You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

you told us

Top comments of the week

Did you make the cut?

EVERY SATURDAY MORNING we take a look at all the best comments left on the site by our readers over the past seven days.

This week there was a lot of talk about Bishop Edward Daly, anti-terrorism laws and abortion.

The 5 most popular comments this week

Spain WildFire Fires burn in La Palma, Spain. (File photo) AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

1. Gerry Fallon got 835 green thumbs for this comment under an article about Germany proposing a burka ban as part of a range of anti-terrorism measures:

Can’t say I blame them one bit. Wear it in your own country but have respect for your host country’s rules and customs.If you went to their country and your wife or partner had a low cut tee shirt on and short pants,given the intense heat in the middle east,I bet you she would be arrested.So have manners and remove your burka ok.simple as that.Also given the terrorist threat out there,Security officials who are tasked with protecting their country have an absolute right to see that persons face.Whats the point in showing their passport if you can face check them.

2. During the week, we ran a poll asking if learning the national anthem should be part of the primary school curriculum. (89% of you thought it should, by the way.)

Shane Florish asked:

When did it stop being part of the curriculum?

Some 831 of you liked that one.

3. Under a story about a man who caused a deadly forest fire after setting fire to toilet paper when he defecated in the woods in the Canary Islands, Beachmaster commented:

Arseonists?

That one got 754 likes.

4. Upon hearing that a new bill in Italy aims to jail parents who impose a vegan diet on their children, Claire Brennan made this point:

What about the parents imposing fast food diets? eye roll

Her comment got 681 green thumbs.

5. Under a poll asking if people agreed with the above bill, Piotrek Król got 667 likes for a similar comment, writing:

In this country, no, but the ones who feed their children microwave burgers, frozen chips and fizzy drinks should.

The top 5 articles which received the most comments this week

1. Germany to propose burka ban as part of anti-terrorism measures (286 comments)
2.One of the most horrible experiences of my life’: An Irish woman on travelling for an abortion (269 comments)
3. Ibrahim Halawa case: Egypt hits back at Ireland and accuses him of assaulting police (229 comments)
4. Poll: Would you ban US military aircraft from stopping at Shannon entirely? (214 comments)
5. ‘Trainee priests going on a dating site, there’s something wrong there’ (204 comments)

Standout comments

download Edward Daly waving a white handkerchief as the body of Jackie Duddy is carried to safety on Bloody Sunday in 1972 Screengrab / RTÉ Screengrab / RTÉ / RTÉ

Tributes poured in for Bishop Edward Daly, the then Catholic priest who famously waved a white flag while trying to aid the wounded on Bloody Sunday.

He died on Monday after a short battle with cancer.

Bishop Daly was probably best-known for his actions on the infamous day in Derry on 30 January 1972, when he waved a white handkerchief while trying to help mortally-wounded Jackie Duddy.

Angry Gaming wrote:

This man used his position to promote peace to save people’s lives while ignoring his own safety. Thankfully people like him are like cream rising to the top, ultimately they will always shine brightest.
Condolences to anyone that knew him.

While For Connolly said:

“My experience here over five decades has convinced me of one thing above all others – that we can do much more together than we can do apart. Difference should be seen as enriching rather than threatening. There is a rich tapestry of cultures here – and each of them has made an important contribution to who we are and what we are and each should be cherished by us all.”
Bishop Edward Daly, accepting the freedom of the city of Derry.

Up to two million people in Aleppo have been without running water for several days. The United Nations described the situation as “catastrophic”. More than 290,000 people have been killed since Syria’s conflict erupted in March 2011.

Ruth Colbert had this to say about the situation:

I get so annoyed when we mark such anniversaries like the holocaust etc, such hypocrites we are when this is going on in front of our eyes, oh but it’s okay because in 100 yrs time we’ll look back, mark the terrible occasion & wag our fingers!

Tweet by @Culture Night Culture Night / Twitter Culture Night / Twitter / Twitter

Culture Night was launched during the week.

Some of you shared your thoughts on the annual event, which is taking place on 16 September.

Here’s what Julz had to say:

We always look forward to Culture Night. It’s great for the kids and ourselves to get to see what’s in their own city.
People travel the world to see the different cultures and history, and we often forget about the wonders of our own country.
It’s a fantastic opportunity and the city of Cork comes alive with the sounds of music and the beautiful smells of different foods being cooked. The free buses are a huge bonus and have lovely singers/musicians on board for your journey.
Saw Collins Barracks and Blackrock Castle last year. Hope to ring the Bells of Shandon this year.

no-fee-an-post-lego-gpo-mx1 Maxwells / Julien Behal Maxwells / Julien Behal / Julien Behal

Meanwhile, the Irish hockey team sang the national anthem acapella at the Olympics in Rio when the music didn’t play.

Some people were critical of their efforts, but many viewers had nothing but praise for the team.

(If you can’t see the video, click here.)

jane wrote:

Fair play to them. Honestly the things people criticise others for.

no-fee-an-post-lego-gpo-mx1 Maxwells / Julien Behal Maxwells / Julien Behal / Julien Behal

On another note, when a Lego version of Nelson’s pillar was built as part of a recreation of O’Connell Street at the time of the Easter Rising, Petr Tarasov went full Zoolander, commenting:

What is that? A pillar for ants?!

1979683_425959657595355_7582537217700653325_n David (right) with the Boeing 767 Quirky Nights Glamping Village Quirky Nights Glamping Village

David McGowan captured people’s imaginations back in May, when he and a team of people transported a Boeing 767 plane from Shannon Airport to his glamping site in Co Sligo.

This week he announced he’s now planning to move a train from London to the site.

A lot of you were inspired by his thinking-outside-the-box approach, with Mark Heehee writing:

I love hearing this fella and his mad ideas. He’s some man and I wish him all the best

download Julie Jacobson Julie Jacobson

Finally, there was yet another twist in the seemingly never-ending Garth Brooks saga this week, with the man himself saying he’d like to play in Dublin.

For those of you who might have been on Mars in 2014, the country star was at the centre of a summer-long saga that year when his scheduled five-night run in Croke Park wasn’t granted permission to go ahead.

luke sarpish spoke for a lot of people when he wrote this:

Please for the love of God, don’t start this again.

While alphanautica was a bit more optimistic, commenting:

Tickets are already on sale for 7 nights at Fairview Park.
No licence yet applied for, but sure it’ll be grand.

We can’t wait.

See any good comments? Send them to orla@thejournal.ie.