You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Siobhán McSweeney said she is 'looking forward to meeting our loyal Faithful and delicious Traitors'. Alamy Stock Photo

Derry Girls star Siobhán McSweeney to host The Traitors Ireland on RTÉ

The series has been a hit across the UK, US and the Netherlands and next year it’s coming to Ireland.

DERRY GIRLS STAR Siobhán McSweeney has been announced as the host of The Traitors Ireland, which will air on RTÉ next year.

The show has been a huge hit in the UK, US and the Netherlands, with the UK version on BBC being hosted by broadcaster and writer Claudia Winkleman.

file-photo-dated-02112022-claudia-winkleman-arriving-for-the-screening-of-the-traitors-at-white-city-house-television-centre-in-wood-lane-london-the-traitors-will-return-to-bbc-one-and-bbc-iplay 2022 image of Claudia Winkleman arriving for the screening of The Traitors in London. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

The Traitors is described as a psychological adventure competition and is similar to the party game ‘Mafia’.

The Traitors Ireland will be filmed in Ireland and feature contestants from across the country, following a national casting call for applications earlier this year.

It will see 22 contestants arrive at a remote castle to play a game of deception, betrayal, and trust, with a €50,000 prize up for grabs.

The 22 contestants will be split into ‘Faithful’ and ‘Traitors’, but the Faithful do not know the identity of the Traitors, who will attempt to secretly murder a player every night, without getting caught.

It’s up to the Faithfuls to try to detect who the Traitors are, and banish them from the game, before they become their next victim. 

However, they Faithful also run the risk of mistaking loyalty for deception and banishing one of their own from the game.

For the lucky ones who survive to the end, they have the chance of winning the €50,000, but if a Traitor remains undetected, they’ll steal all the money. 

McSweeney said she is a “huge Traitors fan” and “jumped at the chance” to become the host of the Irish version.

“I’m looking forward to meeting our loyal Faithful and delicious Traitors,” said McSweeney.

“The Irish have a charm and ability to deceive while smiling which will make this version rather special, I think. And I’m the luckiest person in the world to watch them close up.”

Meanwhile, Steve Carson, Director of Video at RTÉ, she he is “delighted that Siobhán is going to be at the heart of it” and described McSweeney as an “incredibly talented actor with a great comic and dramatic range”.

“We know that she is going to bring something really special to Ireland’s version of this fantastic game of trust and deceit,” said Carson.

The Traitors was launched in the Netherlands in 2021 and there are now over 30 versions of the show internationally, with the UK and US versions in particular proving to be very popular.

The US versions will return for a third, fourth and fifth season, while the UK version has been commissioned for a fourth season and celebrity version. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

40 Comments
    Mute Nurse On Call.
    Favourite Nurse On Call.
    Jul 9th 2024, 11:22 AM

The problem is the is no policy. Once you remove say the Christian symbols others replace it based on majority. For example you’re not allowed to wear a cross around your neck in British hospitals, this was voted for and backed by the Muslim majority board. But, as a Muslim you’re still allowed to wear a hijab. As a Hindu they are allowed a Bindi.
    Unless there’s a zero tolerance approach then it’s not fair. Systemically we are a catholic nation I certainly don’t think I’d have a right to land to Saudi and ask them to turn off the speaker for their call to prayer every morning and to instead play Ava Maria. I respect their right religion as should people here.

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Jul 9th 2024, 12:06 PM

@Nurse On Call.: A hijab is not a symbol of Islam. It’s an item of clothing. Just as is a kilt.
    If you think a hijab should be banned, then so too should nuns and monks habits.

Mute East Cork Cheeses
    Favourite East Cork Cheeses
    Jul 9th 2024, 12:09 PM

@Nurse On Call.: i think religon should be very much personal, i have no problem with a workplace or employer accomadating employees and guests where practical,
    But prayers before a council meeting – or before school , come in a few mins early

Mute marklars81
    Favourite marklars81
    Jul 9th 2024, 12:21 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Just as a kilt? The hijab is a religious obligation that Muslim women have to observe.

