You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Check out this remarkable news footage of Christmas swimmers in the '20s and '30s

What’s black and white and blue all over?

EVER TAKEN A dip at the Clontarf Baths?

The sea-water pool — originally the ‘Clontarf Baths and Assembly Rooms’ — was first built in 1864, before being reconstructed in 1886.

Until the mid-1940s, the main bathing area was divided into two pools (one for men, and one for women) — and the facility remained in use until the mid 1990s.

We don’t know much about these clips — apart from the information given in the opening captions.

Do you recognise anyone taking the plunge?

British Pathé / YouTube

Read: Check out more British Pathé archive news clips here >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

8 Comments
    Mute Ollie McGlinchey
    Favourite Ollie McGlinchey
    Aug 15th 2024, 11:36 PM

I didn’t see any hate just bafflement and general mockery of her terrible performance. Most of what she was doing wasn’t even breakdancing and I can’t believe nobody in Australia is better than her.

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    Aug 16th 2024, 12:44 AM

@Ollie McGlinchey: Let’s be honest, if she was halfway decent nobody in the world would have heard of her. Now she’s famous and is milking it for all it’s worth. Fair play to her but stop the false indignation. Nobody’s buying it.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Aug 16th 2024, 12:45 AM

@Ollie McGlinchey: Cmere ollie the fact break dancing is an Olympic event is funny tho…

Mute Sean O'Callaghan
    Favourite Sean O'Callaghan
    Aug 16th 2024, 1:05 AM

@Paul Gorry: HILARIOUS. Next up we’ll have a 16 Hand Reel, Maybe a jig, a Hurling Competition, even pool, without water. And soccer?

Mute Davy Smith
    Favourite Davy Smith
    Aug 16th 2024, 8:08 AM

@Sean O’Callaghan: they have soccer lol

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Aug 16th 2024, 8:11 AM

@Ollie McGlinchey: What a comment……. You can’t see all the messages that she does, and you definitely can’t see her DMs……. If she says there were hate messages well then I’d take her at her word!

Mute Richard Twohig
    Favourite Richard Twohig
    Aug 16th 2024, 8:25 AM

@Ollie McGlinchey: take a look at the comments on her Instagram account. Thousands of hate comments on posts as far back as 2017

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Aug 16th 2024, 8:50 AM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: Snowflake.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Aug 16th 2024, 9:11 AM

@Paul Gorry: I came across the men’s final between a yank and a Canadian and as Mary Lou would say ,Let me be clear them boys are athletes ,amazing stuff.

Mute Dogg
    Favourite Dogg
    Aug 16th 2024, 10:04 AM

@Ollie McGlinchey: unfortunately in this day and age general mockery is considered hatred….
    I hear what you’re saying only because I’m Gen X

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    Aug 16th 2024, 10:09 AM

@Richard Twohig: If she has been getting slagged off as far back as 2017 then why go to the Olympics and make a complete show of yourself and give them more fuel? The truth is she loves the attention.

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Aug 16th 2024, 10:31 AM

@Alex: You’re using the term snowflake wrong, dzope!!!!

Mute James T.Kirk
    Favourite James T.Kirk
    Aug 16th 2024, 12:39 PM

@Ollie McGlinchey: 100% Complete sensationalism for sympathy.

Mute Don Johnson
    Favourite Don Johnson
    Aug 15th 2024, 11:37 PM

You can’t expect to perform like that on a world stage and not get negative comments. It’s complete hubris to think that the memes and jokes aren’t warranted.

Mute Dere
    Favourite Dere
    Aug 16th 2024, 12:07 AM

Narracists always play the victim.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 16th 2024, 8:33 AM

@Dere: Reminds me of Trump, lol

Mute Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Favourite Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Aug 16th 2024, 9:04 AM

@Thesaltyurchin: Reminds me of a lot of politicians to be fair, I mean do I have to say the name Leo Varadker.

