You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Steve Bannon PA Images

Donald Trump pardons former strategist Steve Bannon in final hours of presidency

The pardons and commutations for 143 people were announced in the final hours of Trump’s White House term.

US PRESIDENT DONALD Trump has pardoned former chief strategist Steve Bannon as part of a late flurry of clemency action benefiting nearly 150 people.

The pardons and commutations for 143 people, including Bannon, were announced after midnight today in the final hours of Trump’s White House term.

A statement from the White House said: “Prosecutors pursued Mr Bannon with charges related to fraud stemming from his involvement in a political project.

“Mr Bannon has been an important leader in the conservative movement and is known for his political acumen.”

Bannon had been charged with duping thousands of investors who believed their money would be used to fulfil Trump’s chief campaign promise to build a wall along the southern border.

Instead, he allegedly diverted over a million dollars, paying a salary to one campaign official and personal expenses for himself.

US media earlier reported that the president made his last-minute decision after speaking to Bannon by phone.

Trump has already pardoned a slew of long-time associates and supporters, including his former campaign chairman, Paul Manafort; Charles Kushner, the father of his son-in-law; his long-time friend and adviser Roger Stone; and his former national security adviser Michael Flynn.

Former Trump fundraiser Elliott Broidy was similarly pardoned, after pleading guilty last year to conspiring to violate foreign lobbying laws.

Rapper Lil Wayne, who last month pleaded guilty to possession of a firearm and ammunition by a convicted felon and faced 10 years in jail, also made the list.

President-elect Joe Biden is due to be sworn in as Trump’s successor later today.

Contains reporting from © AFP 2021  

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 46 comments
46 Comments
    Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Jan 20th 2021, 7:07 AM

What a strange tradition these presidential pardons are

Jan 20th 2021, 7:11 AM

@Brian Dunne: yeah, its basically saying I’m above the law.

Mute Ro-your-nan
    Favourite Ro-your-nan
    Jan 20th 2021, 8:23 AM

@Brian Dunne: I beg your pardon?

Mute Fred the Muss...
    Favourite Fred the Muss...
    Jan 20th 2021, 8:34 AM

@Ro-your-nan: I never promised you a Rose garden.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jan 20th 2021, 8:52 AM

@Brian Dunne: in part true but I would have no issue with a pardon for snowden.

Mute C_O'S
    Favourite C_O'S
    Jan 20th 2021, 10:41 AM

@Mjhint: pardoning thugs like himself.

Mute David Carroll
    Favourite David Carroll
    Jan 20th 2021, 7:09 AM

Can’t believe Joe Exotic missed out on a pardon.

Mute Greg Ward
    Favourite Greg Ward
    Jan 20th 2021, 7:17 AM

@David Carroll: He had the limo waiting outside. Lol. Epic fail.

Mute Paddy Kavanagh
    Favourite Paddy Kavanagh
    Jan 20th 2021, 7:25 AM

@David Carroll: All Carol Baskins fault if you ask me

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Favourite Jim Buckley Barrett
    Jan 20th 2021, 8:05 AM

@David Carroll: cheque probably didn’t clear in time

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Jan 20th 2021, 9:15 AM

@David Carroll: It’s not over yet….. If he’s a plan to upstage Biden he could be holding out.

But I can’t see what pardoning him would get Trump to be honest so he’s probably out of luck.

Mute Martello Mulligan
    Favourite Martello Mulligan
    Jan 20th 2021, 7:05 AM

Bannon charged with duping Trump followers. To be fair that’s hardly a crime – the typical Trump follower is just screaming out “Dupe me, I’m so gullible” every time they post a comment.

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Jan 20th 2021, 7:34 AM

@Martello Mulligan: they are sheep you can milk

Mute Blue Avians
    Favourite Blue Avians
    Jan 20th 2021, 8:14 AM

@Martello Mulligan: Playing to the gallery, this is so old move on

Mute Martello Mulligan
    Favourite Martello Mulligan
    Jan 20th 2021, 8:34 AM

@Blue Avians: But it’s not “so old.” And I do understand how the duped want to forget. It might help them “move on” if they acknowledge what they’ve perpetrated.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Jan 20th 2021, 9:16 AM

@Martello Mulligan: There was more than Bannon involved in that scheme but from what I can gather only he got a pardon….. Then again, he probably has way more dirt on Trump than the other ones.

Mute Alan McDonald
    Favourite Alan McDonald
    Jan 20th 2021, 9:37 AM

@Blue Avians: Its a fact. And recent. Look at those who say they were duped about funds to fight the election fraud that never happened.

Mute Teddy Bear
    Favourite Teddy Bear
    Jan 20th 2021, 9:38 AM

@Blue Avians: touched a little nerve did he? Feeling a bit sheepish are we? Baa.

Mute John McSweeney
    Favourite John McSweeney
    Jan 20th 2021, 7:07 AM

Title should read: Trump pardons man who defrauded Trump voters.

Just goes to show how little he actually thinks of his followers. They were a means to an end.

Mute THE BIRD
    Favourite THE BIRD
    Jan 20th 2021, 7:37 AM

Why would he pardon a guy that defrauded his constitutes of over a one million dollars for his own gain, wouldn’t trump distance himself completely from it and keep it that way,Bannon and his 2 accomplices basically used trumps name and his campaign to make themselves rich, doesn’t pardoning him make trump loom even worse from all sides .

