This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Saturday 24 August, 2019

Roddy Doyle, Eamon Dunphy and Claudia Carroll among book of the year nominees

The Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards nominations feature a number of recognisable names.

Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE SHORTLIST FOR the 2013 Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards has been released, with some of Ireland’s most famous names making receiving nods.

The likes of Roddy Doyle, Frank McGuinness, Catherine Dunne and Colum McCann have been nominated for the Novel of The Year prize.

In the nonfiction category, Dunphy’s “The Rocky Road” is joined by the likes of “Fatal Path” by Ronan Fanning and “The Price of Power” by Pat Leahy.

Ross O’Carroll Kelly, Patricia Scanlan and Claudia Carroll will fight it out for the popular fiction prize, while Seán óg O’Hailpín will do battle with DJ Carey yet again, this time for the Sports Book of the Year prize.

The 2013 awards also include a new category, the Short Story of the Year.

The awards will be formally presented at the gala dinner and awards ceremony to be held in The DoubleTree Hotel on Tuesday, 26 November.

Voting is open until 21 November.

Read: 100 years of reading: Rathmines library

Read: Literacy levels in Irish adults slightly below average

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next: