You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Brian Hayes scores a first-half goal for Cork. Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Cork topple All-Ireland hurling champions Limerick in epic semi-final tie

Brian Hayes struck the first-half goal that proved a key intervention.

The 42 is the home of quality journalism for passionate Irish sports fans, bringing you closer to the stories that matter through insightful analysis and sharp sportswriting.

Cork 1-28

Limerick 0-29

A STUNNING GAME produced a stunning conclusion.

Limerick’s reign as champions is over, their All-Ireland five-in-a-row dream ended at the semi-final hurdle as Cork produced a fantastic second-half display to claim a two-point win.

A final date with Clare awaits in a fortnight.

Cork got a huge boost as the first quarter concluded, Brian Hayes surging through from the left wing after Shane Barrett popped in a handpass, and the St Finbarr’s brilliantly drilled his shot to the net.

His goal threat was well advertised, two minutes later he found the net again but as the Cork support erupted in joy, the whistle had been blown with Alan Connolly penalised for a thrown pass. Hayes clipped over a point soon after to send Cork five clear, but Limerick then took over to outscore Cork 0-10 to 0-3 for the remainder of the half.

They had taken a firm grip on the game to lead 0-16 to 1-11 at half-time and were in a dominant mood. David Reidy clipped three first-half points, Cathal O’Neill and Diarmaid Byrnes struck two apiece, while Aaron Gillane knocked over five.

The 42 subscribers can read the full match report here (€)

The 42′s award-winning team produces original content that you won’t find anywhere else: on GAA, League of Ireland, women’s sport and boxing, as well as our game-changing rugby coverage, all with an Irish eye.

View 68 comments
68 Comments
    Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:23 PM

Speaking as a limerick man “The dream has died” but well done to Cork .They deserved to win and their supporters were fantastic and gracious.A few of them just shook my hand on the way out.The game of hurling was the winner again today.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:49 PM

@Willie Marty: Fair play Willie.. and commiserations. Great game.. you’re in a minority though.. never seen such an over confident/arrogant crowd at Croker for a semi in my life.. and I was in the crowd when John Fenton pulled on that ball v Limerick in ’87. Amazing Limerick team..Will be back no doubt.. but their supporters,by and large, with a host of’ new fans’, have been very very arrogant on this amazing run.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:59 PM

@Willie Marty: Still a fantastic team and 5 in a row would have completely been appropriate, but 10 years of training and sacrifice dies take its toll…..

I’m a Cork man and hurling needed a team like Limerick to pop up and show other counties that it’s possible and hopefully the game grows from here.

I still hate the yellow ball and the championship finished in July

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jul 7th 2024, 7:57 PM

@Brian: God, you’re one miserable person. If you’re that soft, perhaps you shouldn’t go to games, the banter before and afterwards is part of the joy……

You actually give Cork people a bad name

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Jul 7th 2024, 8:15 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: well said Paul and best of luck .Im sure there will be a big welcome if Liam McCarthy comes to Leeside.

Mute Eoghan
    Favourite Eoghan
    Jul 7th 2024, 8:22 PM

@Brian: let yourself down there. You’re probably not a cork man.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jul 7th 2024, 9:15 PM

@Eoghan: No, 100 percent Cork Eoghan, and I’m not the one that has let myself down.. been to more Munster and All-Ireland finals than most Limerick lads had hot dinners. Engaged with all sorts of banter with pedigree hurling county supporters along the way.. Limerick men ocasionally included. Some people who don’t even go to games, and comment, think they know the feel of a crowd or the respect between fans before and after.. I can tell you 1st hand that Limerick fans, in the main, were totally overconfident and arrogant before today’s game. I was in and around the stadium.. that’s my experience of it and them. It was all the sweeter beating them for that .. and I make no bones or apologies for that too..

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Jul 7th 2024, 9:30 PM

@Brian: well I’m a Cork man and I’ve been to every game even when we lost the first two in munster and we always had great banter with the Limerick fans and found them to be good humoured at all times. Certainly nothing like your talking about.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jul 7th 2024, 10:23 PM

@James Leahy: Ahh James, the other lads are always great craic when you’re the loser! What ya mean by ‘every game’? Anyway, I’m talking about pre-match attitude.. never seen a bunch of supporters to think they were home and hosed before the game even started.. and post-match..? if I hear ‘G’wan the banner’ once more tonight from a Limerick supporter… lol.. Anyway, All a deflection from a superb Cork win. Rebels Abu

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jul 7th 2024, 11:56 PM

@James Leahy: Brian isn’t a true Cork man or woman , he lacks so much…..but let’s not allow him and his ignorance be the narrative… great game, great result for true Cork people……

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Jul 8th 2024, 3:02 AM

@Paul O’Mahoney: correct’ – being from Charleville myself on the border down here the banter and craic has been mighty all week. Looking forward to meeting my limerick friends at work on Tuesday morning.

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Jul 8th 2024, 3:30 AM

@Willie Marty: correction (limerick side of Charleville and looking forward to seeing my cork friends on Tuesday)

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Jul 8th 2024, 8:11 AM

@Paul O’Mahoney: the thrown handpass has to sorted out, we had legal passes being blown for and illegal passes being let go, if the handpass isn’t sorted by the powers we’ll have watched hurling being slowly strangled

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:13 PM

Justice. Kyle Hayes should never have been available for selection on the Limerick team for this year and probably the next 2 years. Revenge is best served cold comes to mind!

Mute Patrice Ahern
    Favourite Patrice Ahern
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:31 PM

@Ooooooooooo: totally, I agree 100%. Following that Limerick judge’s pompous decision re the Natasha O’Brien’s case, that other thug, Hayes, should never have been allowed to represent Limk.

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jul 7th 2024, 7:28 PM

@Patrice Ahern: Absolutely!!

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    Jul 7th 2024, 7:57 PM

@Ooooooooooo: He’s a young man who made a mistake. Get off your high horse.

Mute anthony davoren
    Favourite anthony davoren
    Jul 7th 2024, 8:09 PM

@John Fagan: if that’s the case the same could be said about Crotty. There’s rightfully a national outcry at the leniency shown to him….Hates should be no different.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Jul 7th 2024, 9:15 PM

@Ooooooooooo: You’re some sad person. Well done, cork,fully deserved. This amazing Limerick team brought us 5 all irelands,6 munsters, and 3 leagues,we owe this amazing team so much.

Mute Karl Phillips
    Favourite Karl Phillips
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:22 PM

Delighted for Cork, shocking that ” do you know who I am Kyle Hayes” was allowed play. The manager should be ashamed of himself giving him a character reference.

Mute Sean Buckley
    Favourite Sean Buckley
    Jul 7th 2024, 5:57 PM

Great game of hurling.

Mute Damien O'Sullivan
    Favourite Damien O'Sullivan
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:24 PM

What a match!! Wonderful spectacle, the better team won.
    Limerick made it interesting near the end, although certain players on that team shouldn’t have played at all. Karma comes to us all

Mute Fergus O'Connor
    Favourite Fergus O'Connor
    Jul 7th 2024, 5:59 PM

Congrats to Cork. Should be a cracker of a final.

Mute vxQ6cYzh
    Favourite vxQ6cYzh
    Jul 7th 2024, 7:02 PM

@Fergus O’Connor: Come on CLARE bring it home to the North of the Shannon to join SAM in Galway. The WEST’S Awake ! This is our year.

Mute Barry Murphy
    Favourite Barry Murphy
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:29 PM

A game for the ages! As a neutral that was a thoroughly enjoyable watch. The start to that second half, coupled with some fantastic saves won the game for Cork. It’ll be nice to see a different winner this year!

Mute qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Favourite qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:10 PM

Couldn’t have happened to a nicer bunch of lads

Mute Johnny 5
    Favourite Johnny 5
    Jul 7th 2024, 7:31 PM

The best game in the world simple as that. What a match. Limerick unusually nervey missing lots of point chances. Cork took full advantage and produced some performance. Cork goalkeeper man of the match for me. Bring on the rebels

Mute Sergio Reddan
    Favourite Sergio Reddan
    Jul 7th 2024, 11:13 PM

@Johnny 5: if you were lucky enough to get a ticket to that match as a tourist to Ireland for a week or two , your mind would be blown !! The skill, the speed , the pace, the intensity, the brutality ,,,,,,? It was an ad for Irish sport and Ireland the country on its own; fans sitting side by side , many families wearing contrasting jerseys ; I’m a Clare man myself living in cork :!the kids are asking when the cork flag is going up ; I’m asserting my dad dominance the BOTH WILL BE UP ! C’Mon the Banner ,,,,,, Up the Rebels ,,,,,, until my son or daughter is in that red jersey playing against Clare I’m going to bleed saffron & blue . After that a blood transfusion will be required

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:02 PM

Atleast Kilkenny made the final with the drive for five attempt. Hardly the greatest team ever going down to that cork side in the semis.

Mute CP
    Favourite CP
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:07 PM

@Vincent Wallace: said like a true Kilkenny man

Mute mark sheehan
    Favourite mark sheehan
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:43 PM

@Vincent Wallace: rubbish, during that era they played 2 ,maybe 3 to win All Ireland. Nowadays it’s a lot harder to win Munster never mind the All Ireland.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jul 7th 2024, 7:08 PM

@Vincent Wallace: let’s put Kilkenny into Munster and see how the fare.

Mute Eoghan
    Favourite Eoghan
    Jul 7th 2024, 8:25 PM

@CP: couldn’t have said that better.

Mute morgan crowe
    Favourite morgan crowe
    Jul 9th 2024, 12:15 AM

@Vincent Wallace: that kilkenny would have been better off not making the final because they got destroyed and were embarrassed in the final.

