You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Arthur Edwards/The Sun/PA

"The grandfather I never had..." Prince Charles visits site of attack on Lord Mountbatten

The Prince and his wife Camilla visited the village of Mullaghmore as they continued their four day visit.

Updated 9pm

PRINCE CHARLES SPOKE today of the personal loss he and his family experienced – as they learned of the IRA attack that killed his great-uncle, Lord Mountbatten.

The heir to the British throne continued his four-day trip to Ireland – and this afternoon, made the key speech of the visit.

Later, the Prince and his wife Camilla visited the village of Mullaghmore – the site of the 1979 attack.

“At the time I could not imagine how we would come to terms with the anguish of such a deep loss,” Charles told the audience at an event in Sligo town.

“For me, Lord Mountbatton represented the grandfather I never had.

So – it seemed as if the foundations of all we held dear in life had been torn apart irreparably.

Royal visit to Ireland - Day 2 The Prince of Wales and Duchess of Cornwall, walk together on the slip-way of the harbour in Mullaghmore, Sligo. PA PA

A bomb detonated on a fishing boat at Mullaghmore in August 1979 killed Mountbatten, his 14-year-old grandson Nicholas Knatchbulla, and a local teenager who worked for the royal – Paul Maxwell. Another member of his party – the Dowager Lady Brabourne – died the day after the attack.

Lord Mountbatten had been a frequent visitor to the area in the years before the bombing – and was well known locally.

The day of that attack – 27 August – is remembered as one of the darkest of the Troubles. Later, 18 British soldiers were killed as two bombs exploded in Co Down.

charles2 Prince Charles at today's event in Sligo. RTE RTE

After his opening his speech today with a few words As Gaeilge – the Prince spoke about the incredible progress that has been made in Anglo-Irish relations over the last number of decades.

“We all have regrets about the past,” he said – before going on to quote the famous remarks of his mother Queen Elizabeth during her 2011 State Visit, when she said that, looking back “we can all see things which we would wish had been done differently - or not at all”. 

Prince Charles also met Gerry Adams yesterday – shaking hands with the Sinn Féin leader, in a moment that made headlines across the world.

Charles and Camillaalso attended a peace and reconciliation service at Drumcliffe in Co Sligo later, in addition to visiting Mullaghmore.

- With reporting by Michelle Hennessy.

Read: Prince Charles and I don’t have much in common, but we’re both tree huggers

Read: Gerry Adams and Prince Charles just shared a historic handshake

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

218 Comments
    Mute Ray Reilly
    Favourite Ray Reilly
    May 20th 2015, 1:05 PM

A key speak for sure… A long road travelled and a significant day for many here and indeed for Charlie himself.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 2:20 PM

It’s also important to commemorate the other people murdered in Sligo that day.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    May 20th 2015, 2:55 PM

and the IRA said they never targeted children….

See 54 more replies ▾
    Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    May 20th 2015, 3:32 PM

Like the two of yous give a f*ck, aside from using it to snipe at Sinn Fein, it’s pathetic.

Today is a good day.

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    May 20th 2015, 4:10 PM

patjoejoe

The British Empire said they never targeted children either but they shot and killed many during the troubles and not to mention how many children killed throughout their occupation of Ireland.

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    May 20th 2015, 4:21 PM

Whoever red thumbs my comment is in denial, does not know their history or is not Irish. British forces killed dozens of children during the children.

Mute Saoirse go Deo
    Favourite Saoirse go Deo
    May 20th 2015, 4:26 PM

I wonder will Charles change his tune if we ever see a proper inquiry into Kincora… which should uncover the extent of Mountbatton’s alleged involvement.

Mute Jay Toner
    Favourite Jay Toner
    May 20th 2015, 4:32 PM

@Diarmuid if you’re referring to Warrenpoint as people murdered then you are wide of the mark. Warrenpoint was a perfectly executed military ambush.

@Patjoejoe the IRA never targeted children and the statistics back that up. Mountbatten wasn’t a civilian either.

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    Favourite Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 4:45 PM

Mountbatten was a civilian, he was ex military which means he was not a soldier, he was unarmed and posing no threat to anybody, the people murdered along with him were civilians too, 100% innocent. Can one of the republicans tell me what they think they achieved by such murderous savagery?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 4:58 PM

SF trolls trying to excuse the murder of innocent children is pretty repulsive.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 20th 2015, 4:59 PM

I thought the Prince mentioned putting things in the past …

To Unionists I say this -
    Obey your betters !
    Ciunas (quiet!) anois (now)

I just put it as Gaeilge in case Charlie is reading – great to see has the Lingo – mightn’t be the worst of them !

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 20th 2015, 5:09 PM

Putting the family connection and Prince to one side for one minute – in farming or as an atheist might look at it the real victims this day were the children –
    It is quite sad to see them being used as a political football – Is this how to remember the most innocent of all wars.
    Children are too young to understand the taking of sides in war.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    May 20th 2015, 5:12 PM

anyone know why the IRA deliberately set out to murder innocent children? what did they hope to achieve by targeting children? to any sane person the IRA were and are just a bunch of complete cowards

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 20th 2015, 5:44 PM

and you have proof that they targeted the children – does that mean that Mountbatten was an innocent bystander ?
    Give yourself a shake there good lad !

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    May 20th 2015, 5:49 PM

1. I’m not a troll.
    2. I don’t support Sinn Fein or any other political party.
    3. I’m not trying to excuse the murder of anyone.
    4. I am questioning the “genuine” concern that you and patjoe are expressing here given your propensity to use any opportunity to bash SF. This is a good thing, another step forward.

Mute verbal kint
    Favourite verbal kint
    May 20th 2015, 6:44 PM

Really Jay !!, can you explain then why they planted a bomb outside a restaurant frequented by children in Warrington, killing a 3 year old and a 12 year old boy and injuring dozens more in the process ??, or are they just statistics you chose to overlook ?.

Mute Middle Class Cork
    Favourite Middle Class Cork
    May 20th 2015, 6:51 PM

There’s a letter in the archives in Dublin from Mountbatten, its there to be viewed if you want, it was addressed to a senior civil servant around the mid 70′s.
    In the letter Mountbatten offers himself to act as go between with the Loyalists, Republicans, British and Irish Governments in ‘a move to take the British element out of what is ultimately Irish affairs’. He says he is prepared to work as he did in India to oversee the transition of British sovereignty to interested parties.
    And this was a man both the British government and the Loyalists listened too.
    So it could be said that for this and other atrocities the PIRA put back the possibility of unification.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 20th 2015, 6:54 PM

Have the I.R.A. ever targeted a creche or a National or secondary school or bus – if they have then they have deliberately targeted children ..
    Does that explain it for everyone ?
    The same is for Unionists and the security forces.
    The people who threw bottles of urine deliberately targeted children – see the difference ?

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 20th 2015, 6:56 PM

That’s a very important piece of history Middle Class …
    What if the security forces didn’t want peace – how could the I.R.A. deny it ?