Jul 9th 2024, 12:37 PM

@East Cork Cheeses: Or just do them at home.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Jul 9th 2024, 1:06 PM

@marklars81: Catholics are not obligated to wear a cross so doesn’t seem to be a problem.

Mute David Stapleton
    Favourite David Stapleton
    Jul 9th 2024, 1:50 PM

@marklars81: the Hijab is most definitely not a religious obligation, but stems from a culture the wants to control women. A very well merited but different argument than here.

Jul 9th 2024, 5:08 PM

@marklars81: So you’re saying no one can wear a hijab without being obliged to?

And if you believe that the hijab is religious and that it should be banned, then you’d have to agree that monk and nun habit must also be banned.

Mute Jack B Quick
    Favourite Jack B Quick
    Jul 9th 2024, 7:35 PM

@Nurse On Call.: nonsense. By all means wear a crucifix or a hijab. The state cannot endorse a religion and so no crucifix in the walls or prayers before committee

It’s simple

Mute 087 bed
    Favourite 087 bed
    Jul 9th 2024, 11:26 AM

I’m not overly religious, but the race to a godless society is not good, Just think what will replace it, An oath to climate change or pledge allegiance to the rainbow flag. There is a strong negative undercurrent behind all these stunts. All the Best.

Mute Derek Moran
    Favourite Derek Moran
    Jul 9th 2024, 11:37 AM

@087 bed: why do you think we need to make an oath to anything? Just get rid of it full stop.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 9th 2024, 11:37 AM

@087 bed: but we do live in a godless society: he doesn’t exist.

Mute Ciarán Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Ciarán Ó Dálaigh
    Jul 9th 2024, 4:19 PM

@087 bed: Religion is the biggest con/stunt off all. There’s nothing remotely negative about treating everyone equally or trying to stop us destroying our own planet. Unless you’re a total C U Next Tuesday that is

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:14 PM

@087 bed: There is nothing to replace it, that is the whole point.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:51 PM

@Gary Kearney: replace it with common sense

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Jul 9th 2024, 11:07 AM

It is discrimination as it’s exclusively Catholic, so Rice is 100% correct. For too long this country has lived under the jackboot of the Catholic church, so any efforts to remove this should be applauded.

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Favourite Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 9th 2024, 12:31 PM

@The Fires: Maybe replace the symbolism with a picture of superior ‘races’ where the Irish are slightly more evolved than black complexion Africans but far less evolved as a ‘race’ than the superior Anglo-Saxon ‘race’.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/fa/Scientific_racism_irish.jpg

Origin of Species originated as a distinction between the famine Irish and the empire English, with Wallace framing it in 1858 as civilised/savage ‘races’ while Darwin softened it a year later to favoured/less favoured ‘races’.

Most here only know Darwin through the 20th-century American creationism vs natural selection variant. The creationist rednecks accepted that black complexion people were connected to monkeys, what they couldn’t bear was white complexion people connected to monkeys.

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Jul 9th 2024, 3:53 PM

@Gerald Kelleher: can you please waffle somewhere else?

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:15 PM

@Gerald Kelleher: Fair play to you, you bore people on numerous threads!

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Jul 9th 2024, 10:59 AM

Remove all religions from public buildings. No crucifix, no kippa, no muslims clothes. Everyone should be equal, religion has no place for public servants.

Mute Thomas Berry
    Favourite Thomas Berry
    Jul 9th 2024, 11:01 AM

@Alex: No Christian clothes either?

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jul 9th 2024, 11:36 AM

@Thomas Berry: This country’s too cold for loincloths!

Mute did you every wonder
    Favourite did you every wonder

Is this all they have to discuss. There mustn’t be many issues there, like housing, homelessness, and the cost of living at the local level.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 9th 2024, 12:10 PM

@did you every wonder: yes they have all these issues to discuss, which is why they shouldn’t be wasting their time on prayer.

Jul 9th 2024, 12:13 PM

@did you every wonder: Precisely his point.

They are wasting valuable time on religious activities, rather than on those matters of importance.

Not to mention that these activities are sectarian.

