from the lads in the Dail. I have a great idea, how about they look at they own spending.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:48 AM

freeloading has become very popular in ireland

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:52 AM

That’s for sure !! The macdonaghs have been at it all thier lives…

Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:55 AM

So has selective brain usage

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:56 AM

Absolutely Tommy and the government are world class at it. Illegal freeloading too. Vehicle registration tax, excessive p!ss taking interesting rates. Sure our citizens only learn from the best.

Mute UndieGrundy
    Favourite UndieGrundy
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:01 AM

Who would have thought that in Ireland of all countries, a country destroyed by lack of regulation and inadequate regulators, that we would hand over another more or less mandatory utility to an unregulated sector and ask them nicely not to do anything to upset us, rather than regulate them via legislation BEFORE instead of AFTER?

We have learned nothing.

Mute Brian Deane
    Favourite Brian Deane
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:03 AM

The AAA Trotskyist nutters who are now so vehement about increases in bin charges have to take a lot of responsibility for the privatisation of of refuse collection. Not so long ago, Comrade Joe Higgins and fellow minded socialists were to the fore in throwing themselves in front of bin lorries because they were opposed to bin charges! With the councils running the service, waivers were granted (and paid for by those who paid) with the result that the service was loss making. Result – the service was privatised and the waivers were abolished. Victory to the people! (as the rich kid socialists from Belfield might shout)

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:12 AM

The service wasn’t loss making. Competition, you know that thing at the heart of Capitalism, meant that some companies made a profit while others didn’t. Some companies raked the money so less of the beal bocht for these guys.

My €235 per year is now jumping to €390 minimum. If they cant make money in the market then they should shut up shop. If the “free market” cannot supply a necessary service to people at reasonable cost, then the State should step in to provide the service. We’d save money as we wouldn’t need to filter millions in funds through the Isle of Man while pretending to be penniless.

Mute UndieGrundy
    Favourite UndieGrundy
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:15 AM

The mafia in NY didn’t hike prices that much after they took over the bin collection service.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:19 PM

Good Early

Who are you with that you have to pay a minimum of 380? Panda had a minimum of 86

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Jun 20th 2016, 1:43 PM

A lesson in why we need a corrupt company in the form of Irish water from the TD from tip relative this time to waste management. He has not gone away despite being in supposed opposition.

The battle between corruption and the will of the Irish people continues despite the holidays from the main protagonist Alan tip Kelly.

Labour should you not be holding the fiannas to account as opposed to leading the management of the privatisation agenda? I thought that was the role of an opposition party or is labour part of the fiannas now?

Mute Dietrich Död
    Favourite Dietrich Död
    Jun 20th 2016, 2:39 PM

Christ Cathal, you’d think a ‘good civil engineer’ could comprehend the concept of the public domain.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:38 PM

I get close to vomiting every time I read an article about water or rubbish. That yolk A Kelly is responsible for both..the most sickening thing is he enacts a law bringing in regulatory charges and then asks the next minister to control it, as costs spiral out of control! There should be a new law, acting gov ministers should not be allowed to pass any laws, and any such laws should be repealed on the basis that the acting minister has no mandate to act on behalf of the public.

Mute Louth Noises
    Favourite Louth Noises
    Jun 21st 2016, 4:49 AM

@ Cathal I see you’re countering an argument that doesn’t exist, that’s disingenuous to say the least. Troll.

Mute Adrienne Lyons
    Favourite Adrienne Lyons

We have been paying per weight with Thornton’s since last July. Wonder will they reverse it now? Doubt it

Mute Rob Ben Jones
    Favourite Rob Ben Jones
    Jun 20th 2016, 2:59 PM

Thorntons before and after (pay per weight)
    Annual Fee: 50 euror
    40KG lift (240 litre): 9.90

New charge:
    Annual Fee: 104 euror
    40KG lift (240 litre): 14.00

Incredible increase in the standard fee and per-lift fee. How they think they can get away just shows how they view their customers.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:38 AM

In parts of the country,bin charges are 380 for the year.this has to be looked at.

Mute Aoife
    Favourite Aoife
    Jun 20th 2016, 1:34 PM

Leo says some are trying to take advantage. Could he tell me one that’s not. Them trying to somehow put a lid on this actually goes against everything they stand for. It’s obviously a knee jerk reaction to a system that they put in place that the public don’t want and as the makeup of the dail is how it is they can’t steamroll it through. Bit take your eye off the ball on this one and it’ll go through.