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 7:01 PM

The IRA planted a bomb on a school bus in Fermanagh. Arlene Foster (DUP) was a pupil at the time and was on the bus when the bomb exploded, bus was targeted because the driver was a part time UDR member. Great heroes.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 20th 2015, 7:31 PM

How many people were killed – that’s terrible !

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 20th 2015, 7:33 PM

One theme I always remember from the Troubles is that it always seemed to be children getting hit in the head and getting killed from rubber bullets …
    I wonder if the statistics back this up ?
    Were they trying to frighten children on both sides ?

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 7:50 PM

Diarmuid.

” Bloody Sunday not forgotten
    We got 18 and Mountbatten”

Perfect day in my eyes. Murdering Para filth and a member of the ruling elitist Royal family in one day. Sure you couldn’t make this up
    Yes sad that civilians had to die, the Paras even shot one of their when they opened up indiscriminately. Something that resulted in them being blown all over the place in the 1st instance.

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 7:57 PM

That doesn’t even rhyme ffs

Mute verbal kint
    Favourite verbal kint
    May 20th 2015, 8:06 PM

@Diarmuid ” Sad that civilians HAD to die “.

you say this like the killing of those two young fellas was fair game. you really see that as a perfect day??. Dope.

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 8:12 PM

Yes it does sing it quickly and in time hmmm hmmmm hmmmm.
    Planter

Mute verbal kint
    Favourite verbal kint
    May 20th 2015, 8:14 PM

last comment was @paul mcguigan

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 8:14 PM

Paras killed over 30 civilians including children in Ballymurphy, Springhill and Bloody Sunday in ONE YEAR. So catch a grip. Suffering is not restricted to any group or side all suffered all I’m saying is Paras and a pompous member of the ruling Royal family who partook in many murderous campaigns during his youth got their medicine. I’m not sorry for that.

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 8:20 PM

Gotten and batten doesn’t rhyme you ignorant waste of oxygen

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 8:36 PM

Would you apply the same logic if your beloved Provos murdered the children in your profile pic Paul?

That “republican” armchair you’re in comfy?

Big man.

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 8:38 PM

Last 4 letters are same Planter. That’ll do for me
    hmmm hmmm hmmm blown to bits

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 20th 2015, 8:38 PM

“The haters gonna hate !”

Let bygones be bygones – fair amount of stirring up here – the old days it would be boycotted !

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 20th 2015, 8:39 PM

Under orders to reinforce the stereotype ?

May 20th 2015, 8:58 PM

MCC I heard that too, also heard Mountbatten was apparently, among other things, an advocate of a United Ireland. Don’t know how true it is though.

Mute verbal kint
    Favourite verbal kint
    May 20th 2015, 9:23 PM
    Mute Pete Gibson
    Favourite Pete Gibson
    May 20th 2015, 9:31 PM

They are STILL occupying Niall.
    The Shinners lost their pathetic “war”.
    Gerry Adams shook hands with the future king of NI.
    (Gerry is therefore a “subject” of the future King Charles III).
    That flag fluttering over Stormont is the Union Jack .
    (You may not have noticed that Niall!)
    The IRA were well and truly trounced.

Mute Lasair Aireáinnach
    Favourite Lasair Aireáinnach
    May 20th 2015, 9:42 PM

Don’t get taken in by these people, don’t lick their a***e or doff the cap or find yourself plaumasing the entourage, never forget your ancestors whose families were butchered, lived in misery and were tortured for centuries by these beasts, your ancestors who come from more royal and far more noble stock than these interlopers, thieves and their MI5 agents of degeneracy.

MI5 and MI6 were evil personified, they set up fake gangs to play different elements off each other, they instituted killings when they needed someone blamed for something, they engaged in paedophile rackets protecting their overlords, (many in the house of Lords), it is completely riddled with evil monstrous people. People get “disappeared” or have “accidents”, especially many of their own workers, when it was thought they might compromise goings on in the organisations.

Make no mistake these are worldly, materialistic very practical organisations, filled with people who are pure and utter filth of the earth, deal in the sordid matters of this world which for them means anything gets done, by any means, by anybody, but always to protect and further the people at the top. Parts of the IRA were infiltrated by these people, but to say it is all the IRA, is to be completely naive about the nature of what was going on up north. The 6 counties was a useful experiment testing ground with entrails of that testing reaching into the south. The Orange Order is not a freemason organisation for nothing, with it’s tentacles and origins in Dublin. The ordinary people especially the nationalist Catholic peoples were indeed fed upon by these predators. These MI5 and MI6 rejects, misfits, walter mittys, psychologically deranged people are still about, they moved their main theatre of operations to the middle east and Syria etc. ISIS has been a pet project of theirs. They foment and create gangs to kill other gangs, always to keep their own native populace under control, the north was one of the early experimental laboratories for these experiments. IRA have some blame, but people are naive to think they were not fighting for freedom against a complete monstrous entity which is still operating around the world today. MI5 etc now use the allied “friendly” PIRA and Sinn Fein and in UK other far-left orgs, to quell and replace the native populations of Ireland and Britain, all again to the benefit of the banker elite.

“PRINCE Charles’s mentor Lord Mountbatten – murdered by the IRA more than 20 years ago – has also been sensationally linked to the notorious Kincora Boys’ Home scandal in east Belfast. A book called ‘War ofthe Windsors’ Claims that rumours had “even linked him with the notorious scandal surrounding the Kincora Boys’ Home, where a network of teenage boys were made available to VIPs.”
    It states: “Of all the recent Royals, none was so consistently immoral and unprincipled as the late Lord Mountbatten.”
    http://ukpaedos-exposed.com/uk-child-abusers-named-and-shamed/childhood-abuses/uk-childrens-homes-crisis/kincora-boys-home/

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 10:07 PM

Diarmuid Diarmuid Diarmuid.

1. The Provos no longer exist they are in the past, you know that place you live.

2. You know nothing about my past so don’t categorise all republicans as armchairs, at least I don’t lie behind a baboons face and fake Irish name

3. You’re the bigot. You constantly go on about things perpetrated by the IRA but not once do you mention the murdering of Irish civilians over 800 years, plantations, slaughtering of hundreds of thousands of Irish men women AND children in the name of the Crown. I make no apologies for Republican actions during the War, including Mountbatten. Casualties of war. Thankfully those days are behind us but antiques like you can’t accept that. That’s why you’re the twisted bigot on here

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 20th 2015, 10:13 PM

In my lifetime the Irish has had no official enemies.

The British have had – Russians /Germans ? – massive force in Germany.
    The Irish (soldiers deployed ) , Argentinians, Iraq, Afghanistan, Libya – ready to go into Syria ……

That’s the difference perhaps between the citizens having control and rules on the Army and the system employed over yonder . -different history.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    May 20th 2015, 10:22 PM

The IRA also murdered soldiers at Warrenpoint on that day, they had families too don’t forget.

Mute DJ Dave Nice
    Favourite DJ Dave Nice
    May 20th 2015, 10:26 PM

Paras deserved what they got, that’s not to say I don’t feel sorry for their families. But they wore a uniform despised on this island.

