You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

David McGuinness Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

'I don't take any pleasure in quitting Fianna Fáil, it was a big part of my life'

David McGuinness has spoken to TheJournal.ie about his decision to quit Fianna Fáil today.

DAVID MCGUINNESS SAID that his decision to quit Fianna Fáil made sense in the wake of his disillusionment with the party, but added that it doesn’t make it any easier.

The newly-independent Fingal councillor announced his decision to quit the party earlier today in the wake of his failure to be selected as its general election candidate in Dublin West in February.

The two-time failed by-election candidate says he hasn’t decided if he will join another party or remain independent, but said he will more than likely run in the next general election.

McGuinness told TheJournal.ie there is “not a hope in hell” of him joining Sinn Féin, but did not entirely rule out Renua Ireland, which he claimed had approached him indirectly in recent weeks.

“I really believe I am a centrist politician. I don’t see Renua in that light. I could be wrong on that,” he said.

On his decision to quit the party, McGuinness said it was a difficult one but said his concerns about the direction of Fianna Fáil “had fallen on deaf ears” within the party.

“I don’t take any pleasure in it, Fianna Fáil was a big part of my life. But, look, you have to take stock and make a call in the interests of what you’re doing.”

He insisted his decision was not sour grapes after failing to win the recent selection convention and said he is “too much of a decent fella” to bare ill will towards people in Fianna Fáil.

I don’t harbour sour grapes towards anyone and I never have. People that know me know that I’m just a decent skin. I’ve been centre stage for the past three years but the rug has been taken from underneath me with regard to Fianna Fáil.

The Blanchardstown-based councillor claimed he was promised a meeting with party leader Micheál Martin after his failure to win selection in Dublin West in February, but said “it never happened”.

Fianna Fáil has not yet commented on his departure.

Earlier: ‘A party in denial’: Fianna Fáil has just lost another councillor

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

53 Comments
    Mute ProudIrishRepublican
    Favourite ProudIrishRepublican
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:18 PM

So the councillor insists it’s not sour grapes? Well if it looks like sour grapes and sounds like sour grapes, I wonder what else could it be?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:29 PM

Californian wine?

Mute ProudIrishRepublican
    Favourite ProudIrishRepublican
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:36 PM

Fianna Fáil whine!

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:48 PM

Sour grapes make a ‘whine’ with a bitter bouquet.

Mute William lynn
    Favourite William lynn
    Apr 9th 2015, 10:04 PM

Best comment all dat

Mute William lynn
    Favourite William lynn
    Apr 9th 2015, 10:05 PM

Best comment all day !

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:23 PM

I notice that the councillors opinion of his party changed at exactly the same time they chose a different candidate for the election.

Mute Timber Planks
    Favourite Timber Planks
    Apr 9th 2015, 11:24 PM

Happened to notice that too! But it most likely just a coincidence!

Mute Bob Mac
    Favourite Bob Mac
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:47 AM

It’s about getting into the dail at any cost. Party doesn’t even come into it. This guy is just following the typical Irish political mantra.

Step 1: Get into the dail at any cost

Step 2: Stay in the dail and ride the gravy train for as long as possible. Serving the Irish people in the midst of it all is completely optional

Mute Patrick Corr
    Favourite Patrick Corr
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:18 PM

Another one jumping ship.

Mute Karl Noone
    Favourite Karl Noone
    Apr 9th 2015, 10:54 PM

B

Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:21 PM

Fianna Fail played a big part in my life,my brothers life who’s in Australia and my youngest sister who lives in Birmingham.Where were you when the shit hit the fan?.Nowhere, now please stay there.

Mute James Comiskey
    Favourite James Comiskey
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:29 PM

Birmingham ? f*ck things must of been really tough to force that decision

Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:40 PM

Love I think.But everytime she comes home ,she cries when she goes back.I don’t know does she miss us or hate him.I think she just misses home.

Mute Bill Jones
    Favourite Bill Jones
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:23 PM

All these lads and lasses jumping overboard and becoming independent when the time suits them, clearly can see the independents are about to do well in the next election and they would be better off running under that banner than that of a party. Don’t let the fool you.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:30 PM

So he left FF because they didnt listen to him, and he feels no malice. So he is now an independant that still believes FF policy…still as useful as he was before he left. Not. Do these people really think we are idiots?? Just because they jump ship ..or get moved sideways ..does not change anything, they still believe in party policies.
    The real independants are the ones that never believed in the party whip system and stood up on their own two feet…they’ll be getting my vote

Mute Timber Planks
    Favourite Timber Planks
    Apr 9th 2015, 11:29 PM

Unfortunately Jenni I hate to say this but by this time next year when his face is splashed across an independent poster quite a lot of people will probably have forgotten that he was a member of FF! Or will never have known in the first place! A lot of people don’t follow politics that closely and it’s them that he is trying to fool!

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Apr 10th 2015, 8:45 AM

Yes Timber, like quite a few have forgot Mary Lou is an ex member of the FF party

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Apr 10th 2015, 9:36 AM

And you can bet your ass that if he did somehow manage to get elected as an Independent candidate, Fianna Fail would be all over him trying to bring him back into the fold.

There are plenty of “Pretendipendents” about – don’t be fooled by any of them. He had no problem with Fianna Fail when they were destroying the country, and that tells you all you need to know about the man.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris

Complete and utter fake politician with zero concept of loyalty.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:22 PM

7 years to late buddy

Mute Patrick Corr
    Favourite Patrick Corr
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:19 PM

Another rat jumping a sinking ship.

