You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File image of a new home being constructed in Co Donegal. Alamy Stock Photo

Coalition leaders agree target of 303,000 new homes between 2025 and 2030

The annual target will rise to 60,000 per year by 2030.

THE COALITION LEADERS have agreed to a new housing target of delivering 303,000 new homes between 2025 and 2030.

At the leaders meeting this evening, housing targets up to 2030 were decided upon.

The delivery of 303,000 new homes in this timeframe is an annual average of 50,500 new homes and the aim is for gradual progression, rising to at least 60,000 per year by 2030.

Taoiseach and Fine Gael leader Simon Harris had said that he wanted to see new targets set before the calling of a general election, widely expected to happen later this week.

Speaking last week, Harris remarked: “I would personally have liked housing targets for the next number of years to have been set because I just think it provides a useful kind of anchor to the housing debate that rightfully will take place in the weeks ahead.”

The existing targets under Housing for All had set an average of 33,000 homes per annum until 2030.

Senior ministers had said the Government would exceed its 2024 target under that plan of 33,450 – getting close to 40,000 by the end of the year.

The new targets from the Government come after the ESRI that the housing demand is projected to be approximately 44,000 per year until 2030, but that projections of housing demand are “very sensitive” to assumptions regarding migration.

Meanwhile, a Central Bank report in September estimated that between 52,000 and 67,000 new homes could be needed per year to meet emerging demand into the middle of the century.

The agreement of a new set of housing targets appears to be a climbdown of sorts from Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin, who last week said the “ballpark” housing figures were already published.

“There was a range of scenarios identified by the ESRI and then you have the National Planning Framework as well, which dovetails with your housing targets for the future,” said Martin last week.

“So I think those two go hand-in-hand, but I think the ballpark figures are out there, they’re published.”

-With additional reporting from Diarmuid Pepper and Press Association

90 Comments
    Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:08 PM

Ah sure when unable to reach previous targets and get away with it, may as well make up even bigger makes-up numbers that they won’t reach either .. Its groundhog years not days with these lot.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:02 PM

@Michale Kane: Plus bertie on rte tonight like some kind of guidance for the electorate watching. Why give the con job that platform? And 100% going for the president of Ireland in the future. The mind fluckin boggles..

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:02 PM

@Michale Kane: I am definitely voting FG after this announcement

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute James Moylan
    Favourite James Moylan
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:04 PM

@Michale Kane: but unfortunately, there’s clowns out there that believe this tripe and are wetting themselves at the thought of the upcoming election

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:06 PM

@Mike Doe: jeez will ya fit it in after voting for Trump ? A busy troll you are. lol

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:17 PM

@Mike Doe: 14 year olds can’t vote kiddo. But your time will come eventually….

Mute Lefty Tears
    Favourite Lefty Tears
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:28 PM

@Paul Gorry: I am definitely voting for FG and Bertie for president

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:34 PM

@Lefty Tears: and taking the Concorde to and from your pilgrimage to vote for Trump yeah ? .. A busy troll indeed lol..

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:39 PM

@Lefty Tears:Of course you are pet, it’s quite obvious you forgot the damage they caused,or more than likely haven’t realised it yet.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Nov 5th 2024, 12:03 AM

@Paul Gorry: All but confirmed he is going to run & looking at the way we are going to return this Govt, he will be a shoo in. If the Gangland crew ran for election, we would probably elect them, we are an embarrassment now as a Nation, it’s like Love Island or similar crap, the fight is gone out of the Irish people, a Nation of sheep. Anyone wanting to invade or take us over would so in an hour, we have raised the white flag it seems.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 5th 2024, 12:11 AM

@SV3tN8M4: The gangland crew are already running the country john.

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Nov 5th 2024, 12:30 AM

Loving the complete meltdown of the usual trolls. FG are winning bigly, a hunger strike couldn’t save the vile shinner lol

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Nov 5th 2024, 1:06 AM

@Michale Kane: so you have a load of builders mates who can come in immediately and build tens of thousands of homes

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 5th 2024, 1:15 AM

@Mike Doe: What’s a meltdown?

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Nov 5th 2024, 1:22 AM

@Peter Byrne: No Peter they all left after FF crashed the country and never came back as FF/FG refusal to build houses and regenerate the industry since.. FF & FG making up numbers and begging them to come back has not and will not work either.. Few that are built are bought up by your FG Vultures mates.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 5th 2024, 1:30 AM

@Peter Byrne: What is your love for fffg peter? Mind boggling stuff! People have been working in construction( and earlier)since the 90s and getting shafted by the charlatans you’re in awe off. Crying, now because they don’t want to come back,is a fffg issue that’s coming back to haunt them. Although your love for fffg is a commendable achievement peter.

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Nov 5th 2024, 7:10 AM

@Paul Gorry: matt cooper had the perjurer Sarah Carey on the show for 30 mins yesterday, like an Oracle of Irish politics.
    #moriartytribunal

Mute Gareth Wogan
    Favourite Gareth Wogan
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:13 PM

Have they reached their targets in last 5 years of gov? That would be a no. Why would I believe a word they say. They’ve been in power 100 years.

Mute Cole Palmer
    Favourite Cole Palmer
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:12 PM

@Gareth Wogan: Could be worse. We could have Sharia Fein in power. Thankfully that will never happen

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:38 PM

@Cole Palmer: What makes them Sharia Fein? Did they all convert from an Irish republican party to an Islamist party? It’s tards like you that have kept the current shower in power for the past 100 years.

Mute Lefty Tears
    Favourite Lefty Tears
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:41 PM

@John Smith: MLM doing tours of Mosques dressed as a Muslim, might be a bit of a clue

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:44 PM

@Cole Palmer: Simon Harris as Taoiseach and Leader of FG recognised Palestine, by your ‘logic’ would make him Sharia Simon or maybe Hamas Harris even yeah !

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:47 PM

@Lefty Tears: And that means she converted to Islam? And how exactly was she “dressed as a muslim”?

Mute Lefty Tears
    Favourite Lefty Tears
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:50 PM

@John Smith: never said she converted, or reverted to be more accurate, anyway, they’re not going to be in government, so no need to worry

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:53 PM

@John Smith: probably pays someone on onlyfans , some sort of weird trumpian cosplaying fetish..

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:59 PM

@Lefty Tears: If she’s not a Muslim, then why would she be in favour of Sharia law? Are you now claiming that she used to be a Muslim, converted to Catholicism, and then went back to Islam? They really don’t hire the brightest minions in FG HQ.

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Nov 5th 2024, 12:32 AM

I have a ‘where are the tea towels’ t shirt for the count centre. This is going to be so much fun

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Nov 5th 2024, 1:08 AM

@Gareth Wogan: so what are your ideas then to finance and build thousands of homes, they most be brilliant

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 5th 2024, 3:03 AM

Here’s a question to the fffg bootlicer peter Byrne! What’s your call to solve it? Looking forward to your answer peter. Don’t let me down now!!

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Nov 5th 2024, 4:45 AM

@Paul Gorry: cry harder

Mute Rochelle Hart
    Favourite Rochelle Hart
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:22 PM

“We haven’t reached any of our targets in the past 5 years but shur look at this big number!”

Mute Michael o connor
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:23 PM

@Rochelle Hart: the thickos that vote for fianna fail will swallow the whole lot.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:26 PM

@Rochelle Hart: The vultures will be circling over the carcass of the Irish people.

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:30 PM

@Michael o connor: Out of interest who will you vote for?

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:59 PM

@Anthony Curran: thankfully you beloved pedos will get nowhere near government .

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Nov 5th 2024, 8:49 AM

@Michael o connor: ffg still one party at this stage.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:25 PM

So the 2 parties who have failed miserably want us to believe 303,000 new homes will be built between now and 2030! Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me.

Mute Stephen Heffernan
    Favourite Stephen Heffernan
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:59 PM

@Anthony Curran: These two parties have been fooling people for almost 100 years, they’re masters at it!

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:04 PM

@Anthony Curran: just report, mute and ignore that pro Trump/FG trolling factory.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:38 PM

@Michale Kane: He’s talking to himself Michael, I muted him and his other aliases days ago.

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:58 PM

@Anthony Curran: SF the pedo party

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Nov 5th 2024, 4:46 AM

@Anthony Curran: just like the Irish people have muted sk um fein lol

Mute Kieran Ferrett
    Favourite Kieran Ferrett
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:13 PM

Agreeing and delivering are two very different things

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Nov 5th 2024, 8:18 AM

@Kieran Ferrett:
    Exactly.
    ALL the parties are promising hundreds of thousands of houses but no one says who is going to build them?