Mute Jack Burton
    Favourite Jack Burton
    Aug 16th 2024, 2:00 PM

@Marcus Maher – Triskellion Films: No you don’t

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Aug 16th 2024, 2:53 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: Yes but he is the best, the greatest, the smartest narcissist of all time. According to him anyway.

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Aug 15th 2024, 11:36 PM

So much hate & vitriol directed at this lady it beggars belief.

YES, her performance WAS different, it WAS cringey, probably ill advised but she went for it, she ‘ stepped up’ & enjoyed herself – no need or reason for all the mockery & negativity. Sincerely hope she puts the whole fiasco in the rear view mirror & gets to laugh about it in the Months/ years ahead

Mute Don Johnson
    Favourite Don Johnson
    Aug 15th 2024, 11:39 PM

@Buster Lawless: When people publicly embarrass themselves they will be made fun of. It’s been that way since the dawn of time and it will always be that way. I guess you could say fair play for getting there in the first place but don’t feign surprise that she is being mocked for it.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Aug 15th 2024, 11:49 PM

@Buster Lawless: #betterdaysarecoming

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Aug 16th 2024, 8:58 AM

@Brian: just seen this now—— brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!! Nice 1!!!!!

Mute Patricia Mc namara
    Favourite Patricia Mc namara
    Aug 16th 2024, 9:32 AM

@Buster Lawless: just SAW this.

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Aug 16th 2024, 9:57 AM

@Buster Lawless: She is gonna be mocked for that. It was the Olympics after all and she came on jumped around like a kangaroo and ran around in a circle on the floor like Homer Simpson. What would you expect. It’s made her famous which was probably the goal all along.

Mute James T.Kirk
    Favourite James T.Kirk
    Aug 16th 2024, 6:17 PM

@Buster Lawless: She didn’t do what was asked of her and that’s breakdance.

Mute Ludie Creech
    Favourite Ludie Creech
    Aug 16th 2024, 7:18 AM

The absurd notion that break-dancing as an Olympic sport aside, this is the inevitable fruit of a global culture that asserts, “you either affirm me or hate me”. Any disagreement, disapproval, or questioning of someone or their behaviour is instantaneously categorised as hate. Sad, yet is is the new “normal”.

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    Aug 15th 2024, 11:46 PM

Take it on the chin….ffs. she was ridiculously bad. I mean, she was an Olympian…..let that sink in.

Mute Gaelactico
    Favourite Gaelactico
    Aug 16th 2024, 5:28 AM

@Stephen Foster: Apparently, a self-appointed one.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Aug 16th 2024, 6:42 AM

@Gaelactico: at 36 years old well past her prime

Mute Kush OMeara
    Favourite Kush OMeara
    Aug 15th 2024, 11:30 PM

She probably is a big Bruce Springsteen fan and grew up listening to Dancing in the Dark

Mute Calvin Marah
    Favourite Calvin Marah
    Aug 16th 2024, 7:41 AM

Sher come to Ireland. Tell her claim refuge because of hatred, she will be housed and a claim be sorted within a week. She could be working by the end of the following week teaching modern dance with such credentials as a former Olympian.

Mute If you're
    Favourite If you're
    Aug 15th 2024, 11:51 PM

Does everybody take everything a bit too serious these days? Good Grief, there is a lot of strange people out here (and on here). Glad I’m normal!

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Aug 16th 2024, 6:41 PM

@If you’re: Says who?

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Aug 16th 2024, 1:30 AM

Narcissistic behaviour.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Aug 15th 2024, 11:44 PM

Where the fluck is skippy the bush kangaroo these days? It would never have happened on his watch.

Mute Sean Buckley
    Favourite Sean Buckley
    Aug 16th 2024, 12:13 AM

@Paul Gorry: He was off telling the park ranger that Bruce was stuck down the well…again!

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Aug 16th 2024, 12:30 AM

@Sean Buckley: What’s that skip? Bruce is stuck down the well again! Bugger..