Mute Pat Redmond
    Favourite Pat Redmond
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:27 AM

No such thing as a weekly charge ! It has to be paid EVERY WEEK for 52 weeks of the year. It’s compulsory. You can choose to pay in in weekly instalments but it works out more expensive than the upfront annual or half monthly charge.

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:36 AM

Letter today is outlining with mine as a monthly charge of €14.50 to be paid for 2 months at a time, 2 months in advance! Thats €174 per year. Not including the Kg charges

Mute Cill Dará Abú
    Favourite Cill Dará Abú
    Jun 20th 2016, 3:18 PM

Another unjustified tax. Scrap the tax. It will be an environmental nightmare

Mute lar keogh
    Favourite lar keogh
    Jun 20th 2016, 7:07 PM

Don’t mind paying for my rubbish but this service charge is really pissing me off, nobody apart from the waste companies are gaining form this. That clown Coveney would want to nip this shit in the bud and none of this crap, cap it for 12 months, sort it out now.

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:41 PM

Had a lovely bonfire today down the end of the garden. Free of charge!

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:49 PM

Your neighbours must love you.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Jun 20th 2016, 9:06 PM

The neighbours should all join in.

Mute Science of beer
    Favourite Science of beer
    Jun 20th 2016, 7:12 PM

Alan Kelly everything he touches turns to shite.

Mute Louth Noises
    Favourite Louth Noises
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:59 PM

Just kicking the (trash) can down the road again. It’ll get worse not better (and that’s the plan, allow the waste und get a good foothold with pay by weight so that it’s irreversible). Irish Water all over again.

Mute Catherine Hegarty
    Favourite Catherine Hegarty
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:30 PM

The Government brought out so many charges over the last few years. Now they don’t know when to stop. Where will it all end? It’s no wonder people have no faith in them anymore.

Mute Bill Rooney
    Favourite Bill Rooney
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:56 AM

There should be no charges for water or bins – it’s our right.

And anyway, we’ve paid for them already. Twice!

Food, education, fuel and TV should also be free – to all over 11.

Mute Brian Deane
    Favourite Brian Deane
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:05 AM

and free gas and electricity too please…..

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:10 AM

Bill and Brian. Gobsh!tes of the highest order.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:46 AM

Bill

It’s people like you that are causing the problems in this country

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:22 PM

Not the politicians or the shinners?

Mute Enda Kennny
    Favourite Enda Kennny
    Jun 20th 2016, 2:22 PM

can you help me to understand why you want to be ripped off?

Food, education, fuel and TV should also be free – to all over 11. who is arguing for this????? this is a stupid argument used by FG apologists. IW was set up to be sold and will go the way of the bins price hikes every few months.

who is asking for free waste collection? i have yet to read anyone ask for that.

Moronic attitude from the happy to be ripped off muppets

Jun 20th 2016, 9:08 PM

Ah Bill if you were an adult I could explain to you we already pay for water through Motor tax and VAT. Try and keep up……

Mute James Carpenter
    Favourite James Carpenter
    Jun 20th 2016, 9:10 PM

So basically he is sweet fa about it. Just cancel your accounts and then see what happens

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:22 AM

BTW – nothing on this planet is free!

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:37 PM

Do you pay for sunlight too?

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:53 PM

In fairness, the sun isn’t on this planet.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jun 21st 2016, 8:48 AM

SunLIGHT is not the sun though is it…

Mute Enda Reid
    Favourite Enda Reid
    Jun 20th 2016, 6:18 PM

Just received this email from Greyhound as I was reading this article…

Dear Customer,

With Pay by Weight beginning on July 1st we would like to help make the transition that little easier with a credit bonus offer.

For every €50 you top up by you will receive a bonus of 10%.

This offer is available until June 30th 2016. It is unlimited, so the more you top up by, the more free credit you will receive.

In order for the credit to be applied to your account please make sure to top by any of the exact amounts listed below:

€50 top up: €5 bonus
    €100 top up: €10 bonus
    €150 top up: €15 bonus
    €200 top up: €20 bonus

The credit will be applied to your bin account by the 14th of July.

Over the coming weeks and months we will be coming out with some initiatives which we think will help keep costs down and help you recycle more (and save more).

