You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Photocall Ireland

Workers slam 'inconsiderate' Dunnes over withdrawal of staff parking spaces

The Mandate trade union says workers could lose up to €76 per week from their income in parking expenses as a result of the move.

THE MANDATE TRADE union is criticising plans to withdraw parking facilities for staff at a number of stores in the run up to Christmas.

It’s understood the company has contacted workers in over half of its 116 Republic of Ireland stores stores in recent weeks to inform them of the move.

The union says the decision is ‘inconsiderate’ and places an unfair financial burden on staff.

“With the lack of rural transport in certain areas, workers, in many instances, have no option but to drive to work,” Mandate Assistant General Secretary Gerry Light said.

“This means they face extra costs to pay for private parking and also face the risks associated with having to walk long distances in isolated areas at unsociable times.

“Parking rates can be €1 per hour to €2 per hour meaning a full time worker could lose between €38-76 per week from their income.”

Light said the move also raised health and safety concerns as many Dunnes workers — a large proportion of whom were women — could start shifts as early as 6am and finish as late as 11pm.

“If the company refuses to back down on this, many will be forced to walk 10 minutes in very isolated areas and this puts a very unnecessary risk on the individual involved.”

In addition, workers in a smaller number of stores have been informed that the withdrawal of parking facilities is on a permanent basis.

The union has written to the retailer asking it to row back on the decision or to offer staff alternative facilities.

Mandate has said it will pursue the matter through “all legitimate means” available to it, including the industrial relations mechanisms of the state

Dunnes Stores had not replied to a request for information on the issue from TheJournal.ie by close of business yesterday.

Read: Government to open up new postcode database to businesses – at a cost

Read: Union expresses fears for Arnotts and Boyers jobs

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

138 Comments
    Mute ciaran o dowd
    Favourite ciaran o dowd
    Oct 27th 2024, 6:36 AM

Good luck to everyone taking part.

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Oct 27th 2024, 12:46 PM

@ciaran o dowd: they deserve a medal, true warriors each and everyone of them

Mute Paul Conlon
    Favourite Paul Conlon
    Oct 27th 2024, 6:42 AM

Friendliest marathon in the world. Get out and cheer them on if you can. It means a lot and you’ll help someone’s day tremendously

Mute Phose
    Favourite Phose
    Oct 27th 2024, 8:11 AM

@Paul Conlon: On what scale do you rate friendliest? I ran and completed this marathon 10 years ago, it was non eventful, a good tough run but very empty support after Phoenix Park and I would not rate it as friendly. Best marathon I have run was Budapest, electric vibes all the way.

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Oct 27th 2024, 10:13 AM

@Paul Conlon: bit of a generalisation there in fairness, I thought London one was very welcoming & positive but Berlin one, for me, was the best experience…. But that’s just my twopenceworth

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Niamh Healy
    Favourite Niamh Healy
    Oct 27th 2024, 12:39 PM

@Phose: I can hear the constant cheers from my house.

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Oct 27th 2024, 12:47 PM

@Phose: no way. They hate foreigners in Budapest. Not friendly.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Oct 27th 2024, 1:21 PM

@Buster Lawless: but the people in Budapest are foreigners.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:23 PM

@Pewpew Tin: What a disgusting comment.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Oct 27th 2024, 3:11 PM

@Pewpew Tin: Lovely, Stephen: showing yet again what a lowlife you are.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Oct 27th 2024, 4:09 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: chutes, what is with you calling every poster different names?? Get a life

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Oct 27th 2024, 4:14 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: Not every poster: just you, Stephen.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Oct 27th 2024, 4:17 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: so, though my name has been Frank for over half a century, some troll on a comments section decides on Steven & the gag, the funny thing is???? Seriously, for someone who posts from two of his mothers accounts???

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Oct 27th 2024, 4:23 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: Your name is not Frank Mc Carthy or Pewpew Tin or Buster Lawless or Kevvy kerrr or any of the other names you currently use here.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Oct 27th 2024, 4:25 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: Incidentally, ‘McCarthy’ doesn’t have a space in it.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Oct 27th 2024, 4:29 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: ah, sure it doesn’t…… not only a super troll, but a DELUDED Super troll

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Oct 27th 2024, 4:40 PM

@Pewpew Tin: You seem kind of rattled, Stephen.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Oct 27th 2024, 4:46 PM

@Pewpew Tin: seriously, ease up on brenny, I think he’s losing it … lastest one is calling everyone, even female poster, Steven….. some kind of message from his ma

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Oct 27th 2024, 5:29 PM

@Pewpew Tin: Stephen your world would crumble if your IDs (and any new ones) were deleted from this site. It must be your only outlet. You’re a sad little man.

