You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Bus Eireann staff could undertake industrial action on Sunday

The move would be due to the introduction of cuts by the company to save €5 million.

BUS ÉIREANN STAFF could strike on Sunday to mark their opposition to cuts due to be imposed by the company.

Yesterday, Bus Éireann warned that its controversial cost-cutting plan needed to be implemented as soon as possible or it is likely it will end up breaking the law.

Proposed changes

However, unions at the company have rejected the proposed changes to pay and conditions. Today, the National Bus and Rail Union secretary general Michael Faherty said on RTÉ radio show Morning Ireland that the union has had a mandate for industrial action since January, and it will ballot this week on whether to reject the proposals, which were set out in a Labour Court recommendation.

While he did not want to pre-empt the outcome, he said that on the basis of what they are hearing from members, it is likely they will be rejected. “If that is the case it will be up to the company to tell us what they are going to do,” he said.

If the company does go ahead and implement the changes, Faherty said the NBRU members “will not be operating under those conditions” which would mean an all-out strike from Sunday.

Faherty said that there are elements of the Labour Court recommendation that “are unacceptable” and that “somebody someday will have to sit down” and discuss changes to it.

The members are willing to undertake industrial action as they feel “so strong about this”, said Faherty.

Andrew McLindon of Bus Éireann said that since June 2012 the company has been engaged in talks with trade unions about the difficult financial situation the company is in.

It needs the savings from payroll terms and conditions to protect its viability and to protect 2500 jobs. It lost €6 million last year.

The company said it may be required to call an Extraordinary General Meeting to deal with the situation if it isn’t allowed to cut pay.

Changes

The Labour Court recommended a range of measures to save around €5 million from the payroll. Among the recommended changes are:

• An increase in the working week for clerical and executive staff from 36 hours to 39 hours
  • Reduction in premium payments (such as Sunday payments) to be x1.5 payments rather than double payments
  • Reduction in annual leave entitlement by 3 days for the next three years
  • Reduction in allowances and expense payments by 20 per cent

The intention of the company is to implement the recommendations, but if they are introduced this Sunday, it is likely that trade unions could undertake industrial action.

If there is industrial action, that is “entirely a matter for unions”, said McLindon, who described it as “completely counterproductive”. He also said that legally, unions have to give 7 days notice of industrial action, so “any industrial action on Sunday would be unofficial”.

He said that if they do intend to undertake industrial action, unions need to outline what that will be for the sake of the Bus Éireann customers, so that they can be informed by the company.

Eamon Gilmore

Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore spoke about the issue during Leaders’ Questions in the Dáil today, saying that the viability of Bus Éireann is at risk if it can’t make the cuts.

He said that the company remains open to engaging with the unions, and he very much hopes the management and unions use the period between now and Sunday to engage in further dialogue which will ensure the necessary savings are introduced.

He added that this government “is committed” to the public transport service and that is why it wants to keep Bus Éireann in existence.

Read: Bus Éireann warns: bring in pay cuts or we could end up breaking the law>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

95 Comments
    Mute Dafuq Usain
    Favourite Dafuq Usain
    May 9th 2013, 10:09 AM

27 euro to travel from mullingar to dublin return during the week is a joke , especially when it costs less to drive up and back , the private bus companies can cover bus eireanns routes for a lot less as well , no wonder nobody wants to use them , theyre the last resort when travelling anywhere

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    May 9th 2013, 10:14 AM

If you look further you would find that these private bus companies pay no where near the same wage and bonuses as Bus Eireann hence why they’re cheaper.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    May 9th 2013, 10:15 AM

It must be great knowing that you can go on strike while working for a loss making company, and be safe in the knowledge that your job will still be there, when the strike is over. Clowns!

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    May 9th 2013, 10:54 AM

So are private companies underpaid or are bus eireann overpaid in your opinion? Genuine question.

Mute Martin Stapleton
    Favourite Martin Stapleton
    May 9th 2013, 1:27 PM

The private companies probably have less “management” rolls for people and perhaps productivity might be better and not lower wage rates for the drivers! Imagine if that were true!!!