Mute DJ Dave Nice
    Favourite DJ Dave Nice
    May 20th 2015, 10:30 PM

Ha! So that explains why Arrrrlene is so bitter!! Now if someone can just get her to a hairdressers and tell her to stop cutting her own hair using a bowl. I think it’s called a “willie Frazer” lol

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 10:31 PM

Paul, so you’d be happy to sacrifice other people’s children, but not your own?

Brave little warrior Paul. Big man.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    May 20th 2015, 10:59 PM

Prince Charles, kind words from a Gentleman. He has tried to build bridges on a difficult past. We should look forward.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    May 20th 2015, 11:11 PM

Hermes, the UK did the heavy lifting in ww2 and the Russians topped that. Ww2 was won in the East(heaviest fighting w/ NaZi forces and most losses) but the UK carried the fight im the West.

Mute gerry o donell
    Favourite gerry o donell
    May 20th 2015, 11:28 PM

you have to feel sorry for Charlie first his uncle dies and then he gets his buddies to kill his wife so he can marry a horse.

Mute Keith Patterson
    Favourite Keith Patterson
    May 20th 2015, 11:29 PM

I’m from the area of Sligo myself and that attack was disgusting. The IRA would’ve known well they would’ve killed more than M/Batten himself planting the bomb on the boat. They’d have known his family and friends would get it as well and young Paul Maxwell who couldn’t have been more innocent. If it was just M/batten they wanted dead they could have easily taken just him out on his own.

Mute Keith Patterson
    May 20th 2015, 11:31 PM

Here here!

May 21st 2015, 12:08 AM

It was 1979. What sort of message were the IRA trying to send out?

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    May 21st 2015, 1:03 AM

Statistics show that 70 percent of IRA activity was compromise and prevented by the security forces saving the lives of thousands .

Mute Gaeltán
    Favourite Gaeltán
    May 21st 2015, 8:19 AM

Bheadh sé go deas dá ndéaradh seisean go raibh aiféala air faoin SAS aguz seisean i gceannas orthu. Nó b’fhéidir nach bhfuil?

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    May 21st 2015, 11:58 AM

British forces killed children…. so that made it all right then? Whataboutery gone mad.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    May 21st 2015, 11:59 AM

The message was simple, it was a hate fest against the English at Mullughmore and Warrenpoint delivered by cowards who couldn’t look their enemy in the eye.

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    May 21st 2015, 12:50 PM

@lasair, that’s dreadful hate language, it’s the kind of stuff that gobbles used to write about Jews in Germany back in the bad times.

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    May 21st 2015, 1:08 PM

But didn’t we have our very own kincora boys homes down here, run by the Catholic Church?

Mute Lasair Aireáinnach
    Favourite Lasair Aireáinnach
    May 21st 2015, 4:24 PM

Try reading about Kitson then and using northern Ireland as an experiment, and keep your typical emotional blackmail using “the Jews” etc to try to boost one topic with use of an unrelated other topic. Shows your point is bull.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 21st 2015, 7:53 PM

They did Gregory but their history prior to Hitler in 39 is one of abject political failure !

Mute cosmological
    Favourite cosmological
    May 20th 2015, 1:03 PM

Old Charlie sounded quite sincere.

Mute Jon Mackey
    Favourite Jon Mackey
    May 20th 2015, 1:27 PM

Getting a bit tired listening to this story. You’d swear Mountbatten was the only person killed during the period. Poor old Charles had enough of the British tax payers money to help him through the years not to mention his work with the paras.

The sooner the better this archaic leeching family are wound down. You’d swear it was the 1800′s.

Mute Fiannaoicht
    Favourite Fiannaoicht
    May 20th 2015, 1:30 PM

Any reason if you care whether or not the British have a royal family?

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    May 20th 2015, 1:36 PM

Okay Charlies may have had dodgy friends like Jimmy Saville but he has been through a lot and those rumours linking Lord Mountbatten Kincora’s boys home can’t have helped :)

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    May 20th 2015, 1:40 PM

all gerrys mates are convicted terrorists- go figure :D

Mute Eamonn Connaghan
    Favourite Eamonn Connaghan
    May 20th 2015, 1:41 PM

I believe mountbatten introduced saville to the royals. It would make you wonder what a royal and a d.j. had in common. Must’ve been all the stuff they did with childern

Mute Eamonn Connaghan
    Favourite Eamonn Connaghan
    May 20th 2015, 1:42 PM

That should’ve read “children’s charities”, sorry.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    May 20th 2015, 1:49 PM

He’s out doing his bit for the peace and reconciliation process, and you’re here throwing around smutty implications about his murdered relative. Go figure.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    May 20th 2015, 2:33 PM

I bet Old Charlie was very relieved ( to quote the late Spike Milligan) that that ” little grovelling ba$tard” – John Bruton wasn’t there to greet him this time :)

Mute Jon Mackey
    Favourite Jon Mackey
    May 20th 2015, 3:23 PM

I am fundamentally opposed to any monarchy. There is no reason on earth why any family member should be treated with such distinction simply because they have been born into privilege. NO other reason other than being born into it! They have earned nothing for themselves yet have taken so much from everyday folks over the centuries. They are corrupt, incestuous and undemocratic.

They belong in the dustbin of history.

Mute ss
    Favourite ss
    May 20th 2015, 3:29 PM

John Brutal Bruton a Unionist castle catholic with a hatred of the ordinary Irish people. A part of the vile anti equality rump from the colonial days.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    May 20th 2015, 4:03 PM

Not to mention the friend of bankers and charlatans alike, trying to manipulate people with his faith, saying that it isn’t Christian to harbour grudges towards those who wrecked the country.
    Let’s not even start on his criticism of the 1916 rebels, without whom he could never have been Taoiseach, given that the office wouldn’t exist.

The pension we pay him is sickening.

Mute Steve Tracey
    Favourite Steve Tracey
    May 20th 2015, 4:14 PM

Jon
    What work with the Paras he’s Colonel in Chief it’s an honorary title he has no executive role with them. This remark in no way condones the actions of that regiments battalion in Derry and I would like to see an independant enquiry into their actions in Ballymurphy. And I’m a a former Brit squaddie the whole Balymurphy thing has an unpleasant smell about it.

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 4:50 PM

If people fired unlawfully in Ballymurphy or wherever then then need held to account for that, the Republicans will never admit that people should be sought for Enniskillen or Kingsmills though, they think the only two inquiries that should exist are for Ballymurphy and Bloody Sunday.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 20th 2015, 5:04 PM

When you have soldiers will to kill for King and Country then you have a situation where you allow a certain percentage of your young men to be trained as killers under the command of Royalty.
    That is one of the reasons the President swears an oath to uphold the constitution – not to be in charge of the Army and the defence of the State.
    Royal families deserve slack because they are born into a system that pre-ordains their role in many ways.
    That is what distinguishes them from the likes of Napoleon, Stalin, Hitler, Cromwell and a fair scattering of Popes….