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Oct 27th 2024, 7:05 PM

@Pewpew Tin: ill get you banned chutes, you wait

Mute Brian Barry
    Favourite Brian Barry
    Oct 27th 2024, 8:35 PM

@Pewpew Tin:
    You win the Interweb today

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Oct 28th 2024, 8:27 AM

@Buster Lawless: nah. Just the likes of yourself.

Mute Ruth
    Favourite Ruth
    Oct 27th 2024, 7:35 AM

How will you know if someone has run a marathon?
    They’ll tell you within 5 seconds of meeting them ….. :-)

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Oct 27th 2024, 10:18 AM

@Ruth: like vegans so??

Mute Simon Gregory
    Favourite Simon Gregory
    Oct 27th 2024, 10:31 AM

@Frank Mc Carthy:wow aren’t you all a bunch of funny see you next Tuesdays. So original

See 39 more replies ▾
    Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Oct 27th 2024, 10:33 AM

@Simon Gregory: ye vegans need to grab a sence of humour, lol

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Oct 27th 2024, 11:58 AM

@Ruth: How do you know someone is miserable….they tell you on the journal comments section.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 27th 2024, 12:29 PM

@Ruth: Whereas the size of your a** will tell us that you abhor any form of physical exercise.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 27th 2024, 12:30 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: You need to grab a spelling app, young lad.

Mute Ruth
    Favourite Ruth
    Oct 27th 2024, 12:35 PM

@Mike: think we can say ass Mike.
    Indeedy, but you’ll never get close enough to say for sure nor measure :-)
    run along there now (no big ass pun intended) hahahaha

Mute Jim Ryan
    Favourite Jim Ryan

@Frank Mc Carthy: There’s nothing wrong with being vegan . Vegans don’t eat the corpses of defenceless creatures who have been murdered in slaughter-houses or elsewhere .

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Oct 27th 2024, 12:59 PM

@Jim Ryan: Welcome to the food chain Jim. By your definition of murder, murder is one of the defining characteristic of all life.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 27th 2024, 12:59 PM

@Ruth: At least I can run a few paces without getting out of breath. As if I’d want to get close to your massive girth, get a grip… although you’d need a crane at this stage. Seriously, stop slagging fit people and try getting in shape. You will feel better about yourself!!!!!

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Oct 27th 2024, 1:02 PM

@Mike: Seriously Michael. Get up to bed and don’t come down again ’til Monday.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 27th 2024, 1:22 PM

@Louis Jacob: No upstairs in my gaff, pal.

Mute Mike Cul
    Favourite Mike Cul
    Oct 27th 2024, 1:30 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: I’m a vegan and don’t go around telling everyone……..oh wait

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Oct 27th 2024, 1:38 PM

@Jim Ryan: you do realise that these animals would never had been born if we weren’t going to eat them at some point .
    Maybe worry a bit more about the people who are actually being murdered around the globe and the fact that you are not helping climate change because forests are being chopped down for your oat milk,palm oil etc ,and next time you buy a avocado have a look at heritage came from ,cause they don’t grow them in Cavan:)

Mute Jim Ryan
    Favourite Jim Ryan
    Oct 27th 2024, 1:39 PM

@Louis Jacob: How would you like to be farmed or fished or hunted for your meat ? Not one little bit I’d bet .

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Oct 27th 2024, 1:41 PM

@Mike: AHH body shaming now Mike?
    Why don’t you pop down the gym and record yourself so you can massage that fragile ego

Mute Lulu
    Favourite Lulu
    Oct 27th 2024, 1:45 PM

@Mike: Or as the joke goes:
    Doc. “ You’re obese”
    Patient. “ Obesity runs in our family”
    Doc. “ Nobody runs in your family, you fat c u next Tuesday ”!