Mute mark smith
    Favourite mark smith
    May 9th 2013, 4:55 PM

Bus eireann made a 500,000 profit last year!

Mute Kevin Hunt
    Favourite Kevin Hunt
    May 9th 2013, 9:58 AM

Tbh them “cuts” seem pretty good and would have major impact, but having said that I think that reducing prices and proper ad campaigns and reduced journey times would increase passenger numbers and would have a bigger impact than just cutting from the company

Mute Jack Brolin
    Favourite Jack Brolin
    May 9th 2013, 10:04 AM

Reduced journey times generally means ‘less stops’ which in turn limits the number of passengers that can get the bus.
    It’s certainly a tricky situation.

Mute Nelly
    Favourite Nelly
    May 9th 2013, 10:07 AM

That’s a joke a 36 hour week,and I’d said their annual leave is pretty good to.i can see how they wana keep their double time on a Sunday,but the rest is they don’t have my sympathy the unions have these company’s ruined

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 10:18 AM

A 39 hour week not a big deal

Double pay on a sunday should be scrapped, it’s no different to any other day of the week.

Can anyone clarify what their standard annual leave entitlements are?

Mute sid
    Favourite sid
    May 9th 2013, 10:26 AM

36 hours sounds like a part time job , an double time for Sunday, I’d say a sunday shift cost what most private drivers are paid for a week, no wonder public transport here is a joke,

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 11:00 AM

Are all the bus drivers red thumbing us?

Is today part of their annual leave or something?

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey
    May 9th 2013, 11:42 AM

You clearly dont do shift work, up at 4am some days, finished at 1am other days, working split shifts, and working most weekends! Its bullshit to say working on a sunday is the same as working any other day

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 11:51 AM

If you choose a job that involves shift work then don’t complain about shift work. Get a 9-5 if you think it’s better. By your logic I should get overtime for having to get up early of a monday morning and face the fear.

Those working in retail or hospitality don’t get any extra benefits for working late nights or weekends.

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey
    May 9th 2013, 11:52 AM

20 days annual leave, same as most people in the private sector, 1 extra day leave after 7 years service. And with the hours we are expected to work I end up using several days leave each year for things like family get togethers, which happen on weekends!! People working 9 to 5 dont even have to think about that!

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 11:55 AM

Thanks for the clarity on AL Dave, if you do only get 20 days then a 3 day cut is a bit severe.

It also sounds like you hate your job a bit.

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey
    May 9th 2013, 12:00 PM

I dont hate my job at all, I hate fools thinking we get paid for doing feck all and that its a handy number! Its the long service annual leave days that they want back, so only having 5 years service done it wont effect me

Mute Amy gaffney
    Favourite Amy gaffney
    May 9th 2013, 12:02 PM

What’s the difference Dave? If you still get two days off a week? People in other companies don’t get double pay for Sundays! If I had a choice between possible redundancy and those new terms I’d be biting their hand off, they’re fairly lenient, I thought there was going to be a slash in pay or something. 39 hours a week, by the way, is what the rest of the full time workforce do.

Mute Colin McNamara
    Favourite Colin McNamara
    May 9th 2013, 12:06 PM

I hope you’re not driving a bus at the moment Dave!!

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey
    May 9th 2013, 12:14 PM

I agree with your comment re 39hours a week, the vast majority of cie staff work at least 39 hours, its a very very small number of clerical staff that get away with working 36 hours. But my 2 days off a week are rarely together, and rarely at the weekend. Its all about having a work \ life balance, which can be a challange in my line of work. Extra pay for unsocial hours is well deserved in all lines of work

Mute Brendan Cunningham
    Favourite Brendan Cunningham
    May 9th 2013, 2:13 PM

People agreed to work unsocial/shift work because they were offered premium payments. Take away the premia and you remove the incentive to work those hours.

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner
    May 9th 2013, 2:35 PM

Legal minimum annual leave is 20 days so people on 20 days can’t lose annual leave

Mute TechnologyTutorials
    Favourite TechnologyTutorials
    May 9th 2013, 11:47 PM

Most people who chose to work a job involving shift work did so under certain pay and conditions, to now remove some of those conditions and validate the argument you are putting forward makes no sense.

