You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Shutterstock/Kzenon

Christian Brothers to pay outstanding €6.8 million to redress scheme

The majority of the money will go to the fund, while €429,000 is to be paid to the National Children’s Hospital.

THE CHRISTIAN BROTHERS is to pay its outstanding €6.8 million to the redress scheme for survivors of institutional abuse.

The religious organisation today formally notified the Department of Education and Skills of its intention to pay the money to the Residential Institutions Statutory Fund.

The money is expected to be paid in a series of monthly transfers between now and December.

The first tranche of €1.8 million was transferred this week to Caranua, an independent State body that was set up to support people who, as children, experienced abuse in residential institutions in Ireland.

Survivors receive grants to help them avail of mental health, educational and housing support services.

Caranua and Children’s Hospital 

Speaking today, Education Minister Joe McHugh welcomed “the clear confirmation from the Christian Brothers of its plan to complete its pledge”.

“I particularly welcome the fact that this plan has now been put into operation, with the first tranche of €1.8 million having been transferred this week.

This confirmation provides both funding and much needed clarity for Caranua to allow it to continue its supports for survivors.

Th remainder of the Christian Brothers’ fund will be split as follows: €6.3 million is to be paid to the redress fund and €429,000 to the National Children’s Hospital.

When the current plan is completed, the Congregation of Christian Brothers will have contributed €30 million to the fund.

Under the provisions of the Residential Institutions Statutory Fund Act 2002, any amount in excess of €110 million in the fund is to go to the funding of the National Children’s Hospital.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

48 Comments
    Mute KDoyle
    Favourite KDoyle
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:45 PM

Not even remotely enough for the abuse committed. Apart from the horrendous abuse, the sold babies without consent for profit, enslaved women for profit.
    The Catholic Church need to offer significantly more to atone for their discussing sins.

Mute Vincent #SaveDaredevil
    Favourite Vincent #SaveDaredevil
    Sep 7th 2019, 2:50 AM

@KDoyle: As if they will offer a penny, they are money making machine that cares nothing about who the hurt. Hence their first reaction to abuse reports in Ireland was to move the money off shore. And that is a fact.

Mute Vincent #SaveDaredevil
    Favourite Vincent #SaveDaredevil
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:07 PM

Have always said that this company should be made sell all their assets and give them to those who they abused. Its the Christian thing to do. But we all know that they aren’t Christian’s, not even close.

Mute Leroy Brown
    Favourite Leroy Brown
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:57 PM

@Vincent #SaveDaredevil: nope, they are Christians, more than you or I, they are ordained representatives of their religion… way higher in the organisation than you or I would ever be, and for some season, they’re loaded… this is a drop in the ocean to them… they couldn’t give 2 fecks about this money being paid out or about any of the lives they and their cohorts ruined

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Sep 7th 2019, 12:57 AM

@Leroy Brown: so being an ordained member of an organisation that abused the most vulnerable I out society makes them more Christian than you or I? Lies. It makes them sworn representatives of an occult group that endorsed the committing of sins. Being Christian isn’t about a collar but your actions. Fact.

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Sep 7th 2019, 12:57 AM

@Dermot Foley: in our *

Mute Leroy Brown
    Favourite Leroy Brown
    Sep 7th 2019, 1:44 AM

@Dermot Foley: being an ordained member definitely makes them more qualified in their line of work, business, company or horrifically evil organisation (take your pick from those) than you or I, yes… ‘Christian’ being a nonsense idea that was made up (by them) I will take my morals and empathy from my natural, non threat enforced care for others, thanks

Mute thatsGarrywith2r's
    Favourite thatsGarrywith2r's
    Sep 7th 2019, 10:11 AM

@Vincent #SaveDaredevil: very good Catholics but very bad Christians.

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Sep 7th 2019, 10:21 AM

@Leroy Brown: “more qualified” what does that even mean? So because you are a priest it makes you one rung above someone else in your connection to God? Lol. Having a collar on doesn’t make you holy just like having a Garda uniform on doesn’t mean you uphold the law.

Mute Christ on a bike!
    Favourite Christ on a bike!
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:54 PM

Not nearly enough imo.

