You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

CMAT holding the shortlist trophy during the announcement of the shortlist for the Mercury Prize 'Album of the Year'. Alamy Stock Photo

CMAT nominated for Mercury Prize for Album of the Year

The Mercury Prize is an annual award for the best album from an Irish or UK act.

IRISH SINGER CMAT has been nominated for a Mercury Prize for her album ‘Crazymad, for Me’.

The annual Mercury Prize is awarded for the best album by a British or Irish act and is open to all music genres.

‘Crazymad, for Me’ is CMAT’s second studio album, following 2022’s ‘If My Wife New I’d Be Dead’.

CMAT’s second album was released to universal acclaim and was ranked by The Guardian as the 50th best album of 2023.

cmat-during-the-bbc-radio1-big-weekend-at-stockwood-park-luton-picture-date-sunday-may-26-2024 CMAT during the BBC Radio1 Big Weekend at Stockwood Park, Luton, 26 May, 2024. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Elsewhere, Charli XCX and The Last Dinner Party are also nominated for the 2024 Mercury Prize.

The 12 shortlisted albums were announced today on BBC Radio 6 Music by radio presenter Tom Ravenscroft.

Charli XCX made the list with her sixth studio album, ‘Brat’, which peaked at number two in the UK charts following its release last month and has been a mainstay of online culture this summer.

The album has also played into the ‘Memeification of Kamala Harris’, with Charli XCX herself remarking that “Kamala US Brat” following the announcement that Joe Biden was dropping out of the 2024 US presidential election and handing the reins to Harris.

Indie act The Last Dinner Party meanwhile have also been nominated for their debut album ‘Prelude To Ecstasy’, which topped the UK charts following its release in February.

A slew of debut records have made the shortlist this year, including ‘Early Twenties’ by singer Cat Burns and ‘Silence Is Loud’ by jungle artist Nia Archives.

Ghetts, who stars in Netflix series Supacell, has also been shortlisted for the record ‘On Purpose, With Purpose’.

Elsewhere ‘When Will We Land?’ by the Scottish DJ Barry Can’t Swim has been nominated alongside the record ‘Who Am I’ by rapper BERWYN.
Corto.alto’s ‘Bad With Names’ is also nominated, alongside English Teacher’s ‘This Could Be Texas’ and ‘Lives Outgrown’ by Portishead singer Beth Gibbons.

Corinne Bailey Rae is also in the running with her album ‘Black Rainbows’.

Albums released between 15 July 2023 and 12 July 2024 were eligible for the award and an independent judging panel that included jazz pianist Jamie Cullum and DJ Mistajam chose the shortlist.

The overall winner of the 2024 Mercury Prize will be revealed in September.

-With additional reporting from Press Association

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

53 Comments
    Mute Frankie Gozetahollywood
    Favourite Frankie Gozetahollywood
    Jul 25th 2024, 3:08 PM

A well deserved nomination. I saw her play in Fairview park recently and she’s a fantastic performer with some really great songs. Fair play!

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 25th 2024, 3:10 PM

Fair play to her. No idea who she is though. Music today just sounds like noise to me and Radio Nova and classic hits are my preferred stations.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Jul 25th 2024, 3:17 PM

@Ger Whelan: I doubt it. Noise is a genre of its own. See Merzbow, Incapacitants, Yellow Swans et al. Not liking something or understanding how they arrived at those sounds does not = noise. Music makes noise but even if we despise it the majority will have clear chord structures, melodies, tunes, words and all of the hallmarks of regular ol’ music!

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 25th 2024, 3:27 PM

@SerotoninWars: I’ll have to take your word for that. But I’ll be honest it hits me that I’m getting on in years every time I hear songs like Chelsea Dagger and fluorescent adolescent on Classic hits.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Jul 25th 2024, 3:38 PM

@Ger Whelan: That’s fair enough. There are a lot of people who find keeping up or understanding new music challenging as they get older. I’m not for a second suggesting that it’s all good. I’d probably agree with you about the quality of much of the stuff that gets radio play. As someone who is also well out of their youth I just find it a bit depressing how much people seem to coalesce around the idea that you have to stick to what you know, and that new music is automatically out of bounds for people as they get older.