Mute Michael o connor
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:11 PM

That developers money was accidentaly lodged into that bank account!

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:16 PM

@Michael o connor: It was only resting there!

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:15 PM

And if you believe this utter bilge, they’ll tell you more!

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:17 PM

How about instead of fictional targets and the forever ongoing announcements of doing some stuff in the never reached tomorrow, just actually build some houses.. Less talk, more action..

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Nov 5th 2024, 3:01 PM

@Michale Kane:
    Who’s going to build them?

Mute sakk sa
    Favourite sakk sa
    Nov 4th 2024, 9:55 PM

Netherland building 400 thousands unit homes/flat a year

Mute Barb Dwyre
    Favourite Barb Dwyre
    Nov 4th 2024, 9:58 PM

@sakk sa: you are fake news!

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:15 PM

@sakk sa: Philippines looking at 90K per annum

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Nov 5th 2024, 12:33 AM

@sakk sa: In 2023, approximately 73,000 new homes were constructed in the Netherlands, but projections for 2024 indicate a drop in new builds due to various challenges facing the sector.

Netherlands is more than 3x our population, yet is delivering only 2x the number of homes Ireland is.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 5th 2024, 2:26 AM

@Pat Hazzard: cmere pat that comment was about as useful as a Darragh O Brien one . But feel free to spout away, as usual.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:00 PM

Homes or Houses?

Mute Des Daly
    Favourite Des Daly
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:40 PM

@Pat Barry: Lego houses

Mute Anthony Harte
    Favourite Anthony Harte
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:37 PM

Sure why not round it up to a million for the crack?

Mute Mike B
    Favourite Mike B
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:18 PM

Promises promises, still a few weeks left to pass the occupied territories bill, and extension of opening hours for late night venues, also what happened to slainte care?

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:33 PM

There’s no sense of urgency. A lot of this housing was needed years ago and now we’re talking about out into the 2030s. It’s like there’s a 20 year lag on everything from housing to all types of infrastructure. The depressing thing is there is not much in the way of alternatives to vote for.

Mute Will Q
    Favourite Will Q
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:26 PM

Very specific number from coalition leaders who haven’t been elected yet..

Mute Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Favourite Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:46 PM

If you believe that you’d believe anything

Mute Helena Camella Cummins
    Favourite Helena Camella Cummins
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:36 PM

Can anyone tell me why tower flats were demolished in Ballymun. They could have been handed over to private company or charity to run. They could have housed students from university or staff in Beaumont hospital.

Mute Eddie Garvey
    Favourite Eddie Garvey
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:47 PM

@Helena Camella Cummins: why staff in Beaumont hospital, why not staff in education establishments on the Northside or financial services.

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Nov 5th 2024, 12:47 AM

@Helena Camella Cummins: They were awful. Apart from being constructed during the brutalist architecture period and being wrecked by the time they were being demolished, they were a haven for drug use and dealing. Wrong type of buildings in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Mute Helena Camella Cummins
    Favourite Helena Camella Cummins
    Nov 5th 2024, 4:14 PM

@John Moore: or wrong tenants.Wrong management?

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:48 PM

For those that believe this 3-ring Circus, there are a bunch of African Princes from esteemed royalty with great investment opportunities in diamond mines awaiting.

Mute Jim Ryan
    Favourite Jim Ryan
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:42 PM

Hans Christian Anderson eat your heart out .

Mute r k
    Favourite r k
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:09 PM

Im setting up a new party with a target of 304,000.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:53 PM

Ironic that today Roderic O Gorman interfered in the Presidential election in the USA, warning against Trumpian politics, yet this statement around new Housing Targets signed by him, Micheal Martin & Simon Harris puts even Trump & Misinformation in the novice category. A Lie & Misinformation on a Grand scale & yet another Promise that won’t be fulfilled. Their track record has proved they don’t hit targets that are half this amount over their period in office. It’s disgusting & infuriating to young working people, listening to their Trumpian fake news & lies. It’s a sad indictment on us as Citizens that we will return these failures to office, despite all the crisess, we are rewarding failure & have no credible Opposition or alternative. Ireland is finished as a Democracy.

Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden

New targets bollix, pure sound bite politics, all this government serm to be interested is perceived image

Mute K H
    Favourite K H
    Nov 5th 2024, 3:40 AM

How predictable…the standard lip service as a general election looms on the horizon..they’ve been asleep at the wheel for two decades or more …. honestly, ya couldn’t make it up .

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Nov 5th 2024, 12:00 AM

I really hope karma pays Kyle Hayes a visit

Mute Seosamh O Muiri
    Favourite Seosamh O Muiri
    Nov 5th 2024, 7:42 AM

100 years of nest feathering. In it for nobody first but themselves and their cronies. No matter who gets in, don’t expect solutions or change or accountability. Nobody in Ireland has ever got into politics for the love of our country and if there was one, they soon got swayed by the opulence afforded them by the gravy train.

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Nov 4th 2024, 10:47 PM

Lucky dip. Just pick a number. Useless incompetents.

Mute Lefty Tears
    Favourite Lefty Tears
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:30 PM

Definitely voting for FG

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane

@Lefty Tears: On other articles your voting for Trump ? Can’t make up your mind eh ! Hard to vote in 2 countries for ya is it ;)

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:59 PM

@Lefty Tears: the FG prosperity train is coming to town :)

Mute Lefty Tears
    Favourite Lefty Tears
    Nov 5th 2024, 12:30 AM

@Mike Doe: the whole country will be on board

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Nov 5th 2024, 12:36 AM

@Lefty Tears: no shinners allowed on board :)

Mute Lefty Tears
    Favourite Lefty Tears
    Nov 5th 2024, 12:46 AM

@Mike Doe: certainly not, only decent people allowed

Mute Mike Doe
    Favourite Mike Doe
    Nov 4th 2024, 11:01 PM

FG are truly amazing, always delivering prosperity for the Irish people

Mute North Phone Bowe
    Favourite North Phone Bowe
    Nov 5th 2024, 10:05 AM

@Mike Doe: only thing they deliver is spin and false promises

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Nov 5th 2024, 9:26 AM

When sf budget said build more houses, all the trolls here slated them saying the magic money tree, everything free etc.
    Now ffg have taken from sf and called it their own.
    Can’t make this stuff up.

Mute North Phone Bowe
    Favourite North Phone Bowe
    Nov 5th 2024, 10:04 AM

More FFG electoral spin. More targets for them to miss by a country mile.

Mute Balloon Boy
    Favourite Balloon Boy
    Nov 5th 2024, 10:17 AM

So Sinn Fein said they’d do 300,000 by 2030 and these guys sneered at it. Now they’ve said they’ll build 3,000 more (how convenient!) and Simon says “I just think it provides a useful kind of anchor to the housing debate that rightfully will take place in the weeks ahead.” ie. during the debates, he wants to be able to pull the political equivalent of “If you’ve been to Tenerife, they’ve been to Elevenerife.”

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Nov 5th 2024, 11:21 AM

A pathetic figure over five years for housing. No ambition and one that they can’t miss but will, by some amount. Until we have sufficient affordable and social housing housing then the can will be kicked down the road, again. We need a government with an actual building policy, not guesses or throwing up cheap housing, as happened during the last Celtic Tiger.

Mute Sarah Jane Patten
    Favourite Sarah Jane Patten
    Nov 5th 2024, 3:25 PM

These politicians should be judged on their ‘performance’ to date, not on more empty promises for re-election, if we rinse and repeat – we only have ourselves to blame

Mute Minnie Mouse
    Favourite Minnie Mouse
    Nov 5th 2024, 6:25 PM

Why not make the target a nice round figure like 600,000? It will have as much chance of being achieved as will the official target of 303,000. In other words – níl chance under the current crop of incompetents or the bunch of similars that will be elected in the coming election.

Mute Nick Bowie
    Favourite Nick Bowie
    Nov 6th 2024, 10:36 AM

Hope it’s not going to be like the last building boom where a mostly immigrant construction workforce was building new houses for more immigrant construction workers to build more houses etc. etc. etc and so on!

Mute derek
    Favourite derek
    Nov 5th 2024, 8:51 PM

Ye! Just keep talking about demand and ignoring the issue of price, profit margins and affordability! A lot of properties will end up empty if they dont slow down and the country will be in the same situation like the last time!