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jul 9th 2024, 11:12 AM

I would wager the vast majority of irish citizens want nothing to do with religion

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Jul 9th 2024, 11:41 AM

@Robert Halvey: don’t wager too much!

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 9th 2024, 12:08 PM

: I am not the only person who saw the damage Victorian natural selection could do as a prejudice conviction. Tolstoy, in his letter to Gandhi, knew it, too, despite the support of so many commenters here who use natural selection to act as people who are spiritual at all levels without any meaningful answer from the Churches..

“The second “scientific” justification lies in the statement that, because there is a constant struggle for existence among plants and wild beasts that always results in the survival of the fittest, a similar struggle should be carried on among human beings. This is in spite of the fact that humans are gifted with intelligence and love, faculties that are lacking in lower creatures subject to the struggle for existence and survival of the fittest.” Tolstoy

Mute David Stapleton
    Favourite David Stapleton
    Jul 9th 2024, 1:46 PM

@Gerald Kelleher: good job we no longer live in Victorian time, eh?

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 9th 2024, 4:31 PM

@David Stapleton:

Secularists don’t believe in evil, so end up worshipping it as so many here demonstrate.

The Nazis appealed to natural selection for their invasion and extermination and imperatives, so the same Victorian icon worship remain along with their prejudice conviction.

Being party to evil is one thing, being mediocre before evil is many times worse.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 9th 2024, 6:00 PM

@Gerald Kelleher: how can one worship evil, if one doesn’t believe in evil?

Mute Bookworms Dublin
    Favourite Bookworms Dublin
    Jul 9th 2024, 11:47 AM

So….he finds Prayer offensive…..well you have no right to dictate…..

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane

@Bookworms Dublin: you’ll find the dictating is done by the religious and always has been. How many atheist crusades have there been? How many atheists have gone on missionary trips to Africa to spread the word on atheism?

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 9th 2024, 12:38 PM

@Dermot Lane:

Want to see a secular crusade that is still celebrated as natural selection?

“In 500 years how the Anglo-Saxon race will have spread & exterminated whole nations; & in consequence how much the Human race, viewed as a unit, will have risen in rank.” Darwin

“Truly, this earth is a trophy cup for the industrious man. And this rightly so, in the service of natural selection. He who does not possess the force to secure his Lebensraum in this world, and, if necessary, to enlarge it, does not deserve to possess the necessities of life. He must step aside and allow stronger peoples to pass him by.” Hitler

Where are people with the style and love of humanity?

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 9th 2024, 12:42 PM

@Gerald Kelleher: it’s impossible to argue with you because your word salad comments make absolutely no sense whatsoever

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 9th 2024, 1:51 PM

Natural selection is the conviction of the aggressive against native cultures who were destined for extermination as inferior ‘races’. It is a secular vehicle that originated from famine Ireland and then transplanted to other parts of the world.

https://www.azquotes.com/author/12265-Cecil_Rhodes

Survival of the fittest is evil and the religion of the devil. You can all judge whether tribal aggression is at the centre of human life on Earth as superior/inferior ‘races’ or the religion of the spiritual where spirit/inspiration is the centre of the individual.

It takes an individual with courage to come here and remind others what they choose to follow.

Jul 9th 2024, 5:16 PM

@Gerald Kelleher:
    NO
    IT
    IS
    NOT

Natural Selection is the simple process whereby if a gene is beneficial to a species that the carrier of that gene is more likely to survive longer and propagate, spreading the gene into future generations, and if a gene is harmful to the survival then the carrier of that gene is less likely to survive and propagate that gene.

That is all.

Natural Selection is simple common sense.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:16 PM

@Bookworms Dublin: He is not dictating, he is saying if you want to pray but do not do it on council business time!

Mute Paul Kavanagh
    Favourite Paul Kavanagh

Typical nonsense from these sorts
    You’d swear constituents were knocking his door down over this.
    Get a life, mate

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 9th 2024, 12:12 PM

I suggest we have a Tarot reader present at every council meeting, to predict the outcomes of decisions they make. Or a Mystic Meg type to offer guidance and read horoscopes.