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Oct 27th 2024, 1:52 PM

@Jim Ryan: Sorry Mike. That has nothing to do with it. There’s a bird in the Arizona desert that only eats it’s food alive but only eats a small amount at a time, so it catches lizard and skewers them alive on cactus plants so they can eat them later. I wouldn’t like to be that lizard either.
    Nature man.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:10 PM

Most wild bison die as a result of old age, which ge really means being physically unable to migrate out of cold areas at which point they freeze to half death before being torn apart by and animals.
    I would like that either.
    I could go on.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:29 PM

@Ruth: Lol so true!! I can hardly make it up the stairs!!

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:50 PM

@sean weir: that’s the same argument slave owners used against abolitionists. As for the environmental impact, meat production is about 20 times more harmful to the environment even when you take air miles, destruction of habitat etc into consideration for crops. That part of your argument has been debunked, but you probably know that.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:58 PM

@Dermot Blaine: Your a analogy would make a ton of sense if the slaves were animals and we were using them for food.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:58 PM

@Dermot Blaine: Your analogy would make a ton of sense if the slaves were animals and we were using them for food.

Mute Jim Ryan
    Favourite Jim Ryan
    Oct 27th 2024, 3:02 PM

@sean weir: You sound like a livestock farmer . Or at least an apologist for them .

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 27th 2024, 3:15 PM

@sean weir: I’m in the gym at least 4 times a week, you sap. You should try it sometime. The original poster began the thread by slagging people, take your personal frustrations out on her, dkhead.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 27th 2024, 3:16 PM

@Lulu: lolololololol

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 27th 2024, 3:18 PM

@Louis Jacob: punctuation, man. By the way, wtfk are you on about, you absolute clim?

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Oct 27th 2024, 3:24 PM

@Mike: Stop crying Mike. “I’m at the gym 4 times a week” lol. What a fooleen.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Oct 27th 2024, 3:44 PM

@J B: Watch it. He’s well able to dish it out, but my God, he’s as precious. The gym won’t help that unfortunately. Is, my function: ok, for you?: Michaeleen.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 27th 2024, 4:12 PM

@Louis Jacob: I am just replying, you unintelligent failure of a human. Reread the comments and if you have two brain cells, you will realise how wrong you are. If you can’t observe your own failings, you are not worth the few seconds it takes to reply to you. Btw, I’m willing to bet you’ve never worked out in your sad excuse for a life. Stick to slagging off vegans and avocado aficionados, you insignificant little mistake. Thank you for the laugh though, I find your feebleness hilarious.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 27th 2024, 4:14 PM

@J B: Hopefully The journal doesn’t start checking grammar, punctuation, spelling and basic iq levels…. You’d be fkd, you dozey cnt.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Oct 27th 2024, 4:24 PM

@Mike: Soooo precious. And you seemed like such a tough guy earlier.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 27th 2024, 4:42 PM

@Louis Jacob: Why, do you like tough guys? I bet you spend a few quid on knee pads, eh Louise?

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 27th 2024, 4:43 PM

@J B: Have you seen her/him doing the pole vault? It’s worth a google ; )

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Oct 27th 2024, 4:47 PM

@Mike: That sounded so much smarter in your head.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Oct 27th 2024, 6:06 PM

@Mike: lay of the steroids man, you’re in the full on angry about everything phase. Take that needle out of your bum. Good man.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 27th 2024, 8:21 PM

@Louis Jacob: You never sound smart, in your head or otherwise. You’re a sad little dope and I would genuinely feel sorry for you if you weren’t such an unintelligent little mess.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 27th 2024, 8:22 PM

@Eoin Jackson: If you like things in your bum, that’s your business. I won’t judge you while you’re getting pounded.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Oct 27th 2024, 11:36 PM

@Mike: you need to stop pounding the roids and the powder.

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Oct 28th 2024, 8:29 AM

@Mike: you’re a bit of a bungalow yourself.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 30th 2024, 4:49 AM

@Eoin Jackson: I’ve never taken a steroid in my life. You are just unable to hold conversation with a man of intellect. I don’t however blame you, most “men” are weak as fk these days. It’s not too late for you though, kid. Find good friends… have real conversations… become the best version of you in this life. You can do it if you really want to make the most of this life! Best of luck!