Mute Bert Carolan
    Favourite Bert Carolan
    Aug 16th 2024, 1:01 AM

@Paul Gorry: What’s that skip, red jeep registration 20 R15 05? Two males medium height, one with blond hair?

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Aug 16th 2024, 3:09 AM

@Bert Carolan: ahh Bert iam getting emotional now. Good days..

Mute Lina Stein
    Favourite Lina Stein
    Aug 16th 2024, 10:14 AM

@Paul Gorry: strewth!! Someone Betta tell his Sheila!

Mute Michael o Dwyer
    Favourite Michael o Dwyer
    Aug 15th 2024, 11:33 PM

Poor girl. She could use this to her advantage and make a shed load of money. People are d#&ks

Mute Ollie McGlinchey
    Favourite Ollie McGlinchey
    Aug 15th 2024, 11:37 PM

@Michael o Dwyer: Are you in love with her or something? People laughed at her because she was a joke.

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Aug 15th 2024, 11:42 PM

@Ollie McGlinchey: when I finished the LC I left the schoolyard shenanigans & pettiness behind, guess some folks carried it forward

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Aug 15th 2024, 11:50 PM

@Buster Lawless: :-)

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Aug 16th 2024, 6:32 AM

@Michael o Dwyer: did you see her performance??
    It was brutal

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Aug 16th 2024, 6:34 AM

@Buster Lawless: #juggernautofshite

Mute Michael o Dwyer
    Aug 16th 2024, 10:10 AM

@sean weir: Eddie the eagle was brutal in the winter Olympics but he used it to his advantage all be it for a short time in the 80s. Still he made a few bob out of it

Mute Michael o Dwyer
    Aug 16th 2024, 10:11 AM

@Ollie McGlinchey: clown

Mute socheallaigh
    Favourite socheallaigh
    Aug 16th 2024, 5:27 PM

@Ollie McGlinchey: Maybe look in the mirror before making a statement like that

Mute Faejit Balloobas
    Favourite Faejit Balloobas
    Aug 16th 2024, 6:51 AM

Other athletes who were famously notably terrible at their sport were famous because they kept trying with an undetectable spirit- like Eddy the Eagle.
    They were not whinging about their detractors and saying poor me.
    If she came out and said- well I tried, had fun , it didn’t work out but so what- people would have supported her

Mute Faejit Balloobas
    Aug 16th 2024, 6:53 AM

@Faejit Balloobas: undefeated spirit- not undetectable

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Aug 16th 2024, 6:42 PM

@Faejit Balloobas: Eddie the Eagle was a brave man. Wonder how many armchair critics would be brave enough to do a ski jump?

Mute Johnny King
    Favourite Johnny King
    Aug 16th 2024, 7:33 AM

Literally Any child break dancer I’ve seen on the street anywhere in the world or any video I’ve ever seen of one was way ahead of her and she was meant to be at an elite,best in the world level at the Olympics.She was farcical.Absolutely shambolic.The fact that she and whoever gave her the go-ahead somehow are surprised at the warranted mockery shows a ridiculous level of naivety,arrogance and ignorance.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Aug 16th 2024, 12:24 AM

I feel this is not a sport and therefore all the ridicule is been heaped upon this dancer and I mean dancer as it should have never been admitted into the Olympic arena as such, you cannot blame the participants for taking part

Mute Termaz FX
    Favourite Termaz FX
    Aug 16th 2024, 1:35 AM

Oh no, a cheater and a loser is crying that everyone is making fun of her. Maybe her husband/coach can pull a few strings again? What a joke….

Mute Sean Buckley
    Favourite Sean Buckley
    Aug 16th 2024, 12:19 AM

The crowd were that incensed they were gonna Chucka Bottle they were gonna Chucka Can…Chucka Can.

Mute Hibernicus
    Favourite Hibernicus
    Aug 16th 2024, 11:52 AM

@Sean Buckley: What??