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Jul 9th 2024, 3:55 PM

@Dermot Lane: the predictions of the Tarot reader would come far too close to making more sense then the actual outcome of some council meetings, you can’t do that

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 9th 2024, 11:09 AM

A joke. Enlightenment politics is a rogue variant of democracy with the two biggest practitioners being the UK and the States.

The idea of laws of nature (academics) and social legislative laws (politics) was bound to become overbearing and attract the worst and weakest type of individuals in research.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 9th 2024, 11:34 AM

@Gerald Kelleher: what?

Mute Derek Moran
    Favourite Derek Moran
    Jul 9th 2024, 11:38 AM

@Dermot Lane: don’t ask him to start explaining, please. Takes long enough scrolling through comments.

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 9th 2024, 11:55 AM

The ‘Age of Reason’ was a variant of democracy imported into America.

https://www.loc.gov/exhibits/jefferson/18.html

Only a few had the level of perception to recognise the Enlightenment subculture for what it is.

“I turn my eyes to the Schools & Universities of Europe
    And there behold the Loom of Locke whose Woof rages dire
    Washd by the Water-wheels of Newton. black the cloth
    In heavy wreathes folds over every Nation; cruel Works
    Of many Wheels, I view, wheel without wheel, with cogs tyrannic
    Moving by compulsion each other” Blake

Now, we have a society with no connection to nature or no connection to the spirituality needed to love all creation. A growing disconnect passes from one generation to the next in what people call ‘autism’ with no fault on the individual or their parents.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane

@Gerald Kelleher: good grief!!! “what people call autism”?????

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 9th 2024, 12:16 PM

@Dermot Lane: What causes the Sun to rise and set every 24 hours and a thousand times in a thousand 24-hour days?

People with no connection to their surroundings insist that the Earth doesn’t turn a thousand times in a thousand days.

It is a fact not generally known that,owing to the difference between solar and sidereal time,the Earth rotates upon its axis once more often than there are 24-hour days in the year” NASA /Harvard

There is no autism, there is a growing disconnect between society to its terrestrial and celestial surroundings.

That is where secularist or 17th century enlightenment politics have brought society.

Shame you can’t affirm the romance of a sunrise and sunset every rotation but such is the mindset of a subculture follower.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 9th 2024, 12:40 PM

@Gerald Kelleher: you’re mad. Seek help.

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 9th 2024, 1:35 PM

@Derm :

Imagine the most visible organisation on the planet being unable to present that the Earth turns once every 24 hours and a thousand times in a thousand 24-hour days because a person in the late 17th century went on a misadventure with timekeeping.

https://science.nasa.gov/earth/facts/

The 24-hour day consists of AM and PM; therefore, it is anchored to noon, with one rotation responsible for the connection between clock noon and natural noon. The 24-hour day is an average as the variation from one-noon cycle to the next was known in antiquity. As average and constant are similar, the great astronomers in the 16th century could transfer average to constant in terms of rotation and the basis of the longitude system.

How can people be evil for a reckless and stupid conclusion?

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Jul 9th 2024, 1:12 PM

Should he have started with the burka

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Jul 9th 2024, 12:19 PM

Councils should stick to street lights, rubbish disposal and pothole issues. Let God worry about God. He, in his infinite mercy, might worry about local councils too.

Mute Brendan K O'Rourke
    Favourite Brendan K O'Rourke
    Jul 9th 2024, 1:03 PM

It undermines the sacred nature of both religon & democracy to have official council prayers. I am amazed by religious people who think it is an non-issue: do they not have any sympathy for the sincerely held beliefs of others?