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 9:24 PM

Nobody was killed on the school bus despite the bomb going off under the driver, he managed to get out almost unscathed.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 20th 2015, 9:54 PM

It shows what War or the excuse for one does to people though doesn’t it – and that goes for all sides .
    Ordinary people in the worst of circumstances .

Regardless of blame the Peace has to be a good thing. The Prince could try to calm the Flags if he wanted and Adams the counteraction to the Marching.
    Just saying !

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 20th 2015, 9:59 PM

Here’s a question to take the sectarianism out of it …
    How many 17 year old British soldiers wanted to be in Northern Ireland swinging guns under constant threat – I bet most of them wanted to be a footballer when they were 10.

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre
    May 20th 2015, 10:16 PM

Here we go again Antrim

1) There was no lack of vigour in the investigations into IRA crimes at the time they happened. Compare that to the cover-up about Bloody Sunday and suspected cover up re. Ballymurphy

2) The line the British state took was that the IRA were just another criminal gang. “Crime is crime is crime”. Well the British Army, UDR & RUC were supposed to be the good-guys, right? Shouldn’t they be held to a higher standard than supposed gangsters? Shouldn’t we know if the state committed murder and covered it up? Should we know how high up collusion went?

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 11:03 PM

I agree that soldiers who blatantly killed civilians should be held to account, I don’t include anti-terrorist operations that resulted in dead IRA personnel in that though, the IRA were a menace to our society and I firmly believe any soldier or policeman who shot them to be a hero. It’s a shame they didn’t shoot every one they lifted.

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 11:04 PM

PS you want the British to arrest their own men. Why don’t the IRA give up those that carried out Kingsmills/Enniskillen etc?

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    May 20th 2015, 11:25 PM

Jon, the Dutch and the Swedish love their monarchy, and why not? That is their choice. Lived for many years in NL and King Willem Alexander and former Queen Beatrix are dearly regarded by the populace. It is part of their culture and identity. I know the Dutch Royals are highly educated and extremely hard working and contribute a great deal to their country.

Mute Steve Tracey
    Favourite Steve Tracey
    May 21st 2015, 7:47 AM

Hermes,
    To answer your question after 1971 NONE no one under the age of 18 was serving in NI. Further the British Armed Forces have Al been volunteers since 1964.
    This might sound pedantic to some but if someone is going to criticise check facts or use expression such as I believe don’t state things as fact without being sure.

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    May 21st 2015, 12:00 PM

Republicans on dodgy ground there.

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    May 21st 2015, 1:00 PM

Jon, I believe parasites is the word best applied when it comes to royalty

Mute Gabbi Johnson
    Favourite Gabbi Johnson
    May 20th 2015, 1:06 PM

The British establishments presence in ireland meant alot of grandsons never had their grandfathers due to undue death. Loss is never easy. Hope he gets some closure in Mullaghmore and he can move on.

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    May 20th 2015, 1:13 PM

The Shinners trying to say that yesterday’s handshake with Gerry was historic must be a joke. SF sold out completely.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    May 20th 2015, 1:21 PM

Did you support the IRA terrorism Paul?

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    May 20th 2015, 1:41 PM

you talk as if the british left, why would they they won the ‘war’ as the ira surrendered

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    May 20th 2015, 1:45 PM

Hope S.F can go and take up their seats in Westminster after all this, it would show some real maturity .They can repersent their voters better.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    May 20th 2015, 1:50 PM

alas it will be back to knuckle dragging as soon as the photo pop has passed, thats the way the shiner cult operates

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    May 20th 2015, 4:13 PM

@patjoejoe

The IRA brought the British to the table and a truce was made. Who won what? Who surrendered? Sounds like it was a stalemate at the very least.

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 4:50 PM

IRA lost, simple.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 5:01 PM

PIRA/SF committed acts of terrorism to create a 32 county republic, and failed utterly.

Northern Ireland remains part of the United Kingdom.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    May 20th 2015, 5:16 PM

well one side handed their guns to the other :D it tragic that you can even admit that you lost and lost badly and the whole country sees the vile shiners for what they really are. they will wallow as a nothing opposition for eternity and we shall laugh directly in their faces at every opportunity. :D

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 5:22 PM

They say the Vietnam war had no outright winner either and that the US definitely never lost. NVA tanks rolled into Saigon while US sympathisers scrambled onto choppers to escape, they then renamed the city Ho Chi Minh city and made Vietnam into one country, US might not have lost militarily but they failed miserably in their pursuit to thwart communism in SEA and lost nearly 60k men in the process.

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 5:23 PM

If Americas outcome in Vietnam was a victory then I wouldn’t like to see a defeat

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    May 20th 2015, 6:39 PM

Paul..

I never understand this “sold out” nonsense.. My 55 yr old Sinn Feis neighbour is ashamed of McGuinness and Adams now that they will shake hands with the Queen and Prince Charles.. She nearly had a caniption when the Queen came to Ireland..

She has always lived in Clare. She will not forgive the UK and Thatcher for the death of the Hunger Strikers. It seems to me if she had been genuinely hurt by the struggles she would be delighted to have peace now..

But no its never over..

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 20th 2015, 9:56 PM

a caniption is the way the Brits get ya – It’s their favourite weapon !
    You couldn’t be up to them, as crafty so they are …..

Mute David adams
    Favourite David adams
    May 20th 2015, 1:15 PM

We owe so much to England. England owes so much to us. We are one and the same. Show me any family in Ireland that doesn’t have family in the UK. Our cultures are the same. We share the same issues. So all in all there a good neighbour. I understand the past must not be forgotten but at the same time we must not drag it around like a bad toothache. Live and let live

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 20th 2015, 1:25 PM

David, I couldn’t agree more. This is the reality, and those who call me a ‘West Brit ‘ can take a running jump. The level of hypocrisy in this country is phenomenal.

Mute Neil Crowley
    Favourite Neil Crowley
    May 20th 2015, 1:25 PM

I agree with much if your comment but our cultures are not at all the same. Sorry except for drinking culture….

Mute Dec Moyles
    Favourite Dec Moyles
    May 20th 2015, 2:18 PM

Same as neil. I really don’t get people who think we have the same culture. You won’t meet many English who think we’re just like them

Mute Marc O'Cuileannain
    Favourite Marc O'Cuileannain
    May 20th 2015, 2:24 PM

Totally agree with you, the common people should unite and forget the past. I was born in England to Irish parents and am now back here, I know the cultures from both sides and the people of both countries are largely wonderful.

What is not wonderful is acting the Prince has got anything to do with that.
    He does not represent the people of Britain and he, his family and mates are surrounded by child sex allegations, which the establishment are doing their best to block investigations of.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    May 20th 2015, 2:57 PM

A shared past cannot be the same as a common understanding of the past. Plainly England see’s the past as something to be celebrated at every opportunity. Many Irish don’t view the past that way and carry it around as a burden instead of learning from it and paving the way for a better future.