Mute ÓDuibhír Abú
    Favourite ÓDuibhír Abú
    Sep 7th 2019, 7:55 AM

@Christ on a bike!: Where did they get All that Money.!!

Mute Mairead1990
    Favourite Mairead1990
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:48 PM

Kicking and screaming, a disgraceful organisation.

Mute Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer
    Favourite Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:27 PM

Just 17 yrs late lads fair play. They could be sound and throw some interest on that considering the extra 17 yrs of hardship the victims have gone through. Some possibly slipped through the cracks and become homeless, suffering from poor mental health and indeed some possibly having taken their own lives. I’m sure they had that in mind while they fought victims through the courts for years. In the meantime they build a fancy new world hq on Griffith avenue. Disgusting!

Mute William O Connor
    Favourite William O Connor
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:55 PM

I hope a full value of their buildings and investments were calculated and 99% was allocated to victims and 1% to provide bread and water to retired non abusers

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:36 PM

Good.

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:37 PM

@Daniel Dunne: And a bit more wouldn’t go a stray either.

Mute Sea Graham
    Favourite Sea Graham
    Sep 7th 2019, 12:48 AM

What about the interest due as well? The CAB should be sent in to take everything.

Mute Padraic O Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O Sullivan
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:21 PM

We can all thank Michael Woods.

Mute 5hbeZh0I
    Favourite 5hbeZh0I
    Sep 7th 2019, 12:07 AM

That’s an insultingly low figure

Mute Brid Carroll
    Favourite Brid Carroll
    Sep 6th 2019, 11:01 PM

Have Caranua not been widely criticized for their treatment of people who have been victims of abuse? The allocation of funds also criticized?

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Sep 7th 2019, 8:29 AM

Michael Woods let them all off the hook with his agreement to accept such a low figure, a lot less than even they were expecting.

Mute Mj Osu
    Favourite Mj Osu
    Sep 7th 2019, 1:58 AM

They may have responsibilities, but where are we now..
    The State made Jailers ,out of An Order that established for to Do Good.
    Some individuals got carried away when normal punishment was taking down your Pants to be punished.
    Was normal .
    The Brothers got £0. 50 Pence a Week to care for those Individuals.
    The same People that are Burning and Vandalizing Housing Estates Around the Country.
    Robbing cars.
    We have no Jails to putt them in .
    The few we have is costing anyone that is paying Taxes €120000. Each per Year.

Mute Joe Lynch
    Favourite Joe Lynch
    Sep 7th 2019, 2:18 AM

@Mj Osu: some deflection there. My generation were one of the last to have any dealings with Christian Bros, I’m in my 40’s.

Mute Gerry Mc Carthy
    Favourite Gerry Mc Carthy
    Sep 7th 2019, 3:33 AM

@Joe Lynch: The Christian Brothers educated half of Ireland at no cost to the students . The State owes them huge compensation. I was never educated by the Brothers so am impartial in this manner . If I had given my life to serve people without any monetary gain I would be a very angry individual when you read the bigoted uninformed nonsense of the contributors to this site .
    The Ireland of today is an all singing, all dancing “liberal ” society promoting an anti Catholic agenda . We now have a drug fuelled, abortion on demand , gang warfare , homelessness, no respect for senior citizens scenario. A pity the Brothers are not around today to instill some discipline in to their training . !

Mute mark d
    Favourite mark d
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:40 AM

@Gerry Mc Carthy: you are a horrible person.

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Sep 7th 2019, 7:01 AM

@Gerry Mc Carthy: you have some serious issues, you need prefessional help.

Mute ÓDuibhír Abú
    Favourite ÓDuibhír Abú
    Sep 7th 2019, 8:04 AM

@Mj Osu: So called: ‘Christian Brotherhood ‘ failed in their responsibility to the weaker sector in our society entrusted to them. It was and is obviously a ‘Front’ to make Millions. The Convents are empty now and being Sold off, one in my Area with 6 Acres up for ‘Sale’ these should be handed over to the local Community to use or ‘Sell’ for the Good of the Community. That would Show their Genuineness, But NO they are riding off into the Sunset with ‘Millions’.!!