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 9th 2024, 3:35 PM

@Brendan K O’Rourke: no they don’t. That’s why most of the first 2000 years of Christianity consisted of the self appointed ‘official’ chuch persecuting ‘heretics’ who refused to conform to their version of Christianity

Mute Patrick Westman
    Favourite Patrick Westman
    Jul 9th 2024, 1:16 PM

I will say a prayer for them. Hopefully they can get over themselves and knuckle down to the real business and stop all this woke malarkey.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jul 9th 2024, 1:27 PM

@Patrick Westman: Social Democrats put even the Green Party in the halfpenny place when it comes to Woke ideology.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jul 9th 2024, 1:56 PM

@SV3tN8M4: say your prayers at home, or in your place of worship, not as a collective in your place of work. It’s a simple concept, but as usual you make it into a culture war

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 9th 2024, 2:48 PM

@Patrick Westman: “sorry Councellor Westman, we’ll deal with your issues on housing, traffic and homelessness as soon as we finish this prayer. Priorities, dear boy, priorities”

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:19 PM

@SV3tN8M4: This has been raised many times by various independents and parties, this time it happens to be the Soc Dems!

Mute Tom Kennedy
    Favourite Tom Kennedy
    Jul 9th 2024, 12:55 PM

If it is about inclusion as opposed to exclusion why exclude prayers and or crucifixes? Let it be all inclusive. Irrespective of what a person’s faith is or isn’t… Include all!

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 9th 2024, 2:45 PM

@Tom Kennedy: there are, depending on who you listen to, between 3500 and 5000 gods worshipped by mankind. Exclusion is easier.

Mute Jack B Quick
    Favourite Jack B Quick
    Jul 9th 2024, 8:02 PM

@Tom Kennedy: it’s a silly question. Are we going to say Muslim Jewish and Protestant prayers too and add Buddhist iconography and Jedi to the walls?

Religion has no place being endorsed by the state

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jul 9th 2024, 1:25 PM

Setting himself up here, let’s see how he performs in his role, he is going to be held to very high standards now. Hopefully he won’t be like his fellow Councillor in the West that they have removed & swept under the carpet, I didn’t hear this guy getting as offended over his colleagues disgusting carry on.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jul 9th 2024, 3:44 PM

@SV3tN8M4: What a load of absolute tosh. You either agree with the motion or you don’t. Stop deflecting, and state your position

Mute Eamonn O'Regan
    Favourite Eamonn O'Regan
    Jul 9th 2024, 2:39 PM

I’m an atheist, thank God, so the issue is neither here nor there with me

Mute Séamas Mac Cárthaigh
    Favourite Séamas Mac Cárthaigh
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:00 PM

The Roman Catholic church has asked you, the people of Ireland for your atonement. You, the people of Ireland are going to be asked not to give it to them. Spear of destiny.

You are going to be asked to break rank with Rome.
    You will not be asked to turn your back on the Lord.
    You will not be asked to convert.
    You will not be asked to change the scriptures.

There’s the Roman Catholic church and then there’s the Irish Catholic church.
    Under new management is the end goal.

Archbishop Dr. Eamon Martin you have asked the people of Ireland for your atonement, it’s about time the people of Ireland gave you an answer.

Would you like an emergency mass or a referendum?

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 9th 2024, 6:01 PM

@Séamas Mac Cárthaigh: I have no idea what you’re on about.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 9th 2024, 6:01 PM

@Séamas Mac Cárthaigh: I have no idea what you’re saying

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 9th 2024, 6:02 PM

@Dermot Lane: oops, sorry, double comment, I got an error message.

Mute Joseph Healy
    Favourite Joseph Healy
    Jul 9th 2024, 12:56 PM

Hope it’s not the rosary.

Mute Mark Anthony Savage
    Favourite Mark Anthony Savage
    Jul 10th 2024, 12:21 AM

You need to spend about ten minutes looking at modern theoretical physics to realise that if any of this God hokum is true, it’s vastly more complex than we could ever hope to understand and this beardy eejit looking down caring who I love, where i plant my crops or what i wear is just very unimaginative.

Mute Iris Ohyama
    Favourite Iris Ohyama
    Jul 10th 2024, 9:35 AM

Oh my God comments are open

Mute Niall Murphy
    Favourite Niall Murphy
    Jul 10th 2024, 8:09 AM

Wokeism equal to turkeys voting for Christmas in this instance.

Virtual signalling agnostic/atheists preparing the grounds and conditions for ‘another’ religion to feel right at home.