Mute Sean Sean
    Favourite Sean Sean
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:25 PM

The original “Beautiful Game”

Mute eamonn farrell
    Favourite eamonn farrell
    Jul 7th 2024, 7:58 PM

@Sean Sean: quare stupid comment !!

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:54 PM

Simple hurling won today and I’ll say this we aren’t better hurlers than Limerick, but our strategy was get ball into scoring places and score , we did that , and I’m as surprised as anyone.

Clare were like that yesterday too, points and momentum.

I’ve said the following for the last 5 years who ever beat Limerick will win the championship….we’ve beat them twice.

Now the real munster final is happening in Dublin

Mute Paul H
    Favourite Paul H
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:14 PM

Delighted for both our neighbours which ever wins best of luck in the final

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Jul 7th 2024, 9:05 PM

At least There’ll be no court case from this limerick beating

Mute Patrick O'Leary
    Favourite Patrick O'Leary
    Jul 7th 2024, 7:22 PM

So much for the Limerick-Kilkenny final – well done Cork!

Mute James Carolan
    Favourite James Carolan
    Jul 7th 2024, 7:27 PM

Delighted for Cork, great to see them back in both hurling and football

Mute paulinlavally@gmail.com
    Favourite paulinlavally@gmail.com
    Jul 7th 2024, 8:59 PM

It was a fantastic game and no insults should be aimed at either team or their supporters. Limerick were fantastic champions but all good things come to an end.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jul 7th 2024, 11:59 PM

@paulinlavally@gmail.com: And hurling won today too.

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:11 PM

Problem is for cork in the final day have to try and do it all over again clare by 3 in the final

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:39 PM

@Alan Moloney: Isn’t that that the same for any team that wins a semi-final Alan ? Let us enjoy halting the drive for 5.. Limerick great team no doubt.. but Cork hurling pedigree came to the fore today.. Them Limerick supporters think they invented hurling.. quite boys tonight. Rebels Abu.

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:46 PM

@Brian: will never beat the super dubs 6 in a row

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jul 7th 2024, 6:57 PM

@Alan Moloney: Obviously not .. because boreball.. sorry I mean football is not hurling .. A 10 in a row in boreball wouldn’t even equate to even 3 in a row in hurling. Hurling is the game of the Gods..

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jul 7th 2024, 7:00 PM

@Alan Moloney: cut the grass dude ye have nothing left to do.

Mute eamonn farrell
    Favourite eamonn farrell
    Jul 7th 2024, 8:00 PM

@Brian: hurling snobbery at its finest !!

Mute anthony davoren
    Jul 7th 2024, 8:10 PM

@Alan Moloney: don’t be comparing hurling with football. There is no comparison.

Mute anthony davoren
    Jul 7th 2024, 8:12 PM

@Alan Moloney: you were spouting the same nonsense about Galway after they kicked Dublin out of the football championship. Have you no new material. Is it just copy and paste you do? I swear you must be Ray Ridge back up account

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jul 7th 2024, 8:14 PM

@eamonn farrell: Take that up with the Gods Eamonn… or the paying public.. either or .. you’ll get same answer. Boreball jealousy at its finest.

Mute brian madden
    Favourite brian madden
    Jul 7th 2024, 9:08 PM

@Brian: an clár abu

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jul 7th 2024, 9:57 PM

@brian madden: And the very besht of luck to ye lads . We owe ye one form ’13 though !

Mute Mies Valkenburg
    Favourite Mies Valkenburg
    Jul 8th 2024, 5:55 AM

Well done, Cork. Happy to se the back of the ‘nightclub thug’.

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Jul 8th 2024, 6:32 AM

Best game of hurling in years

Mute Quinny
    Favourite Quinny
    Jul 7th 2024, 7:24 PM

Cork is the top of a bottle …

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Jul 7th 2024, 7:28 PM

@Quinny: lol

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jul 7th 2024, 11:58 PM

@Quinny: And a tree

Mute reg morrisey
    Favourite reg morrisey
    Jul 8th 2024, 8:51 AM

Delighted. I’ve no time for a person who defends thugs

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Jul 8th 2024, 8:16 AM

When will the referees be spared the near impossible task of deciding in real time what is a hand pass and what is a throw. If it was work they’d have gone on strike long ago to demand clarity.

Mute john quirke
    Favourite john quirke
    Jul 8th 2024, 12:27 PM

@Gerry Ryan: Maybe they should put a chip in the sliothar similar to the euros to hear when the sliothar is hand passed … :)

Mute Tómas WD
    Favourite Tómas WD
    Jul 7th 2024, 9:25 PM

Seriously – who give a toss outside of Cork & Limerick. Why is this on national news feed?

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jul 7th 2024, 11:57 PM

@Tómas WD: Nice trolling moron

Mute Guy
    Favourite Guy
    Jul 8th 2024, 12:02 AM

@Tómas WD: so why are you on here commenting?