Mute Walt Jabsco
    Favourite Walt Jabsco
    May 20th 2015, 3:03 PM

Of course the cultures aren’t identical (you can pick two places anywhere in Ireland and they’ll have different cultures too), but the point is that overall they have far more in common than say Ireland and Italy, or Ireland and Mexico.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 20th 2015, 1:14 PM

May I commend this Prince on an apposite, and I believe, a genuine and heartfelt speech. The situation is difficult, I am at my basis, an anti monarchist (wherever monarchs exist) nonetheless, he is a product of the circumstances of his birth, as am I. I believe that this is a decent man of conscience – I am sad that he has had to endure our folk dancing, but he is well used to it. Praise and good wishes to he, and the wife of his heart

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    May 20th 2015, 3:48 PM

He did a lovely speech yesterday about Ireland and the Irish people and it is so true.

Mute Mr. Dave
    Favourite Mr. Dave
    May 20th 2015, 1:07 PM

Mountbatten- best friend of Jimmy Saville. Continuously linked to the Kincora Boys home scandal and more. Just saying..

Mute Jonathan Stapleton
    Favourite Jonathan Stapleton
    May 20th 2015, 1:12 PM

You got in there before me Mr dave, im glad someone said it.

Mute David adams
    Favourite David adams
    May 20th 2015, 1:16 PM

A will you take a running jump in the Liffey idiot.

Mute Mr. Dave
    Favourite Mr. Dave
    May 20th 2015, 1:28 PM

@David Adams, only an idiot would stick his head in the sand when these child abuse allegations surface. And i’ll say this- as much as ‘nut’ David Icke has been over the years(loses me on the reptilians) he has been bang on the money when it came to the peadophile rings within the BBC and the house of lords(inqury pending) and he has been quite vocal about peadophilia within the royal family.But as its friends of mp’s & lords investigating thier own friends on these allegations i highly doubt anyone will be brought to justice.

Mute Wexford pikeman
    Favourite Wexford pikeman
    May 20th 2015, 1:28 PM

As—holes like you never look forward, Up, and brush yourself of laddie.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 20th 2015, 1:34 PM

Btw “Mr Dave ” British conducting child abuse enquiry which includes ’271 prominent individuals ‘. When are we likely to see the same here? Goan shite.

Mute Mr. Dave
    Favourite Mr. Dave
    May 20th 2015, 1:47 PM

Well ‘Shiek’. When they have ‘connected’ people like Fiona Woolf heading the investigations( has since stood down) it makes a complete mockery to the victims. We do share common ground with the british-Our inquries are a farce!

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 20th 2015, 2:39 PM

It is Sheik, not Shiek, and I doubt if you give a fart or a fig about child abuse. Merely another stick to beat “the Brits” with. I’ve seen it all before, and it doesn’t impress me. Children have been abused on these Islands beyond historical times, there is a relatively recent interest in it – sadly, it always seems to be linked to some political gripe- rather than the actual crimes perpetrated against children – who, it seems have in reality no more protection that they ever had, despite all the “initiatives” and “task forces”.

Mute Mr. Dave
    Favourite Mr. Dave
    May 20th 2015, 2:54 PM

@Sheik. I’m not arguing with you on this.I completely agree that there has been alot of child abuse swept under the carpet on this island alone. Kincora is one of note where high political figures and business men were named but never saw justice! What irks me is that people are fawning and posting arse licking comments over a prince who spent many a time holidaying with known peadophile. What exactly has a Prince and the royal family,have in common with a DJ?

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre
    May 20th 2015, 10:21 PM

Just saying what? You didn’t say anything

Funny that you didn’t find time to mention anything about the child murdered that day. You’re all about caring for kids though yeah?

Mute Stiofán Na Mara
    Favourite Stiofán Na Mara
    May 20th 2015, 1:46 PM

Just to note.. at that time a short distance across the border many were denied their civil rights, Mountbatten was part of that machine and lived in excessive wealth. He lived by the sword his whole life. The history of Classiebawn is disgusting. Land was cleared of it’s natives to make way for the castle and home of “Lord” Palmerston, they arrived in Newfoundland broken and starved. Troops used to take pot shots at locals for fun in Mullaghmore area. Mountbatten was not an innocent man and had much blood on his hands from various parts of the world. What the Monarchy still represent is appalling.. militarism, arms, banking, corporatism etc etc. For all of Charles eco talk he does not mention social justice, change of system, wealth redistribution of stolen lands and natural resources from around the globe. His idea of conservation is WWF projects that preserve lands for elite tourism while evicting the natives out which if you do your own research you will find that this is still happening.. Look into this.. http://www.survivalinternational.org/ His environmental credentials and knowledge are pathetic for those of us that are working towards a real and fair sustainable future.

What world do we want? Sustainable, fair, ecologically and scientifically literate, heart centered and compassionate.. or elitism, gross wealth inequality, militarized and to continue on a path of climate change, eco cide, war and inhumanity. Their ilk still very much represent this, it is they that have not evolved! I’m not a shinner nor a nationalist, can’t really be put into a political sphere but I know what happened here and it’s structured twisted legacy and I’ve traveled the world enough to know that this parasitic system and these parasites must change. All for peace and bridge building but lets get a grip? Monarchs in Mullaghmore and Warplanes at Shannon? Their dinosaurs we are the change!

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    May 20th 2015, 1:47 PM

his lot kicked the IRAs ass :D

Mute David Boxer
    Favourite David Boxer
    May 20th 2015, 1:48 PM

You sound like some downs kid with access to a computer patjoejoe

See 50 more replies ▾
    Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    May 20th 2015, 2:00 PM

Stiofán you need to get with the programme or you will be accused of trying to wreck the peace process and the achievement of equal voting rights, a cause for which all the volunteers died. I well remember how Booby Sands gave his life so that we could all have equal voting rights. I remember his passionate speeches about equal voting rights very well and how they were not obtained by the time he died so more children had to be killed in Warrington. But Gerry got there in the end and the position of Northern Ireland as part of the United Kingdom was cemented in and so were equal voting rights for “republicans” in the Sunningdale Agreement of Good Friday 1998. Beir bua Gerry and the splittists of Spin Feign.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    May 20th 2015, 2:58 PM

someone should have told booby sandwiches that there was equal voting rights since 1979. aint the cleverest bunch the ira evil terrorists now are they :D

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    May 20th 2015, 3:07 PM

Whatever your opinion on Bobby Sands, there’s no doubting his intelligence and few will argue that

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 4:53 PM

There’s no doubting he was vermin either.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    May 20th 2015, 5:19 PM

poor peckish, ah well one less evil terrorist in the world, that can only be a good thing. sandwiches was some idiot in fairness you can only laugh at his stupidity

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    May 20th 2015, 5:29 PM

Why was he vermin exactly? He stood for what he felt was right as his people received harassment and oppression from an occupying force

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    May 20th 2015, 5:39 PM

IRA = Vermin, can’t be any simpler than that :)

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    May 20th 2015, 5:48 PM

British soldiers who shoot kids and other innocents are vermin to me. I don’t know what it is about a uniform that legitimises brutality and excess use of force, but it worries me

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 6:33 PM

He was vermin because he was an IRA terrorist, an organisation that murdered and maimed thousands. Do you understand that?