Please click here for our ways to pay. Please note that our phones are exceptionally busy at the moment due to our customer’s questions about Pay by Weight.

Kind regards,
    The Greyhound Household Team

Mute lar keogh
    Favourite lar keogh
    Jun 20th 2016, 7:36 PM

You would think these companies know what the outcome is going to be in their arrogance.

Mute tom flynn
    Favourite tom flynn
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:15 PM

If they can bring in legislation to stop waste companies from increasing payments, then why didn’t they do the same for the insurance company’s who’ve increased their rates by 200%/300%. ???????

Mute Dessie Deratta
    Favourite Dessie Deratta
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:36 PM

I guess they’ve learned something from the water charges fiasco!

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Jun 21st 2016, 2:21 AM

How stupid is Coveney? and more importantly how stupid does he think we are? He kicks the can down the road for another year and does he not think that this time next year that the uproar will recommence when the stay on the charges are lifted? It is a cynical move and going down the same road as water…It will not go away as much as they attempt to shove this along with water down our throats because it will not work and this is the start of the next general election.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jun 20th 2016, 2:14 PM

Enough moaners on here to keep Joe Duffy going for a month.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 2:34 PM

Enough pusillanimous to keep him going for a year. Like yourself power abbey.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jun 20th 2016, 3:02 PM

I’m surprised that you guys in Parnell Square understand a word with more than four letters Little One!

Do TRY to get the grammar correct.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 3:09 PM

Sorry power abbey. No Parnell square down here. Its usually those that are doing something themselves that accuse others. Isn’t that right . God the delusion is mighty. Because your spouting on behalf of someone, you think others are. Ah that’s hilarious. Keep up the good work.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 3:16 PM

Some people live their lives being perpetual victims and finger pointers. To anyone who points a finger at someone else and lays all the blame at their feet instead of taking responsibility for their own behavior, I would say, “I see that finger and you know where you can put it?”

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Jun 20th 2016, 4:05 PM

Little – your posts from Offaly are becoming manic and increasingly delusional – typing about feet and fingers!

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 4:24 PM

Sorry ger. Not my fault if you don’t know quotes.

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Jun 20th 2016, 4:34 PM

AND you’re typing in Chinese! See your vet….

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 4:44 PM

So ger you don’t know quotes and you don’t know Korean from Chinese . Ah poor you.

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Jun 20th 2016, 5:07 PM

Ask the vet about arse and elbow, too

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jun 20th 2016, 5:31 PM

Ger – pointless commenting to Little One. It takes him too long to understand.

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Jun 20th 2016, 5:54 PM

Power, Little is a woman from Blueball.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 8:59 PM

Ah ger still peddling that . You are one crazy ass , freaky man. But keep on trying. Like I said last week, the fact you think I am from a place I am not. At least I know I am safe from nutters like you. thank god for that. You must have some fascination with blueball. Good on you. Tell me again ger? Why or how you think I am from blueball. Come on now man up. How you can tell from someones Twitter account that is only set up to comment on here. I would love to know?????

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Jun 20th 2016, 9:29 PM

See Power, Freda is as daft as a thrush. Crazy, freaky, nutters (that’s us!!)…but she’ll be here tomorrow, without fail…

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 9:40 PM

Ah ger no balls. Good man. Considering power thinks I am from Parnell square and you think blueball. Think nutters , crazy sums you both up. See you still haven’t answered my question. But used diversion tactics.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 9:42 PM

I await ger. The man who thinks he knows everything but in fact knows nothing.

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:05 PM

You’re not Freda from Blueball #!?

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:21 PM

No ger I am not Freda from blueball. Think that fantasy must be your in your head. Must be watching too much fantasy shows. Better get your mammy to curtail that. It’s causing you delusions..

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:50 PM

Ger – poor Little One can keep a conversation going on his / her facile opinions. He she only uses insult when their opinions are questions. Bust all be nutters in Blueball.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen

Panda charges
    Black bin: 3.20 per lift plus 27c per Kg
    Brown: 2.56 per lift plus 16c per Kg
    Green: free per lift and free per Kg

Mute Andrew Barry
    Favourite Andrew Barry
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:13 AM

Plus a standing charge of €86 per Annum

Mute Brother Json
    Favourite Brother Json
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:31 AM

Panda Waste quoted me €118 Service Charge per annum in addition to Lift/Weight charges above.