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    May 9th 2013, 10:17 AM

These blood sucking union vampires will destroy this company and everyones job.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    May 9th 2013, 10:35 AM

The union recommended the deal and members are set to reject it – I don’t see how that makes the ‘union’ bloodsucking. But sure fire away.

Mute Stevie Leslie
    Favourite Stevie Leslie
    May 9th 2013, 10:34 AM

so the drivers have to take the hit while the top paid managers and inspectors keep their highly inflated salaries.hardly fair now

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    May 9th 2013, 10:44 AM

Is that the nub of the issue? I’m a supporter of unions in general but the company spokesman sounded reasonable on the radio yesterday. Books examined by union accountants etc.

Mute Sean O'Connor
    Favourite Sean O'Connor
    May 9th 2013, 10:22 AM

If the private sector comes in than people can forget about rural bus stops and a around the clock service.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 10:30 AM

This is where local businesses need to step in and provide a local transport service. It may result in having to get 2 buses to get to a city but the reality is no company can return a profit running a route from Termonfeckin to Dublin.

Mute Sean O'Connor
    Favourite Sean O'Connor
    May 9th 2013, 10:34 AM

I don’t know the inner workings of bus eireann but surely there are internal savings to be made. Best people to carry these things out are workers not bureaucrats.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 10:49 AM

The intetnal savings are those recommended in the cost-cutting plan. The next step is to privatise the company and return it to profitability

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    May 9th 2013, 12:49 PM

The only around the clock services in my area are private operators..

Mute Michael Kelleher
    Favourite Michael Kelleher
    May 9th 2013, 2:45 PM

Around the clock service? It’s the private companies only who offer that!

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 2:45 PM

Neilo yes I live in Dublin and use public transport daily.

The issue I have is that BE cannot serve small towns if there is no demand (they’ve tried and are now up shit creek).

I suggest an alternative whereby smaller local operators provide a shuttle service to larger towns where a BE service can then be boarded. A ticket sharing scheme can be implemented also similar to the leap card we use for bus and luas.

This will reduce journey times for BE, reduce operational costs and ensure rural Ireland still has a bus service.

This will also stimulate local business in rural Ireland.

It sounds simple because it is. The BE operational model has failed.

Mute Paul Quinn
    Favourite Paul Quinn
    May 9th 2013, 11:31 AM

I am a driver for Dublin bus and to those that say it is not a hard job you are wrong, it is one of the most stressful jobs you can work in, shift work, dealing with the public which in general are not very pleasant. So I say go ahead privatise it all and then use will just have something else to give out about..

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey
    May 9th 2013, 11:38 AM

Well said paul, I was spat at yesterday and had to drive away while rocks were thrown at my windscreen, All cos I stopped a group of teenages that didnt want to pay their fares. Easy job my arse!

Mute Lauren Halligan
    Favourite Lauren Halligan
    May 9th 2013, 12:11 PM

I don’t for a moment think it’s an easy job-any one that has to deal with the public will agree. However, my experience with the staff in Bus Eireann is far worse (percentage wise) than Dublin Bus. When I used them regularly it was commonplace to get a rude, sneering and often dangerous driver. They can take their strike and stick it where the sun don’t shine as far as I’m concerned.

Mute Kevin Cooney
    Favourite Kevin Cooney
    May 9th 2013, 2:20 PM

Do drivers from private bus companies not face the same difficult issues?

Mute Ciara
    Favourite Ciara
    May 9th 2013, 10:41 AM

These cuts are not the worse!!! I have to say I have no sympathy here!!! The price of travel with Bus Eireann is a joke and usually cheaper to drive!! I’d rather support frontline workers who are opposing real cuts not middle of the road one likes these!!!

Mute David O Connor
    Favourite David O Connor
    May 9th 2013, 10:26 AM

Another backward state monopoly…needs a dose of privatisation badly..

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    May 9th 2013, 10:36 AM

Too right lad! How’s the privatisation of bin collection in Dublin going again?

Mute Dave Gaughran
    Favourite Dave Gaughran
    May 9th 2013, 10:53 AM

Yeah because the privitisation of transport services worked wonders in the UK.