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Oct 27th 2024, 7:35 AM

The usual suspects will be on in a while to complain about all the foreigners running wild through the streets of Dublin, closing down roads, wrecking the local economy, can’t they use the bike lanes etc…

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike

@FoxyBoiiYT: You’re the first one mentioning “foreigners” on an article about the Dublin City Marathon. Lord, what a sad existence you must be slogging through day after day.

Mute James T.Kirk
    Favourite James T.Kirk
    Oct 27th 2024, 1:37 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: A usual suspect complaining about others complaining!

Mute Jerry LeFrog
    Favourite Jerry LeFrog
    Oct 27th 2024, 10:35 AM

Another rant: why does the official map mention 26 “mile markers”? Do we not use kilometres in Ireland, like most of the world?
    It’s nearly 20 years since we switched (will be next spring), but it seems Irish Life and other institutions still have not figured it out… (shakes head in disbelief)

Mute Larry Whack
    Favourite Larry Whack
    Oct 27th 2024, 1:50 PM

@Jerry LeFrog: 100%!

Mute Fiona Wyse
    Favourite Fiona Wyse
    Oct 27th 2024, 1:56 PM

@Jerry LeFrog: running is measured in miles. Simples.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:15 PM

@Fiona Wyse: huh?

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:56 PM

@Kevin Kerr: maybe she meant marathons are measured in miles, which they are traditionally?

Mute Jerry LeFrog
    Favourite Jerry LeFrog
    Oct 27th 2024, 4:16 PM

@Dermot Blaine: and in the non-mile-measuring world (i.e. outside UK, US, Liberia and Myanmar), are they also measured in miles? I don’t think so.
    42.195 km is the distance for a marathon.

Mute Jerry LeFrog
    Favourite Jerry LeFrog
    Oct 27th 2024, 4:17 PM

@Jerry LeFrog: this latest answer was mostly to Fiona, not Dermot.

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Oct 28th 2024, 8:31 AM

@Fiona Wyse: no it isn’t. It’s universally measured in kms and metres.

Mute Jock Doyle
    Favourite Jock Doyle
    Oct 27th 2024, 7:28 AM

I did it last year, got nothing but homophobic slurs, never again

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Oct 27th 2024, 12:48 PM

@Jock Doyle: were you running in drag or something? I don’t understand this.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 27th 2024, 1:38 PM

@Brennie’s Mammy: He was wearin yer ma’s pink last nih, ye don’t hear him complainin

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:27 PM

@Jock Doyle: Jesus WTF Jack?! Ignorance is all it is… don’t let the B@st@rD$ get you down x

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:31 PM

@Jock Doyle: Sounds like a made up story.

Mute J N
    Favourite J N
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:36 PM

@Jock Doyle: qweear

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 27th 2024, 2:52 PM

@Donna Fallon: the country is going backwards Donna. All the weirdos have been empowered by Trump, Vance and Musk etc.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Oct 27th 2024, 7:56 PM

@Sal Paradise: made up?! Maybe someone wore a rainbow band or a badge well over 3/4 million people voted no in 2015. It is not, rather far from impossible that he was jeered at.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Oct 27th 2024, 8:36 PM

@S Suilleabhain: Those out supporting the marathon are not generally of that ilk from my personal experience. Plenty of runners from the likes of Dublin Front Runners and only cheers as they run past. Find it hard to believe this lad only faced abuse as he ran around.

Mute Tommy445
    Favourite Tommy445
    Oct 27th 2024, 1:41 PM

Save the children from israeli terrorists

Mute Ben dover
    Favourite Ben dover
    Oct 27th 2024, 9:03 PM

Such a well organized event – hats off to everyone involved. Big shout out to the people of Dublin who were fantastic from start to finish – cheering, shouting support and giving out sweets!! Thank you all.

Mute RIP
    Favourite RIP
    Oct 27th 2024, 3:05 PM

Lovely to see it come back to the Northside

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Oct 27th 2024, 7:06 PM

@RIP: too dangerous there, not good for tourists

Mute Leinsterprincess
    Favourite Leinsterprincess
    Oct 29th 2024, 12:13 PM

Where are the unfair advantage comments? If they were trans there would be uproar.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 30th 2024, 4:52 AM

@Leinsterprincess: If yer aunty had bollocks, she’d be yer uncle. Wtfk are you on about, you clim?