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Jan 20th 2021, 7:59 AM

@THE BIRD: I’ve heard that Trump may believe Bannon may be needed as a Trump strategist in the future. Don’t worry about Trump supporters being disillusioned. Over 60% of Republicans polled still believe the election was ‘stolen’. A former CEO of a company that advertised on Fox News was recorded last year saying Fox viewers are very gullible.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Jan 20th 2021, 9:21 AM

@THE BIRD: Bannon is a <ile human being but he's not s#upid.

He definitely has dirt on Donnie.

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Jan 20th 2021, 7:42 AM

Pardon the swamp

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Jan 20th 2021, 9:18 AM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: He also rescinded the Executive Order that required executive branch appointees to sign a pledge that they would never work as registered foreign lobbyists, and it banned them from lobbying the federal agencies where they worked for five years after leaving the government.

Guess now they need jobs…..

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jan 20th 2021, 7:51 AM

How many times has it happened here in Ireland people above the law. Catholic church, Garda, Political people. We just as bad

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Jan 20th 2021, 11:41 AM

@Sean: We’re worse! A pardon means that at least the system tried to hold the person being pardoned accountable for their bad deeds. We don’t do the accountability bit, never mind the pardon.

Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore
    Jan 20th 2021, 8:08 AM

Please pardon Julian Assange.

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn
    Jan 20th 2021, 8:32 AM

Disgusted with Trump for giving John Delaney a pardon!

Mute Alanjturing
    Favourite Alanjturing
    Jan 20th 2021, 7:04 AM

He will need to pardon himself.

Mute DERRY1973
    Favourite DERRY1973
    Jan 20th 2021, 7:40 AM

@Alanjturing: He couldn’t pardon himself as it would insinuate he had did something wrong. But its going to be interesting, a lot of people waiting for his presidency to finish.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Jan 20th 2021, 9:23 AM

@Alanjturing: I’d be surprised if he never pardoned his kids, to be honest.

But it was reported recently that because pardoning himself would open him up to civil suits he felt if he can’t get a pardon, nobody does.

Heresay, but you’d wonder.

I still think Rudy will get one.

Mute 1/20/2021 Cannot come quick enough
    Favourite 1/20/2021 Cannot come quick enough
    Jan 20th 2021, 9:01 AM

While drumpf may have given the disgusting creature bannon a pardon, just remember that is ONLY for federal offenses. He is still going to be charged, bannon that is (well in honesty drumpf too) with state offenses in the great state of New York. Nothing either of them can do about it.

8 hours left. Champagne in the fridges. Brie out maturing. Legal grass rolled.

BLISS

Mute Gene Johnston
    Favourite Gene Johnston
    Jan 20th 2021, 8:59 AM

Donnie pardoned some rappers Maybe we give donnie his own rapper name.
    2PEACH sounds about right

Mute owentighe
    Favourite owentighe
    Jan 20th 2021, 9:10 AM

@Gene Johnston: or N-P3ACH perhaps?

Mute Gene Johnston
    Favourite Gene Johnston
    Jan 20th 2021, 9:23 AM

@owentighe: yep)

Mute Barry Brady
    Favourite Barry Brady
    Jan 20th 2021, 10:59 AM

@Gene Johnston:2Mpeach’d

Mute Kevin50
    Favourite Kevin50
    Jan 20th 2021, 9:02 AM

I have no doubt Bannon will incriminate himself again very shortly… people like him cannot resist it

Mute Charlie Kavanagh
    Favourite Charlie Kavanagh
    Jan 20th 2021, 7:39 AM

Pardoned for wearing t-shirts with collars under his shirts?

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Jan 20th 2021, 10:51 AM

A lot of Brown Envelopes

Mute Barry Brady
    Favourite Barry Brady
    Jan 20th 2021, 11:02 AM

@Mary Mc Carthy: A lot of br0wn nosers too

Mute Michael Fleming
    Favourite Michael Fleming
    Jan 20th 2021, 9:08 AM

If you were to analyse the list in detail you will see. That these people will all have to back Trump going forward. They are either of use in there professional career or influencers of people or have money. I havent seen the list yet but I bet there is no one on the list who can only offer support and has no other means. Good riddens to him thank God they took the nuc codes off the mad man

Mute Chaunce Hayden
    Favourite Chaunce Hayden
    Jan 20th 2021, 12:35 PM

Now lets read 100 comments from people who have no clue what they are talking about aside from what they read in something called “The Journal” which is barely more than a little girls diary.

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    Jan 20th 2021, 12:45 PM

@Chaunce Hayden: 1% of those being yours.

Mute Míleata Watch Co
    Favourite Míleata Watch Co
    Jan 20th 2021, 2:08 PM

Trump to public; We are the party of law and order!!

Trump to mates; Don’t worry lads if your caught ill pardon you.

Mute D.B
    Favourite D.B
    Jan 20th 2021, 1:44 PM

No pardon for Bertie?

Mute Top Horse Shop
    Favourite Top Horse Shop
    Jan 20th 2021, 6:51 PM

Does Higgins have power of pardon?