There’s so much to be discovered. So much that can add some more colour and understanding to our lives if we occasionally push ourselves out of our comfort zones. There’s an entire industry dedicated to pushing the familiar. It always seems to revolve around a handful of old acts who were influential and talented but a mere fraction of the innovation and musical stories out there :)

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jul 25th 2024, 4:45 PM

@SerotoninWars: Interesting. I pretty much stopped listening to contemporary music about 20 years ago, but rather than stopping listening to new music at that point, I started to go backwards and listen to stuff from the past that I hadn’t listened to before. So EG, I started listening to lot’s of blues music, starting with Chicago Blues (Muddy Waters, Howling Wolf, Jimmy Reed, Buddy Guy, Little Walter etc) and then moving onto the British Blues revival in the 60′s (Stones, Them, Yardbirds, John Mayal etc) and other American artists like Canned Heat, CCR, Little Feat, Paul Butterfield) – a treasure trove of stuff that I still listen to all the time

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Jul 25th 2024, 6:07 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: Nothing wrong with going back too! Love old blues stuff. Leadbelly is another artists who could so easily have been lost to the mists of time if he hadn’t been around for the still relatively new phenomenon of recorded music! My point is more about people who just flat out give up and often reference the same few bands who were around in the 60s and 70s. Many who I really like while finding it frustrating that these seem to be the musical be all and end all bookends for so many!

Mute Ollie McGlinchey
    Favourite Ollie McGlinchey
    Jul 25th 2024, 2:33 PM

Country music for whacky 12 year old girls.

Mute Patrick K
    Favourite Patrick K
    Jul 25th 2024, 2:55 PM

@Ollie McGlinchey: right up your street so

Mute brian madden
    Favourite brian madden
    Jul 25th 2024, 4:28 PM

@Ollie McGlinchey: she did a great cover of kate bush. Not sure 12 year old girls would appreciate that genre.

Mute Brian Pocock
    Favourite Brian Pocock
    Jul 25th 2024, 3:35 PM

Music nowadays is shyte, just angst ridden, whiney people who identify as plurals of him/herself, at least grunge was good whiney stuff, with interesting and thought provoking lyrics

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Jul 25th 2024, 3:42 PM

@Brian Pocock: ‘I would like to announce that I haven’t even attempted to scratch the surface of the musical world in 2024 but am delighted to use this opportunity to crowbar some irrelevant annoyances of mine into the conversation’

Mute Brian Pocock
    Favourite Brian Pocock
    Jul 25th 2024, 3:45 PM

@SerotoninWars: glad to have grabbed your attention, much appreciated, keep up the good work

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Jul 25th 2024, 3:56 PM

@Brian Pocock: No worries! Always good to point out active attempts to make us all that little bit dumber and less imaginative :)

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Jul 25th 2024, 3:56 PM

@Brian Pocock: You’re not wrong there. However, she’s instantly recognizable, which is good enough for me, lyrics not too bad either.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Jul 25th 2024, 3:58 PM

@Brian Pocock: As a self-confessed attention-seeker, you’ll be also be glad of my reply too, I’m sure. I hope this validation helps improve your life in some small way!

Mute Brian Pocock
    Favourite Brian Pocock
    Jul 25th 2024, 4:00 PM

@SerotoninWars: I suppose you get used to recognising your own faults after plenty of practice, I commend you, have a gold star ;)

Mute Brian Pocock
    Favourite Brian Pocock
    Jul 25th 2024, 4:00 PM

@Jack Hayes: every little helps, thanks!

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Jul 25th 2024, 4:09 PM

@Brian Pocock: Ah Brian you didn’t pull out the ‘no you are’ defence! Come on – Matlock wants a word! ;)

Mute Brian Pocock
    Favourite Brian Pocock
    Jul 25th 2024, 4:11 PM

@SerotoninWars: in defence of what, exactly?

Mute Ciaran Forde
    Favourite Ciaran Forde
    Jul 25th 2024, 4:56 PM

@Brian Pocock: Her music is almost country with great lyrics with buckets of humour.. she definitely eschews your definition of ‘nowadays’ music..