Mute David O Connor
    Favourite David O Connor
    May 9th 2013, 10:57 AM

Good point…I’ll give ya that. But the privatised UK nationwide bus model works well too..

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    May 9th 2013, 11:07 AM

Privatisation is not the answer to all public service ills. A Private bus company will want to make 5 – 10% profit every year, so even if you contract them to have to have to service some not profitable routes, those routes will have to be subsidised with higher than necessary fares on more popular routes. And have you seen the hair raising cost of commuting in London? You’d want a second job just to pay that.

Mute Colonel Randy H.Orny
    Favourite Colonel Randy H.Orny
    May 9th 2013, 1:30 PM

When your life in a mess take a National Express

Mute Kevin Cooney
    Favourite Kevin Cooney
    May 9th 2013, 2:32 PM

The private bin collection services in Dublin after a shaky start are proving to be great value for money. Greyhound lost the plot. A new company Citybin charge €99 pa that’s less than €2 pw. Next year €180 pa that’s less than €4 pw. Competition in an open market for non essential services is the only way to go.

Mute Micky malone
    Favourite Micky malone
    May 9th 2013, 10:12 AM

theres a reason these people drive buses because there too lazy to do any job that involves movement….and now there complainin about this?? sack them all i say and see will they complain then

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    May 9th 2013, 10:19 AM

No need to go down that road buddy. The drivers are being brainwashed by the unions. Unions are the real evil here.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 10:24 AM

Ahh I wouldn’t say that now. A bus driver is not an easy job and the responsibility involved I wouldn’t wish upon anyone.

In saying thay their wages are ridiculous when compared with private companies and if there are to be any jobs left then cutbacks must happen.

Mute Paul Quinn
    Favourite Paul Quinn
    May 9th 2013, 11:25 AM

Clowns

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    May 9th 2013, 1:33 PM

u really need to get out more mickey with backward statements like that sure if thats the case u could argue anyone in politics in ireland is a lazy git cos they sit all day in places like the dail and its bar and rarely move

Mute Aaron Quinn
    Favourite Aaron Quinn
    May 9th 2013, 12:14 PM

A strike could be disastrous for students (one of Bus Eireann’s biggest customers) with it being exam season.

Mute Dave Gaughran
    Favourite Dave Gaughran
    May 9th 2013, 10:51 AM

Victory to the bus drivers!

The spirit of William Martin Murphy has no place in Ireland.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke

What victory? If they reject the proposals then the company is unsustainable. All staff will lose their jobs.

Mute Dave Gaughran
    Favourite Dave Gaughran
    May 9th 2013, 10:58 AM

BS Alan, this is just part of a plan to weaken the union, lower their terms and conditions and prepare the service to be sold off to vulture capitalists, and if you think your fares will be cheaper you are living in a dream world, the privitisation of transport in the UK led to masive fair increase, buses won’t go to unprofitable routes anymore, they’ll just cherry pick the busy ones.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 11:03 AM

Why should a large company service unprofitable routes?

Those routes should be managed by smaller localised companies providing shuttle services to larger bus stations where a connecting bus to a larger town or city cqn be boarded.

Mute Dave Gaughran
    Favourite Dave Gaughran
    May 9th 2013, 11:08 AM

Duh Alan Burke/Margaret Thatcher! Because it is a service, the goal should be the maximum service, not the maximum profit. Imagine post wasn’t delivered to unprofitable areas. And anyway its about time workers in this country started to fight back, no more paying for the crimes of bankers.

Mute Sean O'Connor
    Favourite Sean O'Connor
    May 9th 2013, 11:13 AM

I think what your referring to is called a taxi

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 11:13 AM

Dave Bus Eireann has tried to operate the routes but has been unsuccesful due to high operational costs and relatively low demand.

There is a business opportunity here for local and startup operators to capitalise on.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    May 9th 2013, 11:21 AM

Alan, BE isn’t supposed to turn a profit, it’s a public service, it’s not supposed to make a 6m loss either to be fair. In relation to local bus services, depending on the value, they are subject to procurement rules and management so cannot be gifted without competition afaik – you’re also arguing for a potential rise in cost of living for some rural people.