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Sep 7th 2019, 8:31 AM

@Gerry Mc Carthy: the education they provided was paid for by the state. The notion that religious orders somehow paid the cost of running their schools is a myth.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Sep 7th 2019, 8:50 AM

@John Mulligan: how much were they paid John?

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:11 AM

@Gerry Mc Carthy: Gerry they buggered and beat kids

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:19 AM

@richard fennessy: all of them?

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:44 AM

@Gerry Mc Carthy: Have a read of this article you might learn something. I am close to my 60′s and not a day goes by that what happened to me doesn’t haunt me. From the kids concentration camps of Ireland everyone in school knew I and my siblings had been in a place and we were treated like punching bags. Thank you for your support, many lay people like yourself knew what was happening in those places and stood by and did nothing. They even want to hide our records under the Irish carpet so for the next 75 year’s nothing ever happened to children in these places in Ireland.

And although it’s really not about money however in some reports they say the average survivor got awards ranging from €68,000 this was a hand full of people as most survivors got less then €3,000 and some got absolutely nothing. survivors were never allowed call it compensation it was an award for being good kids and never to be allowed to speak about our pain again if one took their bribes.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/extra/BoWIe4x0Lj/Ireland_hidden_survivors

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/anonymising-abuse-records-expensive-archives-council-told-945683.html#.XV7syk8ZKHM.twitter

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Sep 8th 2019, 6:08 PM

@richard fennessy: Indeed. And it was “normal” to ritually strip and beat children but also “normal” to have more respect for the clothes they wore than the child. All credit to the generation of parents who stood up to those bullies; who took their children out of their institutions, who objected to this abuse.

“some got carried away” mar dhea.

Mute Benny Dowling
    Favourite Benny Dowling
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:55 AM

They should be closed down

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:06 AM

From the journals guide on comments:

No hate speech
    Do not make comments which are racist, sexist, homophobic, offensive on the grounds of religion, nationality or demographic group. Do not make comments which are threatening or harassing or which could be perceived as such.

Catholicism is an exception to these guidelines it would seem.

Mute Keith O'Reilly
    Favourite Keith O'Reilly
    Sep 7th 2019, 10:47 AM

@Seamus Mac: Are the comments about the Brothers wrong, though?

Mute Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer
    Favourite Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer
    Sep 7th 2019, 12:18 PM

@Keith O’Reilly: zing! Seamus loves to comment and then let loose s load of tumbleweeds when challenged. Bit like the church he subscribes to.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Sep 7th 2019, 1:46 PM

@Keith O’Reilly: so hate speech is okay when its the catholic’s?

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Sep 7th 2019, 1:47 PM

@Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer: i don’t let loose tumbleweeds i just have a life outside of the journals comment section.

Mute Tom Doyle
    Favourite Tom Doyle
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:58 PM

@Seamus Mac: to be fair,hanging around GP clinics isn’t much of a life

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Sep 8th 2019, 11:18 AM

@Tom Doyle: thanks, that gave me a laugh.

Mute Caroline Otoole
    Favourite Caroline Otoole
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:51 AM

I wonder how many survivors died in the 17 years it took this organisation to decide to pay their dues? A drop in the ocean of their coffers.

Mute Marianne
    Favourite Marianne
    Sep 7th 2019, 12:59 AM

What a joke small change not nearly enough..shame on all

Mute Neville Bartos
    Favourite Neville Bartos
    Sep 6th 2019, 10:54 PM

‘’now look at them yo-yo’s that’s the way you do it…”

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:16 AM

There isn’t anything about Catholicism been said it about a Christian order that ran an abusive regime. This is a fact with many records and the order admitting wrong doing.

Mute David Saunders
    Favourite David Saunders
    Sep 7th 2019, 2:34 PM

Funny enough you don’t see much of them these days or priests or nuns. In fact we might have seen the last of them. And good riddance as people see them for what they are. Evil

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:28 PM

@David Saunders: all priests & nuns are evil?

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick
    Sep 8th 2019, 10:11 AM

I attended synge street at 9 years old.
    I can’t call it a school,
    More a hell hole,
    Traumatized every day with a well made leather strap,
    And that was for just getting a sum wrong,
    Dreadful place run by sicko’s
    I’m a Pensioner now,
    Still think about it when driving by.