Mute Brian Pocock
    Favourite Brian Pocock
    Jul 25th 2024, 5:17 PM

@Ciaran Forde: lots of things are subjective, I suppose

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Jul 25th 2024, 8:09 PM

@Brian Pocock: Grunge was fueled by angst. Still at least there was upbeat stuff like the Smiths to balance it out.

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Jul 25th 2024, 4:27 PM

I heard my 18 year old saying it was “country pop but with a punk aesthetic” I died a little inside and asked her to tell me what punk actually is… She said ‘Um… Like Pink or MGK or that old band you brought us to see(The Pixies, about ten years ago) She then went around singing “slicin’ up eyeballs wo ho ho ho ho” (I was a bit less disappointed in her for coming out with that tbf)
    Anyway, by way of education, I will only allow The Feeding of the 5000 by Crass (the greatest album ever and the zenith of music as art?) to be played in the car now. My four year old isn’t going to end up like his big sister. He’s going to know punk properly by god

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Jul 25th 2024, 5:54 PM

@Darth O’Leary: solid parenting! There is enough pleasant, inoffensive pap out there (just look at the awards). The culture industry has completely colonised music. Job done. It seems that challenging music has gone completely out of favour. Hopefully, it will return at some point, but not holding my breath

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jul 25th 2024, 8:10 PM

@Darth O’Leary: did you bop along to your aul’ pairs big tom and finbarr wright records? That’s the way it goes.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jul 25th 2024, 8:11 PM

@Alan: it’s out there, and easier to find than ever. Fellas are just more interested in moaning about back in their day than taking 5 minutes to look.

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Jul 25th 2024, 10:42 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: I was rared on rebel songs until the age of ten. I still remember that day I brought home a Public Enemy CD, circa ’92. The poor mother hit the roof. The father insisted that I be allowed listen to whatever I like but said it shouldn’t even be classified as music. Hahahaha. Fair play to him.

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Jul 25th 2024, 10:46 PM

@Alan: true true. Amy L and the sniffers have a nice punky irreverence if you’re looking for something new like that

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jul 25th 2024, 11:12 PM

@Darth O’Leary: i am a bit of a hiphop head myself. In the limewire era My Da deleted about a years worth of tunes off the pc because of the choice language.

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Jul 25th 2024, 11:46 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: ahh! I can imagine the stroppy head on ya that day! :D
    My Dad was a messer. He once convened a family meeting because my mother wanted to ban the word c+nt from the house. It was common for us to have family meetings every fortnight or so. There we sat around the table, my siblings and parents and I and my mother brought the motion to remove the word, my father seconded it and a lively debate ensued. I was 15. I liked the word. My brother liked it and my sister disliked it and we all voted according. My mother voted to ban it and then it came down to Da and he voted against my mother! The word survived! I didn’t use it around my mother ever after that day though so I think she got partial satisfaction

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Jul 25th 2024, 2:58 PM

Ah, sounds brilliant. Whoever it is.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Jul 25th 2024, 3:11 PM

@David O Brien: Here we go. The tedious ‘I haven’t heard of them’ brigade are out already. Do you ever stop and think that maybe just maybe your lack of knowledge on a subject is of zero interest to anyone else and bears absolutely no relation to its worthiness or popularity? The ego involved in thinking that you need to announce that you haven’t heard of something or someone is frankly hilarious! There’s over 8 billion people in the world and more music than ever being released. Unless you are making a real effort to keep up why on earth would you expect to be in the know about every single act or scene? Maybe you could host your own awards for the micro-percentage of musicians you have heard of!

Mute Frankie Gozetahollywood
    Favourite Frankie Gozetahollywood
    Jul 25th 2024, 3:59 PM

@SerotoninWars: I do find it funny when someone proudly proclaims that they haven’t heard of a musician who has grafted for years and is now regularly selling out concerts in big venues…..