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Apr 9th 2015, 10:10 PM

If this gentleman was selected to stand as a FF TD , he would still be in the FF fold.This man is party hopping to gain a position for himself. It’s called self interest.

Mute michaelhenry
    Favourite michaelhenry

Another idiot who thought he was better / bigger than party-

He will join another and it will still end in his failure- it’s his failure no one else to blame-

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:31 PM

Has absolutely nothing to do with running out of gravy……..honest! :p

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:26 PM

last one out of ff hq turn off the lights .

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:56 PM

Translated to “I need to get my snout in the trough but there’s just not enough room in the Fianna Fail trough.”

Mute itzme
    Favourite itzme
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:50 PM

This idiot is a serial loser. Backed by ff. He will realise this at his own expense at the next election.

Mute DamoDeMan
    Favourite DamoDeMan
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:40 PM

FF reply: Who? Was he in our party, they all look so alike it is getting hard to tell

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:35 PM

Bye bye ff.and this idiot.

Mute Derek Mills
    Favourite Derek Mills
    Apr 9th 2015, 11:45 PM

In my experience anyone who refers to themselves as a decent skin, is in fact the exact opposite!

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Apr 9th 2015, 10:33 PM

Just having a look at David’s renumeration and expenses,For 2013 he received just under €17k for representative payment.
    Plus another €7.5k for an yearly allowance not bad dosh for a part time gig,While also teaching.
    But we all know the garrunteed TD pension plus salary and expenses is the one to half,Saying that I think people who are on councils get paid a lump when they lose their seat.

Mute Philip Cooper
    Favourite Philip Cooper
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:33 PM

Who?

Mute Alex Simons
    Favourite Alex Simons
    Apr 9th 2015, 9:50 PM

Apparently TD Dara Calleary is about to join Renua. That will wake FF up.

Mute Tallaght two
    Favourite Tallaght two
    Apr 9th 2015, 10:18 PM

Really? That would be fairly incredible. Dara is right at the top of FF. Can’t see M.Martin lasting if that happens

Mute Martin Gorry
    Favourite Martin Gorry
    Apr 9th 2015, 10:10 PM

Politician, rat jumps ship, pig fighting to get snout in trough, same old same old. Plenty more to follow suit

Mute Con ODomhnaill
    Favourite Con ODomhnaill
    Apr 9th 2015, 10:36 PM

Are you in favor of the water tax and water metering David? Yes or No?

Mute lilolil
    Favourite lilolil
    Apr 10th 2015, 1:19 AM

Only when the fat pensions and salaries and expenses are stripped will we really see who wants to work for the better of the country!

Mute The Professor
    Favourite The Professor
    Apr 9th 2015, 10:17 PM

None of the people in that picture are wearing trousers! Can see it from his eyes

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Apr 9th 2015, 10:54 PM

Damn you!….you made me look into his eyes!…..uugh!

Mute The Professor
    Favourite The Professor
    Apr 9th 2015, 11:10 PM

Who are the two straddling behind him does anyone know? Also do you think David browses through the comments about him here, he has a really long thumb in that pic too..freaky

Mute Aindriú de Domhain
    Favourite Aindriú de Domhain
    Apr 10th 2015, 1:14 AM

Jumped-up and ridiculously ambitious nobody quits FF because it’s not promoting him fast enough to suit his ego. This kind of story is becoming a cliché.

There’ll be plenty more stories like this, wannabe career politicians spotting a possible opportunity for a faster way to that state salary and/or pension. They wouldn’t know the concept of public service if it hit them between the eyes.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Apr 9th 2015, 11:02 PM

Quitting what exactly ? You dimwit you’re just another cult member that couldn’t get his way so has a” revelation ” before a general election.
    Party politics is for idiots , jog on .

Mute Fran Cowzer
    Favourite Fran Cowzer
    Apr 9th 2015, 11:07 PM

Ah Michael there coming for you

Mute Harold
    Favourite Harold
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:09 AM

Who is he?

Mute Alain O Donaile
    Favourite Alain O Donaile
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:10 AM

” Give us back our money and IT equipment” Fianna Fáil say David McGuinnes ” kept” election Funding.
    http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/ff-exploring-ways-to-get-excouncillor-to-pay-17k-31130990.html

Mute Peter M Buchanan
    Favourite Peter M Buchanan
    Apr 10th 2015, 6:58 AM

Traitor……

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:32 AM

The guy to his left. I think he shot JR.

Mute D'Murph
    Favourite D'Murph
    Apr 10th 2015, 10:28 AM

The days of party loyalty are slipping again… Happened in the 80s too tough times present tough and awkward party lines for some. When the going gets tough the lightweights get going.

Apr 10th 2015, 8:42 AM

Typical self-serving snake, St.Patrick you forgot this one!

Mute Paul Moran
    Favourite Paul Moran
    Apr 10th 2015, 1:14 PM

Who would want him anyway…

Mute John Blessing
    Favourite John Blessing
    Apr 10th 2015, 2:12 PM

anything for an easy buck eh?

Mute Padraic Connolly
    Favourite Padraic Connolly
    Apr 18th 2015, 8:03 AM

Politicians have no loyalties only to them self getting elected getting the fat wages and pensions “I all right Jack feck the rest “