Mute John Merriman
    Favourite John Merriman
    Aug 16th 2024, 4:21 PM

@Sean Buckley: Keep the day job would be my advice

Mute Gerard McMonagle
    Favourite Gerard McMonagle
    Aug 16th 2024, 6:30 AM

I never seen her but if you call breakdancing a sport,your screwed from the start

Mute Davy Smith
    Favourite Davy Smith
    Aug 16th 2024, 8:09 AM

@Gerard McMonagle: L.A. 2028, Olympic ballroom dancing with Tess Daly commentary you heard it here first.

Mute Kieran Menon
    Favourite Kieran Menon
    Aug 16th 2024, 12:07 AM

My tone deaf response to her;

!

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Aug 16th 2024, 12:28 AM

She already is world famous and will not need for money in the future, so I echo what another comment made on this thread.

Mute Michael Cummins
    Favourite Michael Cummins
    Aug 16th 2024, 9:39 AM

The people who are telling her she was amazing are the one’s doing he’s a disservice. Call it as it is, she’s an adult, she was poor , but great to watch.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Aug 16th 2024, 10:18 AM

@Michael Cummins: at 36 she’s a bit past it ,when you think the medals were won by a 25 year old a 17 year old and a 18 year old

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    Aug 16th 2024, 6:11 AM

She put on a brilliant show

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Aug 16th 2024, 6:42 AM

@Sean Money: pure shite

Mute Faejit Balloobas
    Aug 16th 2024, 6:45 AM

@Sean Money: she did that. It just wasn’t intended to be a comedy show

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    Aug 16th 2024, 7:24 AM

@Faejit Balloobas: we all had a good laugh

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 16th 2024, 8:43 AM

Dancing is art, always going to be problems. Most people need very definite perimeters, subjectivity is not welcome (breakdancing being about style). Still, a LOT of ‘dance’ experts in the Journal comments section tho, never would have guessed. My advice would be, never to watch the Turner Prize, lol!

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Aug 16th 2024, 8:53 AM

@Thesaltyurchin: snowflake

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Aug 16th 2024, 8:55 AM

@Thesaltyurchin: Breakdancing has never been subjective. Only a clueless ignorant would think that.
    Same with dance in general, it’s never subjective since all the moves you can do are actually named. Go tell that to ballet dancer that it is subjective. Your education is fairly poor on the subject I assume. Now go dance away.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Aug 16th 2024, 9:57 AM

@Alex: Naming moves doesn’t make it ‘objective’. If somebody scores it 9/10 will all judges score it the same? No. Some may score it 8.5, others 9.5. Subjective.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 16th 2024, 1:38 PM

@Alex: Lmao, you okay hun?

Mute William Ryan
    Favourite William Ryan
    Aug 16th 2024, 12:01 PM

Everyone loves jokes & memes until they appear in one.

Mute Paul1st
    Favourite Paul1st
    Aug 16th 2024, 9:31 AM

She might be breakdancing all the way to the bank with the number of invites for paid interviews and public appearances that’s going to be offered

Mute Neil Brooks
    Favourite Neil Brooks
    Aug 16th 2024, 1:12 PM

She was a complete embarrassment and should never have competed

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Aug 16th 2024, 2:33 AM

Raygun made the 2024 Olympics her b.tch. Having said that, Jonah Takalua is a far better break dancer.

Mute Harry Hill
    Favourite Harry Hill
    Aug 16th 2024, 8:48 AM

@Oh Mammy: as the Summer Heights High alumni once said “Aussies are shite breakdancers” episode 7

Mute Cormo R
    Favourite Cormo R
    Aug 16th 2024, 4:29 PM

Hate?? I can’t see why, it was comedy gold….

Mute socheallaigh
    Favourite socheallaigh
    Aug 16th 2024, 5:28 PM

Hate just oozing out of nearly all comments here.
    Makes you wonder

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Aug 16th 2024, 6:44 PM

She gives Guns a bad name