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Jul 25th 2024, 4:07 PM

@Frankie Gozetahollywood: Totally! It’s the pure ego and ‘the world revolves around me’ mindset that’s hilarious. It bleeds into so many things, most urgently politics and the environment. An epidemic of unawareness of the sheer scale and vastness of our world and human thought and creativity too. If it hasn’t been mainlined into my eyeballs and eardrums on the tiny amount of outlets I access = it doesn’t exist!

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Jul 25th 2024, 4:30 PM

@Frankie Gozetahollywood: what gets me is when it’s an article about someone who has “passed”away & they come out with that ” never heard of him/her” malarkey………… Weird tbh

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Jul 25th 2024, 5:50 PM

@SerotoninWars: Christ didn’t mean to offend you. Give me your address and I’ll send you an apology card
    Gimp.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Jul 25th 2024, 6:12 PM

@David O Brien: Not remotely offended. Just a few notes on the tedious and predictable nature of posts like yours :)

Mute Brian Pocock
    Favourite Brian Pocock
    Jul 25th 2024, 6:15 PM

@SerotoninWars: so tedious and predictable that you find them worthy of a response, have another gold star!

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Jul 25th 2024, 6:23 PM

@Brian Pocock: What’s that got to do with anything? There will always be a tonne of ‘common sense’ reactionary aul lads first in line to tell everyone ‘everything is rubbish now’. A few comments kicking back against the silly notion that there was ONE golden era of music that magically correlates with the youth of a handful of posters, is a good thing surely?

Or must we all lie down and go along with the dreary suggestion that a handful of musical acts from several decades ago are the pinnacle of the art form, despite the majority of people suggesting this, having absolutely no clue whatsoever about anything that’s happening now, outside of a few pop acts they hear on the radio?

It’s nonsense and deserves to be called out for what it is.

Mute Brian Pocock
    Favourite Brian Pocock
    Jul 25th 2024, 6:27 PM

@SerotoninWars: nobody is forcing you to listen to or read or view anything, it seems beyond your comprehension that people cannot have an opinion, as is evident with your numerous doltish replies to others on here

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Jul 25th 2024, 6:30 PM

@SerotoninWars: Fair enough:)

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Jul 25th 2024, 6:30 PM

@Brian Pocock: Nope but if you post something people are allowed to respond and disagree! People just seem to be annoyed that they have been called out on some nonsensical statements that they are clearly used to being unchallenged over.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Jul 25th 2024, 6:32 PM

@David O Brien: Grand – I’ll put the Pulp Fiction suit away for another day so! ;)

Mute Brian Pocock
    Favourite Brian Pocock
    Jul 25th 2024, 6:36 PM

@SerotoninWars: who are you to judge if someone’s statements are nonsensical or not though?

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Jul 25th 2024, 8:17 PM

@Brian Pocock: When people make sweeping statements that are not based on fact, are not backed up by evidence and can be easily refuted – they are nonsensical. It’s not about anyone getting to judge. I’m more than happy to be contradicted and accept when I am wrong. There’s a lot of sentiments we can file under ‘dominant cultural myths’. They are the kind of things put forward as ‘common sense’ and ‘truisms’ that are really just lazy thinking based on not much at all except some gut feelings and a lack of people willing to call them out, while they mindlessly nod along and agree. The ‘good old days’ fallacy in another form.

Statements like this:

‘Music nowadays is shyte, just angst ridden, whiney people who identify as plurals of him/herself’

So obviously untrue when there’s an infinite number of listening options in more genres and subgenres than at any time in human history. The idea that it’s all terrible is far fetched to put it politely. There’s also thousands upon thousands of albums that are neither angst ridden or in any way part of the conversation around gender.

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    Jul 25th 2024, 3:24 PM

She is the new Swift

Mute RIP
    Favourite RIP
    Jul 25th 2024, 5:56 PM

Great news, taking Country Music in a Much needed new direction

Mute De Danainn
    Favourite De Danainn
    Jul 26th 2024, 1:48 AM

thing is CMAT is really into all the old stuff, if you wanna call it that (most of the so called ‘old stuff’ is still more unique and Avant garde than much of today’s mainstream – talking heads spring to mind ) and it inspires her style ég Patsy Cline, Kate Bush…. Give her a listen.