Also, they have never supplied a Composting (Brown) Bin and because I live in a ‘Rural Area’ they say they do not have the Trucks available to service the collection facility of composting waste and this waste should continue to be placed in my Black bin !!!

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Jun 20th 2016, 11:34 AM

Our standing charge with Greenstar is €174 per annum. Black bin is 25c per Kg

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen

Greenstar is 156 service charge and 33c per kg black bin in fingal.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:56 PM

Citybin has two schemes 2.49/wk and 35c/kg or else 2.25/wk and 39c/kg. That’s a minimum service charge of €117 (but the 129/year one is more realistic). We only put ours out every second month, and when full at 40kg*, so we will be an increase of only over 100% because we recycle a lot.

Alan Kelly really should be put in his neighbour’s (the old women that he sued and allegedly harassed, because that’s what great men do) field and let the bulls at him. Not for any sadistic pleasure, because it’s the right thing to do for the country.

PS: For a family of 6, this is low due to using an incinkerator, which is apparently banned as well, because it er, reduces the waste.

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Jun 20th 2016, 4:36 PM

Letter I got this morning has greenstar at €14.50 per month standing charge = €174 per year.

Then €0.25 per kg black bin. €0.15 for Compost bin.

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Jun 21st 2016, 2:34 AM

How about each road/street cancel their accounts with these waste management companies and hire or buy a skip and land fill it all. That would grab the governments attention soon enough

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Jun 20th 2016, 10:48 AM

Alan Kelly for Taoiseach !!!

Mute james mc donagh
    Favourite james mc donagh
    Jun 20th 2016, 9:49 PM

That’s the news we’ve all bin waiting on. It’s wheels good

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Jun 20th 2016, 12:22 PM

The more we recycle the cheaper our bills will be. Is that not the idea behind this. It was the same rhetoric when the plastic bag levy came out. But look at Ireland now, it is far cleaner and people now being empty bags to the shops.

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Jun 20th 2016, 4:40 PM

Eh…I as already recycling. Now my bill is doubling anyway!

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Jun 20th 2016, 4:49 PM

I already recycle. I also compost. But yet now going to be charged more.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Jun 21st 2016, 8:42 AM

Recycle to the sky and just put out the ashes might of clarified another one of fg bungled policies.

Mute Ayomotor Justice
    Favourite Ayomotor Justice
    Jun 20th 2016, 7:29 PM

Hello everyone here my name is Ayomotor Justice from USA i was married to Gabriel after five 5years of marriage no issue this became trouble, that he ask me to live is house till one day that a very good friend of mine told me about a man called Dr Azazi that also help her when she was having the same problems And i contacted him on is email azazidemonstemple@yahoo.com and he help me and caster the spell just after 3weeks i took in now am a mother people in the world help me to thank him and if you have similar problem you can contact him.

Email: azazidemonstemple@yahoo.com
    Mobile: +2348067268474

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jun 21st 2016, 8:53 AM

So you shagged Dr. Azazi?

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jun 21st 2016, 8:54 AM

How will he help us with our bins?

Mute Jeffre Tomred
    Favourite Jeffre Tomred
    Jun 26th 2016, 2:39 AM

BE SMART AND BECOME RICH IN LESS THAN 3DAYS….It all depends on how fast you can be to get the new PROGRAMMED blank ATM card that is capable of hacking into any ATM machine,anywhere in the world. I got to know about this BLANK ATM CARD when I was searching for job online about l 5days ago ..It has really changed my life for good and now I can say I’m rich and I can never be poor again. The least money I get $2,000 daily and now i have $10,000… Everyday I keeping pumping money into my account. Though is illegal,there is no risk of being caught ,because it has been programmed in such a way that it is not traceable,it also has a technique that makes it impossible for the CCTVs to detect you..For details on how to get yours today, email the hackers on : (cindytedder767@yahoo.com) Tell your loved once too, and start to live large. That’s the simple testimony of how my life changed for good…Love you all …the email address again is (cindytedder767@yahoo.com)

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Jun 21st 2016, 10:21 AM

Another “can kicking” exercise by this farsical government and opposing TDs.

Mute Podge Brophy
    Favourite Podge Brophy
    Jun 21st 2016, 9:04 AM

Maybe we should all just start throwing everything in the recycle bin in protest.