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    May 20th 2015, 6:37 PM

Fully, thanks for the clarification. But “terrorists” only arise at the will of the people. Centuries of “terrorists” rose up to defend innocents from the real terror of an occupying force. If you defend your country from oppression and brutality why are you automatically a terrorists. I don’t deny that there were atrocities but that unfortunately is the nature of combat. Let’s be objective rather than labelling the man with the smaller stick a terrorist, you’re better than that

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 6:50 PM

There was no occupying force in NI, it’s a part of the UK therefore the British army cannot be occupiers. They’ve more right then the IRA to walk the streets of NI.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    May 20th 2015, 7:00 PM

Do you forget that we were invaded as a country? They can walk the streets all they like, but they didn’t, they harassed, assaulted and murdered people long before the IRA were ever around. They created laws to vilify and restrict people who disagreed with their rule.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    May 20th 2015, 7:05 PM

When were we invaded Todd?

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 7:07 PM

I’m obviously referring to the troubles era. NI was part of the UK, the army didn’t invade the Irish Republic, they stayed in UK territory.

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 7:09 PM

You should also know they were in NI not as invaders but as peacekeepers, it was the orange and green that were fighting with each other that created a situation that required them, it was nationalist politicians that asked for them don’t forget.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    May 20th 2015, 7:16 PM

Oh so you’re selective about how much of the past we should leave in the past? Ye sure we’ll just bypass causality there like it has nothing to do with it. The RUC were peace keepers were they? We got harassed by the British soldiers every time we crossed into Forkhill, vilified for being Irish. Peace keepers my hole

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 8:02 PM

Antrim you are the occupying force. Your forefathers were planted here from Scotland and England and given stolen land off native Irish in return for loyalty to the Crown. You are land thieves who now proclaim this is UK?? No it’s British occupied 6 Counties like it or not. Learn your history Planter.

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 8:06 PM

No need to get upset here, it’s only a discussion. I remember going across the border myself with my parents and having the car taken into search bays and searched for God knows how long while everybody had to stand outside and wait for them to finish, tough security measures brought on by a constant terrorist threat, I wouldn’t call it harassment though, they didn’t stop people based on their religion, it was purely random and there to deter terrorists and stop them moving freely.

I make my point again, it was nationalist politicians that asked for the army to be sent here to restore order in 1969, the IRA then started to attack them, that’s what the troubles was, that’s why we had PVCP’s on the border, army patrols, helicopters, searches etc. The minute the IRA declared they were finished all that disappeared.

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 8:08 PM

I’m in my own country you republican skum

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 8:19 PM

Yes you are Antrim. Ireland. It may be administered by British rule after 800 years of occupation but it doesn’t make it any less Irish. Fact load of land thieves now live here changes nothing. And for the record Aontroim the British army was only called after murdering sectarian planter filth butchered murdered and burned native Irish out of their homes. There was no IRA in 1960s when Paisley was spouting his vitriol then or Gusty Spence was slicing Catholics throats in 1966. Now way back to your ancestral home with ya

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 8:23 PM

I’m in my home already you republican filth, away and rub your excrement on the wall………………make sure you finish your dinner first though, oops.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 8:41 PM

Paul, you’re beloved SF/PIRA surrendered, decommissioned and accepted Northern Ireland as a constituent part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, with Queen Elizabeth II as head of State.

That must irritate you…

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 8:43 PM

Ah true colours now eh Planter? All your talk of people getting killed and of glorifying death and you spout that on here. Shame Arlene didn’t go up with that bus it may have improved her looks. As for driver he must have being using those kids as human shields absolutely disgusting. Typical UDR planter. Shame there hadn’t being few of them in Narrowwater

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 8:46 PM

You call me Republican like it’s an insult. Unrepentant Fenian B..tard. Never forget that. That reminds me, I wonder is the fish shop open??? Lol

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 8:46 PM

You call me Republican like it’s an insult. Unrepentant Fenian B..tard. Never forget that. That reminds me, I wonder is the fish shop open??? Lol

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 8:48 PM

“Kicked IRAs ass”?? Got his just desserts then wouldn’t you say seeing as you agree he was part of the problem.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 8:54 PM

I’ll take that as a Yes…

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 9:21 PM

Fish shop? What you on about?

May 20th 2015, 9:22 PM

“Booby Sandwiches” and ” republican filth, away and rub your excrement on the wall………………make sure you finish your dinner first though, oops.”

This is what you’re dealing with on here.

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 9:27 PM

At least I’m not mocking the death of ordinary civilians. Bobby Sands was an enemy of the PUL community and the United Kingdom as a whole, fcuk him.

May 20th 2015, 9:39 PM

As well as people mocking the Shankill Rd bombing. Despairing stuff.

May 20th 2015, 9:48 PM

Thomas Aquinas, the most recent invasion was 01/05/1169.

P.S. don’t try to tell me that Strongbow and his Anglo-Norman mercenaries were invited to Waterford. Wexford, Wicklow, Meath, Louth or Down.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 20th 2015, 9:53 PM

Diarmuid, what irritates is the good publicity Gerry Adams has got from his handshake and meeting with Charles.. If Gerry Adams refused to meet with him you would all, along with Kenny and his tame media, be banging a different drum.
    The sheer naked hatred being expressed here by the anti Sinn Fein, and anti Gerry Adams brigade, is disgusting.

Mute DJ Dave Nice
    Favourite DJ Dave Nice
    May 20th 2015, 10:03 PM

Bobby Sands is up there with Collins, Tone and Emmet as an Irish republican hero. His sacrifice will never be forgotten Aontroim. TAL.

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 10:08 PM

Well the Shankill bombing was a mass murder of civilians. I’m mocking a dead enemy combatant, there’s no love for Bobby Sands in the unionist community. People are on here since yesterday justifying the attack on Mountbatten and the killing of the paras, not one republican cared but now that I’ve mentioned Bobby Sands in a negative way there’s a flow of tears started.

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 10:16 PM

Pontius Pilate. Showing us what true FG think of anyone who dares disagree with the Blueshirt mentality. Unlike you I don’t believe everything I read because I have what’s called a brain. Look that up will ya

Mute DJ Dave Nice
    Favourite DJ Dave Nice
    May 20th 2015, 10:22 PM

The paras got their just desserts after Derry and Ballymurphy. It was a fantastic operation.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 10:26 PM

Dave, maybe you should condemn the sectarian bigotry of your fellow Shinner trolls above… instead of condemning some people who challenge the legitimacy of your beloved PIRA/SF.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 20th 2015, 10:50 PM

Diarmuid, i told you before, i have never voted SF in my life. I see as much sectarian bigotry being expressed here, as ever was expressed at the height of the conflict in Nth.Ireland And most of it is coming from the anti Sinn Fein side.

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 10:56 PM

Aontroim. Bobby Sands was created by the Loyalists who burned his family out of his home in Rathcoole solely due to his religion. How about you look up Bobbys early age and see he was always mixing with Protestants until he was forced from his home. Bobby Sands was the product of Loyalist planter bigots which sectarian hatred as their only cause.