Mute james walsh
    Favourite james walsh
    May 9th 2013, 11:21 AM

Good reply, the company is non profit making! That’s how your nan or grandad is brought to the hospitals, post offices and so forward in rural areas or should we scrap all those services. Private company’s mean shareholders and large profits. I’m all for frontline workers protecting there pay and conditions but don’t ye think we have over inflated Morgages also. Lets stick together, why all divide and conquer between us workers we’re all paye workers.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke

Scarr the counter argument is a rise in the cost of living for those on profitable routes to susidise the loss-making (higher ticket prices).

I think what we have clarified is that BE’s operational model is not sustainable in it’s current form.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    May 9th 2013, 11:36 AM

Alan – true, I’ve made a similar point re: subsidising on profitable routes, but maybe this comes back to how much should a bus driver be paid? 20k? 30k? 40k? More? And it’s easy for us to sit here and say cut this. Pay them that. We’re not bus drivers. I wouldn’t like the job. But at 6m loss in a year, something has to change – maybe privatising a section of the routes ie Munster.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 11:44 AM

I think we need to establish what the basic salary of a bus driver is, what allowances and expesnses they currently claim and what annual leave entitlements do they currently have.

Then we compare these to privaye companies and public services in other european countries whilsr factoring in our higher fuel costs etc.

Only then can we make a judgment as to whether they are overpaid.

If anyone can clarify the above I’d be most grateful.

Mute Dave Gaughran
    Favourite Dave Gaughran
    May 9th 2013, 11:49 AM

Yeah a bus driver should get paid more than 40k a year. Why always attacking the people who actually do the work? How much do managers get? How much do senior management get? How much does the head of the cmpany get? No talk of cutting that, every time they want to cut someones pay, like Richy Bouchers pay, its all hand wringing and well no it would be a breach of contract and we need his most esteemed skill, but when it comes to ordinary workers their contracts don’t matter, their situations don’t matter and their lives don’t matter.

Also isn’t it funny how the senior management of these companies are always in favour of privatization themselves, they have an incentive to make the service crap.

Is the service running a loss because it got some of its funding cut, in order to facilitate the bank bailouts?

Mute Frank Jones
    Favourite Frank Jones
    May 9th 2013, 3:19 PM

Alan, you have detailed the formula behind the ‘race to the bottom’. It is absurd to expect all to work for less on the basis that some are willing (or indeed need to) work for little

Mute Kevin Beakey
    Favourite Kevin Beakey
    May 9th 2013, 11:19 AM

Yes private bus companies who have suspect safety measures, poorly paid untrained drivers, poorly serviced vehicles, look at all the recent fatalities involving private bus operators??? I know who I would rather travel with…

Mute Amy gaffney
    Favourite Amy gaffney
    May 9th 2013, 2:15 PM

The worst bus disaster in Ireland – in which five young school girls died in Navan about 7 years ago – was a Bus Eireann bus. I travel with them every single day and I can tell you I’m sick to my teeth of being late because the bus broke down/ its a rickety old double decker that can’t drive at a reasonable speed/ not using the bus lanes etc. some of their buses are fancy and new but if there was a private company running my route, I’d switch in a heartbeat.

Mute Flippermac
    Favourite Flippermac
    May 9th 2013, 10:39 AM

You are all commenting here for cuts no 2x pay for Sundays I agree totally but stop it for all SS guards the lot if its good enough for a bus driver to loose 2x time it’s good enough for a Garda , nurse and so on

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    May 9th 2013, 10:42 AM

SS guards!?

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 10:51 AM

Punctuation

Mute Flippermac
    Favourite Flippermac
    May 9th 2013, 10:54 AM

Sorry all go government employees typo civil servants

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 10:56 AM

No you still don’t have the hang of it lad.

Mute Amy gaffney
    Favourite Amy gaffney
    May 9th 2013, 1:11 PM

I would say a guard’s job is slightly riskier than a bus driver’s, no? Putting them in the same bracket for pay and terms is a little gratuitous.

