You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A slab of bog butter found near Enniskillen, now located in the Ulster Museum. Bazonka/Wikipedia

Poll: Would you eat Bronze Age bog butter?

Slabs of bog butter have been handed into the National Museum of Ireland.

BOG BUTTER IS among some of the 2,000 archaeological items handed into the National Museum of Ireland in the past year.

Butter was sometimes buried in a bog to preserve it, with the practice dating back to as early as 2000 BC.

Maeve Sikora, Keeper of Antiquities at the National Museum of Ireland, says the butter is in fact “still surviving”.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, she described the butter as a “white looking” wax with a “very distinctive smell”.

“It’s often noticed on bogs or it has been in the past because of its colour. So, while the bog is completely brown, the bog butter will be this white material in the middle that the crows are landing on and eating,” Sikora said.

The bog butter is good enough for the crows, but would you give eating preserved bog butter a go?

So today we’re asking: Would you eat Bronze Age bog butter?

Poll Results:

No, definitely not (4069)
Yes, why not (1769)
Maybe, I'd need to get a good look at it first (1076)
Yes, but only if my life depended on it (445)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

41 Comments
    Mute Padhraic McLaughlin
    Favourite Padhraic McLaughlin
    Sep 6th 2024, 12:31 PM

Ah shur if I chance the wife’s cooking, the butter would be no bother!

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Sep 6th 2024, 12:43 PM

@Padhraic McLaughlin: I’d try it on the wife first.

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Sep 6th 2024, 1:22 PM

@James Leahy: kinky

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Sep 6th 2024, 1:27 PM

@orb7eckn: Last Tango in Loughfad, Portnoo.

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Sep 6th 2024, 4:26 PM

@Padhraic McLaughlin: you are a brave man

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 6th 2024, 1:02 PM

The best thing before sliced bread

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    Sep 6th 2024, 2:41 PM

@Larry Betts: I had a snackbox from supermacs, Heuston station. Anything after that muck is an improvement.

Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Sep 6th 2024, 12:44 PM

What a fascinating poll…
    I can’t wait to see the outcome…
    Jaysus tonight.

Mute Tomas Barrett
    Favourite Tomas Barrett
    Sep 6th 2024, 2:13 PM

@KTH: if you’ve no interest, no need to take part and certainly not comment.

Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Sep 6th 2024, 2:31 PM

@Tomas Barrett:
    No, I’m really interested…
    I wonder would people eat 3000 year old butter that was buried in a bog?
    Next poll…
    Do you like blinking?

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Sep 6th 2024, 4:54 PM

@Tomas Ah but that’s not the lifestyle of an internet troll. Let the sad man live!

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Sep 6th 2024, 5:42 PM

@KTH: Jaysus Tonight! Genuine must-see TV and the chat show the public really want. HBO – do your thing!

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Sep 6th 2024, 12:30 PM

Ehhh no, I eat nothing out of the bog as a rule.

Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Favourite ecrowley ecrowley
    Sep 6th 2024, 1:44 PM

Best Before is not the same as Use By. Be grand.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Sep 6th 2024, 1:52 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: ‘Best be Fore’ is a recommendation of Westmeath bog butter.

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Sep 6th 2024, 12:58 PM

The iron age butter is way better

Mute Matt D
    Favourite Matt D
    Sep 6th 2024, 1:22 PM

I can’t believe it’s not butter.

Mute John K
    Favourite John K
    Sep 6th 2024, 12:42 PM

Nothing like some bronze age bog butter on some toast to start the morning. Kerrygold smerrygold

Mute peter kellegher
    Favourite peter kellegher
    Sep 6th 2024, 1:27 PM

I would imagine it would be a lot healthier than the fake butter you get in the shops now a days besides Kerrygold

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Sep 6th 2024, 1:47 PM

@peter kellegher: Is this the butter Trump is always on about? When he was on about draining the swamp, it was really about him getting to that bronze-age bog butter. The truth always comes out in the end!

Mute peter kellegher
    Favourite peter kellegher
    Sep 6th 2024, 2:36 PM

@SerotoninWars: Amazing how you can turn something around to suit your agenda.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Sep 6th 2024, 7:18 PM

@peter kellegher: T’was just a joke :)

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Sep 6th 2024, 12:50 PM

Me bollix

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Sep 6th 2024, 1:17 PM

@Fintan Pox: The question was not ‘Which part of your anatomy do you think with?’.

Mute reg morrisey
    Favourite reg morrisey
    Sep 6th 2024, 1:25 PM

@Fintan Pox: yes you could put butter on your bollix. Whatever your into I suppose.

Mute David Murray
    Favourite David Murray
    Sep 6th 2024, 3:59 PM

@Fintan Pox: Fianna Fail broke the country Ask the IMF Bertie Kissers

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Sep 6th 2024, 5:51 PM

@reg morrisey:

Sang a la Leonard Cohen…ahem.

You could put butter on your bollix
    It’d be a new low as an alcoholic
    To search for the divine in the spreadable
    And find out it’s wholly inedible

You could put butter on your bollix
    But to utter such would defy logic
    To take the dairy produce
    Just to find a new way to self-abuse

Just an oily mass of shame
    Suzanne won’t be coming around again
    She was bringing tea and oranges
    But now you’re stuck there with 20 sponges

You should have kept your plans symbolic
    Now you’ve butter on your bollix

Do doo doo doo :(

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Sep 6th 2024, 1:41 PM

I’m normally a big fan of our most ancient foods like Banshee Bones. The modern ethical ones though, where no banshees were harmed in the making of humankind’s greatest snack.

Mute Dave O Connell
    Favourite Dave O Connell
    Sep 6th 2024, 2:40 PM

Bog butter is a great band name.

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Sep 6th 2024, 2:19 PM

Wouldn’t try it unless its low fat and lowers cholesterol.

Mute rory Mcgovern
    Favourite rory Mcgovern
    Sep 6th 2024, 7:33 PM

So fine gael the so called law and order party picks a senator involved in a scuffle who has to pay a farmer 39000 euro to be a candidate in the upcoming election. It beggars belief.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 6th 2024, 2:51 PM

Ya can’t bate a better bit a butter on de spuds

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Sep 6th 2024, 2:12 PM

Last tango in Offaly anyone?

Mute bruce banner
    Favourite bruce banner
    Sep 6th 2024, 2:50 PM

I cant believe its not… Oh wait it is!

Mute Richard Barrett
    Favourite Richard Barrett
    Sep 6th 2024, 8:40 PM

I have seen no evidence that the Bronze-agers baked bread. That being so, what did they spread this butter on?

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Sep 6th 2024, 7:49 PM

A surefire cure for constipation!

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 6th 2024, 9:55 PM

@Padraig O’Brien: “Buttery Scuttery. From to the bog to the table,and back to the bog again”

Mute Laura H
    Favourite Laura H
    Sep 6th 2024, 7:14 PM

Probably just as good as ozempic.

Mute Noel Byrne
    Favourite Noel Byrne
    Sep 6th 2024, 10:52 PM

You would want to stick a few jax rolls in the freezer for a couple of hours prior to giving the aul bog butter a lash. Given the current price of KerryGold we might all be hunting for bog butter.

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Sep 6th 2024, 10:44 PM

If I wanted to end it all probably.

Mute Ned Tallywhacker
    Favourite Ned Tallywhacker
    Sep 7th 2024, 1:27 PM

Only if it comes on toast.