Now cue Diarmuid who no doubt will back up his fellow Orangeman.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 10:58 PM

Dave, criticising SF is not sectarian. Your whole premise is delusional.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 11:01 PM

Sands committed suicide for prison clothing and selfish self interested “political status”.

He took his own life. The terrorist organisation he was a part of did not give the same choice to its victims.

Just a shame more “republican” and loyalist terrorists did not do the same thing.

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 11:03 PM

One question ‘Diarmuid’

Where are you from? County like?

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 11:09 PM

Bobby Sands was a terrorist who was no friend of the Protestant population. If he was so friendly with Protestants he wouldn’t have joined the IRA, an organisation that has its hands dripping with innocent Protestant blood.

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 11:17 PM

Look up Wikipedia you blind bigoted moron. He was reared in Rathcoole and played football with all the kids at the start of the Troubles. There is a famous pic with him and few other lads on a team many of whom were later in prison for Loyalist paramilitaries. Once the family religion was discovered they were attacked and fled to Twinbrook. Jesus you would think using an online site you would at least use parts of it. Typical Planter though, last thing you want to know is your own history. Ignorant bible bashing Sunday school idiots. Our revenge will be the laughter of our children.

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 11:21 PM

Thought so “Diarmuid”. Slobbering on about “keyboard warriors”, “trolls” etc but you’re biggest one of all. Fake pic, fake name hiding behind anonymity of a keyboard just like all other cowards. Not wasting time with pond life like you some of us have jobs to go to tomorrow

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 20th 2015, 11:35 PM

Calls me a bigot but was mocking the Shankill bombing a couple of hours ago lol

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 11:39 PM

Aboy Paul, maith an buachaill. Willing to sacrifice other people’s children, but not his own. How very brave and noble.

PS The only Irish people who care about Sands are teenage armchair “republicans” in Celtic jerseys. He is utterly irrelevant in Irish society.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    May 20th 2015, 11:42 PM

A difficult past for sure. I for one, of many thousands, attended a great Irish University built by the English. Today many Uk academics work there. Our exam standards are vetted by peers in other Uk Universities. Our doctors still follow post grad specialty courses in the Uk not available here to progress to consultant level under the Irish system. There are positives as well and we have greatly benefitted from our Universities.

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    May 21st 2015, 1:22 PM

That’s a very nasty comment David.”…

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    May 20th 2015, 1:33 PM

Great friend of the boys in the Kincora children’s home and Jimmy Saville

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 1:26 PM

The day PIRA/SF murdered defenceless OAPs and children… like the heroic patriots they are.

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    May 20th 2015, 1:38 PM

I can rattle off the names of plenty of old age pensioners killed by the British army in the North. If you are so disgusted by murder of all kinds why are you not out protesting agaisbt Charles visit here, seeing as he has held a post as the head of some of those responsible.

Seriously go back under your rock you clown, you are a beyond pathetic laughing stock on the Journal these days. I actually nearly feel pity for people like yourselves, such is the depth of your sad life-judging on sad daily trolling on this site anyways.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    May 20th 2015, 1:43 PM

british army isn’t asking us to vote for them, an subtle but significant difference

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    May 20th 2015, 1:54 PM

Pat there was a war on. And bad things happen in war. And that was the past and this is the present. Now we have peace which the Emir fought so hard for. The collateral casualties were really unfortunate. But let’s all be friends now and bend the knee to the future monarch of northern ireland, since the war failed to achieve its objective of getting the Brits out but isnt it great that Gerry achieved his goal of equal voting rights.

Mute David Boxer
    Favourite David Boxer
    May 20th 2015, 1:55 PM

Does anyone else imaging Diarmuid standing on a postbox on the Shankill road thumping his Bible while wearing a bowler hat and orange sash, shouting obscenities about all Republicans and Catholics ?

Give it a rest Diarmuid, BTW rumor has it Enda Kenny was livid and fuming as Charles shook hands with Jerry.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    May 20th 2015, 2:16 PM

There was a war on? Really?
    Down here we thought it was a struggle to see who was the biggest bigot and who would end up with all the moolah when it died down.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 2:19 PM

Wow… SF supporters legitimising the murder of OAPs and children.

Would they be so patriotic if their own children were indiscriminately murdered by people claiming to act in their name?

Sorry to bust your bubbles. I, like the vast majority of Irish people, never supported SF/PIRA terrorism. That makes us all orangemen? Pathetic.

May 20th 2015, 2:49 PM

Old IRA terrorism was valiant, though. Right?

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    May 20th 2015, 2:51 PM

it just perfectly shows what complete cowards the ira were yet again, takes a real patriot to blow up children

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 2:54 PM

Moral equivocation is not going to hide the cowardly brutality of this terrorist act.

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 7:57 PM

Old IRA Terrorism?? Was there even such a word back then? Go back to your rock you clown working Class Irish men and women fought and died so you could have the freedom to spout that crap. Don’t like it go back to our former rulers homeland where thy might make you welcome.

May 20th 2015, 8:39 PM

Was that for me Paul? If so, you may have misunderstood me. I was being sarcastic about the hypocrites who think some violence is justified, and other violence is to be condemned.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 8:43 PM

You support people who murder children Paul… you’re a brave little warrior aren’t you..

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 10:09 PM

Sorry Jamie apologies I have being few late nights

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    May 20th 2015, 1:15 PM

I gather there are some people about who think Mountbatten his grandson, the grandson’s grandmother and the Irish boat boy were blown up as part of the “republican” campaign for same subject voting rights. Seems a bit excessive to me especially as that had been achieved by 1979.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    May 20th 2015, 3:00 PM

has anyone any idea why the IRA went on a serial killing campaign for three decades?

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    May 20th 2015, 8:25 PM

No history books where you crawl PatJoe?? Surely a history in oppression, denial of civil rights and sectarian policies committed against 500000 citizens of this country not ring any bells?? Undefeated army sunshine TAL

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 8:44 PM

SF/PIRA basically “achieved” the Sunningdale Agreement from 1974.

Mute DJ Dave Nice
    Favourite DJ Dave Nice
    May 20th 2015, 9:57 PM

Diarmuid, get some sleep. You’ve got to be up early tomorrow to post another 400 infantile comments. Sleep tight, hope you don’t have nightmares about the bad Shinners now Diarmuid!! Oíche mhaith xxx

Mute Marc O'Cuileannain
    Favourite Marc O'Cuileannain
    May 20th 2015, 2:31 PM

The people of England are welcome, the fight is over.

The high society elites surrounded by child sex allegations and cover ups here and abroad can still feck off.

Mute DJ Dave Nice
    Favourite DJ Dave Nice
    May 20th 2015, 9:31 PM

The fight may be over but the struggle for Irish independence isn’t.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 20th 2015, 10:28 PM

Ah it is though… SF/PIRA settled for partition, UK rule and some limited power sharing with Unionists.