Mute Flippermac
    Favourite Flippermac
    May 9th 2013, 1:39 PM

Why ? Bus driver is no different to any one else working on a Sunday if you going to cut one cut the lot across all the little perks are what got this mess the way it is you can’t just pick one section and cut there Sunday rate and leave the rest what about a counsel employee that get triple time for a Sunday , when a Garda or a nurse , or any other person signs for there job they know they have to do weekend shifts if they don’t want to do the job don’t take it

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 1:54 PM

You make for valid argument Flippermac, however lack of appropriate punctuation hinders ability to comprehend same.

Mute Flippermac
    Favourite Flippermac
    May 9th 2013, 2:02 PM

Alan , blaaaaa blaaaaaa blaaaaaa

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 2:04 PM

There is no space before a comma.

Mute Flippermac
    Favourite Flippermac
    May 9th 2013, 2:14 PM

A Burke the name says it all

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 2:19 PM

It would seem spelling and context are also beyond you.

A comma would have been an appropriate addition to your last comment, I’ll let you figure out where it goes.

Mute Flippermac
    Favourite Flippermac
    May 9th 2013, 2:30 PM

Sorry there A Burke but I’m driving a bus here I’m not good at muitlytasking

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 9th 2013, 2:47 PM

*facepalm*

Mute MichaelCollinsGhost
    Favourite MichaelCollinsGhost

Simple problem with a simple solution. Close the whole company down before Sunday and let the lot of them go, let the private sector come in and do it at a better price with none of the union nonsense.

Mute Ciaran O Shea
    Favourite Ciaran O Shea
    May 9th 2013, 10:43 AM

If you’ve book a ticket (cork to dublin) and they go on strike are you refunded?

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    May 9th 2013, 11:06 AM

If you buy a ticket and don’t travel you get a refund. I know this as i recently got one.

Mute Ciaran O Shea
    Favourite Ciaran O Shea
    May 10th 2013, 11:55 AM

Thanks Begrudgy

Mute Dearbhla Russell
    Favourite Dearbhla Russell

how Can They take industrial action if the have not balloted on it? They have to give ten days notice under the law following a ballot. They Only voted to reject the deal. Thats different.

Mute E.M Henehan
    Favourite E.M Henehan
    May 9th 2013, 11:46 AM

Let them strike, let them go bust, let it be sold to a private operator – short term pain, long term gain. We would simply end up having a national bus service that works ON TIME and turns a profit!!

Mute Joey Hackman
    Favourite Joey Hackman
    May 9th 2013, 10:45 AM

What’s new? Any time there are proposed changes in Bus Eireann a potential strike is the first line of defence. In these economic times? How tiring!

Mute TechnologyTutorials
    Favourite TechnologyTutorials
    May 9th 2013, 11:42 PM

Listening to the debate on Matt Cooper this evening 2 very interesting questions were asked, neither of which were answered satisfactorily by Mr Mclindon. The first was relating to 70 million in hand by CIE group and the second was what pay cuts or changes are the executives going to take. It turns out the conditions being imposed by the company do not apply to upper management or executives, very hard then to sell to the employees. In relation to the 70 million its existence was confirmed but apparently the labour court recommendations do not include its use to offset the company losses.

Mute Mark Devereux
    Favourite Mark Devereux
    May 15th 2013, 7:32 PM

it’s always the same the rich get richer and poor get poorer ffs

Mute Kevin Daly
    Favourite Kevin Daly
    May 9th 2013, 2:33 PM

Well Alan you seem to know how everything works why don’t you tell us how we fix it?

Mute Kevin Cooney
    Favourite Kevin Cooney
    May 9th 2013, 2:16 PM

Why is the state competing with private companies to provide non essential services?

Mute Ciaran Behan
    Favourite Ciaran Behan
    May 9th 2013, 10:18 AM

Of all the weekends I need you use the service…

Mute Richard McCarthy
    Favourite Richard McCarthy
    May 9th 2013, 11:37 PM

Why does Bus Eireann insist on using those huge vehicles when only a handfull of people ever travel and where a 12 seater minibus would make far more ecnonmic sense on non viable routes,but as everything in state companys if it dont suit the unions it just wont happen.