Mute DJ Dave Nice
    Favourite DJ Dave Nice
    May 21st 2015, 6:34 AM

Chip chip Dermot. Rome wasn’t built in a day. TAL.

Mute HRH The Brummie
    Favourite HRH The Brummie
    May 20th 2015, 3:13 PM

People too often forget that high profile people like the British royals do have feelings and are as sorry as you or I are when tragedy strikes. I hope the Prince gets some kind of closer now.

Mute Aoife Ni Ici
    Favourite Aoife Ni Ici
    May 20th 2015, 3:52 PM

Whats it really all about? Lest we forget…Kincora, Jimmy Saville, collusion murder squads, internment, torture, jerrymander…i could go on. The abasement of our ‘leaders’…smacks of stalinist revisionism…go home HRH Prince of Wales, please.

Mute HRH The Brummie
    Favourite HRH The Brummie
    May 20th 2015, 4:03 PM

What about all the kidnapping and murders of women and children by republican groups, who claimed to be representing the Irish people, no they weren’t. They were just terrorists he’ll bent on the power they controlled on the North, money money money was there motive and you know it. Sorry to burst your bubble most people here are honest, decent people who choose to live life now and not in the past. How far would you like to go back in history to see who did what. Don’t forget the raids and kidnappings when your patron saint was kidnapped from Wales. Is that far back enough for you.
    HRH the Prince of Wales and any other royal is and has been welcomed here by the greater population, who’s interested in one off ar5e holes. God save the Queen.

Mute David McKenzie
    Favourite David McKenzie
    May 20th 2015, 1:53 PM

One has to grudgingly admire their coup. As a result of which we have been duped by SF/IRA once more. Can you imagine succeeding in equating Adams’s so-called woes with those of Prince Charles? Lest we ever forget, the IRA savagely took the lives of innocents on a summer’s day in 1979. It is deeply offensive to all law-abiding, responsible citizens of this country to be informed by apologists for murder, that it was all part of the “war”. Yet, our government remains silent – sleep-walking whilst SF continues to rewrite history in their favour.

May 20th 2015, 2:52 PM

You sound bitter.

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    May 20th 2015, 3:47 PM

What happened on Bloody Sunday and Ballymurphy, were the people there not savagely taken from their families. Get out and protest against Charles visit if you feel so strongly about murder perpetrated in the Troubles, or let me guess,you are one of the weasels who only talk about murder committed by one of the main trio involved in the Troubles.

Mute Paul Freeman
    Favourite Paul Freeman
    May 20th 2015, 1:13 PM

They were all rogering in them days.

Mute ss
    Favourite ss
    May 20th 2015, 1:35 PM
    Mute 5mU05WP1
    Favourite 5mU05WP1
    May 20th 2015, 11:35 PM

So many people in here being negative Nancys as usual. They did, we did blah blah. Tit for tat. How can we ever expect to have a future if we live in the past. The British royals have made a big effort, the least we can do is meet them half way

May 20th 2015, 11:34 PM

some people here keep looking to the past, until we start to look forward this country will be stuck in the past going round in circles.

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    May 20th 2015, 10:25 PM

A visitor from Mars would believe that prince Charles was one of us if he tuned into the rte news where the announcer declares…prince Charles visited Sligo today…..instead of saying…britains prince Charles visited Sligo,

May 20th 2015, 11:53 PM

True.

Mute Keith Patterson
    May 20th 2015, 11:43 PM

As someone who’s from North Sligo and works in Nui Galway. I feel very proud of these events over the past two days. Remembering the past and hope for the future of this island. We’ve come a long way but we still have a long way to go with the peace process and I was proud of how we hosted Charles and his wife in a mature and welcoming way during their visit.

Mute stephen lane
    Favourite stephen lane
    May 20th 2015, 9:55 PM

In tribute to the much missed Frank, wh,o rumour has it, is lounging his time away in an orange jump suit in Gitmo, working on the numbers, may I suggest that a faction in Mi6 encouraged contacts in the IRA to kill off Mountbatten?

At the time, there were elements of the British Army Officer Corps, active and retired, who were plotting a military coup in the UK. One of the possible figureheads for the proposed military government was Mountbatten.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    May 20th 2015, 9:06 PM

The Brits only tryed to better us

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Favourite Padriag O'Traged
    May 20th 2015, 9:20 PM

Looks like they failed

Mute Melissa O'Driscoll
    Favourite Melissa O'Driscoll
    May 20th 2015, 9:45 PM

I’ve never seen the collective holding of breath by the diaspora be released so quickly on that handshake. Progress is indeed coming along nicely

Mute Dáibhí Pádraig Buitléar
    Favourite Dáibhí Pádraig Buitléar
    May 21st 2015, 3:27 AM

Leave it to Adams n provisional Sinn Féin to continue to betray n sully the memory o all the republican movement n the memories o brave oglach who layed down their lives in service to d’Éirinn.

Mute james obrien
    Favourite james obrien
    May 21st 2015, 9:36 AM

Did they ever find his plimsoles .
    When this happened i was living in uk .
    The joke going around was .
    Whats the fastest thing across the irish sea?
    Mountbattens plimsoles ..

Obviously now in hindsight the joke does not work as it happened the Atlantic side .but never mind .
    It wull all come out about that peado eventually .good riddance to him

Mute Ken Bracken
    Favourite Ken Bracken
    May 20th 2015, 10:46 PM

Would it not be grand uncle? Great uncle would suggest a 3 generation gap? Bothering me all day!

Mute mmz
    Favourite mmz
    May 20th 2015, 11:41 PM

Don’t bother with the geneology except to note that all the UK royals have the same DNA as Kaiser Willhelm the 2nd who is widely blamed for starting the first world war as basically a battle between cousins in which the cloying aristocrats, their hangers on and the mddle classes used the working class UK, Empire and Irish soldiers as basically expendable cannon fodder peasants to maintain the dreams of domination and stolen riches entertained by the elite leadership on both sides.

Mute mmz
    Favourite mmz
    May 20th 2015, 11:31 PM

Question….what have the British Royal Family or the IRA or its apologists /supporters ever done for the ordinary working people of Ireland or England….Answer, absolutley nothing – except cause death, pain, distress, economic hardship and extra costs for Louth County Council cleaning up the pollution caused by the hidden co-dicile (nothing in this country is straight or as it seems) to the anglo irish agreement…namely that border fuel laundering activities by IRA members will be tolerated and not prosecuted, nor will the gangster owners of bent fuel filling stations be harrassed by law enforcement – no matter what the cost to Irish taxpayers car engines. Can we expect Prince Charles to visit some of the border diesel laundering garda protected operations to show solidarity with his own parasitic scrounging lifestyle in the violent Republican community. Why no comment Gerry…..Gerry have you left us for the big money people??

Mute Dáibhí Pádraig Buitléar
    Favourite Dáibhí Pádraig Buitléar
    May 21st 2015, 10:22 AM

So what do they wish they’d done different like maybe killed all our ppl not jyst 300,000 in 800+ years?

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    May 21st 2015, 10:02 AM

What about our own home grown peados in the Catholic Church?